View Full Version : Homebirth Chat V
Tam-I-Am
24-09-2008, 21:21
Hi homebirthing goddesses. My gosh we all talk a lot - so its that time again, time for a fresh new shiny thread :D
Old thread here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=188339).
I'm so pleased that after 4 threads we're still going strong with the chat :D
PookieLady
25-09-2008, 07:18
I just wanted to be one of the first to post in the new shiny thread:smiliedance:
Sarah
Papillion
25-09-2008, 07:32
Such wonderful news Ang. :yelclap:
Welcome to he world Mason ! :wave:
Well im 41 weeks today and feeling great!!!!! Home birth rocks!!! im so glad i dont feel 'over due'! just another day :) i can remember today very well from jeromies pregnancy, and i feel 100 times better than that! and to not have to worry about being induced by those bl00dy doctors! :smiliedance:
Again congratulations Ang!
well i am getting off the computer so i will be chatting to you fine ladies another day:)
Congratulations Ang!!
Mix, I don't know how you do it. I'm a grumble bum today.
25-09-2008, 12:01
Hey ladies - I have a cousin staying at the moment so really shouldn't be rude and stay for too long - just wanted to share a small win that I had this morning :) I feel so proud of myself for persisting on this particular matter. It wasn't massive - and obviously wont affect everyone (only those who can use Defence health PHI) but I really feel like I have finally made some kind of difference, just somehow!
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3079236#post3079236
I just got off the phone to my PHI after chatting with them on/off for about 6 months about a particular extras programme that members are entitled to WHEN they birth in hospital. There was no substitute programme for homebirthers.
However - now; due to my persistence and picking them up on a few issues - they are changing their policy to extend this particular programme to homebirthing mothers
Yay for Defence Health And here is hoping for more changes that benefit more homebirthers in other PHI's in the future
Congrats again Ang!
:cloud9:
Waiting to hear news Mickie!
Unassisted birth of J (htthttp://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3079134#post3079134p://)
Very quick and easy labour yet still painful - very intense. Hubby wants to do it again in 3 years! For thse who remeber how against the idea of hb he was its a turnaround!
I have had overwhelming positive feedback since having J I am very happy. Even those who were worried etc now are in awe and asking about what is like and they are curious. :goodvibes:
Hi everyone :) Just posting to subscribe to the thread :)
Labour vibes to those who want them!
I think it is time we see some belly pics!
Uhhh... pregnant belly pics. You don't want to see mine lol.
I am 17 weeks and feel SOOO pregnant! Lot's of movements, MS and we heard bubbys heart beat which was really special.
Think I may have eaten something nasty, in so much pain and feeling so ill.:(
Had my doula here this morning which was good, went through alot of things.
Oh and we have got our 19 week scan booked for the 6th of October.
Will post some belly pics asap.:wave:
Hi everyone :) Just posting to subscribe to the thread :)
Labour vibes to those who want them!
I think it is time we see some belly pics!
Uhhh... pregnant belly pics. You don't want to see mine lol.
:laughing: :iagree:
My SIL teased me that it looks like I still have a sister in there for the kids.
At least the uterus feels back to size - the afterpains were quite strong.
Papillion
25-09-2008, 13:56
Hey ladies - I have a cousin staying at the moment so really shouldn't be rude and stay for too long - just wanted to share a small win that I had this morning :) I feel so proud of myself for persisting on this particular matter. It wasn't massive - and obviously wont affect everyone (only those who can use Defence health PHI) but I really feel like I have finally made some kind of difference, just somehow!
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3079236#post3079236
:smiliedance:You are a champion !
Thank you :hugs:
"That's one small step for a woman, one giant leap for everyone"
Thought I would pop in, I was so lost in the other thread because it was so long!!!
Had my midwife visit today, omg she is awesome! I'm soo happy we made the decision to birth at home this time around!
Hello :)
I'm experiencing a bit of a mixed bag this pregnancy, some days feeling great, others so tired I could sleep all day, but with two kids to run after, not going to happen!! On the whole it is all going great, I'm shocked I'm almost 6 months already, it is just flying by.
I've been a little apprehensive about how I will cope when bub comes as I had severe pnd after my last bub, and I was chatting to my dad today, and he is going to come and stay for a month with us after the baby comes, and perhaps more if I really need it, so that is the HUGEST weight off my shoulders :)
Mixy - you sound very zen :) good on you. Homebirth is a whole different ballgame, hey?
Congratulations Ang!!
Mix, I don't know how you do it. I'm a grumble bum today.
I was there a few weeks ago, im feeling so much better now im past 40 weeks.... kinda backwards isnt it!
MilkOnTap- :thumbsup: good work! that fantastic!
ApprenticeMomma- :yes: so very very different
Have actually had some bad news today, i wont go into it here, but i have spent the day dealing with it and feeling alot better now. even having these intense surges.... dont get your hopes up :D.
You know what i have had 3 txt's today asking if we had the baby, i really think ppl are rude doing that.
I also had someone ask me how long my midwife would 'let' me go over... lol i told her i was not yet 'over' as term is between 37 & 42 weeks, and my midwife does not 'let' me do anything :D felt good
ETA: kymmy the link did not work for me so goingto find it :)
Student of Life
25-09-2008, 18:24
Oh dear I had already written out a post and lost it! GGrrr. So abbreviated post.
MOT - Awesome job on working the PHI! Super work.
MIxy - Glad to hear that you are feeling so positive still. Attitude is always the hardest part I think.
AM - So glad you have worked out your support network for with bubs comes. Such a little thing can have a huge impact on how it all pans out. Well done and good on your dad too!
Starlet - Glad to hear you have such a great middy!
Freya - I know what you mean. I can't believe I 'feel' so pregnant already even when I have so far to go. LOL
Ikis - Hi! I will post a belly shot I promise.
Kymmy - How is your little man settling in? Good to 'see' you!
MsMouse - We are all allowed to be grumble bums! Lol I found with my boys that the last few weeks before being due were the worst and then I settled into it okay. Silly but maybe you will settle into it too.
Papillion - Hi!
Pookie - Hi!
Okay that about covers it. Hope you are all having super day and we will 'see' some new bubs very soon. Love reading your beautiful birth stories.
Congrats again Ang!
:cloud9:
Waiting to hear news Mickie!
Unassisted birth of J (htthttp://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3079134#post3079134p://)
Very quick and easy labour yet still painful - very intense. Hubby wants to do it again in 3 years! For thse who remeber how against the idea of hb he was its a turnaround!
I have had overwhelming positive feedback since having J I am very happy. Even those who were worried etc now are in awe and asking about what is like and they are curious. :goodvibes:
It's awesome how they can have a complete turn around and realise how great homebirth is, good you on and your family, the thread didn't work for me either, so i am going to go search for it. :flowerz:
Hi to everyone else, be back again later.
New thread, how exciting!! Unfortunately I have just read through it and now I can't really remember what I read!! I seem to be really spacey these last few days. I feel that is a good thing. Had an accupuncture appointment today. She gave me a lovely massage as well. I didn't realise how sore my shoulders were. Had heaps of tightenings today.
My friends held a blessingway for me last weekend. I felt very special indeed. Our house has had such a beautiful feel to it since.
My "birthing suite" is all set up now, ready to go. It was great to empty out our spare room/office of all the "stuff" we had been storing in there!
Anyway, lots of beautiful birthing vibes to the mama's to be and belly rubs to all.
Jxx
Hugest congratulations Mixy :)
Papillion
29-09-2008, 12:47
Hi again,
MS is worse than ever this week :barf:
It's so funny how shocked everyone is when we tell them we'll be home-birthing, which most mums I know follow up straight away with how horrible it was to give birth in hospital! Some of them see the irony in that and see the homebirth as a good option, but so many stick to the idea that it's just weird, and they don't know anyone who has done that - well they will soon!
ApprenticeMomma - that's so great of your dad! :yelclap: Hope all goes well.
Student of Life Bek - Hi! (btw I always write my post in notepad first so I don't lose it)
Starlet Tracey - great that you have an awesome midwife
kymmy - congratulations! (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3091790 (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3091790)). It's such a lovely story - such good vibes! :goodvibes:
mixy - hope things are better now. Good on you for enlightening others to this being your pregnancy, not an elective medical procedure.
V8 - hi
Epona - I can't believe the spacey baby brain I've got already at 10 weeks. I just tell everyone that I'm experiencing "male thinking" - no more multitasking lol. How exciting to get the "birthing suite" set up. :smiliedance:
Papillion
29-09-2008, 13:36
Just saw the announcement -
Congratulations mixy & Welcome Rhylan !
:flowerz::flowerz::flowerz:
well it topped 32 degrees here today, and I was so sapped of energy, I'm feeling so much more tired this time round, nana naps are starting early!
My partner thinks I look HUGE and has been musing about twins, which I think is kinda impossible, but I said to him "Well, waddya do?" Nothing to be done if there are two bubs, just give birth to them :) Would be an interesting experience though...not going to happen.
well it topped 32 degrees here today, and I was so sapped of energy, I'm feeling so much more tired this time round, nana naps are starting early!
My partner thinks I look HUGE and has been musing about twins, which I think is kinda impossible, but I said to him "Well, waddya do?" Nothing to be done if there are two bubs, just give birth to them :) Would be an interesting experience though...not going to happen.
I am huge too and we are at a high chance of having twins... Everyone keeps saying to me well what if you have twins.. I am like well I will be birthing twins then!!
I'm not exactly huge yet... well not by some peoples definition... But seeing as I'm only 5"3, and started popping at 11 weeks, I think my rounded belly (at 15weeks) is quite big! I dont think its twins though...
Freya - have you heard the heartbeat with a dopler yet? you could get your doula to have a search around with the stethiscope to see if theres more than one heartbeat in there.
ApprenticeMomma - I know what you mean about energy! I almost found myself trying to have a nap under my desk at work today (I don't think my boss would have been very impressed). Its amazing how quickly summer has hit really, it went from quite pleasant days of a top of 25 up to 30 in what seems like a week! *sigh* I wish winter would come back.
I am huge too and we are at a high chance of having twins... Everyone keeps saying to me well what if you have twins.. I am like well I will be birthing twins then!!
From your sig it looks as though you have twins already? What are the chances of having TWO sets of twins??? I would have thought low, but I must be wrong about that :)
Merla - haha about trying to sleep under yuor desk, brings back memories ;)
And I am NOT huge, my partner just has a HUGE imagination :laughing:
From your sig it looks as though you have twins already? What are the chances of having TWO sets of twins??? I would have thought low, but I must be wrong about that :)
Merla - haha about trying to sleep under yuor desk, brings back memories ;)
And I am NOT huge, my partner just has a HUGE imagination :laughing:
Oh God no! My partners daughter and my son are the same age.. Well 4 weeks apart. He has her 3 days a week though so for those 3 days it feels like I have twins! That reminds me actually I need to update my sig as they aren't 15 months anymore.
Merla- We have heard it, but the HB wasn't very clear so we will find out soon. My intuition tells me there is only one though.
DP and I were looking at birth pools and trying to decide whether we should just use the one that my doula is bringing or whether to buy one ourselves for any future babies. Will probably just end up using the doulas.
Congratulations Mixy!:hugs: I hope to see you, your family and your newest bubby at the HB meet.
stellarella
29-09-2008, 22:48
Hey everyone :wave:
Hope you are all travelling well.
I made a montage of Ginger's birth tonight. I know a few people were interested in seeing it. I don't want to post the link publicly but PM me your email if you want to see it and I will send the link :)
Life is sweet with a NB. Ginger is very different to Oscar though so it's interesting :laughing:
Oh God no! My partners daughter and my son are the same age.. Well 4 weeks apart.
:laughing: Too funny! You have no IDEA how my eyes popped out when I thought you may have been having another set of twins, I almost had a nervous breakdown at the mere thought ;)
Stellarella - another hb montage, good stuff, I LOVE them :)
30-09-2008, 12:24
My friends held a blessingway for me last weekend. I felt very special indeed. Our house has had such a beautiful feel to it since.
My "birthing suite" is all set up now, ready to go. It was great to empty out our spare room/office of all the "stuff" we had been storing in there!
Ohhh - how lovely! Share some piccies - I need some inspiration lol
It's so funny how shocked everyone is when we tell them we'll be home-birthing, which most mums I know follow up straight away with how horrible it was to give birth in hospital! Some of them see the irony in that and see the homebirth as a good option, but so many stick to the idea that it's just weird, and they don't know anyone who has done that - well they will soon!
How funny - I've been having similar reactions as well! I sell Avon just in my neighbourhood and last week when I was doing my deliveries, it seemed that EVERY one wanted to know where I'm having Pumpkin Seed. Of course they all assumed I'd be heading to the hospy up the road - but it felt so good to say "I'm having this one at home." :goodvibes:
I made a montage of Ginger's birth tonight. I know a few people were interested in seeing it.
Ohhh Ella - I'd love to see it! PM'ing you now :) It sounds like life is travelling on nicely for your new addition. Hows Oscar with Ginger?
And as for me... I have so much going on in my head right now that I think I have actually exhausted myself with stress :( At the beginning of the pregnancy I felt like I wouldn't make full term - and though it wasn't something that concerned me, its something that I did address with my IM. It hasn't been playing on my mind or anything, but the last couple of days I've been really unwell and all those thoughts have come back. I think these backpains and abdominal cramps have me concerned about what is happening - but they are probably all just related to this flu'ish yuckiness that I've got.
I tried to do some meditation the other day with Jedd around and it just DIDN'T happen; he was just too much of a distraction. So I've pretty much decided that I wont have him here for the birth - I'll send him off to one of my friends houses. They only live over the road (10 second walk!) so at least he'll still be close by.
My IM is coming on Thursday and we will start up on fortnightly visits. Perhaps its all just coming to a-head that I'm about to have another baby.
The last few weeks I've felt pretty unsupported by those who I thought understood me best - perhaps thats playing on my mind as well.
MoT - :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: The last trimester is hard enough let alone feeling like you have limited support. I hope you get to unwind, get a massage or something, you need to do something for you. :hugs:
Papillion
30-09-2008, 15:04
Helloooooo
Lots of belly pains again today. I'm really hoping that the 2nd trimester energy boost is waiting for me. This is my first pregnancy & it's amazing how many people are asking when we'll have our second! Let me get this one out first please.
ApprenticeMomma - wishing a few cooler winds your way
Freya - maybe your current royal charges are practice for the ones coming? :D
Merla - maybe a nap at the local cafe? lol :sleeping:
Starella - you have been busy. Will PM you for the link.
