View Full Version : Clothie 101

JATS
08-05-2006, 10:35
For those of us with no idea WHY people still use them; what makes a 'good' cloth nappy? (I came, I tried, I failed miserably and I gave up!)

I'm asking all the clothie mums to tell us plain and simple;

Whats your fav few? (be it brand/fold/style)
What would you reccomend as a foolproof clothie that will contain practically anything our bubs can come up with?
What brands/folds/styles would you reccomend we steer clear from?
Any other very basic clothie hints/tips?Not interested in hearing about the environmental factors, theres plenty of that in other threads!
Thanks guys ;)

MamaSage
08-05-2006, 10:57
Favorite nappy - Bubba J hemps, Very Baby, Baby Beehinds. All with a handknit wool cover.
As a foolproof nappy, either of the above, all are snug fitting. Again, with a wool cover to catch excess, lol!
I would not tell people to steer clear of any particular brands, but do not buy fitted nappies with wadding as an inner - it leaks. Or nappies with no elastic in the legs - they do NOT contain runny poo!
And for peope who have used terry or flannelette flats and given up, fitteds are a whole different ball game. Easier, quicker, less maintenance!

08-05-2006, 11:08

Eenee
Baby Beehinds
Zappy

What would you reccomend as a foolproof clothie that will contain practically anything our bubs can come up with?

Eenee nappies

What brands/folds/styles would you reccomend we steer clear from? Disposables:p and Fluffies, Little Rippers

Any other very basic clothie hints/tips?

TIP: By using cloth you will save alot of money and cloth nappies may seem expensive in comparison of 1 disposable nappy vs one cloth nappy to buy but cloth can be used on more than one bub and have a good resale value!;)

LMTB are you considering converting back to cloth? You just seem to be posting alot lately in the cloth threads!;)

JATS
08-05-2006, 11:19
I am not convinced yet but get the feeling its because I tried all the wrong things before, so many people love cloth nappies there has to be a reason for it. :confused:

M O P
08-05-2006, 12:22
I've been using Bubhub and links to do a lot of research in to cloth nappies. I've been buying bits and pieces to try first before forking out heaps on one particular kind, have some prefolds, some fitted nappies, wool covers, fleece covers, PUL covers, hemp and microfibre boosters for now.
Can't wait for my baby to come along to try them out!

Tea Lady
08-05-2006, 12:32
I mainly like them because they're cheap and they don't go in the bin. I make my own or use terry flats so I can't really say any brands that are my favourites, but I think Kazza's idea of trying out a few is a good one - then you know what to go and buy more of and what to avoid. Every baby has a bit of a different shape so I suppose different styles will suit diff bubs. :)

I don't think there is any nappy that could contain a truly explosive newborn poo, unless in was gaffa taped to the poor childs legs or something - those poos are in a class of their own :thumbsdown: I think most decent cloth nappies would contain most "normal" nappy contents though :thumbsup:

My tip is that you have to be more organised and have your washing done or they become a pain in the bum, but if you make yourself wash when you should then they're not a problem at all. :)

Tea Lady
08-05-2006, 12:35
PS should have added - don't be put off by all the jargon that seems to go with cloth nappies. They're perfectly simple really but I think people who have a real passion sometimes talk about so many complicated little details that it makes it into more of a "big deal" than it really is ;) :)

(no offence intended to the passionate people!! :o )

veve
08-05-2006, 15:23
I love Greennappies , Honeyboy, and the new PUL pookey pockets

Honey boy probably
(although I adore my greens - you do have to stuff them correctly)

hmm anything that you haven't had DEFINATELY recommended by another clothie..

be VERY careful of purchases on ebay ... there are some dodgy nappy makers out there who will sell you a supposed all in one .. but it may not work :( always check that another clothie has used it and liked it!! cheap is not always better!!

hemp hemp hemp... it is SO absorbant (as is bamboo) - but these products do take time to dry... if someone is promoting a nappy with just flannel and terry ?? you may as well use flats...

and AIO (all in one i.e. doesn't need a cover) MUST have either TWO layers of outer fleece or a layer of PUL (laminate)

oh .. and pockets dry quicker as you take them apart to dry .. but there is less effort in an AIO... just be patient!! :D

08-05-2006, 17:17

I have Greens, Baby Bloomers & Swaddlebees which are pockets ! Plus i also have Eeenees. I only just got the Swaddlebees so im working out how to stuff them properly so still early days to say how good they are but i love how trim they are & with side snaps it means little fingers cant get the nappy off ! Otherwise Greens are my favs but the others are great !

My Greens have dealt with many an issue quite happily but like veve said you do have to get your stuffing right. The Baby Bloomers have been great also as they are a bigger cut to the Greens so fit my heffa a little better they just dont feel as nice as the PUL is a little more plasticy i guess is the right word.

Well i cant really answer that as i havent had any dramas yet as i did my research & pretty much trusted what i was told about Greens etc.
I guess i just wouldnt go an AIO due to the time it takes to dry them but thats cause we havent got a good clothesline in the sun.

If you get the pockets like i have then when they are dry you just stuff them while watching t.v & they are ready to go in minutes & are very easy for Dad's to handle as they are just like disposies !
Im with veve on the hemp get loads of it & you cant go wrong heheheh.
Remember you only need to dry pail not soak unless thats something you really want to do.
I just have some essential oils that i use a few drops of in the bottom of my dry pail to keep it smelling fresh.
Also remember how many you buy for a rotation will depend on how often you need to wash. I now have a large enough stash that i wash every 3rd day but could stretch it longer now i have 6 Eenees. So it isnt that much of a big deal especially if you had a spewie baby so washed every day as a newborn like i did lol ! So rather than doing one load every 2nd or 3rd day we do 2 so i dont find it a drag at all.
Ok i dont know whether i have much more to add so shall shush now :p

draught
08-05-2006, 19:31
AFter reading about them on bubhub and talking to a few bubhubbers in real life about it I am currently waiting on my first delivery of cloth nappies from Green nappies. I told some girls at work today and they looked horrified - I then started to explain they were fitted, had hemp boosters, etc and they started to look interested. Will be interesting to see how I go using them. DH is not convinced but given he changes about 10% of the nappies in this house I am not too worried about that!

Smurfette
08-05-2006, 20:31
Well we are now, as of this week, fulltime fitted nappy wearers ( Liv is anyway) and I have just a few words to say
I LOVE IT

My bulk lot are Greens and I have 2 x babybeehinds which are great also. Liv is wearing one overnight tonight for the first time. See how we go with that.
I would just say do plenty of research and trial a few nappies before making a bulk purchase. Talk to other bub hubbers, that's how I learnt a lot.

Edit - Okay, its morning and my beautiful girls bum was dry after 12hrs in bed. If anyone is looking for a nighttime nappy, baby beehinds are the one. These nappies are still new, so have not reached there full absorbancy yet either. Whoo Hoo. I'm so happy. I should mention too, Liv still has a feed during the night.

08-05-2006, 22:38
I use mostly Fuzzi Bunz and flats... Im still looking into baby beehinds at the moment as a night time nappy. DP is not so good with 'working' snappi nappies so i bought some fitted velcro fluffies for him which do the job as well - boy do they take a long time to dry tho as flats and fuzzi's are so fast!!

Fuzzi's are WONDERFUL my only problem is theres not enough sunlight these days to bleach them so im sick of having stains on them even when i rinse them as soon as shes changed! For this reason im thinking of trying some peapods as i think they'll hide the stains more lol

as for which ones to go for and which ones to avoid.. as someone else said, AIO's like fuzzi's are very 'dad' friendly as they are JUST like disposables and they're also trim fitting so if you like clothes like pumpkin patch (im slightly obsessed) then you'll know the girls clothes especially are quite slim fitting and my fuzzi's are the only ones i can get underneath them.. no chance of getting flats under pumpkin patch girls jeans or even most of there trackpants!

avoiding wise.. again as someone else has said: the cheap ones on ebay that claim to be AIO - I have been caught out and was FUMING when my so called AIO leaked straight through in under an hour when my fuzzi's had never ever leaked before! I was not 'ready' for the shock of a leaking nappy lol so be very careful!!!

LucyE
08-05-2006, 23:07
* Whats your fav few? (be it brand/fold/style)
For those early breastfed poo days - Tots Bots sized 1 non aplix
Once they start to do less frequent and firmer poos - Pocket Style - there are many good brands and my fave would have to be Sandra's Stuffables, Greens and Cherub's Kiss

* What would you reccomend as a foolproof clothie that will contain practically anything our bubs can come up with?
If you are wanting just one brand, I would have to say Tots Bots non aplix. This is because I have found it to be the best fit for the widest range of body shapes and it is easily adjustable thanks to the snappi. The terry loops seem to 'catch' everything and it doesn't go as stiff as hemp after line drying. I'm personally not a fan of one size fits all because they are not a 'fantastic' fit during the early stages and the later stages. If you are planning on using cloth again on a subsequent child, it also makes sense to have a high rotation so that each nappy gets less wear.

* What brands/folds/styles would you reccomend we steer clear from?
If you are going to invest money into modern cloth nappies, please do your research into that brand before buying (here on BubHub or various other nappy forums). I don't have any nappies that I would recommend anyone steer clear from but have heard of many people getting burnt with duds. Most well respected WAHM's have their own website these days so that's where I recommend people buy from.

* Any other very basic clothie hints/tips?
If you are using flat terries - learn the JO FOLD
If you are using nappies that requires a cover - don't skimp on this and buy supermarket cheapies. They aren't worth it in the long run. PUL covers are an easy way to start out and they are trim but I really do like wool covers best.
If you are planning on buying fitteds - attend a local nappycino (where other cloth users met and socialise) to have a look at the various types in real life before buying.

Edited to add that my main reason for using cloth is its reliability. I know with cloth that if there is a problem, there is always a solution (eg. heavy wetter, boost more). With disposables I did not have that flexibility. Cost is another reason but not the most persuasive for me. And to be perfectly honest, the environment didn't rate as a reason to use modern cloth. If my only choice was to use flat terry squares with pins, soaking and pvc covers, I was going to use disposables.

09-05-2006, 14:27
Edit - Okay, its morning and my beautiful girls bum was dry after 12hrs in bed. If anyone is looking for a nighttime nappy, baby beehinds are the one. These nappies are still new, so have not reached there full absorbancy yet either. Whoo Hoo. I'm so happy. I should mention too, Liv still has a feed during the night.
So where do I find those?

I recently converted Ella to Terry Flats. Love them. Not as hard to deal with as I thought. So long as I remember to hang them out :laughing: .

I havn't been game to put her a clothie at night, so am still using Huggies at the moment, but if there is another way TELL ME!!! :D

09-05-2006, 14:32
So where do I find those?

Check out this site

http://www.babybeehinds.com.au/

09-05-2006, 14:50
Thanks for that link OM.... ok so here come the Q's!!

They seem like a trick to wash. Is it just as simple as chucking them in the machine with my terries? The whole bi-carb & vinegar thing has me confused.

Also, with normal terries, does everyone put napisan (or similar) into the mashine (when dry pailing) as well as detergent? I'm just not sure if I need to or not... :o

Thanks guys!

09-05-2006, 14:54
They seem like a trick to wash. Is it just as simple as chucking them in the machine with my terries? The whole bi-carb & vinegar thing has me confused.

Just wash the same as your terries! ;) Vinegar and bi carb though do have antibacterial properties and will also help keep your nappies nice and soft, great for terry nappies too!

Also, with normal terries, does everyone put napisan (or similar) into the mashine (when dry pailing) as well as detergent? I'm just not sure if I need to or not... :o

Nope just your normal detergent. I also use the vinegar and bi-carb but then again you don't have to.

Tea Lady
09-05-2006, 17:14
Also, with normal terries, does everyone put napisan (or similar) into the mashine (when dry pailing) as well as detergent? I'm just not sure if I need to or not...

I usually wash in (home brand) napisan only - just under 2 capfuls for the load. I soak the nappies in the machine if they're really stinky but otherwise just wash as normal. They don't really smell clean to me if I wash them in normal detergent , but my machine is approx 30 yrs old, so maybe that's got something to do with it :rolleyes:

Napisan is biodegradable and apparently doesn't damage clothes (according to my google research on sodium percarbonate - the active ingredient) so I have no problem using it as opposed to other detergents. :)

veve
09-05-2006, 19:01

I dry pail and then just do a warm wash with 1/2 a cup of sensitive detergent. I've not had any real dramas with nappies...

I had a few fleece nappies start to smell .. but I just did a hot wash with a 1/2 cup of bi carb and NO detergent and then sunned them.. and they were like NEW!!

Jen

Cheeky Little Monkey
09-05-2006, 20:08

I have Greenkids pockets and stuff with 1 of their hemparoo inserts for the day & at night add a microfibre insert, Missy Moo fleece pockets, a few Sherpa Cutetooshie Cuddlebuns fitted(they are gorgeous), Baby Beehind Hemp fitteds and a Baby Beehind 100% Bamboo fitted nappy & and AIO Honey Boy from Cherubs Kiss

I cant see anything escaping the fitted nappies with a good PUL cover. What brands/folds/styles would you reccomend we steer clear from?
I am fortunate that I havent had any dodgies as I have taken the advice of the ladies on here as to what is good and what isnt.Any other very basic clothie hints/tips?

I fold the hemparoo inserts into 4 rather than into 3rds so the crotch is narrower for my DD. As she gets a little bigger I will fold into 3rds.Apart from the cheaper cost factor in the long run, I love the fact I dont have to trek to the bin in the cold morning to dump the bags of disgustable disposables!!

bluey
09-05-2006, 20:18
[QUOTE=Love My Tommy Bub]
[Whats your fav few? (be it brand/fold/style)

Baby Beehinds Bamboo, Cuddlebuns, HoneyBoys, Keester Kovers and Very Baby

HoneyBoy

At this point in time, I'd be steering clear of eBay, unless it's a well know reputable WAHM, there are some untried, very little tested nappies on there at the moment, that will just put you right off cloth.

