View Full Version : What's wrong?
LYTTE
07-05-2006, 10:36 AM
Hey everyone...
Got a bit of a problem and dont know really what to do...
Im 10 weeks (or there round about) and i cant eat anything without throwing it all up not even a minute later. I tried foods like bread and dry crackers etc, but still I can't keep it down. Even liquids like water. I've felt really sick my whole pregnancy and havent been able to eat much and only vomitted once a day but the few days its been constant... all i can manage to do is lay in bed and read...
Anyone know what I can do? Much help needed as im a first time young mum
Christie :(
xkwzit
07-05-2006, 11:09 AM
Hi Christie
Try these threads:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=12409
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=18623
Elfin
07-05-2006, 11:13 AM
I found icy things helped me like icy poles, kool pops, frozen drinks etc. It was temporary relief but did make me feel a bit better. Hope you get past this soon:)
Ethereal
07-05-2006, 09:46 PM
Morning sickness is usually more pronounced in the 1st trimester and starts to ease off a bit in the second. But then having said that I know some women who had it their entire pregnancy.
I would listen to your body and get plenty of rest. Also there is a possibility that you may be carrying twins if you're experiencing very bad MS.
Have you tried some ginger? Try to eat a little bit at a time. Another trick is when you first wake up in the morning, have some food you like by the side of your bed and eat a little bit before you get up and start walking around. Don't let yourself get hungry try really small quantities every 15-20 minutes or so. Sometimes it's an empty stomach that makes MS worse.
Mamaduke
07-05-2006, 09:51 PM
This is probably not what you want to hear but I had MS all throughout both of my pregnancies (I think it's boys that do it to you!)
With Jesse I had MS from February 13th to September 10th every day...I found the best thing for me was to not fight the fact that I was going to vomit. I'd get up, head straight to the toilet, vomit and then I'd be fine. If I tried to eat crackers, use ginger, seasick bands (which don't work!) etc etc it was only delaying the inevitable...so I'd just throw up and be done with it!
If it's any consolation I was always told that MS was a sign that everything's going well with bubs.
Briannabear
08-05-2006, 06:32 AM
Oh you poor thing! :( There's nothing worse than bad morning sickness. Ive had it bad with both pregnancies.
With my first it eased up at about 13 weeks. With this pregnancy Im 15 1/2 weeks and its just getting better now.
The best thing I can say is keep up your vitamins. Keep drinking lots of water (I know thats hard when it keeps coming up!). Suck on ice cubes. And find a 'safe' food. For me that is an apple. I find it easier to keep down.
The other thing to do is avoid fatty greasy foods. They will make you feel 1000 times worse.
Your doctor can give you some maxalon to help stop the vomiting. I used it a couple of times with this pregnancy. I dont like taking anything normally, but I was worried that the baby was getting enough nutrients.
I honestly hope it eases up for you very soon. Try to rest up as much as possible. :hugs:
aggero
08-05-2006, 04:54 PM
Chrissy I so sympathise with you. I am currently 9 weeks along and the last 2 weeks have been hell. I am ill about 5 times a day and nothing makes me feel better. I don't feel like eating or drinking anything but force myself to as I find it less painful to :barf: when I have something in my stomach.
:fingerscrossed: things get better for us both soon :D
I know how you feel, I had extreamly bad MS with my second and ended up in hospital several times.
You need to go and see your Dr before things get too much worse. There are things that they can give you like "maxalon" which may help. If you are still throwing up everything you might even need to be rehydrated via a drip. I left it too late and by the time I saw my Dr was badly dehydrated.
Hope things start improving soon
LYTTE
10-05-2006, 07:58 AM
Hey guys...
I really started thinking about what I was eating and drinking and tried to see if any of the foods were making me sick. And i said before that i couldnt even keep down water. I have tap water with every meal, but not till the end...maybe a sip or 2 during a meal. I have just recently moved into a new house, (2weeks ago) and i went to a bbq at my mums and kept all my food down...and i ate heaps!! but when i got home and had dinner with the water I threw up again, so i tried not drinking the tap water and just bottled water with my meal and was fine...
So its my water... anything like that happened to anyone before??? It doesnt make anyone else here sick though. Ever since i've been drinking bottled water i havent even felt queasy....
Christie
xkwzit
10-05-2006, 08:11 AM
Hi Christie,
I have not heard of it before, but I believe that it may well be the cause of your problem. PG women have a super sensitive sense of smell and smells are very strongly connected to memories. It may just be an association: you were sick after having some water and so now something in the taste or smell of the water makes you feel sick IYKWIM?
I would avoid the water trigger for a while, buy a filter jug to see if that helps. You might just need to avoid it for a while to break the association or to get over the chucky stage of pg.
Littletreasures
30-05-2006, 08:47 PM
i lived on chocalate thickshakes for 7 months not the healthiest thing in the world but i couldnt stomach anything else i would vomit at the thought of food.....
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.