MilkOnTap - Some good vibes for you :goodvibes: Hope everything starts to improve. Maybe start dropping some not too subtle hints around "I just wish someone would offer to help me with Jedd on Tuesdays" "I'd love to find someone who'd just be all sunshine and tell me how wonderful everything is going to be". Fingers crossed they'll catch on! :doh: & agree with V8 - treat yourself.
Helloooooo
Lots of belly pains again today. I'm really hoping that the 2nd trimester energy boost is waiting for me. This is my first pregnancy & it's amazing how many people are asking when we'll have our second! Let me get this one out first please.
ApprenticeMomma - wishing a few cooler winds your way
Freya - maybe your current royal charges are practice for the ones coming? :D
Merla - maybe a nap at the local cafe? lol :sleeping:
:
Second trimester energy boost?!? When do I get that :p
Local cafe.. hmm.. tempting, It was tempting to do what I did in highschool, and that was to put my forehead on the desk and go to sleep... Unfortunatly more often than not I would wake up with a big read mark on my head from where I was sleeping... Thats something I dont want to have to explain to my boss...
Freya- I would just go with your Doula's birth pool if I was you. Maybe check it out first and see if you like it. DF and I are going to need to hire or buy a birth pool, because our midwife dosn't provide one, does anyone have any recomendations?
DF and I are going to need to hire or buy a birth pool, because our midwife dosn't provide one, does anyone have any recomendations?
I'm hiring mine from Brooke Leys, she has a webpage to do the hiring from, I just can't find it right now, but I'll post it when I find it. http://brookeleys.googlepages.com
Brooke is a local homebirther and she is just lovely! :)
her email is waterborn@iprimus.com.au (this is a publicly listed email)
She has La Bassine, and one called ocean reef which is a bit larger than the La Bassine, I'm going the bigger one as I will probably have 2 little helpers in and out of there :) She provides all the fittings you need, and a thermometer.
Be aware Merla, if your boss is providing cheap keyboards, sometimes the letters come off and stick to your forehead for the rest of the day if you snooze there.
An important lesson I've learnt.
If you're feeling the budget squeeze, I saw a paddle pool in a catalogue yesterday, Big W I'm almost certain, clarke rubber otherwise, it was a rectangle, with padded floor, and little inflatie cushions in 2 of the corners. I think 61 cm deep? which might do me cos I'm a shortie, but perhaps not everyone else? Someone with experience know?
But it looked birthable to me just because of the big sides and inflatable base.
MilkOnTap :hugs: honey i hope your feeling better i remember going through some of that.
Re. birth pools i had 2 (lol) and they were both 'made in water' ones, but one was clearly bigger than the other, i dont know if they have had an upgrade or what just some food for thought.
Here is my birth story- http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3104537#post3104537
i hope everyone likes it:)
You are a legend Mixy, 11pds and no tears. :yelclap: :yelclap:
Hi - my DD2 was an unintentional homebirth, but it was a really good experience and i would do it again in a heartbeat. To anybody considering a homebirth, it is the most amazing, empowering, best experience you could ever have in your life.
Hey Baby86 - Congrats on your unintentional homebirth, i'm glad it was a good experience, most people would be pretty scared or worried i guess if they had a homebirth by accident! lol
I was lucky my midwife was just around the corner so she came and called the ambos. So there was people there. I went to the hospital afterwards.
Hopefully, I'll get to read the posts in this thread sometime soon! I feel like I have dropped off the face of the planet a bit! Having a newborn kinda wipes out surfing the net! At least ours has so far - when Mason is alseep surfing comes last at the bottom of the list after sleeping, eating and bathing. Unfortunately when he is awake, he tends to be fussy unless he is being held, usually with a finger in his mouth, so that doesn't leave any limbs for typing.
Anyway, just thought I'd try and post some photos of Mason from his birth and first rew days - hopefully they work!
http://i531.photobucket.com/albums/dd359/waahoo2008/DSC_0048.jpg
http://i531.photobucket.com/albums/dd359/waahoo2008/DSC_0068.jpg
http://i531.photobucket.com/albums/dd359/waahoo2008/DSC_0051.jpg
http://i531.photobucket.com/albums/dd359/waahoo2008/DSC_0101.jpg
http://i531.photobucket.com/albums/dd359/waahoo2008/DSC_0091.jpg
http://i531.photobucket.com/albums/dd359/waahoo2008/DSC_0078.jpg
http://i531.photobucket.com/albums/dd359/waahoo2008/DSC_0080.jpg
Student of Life
06-10-2008, 16:35
Oh gorgeous pics waahoo!! He is adorable. Thank you for sharing!!
Great pics wahoo, congrats on Mason, he is just gorgeous!!
headoverfeet
06-10-2008, 17:53
Beautiful pics wahoo, he is gorgeous looking!
Well were getting closer to D day, not that I am expecting Ollie to arrive like a train! We went over with DS and it felt like such a huge deal, it is comforting to know from reading your birth stories that going way past your EDD is okay. I am happy (atm lol) to go up to 3 weeks over with some monitoring after 2 weeks. Getting all the birth supplies together (need to order pool liner!!) and have finished reading gentle birth, gentle mothering which was an awsome book (DF enjoyed parts too). Have decided to wing it re: a support person for DS, will call a friend who lives close by to watch him if we birth during the day or if he wakes up and wont resettle at night. My mum still thinks we are going to call her for the birth and I dont know how to tell her I am not going to, have been debating writing her a letter but I still dont think she will understand why as she does not know about somethings. Have a midwife appointment tomorrow up at the centre which is the first time I will have gone there, dont really want to go somewhere else it just seems wrong. It will be nice to meet some other homebirthers though.
Hope everyone is keeping well
Waahoo, congtatulations on the birth of Mason. He is beautiful!! Thanks for sharing your photo's.
I am looking forward to meeting our newest family member. Hopefullly very soon!! Have a midwife appointment tomorrow and then accupuncture on Wednesday. Hoping that will help things along!!
Jxx
Thanks, guys! We think he's pretty adorable, but admittedly we are biased!
Today is my first day at home by myself as DH went back to work after 2 weeks at home. So far, so good, except for a poop explosion. I'm currently BOB and typing one-handed. I've just made Mason cry by changing him (you'd think it was the rack, not a change table from the way he carries on) as I feared another mess. He was clean but is now farting away in my arms, so I'm going to have to repeat the process all over again in a few minutes! Ah, life with a newborn!
I'm hoping he'll take a short nap at some point so I can finally write my birth story. I love telling people that I had him at home - they all look so surprised, like 'You can do that?!'
Good luck to all of you still looking forward to your homebirths!
Wow, I actually got it written today! Here is my birth story: http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3119371#post3119371
Hopefully the link works, I've never tried posting a link to another thread before.
Thanks for posting your birth story Wahoo, great read, and loved the pics!
Thanks for posting the story ange!
How exciting that we have a couple more babies coming soon!
My little man is 10 days old today! can you believe that?! he seems to be sensitive to white flour (you know pasta breads etc) so trying to work all that out at the moment. although today he is sleeping really well, but he will only sleep in the carrier, at least he is sleeping and not crying.
stellarella
07-10-2008, 16:13
Great story Wahoo. Congratulations! :yelclap:
Cute baby boy :goodvibes:
Well my little waterbirth babe is in 00's already! She is 5 weeks old tomorrow :sunshine:
She is lovely but very very clingy....I think I've said that a billion times by now :laughing:
She likes her sling but does not like her rocker/neglectomatic ;)
Dammit! :p
am one quarter through my designated month of 'GET OUT DARLING'
Think rarely
lie down much
guilt over opt positioning even more
Am impressed mixy that you've managed to actually notice any sensitivity to white flour, there are days when you go without entirely and notice the difference?
If I could... thingie. Think.
If I could think I would go crazy. Probably safest this way...:)
Forgotten Drs appt for GBS ABs 3 times. This time the receptionist is repeatedly ringing me through the day. She is exceedingly patient
There have been a few lovely birth stories here lately, the more I read them, the more excited I'm getting(and really wish that I had taken this route with my other kids!!).
I am starting to count down now, I have 8 weeks to go as of this coming Saturday(but I am thinking it's closer to 6 weeks). I have so much to get organised still. Hubby is home from work next Thursday, so I think we'll get everything prepared then!
We still haven't told our parents that we are birthing at home yet....oops lol. Not quite sure what the reaction will be. They are usually supportive of our choices...we will have to let the cat out of the bag when hubby is home because we'd like both our mums to be here(for me and for the kids). I was planning on telling them sooner, I have no idea where the time has gone, I swear it was just a few weeks ago when I was around 19 weeks and all of a sudden I'm almost at 32 weeks!!
MsMouse- ah this mth will be gone before you know it and you will meet your little one :)
Stellarella- Rhylan likes the wrap carrier to, not causing to much trouble having him on me most of the time.
(and really wish that I had taken this route with my other kids!!).
You know the day of Rhylans birth i actually appologised to my other two for not having them at home. i feel that Rhylans birth was just no comparision to thier births for me or them, and i wish i had of had the support (not just hubby but friends and family etc, this time i got that support here on the net) to have them at home to. but hey i will never birth in the hospital again, so any future babies will be in the safety of our house :D (not that future babies are on the horizon ATM.....)
We are doing really well now im not having any 'white' produces :) he feeds so well :) im starting to think we may need to start having the other side at a feed already?!?! we will see what the next couple of days brings :)
Well had my scan and all looked great except my placenta is looking quite low...
Bubby is healthy and a little boy. I am really excited.:yes::D
stellarella
09-10-2008, 09:49
You know the day of Rhylans birth i actually appologised to my other two for not having them at home. i feel that Rhylans birth was just no comparision to thier births for me or them, and i wish i had of had the support (not just hubby but friends and family etc, this time i got that support here on the net) to have them at home to. but hey i will never birth in the hospital again, so any future babies will be in the safety of our house :D (not that future babies are on the horizon ATM.....)
I agree. I feel like this about Oscar. Even though he didn't come off that badly after the birth, the fact that I was a mess for so long affected the post birth period surely. I wish I could feel the same joy and empowerment about both of their births. Although a HB transfer for Oscar's difficult and utterly exhausting birth may have left me feeling just as shattered I guess.
Í feel so different after this birth. It is so strange though that ppl think I should have rushed to the hosp or dr to get checked and baby. I would much rather rest and get to know baby. If anything is wrong then go to hosp. Isn't that what hosp for?
I feel that I have been on a long journey to freebirth.
I told my daughter that she was almost born in the shower just hubby and I. If only the mw had left us another 15mins.
Oh and she wants to birth at home when the time comes. As does my SIL. I am so glad I could show them its an option.
stellarella
10-10-2008, 08:48
Isn't it awesome Kymmy! So many people I have spoken to about HB are excited by it. Of course some people think I'm crazy and I was just "lucky" nothing went DRASTICALLY wrong. But even my FIL can see how great it was ;)
My aunty said "I hope one of my kids has a HB" she was so excited about it :laughing: She had 3 c/secs, no VBs :(
It feels great to make it seen as an option and somethign that normal ol' me did.
Congratulations Wahoo, bub is just gorgeous!! :)
stella & Mixy - the carriers/slings are an absolute lifesaver, hey?
MsMouse - you sound like me, my memory is SO shocking :laughing:
Starlet - I hope you get a lovely response from the family! :)
Freya - how low is low? Not very low I hope...My first placenta was a bit low, but presented no problem in the end... A boy...how exciting :)
For the first time in 3 pregnancies, I am finding I am getting some swelling in my ankles and legs, so I'm taking dandelion tea and nettle tea, and upping my intake of protein as well, and drinking lots of water of course...
I went to see the homoeopath and got some Arnica and Bellis Perrenis to take after the birth to help with minimising bleeding, bruising and shock, I tend to go into shock a little after having a baby ;)
I never thought it would happen, but Louie is night weaned now, and Tyler is sleeping through the night, so i'm actually getting pretty good sleep these days, I am looking foward to nursing just one bub at night this time around, last time I tandem night nursed for 18 months, it was necessary at the time, but boy am I glad I won't be doing a repeat performance! :)
Freya- :smiliedance: on your healthy boy :) how exciting, i hope the placenta does not cause any trouble
stella and kymmy, its exciting to be able to tell peolpe "oh he was born at home" i love the reaction! do you get that to?
ApprenticeMomma- i hope your swelling goes down, i had a little bit at the end of my pregnancy this time to
well my little man is growing up to fast, two weeks tomorrow, feels like only yesterday! my babymoon is slowly whinding up, i have actually done some house work today!
Freya - how low is low? Not very low I hope...My first placenta was a bit low, but presented no problem in the end... A boy...how exciting :)
Freya- :smiliedance: on your healthy boy :) how exciting, i hope the placenta does not cause any trouble.
Thanks. :D
I feel as though the placenta will move so not too worried, she didn't seem too concerned just said she would like for me to have another scan at around 32 weeks but I dunno we'll see how we go. It does explain the bleeding I have had a bit lately though.
But I trust that it will move and all will be fine.:D
Isn't it awesome Kymmy! So many people I have spoken to about HB are excited by it. Of course some people think I'm crazy and I was just "lucky" nothing went DRASTICALLY wrong. But even my FIL can see how great it was ;)
My aunty said "I hope one of my kids has a HB" she was so excited about it :laughing: She had 3 c/secs, no VBs :(
It feels great to make it seen as an option and somethign that normal ol' me did.
Hate that comment - Lucky nothing went wrong! :rolleyes:
Or you're brave or foolish...
Esp being a fb it seems ppl can't understand how I could do it on my own. Well honestly I felt on my own with my hosp births. Only I could birth my babies.
stella and kymmy, its exciting to be able to tell peolpe "oh he was born at home" i love the reaction! do you get that to?
Yep!
I think it takes a while for some ppl to understand though.
And add to that I didn't have medical assistance. It can turn up some interesting facial expressions.
12-10-2008, 10:36
Papillion - Has your 2nd trimester boost come around yet?? I hope so!
Mixy - Thank you so much for sharing your birth story!!! Congratulations again :goodvibes:
Waahoo - Those pics are adorable, and thanks for sharing your birth story as well - congratulations!
Babymaker - Oh, we're due roughly around the same time! I feel so slack, I haven't organised much at all. My IM is coming this Wednesday with a list of things that we should have on hand for the birth - and I plan on washing all the sheets and towels that we've been given this week as well. That'll do for the week I think LOL!
