View Full Version : I am a little concerned.
08-05-2006, 13:20
Ella has only had 120mls of milk ALL day!! She would normally have had 450 by now. She just wont drink it. She sucks for a couple of mins & then wont drink any more. I'm a little worried. Any advice would be great!!
Cheers :o
She may be teething? Has she been grumpy or dribbling at all?
08-05-2006, 13:27
She's been a little out of sorts over the weekend, but I thought it was coz she wants food. She's been having extra feeeds & waking at night, which is abnormal for her. She'll be 5 months in a week.
No drool.... :confused:
Taylors_mum
08-05-2006, 13:28
is her teat to slow?? Maybe she needs a faster teat to get more milk into her..... my bub went through a stage like this cause the flow was to slow... she would fuss because it was taking to long to drink.
08-05-2006, 13:29
No I only just recently changed them, sometimes they are too fast & she gets it everywhere!! LOL Thats when she gulps it!!
Jazz did this too. I took her to the chc and they looked in her mouth and she had an irritation on the roof of her mouth. She got this from the avent teats . they were too hard for her little mouth:(
Spewiesmum
08-05-2006, 13:32
could she be growing? My DS goes off his food when he grows.
08-05-2006, 13:33
Oh wow, poor darling! I dont use avent ones. I use normal straight teats. Pur brand. She is sleeping a lot too, so I'm thinking she might be crook...?
08-05-2006, 13:33
could she be growing? My DS goes off his food when he grows.
Theres an idea... she is sleeping a lot!
Could be a mix of both growing and teething, my boys both went off food when they were teething... does she have a temp?
08-05-2006, 14:46
No, no temps or anything. Really wierd. She drank most of her last bottle so we will she what happens from there.
Thanks ladies :D
Bailey did the same when he was about 3 1/2 months old and goes through stages of this, he was going through a growth spurt at the time and sleeping heaps. I thought it was teething but it could have also been the growth spurt that caused his low appetite too. I wouldnt worry too much at all unless it goes on for days in which i would go the GP.
Is she sucking and pulling away?? if so and u think its teething related, Bonjella is the best STUFF! It seemed to cool down Baileys gums.
Good Luck and let us know how your lil darling is going!
Luv Leanne
LittleBoysRock
08-05-2006, 17:58
I had this problem with DS when he started teething at 4.5 months old. He went off his milk all together. He didnt drink much at all for a week and a half, I was stressed out so I called the CHN and she said as long as DS had 4 wet nappies in a 24 hr period he was ok.
Also if a baby dribbles it means they are not dehydrated apparently. My Dr said that when a child is dehydrated they body will use all fluids for other parts of the body, dribbling only happens when I child is well hydrated.
Goodluck, hope Ella returns to her normal self in no time. :fingerscrossed: