View Full Version : Anyone else for Raspberry Tea?

SweetDreams
07-05-2006, 06:41
I must admit I was a bit sceptical at first but am completely converted that drinking raspberry tea is doing "something". I am drinking 4 cups a day... not sure whether the end result will be mind over matter though.

What benefits have you felt or do you believe were achieved when you delivered your baby from drinking raspberry tea?

Susan :)

LucyE
07-05-2006, 12:52
I drank it before ttc and started again when I was about 6/7 months pregnant. I didn't want to start any earlier due to risks of m/c. My naturopath suggested that you start yourself off gently so I was drinking 1 cup for the first day, then 2 cups for two days, 3 cups for three days etc and gradually built up. She believes that most women don't drink enough by the end of their prenancy for it have an effect.

The benefits I found was that I was having lots and lots of braxton hicks contractions quite regularly. That's supposed to be a good sign because your uterus is getting ready for the work during labour. When I actually went into labour, I really didn't feel the contractions (first sign for me was a show). They popped me on the monitors and the midwives were amazed with the size of the contractions and the fact that I wasn't in great pain :smiliedance: Unfortunately that didn't last because once the OB broke my waters *grrrr* I began to really feel some pain!

M O P
17-05-2006, 15:47
I've been on the raspberry leaf tablets for the last 4 weeks. Built up to 6 a day. Today I was experiencing the strongest pains in my stomach I've ever felt in my life. They were in waves but present for about half an hour. Not sure if these are BH or not.

OM
17-05-2006, 15:49
For me they did zip zero zilch! I took them religiously for the last 2 months and nothing happened at all! I didn't even go into labour!:mad:

SweetDreams
17-05-2006, 16:17
Oscar's Mum: That just sucks!

I think it does something for me - whether it will help in the end who knows! Was curious because my friend sells it and I have ordered some more. Just as well I like the taste anyway!

OM
17-05-2006, 16:19
Oscar's Mum: That just sucks!

Yep sucked big time!:mad:

shed
17-05-2006, 16:19
Ooh, I am glad this came up now because I am officially in my third trimester, as of yesterday (pause for applause).

So, I have the tablets and the tea and was going to ask WHEN I start taking the tablets and the tea, and I presume that I start slow and build up?

so what would be the ideal build up i.e. one today, two tomorrow, or just the tea for a week then the tablets?

or what? Anybody?

OM
17-05-2006, 16:27
Shed I would start with the tea then next week begin on the tablets increasing maybe a tablet a week!;)

mummajuice
17-05-2006, 22:12
I drank raspberry leaf tea religiously from about 30 weeks on recommendation from a friend who swore it helped her very easy first labour. My labour was relatively easy and the midwife even commented on how calm I was. They were planning to send me home but instead sprung into action when they discovered that I had dialated from 1cm to 6cm in 3 hours. Apparently this is common but the only downside was that I was unable to have any pain relief other than entonox (gas).

I have since talked to other mums who also swear by the tea - but not so many had the same results from the tablets.

jordy&steph'smumma
18-05-2006, 08:24
Where is the tea available from. I can't find it anywhere???

MumsieMel
18-05-2006, 08:33
Did absolutely NOTHING for me!!! :mad:
And tasted dreadful :barf:

I was even 2 days late with a 14 hr labour! :banghead:

Supermum
18-05-2006, 08:52
I took the tablets and drank the tea for the last trimester of both pregnancies. I had long pre-labour and didn't actually go into the hospital until I was 5cm in both instances. Apparently my cervix ripened beautifully:rolleyes:

Both labours were fast - 1 and 3/4 hours for the first ... would probably have been no more than two if my knOb didn't break my waters as bub was well and truly on the way (must have had a golf game to go to!) and 3 hours for the second - induction. But I was still 5cm before they did the membrane sweep. Don't know whether if it was the tea or not.

Can't do any harm and only good as far as I'm concerned!

BJelly
18-05-2006, 08:56
I found the tea at health food stores.

I drank a lot of tea - I'd make up a jug of about a litre and drink it throughout the day for the last month or so.

I was a week and a day late according to my EDD, but my labour was relatively short at 7 hours - I was having really big contractions, but I stayed calm and managed to labour without drugs. I wouldn't want to go any faster if I have another baby, so I'd probably cut back on the tea if there is a next time.

melfunction
18-05-2006, 08:59
I have since talked to other mums who also swear by the tea - but not so many had the same results from the tablets.

I took the tablets from 36 weeks. I dilated completely in one hour and pushed my son out in ten minutes.

I wouldn't take them again.

Tam-I-Am
20-05-2006, 01:55
I didn't drink it religiously, but had a short and easy labour anyway. :smiliedance:

Where is the tea available from. I can't find it anywhere???

I bought mine in a healtfood shop, but I've actually seen it just in the tea aisle at safeway (woolies). They tell me if you mix it with peppermint tea, it tastes heaps better!

20-05-2006, 03:46
the midwives at the hospie suggested I start taking the tablets from 34 weeks.. but then I was silly and tried to move a futon the other day stretching or near tearing a muscle riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight down low and they've told me I shouldn't take it for another while since I'm having muscle problems. :S

Apparently the tea tastes foul, not all raspberry leaf teais real raspberry leaf and you have to drink a lot of it to get the same result as the tablets.

OM
20-05-2006, 03:50
So for the ppl that took the tablets and had dilated quickly etc do you think that would have happened without the tea too?:confused:

melfunction
20-05-2006, 07:11
O's mum, I didn't drink the tea, just the tablets for me.

The reason I wouldn't take them again is second labours are generally much quicker than the first and if thats the case, I'm not going to make it out my front door IF there is a second baby.

kiwibird27
20-05-2006, 11:17
So the raspberry and peach from the supermarket is not the same as raspberry leaf u guys are talking about???

20-05-2006, 11:44
Probably not Kiwibird.
the tea is meant to be raspberry leaf and apparently it's the healthfood shops who will stock the good stuff.. not the manufactured flavour enhanced one

pegasus
20-05-2006, 20:48
So the raspberry and peach from the supermarket is not the same as raspberry leaf u guys are talking about???

The key is that there is no leaf mentioned in the raspberry and peach

Tam-I-Am
21-05-2006, 23:17
The one that I'm talking about having seen in woolies is "Red Seal" brand Raspberry Leaf Tea. Its the exact same as the one I have, which I bought from a health food store.