Starlet - Its great to see another due-in-dec mum here :D How are you feeling?
AM - I hope the cankle swelling settles down for you. You just reminded me that I need to buy some raspberry leaf tea! Thanks :D
And as for me - well I'm feeling a bit more emotionally stable than I have the last few weeks, but also feeling a bit unprepared. I have so much that I want to get done before bub arrives and I just feel like I'm running out of time. Finances are so tight and I'm stressing about that as well. I've also decided that I need to have a doula to take care of Jedd at the birth. I did have three potential sitters lined up (still another one who lives in the city as well) but the first one is going to be away, the second just separated from her husband and wont have a sitter for her own childre, and the third just found out that her 13yo daughter has cancer :( Plus the last two work f/t so they're really not available to me all the time. Gah - if only we had family around.
I'm a bit annoyed with my IM - I called her the other day asking for some doula referrals and she didnt call me back. I know that I'm seeing her on Wednesday, but I wanted to start making phone calls and meeting up with them. I might call her today and get their numbers. I know my IM would prefer me to use one of her recommended doula's - but I'm not sure how far the finances are really going to stretch so I am thinking that I may need to just go with a student.
I'm still not 100% healthy either - this cold/fluish thing has been hanging around for close on 3 weeks now and its really starting to bother me. Its just a cough now, but my left eye has a big bloodshot mark through it as well - its really weird and gross.
Pregnancy is going well though - bub has the hiccups right now and I am feeling really good. Much better than I did when I was pregnant with Jedd anyway! I've been doing a bit of reading about the birth - but I'm also kind of trying to not read TOO much cause I just want my body and nature to take over, rather than compare myself to a text book.
Okies - thats enough from me :o
headoverfeet
12-10-2008, 18:40
Babymaker - Oh, we're due roughly around the same time! I feel so slack, I haven't organised much at all. My IM is coming this Wednesday with a list of things that we should have on hand for the birth - and I plan on washing all the sheets and towels that we've been given this week as well. That'll do for the week I think LOL!
Ooo I know what you mean, not really organised but can't do much until DF gets his monthly pay! Still need to get a pool liner which I suppose is not a big issue as my CMP midwife wont drop the pool around until 37wks anyway. That's a pain about your support people, I thought about a student Doula for DS but for me having 2 midwives here is going to be enough people watching.
Had a bath for the first time since we moved and this one is sooo much deeper I think I could labour in there if I had too. I too need to wash some linen I am borrowing. Have washed a whole pile of terry flats that I no longer use as nappies.
Oh a Q: Do I need to rewash the clean linen I am using as we get closer to the birth? How freshly laundered does it need to be?
Beginning to picture having a new baby in the house, I have decided this time that I am going to sling Ollie whenever I can (thanks mixy, stellarella and kymmy) you all sound like you have had a fairly smooth transition welcoming your newborns.
MOT - I'm feeling pretty good actually. I'm so not prepared either, I really need to get my butt into gear, I just can't get over how fast time is flying, I'm sure that it didn't go this fast last year did it?!
BM - I forgot to ask you how your bath was. I'm sooo jealous, our bath doesn't even cover my belly at all *sigh* Really wish I was still at our old place, we had a corner spa bath there! You've also reminded me to order my pool liner too! lol.
Student of Life
13-10-2008, 10:48
I am with you all on how fast time is going, I just can't believe how quickly this pregnancy is going this time around. I am 19 wks today and am going to be half way next week! Crazy. I am finding it hard to get organised his time around as we just don't have the space for all the baby stuff as yet.
Bubs is really moving around more and more and DS1 is always trying to feel it but misses the big ones. LOL It is really cute but I'm sure he will be able to feel a bigger kick in a few weeks when they happen more often.
13-10-2008, 10:56
Just thought I'd mention here that I'm looking for a doula :)
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=213093
Papillion
13-10-2008, 18:39
MilkOnTap - No "boost" yet, infact still vomiting! Well I've only just started week 12 so have another week before the 2nd trimester so maybe next week (I really hope so!)
- & I hope everything settles down nicely for you & some of this nice warm weather might help dry up that cold / flu.
Babymaker - hope all works out OK with telling your mum you're not planning on calling her for birth support.
Starlet - can't believe it's just 8 weeks lEft for you, and then it's just another 2.5 weeks til Christmas. Hope the parents are supportive for your HB.
Waahoo - love the birth story and pics. Just so lovely! :flowerz:
Mixy - can't believe how time is flying. I'm sure it was just a few days ago we were all waiting for the arrival news.
stellarella - love the "rocker/neglectomatic" :) My DH is mesmerised by all the neglectomatic gadgets, and the more crazy computerised moving parts the more his eyes light up. I'll be resisting the baby's room turning into a sideshow lol!
Freya - a little boy, how sweet!
kymmy - so glad to hear that your HB is inspiring those around you!
ApprenticeMomma - hope the swelling eases, seems like a few nice things are falling into place for you (sleep is always a nice bonus)
Student of Life - Space for a baby - I know what you mean. I keep thinking I've got ages to actually turn our home office into a nursery for our surprise bubs, but the weeks are flying. If it comes down to it I'm happy to cram a cot beside my bed anyway lol!
MsMouse - lol@ forgetting appointments. So exciting that your bubs will be here soon. Lots of :hugs: & :goodvibes: for you!
:party: St George Hospital is having a homebirth picnic ont he grounds from 11am - 1pm on Thursday 30th October - it'll be nice to meet all the midwives there and a few other HBers!
too vague and self centred for personals
Who was talking about baths? Mine is huge, frankly humungous, but its not wide enough, so impossible to squat or sit crosslegged in, so I'm still very glad I have a pool
also someone with a CMP midwife lending them a pool - you can buy the matching liners from CMP. Middie will sort it for you
Sick and sore as a dog. Hoping desperately its early labour. If I'm just crook, hoping I dont try to have a baby now! That would be far too much at once
Fingers crossed for you MsMouse, I was just wondering who was next in line to give birth, and you just answered my question... :)
headoverfeet
14-10-2008, 15:09
too vague and self centred for personals
Who was talking about baths? Mine is huge, frankly humungous, but its not wide enough, so impossible to squat or sit crosslegged in, so I'm still very glad I have a pool
also someone with a CMP midwife lending them a pool - you can buy the matching liners from CMP. Middie will sort it for you
That was me MsMouse- thank you! :hugs:
:goodvibes: sending you some belly rubs, hell here is a backrub too :goodvibes:
MOT- i think a doula is a good idea. also i would be annoyed if my IM had not called me back while i was pregnant.
Babymaker, i was in our bath for a little bit in my labour, and we have a tiny bath! so hubby could hug me i turned side ways, was up on my knees, and put my feet together, my knees were really far apart as you can imagine. and i only had the bottom of my belly in the water (the only bit that hurt) but anyway, im sure you could use your bath for a while if its nice and big.
also about the linen, if its been washed that will do, dont rewash thats not neccersery
and yep the slings and wraps etc are fantastic :)
msmouse, backrubs, and heat packs your way
me- well rhylan is not sleeping well during the day... frustrating and tiring
headoverfeet
17-10-2008, 10:08
Mixy- Thanks for that re the linen, if I see the sleep fairy I will send her your way.
Well sleeps seems to of made a mad dash for the door the last 3 nights, I am shattered- was joking to DF that it must be some secret hormone that prepares your body for the impending lack of sleep, he called it the "you have a big tummy and cant get comfortable with reflux hormone" I dont think the name will catch on.
Had a dream last night that we were labouring during our homebirth and I decided that I would go to hospy insted and have a c/s, so I did- only ended up with 4 stiches in this huge incision. So weird.
Hope everyone is going well.
I'd be quite huffy indeed at the IM.
:sleeping: Mixy, I've actually started to understand what you meant about feeling awful at 38ish weeks, and then being fine with it all after. Knackered, but fine.
Its all rather weird
17-10-2008, 10:38
MOT- i think a doula is a good idea. also i would be annoyed if my IM had not called me back while i was pregnant.
I think I've found one!!! I'm meeting her next week sometime, but so far so good :D I feel so much more relaxed knowing that 'that bit' has been taken care of. My IM is glad to know that we will have a doula as well - she actually seemed quite excited to meet her!
I'm feeling really good right now. My carpets are being cleaned in half an hour (thank god, no more liquorice stains to look at!) and Jedd is in daycare for his first full day. I'll call them soon to see how he's gone this morning. As terrible as this sounds, the break this morning has been lovely :o Hubby should get home a couple of hours before Jedd needs to be picked up - so it'll be so nice to have some uninterrupted 'us' time :goodvibes:
Babymaker - what a weird dream!!! But only 4 stitches for a c/s? How strange... I had a weird dream last night - I was strangling my sister because she did or didnt do something for me. Very obscure. My poor sister lol :laughing:
I think thats about it from me. My IM came the other day and apparantly bub is head down already! Not engaging or anything like that, but its good to know that we're starting to get ready to meet each other :D Though I'm certainly feeling the 'fullness' of pregnancy, I'm not feeling over it yet. Definitely a good thing! I do need to start up on the raspberry leaf tea though.
PookieLady
17-10-2008, 14:18
WOW that is alot of reading I just did to catch up on how everyone is lol. Glad to hear there will be more babys arriving soon:goodvibes:
Hubby and I have decided to put off having another bubba for another 6 months or so. Its kinda sad but we feel its just not the rite time for us, oh well im sure 6 months will fly by. I will still be pokeing my head in from time to time tho.
Take care all
Sarah
Pookie - Hopefully the time will fly by for you...
Speaking of wierd pregnancy dreams, I have had heaps this pregnancy, way more than with the other two, and my latest one was that i gave birth to 2 sets of twins :laughing: Musta been taking Freyas joke a little too literally ;)
Student of Life
17-10-2008, 19:54
BM - That is a really strange dream. Can't say I have had anything as weird as that but i do get the few weird ones that have me thiking, what the?!
MsMouse - Glad to hear you are feeling better and not stressed.
MOT - Glad to hear you might have found a Doula so quickly. That is fantastic news. I hope the appointment goes well.
Pookie - I'm sorry to hear about the delay but I'm sure when your next bubs is here it will be perfect timing. I hope the wait goes nice and quickly for you, too.
AM - Wow, 2 sets of twins. Now that is an achievement. LOL
This pregnancy has been really good and I am really enjoying the extra movements. I have been having some times when I feel like I lose my tummy, sort of like going over a big hill or something. I would feel it every now and then, now having felt it before with my boys. It was only just yesterday that I figured out what the feeling was. I figure it is when bubs is having a good roll around and feet up or something. Doesn't happen all that often but it is strange sensation when sitting watching TV or something. LOL
WOW that is alot of reading I just did to catch up on how everyone is lol. Glad to hear there will be more babys arriving soon:goodvibes:
Hubby and I have decided to put off having another bubba for another 6 months or so. Its kinda sad but we feel its just not the rite time for us, oh well im sure 6 months will fly by. I will still be pokeing my head in from time to time tho.
Take care all
Sarah
:hugs: :hugs: I hope you are ok with that hun, be nice to spend time with just you G, and C before you try for a new bubby, it will go fast. :hugs:
PunkyDiva
17-10-2008, 22:20
V8...sorry to butt in but I won't make the meet in Nov. Will let ya's know when I am coming up again & hopefully I can fit in with another HB meet.
Know I'll be in Bundy def end of Feb for long weekend if anyone up that way.
I am sooo itching to have another homebirth but that would be sooo greedy :-)
mumofKieran
18-10-2008, 13:05
I haven't contributed anything to this thread for a while.
Our HB journey is still in its infancy, I am 9 weeks now, and we are going to Sydney next week for 3 days and while we are there we will be meeting with 2 MWs who have both agreed to come to Dubbo for the birth, yay! I can't believe I even found one, let alone have a choice.
I still don't know how I feel about having to potentially be in labour for 5 hours before the MW arrives, as both MWs said they would leave as soon as I rang to say I'd gone into labour. So it does mean 5 hours by ourselves, and what if it's a short labour?? And because I am VBAC that is in the back of my mind too.
And the other weird thing is, I have wanted this for so long and have fought with DH about it for so long, and now that it's within my grasp I don't know if I really have the confidence to go through with it? Has anyone else felt this way? I sometimes have negative thoughts like, what if the baby dies (possible in any birth, even in hospital) and I have to face people who know that I made the decision to go against all advice (well that's how they will see it) and now the worst has happened. I don't know if I have enough inner strength to deal with that scenario. Facing people who think I am an idiot for HBing and the baby dies. I am also worried about my husband blaming me too, as he would still prefer me to go to Hospital and although he will support me at home, I am worried he will not be able to resist feeling bitter should something go wrong. If it was just me, I would definitely stay home no hesitation, but I am feeling an enormous amount of pressure to 'conform' as at least then no one can think badly of me or blame me. Any thoughts from anyone who's been there?
OMG!!!! well done getting mw's to Dubbo!! Awesome stuff :yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:
As to your doubts, I think we all have them to varying degrees at some stage or another...
Is it possible to have a doula who can come and be support for you as soon as you go into labour, just to be there emotionally for you until the mw's turn up, and you can relax so to speak?
And as for the idea of the baby dying, well, it is a rare senario, perhaps you need to do some research about exactly what would make you transfer to hospy, actually get the senarios down on paper so you are not having to make spur of the moment decisions while you are in labour. It can be very confidance building to know "well, if a,b or c happens, then we just get in the car and go to hospy, and it would probably make your partner less worried too, as men seem to like to have a 'plan' IYKWIM...
Have you read up at www.purebirth-australia.com it has SO much info there, and it goes into just about every unlikely and very unlikely senario, and what you can do about it.
As to feeling pressure to conform, well, I guess combatting that just has to come from your gut instincts about birth, and that you ARE doing the very best thing for your baby by having him/her at home, and there is no way you would ever put your life, or your babies life in danger...
All the best, you will have an awesome birth :)
mumofKieran
18-10-2008, 19:30
Thanks for the positive comments AM. I know that the confidence has to come from me and not from what others may/may not think, but this is easier said than done! I don't have a Doula but I do have a very good friend who lives 5 minutes away and has had 2 very natural births with no intervention at all (the second was 4 months ago) and she is more than happy to come and support us while we wait for the MW. She is a very relaxed supportive person and I would feel totally comfortable with her. Anyway I guess the next step is to meet the MWs and see how we go. And I will check out that website too :thumbsup:
V8...sorry to butt in but I won't make the meet in Nov. Will let ya's know when I am coming up again & hopefully I can fit in with another HB meet.