You may need to try a few designs before finding one that suits you, your bub and budget. There is something out there for everyone. I would not recommend diving in and buying a dozen of anything, until you try, and fortunately cloth nappies have very good resale, particularly the good WAHM brand ones. Oh and start simple, even if it's terry flats, but always go with good quality covers, it will make all the difference.

Good luck with your choices.

talon
10-05-2006, 10:49
Well ladies - I think you may have converted me. :yelclap:

I jumped on the internet last night and ordered the trial pack from Greens and will get a couple of the Baby Beehinds nappies also to try out. This is a great thread! I never knew that cloth nappies had changed so much. Can't wait to try them out!

10-05-2006, 13:18
I dry pail and then just do a warm wash with 1/2 a cup of sensitive detergent. I've not had any real dramas with nappies...

I had a few fleece nappies start to smell .. but I just did a hot wash with a 1/2 cup of bi carb and NO detergent and then sunned them.. and they were like NEW!!

Jen
I normally put my nappies in a hot soak load with both deterg & napisan ( homebrand). So, if I just use either detrg or napisan thats should o you guys reckon?
And the baby bee hinds, you guys reckon they are ok to go in the machine with the same deterg & all? Alright this is sounding ok.....
Might to some nappy research.

What is the best nappy to get for overnight 12 hour sleeps?

sopolicha
10-05-2006, 13:23
I only use half of the recommended amount for washing my baby beehinds, I have never used napisan on them. They get dried in the sun and still have no stains.

10-05-2006, 13:27
I only use half of the recommended amount for washing my baby beehinds, I have never used napisan on them. They get dried in the sun and still have no stains.
Cool, so If I put them in with my terry flats is it still ok to only use half the deterg? I just dont want to do 2 seperate loads, iykwim. Water wastage etc...

Tam-I-Am
10-05-2006, 13:29
I'm really keen to try baby beehinds - but the website is closed! :thumbsdown: Does anybody know when they're likely to open again?

Tam-I-Am
10-05-2006, 13:31
Actually, just looked again under "latest news" and they reckon they'll reopen on or around the 15th of May.

talon
10-05-2006, 13:34
This is one of the websites I was looking at today. They sell a range of cloth nappies including Baby Beehinds and Tot Bots.

http://www.darlingsdownunder.com.au/

BTW, has anyone tried the Rumpster AIO and are they any good?

sopolicha
10-05-2006, 13:38
Cool, so If I put them in with my terry flats is it still ok to only use half the deterg? I just dont want to do 2 seperate loads, iykwim. Water wastage etc...

Give it a go and see what happens. I find the sun bleaches out everything.

10-05-2006, 13:54
Give it a go and see what happens. I find the sun bleaches out everything.
Ok thanks.

Does any one use these?
http://www.greenkids.com.au/
What are they like? Especially for overnight?

Tam-I-Am
10-05-2006, 14:04
[quote=kriscee]This is one of the websites I was looking at today. They sell a range of cloth nappies including Baby Beehinds and Tot Bots.

http://www.darlingsdownunder.com.au/ (http://www.darlingsdownunder.com.au/)[quote]

Thanks for that - is it just my imagination or is this website really expensive? How much would you usually pay for a baby beehinds?

sopolicha
10-05-2006, 14:07
Ok thanks.

Does any one use these?
http://www.greenkids.com.au/
What are they like? Especially for overnight?

I have a pattern PUL one, which they don't recommend for overnight use. I have a fleece one (that they don't make anymore) and I use it overnight, has been good so far. :fingerscrossed:

I think the hemp baby beehinds are around $24 - $25 mark. The bamboo are more expensive from memory.

10-05-2006, 14:14
Another Q... sorry ladies I'm full of them today!! :D ....

With green kids nappy's. Do you need to buy a hemp insert for every nappy. For example if I was going to buy 12 nappies, do I need 12 inserts?

And do you need inserts for the baby bee hinds?

10-05-2006, 14:51
Another Q... sorry ladies I'm full of them today!! :D ....

With green kids nappy's. Do you need to buy a hemp insert for every nappy. For example if I was going to buy 12 nappies, do I need 12 inserts?

And do you need inserts for the baby bee hinds?
sorry another one... lol

can you buy PUL covers from department stores or only online?

10-05-2006, 15:04
sorry,me again!! :laughing:

which is better/easier baby bee hinds or green kids?

