View Full Version : Coping........
Tea Lady
07-05-2006, 11:47
I'm sincerely hoping someone out there has the magical cure-all for morning sickness or at least some foolproof coping strategies because I need them NOW!!
My main Q is what on earth to do with my 15 month old - I feel like I should get the award for world's most boring mum (unless letting her watch several hours of ABC kids every day counts as good parenting) and I feel so terrible for not enjoying her and doing fun things with her :(
I feel bad whinging because I'm so grateful to be pg again but I'm getting really down about feeling disgusting all the time.
Can somebody help? :(
I tried everything - morning sickness tablets, eating ginger, dry biscuits etc etc. After months of only moving from the bed to the couch and back again and then ending up in hospital, I went to see a homeopath.
Within a few days I was considerably better, within a few weeks I was ALL better. YAY.
3 drops of the homeo's potion each day - it was SO simple. I wish I'd gone earlier.
(The hospital staff wanted me to take a heap of medicines, some of which could possibly cause birth defects :eek: What the?)
Funkychicken
07-05-2006, 12:08
First of all :smiliedance: that you are pregnant again!! Congratulations!
I remember being where you are with a 17mth old and he would run off when I was trying to change his nappy and i would just crumple and watch him go:laughing: I just had no energy to move! I eventually started taking B6 and it was great-I had taken it for period pain years before and my GP said it also worked for morning sickness. Did the trick.
When I was pregnant last year though, it didn't help anywhere near as much and as it turned out I had really low iron levels not just MS. Once I started on an iron liquid supplement, I did a whole lot better.
Don't know if it is worth getting your iron checked as this can be a huge factor in yukky symptons:barf:. All the best.:D
I had terrible terrible morning sickness with ds2.. and ds1 was 6 months old :o
Nothing i tried worked... i thought i was going to cark it.. :thumbsdown:
i did try and drink ginger beer.. and that helped a bit.. might work wonders for you though?? just a suggestion.. (im not much help am i:no: )
Hope your feeling better soon :hugs:
Have you tried the blackmores morning sickness tablets? I still have a bottle here, about 3/4 full.. if you want I can bring them to dinner at Pancakes. (if you're up for it and if you haven't grabbed some yourself by then.. and if you want an open bottle of tablets!)
Also.. CONGRATULATIONS!!! :smiliedance:
Tea Lady
07-05-2006, 12:17
Thanks for the advice everyone.....I'll try anything!! At least some other bubs have survived their mum's feeling revolting all day :)
I should have added - the worst thing is I can't drink TEA anymore (except stupid boring rasperry and ginger). I'll have to change my username :crying: :D
Tea Lady
07-05-2006, 12:20
BTW does anyone know about whether it's ok to have the amount of ginger that they recommend to take in the Blackmore's tabs? I've looked a bit on the net, and all the trials use significantly lower amounts. I remember someone on here once saying that lots of ginger can cause probs..... although there are obviously lots of healthy babies around whose mums took the tablets. My pharmacist looked at me like I had two heads when I asked him about it, so I guess it's not one of those well known no-nos anyway!
PS I might take you up on that offer S if you don't think you'll be using them again before too long ;)
Blessed Mum
07-05-2006, 18:51
Oh Tea Lady congratulations on being pregnant again :smiliedance: I'm sorry I have no idea what to suggest I can sympathasise though as both times i had extremely bad morning sickness & share your concerns as we hope to be trying to coneive #3 soon.
Tea Lady
07-05-2006, 20:29
Thanks Tara! It's such a gross feeling - I hope you don't get it next time (third time lucky maybe!).
I think the sea bands may be working - my theory though is that they're so darned uncomfortable they take your mind off the horrible nausea. Whatever works I say! :)
lukaelmo
07-05-2006, 20:35
I didn't realise you were pregnant!
Congratulations :yelclap: .
Funkychicken
07-05-2006, 21:34
Have you tried the blackmores morning sickness tablets? I still have a bottle here, about 3/4 full.. if you want I can bring them to dinner at Pancakes. (if you're up for it and if you haven't grabbed some yourself by then.. and if you want an open bottle of tablets!)
Also.. CONGRATULATIONS!!! :smiliedance:
i also have an open bottle with stacks in it. I have often thought of offering them but didn't know if anyone would want them already opened. They are yours if (or anyone else) if you want them.:D
Supermum
08-05-2006, 07:30
My main Q is what on earth to do with my 15 month old - I feel like I should get the award for world's most boring mum (unless letting her watch several hours of ABC kids every day counts as good parenting) and I feel so terrible for not enjoying her and doing fun things with her :(
Hi there TL
Hmmm - things that amused my children at 15 months.
Drawing with chalk. If you have concrete outside this is fabulous as they can draw till their little hearts are content and then you can hose off the damage.
Drawing with crayons.
Books - I found the picture books fabulous for my children at the same age. You can buy them from Woollies for around $3-4.
Simple jigsaws. You can buy them or make them. To make them, just get the picture you want to use. Cut around it so that it's either square or rectangle, paste it onto some cardboard and cut into two pieces. When bub gets older you can divide it into smaller bits so that it's more challenging. A national geographic mag is a great place to find good pictures, especially animals.
Get a rectangular piece of cardboard and hole punch it in rows ... maybe 6-8 across and 4-5 down. Evenly space the holes. Buy a very long shoelace, tie a knot in the end of it and glue it to the board. They'll get hours of fun threading.
The following are borrowed from Martha and Petster:
A formula container or similar container with removable lid. Cover it in bright contact, cut a hole in a top and buy some wooden pegs. They get hours and hours of enjoyment pushing them in, taking them out, pushing them in, taking them out .... you could even colour the pegs for something different and as they get older they'll start to group the pegs by colour.
A tissue box and a deck of cards ... same deal, in, out, in, out ... you'd be surprised how long they can entertain themselves with this.
Just a few ideas. I could go on forever so if you are after some more ... send me a PM!
And :hugs: for the morning sickness, it sucks!
The sea bands are working for me! But I see you are already using them:p
Oh and congratulations on being pg;) :smiliedance:
I saw you yesterday by the way but u looked pretty engrossed in getting your groceries!:p
Tea Lady
08-05-2006, 14:18
Actually I was more engrossed in not throwing up in the supermarket :o :barf:
We should catch up sometime hey! :)
Actually I was more engrossed in not throwing up in the supermarket
LMAO me too!:yes: :barf:
Should catch up at the park again soon! I have been taking Ozzy down to the local one heaps and he loves it more and more each time, me however hmmmm gets rather boring sitting by yourself!;)
Tea Lady
09-05-2006, 17:15
yes, you feel a bit tragic when it's just the 2 of you don't you? :p
Blessed Mum
09-05-2006, 17:34
[QUOTE=Tea Lady]Thanks Tara! It's such a gross feeling - I hope you don't get it next time (third time lucky maybe!).
That's my theory - hope it works out :fingerscrossed:
Hope you are feeling a bit better.