Know I'll be in Bundy def end of Feb for long weekend if anyone up that way.
I am sooo itching to have another homebirth but that would be sooo greedy :-)
No problems Punky, saw your sis on Thurs and she said you weren't able to make it up, so that's cool, i already knew! hehe ;)
How funny, i would love to have another homebirth again, it's lovely. :)
Just thought that I would touch base and let you all know I had a boy on 9/10. He is just divine and was born in under 3 hours from first contraction. I had him in the birth pool and got to lift him out of the water myself. He was 9lb 9oz. As far as births go it was fantastic. No tears!! I had a wonderful support team and the girls were able to see their brother being born. They love him dearly. He is simply divine!!
Well he has just woken up so must go and give him cuddles.
Jxx:):)
stellarella
19-10-2008, 20:07
Just thought that I would touch base and let you all know I had a boy on 9/10. He is just divine and was born in under 3 hours from first contraction. I had him in the birth pool and got to lift him out of the water myself. He was 9lb 9oz. As far as births go it was fantastic. No tears!! I had a wonderful support team and the girls were able to see their brother being born. They love him dearly. He is simply divine!!
Congratulations!!!! :smiliedance:
Mixy, I've actually started to understand what you meant about feeling awful at 38ish weeks, and then being fine with it all after. Knackered, but fine.
Its all rather weird
it is weird hey, but its nice to get a breack from feeling ****:)
i hope your feeling ok about that. will you still be coming to the meet in a few weeks?
mumofKieran- you know alot of what you talked about in your post i had to work through. DH was not supportive at all and actually said that if something happened to the baby 'it woul be on my shoulders' but he came around and by the end was 100% supportive and was a keen HB advocate. try not to worry about what others think, they are not birthing your baby, you are and you will only do what is best for you and your baby.
My midwife was about 1 1/2 hours away, i know that does not compair to 5 hours, but once i rung her she had to do a few things (get our back-up pool in the car etc) and it took her a fare bit longer than planned to arrive, but my body waited, bubba arrived 30 mins after she arrived but i think he would have been here much sooner if she had of been here.
Epona- :goodvibes: congratulations!!!
Lovely news Epona :) Congratulations.
I also wanted to add that i found out today that my contrations never became regular. my mum was timing them and they were all over the place, 3mins, 5mins, 5mins, 4mins, 5mins, 3 mins, just all over the place. but of course no-one cared :goodvibes: ah home birth:goodvibes:
Congrats Ep.:yelclap:
Nothing exciting going on here, just over half way now. Feeling bub kicking heaps!
Take care everyone.xxx
headoverfeet
20-10-2008, 00:08
Congratulations Epona :goodvibes:
Has anyone heard from MsMouse? I'm wondering if she was in labour...
20-10-2008, 12:19
Thanks for the positive comments AM. I know that the confidence has to come from me and not from what others may/may not think, but this is easier said than done! I don't have a Doula but I do have a very good friend who lives 5 minutes away and has had 2 very natural births with no intervention at all (the second was 4 months ago) and she is more than happy to come and support us while we wait for the MW. She is a very relaxed supportive person and I would feel totally comfortable with her. Anyway I guess the next step is to meet the MWs and see how we go. And I will check out that website too :thumbsup:
:hugs: Thats fantastic news that you found two IM's who are willing to travel to Dubbo for you! My guess is that one of them is the IM who I'm seeing - she travels so far for so many people - if it is, you'll love her!!!
Ohhhhh - congratulations Epona!!!!! Cant wait to hear your story and see some pics :D
And as for me - I am STARVING! I'm eating and eating and eating but still feel hungry! Its really embarrassing actually - cause I just feel constantly hungry. I've also had a bit of diarrhoea which is weird - but hubby reckons its cause of stress. Who knows. I just hope that this doesn't all add up to pre-term labour. If I went into labour before 36wks then I wouldn't feel comfortable staying at home for the birth. I'd stay home for as long as possible, but would want to be near medical assistance for bub - just in case. NOT that this is going to happen - right? :o
Student of Life
20-10-2008, 13:49
Oh Congratulations!! :yelclap: Don't take too long to do a birth story and share a pic of your little man. ;)
I also wanted to add that i found out today that my contrations never became regular. my mum was timing them and they were all over the place, 3mins, 5mins, 5mins, 4mins, 5mins, 3 mins, just all over the place. but of course no-one cared :goodvibes: ah home birth:goodvibes:
Don't you love that! You would have been told that you couldn't birth and would need augmentation in a hospital. That is what happened with DS1, they put the synt up and he was born an hr later. Like the drugs actually made any difference! So awesome that we can just trust our bodies and know that it will do it's thing.
borntobemummy
20-10-2008, 20:58
hey everyone:wave:
congratulations on those who have just given birth:yelclap: I hope you are enjoying your new babies!
We just had a visit from our midwife tonight and it was great. We invited my parents to come along so they could meet our middy and ask her any questions they had. It was really good, they had heaps of questions because they are really worried about us having a homebirth after 2 c-sections. Our middy was calm as she explained everything to them that they wanted to know. Hopefully it has made some impact in the way they feel about this now.
Baby has his head down now already (I'm 25 weeks) and is measuring just right with a strong heartbeat. It was so cute when I lay down on the couch for our middy to listen to the baby's heartbeat DS climbed up next to me, lay on his back and lifted his shirt up too!:p He's only just discovered his tummy this week so it was so cute. Our midwife even put the doppler on his chest after me so he could hear his heartbeat, he just loved it! His eyes lit up with pure joy! It was so cool hearing his heart beat on a doppler again after hearing that familiar sound when I was pregnant with him!
I can't wait to give birth!!!:smiliedance:
borntobemummy - What a great thing to do to get your parents over! An in depth talk with a calm and confidant midwife can set the fears at rest just like that sometimes...:yelclap:
It's great when your other children get to be 'in on' the appointments, I know Ty used to love 'listening' to the baby :) and it all helps with their understanding of whats about to happen too.
mumofKieran
21-10-2008, 19:48
Congratulations Epona :flowerz: Wonderful news!
Well I am in the full throes of morning sickness and I hate it :( Except for me it's evening sickness..I wake up feeling not too bad, then it gets progressively worse throughout the day until the evening when I feel like throwing up (and often do!). Yuk.
22-10-2008, 12:40
So this is going to sound weird - but I'm gonna just say it anyway...
Hubby smells different.
The last 3 or 4 days or so I've noticed that his natural body odour is different to normal. His breath is different. He just smells weird and different to normal. He did a marathon on Sunday, and his BO afterwards was HORRIBLE - I normally quite like his sweaty-self but this was really eww...
Do you think its him and his natural scent has changed? Or could it just be a preggie related thing for me?
Congratulations Epona!
Me too! 11:41pm on 19 October, I had my HBAC and am just dead pleased with myself
a beautiful strong 8lb4oz boy with no name and black hair.
Only took 6 hoursish from start to finish, so I'm very pleased.
:D:bee::cloud9::D:bee::cloud9:
Wonderful news MsMouse!! Congrats :)
headoverfeet
22-10-2008, 14:07
:goodvibes: Congratulations MsMouse :goodvibes:
22-10-2008, 14:51
Congratulations Epona!
Me too! 11:41pm on 19 October, I had my HBAC and am just dead pleased with myself
a beautiful strong 8lb4oz boy with no name and black hair.
Only took 6 hoursish from start to finish, so I'm very pleased.
:D:bee::cloud9::D:bee::cloud9:
Ohhhhh - CONGRATULATIONS!!!!
MOT - no idea about your hubbys smell!! ;) Pregnancy can play havoc with our sense of smell, but who knows really? Wierd. :)
I'm feeling like a bit of an old crock at the moment, from about 11am to 2 pm I feel like I am in slow motion, and my belly is really starting to get in my way now, and bending down is such an effort!! Running after the two boys is exhausing!
I tend to perk up again after 2pm which is great though...
I am pretty content for this to be my last pregnancy I think :)
I cannot imagine what it is like to be pregnant 8 or 10 times though...the mind boggles!!
Thank you for all your lovely replies!! Little J is doing beautifully (he's currently sleeping in his papa's arm!!). It is such a change having a boy. He has managed to wee on me a couple of times. Learning to leave the nappy in place for a bit, before changing him!!
I will try and work out how to post a picture in the not too distant future.
We have our two week check up with one of our midwives tomorrow. It's hard to believe it's been two week already, but it is also hard to remember life without him.
We have all been suffering with a flu this week. I feel a bit ripped off as hubby has to return to work next week, and I feel this week has been a right-off with us all feeling under the weather.
Congratulations MsMouse on your HBAC. Hoping you are still on a birthing high!! Hope you find a fitting name for your wee boy.
mumofkieren, hope the evening sickness passes soon. I remember feeling worse in the evenings too. I found it returned later in the pregancy too, which wasn't much fun!
MOT I am assuming your pregancy may have something to do with your sense of smell. I have found since having J that certain things smell better than during pregancy ie my deodorant smelt yuck during pregancy but now smells like I remember pre pregancy. Hope hubby's smell improves soon!!
Jxx
Student of Life
23-10-2008, 10:51
Congratulations on your little man, MsMouse!! And your HBAC!!
MoK - Sorry to hear about the ms, it totally sucks. I found that mine got worse when I was tired, could that be a trigger for you? If I was able to catch even 30min nap I felt a little better (for a little while anyway). I hope it passes soon.
BM - What a great idea having your parents at the middy appointment. I hope they are feeling happy about your decision now. Very clever. My last middy appointment DS1 was really excited to get involved in to, was too cute. DS2 wasn't all that well so didn't really notice what was going on too much. Will be interesting to see how they both go this time around.
MOT - My sense of smell gets 100x more sensitive when pregnant so maybe that could be it? A bit strange that it has changed this far into pregnancy though.
AM - I totally understand what you mean about the belly getting in the way. I am LOVING being pregnant this time but also can see this one being my last. My kids are older than yours but I am still feeling it.
Epona - So glad you little man has settled in so well. Time flies with the little ones!!
23-10-2008, 11:33
Oh - Oh! I just met my doula and I feel SOOOO relieved! She's so lovely and I feel totally confident that everything will be fine now. I've been so stressed about whose going to look after Jedd - what a relief!
(btw, grapebubblegum is my doula :D) See you on Wednesday :wave:
Student of Life
23-10-2008, 11:35
Oh that is awesome! Everything is just falling into place for you which is fantastic. You are going to have such an awesome birth!
23-10-2008, 11:49
Thanks SoL :) I've been so stressed out the last few weeks thinking of everything that we need to do for the birth - its so good to know that a few more things have been taken care of :yes:
23-10-2008, 12:09
Anyone else feeling absolutely ravenous??? I've just eaten 6 dim sims for lunch and I'm STILL starving :o
headoverfeet
23-10-2008, 12:48
Oh thank god MOT I thought I was being a pig! I ate sooo much yesturday and today I was thinking that I should take it easy, send some dim sims my way- yum!!!
Re: your birth space thread, does anyone have good ideas/recipies for energy drinks? I am not into gatorade type stuff atm I just drink water and the occasional cup of tea.
Try these out... they are also good in the days after labour, to keep your energy up. :)
Laborade Recipes:
These recipes are elecrolyte balanced mixtures which are the rough, organic equivvalent to the I.V. solutions routinely given in the hospitals.
Recipe #1
1/2 cup apricot nector
1 cup apple juice
2 cups orange juice
1 cup pineapple juice
twist of lemon or lime
Recipe #2
1/2 cup apricot nector
1 cup pineapple juice
1/2 cup orange juice
1 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
Recipe #3
2 cups tomato juice
1/2 cup water
2 dashes tamari
juice of 1/2 lime
Recipe #4
1/3 cup real lemon juice
1/3 cup honey or more to taste
1 tablet calcium lactate, powdered
water to make one quart
headoverfeet
23-10-2008, 13:11
Thanks AM!
Student of Life
23-10-2008, 18:09
Oh thanks for the recipes, AM.
I have been in so much pain today in my pelvis, I could hardly walk without being on the verge of tears today but it didn't start until I got to the shops. Yay. I have an Osteo appointment on Sat but I was wondering what else is good to help with all this lovely pelvic pain? Anyone?
headoverfeet
23-10-2008, 18:57
Have you tried one of those belt things? I went to a womens physio that is based out of SJOG in murdoch and she was fantastic! Other then that try and keep pelvis as stable as possible.
congratulations MsMouse :yelclap:!!!!!
Student of Life, be carefull how you get out of bed, dont squat or any thing. with my pelvis i had one side moving freely, but the other side was fixed ( both pretty bad) but my first chiro was ony treating the free moving side, just make sure everything is being treated. GL
Student of Life
23-10-2008, 21:47
Thanks ladies.
I find I roll out of bed and even during the night, depending on how long I sleep for at a time, it is agony to roll over. I find at the moment if I keep everything square it helps but it means I'm walking a lot slower than usual and am sort of walking funny at the knees or something. I will have to ask the Osteo if he knows of the belts but I am sure they also have a physio in the building which will be great. I never had this with either of by boys so it is making things that bit harder to cope with.
Bek - I experienced similar pain when I was pregnant with DS3, I couldn't find anything that helped besides hopping in the pool. Try and take it easy(I know it's easy to say, but not easy to do).
I've been a bit annoyed by the reaction I get when I tell people I'm having a home birth, nearly everyone comments with 'oh but what about the mess?'. ARGH!!!!
Hmmm....yep, it's amazing just how little people actually know about hb, hey?
SOL - Sorry you are in so much pain, I really hope the trip to the Osteo helps a lot...
headoverfeet
24-10-2008, 11:25
Bek - I experienced similar pain when I was pregnant with DS3, I couldn't find anything that helped besides hopping in the pool. Try and take it easy(I know it's easy to say, but not easy to do).
I find I can never think of a good reply so I just say that I cant be bothered with going to hospital as I think it is unnecessary when you have a healthy pregnancy and history....pritty weak hey. But then I get to tell them about the CMP we have and everything :D nobody I speak to knows about it, you would think that doctors (not obs obviously) would let women know about it when they go to confirm there pregnancies?!?!
Have backup MW appointment in 40min and I want to ask her what position bubs is in, his bum seems to be always over to the left of my belly button facing towards my back so hopefully she can confirm this. Have been bouncing away on my fit ball and it makes his head really poke my cervix when I get up-OUCH!
Hope all the new bubs are doing well!
My babe is lying in the same position M :) I have no idea when my back up middy appointment is, she never got back to me and went on holidays!! It's meant to be next week. I say that I can't be bothered with going to the hospital too, especially when I have 3 kids that I have to get ready and drop off. It's not like I haven't done this all before! I had some horrified expressions when I said I was having a homebirth until I mentioned that I would be having a middy here.
Baby has dropped, it's nice to have some breathing room!!
24-10-2008, 12:02
AM - Thank you for those recipes! I have a few bottles of gatorade in the cupboard, but I think I'll make that first recipe up as well. Just need to make sure that hubby doesn't open any of the bottles/cans before bub makes her debut :)
I usually answer with "what mess? i'll be in the birthing pool!" hehehehehe... It is annoying when people are negative about HB's - I usually just say that I had a bad hospital experience and refuse to go there again. No one likes hearing bad birth stories when they KNOW its going to be bad so I usually dont get too many more q's after that.
I have been in so much pain today in my pelvis, I could hardly walk without being on the verge of tears today but it didn't start until I got to the shops. Yay. I have an Osteo appointment on Sat but I was wondering what else is good to help with all this lovely pelvic pain? Anyone?
OUCH SoL... no advice - :hugs:
And as for me - I'm feeling fantastic! I had lots of weird and wonderful bowel movements yesterday which was a bit disturbing, but I'm feeling really good.
I bought some stones to hold and rub through the birth - a hemotite stone, a black tourmaline, an amethyst stone and the woman threw in a beautiful pink rhodonite to put in the babies room (aka our room). I was going to use an electric oil burner with candles, but have decided that i'll just use the regular oil burner and not bother with any other candles. I've been thinking about what kind of atmosphere I want - and even though I want it to be calm and relaxed, I dont think I want it to be 'romantic'. I envision labour to be... well... labourous! And I dont want to sugar coat it to be something that its not. I want to be realistic about the hard work that will be involved; but at the same time I want it to be a quiet, sedate environment. Does that make sense???
headoverfeet
24-10-2008, 13:01
T- yep MW confirmed position as LOA so my poking was right, he is 4/5ths engaged and still bowllable (or something like that lol) she can still move his head around another words! I am not expecting him to engage or drop or do anything until he is ready anyway.
Actually, we broke the birth pool:o So there was some mess...
Had the poor lad on the loo, which is still needing another scrub over. I also broke the paper holder off the wall, but frankly, who cares about that at the time...
Actually, we broke the birth pool:o So there was some mess...
Had the poor lad on the loo, which is still needing another scrub over. I also broke the paper holder off the wall, but frankly, who cares about that at the time...
I can tell this is going to be an interesting birth story! :D
I usually answer with "what mess? i'll be in the birthing pool!" hehehehehe...
I used to be put off about the thought of the mess but yes the pool and towels take care of it. Also helps if you have a helpful hubby and MIL. I saw no mess!
Ooops MsMouse!
hahah msmouse! Can't wait to read that story!!
24-10-2008, 14:18
Oh msmouse - you have us all in suspense!!!! :laughing:
mumofKieran
25-10-2008, 14:46
Congratulations MsMouse :flowerz:
I can't keep up with all the babies being born on here!
Well I met with a MW yesterday in Sydney who is happy to travel to Dubbo, she is lovely, so now we seriously need to decide what we are going to do and get a plan in place!
Still feeling sick, but have only vomited once so far, so not as bad as I was with Kieran although it feels terrible.
DH has been telling everyone at his work that I am planning to HB, which doesn't thrill me, as firstly I haven't even decided 100% yet and secondly I will be very picky as to who I tell because the last thing I need is ignorant people destroying my confidence in my decision! I asked him not to tell anyone else just yet and of course his response was that if it's so safe and great then why am I trying to hide it. AARGH! But anyway on a positive note he seems much happier with the idea since we met the MW yesterday. So we'll see.
26-10-2008, 11:20
:hugs: MOK
My hubby got a bit carried away at the beginning as well - its so good that he's on board with the idea though and is obviously very excited about it! Much easier to deal with than an unsupportive daddy-to-be :dizzy:
Today I feel lovely! I had a sleep-in, went for a swim, then we went to the beach as a family. Gosh I love shared-parenting :laughing:
As a baby shower gift, a friend of mine has organised for my belly and scar to be henna-tattooed!!! I'm SO excited! We're doing it on Friday - will definitely post some pics :) I'm feeling a lil self-conscious of my stripes-of-service (stretchmarks) so it'll be nice to have them covered up somewhat for just a little while. Ohhhhh - I can't wait!
This week my IM is coming on Wednesday and so is my doula - they're going to meet for the first time so :fingerscrossed: all goes well. They're both so lovely, I just can't imagine them not getting along anyway. We step up to weekly visits now (with my IM that is) so it kind of feels like things are really happening now :D
mumofKieran
26-10-2008, 11:34
MOT - you must really love it when your DH is home. My DH does shift work and while that doesn't really compare to being away for months on end, I do love it when we actually see each other in a day rather than going days on end with him on night shift.
I am feeling a little worried today, Kieran has developed a rash all over and while he's not that sick, I am worried it might be Rubella (I posted in the vax section about it). Will have to ring my Doctor tomorrow I think, just to put my mind at rest.
26-10-2008, 21:35
Hubby and I just took some shots of my blossoming belly!!! Here are my faves :D
http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l8/grantandalicia/IMGP1114.jpg
http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l8/grantandalicia/IMGP11042.jpg
Aww hun, just gorgeous!!!!!
27-10-2008, 06:32
Thanks :D I love them! Last night we watched one of the DVD's that my IM left for us and hubby felt inspired to do some 'hippy photos' :laughing:
It was so much fun :yes:
Just thought Id give you all an update. We had the 19week scan today, and everything is perfect for our homebirth, were expecting a beautiful little girl. :)
Had another appointment with our middy today aswell, she is very happy with how everything is going, and our little princess is growing perfectly. Im getting really excited about homebirthing, now I know everything is alright with her, I can focus on the fun stuff :)
Recipe #4
1/3 cup real lemon juice
water to make one quart
I can recommend this one - I used it at my homebirth. I found it quenched my thirst so much better than water!
Congratulations to Epona and MsMouse!!!!:yelclap:
I've been AWOL for the last couple of weeks. Between feeding and changing Mason, sleeping, bathing, eating and trying to keep up a bit with housework, I just don't find the time to come on here much lately! I'm sure I'll find more time as we get into more of a routine...he's only 5 weeks.
And...yes, he's awake again! So much for checking any other threads!:rolleyes: Oh well, there's always tomorrow!
MOT - GREAT photos!! I'm inspired to perhaps try some myself...this really IS my last pregnancy! (Hmmm...didn't I say that last time?? :)) so some scrummy belly shots would be lovely.
Merla - Congrats on finding out you have a girl, how lovely :)
Waahoo - busy busy, hey, the first months...
FluffyBunny
28-10-2008, 11:11
Wow aren't those pics beatiful!
Did you do them with tea light candles?
headoverfeet
28-10-2008, 14:01
MOT- lovely photos, DF keeps telling me he is waiting for maximum compacticy before he takes any.
Merla- congratulations on the pink bundle to be.
Just had our 36wk check with MW, all going well- only 2 more days till I am in the birth-at-home safe zone :D. Have to wait a few more weeks for the birth pool though so keeping my legs crossed. Can anyone tell me what bloods they routinely (sp??) do around this time? I never had any with DS..
28-10-2008, 15:21
Merla - Congrats on expecting a lil girl!!! How exciting :D
Wahoo - Great to see you around :) Sounds like everything is going really well!
FluffyBunny - Yeah, hubby was feeling a bit inventive and so we got out the tea candles and he put them around my body - it was awesome!!! Interesting thing to do after watching Orgasmic Birth though LOL :laughing:
Babymaker - I dont think there are anymore blood tests that are done routinely after 34 weeks? Not sure though... Everyone is different - but if you are having a totally normal pregnancy with no complications then I doubt you would 'routinely' have anything else done anyway.
AM - I have said that before this IS going to be my last baby....for now. LOL.
Merla - Glad to hear all is good.
M - OMG that baby of yours is going to be here soooo soon! I can't believe you've just about reached the 'safe zone'. I hope she doesn't forget to lend you that birth pool!!!
My back up middy was suppose to see me this week but she seems to be MIA...hmmm...I know she went on holidays but she hasn't called to see me. My middy will visiting on Tuesday and I'll be on weekly visits.
I have 39 days til my due date! Eep!
MilkOnTap- i like how you are looking at your birth space, no candles etc, because it will a place of hard work, seems logical. BTW those photos are gorgeous!
Merla- congratulations on your healthy baby girl!
Babymaker- i have always had some bloods done at 36 weeks to check iron level among other things, this time i was classed borderline (by the midwife, the doctor thought it was fine) so i started on a liquid iron supplement, and i instanly started to feel more normal:)
well turns out Rhylan has reflux! so glad we have worked it out, because i was really started to not be able to cope, but now (doing a few things i didnt want to do) he is doing really well :)
Student of Life
29-10-2008, 14:48
Hello all, my time is going fast we will be having a new batch of bubs here before we know it!
MOT - Those pics are gorgeous! Tell Dh well done for us.
Merla - Congrats on your princess! Very exciting.
Waahoo - Great to see you! It's amazing how a little one can take up so much time.
AM & Fluffy - Hi
BM - Wow it must be a great feeling to know that if bubs was to come from here on that you will be safe and happy to stay home! Awesome. When are you getting the birth pool - I'd be getting worried not having it yet. LOL But that's just me and my organising freakishness.
Starlet - Funny about your back up middy, maybe she knows something that you don't (you won't be needing her). I wouldn't want to be just meeting her when labour has already started. I can't believe you are so close to meeting your little one.
Mixy - Great to see you! Sorry your little man has reflux but also glad that you have sorted it out and are able to make him feel better.
Last night ended up in bed with the worst migraine. I previously suffered from juvenile migraines but haven't had one in at least 10+ years. Wasn't quite as bad as those but still. Sheesh. Never had one with my previous pregnancies. I am seeing my middy next week so will mention it to her. I hope I don't get another one.
Oh and the Osteo did a fabulous job on my hips/back. I can even lie on my back for a short time without any pain. We have organised to see each other 2-4 wkly, depending on how I go each time. I am so happy that I have finally found a good osteo!
SOL glad to hear the Osteo did the trick! :)
Not so good about the migraines though...I used to have them as a kid too, but not for a LONG time thankfuly...
headoverfeet
01-11-2008, 16:19
Mixy- yes they were blood tests for iron as well as a full blood something or rather as well. MW tried taking the blood but only a small amount would come out, probebly because I had had a nap that morning insted of drinking as much as I normally do. Went to the pathwest place and the nurse looked abit confused when she asked if I was having a c/s and i said no im having a homebirth :D.
SOL how are the migraines going?
Not much else happening, finding it harder everyday to lug connor around and getting constant bh when standing, not painful just uncomfortable and the pressure down there can be unbearable.
Hope everyone else is holding up alright
headoverfeet
01-11-2008, 16:26
Try these out... they are also good in the days after labour, to keep your energy up. :)
Laborade Recipes:
These recipes are elecrolyte balanced mixtures which are the rough, organic equivvalent to the I.V. solutions routinely given in the hospitals.
Recipe #1
1/2 cup apricot nector
1 cup apple juice
2 cups orange juice
1 cup pineapple juice
twist of lemon or lime
Recipe #2
1/2 cup apricot nector
1 cup pineapple juice
1/2 cup orange juice
1 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
Recipe #3
2 cups tomato juice
1/2 cup water
2 dashes tamari
juice of 1/2 lime
Recipe #4
1/3 cup real lemon juice
water to make one quart
AM just a couple of questions re the labourade recipies, every juice tin/bottle i pick up has an additive #300 in it, can you get juice from somewhere else that does not contain anything other then the juice?? and what is tamari??
01-11-2008, 17:35
Howdy-doo!!! Well things are going really great over this side of town :) My IM and doula met this week and got along like a house on fire - phew! I knew they would cause they're both nice as pie, but its always good to kind of have that 'final' confirmation :o
Yesterday I was fortunate enough to get my baby bump henna tattooed!!! I LOVE it! Then I went to the birth choices evening last night, met my doula this morning, been all over the countryside this afternoon and we're celebrating my birthday tomorrow (cause hubby's at work on Monday). I feel absolutely exhausted - but really good as well :) My belly is taking on new shapes and forms - I'm a lot more 'basketball-in-the-front' like this time than I was last time - but thankfully no new stretchies! Fingers crossed I dont get any extra's this pg :D
Anyway - here is my belly, all tattooed up at 36 and a bit weeks :)
http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l8/grantandalicia/IMGP1148.jpg
http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l8/grantandalicia/IMGP1149.jpg
mumofKieran
01-11-2008, 17:57
Wow MOT your bump is beautiful :flowerz:
Not long to go now hey. Glad to hear your MW and Doula got along. Enjoy the rest before NB arrives!
Aww How gorgeous Ally! Glad to hear your middy and doula get along great!! :)
There's a few of us that are likely to pop this month! It's sooo exciting!
Hubby managed to wrangle a week of carers leave, so he will be on leave from next Thursday(he was meant to come home for his R&R and then go back for a week before he started leave). I'll have him home for 7 weeks now instead! Hmm can't remember if I posted that in this thread yet or not??
M - I'm having trouble lugging Owen around and all he wants lately is to be on my lap. Argh! Thank goodness he is a bit of a daddy's boy, so he will be all over Matt like a rash!
Babymaker - Ah...good ole Vitamin C. I guess maybe health shops? I am pretty religious about getting 100% juice with no additives, and I don't have much trouble...
Tamari is kind of like fermented soy sauce, maybe it is a kiwi thing? Not sure if we have it in Oz, but try at a health shop. :)
MOT - love the henna, who did that for you? They did a great job! :thumbsup: So great to hear the birth supporters clicked, it's just something less to worry about. :thumbsup:
headoverfeet
01-11-2008, 19:38
MOT your tummy looks devine! I have no strechies this time either, keep growing back into my old teen ones. Glad your doula and mw got on so well, can I ask how your doula feels knowing she is there for jedd? (sorry I hope thats right??) I have thought about hiring one for Connor but am unsure if a doula would be happy being his support person along with DF (sort of tag teaming)
Tracey- that is great that matt got so much time off, I have been meaning to ask you guys over for bbq or something but I know how precious that time he has off is to couples. Maybe one a Brixton st park- as there is a heap of play equipment there for kiddies....
headoverfeet
01-11-2008, 19:38
Thanks AM I will check out a health shop, if I can find one around here....
borntobemummy
01-11-2008, 22:02
MOT, starlet and babymaker - I can't believe how little time you guys have left!! I'm so excited for you and can't wait to follow this journey of your final streches with you!