Thanks guys, just dont want to spend $400-$500 on something i wont like. cheers:D

sopolicha
10-05-2006, 15:25
Baby Beehinds need a cover. You can only buy PUL covers on-line. I have never seen them anywhere else. I have about 5 covers and use them full time. They dry pretty quick.

If you have 7 pocket nappies you will need 7 inserts. They are no good without the inserts.

I have both and my preference is for the Bee ones. I think they fit better, they have a lot of snaps and adjust well for a growing babe. I have hemp and bamboo, but I much prefer the hemp because it has a shorter drying time.

Next Question..........

10-05-2006, 15:28
Baby Beehinds need a cover. You can only buy PUL covers on-line. I have never seen them anywhere else. I have about 5 covers and use them full time. They dry pretty quick.

If you have 7 pocket nappies you will need 7 inserts. They are no good without the inserts.

I have both and my preference is for the Bee ones. I think they fit better, they have a lot of snaps and adjust well for a growing babe. I have hemp and bamboo, but I much prefer the hemp because it has a shorter drying time.

Next Question..........
LOL!!!! How did you know?

So with the Bee ones, do they have inserts or just boosters for over night?

veve
10-05-2006, 15:35
bees come with all the inserts you need (two different sized boosters.. which snap into place)

you may want to add a microfleece liner (to keep bubs dry) but that is just a personal preference .. :)

sopolicha
10-05-2006, 15:35
With the Bee ones you get a big long insert and a short insert. I fold the big long one into thirds so it sits in the 'wet zone'. At night time I add the shorter insert and this seems to work so far.

You could add extra, I have heard of people using two of the bee ones at night or putting a hemp booster between the nappy and the cover.

10-05-2006, 15:38
Ok cool, so you dont actually have to pay extra for those inserts? But for overnight it might be good to get an extra hemp booster?

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: I'm drilling you guys!! This is all so new & confusing to me!! LOL

veve
10-05-2006, 15:57
soppie - how the HECK do they fit the extra boosters in??? I find the bee I have very snug ... (a good fit) ... I dont think I could squeese one in!!! .. maybe its the way I fold the big booster??

sopolicha
10-05-2006, 15:59
Yep, they come with them and they snap into the nappy.

My girl is 9 months and I have only ever used the two inserts that came with the nappy at night. You could always borrow the inserts from another nappy or boost it with a face washer or cut up one of your white squares to put in it.

sopolicha
10-05-2006, 16:03
veve, I snap the small one in the front and lay it flat along the nappy I snap the long one in at the back and fold it into thirds at the front. I have no worries with it. Might have to fold in a different place for girls.

Is yours the old froggy one I saw? Maybe the new ones are a different cut or something?

Mummy-2-2
10-05-2006, 16:21
Just remember that all kids wee different.

I LOVE the baby beehinds for my son, but unless I have about 20 layers of microfibre on my daughter, she wakes up in a puddle.

I am still working on bamboo, only have to have about 10 layers of that on her for her to be dry in the morning.

I have to say also that prefer the fleece covers more than the PUL and the wool covers more than the fleece. Even in the day, sometimes the PUL wicks through.

I have bought material for boosters so I can just sew it into squares and voila, instant booster.... it works out a lot cheaper than buying them and it aint hard to do.

I find pockets the best overall, cos you can stuff em to suit and then both my kids are in the same nappy, its just adjusted to different absorbancy.

My fave nappies atm are Tinkletots even though I havent got them yet, I love the fabric! I am waiting on a bambi and thumper one and a fairy garden one. Dont know much else about them, gotta wait and see!

Tea Lady
11-05-2006, 09:19
Becca you can also boost your terry nappies to make them more absorbent for o/nite if you want to start with what you've got. It's reasonably cheap to buy hemp to make boosters and combine it with microfibre cloths to get a pretty absorbent nappy. :)

Tam-I-Am
11-05-2006, 10:13
Okay clothies, I think you've converted me. I never would have considered cloths unless I'd found bubhub - its such a wealth of information!

Anyway, just wanted to ask a few questions - after much research, I think I've decided on Baby Beehinds and Greens pockets to try - I was just wondering:

Baby B's need a cover - what have you found to be best and where did you get it/how much did you pay for it/how many do you need if you're using baby bs fulltime?

Greens pockets - The website says that the hemp stuffers (9 layers) are enough for 2-3 hours during the day, and add a microfibre booster at night and it will last 12+ hours - DD sleeps for 13-14 hours at night and is waking in a sopping mess in her sposie in the morning - is 9 layers of hemp plus a microfibre booster really going to be enough at night - if not, what do I do?

Thanks guys!