MOT, I love the henna tattoo, any idea how much it would cost to get that done? It looks cool!!
We let it slip tonight to FIL that we are having a homebirth, we've been managing to keep a lid on it with the ILs for this whole time. He started talking about the baby bonus and the Rudd bonus and we had to say, well actually, we won't be getting our baby bonus, our middy will get it. He was really shocked and scared for us, he kept asking questions throughout the night, I'm worried about the aftermath... they might sit us down and confront us about it all or something. Last time when I laboured at home with ruptured membranes for over 24 hours, MIL was at our door ready to drag us to the hospy.
I really want to avoid added stress and confrontation, that's why we didn't tell them. Thankfully, DH is more than willing to be our advocate and justify our choice if he has to, so I won't have to get mixed up in it.
I'm so sick of being so different with the way we choose to do life, we believe our choices are right and best for us. But we have to either be quiet with everyone or have conflict. It's come to a point where there is almost nothing I can say that is not going to be contraversial and cause conflict with some people, particularly the ILs.
Yeah, it really sucks at times...I'm pretty lucky that I have a lot of either non-judgemental people in my life, or they think the way I do, but getting looked at like you have 2 heads by lots of people gets old really fast! :laughing:
M - Sounds like a plan! :) Anything to fill in some time while we wait for these babies to arrive! lol.
BTBM - My in laws were a bit shocked too when we told them, but once we told them more about it, they haven't said anything since!
I really need to get my butt into gear and finish getting organised when hubby gets home, I think I'm still in denial that I'm actually having another baby so soon! lol.
Babymaker - Ah...good ole Vitamin C. I guess maybe health shops? I am pretty religious about getting 100% juice with no additives, and I don't have much trouble...
Tamari is kind of like fermented soy sauce, maybe it is a kiwi thing? Not sure if we have it in Oz, but try at a health shop. :)
M - You could try the KIWI SHOP on Albany Highway(on the stretch between Gosnells and Maddington) for Tamari, I'm sure they would probably have it.
headoverfeet
02-11-2008, 11:26
Thanks T I remember seeing that shop you are talking about!!
02-11-2008, 12:33
- I'm having trouble lugging Owen around and all he wants lately is to be on my lap. Argh! Thank goodness he is a bit of a daddy's boy, so he will be all over Matt like a rash!
Jedd has been like this too! Have you got an ergo? I just pop Jedd on my back and it makes life so much easier!
MOT - love the henna, who did that for you? They did a great job!
Another hubber actually :) I dont know if I should mention her name on the public forum - but if anyone wants to know who it is then send me a PM :)
Glad your doula and mw got on so well, can I ask how your doula feels knowing she is there for jedd? (sorry I hope thats right??) I have thought about hiring one for Connor but am unsure if a doula would be happy being his support person along with DF (sort of tag teaming)
You know, the r'ship with my doula has gone from one of being primary baby-sitter to more of a support role for the birth with her and hubby kind of share-caring for both me and Jedd. So basically I'll take whichever of them I feel I need at whatever time/moment and the other will take on Jedd and his needs. So yeah - I guess tag-teaming is what they'll both be doing!! I feel really good about this and so does hubby :)
Its hard when family (particularly IL's) are so adverse to your parenting choices and decisions. I find the same thing with my IL's - I usually just keep my mouth shut and then hubby hears about it all later :laughing: Unless they're WAY off base and its could possibly affect Jedd or Pumpkin Seed in the future, then I dont say anything... then there are those occasions that I really canNOT listen to what they're saying and I actually have to remove myself from the room before I get too narky :laughing:
I haven't got an ergo, I should have invested in one lol. Ah well Daddy will be home in 4 more days and he will be happy to cling him lol. I got some lovely cuddles with him on the couch this morning without him jumping on my belly, so at least he's still getting some lovin' from his mama!!!
I've been trying not to pick him up as much anyway as he prefers me to carry him everywhere and we're trying to encourage him to walk(crazy right?! lol). He CAN walk, but he doesn't like to and he'll be 17 months next week, so it's about time he started to do it a bit more!!
headoverfeet
02-11-2008, 16:41
Oh tracey I just ordered an ergo from babes in arms for $127!! I had to dip into connors savings but I have promised to pay him back at next months pay! Couldn't resist the saving we made!!
MOT- thats a good idea about them tag teaming. How do you find wearing the ergo with your tummy? I got an extension belt lol
borntobemummy
02-11-2008, 16:41
Yeah, it really sucks at times...I'm pretty lucky that I have a lot of either non-judgemental people in my life, or they think the way I do, but getting looked at like you have 2 heads by lots of people gets old really fast! :laughing:
thanks so much everyone for your support, it really means a lot to have a place to come and vent with like-minded people. Unfortunately we have no friends like that IRL (except those I've met from Bubhub;)) We just feel like aliens amongst everyone we know and it's getting pretty lonely and frustrating...but we are sticking with our ideals no matter the cost, hopefully we'll find some people more like us one day to be close friends (allies) with.
Well I hate to come in here and whinge....but that's exactly what I'm going to do! :laughing:
I am feeling really quite **** at the moment, feel like my belly is HUGE, and I'm just so tired, I have the two boys who are so energetic, and because I'm so tired I'm not taking them out as much as I should be, and they are going a little crazy because of it, it's a vicious cycle really :(
Baby seems to be sitting on my bladder, very annoying.
Our bathroom has been completely ripped out, so that's fun...not.
This morning I found a possum on our lawn that our dog must have mauled, took it to the vet, but it died.
Just having one of those days really, the boys are driving me up the wall as well...
I can't remember feeling remotely like this last time, i hope it passes...:gloomy:
Ah well, tomorrow's another day right?? ;)
headoverfeet
03-11-2008, 13:14
Sounds like you need one of these :hugs: AM. Because your so full of wisdom :p (and can prehaps see into the future) maybe you could answer a question I had about tandem feeding??? Do your (.) (.) change when you get closer to your EDD? mine shrunk after a while with Connor and they have not gotten any bigger yet, I am asuming that once I am making more milk they will get fuller again but last time I went from a DD to an E, is that likely to happen again?
Student of Life
03-11-2008, 13:36
Oh AM I am so sorry you are having such a rough day. I is difficult being pregnant and having to deal with all the ups and downs of that and then having to run around after 2 boys. I totally understand, although my two are somewhat older. I find it helps to get out of the house myself too, even if it means just going to have a coffee with the boys, to help your mood. Also exercise is a good idea too. I don't do anything strenuous as I am totally slack but I do take the boys swimming which means I am moving about at least.
((Hugs))
As you say, tomorrow is a new day. Maybe tonight would be a good night to head to bed early (as soon as DH gets home) and curl up with a good book.
03-11-2008, 13:51
:hugs: AM
Sorry to hear your having a cruddy day of it... If its any consolation - mine hasn't been much better. Except its my birthday as well and I've only received one phone call :( Oh well.
I think I'm starting to reach the "get-it-out point" now... I'm feeling really breathless today and a little bit dizzy. I was seeing stars last night as well (and no, they weren't in the night sky lol) so I'll mention that to my IM when I see her on Wednesday. I'm sure everything is okay - not too worried. I had this at the end of the pg with Jedd as well and was told that I had GD so who knows.
I had to cancel a layby of a pram today and need to go and spend my deposit in-store; thing is the store is about 1.5hrs away from home and I just dont know whether I should drive on my own or wait til the weekend when hubby can come as well. He's so boring to go shopping with though LOL :laughing:
borntobemummy
03-11-2008, 15:52
happybirthday: MOT!!! I'm so sorry it's not turning out to be such a happy day for you. It won't be much longer before pumpkin seed is born, soon there will be some relief:thumbsup:
AM:hugs: I've been feeling much the same today and a couple of days last week too. Everything is just getting to me so much more than it used to. DD really makes me so angry sometimes:hair: Hopefully as you said, tomorrow is another day.
I'm 27 weeks today!!! Only 10 - 15 weeks to go:eek: I can't wait, although I am a little worried about the heat and being at my heaviest right through the middle of summer and giving birth at home all with no a/c:dizzy:
Happy birthday for yesterday Ally!!!!
My middy came today..ahh she's so lovely! lol. Bub is 3/5 engaged, so getting ready to make his exit. I will be in the 'safe zone' not this weekend but the following weekend, she doesn't expect me to go much further than that anyway.
EEP! It's getting so close!!!
Student of Life
04-11-2008, 15:32
Oh MOT sorry you didn't have a good birthday yesterday. Happy Belated Birthday anyway. ((hugs))
BTBM - I too am a bit worried about Summer. I at least have a/c which I'm sure I'll be flaked under.
Starlet, wow things are coming along nicely. So exciting!
Last night bubs stuck his/her foot out the side of my belly just long enough for me to touch it. It was so cute. First time for this little one. My boys use to do it all the time
Bek - I love it when you can start feeling feet and knees. It's easy to find this bubs now because he's so big and there isn't much room for him to hide hehe.
05-11-2008, 08:03
Happy birthday for yesterday Ally!!!!
My middy came today..ahh she's so lovely! lol. Bub is 3/5 engaged, so getting ready to make his exit. I will be in the 'safe zone' not this weekend but the following weekend, she doesn't expect me to go much further than that anyway.
EEP! It's getting so close!!!
Awww thanks :)
How exciting!!! Sounds like you'll be the next hubber homebirther - I'm so excited for you!!!
I love it when my IM comes around as well. Mine is coming this afternoon - I cant wait to see her! I'm hoping that she is bringing the birth pool to set up today :D
Last night bubs stuck his/her foot out the side of my belly just long enough for me to touch it. It was so cute. First time for this little one. My boys use to do it all the time
*gush* Isn't it lovely - love that in-utero bonding :bee:
And as for me - well I have woken up and feel 'ready'. I had a dream last night that the baby arrived in the wee hours of the morning while hubby was away and Jedd was asleep - and it happened so quickly that I didn't think to call my IM or doula! In my dream, bub and I went back to sleep and only woke up when Jedd woke up - and then for some reason I thought I'd better call hubby and tell him that the baby has arrived! Very odd dream - but it made me feel really good :) Good; but I've also just realised that it could be ANY TIME now that bub comes... Guess that makes me a bit nervous - but excited! I'm looking forward to meeting this baby...
Oh - also in the dream the baby looked EXACTLY like Jedd! :flowerz:
headoverfeet
05-11-2008, 10:21
MOT- what a lovely dream for you to have! sounds so calm and natural :goodvibes:.
SOL- how cute of your bubs to be poking his foot out like that, does your DP get to feel bubs do that much? DF loves it and it is great to see them bond like that too.
Starlet- Ooo fingerscrossed bubs hangs out till your safe zone (or at least till you get your pool liner from me!).
Have MW appointment this afternoon, DF is coming home early so that he can be here for it. I also hope she brings my birth pool but I doubt it as last week it was at someones house for them to use. Dont think I will go into labour without it here though and I want to wait until DF is on leave anyway. Had some BH last night which was nice, quiet painless ones but it was nice to know that some practicing was happening.
Hope everyone is keeping well.
Hello ladies,
May I join in here too?
I found out in the weekend that we are expecting our third after a long TTC period. This one will be homebirthed. Already have my midwife and doula (good friend) lined up so not wasting any time as when I tried to arrange homebirth for my last one at about 25 weeks, the midwives I wanted were booked! Not good.
Student of Life
06-11-2008, 08:57
Annsam - Welcome to the thread. You do sound nice and organised. Must be a weight off your shoulders this time around.
BM - This little one is very cheeky! Whenever anyone else touches my belly bubs stops moving. There is plenty of time yet though. DS1 is dying to feel it move too.
MOT - Thats a really nice dream. You really sound at peace about everything which is great. You are going to have an awesome birth experience.
Starlet - Me too!
I have my middy appointment this morning and looking forward to catching up with her.
Had a funny conversation about the baby last night with DS1. I think the conversation started with me saying that bubs was nice and warm in the water it was in. He was saying no it is in oxygen. So I was trying to explain to him (he is a smart 7 year old) about the placenta etc. I am now trying to find some good pictures so he can see what it all looks like on the inside. He seemed very surprised and interested.
We still haven't broached the topic of the baby coming out of my vagina and I'm not sure if it is something that needs to be said. I mean he wants to see the baby being born but how much do I need to tell him beforehand? I guess something else to discuss with my middy.
I haven't talked to my kids about how this baby will be coming out to the kids yet...I guess I should really. We were at the in laws for dinner the other night and DS2 said 'The baby comes out of your doodle hey mum?'...hmm not quite(I don't think he knows what to call it, I'm the only one without a doodle in this house LOL).
Hubby is home tonight for 7 weeks! I'm soooo excited!
Welcome to the thread Annsam :)
There was something else that I was going to say but I've completely forgotten already!
Had a funny conversation about the baby last night with DS1. I think the conversation started with me saying that bubs was nice and warm in the water it was in. He was saying no it is in oxygen. So I was trying to explain to him (he is a smart 7 year old) about the placenta etc. I am now trying to find some good pictures so he can see what it all looks like on the inside. He seemed very surprised and interested.
I tried to explain pregnancy to my 4 year old the other day and couldn't get him past believing that the baby would come out of a dinosaur egg that was going to crack into lots of pieces.:o
Thansk for the welcome
Student of Life
06-11-2008, 11:34
LOL that is too funny. Dinosaur egg!!
borntobemummy
06-11-2008, 15:50
welcome Annsmum:wave: whereabouts in Sydney are you?
I have been very proud to explain to DD where this baby comes out as opposed to her and DS being cut out of mumma's tummy. She keeps thinking I will have to go to hospital, but I keep saying hospital is only for if we get sick, this baby will come out mumma's moo moo (that's what we call vagina) in a pool at home. It's all very fascinating to a 3 year old! I'd love to have her at the birth, I think she would be very interested, but she will probably get quite restless before the actual birth and I don't want to be distracted...we'll see what happens.
eta: on a side note, my mum had both my brother and I by c/s and I always thought that's how all babies were born. I didn't believe my friend when she told me they come out of the vagina... lol!
07-11-2008, 12:09
Just a quick message :)
Feeling content. Feeling relaxed. Feeling really good.
I just had a thread come up in the Due in Dec 08 that made me feel even better - it was about what we're most fearful about the birth. And after having a good think about it - I realised that I'm not fearful of anything in particular and that I'm comfortable with any outcome.
Of course there are things that I dont want to happen - but not fearful of them; what a great place to be in! I feel really proud of myself :laughing:
.... anyhoo - carry on :o
Student of Life
07-11-2008, 17:47
That is a fantastic place to be at MOT. Knowing that you have control over the birth process and also trusting your supports to be acting in your best interests. Such a freeing situation, if only all women could experience this.
Student of Life
10-11-2008, 16:58
Hi ladies, we have all gone quiet in here. I was just wondering for those that had low iron, what did you use? I have been using the homeopathic remedy called red iron but I don't think it has been working for me. I am trying to avoid the normal iron tablets as I get really constipated. Any other ideas?
I used Floradix and Spatone.
borntobemummy
10-11-2008, 17:18
my IM recommended floradix, I hate it though! I can taste the iron in it and it makes me gag. Not sure what else you could try?
Student of Life
10-11-2008, 19:31
Thanks ladies, I'll have to look at them.
although I am a little worried about the heat and being at my heaviest right through the middle of summer and giving birth at home all with no a/c
fans! dont forget you will be sweating and if your in the pool you will be all wet, your body is designed to do this :goodvibes:
MOT what a lovely dream :) i had a couple like that:)
Student of Life- DD (5 at the time) could not get past that she thought that as women we have one placenta, and all our babies use that one, once it is birthed we can not have any more babies! i explained it to her over and over, but even after the birth (she had turn 6 by then) when we were looking at the placenta (she was particualy interested in it!?) she said 'but mummy now you can have any more babies!' funny little thing she is!
Also we showed the kids videos on youtube, i feel that really perpared them, it gave us a change to chat about things while they could see them.
Just a quick message
Feeling content. Feeling relaxed. Feeling really good.
I just had a thread come up in the Due in Dec 08 that made me feel even better - it was about what we're most fearful about the birth. And after having a good think about it - I realised that I'm not fearful of anything in particular and that I'm comfortable with any outcome.
Of course there are things that I dont want to happen - but not fearful of them; what a great place to be in! I feel really proud of myself :laughing:
.... anyhoo - carry on
Lovely :goodvibes:
ah well im glad everyone seems to be doing well, i have not been able to catch up on all your posts but i have read the last 4 pages i think.
Rhylan is 6 weeks already! i cant wait for the next influx of births :)
I usually use floradix, but have recently swapped to Blooms organic iron plus (cheaper!) It tastes the same though... ;)
i used spatone untill rhylan was 1 mth, i just mixed it with orange/apple and mango juice :)
10-11-2008, 21:36
Does increased iron help with constipation :o
Well my 'comfort' of 3 days ago has just flown out the window. My belly has dropped, I feel uncomfortable and awkward, and I want to meet my baby now.
Hubby is away this week so I'm anticipating that if my dream becomes anything similar to reality then bub will be here on Friday. But of course - it was just a dream... :rolleyes:
Meeting my IM's back-up this week and my IM is bringing the birth pool next week. My doula has a TENS machine that I'm considering using but dont know much about it. Any thoughts?
Tam-I-Am
11-11-2008, 08:29
WOW! Ally! Only 2 weeks to go :eek: HOW FAST has your pregnancy flown?! :D
As for iron helping with constipation - actually, no, its likely to do the opposite in fact. Most iron will have a constipating effect, but from what I understand, the floradix ones are broken down a bit better, so don't have the same effect.
headoverfeet
11-11-2008, 09:15
Morning!
MOT I have been using the Ferro-grad C :( not much help here...It worked for my iron levels though and iron supplements seem to have a laxative effect on me :( :( lol
Have 39wk MW appintment this afternoon, can everyone cross everything that she brings my pool? Although Starlet has offered hers if anything should happen before then- we will be getting birthpool home delivered by her hubby :D.
Everything else is going well here, only 11 days till due date. Spent yesturday moving everything into our birth room (will post some pics when we get the pool). A little aprahensive about the pain sometimes but I know that I will cope well.
Hope everyone is feeling well.
Yep I've put the pool and pump in the boot so we can be there within 15 mins if need be! lol I still get the giggles about our conversation the other night about having to share the pool at the same time. Tried to tell hubby about it because I thought it was hilarious and he didn't find it as funny as I did LOL.
Anyhow I hope she remembers to bring you the pool today so it's one less thing to worry about.
I have moments where I feel apprehensive about the pain too, but I've done it once before without any drugs, so I know I can do it again...it's just still fresh in my mind how ouchie it was lol.
25 days to go here, but anytime from Thursday we'll be in the 'safe zone'.
headoverfeet
11-11-2008, 13:55
LMAO I forgot all about that Tracey! MW called, she is sick so is just going to come over earlier (which would be anytime in the next 5 min) and SHE IS BRINGING THE POOL!!! :yelclap:
Papillion
11-11-2008, 17:08
:wave: annsam
:valentine: Starlet - hope you've been enjoying having hubby home
:goodvibes: Babymaker - yay for your MW bringing the pool for you, and hope she gets well in time for the birth, it's all so exciting that Oliver will be here so soon.
Hi to everyone.
:smiliedance: Time is flying by here, but we're also get lots done (even bought a new car to replace our 10yo one). Still hoping the MS stops soon.
:wave::wave:
I'm 24 weeks now.:eek: Can't believe how fast this is going!
Got appointment with doula in 2 weeks... Haven't seen her for a while now, not since my bleeding. Which was at about 18 weeks.
Trying to decide whether I should opt for another scan at 32 weeks to check on the placenta as it was a little low last time... I really didn't want to have any scans but decided to do the 20 week one mostly for Luke. I am kind of feeling like I need more signs before opting for the scan but I am a little worried that I am making the wrong decision. Placenta Previa (sp?) scares me!
Can't wait to hear of the next births.:yelclap:
i used spatone untill rhylan was 1 mth, i just mixed it with orange/apple and mango juice :)
I used it til I stopped bleeding and I really think it helped me. I had 4 sachets a day. Exy but worth it.
Exciting to hear births are close. :DD
headoverfeet
12-11-2008, 12:45
Thats a tricky one Freya, can a MW (assuming you are using one-sorry) pick up where the placenta is with a doppler? Is there much difference in possible effects on the baby between doppler and ultrasound?!? Not sure if I will have any ultrasounds next time.
Have blown up pool, comes up to my underarms when I climb in :D cant wait to do a test run :yelclap:
PunkyDiva
12-11-2008, 13:26
Freya :hugs: If you are having niggling doubts then I would listen to them.
You can request that they only look at placenta during ultrasound and/or do not linger longer then necessary.
You can also look up specifications for ultrasound equipment to ensure it isn't running at too higher frequency then thought safe.
So much of childbirth is in your head and any negative thoughts, however minor, could impact on things like labour starting.
Trust in yourself. :hugs:
An experienced mw should be able to tell you where the placenta is located.
I'm thinking of having a little work done on my pelvis, and the woman I'll be going to see is a mw as well, so I may ask her to listen for the placenta while I'm there...see how I go. :)
haha I just read my post, and ordinary people reading it would think I'm bonkers not being interested in listening to my baby, just the placenta lol
headoverfeet
12-11-2008, 14:44
:yes: we KWYM AM. I just remembered those cone listening things- could you hear where the placenta is using one of them? maybe not :confused:.
Have finally finished my birth space setting up, need to run extension cord for the fan though. Here (http://www.facebook.com/album.php?id=1068192561&aid=8953) is a link for those interested. I am thinking that the walls look a little bare, but I dont have any pic/photos to hang on them. We got an attachment for the hose ages ago and I am going to make DF figgure it out tonight which tap (kitchen/laundry) we are going to use as I tried but can't get the kitchen tap head to come off and I cant get it to attach to the laundry one either.
Think I might just wait and see how things go before having the scan but then if I do opt for it I will use your suggestion punky.:yes:
Might try and find out about listening to where the placenta is. Haven't heard of it being done with a doppler, might ask my doula.
I rarely get on BH but wow Ally not long now I am excited!
My mw I used previously was pretty good at locating the placenta with stethoscope...I'm sure a pinnards would work as well, dunno about doppler, the sound is all pretty magnified, but it's probably still possible...
Well you learn something new every day hey! Hopefully we will be able to find a way to pick it up without me having to have another scan!
I had a bit of bleeding again (4th time) so getting a bit more concerned but not THAT worried.
M - The birth space looks good. I hopped into my pool as soon as Matt blew it up lol. I keep having dreams about being in it and giving birth(and in every dream my middy didn't make it on time!).
I don't think Matt took anything off the kitchen tap to add the connector?
AS for finding the placenta, I would have no idea as I had ultrasounds early on and didn't have a problem with where it is, so I haven't really thought about it. I hope the bleeding doesn't come back again Freya.
4th time bleeding! Wow, I had no idea Freya. I think I would definitely be getting it checked out one way or another...
Take care :hugs:
4th time bleeding! Wow, I had no idea Freya. I think I would definitely be getting it checked out one way or another...
Take care :hugs:
I bled with K aswell... So maybe I am just a bleeder but yeah still good to get it sussed out!
FluffyBunny
13-11-2008, 14:05
Have finally finished my birth space setting up, need to run extension cord for the fan though. Here (http://www.facebook.com/album.php?id=1068192561&aid=8953) is a link for those interested.
Wow it looks great! Looks very calming with the candles and things :)
Freya I hope all goes well for you and bubs is ok. You are the best indicator of things so go with your gut feeling on things.
Take care of yourself :)
13-11-2008, 18:16
Starlet - Did your MW remember the pool? Mine is coming next week - I'm so excited!
Babymaker - OMG! Your birth space looks gorgeous! How are you feeling? How did the pool-filling trial run go?
Papillon - Ohhh, a new car!!! Its so nice to get new things (even when they're used heheheh)
Freya - I hope the bleeding has settled down for you. I agree with PD; so much of birth is psychological - but I think you have that sorted out :)
AM - How do you get work done on your pelvis? Sorry if its a silly question :o
Pixie - good to see you popping your head in!!! I've been wondering how you are all doing :hugs:
And as for me - I've been offline since yesterday morning and have felt LOST - what an embarrassing thing to admit lol. My IM's back-up came to visit me today which was great. I felt really comfortable with her and so if anything was to happen I feel good about her being the back-up.
I'm getting really tired now - can't wait for hubby to get home tomorrow! Jedd is in 'little school' for the day, so hopefully hubby gets home early enough for us to spend a good part of the day together having some 'us' time. Oh, and does anyone remember my dream? Well if it comes to fruition then baby will be here by morning. And well; I certainly dont feel like its going to happen tonight!
My IM is bringing the birth pool next week (well at least thats the plan) and I think I have most things sorted out. Not actually IN the birthspace yet - but in the house at least.
My gripe for the week? What is with people sharing their birth trauma stories with heavily pregnant women?? Seriously? I dont NEED to hear how bad your induction, intervention and birth was. In anything - it makes me even more relieved that I'm not going to hospital! Stupid, Stupid, Stupid...
Anyhoo - shall stop rambling now and let someone else take over for a bit :p
MOT - You sound quite exhausted :hugs: I hope hubby coming home gives you a good break, and loads of support.
As for my pelvis? Just some Osteopathic adjustment perhaps, (if something is found to be out of alignment) as I have unusually long second stages, and if a little adjustment could help, then I'm all for it! :thumbsup:
13-11-2008, 19:36
AM - Ahhhh, now I follow :) Is it uncomfortable or painful? (and I'm surprised you picked up on the exhaustion lol - I'm SO tired)
Oh and I forgot to mention that I have my first pre-natal acupuncture appointment next Monday. No, its not an induction or anything like that; its just a preparatory kind of thing. I'm really looking forward to it!
Student of Life
13-11-2008, 20:02
MOT - Osteopathic treatment is definitely not painful. To sort of describe it, like cracking your knuckles but they work with your spine and hips. I always feel heaps better with regards to pelvic pain and hip pressure after an adjustment. I am finding that I am needing to go again after 2 weeks but it is great to have your body working as it should. LOL It has to be incredibly hard having to do the single parent thing for such a long time. I hope you enjoy your day off tomorrow and Dh gets in at a reasonable time. Maybe a bubble bath?
AM - Hi
Freya - I think you are smart enough to trust your instincts. I had bleeds with both my boys at around 24 - 28 wks and it just turned out to be a very sensitive cervix. There was never anything wrong, although with DS1 I did have a low lying placenta at the 18 wk scan.
Starlet - Oh I long to have a soak in a lovely warm pool! I can't fit into my bath all that comfortably. Especially as I am 185cms and the bath is made for kids. LOL I hope you enjoyed it!
Pixie - Hi
Babymaker - Oh the birthspace looks great! I can't wait to start setting mine up but considering I am kicking DS2 out of his room to do it, it will just have to wait. LOL
14-11-2008, 09:18
Morning!!! Well my dream obviously wasn't a premonition as I'm still in one piece rather than two. Bub is slowing down though - and I'm feeling exhausted. Hubbies ship should have come in about 15mins ago, but he isn't going to be ready til this afternoon; so there goes a whole day. Oh well. Maybe next Friday if bub isn't here we can spend the day together.
I'm getting these weird stabbing jabs right over top of my pubic bone. I was at the shops this morning and had to stop walking a couple of times cause of the jabs - it was a bit awkward cause someone actually came up to me and asked if I was okay :laughing:
MOT - I got my pool last weekend, it's set up and ready to go lol. I get those stabbing pains too and sometimes it makes me stop dead in my tracks(and yep people look at me weird too).
My backup midwife is coming to visit today and then my midwife is coming on Tuesday. I can't believe tomorrow I'll be 37 weeks, I have no idea where the time has gone this pregnancy!
So exciting that there are a few of you ladies due really soon, will have you in my thoughts and looking forward to hearing the lovely news. :flowerz:
headoverfeet
14-11-2008, 15:24
MOT- Thanks :). Havn't done a trial run yet, the pump we got given has a leak in it so it wont pressurize (sp?) enough to inflate the pool 100% (it would be okay to use though, but am going to get one tomorrow from Bunnings). Will be doing a trial run Saturday night though- will let you know how I go :yes:.
SOL- Thanks too.
Re: Stabbing pains- delightful arn't they :goodvibes: lol.
Not much happening here, feeling relaxed and calm about birthing at home- I didn't think anything would happen until I did so anytime now would be good. As I said the pump we have is not so good but has done a sufficient job should we need to use the pool before tomorrow. Still need to make up the labourade icey poles but have everything to do that now.