LucyE
11-05-2006, 12:52
Tami-and-Claire This is just my opinion but if you have a child that is outwetting a disposable, you will need to consider a pocket nappy that is going to allow more room for stuffing than a Green Kids. I like GKs very much but that's mostly because they are sooooo trim. I would recommend getting a Sandra's Stuffable to try (make sure it is the plain PUL fabric and not a cotton print PUL because they can wick if very wet). My personal favourite stuffing combo is a Sandra's Stuffable hemp booster which is made from hemp fleece so slightly more absorbant than hemp jersey and a large Mother of Eden microfibre insert (www.theweewuns.au.com). Possibly get another one or two smaller hemp boosters (or even bamboo if you can find it) so that you can add it if the base stuffing isn't enough without going over the top.

I find BabyBeehinds to be a nice high cut on the thighs so a nice trim cover to match works well underclothes. BB's have their own brand of covers or Bummi's is another popular choice.

11-05-2006, 14:25
Becca you can also boost your terry nappies to make them more absorbent for o/nite if you want to start with what you've got. It's reasonably cheap to buy hemp to make boosters and combine it with microfibre cloths to get a pretty absorbent nappy. :)
Ok I might give it a whirl.

I'm liking the sound of the Green kids me thinks ( plus they are really cute) I might get a couple of Baby bees aswell as GK's so I can see which I like better.

Thanks for all the help everyone!! :D

Tam-I-Am
11-05-2006, 14:36
Tami-and-Claire This is just my opinion but if you have a child that is outwetting a disposable, you will need to consider a pocket nappy that is going to allow more room for stuffing than a Green Kids.

Hey LucyE - thanks for the advice, that's great. I checked out the weewums website - and I'm confused again! I thought I knew which nappies I wanted, but now I don't!

Okay, back to do some more research. If anyone can help me make this decision, I'll be your friend for life!

11-05-2006, 14:47
Hey LucyE - thanks for the advice, that's great. I checked out the weewums website - and I'm confused again! I thought I knew which nappies I wanted, but now I don't!

Okay, back to do some more research. If anyone can help me make this decision, I'll be your friend for life!

Different babies suit different nappies! I wish I could help more but I had to buy alot of nappies till we found the best nappies for us!;)

TIP: Buy 2nd hand nappies and of all different brands!;) That way you can figure out what works and what dosn't!

11-05-2006, 14:49
TIP: Buy 2nd hand nappies and of all different brands!;) That way you can figure out what works and what dosn't!
Ok, but ebay doesn't have much... where else can I find them?

11-05-2006, 14:51
Ok, but ebay doesn't have much... where else can I find them?

Definately look at garage sales, 2nd hand shops, 2nd hand baby stores all of those types of places will get odds and ends of nappies occasionally! Usually 10 times cheaper than e-bay!;)

talon
11-05-2006, 15:01
There are a couple of Green Kids nappies up for auction ATM. One used once and the other never been used. Here are the links for those interested...

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Green-Nappies-Pocket-PUL-Lemon-AS-NEW_W0QQitemZ7766321201QQcategoryZ26269QQssPageNam eZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Green-Nappies-Pocket-PUL-Pink-Rabbits-NEVER-WORN_W0QQitemZ7766321997QQcategoryZ26269QQssPageNa meZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

11-05-2006, 15:12
thanks for that i am watching them in my ebay now!! :smiliedance:

bilbymum
14-05-2006, 00:12
Hi, this is my first post on this site, i have been researching cloth nappies for about a fortnight online, (nonstop - it's like an intensive re-education process!!). So glad to find this site and this thread.

I've started watching ebay bids for cloth nappies too and agree there aren't a huge number. I am dying to actually see a cloth nappy in the flesh, instead of just photos on a website.

I love reading the real life experiences of other parents with cloth, would love to hear any opinions about the "one size fits from newborn to toilet training age".

I can't really imagine (cost wise) being able to finance a set of nappies (say 18) for each size (even if you go with a company that has three sizes not five). At least if i went with a company that did the one size option, i would only have to buy say 18 - which i would hope would last the nappy life of the baby.

And for the people that DO buy the one size nappies, does the velcro/aplix really cope with being washed continually over three years, or would you recommend the snappi/studs closing ones instead?

Sorry i have SO many questions!!!

LucyE
15-05-2006, 17:56
I can't really imagine (cost wise) being able to finance a set of nappies (say 18) for each size (even if you go with a company that has three sizes not five). At least if i went with a company that did the one size option, i would only have to buy say 18 - which i would hope would last the nappy life of the baby.
I personally prefer sized nappies but then I am also planning on using them on more than one child so I would get more use out of them all. Realistically, I doubt that you would find a fitted nappy to last the whole nappy-ing life of a child (assuming 2.5years til TT) on a small rotation (anything less than used once every two days). The elastic is usually the first to give in and although some styles are easily re-elasticised the fabric will also wear thin too. Anecdotelly hemp fleece is more likely to give in first than say cotton terry so that's something else to bear in mind too. My thinking is that if you will end up having to buy new ones at the end of the nappy-ing life, you may as well spend the extra $$ at the start to get a good fit on a young baby when bulk seems to look really disproportionate. Another cheap alternative is to use flat nappies or prefolds during the newborn phase and then introduce fitted nappies in the medium size.

And for the people that DO buy the one size nappies, does the velcro/aplix really cope with being washed continually over three years, or would you recommend the snappi/studs closing ones instead?
Depends on the quality of the 'velcro'. I have some small sized nappies that were on a continuous daily rotation (including in the dryer some days) for approx 4 months. I was also washing on 60C cycles (:o that was before I knew better). The velcro on them are still in pristine condition with very little lint/fluff build up either unlike some other cheaper 'velcro' nappies which have barely been used but are all curled up and 'catch' every time they go through the wash.

talon
15-05-2006, 21:32
Just wondering if I could get a couple of questions answered please....

1. Do you use nappy liners with fitted's?

2. If so, what is the best material?

3. On average, how many boosters do you use in a pocket nappy for daytime and for nighttime?

4. Do you always use a microfibre layer for night time all the time?

5. Where is the best place (quality and price wise) to buy boosters from?

Thanks - any help for an obvious clothie beginner is much appreciated! So far I have ordered a Baby Beehinds, a couple of Green Kids, a Fruit Salad and probably will get a Sandra's Stuffable shortly also. Can't wait! :smiliedance:

bilbymum
15-05-2006, 23:48
LucyE
what was the brand that you referred to
"I have some small sized nappies that were on a continuous daily rotation (including in the dryer some days) for approx 4 months. I was also washing on 60C cycles (:o that was before I knew better). The velcro on them are still in pristine condition with very little lint/fluff build up either"

I would be very interested to know if you remember. Also what did you mean about washing in 60 degrees hot water. That is what many sites recommend washing at, do you do something different now?

Great questions Kriscee.

what IS the different between a booster and a liner?
Are they just words for bits of stuffing that you use to increase the absorbency of the nappy?

Is it that
- for a POCKET nappy, the lining/booster goes inside the pocket
and that
- for a fitted nappy, the lining booster, is kind of put loose in the middle of the nappy, next to baby's skin (in the wet zone)

Have i got this right or am i still confused?

LucyE
16-05-2006, 09:20
1. Do you use nappy liners with fitted's?
Yes for the stay dry effect and to assist in cleaning poo

2. If so, what is the best material?
I like microfleece (purchased 2m on sale at Lincraft ages ago and still have a lot left because you don't need much at all). Just cut into the shape you are happy with (rectangle, hourglass etc) and don't worry about hemming because it doesn't fray.

3. On average, how many boosters do you use in a pocket nappy for daytime and for nighttime?
How many you need depends on what fabric and thickness you have. I use Mother of Eden microfibre inserts for around the house or if I know DS will not wet much. I add a thin WeeWuns hemp booster to the microfibre if we are going out so that I don't get any compression leaks from the microfibre but it's still trim and it lasts us 4 hours easily. At night, I use one MOE microfibre and a Sandra's STuffables thick hemp insert. This lasts us 12 hours easily.

4. Do you always use a microfibre layer for night time all the time?
I do because microfibre absorbs moisture quickly so it's good for my super wee-ing DS LOL I mix it with the hemp because it isn't a fast absorber but holds the moisture better than the microfibre.

5. Where is the best place (quality and price wise) to buy boosters from?
I don't know about price wise but for quality I'm very happy with The WeeWuns, Sandra's Stuffables or Cherub's Kiss.

bilbymum
The nappy I was referring to was a small sized The WeeWuns hemp fitted. Unfortunately Janie no longer makes them which is why I didn't mention the brand. The 'velcro' she used is still available from her site and is known as a 'HTH velcro brand' hook and loop. I prefer it to aplix even.

Re 60C washes. There is no need to wash on 60C (hot) for every cycle. It will just wear out your nappies faster. 60C will kill most germs alone but most people I know also wash with detergent which makes the hot water not necessary. I now wash on 40C because that's what my machine performs best at but my mother only washes on cold and the nappies are fine there too (we both use OMO and line dry). It is also not necessary to use any soakers like Napisan because realistically these days, most detergents are such good quality and not as harsh on nappies (or skin) as Napisan and washing machines are very effective at cleaning.

what IS the different between a booster and a liner?
A booster is a piece of fabric (can be anything) that is used to boost the absorbancy of a nappy. Most people have dedicated boosters made from hemp or bamboo for trimness but you can also use old facewashers, teatowels, handtowels, folded up flat terry nappies etc.
A liner is used to line the top of the nappy to assist in poo removal, create a stay dry effect, or just for the comfort of bub depending on the type of liner used. You can make your own fleece liners or buy disposable liners (which I don't like at all!) or buy some flushable liners (which are handy when out and about) or even get some silk liners which have natural antibacterial properties.

H&B'sMum
16-05-2006, 09:25
Whats your fav few? (be it brand/fold/style)My fav pockets are Greenkids (http://www.greenkids.com.au/) or Sandrastuffables. (http://sandrasstuffables.com.au/) I love our Baby beehinds (http://www.babybeehinds.com.au/), Honey boy, (http://www.cherubskiss.com/) Bubblebubs (http://www.bubblebubs.com.au/shop/) and Very Baby Simple nights (http://www.ericanappies.com.au/store/) (these are very hard to get but the BEST nappy for night time)

What would you reccomend as a foolproof clothie that will contain practically anything our bubs can come up with?I would recommend the baby beehinds system. You have the fitted nappy and a cover which means you have two layers to catch any leaks. These are great for holding in baby's breastfed poos.

What brands/folds/styles would you reccomend we steer clear from? These no particular style I would steer clear of however, there are a couple of makers that I would, if you want to know more you can PM me.
Any other very basic clothie hints/tips? I agree with everyone else buy a few in different styles and brands before buying up in bulk. You need to make sure you are getting the nappy that is right for your bubba. Research research and research some more to make sure you understand everything before you try this may save you a lot of time, money and stress. Find someone who uses cloth and pick their brains. Lots of the WAHM don't mind emails asking questions about their nappies or anything else you want to know.
Don't soak your nappies, dry pail them and try not to use vinager as it can damage the PUL and cause leaks.
Try wool soakers as covers as well. They are easy to use, often hand knitted and you can get some gorgeous ones too. You can even knit them yourselves.

JATS
19-08-2006, 22:00
We're about to get our FTB rebate so will finally have enough spare $$$ to get a set of clothies!
Yep I've been researching them for months and watching more and more $$$ go down the drain in sposies but not having the $$$ to invest in clothies yet, it's driving me insane!

Also the bonus of being able to use them for future bubs, thus saving even more!

My main dillema now is I love the look of the Greens ones and have heard wonderful things about them and am all set to buy the whole set (20 nappies, 20 hemp boosters and 4 microflece boosters) but keep hearing great things about Baby behinds which are more expensive and look like more work.

I can't afford to do both so want to know straight out form those who have them;

(Keeping in mind my son is a year old!)

Do you think a full set of Greens would be enough to cover me for EVERYTHING?
If you had to choose ONE brand to invest in what would it be?
Is there any reason I shouldn't invest in the greens?Thanks ladies, this thread has been incredibly informative and reassuring and you are looking at one keen-to-try-again mum!

JATS
19-08-2006, 22:01
Double post :o Sorry

Also just realised BBs are actually slightly cheaper, still leaning towards Greens though.

moomoosmummy
19-08-2006, 22:11
never tried any of the pre folded or brand ones i just use toweling flat ones with fluffies pilchers havent leaked on me yet:fingerscrossed: lol the one time i used disposables on the plane it leaked everywhere:eek: not a pretty sight on the plane :laughing:
i love them not that much extra washing so cute and no wastage

gremily
22-08-2006, 11:29
I just got my BB's last wk and I'm falling in love with them. For the past 12 mths I've used flat cloth during the day and sposie at night. During the newborn stage we had ALOT of blowouts with the flat cloth. They're bulkier (which means she couldn't wear tighter pants eg jeans) and they had to be changed more frequently.
The BB's have been great (it has only been a wk though). They're hemp and I've been able to leave them on almost twice as long as the flats. She can also wear JEANS now!!! I haven't used them at night yet though (still waiting on wool covers).

Washing - they took a day to dry in the sun (can be put in the dryer occasionally though).

Blowouts - can't really comment on that anymore as she does 'real' poo's now :smiliedance:

Putting on - VERY EASY!! There's no pins/tri claws, they're basically like a sposie except they have press studs. They have boosters that you have to press stud in, but I've been doing that when I take them off the line so it's no biggy.

Dads - yes, they are easy enough for even dad's to use!!!!:laughing: Although DF rarely changes nappies, he's had no qualms about using these.

But if you're not sure, go for the trial pks. BB's does them, and I think Greens do aswell. Good luck on you're choice!