Had a nice conversation with a lady in the newsagents yesturday about HB, she is expecting twins in March. DF was telling one of his account managers about HBing and he would not believe him- thought DF was pulling his leg, poor DF got really frustrated trying to explain it all.
Sending :babydust2: to Starlet, MOT and myself :D come on babies!
Well I saw my GP today to find out the exact measurement of where the placenta is. It's 3.6cms away and I think they worry when its at 2 cms and that's when your nearly due. So not worried at all anyways, I asked her why she made out it was such a big deal when it's not and she had no answer.:laughing:
headoverfeet
14-11-2008, 16:45
Thats good news Freya :yelclap:
15-11-2008, 17:02
Afternoon!!! Well I'd hoped that participating in Walk Against Warming would help move things along today. Alas; it didnt.
Never mind. Maybe tomorrow :o
Afternoon!!! Well I'd hoped that participating in Walk Against Warming would help move things along today. Alas; it didnt.
Never mind. Maybe tomorrow :o
I'm thinking of you Ally!:kiss:
bah you got ages yet Ally :D
16-11-2008, 08:01
bah you got ages yet Ally :D
Tell me about it LOL :laughing:
Grant and I worked out last night that if I go to 43wks (which is what my IM is expecting) then I've got at least another month of pregnancy. Bleh!!!!
So, I'm off to do some grocery shopping this morning, hauling Jedd on my back in the ergo and pushing the trolley up a travellator; maybe that'll help :laughing:
headoverfeet
16-11-2008, 10:11
Tell me about it LOL :laughing:
Grant and I worked out last night that if I go to 43wks (which is what my IM is expecting) then I've got at least another month of pregnancy. Bleh!!!!
So, I'm off to do some grocery shopping this morning, hauling Jedd on my back in the ergo and pushing the trolley up a travellator; maybe that'll help :laughing:
A whole month :eek:
Pool test run went really well- so nice to emerse in the warm water, floated around in there watching iron chef then when that finished DF lit the candles and we had some nice relaxation time :valentine:. Takes about 40min to fill with continuous hot water system to 3 inches below fill line (which was good for my water displacement v's pool height). Pool keeps warmer when filling if you throw your couch cover (aka- shower curtain) over it to retain the heat. It stayed warm (37) for ages, about 2hrs before I started emptying it with no cover on. We ended up getting a pump from BCF for $19.99 which worked wonders!
So all in all- how cool is a birth pool! I want one for all the time :D.
That's great news Freya!
MOT - Bugger it didn't get things moving, I really hope you don't get to 43 weeks, I couldn't imagine going over, it would do my head in(2 of my babes came at 38 weeks and one at 39). I hope shopping today kick starts something!!
As for me, my pelvis hurts from DTD last night lol, bugger, I was feeling pretty pain free yesterday but I felt sorry for hubby! Haha.
Anyway, I was up in the middle of the night on one of my hundreds of trips to the loo and just as I was trying to get back to sleep I felt a pop down where bubs head is, much like when DS2's waters broke. I got out of bed but wasn't leaking anything....weird. But oh well, I don't really want him to make an appearance til next weekend.
16-11-2008, 10:57
Babymaker - sounds like the pool is going to be perfect for you! 2hrs without needing to top it up with warm water is fabulous! What kind of pool do you have? And how are you feeling now? Getting excited :D
Starlet - Ohhh, I get those pops all the time! The other day after a pop I thought my water had actually broken; turns out my pelvic floor is weaker than I had realised though :o LOL - how embarrassing!
headoverfeet
16-11-2008, 12:50
MOT- Its the Made in Water one. Feeling good :) much more mentally calm then I was with waiting for Connors birth. This is what I like about HB, the whole organising everything, feeling that peice of responsibility, knowing what is happening, IYKWIM. So much more calm about the prelabour/BH too :thumbsup:.
How are you going? not long for you either
18-11-2008, 06:21
Morning!! :wave:
Hey there Babymaker - still hanging in there? I just realised that the full moon is in about 2 or 3 weeks (or something like that) so have a feeling that my lil bundle may come then...
Hubby is now officially HOME and off the ship :yelclap: Its so strange having him around 24/7 - it feels like a constant stream of Saturdays lol. He is so good to me though - he's almost going to make this housewife redundant! Yesterday I got a 4hr midday nap :eek: and he cooked dinner and did all the washing. He's also decided that HE is cooking for the next week and has written out a menu plan and is doing the grocery shopping today. Gosh I feel spoilt! He's also giving me foot rubs every night and just loving me up... I'm so blessed with such a loving husband :bee:
Anyhoo - had best get sorted out for the day. I hope all expecting Mums are doing well!
That's so lovely to hear MOT! Enjoy your pampering :)
headoverfeet
18-11-2008, 09:43
Morning MOT- Yes still here :D have finally gotten the nesting bug so have been really busy busy busy. Had some nice cx/bh last night that went for an hour every 5 min they were quiet period pain like but they stopped when DF came to bed and started rubbing my tummy lol. Oh how I wish DF was home from work now! mind you he did cook dinner last night which was lovely- I dont think my cankles could of taken me standing up much longer. Like AM said- enjoy your pampering!
Have MW appointment tomorrow.
I wonder how Tracey is doing?.......
Student of Life
18-11-2008, 10:02
Oh that is so lovely MOT! What a great DH. Enjoy every minute of it, you deserve it!
I am still here, just struggling atm, my baby is still engaged and I'm walking like I have a watermelon between my legs LOL. It's quite painful, I can't bend over and I am peeing every 30 seconds! Everything is bulging big time down there, but I haven't checked my cervix(I can't reach it anyway as I have a posterior cervix). Have had some ouchie BH on and off the last few days and I have been living on the couch playing the Wii. I actually have to go out to a birthday party this morning and then my midwife is coming over.
I've also decided I want to change my birthing space, so this arvo hubby is rearranging our whole bedroom so we can put the birth pool in there. I must be nesting again!! LOL
headoverfeet
18-11-2008, 12:53
Just wondering for those who birthed/laboured in water, when you got in?
With DS I jumped in the shower basically straight after ARM was done (I was 4-5cm dialated already) and then moved into the bath 1 1/2hrs later. I did not find that it slowed down my labour but have heard getting into the bath before 4-5 cm can. So should I put off getting in the birthpool until desperate or follow my instincts and jump in whenever suits me?
I haven't done it before but I'd jump in whenever you feel like it. I'm going to jump in as soon as mine is filled because my labours aren't that long and I want to be able to use it!! LOL.
Anyway, my midwife has been and my baby is fully engaged! So I could pop any time now...sooooo excited! She keeps stressing about how I HAVE to call her at the first sign of a strong contraction. I have images of this baby just shooting out of me now lol.
Not much else to report except that my hubby has been hogging my computer because his work can't survive without him it seems!
I didn't birth in water, but I did labor in it. I hopped in almost fully dialated and things slowed down... But hey I was able to rest a bit for the 2 hours of pushing that was coming me way.
I will just be getting in when I feel like it this time.:yes:
headoverfeet
18-11-2008, 17:23
I haven't done it before but I'd jump in whenever you feel like it. I'm going to jump in as soon as mine is filled because my labours aren't that long and I want to be able to use it!! LOL.
Anyway, my midwife has been and my baby is fully engaged! So I could pop any time now...sooooo excited! She keeps stressing about how I HAVE to call her at the first sign of a strong contraction. I have images of this baby just shooting out of me now lol.
Not much else to report except that my hubby has been hogging my computer because his work can't survive without him it seems!
Don't sneeze Tracey
PMSL :laughing:
LOL no, no sneezing til she gets here! Jeez!
We were up til 11pm last night rearranging our bedroom and now we have room for the pool in there. And I had a sudden urge to clean the grout in the bathroom with an old toothbrush, so that's what I was doing at 10pm! lol. Back is paying for it today though! Ouch!
headoverfeet
19-11-2008, 12:12
Just had MW appointment, nothing much happening although her checking how low he is has stired up some painful cramps. He has swapped sides so is now ROA (was LOA). Other then that she does not think it will be anytime soon (either do I) I think he will wait till middle of next week.
:goodvibes: to Tracey and MOT :babydust2:
Hey my little man swapped from LOP to ROP this week too lol.
Have had niggles all day so I'm hoping something is happening soon. Matt is convinced he will be born tomorrow(the 20th)...I hope he's right, he was off with Owen by 15 mins(he said the 10th and Owen was born at 12.15am the next mornin!).
20-11-2008, 20:04
Evening! :wave:
Still nothing happening over here - just more cervical cramps and braxton hicks. My IM came today and we had a really great visit. I dunno; something about today seemed so much more relaxed than other times - it was really lovely!
She brought the birth pool with her as well, so we'll set it up on the weekend. Very exciting!!! Tomorrow Jedd is in little school for the day, so hubby and I are going to make the most of the day and go to the movies and have some 'us' time. I cant wait! It'll also be an early wedding anniversary celebration so that'll be lovely :bee:
Starlet and babymaker - how are you lovelies travelling??? Any action?? :hugs:
headoverfeet
20-11-2008, 22:34
No action here (just what you discribe) havn't heard from Tracey today though :detective:
Student of Life
20-11-2008, 22:47
OOh thinking about you girls. Be interesting to hear how Tracey is going. I hope you all have a peaceful and relaxed time while awaiting the arrival of your little blessings.
Some very very strong niggles overnight and they have slowed down today.
We spent last night getting all the little things ready(putting bubs beanie and things in his bassinet to grab when it's time to get him dressed...hubby even went and got the tea and coffee and mugs all ready by the kettle for my middy lol). Was thinking things were gearing up last night, but I guess not.
The niggles are starting to pick up again now, I wish it would just happen already lol. I had these niggles for about 3 days before Owen was born.
Anyway, I will try and get hubby to update if things are happening, I leave BH logged in so all he needs to do is find the thread!!
Hope you guys are getting somewhere Ally & Mirranda, you guys are so much closer to your due dates than I am!
21-11-2008, 18:38
Miranda and Tracey - I hope you are feeling well!
Tracey - I think your going to pop before Miranda and I!!! Those niggles sound good :yes:
I'm having a few little lower back cramps; but it could just be cause I'm not sitting very well.
Oh - and I am about to write my transfer plan but I just dont know 'how' to write it... Any suggestions? I want to make sure to include things like immediate skin-to-skin, keeping bub in recovery with me, not being separated unless absolutely necessary; stuff like that. But where to begin??? Should I write my medicare number on it? Or is that a bit much??
headoverfeet
21-11-2008, 19:48
Ooo Tracey you are getting sooo close!
Ally- A transfer plan :eek: I dont have one of those! *runs off to write one*
I have had a sore back today but I think that is from food shopping this morning and pottering around all day. TMI- but have had more discharge today, not any different to any other day, just more.
DF is now officially on holidays for the next 6 weeks- Thank goodness! We are going to do belly photos tonight :D
Belly rubs to both of you :goodvibes:
I guess I will give in and let him 'have a bit', have DTD last night and the night before to help things get ripe down there lol. I do feel sorry for him, he hasn't been getting much attention!
Ally - A transfer plan?! ARGH! I never even thought of that(and I'd like to think it is something I won't need!), I should jot down something. And also might be worth going over what you'd want to happen with your midwife because she'd be with you at the hospital too right?
Mirranda - YAY for holidays! Hope you will share some belly pics.
We are down one child tonight(DS2 is having a sleepover at my mums tonight), so it would be nice to only have 2 kids for MIL to look after when I'm in labour!!
21-11-2008, 20:10
Yeah I wasnt' going to bother writing a transfer plan, or having a transfer bag - cause I just dont see the point. I'm NOT going to transfer; but then I thought that IF I do have to transfer then there are some things that I know that I WANT to happen.
I'd prefer to throw out a piece of paper after a successful homebirth, than kick myself for not writing the plan if things went skew-iff (which they wont!)
Miranda - I hope those backpains turn into something for you soon! And :yelclap: for hubby being home with you now. Does that mean footrubs, backrubs and more daytime naps :D
Tracey - LOL on the 'giving a bit' front. I just cant do anything in that dep't right now. I feel like an unattractive fat lump. Bleh!
LOL I don't do anything, I just lie there like the beached whale that I am atm. He isn't going to complain though, especially when he knows there will be god knows how many weeks after baby comes that he won't be getting any at all. If his swimmers didn't help get things moving then he wouldn't be getting any at all right now I can assure you!!! haha
Anyway going to go chuck DS1 in the shower and then I might have a nice warm bath myself!
headoverfeet
21-11-2008, 20:15
True Ally, I have an if I need to go to hospy bag packed ("take me kicking and screaming bag" I call it) but my MW would come with me (as would yours- right?) so not to worried about writing a plan as such.
Just had a BH Ooooo- lmao! I'll believe it when his head is out :hehe:
As for more foot/back rubs I wish! I will get some more sleeping done though.
Re: DTD- I have been chasing DF all week, he's not co-operating!
PMSL- whale!!!
MOT, write what you want, in dot form, just keep typing/writting till you cant think of anything else, then fix it, correct it, thats kinda how i have always done my birth plans and it always works :)
You guys are getting me all exciting!
~Enjoy having your beautiful babies in your wombs gorgeous Women!~
Ok my 'BH(contractions?!)' have amped up big time, I've just gotten out of the bath and they are still hanging around...was thinking about timing them for a bit to see how regular they are....
Student of Life
21-11-2008, 22:09
Oh so exciting. I hope this is it for you. Sending 'calm labour vibes' your way!!
Thanks Bek....they're coming every 2-4 mins and lasting about 40-50 seconds.
Still not sure if this is it yet or not, you'd think that at baby #4 I'd have it figured out! lol
21-11-2008, 22:25
Ohhh Tracey!!! I'm so excited for you!!!
I have absolutely no advice or ideas - just lots of hugs and happy baby birthing vibes :hugs:
Student of Life
21-11-2008, 22:25
LOL funny isn't it. You said you just got out of the bath so I would be thinking that if you were still having the cx in the bath then it is it. Probably harder for you as you have fast labours and not wanting to call middy etc too soon.
21-11-2008, 22:29
(SOL - I just entered your 'baby game' and totally stuffed up the date!!!! sowwwwwy :o)
Tracey - I really want to hang around to see how you go, but I need to catch some zzz's. Best wishes through the night! Maybe try getting some rest and if thats impossible give your middie a call. I have no idea lol :hugs: