View Full Version : March 08 Bubba's Chat #3

Pages : [1] 2

3Divas&me
21-09-2008, 08:39
I actually found something Phoebe will eat!:yelclap: we went to a birthday party yesterday and she was loving the Jatz with french onion dip- so a bit of a savoury girl! Her number 2's are a bit smell this am though:laughing:

porridge
21-09-2008, 14:58
thanks for the photo comments Jess! they're cute some of the time - not today though. Arch especially is being foul!!

DH left for Canberra again today... so it's the week alone for me. oh well, at least I have my tv!!

lala7
21-09-2008, 17:11
3Divas that sounds exhausting!

We had a late night too last night. We had my sisters engagement party and so weren't in bed until midnight, and Alexi had woken up at 6am that morning doing poos and ready to start the day.

Chippy, Alexi has also been having 2 hour naps in the morning again. And :fingerscrossed: she's starting to get better with going down - the past few days she's gone done with NO or little complaint and then slept for a couple of hours. All except for yesterday morning when she decided to go hysterical instead.

And :smiliedance:she took the bottle a bit this morning! She wants to feed it to herself, and couldn't quite work out properly what to do -whether to chew or suck, but ended up having about 40ml before I gave her some booby. But that's 40ml she didn't take before so hopefully some progress there.

On the talking, Alexi is saying 'mum' a lot too. I think it's just a new sound she can make rather than referring to me but it's cute anyway....and makes it MUCH harder to ignore her when she's fighting sleep!!

I had to go buy her some new pants the other day cos she'd outgrown them all but there are NONE around - just summer stuff. How stupid. Babies need stuff for now, not for the next season and they can't wear clothes they wore last year! It just seems silly to me.

Porridge how do I check out your facebook pics?

On the solids thing again, when do you start giving them 2 meals a day? We've just been on the 1 meal for the past week but I'm not sure when to move to more. We've just had farex, pumpkin and about to try potato.

chippy
21-09-2008, 19:11
Arrrh Taylor wont eat anything but farex! No pears, pumpkin, or sweet potato. Maybe I should just give her 2 meals of farex a day? I know she won't starve and everntually like them but its so frustrating. She shuts her mouth and just wants boob:)

Lala thats great Alexi is doing the long naps again. Funny thing is Taylor is waking with poo's at 5.30am too! Well, for 2 days in a row, then screams because I change her nappy first instead of feeding her with a pooy nappy lol.

Who here lives in QLD? Or somewhere hot? I am having so much trouble with her getting hot when she first goes to bed. She kicks and carries on till she's half naked (she still is wrapped), then cries because she can't get to sleep cause her wraps off!

Also, what sort of mattress do you have? I'm thinking of getting a tea tree one for the cot. She is still in her snuggle bed, untied, to give more length, but once she starts rolling it will have to go as too dangerous. I can't see how she is meant to sleep on that horrible hard mattress in her cot?

2SPUNKRATZ
22-09-2008, 07:03
lala - i wouldnt up her to 2 meals until you have tried a lot more variety of foods. i upped Aali to 2 meals a day cos she has tried everything a 6 mth old can have by now.

chippy - are you mixing the pumpkin, swt potato, pear etc in with the farex? i had to do that for Aali for the first few weeks. they are all strong flavours for a baby. maybe its just a bit tostrong and you need to tone it down by mixing it in. i started it 50% veg 50% farex. then slowly increase the amt of veg and decrease farex. hope that helps you out a bit.

porridge - np hun. i just wanna eat Archie all up he is so gorgeous!! hehe

3divas - yay for phoebe eating something. lol. Marius ate spring onion dip the other day and bot hhis breath and later on his poo smelt horrible.

marius woke up at 5.30 again this morning. i am so tired. its getting ridiculous. DD wont go to sleep till late and DS wakes up ridiculously early. eeerrrrrggghhhhh :sleeping:
i was watching Marius play yesterday and getting all teary. i think im going to be one of those mums who cries on my kids first day of school. lol. i just cant believe how much he has grown so much. and as for Aaliyah, shes almost 7 months. where the hell did that time go?!! shes so clever. hates going on her tummy though so i dont know that shes gonna go to well learning to crawl or anything. lol

better go, gotta get marius ready for daycare.

porridge
22-09-2008, 10:53
solid feeds - Arch is having 3 now a day and I'm increasing how much he's having

530-6am - breastfeed
7am - breakfast - porridge and fruit
11ish - breastfeed
noon - vegies and oats (ok, it's still porridge)
3ish - breastfeed
6-7pm - breastfeed and vegies
11pmish - breastfeed
3am - breastfeed

does it make sense that I am very very tired??! this is on a good day, sometimes he wakes 2 or 3 times o/n

*sigh*

well it's absolutely bucketing down outside... I have a fidgety 2 1/2 yr old on my lap...

time to bring out the big guns - baking muffins!!

:goodvibes:

hayleylea
22-09-2008, 13:27

i have been reading but havent had time to post.

Glad to hear everyone is going well.

Shelley is rolling around EVERYWHERE. And turns herself around on the stop with her arms to go in what direction she wants. Still will only take breastmilk out of a bottle (if she has to and im not arround) She drinks water out of a cup well though.

She is on 3 solids a day too. She loves trying new food.

Anyone got any baby food recipes?

I made a whole heap the other day but would love to see what everyone else is doing. I made some fruit gels the other day - Tasted just like the shops and Shelley loved it - Cheap as too! So any ideas would be appreciated.

okey dokey ill try to pop back in more often!!!

porridge
22-09-2008, 14:05
hayley - how do you make fruit gels?

I'm pretty lazy with Arch's food - I steam vegies, boil up the fruit and then just puree and freeze in cube trays...

Arch has pear and apple puree (has gummed a banana, cantelope and kiwi), zucchini, pumpkin, sweet potato, potato, broccoli, beans and carrot...

it's such a crappy day here weather wise... we're watching the west wing, listening to little people sing a long favourites and making banana muffins...

my house is looking like a small bomb has gone off... *sigh*

oh well

2SPUNKRATZ
22-09-2008, 17:57
I'm pretty lazy with Arch's food - I steam vegies, boil up the fruit and then just puree and freeze in cube trays...

hahahaha, you call that lazy. so far most of Aalis solids have come from a jar. i so mean to start making it for her myself, but with so much stuff going on in our lives atm, it just feels easier. i will start making it myself soon though. shes still on 2 solids a day for now. i just get this feeling like shes not ready to go up to 3 yet. or maybe im not. i dont know lol. either way, im sticking with 2 until further notice.

i am ssoooooooo tired. zzz zzz zzz zzz zzzzzzzzzz :sleeping:

porridge
22-09-2008, 18:08
lol - I meant lazy in terms of recipes - just add oats is my motto!!

3Divas&me
22-09-2008, 18:13
Man I really cant seem to get Phoebe to eat any solids still and you guys have got your bubs on 3 meals a day- she just aint interested!!!!
I keep offering but she does not seem to like anything- she spits out the first mouthful then locks up the lips after that so I cant get another spoon in!!:laughing:

hayleylea
22-09-2008, 18:17
Porridge - Fruit Gels are EASY PEASY!! Just get a jar of Gelatine and i think its 360mls of pure fruit juice (any flavour/s) and 2 teaspoons of gelatine (or as per packet instructions) and put it in the fridge and WALLAH! Fruit Gel. you could even puree fruit and add it to the mix too if you wanted :D

Ill have to try zucchini and broccoli. I made her up a batch of spag bol today to freeze (i just put them in ziplock sandwhich bags - just in meal size portions - easy to stack in the freezer then!). Pumpkin and sweet corn is a favourite here. Tried advocado today - she wasnt too keen on that one.

I actually just brought some oats so ill have to mix that to her food. Ill make her up some apple oatmeal etc.

OK im off. Im sooo tired im hoping Cooper goes to sleep soon Shelley is already in bed.

InSaneOne
22-09-2008, 21:12
man i am so lazy - i just use the jars (for outings) or tins (when we are at home). and mainly the savory ones. i did give daniel a taste of the pear and apple puree but the face he made was a laugh - so we will be sticking to meat and vege for a while and slowly introducing the sweet. i did give him a little bit of juice. the infant ones that are really watered down. he was getting a bit constipated so a bit of pear juice helped that along.

he doesn't seem to want as many feeds now either. i give him solids 2x a day and he only has about 5 feeds. i have had to top up with formula more and more now as my supply is dropping off. i rarely feel "full" any more despite pumping (only getting 50 mls from each breast) and eating a truckload of lactation cookies and drinking about 3 litres of water. i try to get him to feed more but he just turns his head away.

any suggestions on upping the supply ladies?

hayleylea
23-09-2008, 07:00
No idea about upping your milk supply - im hopeless when it comes to that. I dont drink nearly enough water either. I have enough milk though, I just expressed 100mls (only 50 from each breast - but i could have got heaps more if i wanted to and i had just Fed Shelley). Im going to a school reunion on saturday so im leaving the kids with mum so need milk for that cause she wont take formula.

I was being lazy with the food thing too - but it works out soooooooooooooo much cheaper to make it. Ive saved so much! Especially doing the fruit gels aswell.

I havent given Shelley a peice of toast yet. But she LOVES LOVES her arrowroot biccies!!!! She devours them!

Ok better go and clean up - i was lazy yesterday and there is a mess waiting for me!

3Divas&me
23-09-2008, 07:13
BB&D- not sure how to up the supply now- except for drinking a tonne of water- maybe the lactation cookies aswell? I find that if I can get Phoebe to skip a feed- which is quite rare- usually involves an extended sleep through at night- then it is enough to get my milk supply back up.
I hardly made any food for dd1 and 2 it all came from Hienz- LOL:laughing: Your right Hayleylea- so much cheaper to make and really not too hard- just something I never really got around to.

So Phoebe had a successful feed of farex this morning- gagged a few times on it- but did not actually spew it all up so thats a huge bonus:yelclap: She sis not have much- maybe a tablespoon and a half- so how much should they eat?:confused: I know I have had 2 but just cant seem to remember and the other 2 were well and truly eating solids by now.

Phoebe will also not roll over- she can do as she has done it a few times before- but with the other two once they did it they did it every time they hit the floor- Phoebe perfers to be on her back unless she is reaching for something then she will go over (which is rare)- not sure if thats normal or not- should I be worried?:confused:

hayleylea
23-09-2008, 08:26
3divas - nah i dont think you should be worried about Phoebe not rolling - DS was a late roller too and i was worried! he was a late crawler but walked at 13 months so he did catch up. you said she can go over - its probably that she doesnt want to! Shelley is so much different to DS she wants to get up and go! She doesnt stop. She just all around the house! Much easier when they stay in the same spot!!! As for Phoebe and solids. I only had Shelley (and DS) on farex for a couple of feeds - they didnt like it - i found it gluggy and yucky too! Try her on some fruit - or even the Heinz different cereals (apple and oatmeal and stuff - they arent as bland and gluggy maybe she might like that?) Shelley will eat around the size of whole jar of food that you buy from the shops (heinz jars) for each feed (But she is a piggy) :laughing:

OK better go - Shelly still has no teeth - but im sure she is getting one now. Cooper had about 5 teeth by now!! Her nappy was foul this morning too and she has really bad nappy rash - poor little thing. I put some daktozin on it though so it should be gone soon!!!

2SPUNKRATZ
23-09-2008, 09:20
Aaliyah just attempted the commando crawl. and actually moved about half a foot lol. may not be far, but movement is movement. wooot well done Miss Aali!

glad im not the only "lazy" one going with Jars. i just figure, if you look at the ingredients, nothing is added to it. so its still healthy.

3divas - Aali knows how to roll over to, but chooses not to. only when she really wants something thats out of her reach. im not worried about it, and i dont think you should be either. Aali actually prefers if i sit her up so she can play with what is around her. she doesnt even like laying down. i have actually had to force her to lay on her tummy through a few tears just to get her in a position to attempt crawling. she got pretty whingy the first few times, and i only made them short times, but now shes figuring it out, she seems to like being there a little longer each time.

hayleylea
23-09-2008, 09:47
Jess - Well done Aali with the commando crawl! How scary they will be crawling soon! My DS HATED tummy time. Shelley loves it! She would stay on her tummy all day! She is just a ball once she learnt to roll she wouldnt stop. Cooper rolled for ages befor crawling too. Shelley gets her bum up in the air but then cant get her arms to push her up (and vice versa gets right up on her arms but cant get her legs and bum to work! :laughing: She trys though and thats the main thing.

Nothing wrong with the jars of food - Cooper wouldnt eat my cooking :o he would only eat the stuff out of the can or jar :laughing: Shelley isnt as fussy though thankfully.

Ok better get back to the house work! *sigh*

lala7
23-09-2008, 11:16
I wouldn't worry about the rolling either. My cousins little boy is 9 months and he never rolls. He's done it once or twice but just isn't interested in it - he'd prefer to sit up. I guess it comes down to preference for them. Just because we can run doesn't mean we do it every day!! Ha ha!

Oh my God Alexi's poo STUNK this morning - it was so disgusting I almost dry reached. Is that normal??? I can't imagine it'd be the solids cos she's only having about a tablespoon of it (and still doesn't really seem to like what I'm giving her!!).

What's that other cereal you guys talk about? Is that in the baby aisle?

I haven't tried her on any of the jars yet - do you need to try her on one with just one ingredient in it first?

Any tips on getting your bub to take the food? Alexi is interested in putting EVERYTHING in her mouth EXCEPT the food I want to give her! Do you think it's just that she doesn't like it?

hayleylea
23-09-2008, 11:25
lala - Shelleys Poo stink sometimes too but she is eating a variety of foods!
The farex everyone is talking about is in the baby isle. You can get plain stuff,and some has fruit in it. - Its reccomended as a good start to solids....but i really think its up to the baby. A BIG hit with both my kids and my neices and nephew was the tins you can buy with sweetcorn and pumpkin - they have NEVER once refused it. They reccomend trying one food/ingredient at a time for a week to see if they have any allergies etc. I usually do it for a few days - but even then i have given 2 ingredients at a time. No problems yet. both my kids have been so different. Shelley has been interested in food from the get go - but DS wasnt that interested. You just keep trying - some kids dont eat until they can have finger food! Maybe even try given your little one some steamed nice soft carrot and let her hold it and shove it her mouth herself! :D

Speaking of lunch i better go give Shelley some!

porridge
23-09-2008, 11:51
nope, nothing wrong with jar'd food... once Arch starts eating lots and we're out and about I'll be getting some. what kind does everyone get?

boys went down together for a sleep today... ahhh. dishes need doing, house tidying... oh well... can't be bothered right this minute. Cup of tea time and watch a bit of the west wing... I'm such a nerd

hayleylea
23-09-2008, 12:11
I like the heinz ones, sweetcorn and pumpkin, the fruit gels, the NUTRICIA brand ones are good too!! They have all your one ingredient ones like Sweet potato, beans, corns. All the deserts are nice as a treat too. You can also get them at aldi - fruit gels, meat and veg together, and custard - they are pretty cheap and they are actually made by heinz just in a different label! I think they are only 89cents or something.

You can also buy frozen baby food from the freezer isle too in coles/woolies etc.

Shelley just had her lunch (apple custard - oops. I had it in the cupboard and i thought why not! lol and she LOVED IT!! ate the whole tin!)

porridge - how lucky for you to get both kids down together!!! Wish my 2 would! DS slept for 2 hours yesterday (he never has a day sleep so this was GREAT) but Shelley was awake the whole time! DOH!

3Divas&me
23-09-2008, 13:28
For the 2 older girls was pretty much Hienz and the ones from aldi- which, like you said Hayleylea are made from hienz- just not as bigger variety in food choices.
Phoebe has taken well to finger food- she has nibbled on some cooked soft carrot sticks, and the other night had a suck on some fries from Maccas- and then there was the french onion dip on jatz- so she has tried some things- it is the spoon fed foods we are struggling with.
Both my two are down together- feels so good. DD1 is home from school as she had a dentist appointment earlier.

No teeth here yet either and again both older dd's had atleast 2 teeth by now- I really think Phoebe will be my baby for longer.

3Divas&me
24-09-2008, 13:23
Wow- where are you all hiding today?

Phoebe is asleep and has been since 10am this morn- so thats 4 1/2 hours now- wodering if I should wake her up or leave her?

hayleylea
24-09-2008, 13:40
WOW - well done phoebe - thats a huge sleep! Enjoy!

porridge
24-09-2008, 13:42
will she sleep tonight? Arch is just going on 2 and a bit hours and I'm thinking of waking him...

i feel really frumpy today... :mad:

lala7
24-09-2008, 14:33
Wow Phoebe that's a good chunk of sleep there!! She obviously needs it though.

I don't know what's happening - it's been a week now of Alexi NOT complaining when being put to sleep (aside from twice when it didn't work) - I don't know what's happening and I'm too scared to think that she may have actually turned a corner and decided not to fight sleep anymore. Seriously, this is a big change from a baby who'd fight sleep for an hour to a baby who's not fighting sleep at all for a week now. Do you think it could be the solids??? I wouldn't have thought so cos she's not having much, but that's the only thing I can think of that's changed...I'm trying desperately to find some way to make this last!!!

hayleylea
24-09-2008, 15:39
lala - i hope your little one keeps not fighting her sleep for you! Sounds like you have it all sorted and she has got the idea! Well done!

Shelley isnt feel too well i dont think. She has been throwing up a bit today (and she isnt usually spewy at all) and she just seems really unsettled and whingy. Poor little thing. She hasnt got a temp so i guess ill just keep an eye on her and see how she goes.

Porridge - thats no good you feel frumpy today!

Im nearing my second month without DF around and im getting a bit sad. He should be home on the 11th of October and man i hope its for good! I really miss him!

2SPUNKRATZ
24-09-2008, 17:21
st had my first attempt at pureeing dinner for Aaliyah. it was a massive flop. lol. she hated it, and even went as far as jamming her mouth shut. as soon as i opened the jar, she opened her mouth. she knew it was different lol. i couldnt seem to get it to puree enough though. so it wasnt really very smooth.

hayleylea
24-09-2008, 17:56
Jess - Aali sounds like my DS did! he would onlyl eat what come out of a jar..he wouldnt eat my cooking till he about 10 months :laughing: What did you try and give her???

I gave Shelley spaghetti bol for lunch today! She LOVED it!!

2SPUNKRATZ
25-09-2008, 07:37
i gave her rice, spinach and mushroom. lmao. possibly 2 flavours that were a bit to strong for her. i think i may have just made a bad combo for her. i will try again with something else. spag bol you say, hmmmm, maybe i will try that tonight

porridge
25-09-2008, 07:39
hayley - hope the days til DF comes home fly by!! Did you mash/whiz up the sgetti?

I mashed Arch some pumpkin last night (usually puree it) and he gobbled it up just the same... Griff was so particular - everything had to be super smooth for ages (nearly 1 I think!)

I'm going for a run this morning - my sister is watching the boys. Can't wait!!

my house gets messy too quick... toodles

Jules16
25-09-2008, 13:16

How are you all? I'm so sorry I haven't posted in ages but not long after I recoverd from my operation I came down with this awful cold and two weeks later I still have it. Am going to go see the doctor today as I just can't shake it and I think my sinus may be infected. Blake is going really well. We are trying baby led weaning with him now and decided to slow down the purees and give him finger food instead so he can just sort of wean at his own pace. His loves his toast in the morning and his fruit. The only thing is we are finding he is quite unsettled after fruit - might be his reflux. Very annoying. Loves his sweet potato but not his broccolli. Here's a pic:

http://www.new.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1424433&o=all&op=1&view=all&subj=2855840155&aid=-1&id=709457432&oid=2855840155

Yeah I can't believe how quickly are bubs are growing up either.

Lala - I can't believe Alexi is saying Mum. How cute! We aren't getting anything here. Blake is getting very frustrated at the moment though with not being able to crawl. Just yells and yells.

3Divas - I hope you get some rest soon!! :hugs:

hayleylea
25-09-2008, 13:39
baby led weaning? whats that? cute photos.

Yep i whiz the spaghetti up! not a great deal but just so its a good texture. Then i use the risoni pasta through it.

How di you give your little ones toast? in fingers? or just a whole peice?

lala7
25-09-2008, 17:09
Morganj I hope you feel better soon.

'Mum' is just part of her babbling I think - I still don't think she's actually calling me.

We had her 6 month vaccinations this morning. She did very well and only cried briefly on the 2nd one. I was really annoyed though cos she was weighed and measured and the nurse measured her wrong and tried to say that she's a SHORT baby!! You have to be joking - this is a baby who is the same length as a 9 month old in our mothers group and who is wearing some size 1 clothes!! She was saying that Alexi had dropped from the 90th percentile to just UNDER the 50th percentile!!! How ridiculous!

So she weighed 8.5kg and the nurse measured her as 63cm (she was born at 55cm). My mum and I were totally disbelieving cos in comparison to all other babies she is definitely not short so we got her measured by one of the nurses at the chemist and she measured her as 67cm - a bit of a difference! Does anyone know what the norm is?

I know it shouldn't bother me but for some reason it REALLY annoys me and I want the nurse to know that she's wrong!!! If she really was short then I wouldn't have a problem but the fact is she's NOT and yet the nurse was trying to tell me that she IS...grrrrr!!!!

2SPUNKRATZ
25-09-2008, 19:13
Aali is 7 mth, 8.75kg and 68 cm. she is on the 90th percent for both, so i would say that mean Alexi would be above the 9oth. hope that helps.

chippy
26-09-2008, 07:17
Sorry haven't had any time to reply to most posts. Why are people weaning? And weaning off what, breastmilk, at 6 months? Why? Just not understanding, but I don't get much of this stuff LOL.

Also, do most of you mix milk in with their solids to get it runnier? I'm pumping twice a day now to get enough milk! She's a little farex junkie still.

2SPUNKRATZ
26-09-2008, 07:38
i did wonder myself if someone was weaning off breastmilk. at this age if you are, you need to be putting them on a bottle. they are to young to have just solids. (that is what i have been told by doctors and nurses so please dont be upset at me being so blunt about it)

i wont be weaning Aaliyah until she either wants to, or is past 12 months. i fed Marius for a full year and hope to do the same with Miss Aali!

chippy
26-09-2008, 08:06
I'm glad you said that Jess. I still feel like i'm SO far behind. I know its not a race but if Taylor is happy with her farex and booby, and a bit of carrot, and other bubs are onto spagetti and toast, its hard not to feel like i'm doing something wrong. She loves her carrot, so i'm also reluctant to try another veg as she might start not eating again. If thats the case, do I keep trying, then offer carrot after? I never thought eating was this hard LOL.

I'm off to the organic veg shop today to see what I can find. I'm not too anal (for a virgo, ok I am) but I figure I can do my bit for her.

Do any of you run? What jogger do you have? How hard is it to get back your form! I'm struggling to ditch the extra kilos so have upped my training and it feels so good to be out there again, such freedom (and pain! lol).

lala7
26-09-2008, 10:29
Jess, yeah that sounds about right for Alexi to be on the 90th percentile - she's been like that the whole time. It's totally ridiculous but I woke up this morning still annoyed that the nurse measured her wrong and told us she was under the 50th percentile and was short. I don't know WHY it has irritated me so much but it really has!! Stupid I know.

Chippy I'm not really sure with the eating. I still haven't really found anything that Alexi likes. I'd say though if she likes the carrot then she'd go back to eating once that was offered to her again, so it's probably safe to offer her something else. From what I understand they need to be offered quite a variety in order for them to be able to eat it later. I wouldn't worry about the stages either - I'm so far off giving her yummy thinks like spag bol but everyone's just at different stages I think. As long as they're eating regularly and getting introduced to new foods it probably doesn't matter.

I'm going to visit a new baby today - she was born on Wed and is 6 pound 11 she's gonna look tiiiinnnny....alexi was born 8 pound 11 so I haven't seen a tiny baby in awhile.

I'm actually surprised at the number of people who are surprised that I'm still breastfeeding alexi at 6 months. To be honest, I find it a whole lot EASIER to breastfeed and I also plan to do it for as long as she wants or around a year, although I guess breastfeeds will be less frequent as she increases her solids.

porridge
26-09-2008, 11:06
chippy - I run!! have been heading out the door at about 630 in the mornings 2-3 times a week (when DH is home) and Saturdays for a month or so, trying to get back into shape. I have a valco runabout, which I have been running with but don't so much now - running is my time!

I'm pretty sure with the food thing that the bubs are still having milk - boob or bottle. It's just a different way to start them on solids - them exploring textures, tastes etc at their own pace. I'm happy making Archie's food (puree or mash) and he's happy eating it, but he's also keen on finger food already so he gets bits and pieces occasionally. It's all a learning experience!

DH comes home today - very excited! I think presents might be coming too!!

chippy
26-09-2008, 14:47
Porridge thats so funny...I have a valco runabout too!! I also run anywhere between 4-6 depending on when bub wakes, boobs too big to go before. If I can't go on my own, I take her for a 5k in the pram during the day. She loves it but that wind resistance is a killer! I feel so free without the pram, no stopping at gutters etc. It makes you feel so good to start the day huh, gives you so much energy and positive mind. Me anyway. Are you training for anything in particular?

Today I mixed pear in with her farex. She loved it. So now i'm realizing she'll eat anything if its 50-50.

3Divas&me
26-09-2008, 17:22
Just a quick one- no personals. Had a busy few days at work and have another few busy days ahead. We are renting our house out for a week over the race w/e (V8 supercars) so I will be cleaning madly this w/e to get it finished as we are going away on Monday for a week- then when we get back the people will be coming to stay at our house- so need it done so we can go away and enjoy ourselves.

Phoebe is still really mucousy and keeps choking on it when feeding or after feeding to the point she :barf: so have been covered several times- just does not seem to be getting any better. Still not taking solids after amny attempts to really try it out this week- she just aint interested! Why do kids have to be so difficult?

Anyways better go... dinner wont cook itself!

2SPUNKRATZ
27-09-2008, 12:08
I'm glad you said that Jess. I still feel like i'm SO far behind. I know its not a race but if Taylor is happy with her farex and booby, and a bit of carrot, and other bubs are onto spagetti and toast, its hard not to feel like i'm doing something wrong. She loves her carrot, so i'm also reluctant to try another veg as she might start not eating again. If thats the case, do I keep trying, then offer carrot after? I never thought eating was this hard LOL.

i have been trying some new foods with Aaliyah. she hasnt liked them so far. she jams her mouth shut. but when i go back to something she has already had before she recognises it and opens her mouth. so, you can try new things, and if she doesnt like it, go back to the carrot and try something else the next night. you will get there hun. its all a learning curve. she isnt going to all of a sudden not like carrot cos you tried something else. also, going 50/50 is so the way to go i reckon.

3Divas&me
27-09-2008, 14:46
Very quiet again, thought I would post a photo or 2 of Phoebe- have not done it for a while.

http://www.new.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=990775&l=50b5c&id=739556304
http://www.new.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=990778&l=35802&id=739556304

Jess and Morgan- saw your pics on f/b- so cute!!!!

2SPUNKRATZ
27-09-2008, 17:12
3divas- cute pix of phoebe!!!!

such a busy weekend. ugh, so tired!!!

friday night - kids disco
saturday - morning weeded whole front garden with mum - saturday arvo - kids bday party
sunday - cancer research tupperware fundraiser.

i know there could be so much more, but i am just exhausted. Marius woke up last night and cried and cried and wouldnt tell us what was wrong. tom and i actually think he may have still been asleep, but with his eyes open and crying. was really full on. of course he woke Aaliyah up and then we had 2 sooky kids to get back to sleep. ugh. :sleeping:

rubyrags
27-09-2008, 17:33
Hi Guys my internet has been down so I am happy it is back on!

chippy and porridge you have inspired me I too am struggling with about 7kgs but more the shape of my body so walking and weights will be it I think. Man changing room mirrors can be so mean :no:

go the HAWKS - I dont follow them but was hoping they won... (Shane Crawford is so cute)

Emma had a bit of chicken casserole pureed at lunch today her first protein.. I have been doing different pureed veges and fruit but I follow the Gina Ford weaning book as it tells me what to do each day with recipes - I need that clear structure :laughing:

Have a great night guys I am a rugby league fan and follow melbourne storm so I will be watching the manly warriors game to see who we will be playing in the grand final next week. DH and I are going up to Syd to watch and leaving Emma with mil!

porridge
27-09-2008, 19:49
ergh... sav's, sausage rolls and coke... I feel sick :barf: but not guilty!! YAY HAWKS!!!

3Divas - cute photos of Phoebe! I love her eyes! She looks like she's sitting pretty well... Arch folds in half and often face plants :rolleyes:

chippy - running in the wee hours is great, I find running helps me get thru the days and weeks and definitely gives me more energy! I have a couple of running 'goals'... first one is to get back to pre Arch fitness and speed - 5km in 20mins... then build up distance again and pace... ready to have another bub and then back to square one!! Do you run mostly on the road or trails or track?

I went for a walk with the boys on Thursday, Arch in the pram and Griff on foot - Griff ran for 2kms... I'm not kidding!! I got to walk at a nice brisk pace and he ran in front... of course, he rested on the front of the pram for the 2kms back, but still!!

Jess - I hope Marius is ok and both kids sleep well for you tonight. poor little man :hugs:

ruby - I'm with you on change room mirrors - horrid things! I think I'm boring Arch with vegies, vegies and more vegies... might go and get some more interesting stuff for him next week... what sort of recipes does Gina Ford recommend?

Well, better go... DH wants to give me a massage, can't leave him waiting!!

2SPUNKRATZ
28-09-2008, 08:08
the extra weight can be hard to lose because when you are breast feeding its extra stores for your milk supply. i have been told that you can lower your supply by trying to lose wieght. so i am waiting till 1 year before i bother actually trying.

i remember when Aali used to fall face forward when trying to sit. now she can lean all the way forward and still pull herself back up.back l8r, poo 2 deal with lol

lala7
28-09-2008, 12:20
oh God.......Alexi has been doing sooooo well with going down for naps the past two weeks, with no complaints at all. That seems to have changed again :hissy:This weekend she has complained very loudly again - yesterday only for 10 minutes but today for an hour and she's just woken crying again after only 20 minutes. Nooooooo!!!! I don't know what it is - dh put her down both times so we don't know if it has anything to do with that?? I hope not cos what am I to do if she'll only go down with me????

Oh it's so depressing and frustrated I was really upset before :no:

As for sitting in the past week she's suddenly improved heaps and is sitting by herself for ages, leaning this way and that way and mostly maintaining her balance. And gosh she's saying 'mum' so much.

Ahhhhhh!! I think I might pull my hair out!!!!

3Divas&me
28-09-2008, 21:15
Hi guys- just a quickie- going away tomorrow for a week- so will be absent for a little while.

Porridge- yep Phobe sits well- it is the rolling she is not doing! I have been trying to get on the treadmill on the mornings I have to work and must say I feel g8 if I start my day with exercise like that too.

Lala- Alexi sounds like Phoebe- you think you have got them in a routine, then all of the sudden it changes again!

:wave: to even one else, hope you all have a g8 week- will catch up later on next week unless I have internet access and I can pop in while on holidays.

lala7
28-09-2008, 23:30
Have fun 3 divas

Well after refusing to sleep this morning, Alexi didn't sleep the whole day (we were at my parents) but she was in the best mood all day. Go figure. Crazy girl.

Hey I was wondering - do you guys all freeze your baby food? Can banana and avocado be frozen too?

Tried Alexi on banana this morning - didn't seem to like that any better though. Not having much luck with this eating thing as yet!!

mummyjessie86
29-09-2008, 11:07
OH NO!!

I subscribed to the previous thread so didn't have to try and find it and didn't realise there was a new one so now i have 6 pages to catch up on! :laughing:

Just a quick one for me atm, Cooper is driving me :hair:

AF came back today... maybe thats why i'm a bit :banghead:

Damn my body loves to go like clockwork! Almost 6 months to the day and AF rears its ugly head :(

Better get going, will be back later with some updates and to read thru the 6 pages i missed!

Jules16
29-09-2008, 20:34
Jess - Blake is like that too. Has good sleeps for a few days and then decides he wants to protest. They are changing all the time so don't stress hun. We all have bad days. Tomorrow is a new day.

Baby Led Weaning doesn't mean I'm weaning Blake off the boob. It just means we are giving him finger food and letting him wean onto solids at his own pace. Although he is just loving it. We give him toast soldiers with his breakfast with tomato cut into quarters and he scoffs the lot. And he likes his roast veg - cut into fingers. As you can see from the last photo I posted.

Chippy - all bubs start solids at their own rate. Don't panic about it hun. We are all different.

3Divas - hope Phoebe is better and that you have a good holiday.

I am finally on the mend after the operation and two weeks of sinusitus. It's nice to feel healthy again.

2SPUNKRATZ
29-09-2008, 21:48
does anyone else keep feeling like AF is coming back, bt then not get it? i have had monthly cramping but no AF as yet. and the past 2 days, especially the past few hours, heaps of crampy discomfort and a feeling of wetness but still no AF. its so confusing, and annoying. i wish i would either get it, or the symptoms would just go away. its driving me nuts.

lala7
29-09-2008, 22:59
Jess I've been feeling exactly like AF is coming back too, especially the past 2 days. It's been really annoying and almost got me worried that I was pregnant again (last time I had AF symptoms with pregnancy). But I ddon't know - it's annoying yes!!

2SPUNKRATZ
30-09-2008, 08:19
i was totally paranoid that i might be to. lol. but i highly doubt it. we barely have sex, let alone in a way that could produce an offspring lol. but yesterday i felt like i hada "mass" in my tum. IYKWIM. not by touching my tum, just sitting there it felt that way. similar to when you first feel your baby in your tum. (not entirely the same though) and this morning DS jumped on my tummy and it felt the same way. might head to the doctor. just to ease my mind.

2SPUNKRATZ
30-09-2008, 08:21
almost forgot, Aaliyah was officially 7 mths old yesterday. :eek:

lala7
30-09-2008, 08:31
Congrats Aaliyah!!

I'm still paranoid about being pregnant...think I might need to ease my mind too! But ha ha, like you there's practically no chance and if I were to be pregnant it would just be crazy and I'd know exactly when it happened! lol! Let us know what happens!

Porridge I saw your photos on facebook - they're gorgeous!! I also saw the one on Mia and it made me cry! How is she doing?

porridge
30-09-2008, 13:09
lala - Mia is going really well - thanks for asking!! My brother sent a video of her smiling the other day, it was very cute. I checked out your photos too!! Alexi is gorgeous!! beautiful eyes! (and smile!)

still no af here - it would be very exciting to be pregnant again (I'm not though...)

congratulations Aaliyah!! big 7 months!

I'm going to have a nap on the couch while the boys are asleep... :sleeping:

InSaneOne
30-09-2008, 14:21
i keep getting the af but no af feeling too. its strange not having it back yet as it came back at 4 months with beth. i have so paranoid that i test at least once a month just in case - dh uses protection but nothing is 100% and you can get pregnant even using condoms (as i found out when i was younger)

daniel is crawling now too! i have to babyproof things higher up now and make sure beth has her smaller toys packed up as he is getting rather quick. still not sitting up on his own but loves to sit in my lap and watch the wiggles and dora. teething is also happening here. daniel's 2 bottom teeth are just sitting below the surface of the gum - ready to come out anytime. i have to put the bonjela on now before a bf otherwise he bites just a bit hard.

hayleylea
30-09-2008, 14:34
Hey guys

sorry ive been MIA - been at mums for a week, been to a school reunion, Max and Milly concert etc etc.

All going well here. Shelley is commando crawling - and getting up on her knees aswell. She is saying bub and mum too. Its very cute.

Glad to hear everyone is doing well. Will talk soon :)

lala7
30-09-2008, 16:14
Porridge I'm so glad Mia is okay :) - she just looked beautiful it broke my heart to think of everything she went through.:no:

Wow it's so interesting to see how all the bubs are different - some are crawling, some are sitting, some are talking, some are practically eating hamburgers!! lol! Guess it just goes to show that they're all individual little beings and all so clever and beautiful in their own way.

The thought of possibly being pregnant (even though I'm sure I'm not) has actually made me realise that I want to devote a bit more time to just Alexi. I was getting really clucky there but it made me sad to think that her time as an only child might be over sooner than expected. I can't believe I can love someone so much

chippy
01-10-2008, 07:20
Sorry i've been MIA also, work was getting on top of me. Glad everyone seems well and loving their bubs!

Is it ok to mash or blend rice and give it to them instead of farex? Has farex got an advantage over plain rice?

Taylor won't lay down at all now that she sits so well, which is only a problem because that means no rolling. She will do 5 seconds of tummy time before rolling onto her back, but hasn't rolled back to front yet.

Lala I think Taylor goes through the same stages as Alexi, I always read your posts and say 'no way!' lol She has started fighting sleep again after 2 blissful weeks. Some days she won't sleep at all for 4-5 hours in the afternoon. I just go with it, try not to play with her too much, and eventually she gets grumpy. She doesn't always rub eyes and yawn anymore, just gets whingy.

Porridge I run on road mostly, or at least footpath, but I find it jarrs my knees too much. I like the bounce of the tar! I don't have trails nearby so it takes too much time to drive then run if that makes sense. I would like to get back into triathlon but the 3 disciplines take too much time, therefor i'll stick to my half marathons, and work up to marathon in Tasmania hopefully next year but we'll see. I still get on the bike and swim mainly for cross training though. Your quick for a 5k, you'd blow me off the road! You must be much younger than me:)

Her poos are driving me mad too. I must have changed her 25 times yesterday. She has been a once a day gal for 6 months. Now we are having solids she does tiny nuggets every hour. Whats with that?

As for AF, I got mine at 4 months:banghead: probably because Taylor has always slept through the night. Can't have everything I guess.

Have a great day everyone.

hayleylea
01-10-2008, 08:13
hi guys

lala i like your thinking of devoting more time to Lexi incase you pregnant again and number 2 is closer then you think. I was like this with DS and especially when i found out i was pregnant I was really worried how Cooper would be with another baby -its amazing how well they adjust and its also amazing how you think you cant possibly love someone so much and then you have another little person and it happens ALL over again!!!!

I still havent got AF back either - cant say i miss it!!!!!!

Shelley can sit but she prefers to be on the ground - she just wants to go go go! this one. She is getting up on her knees and rocking this morning. Its a bit of a shock because my first didnt roll till he was 8.5 months and then didnt crawl or even attempt crawling till 10 months.

Chippy - not sure about the rice vs farex so sorry i cant help you there but im sure someone on here can!

Ok better head off, i have to mow the lawns today - they are SOOOOOOOOO long! I only mowed it 2 weeks ago!!! Less then 2 weeks till DF gets home so im counting down the days!

2SPUNKRATZ
01-10-2008, 09:04
hey all,

chippy. all i can say is that its your choice what you feed your baby. i think rice cereal has iron added to it. *shrugs* once upon a time you couldnt buy jarred or packaged food for bub and you would have given her home made anyways. so if you ask me, theres not really a problem with it.

ok am gonna have to come back later. DS is still in nappys grrrrr and he just filled his.

IF ANYONE HAS TIPS ON TOILET TRAINING, IM OPEN TO SUGGESTIONS!

lala7
01-10-2008, 10:40
Chippy yeah it sounds like our bubs are quite similar!! She was good again yesterday though, and this morning, so it was just the weekend - I have no idea what that's about. Maybe cos dh is home? Oops but she's just woken up after only about half an hour - that's not good or normal! Oh dear!

Hayleylea you made me teary what you wrote about the big love happening all over again with number 2. I do worry about that - about how I can possibly love someone else so much, so it was nice to read :)

I was gonna write more but I don't think my little chicken is going to go back to sleep by herself this time....:p

InSaneOne
01-10-2008, 14:10
IF ANYONE HAS TIPS ON TOILET TRAINING, IM OPEN TO SUGGESTIONS!

don't feel bad about that. my dd is stil in nappies and has just turned 3. she is only just starting to get the whole weewee in the potty/toilet idea. she is driving me crazy too. she has started coming and telling me right after she has weed tho - so as the weather warms up we will be trying undies or no-bottoms during the day.

hayleylea
01-10-2008, 14:19
yep jess - know the feeling - Cooper turs 2 in 3 weeks and is still in nappies he is now starting to get the idea of when he is weeing etc. this summer we will be just wearing no pants/undies

mummyjessie86
02-10-2008, 08:15

Wow! All the bubbas are growing up so fast!

I had the AF feeling for a few days last week too, and then Monday AF decided to come back :( Its not too bad actually... except I never get period pain (lucky me!) But I am getting period pain at the moment. I know what you guys mean about the feeling of something in your tummy, like a mass? I had the same feeling for the last few weeks. Not sure if it was AF coming back or what, but I don't have that feeling anymore. And there was never the thought of me being pregnant again cos I haven't had sex since the night Cooper was conceived! :laughing:

It seems just as Cooper has turned 6 months he has grown up heaps! All in one day he decided that he was going to sit up on his own, he reaches for stuff and waves his hand and things he wants, and he is saying dada and muma! Its so exciting!

This is him sitting on his own:

http://i515.photobucket.com/albums/t356/jessica_lee1986/DSCF0556.jpg

He still can't roll from his back to his tummy though.... And still no god damn teeth! LOL. I can see them right at the surface but they just won't break through! And he is sort of trying to crawl, by pulling his legs in but thats about as far as it goes! Maybe over this month he will cross a few of those off the list :D

Feeding solids is going really well, and he is still having about 6 feeds in 24 hrs. It is quite hot here in NQ atm so alot of it is probably just for a drink not an actual meal. He is having three solid meals a day. He will have either Farex or Oats for breakfast, Puree Fruit for lunch and Puree veggies and meat for dinner. I have been teaching him to drink out of a straw too and he seems to have figured that out already. So now i just need to find a sippy cup with a straw you don't have to bite to get water out of LOL.

Still not sleeping through. He goes to bed around 7 and will have a feed, then some nights he will sleep til anywhere between 3 & 5 or he will wake at 10/11 for a top up and go straight back to sleep.

Well I better get going, he has just gone down for his morning nap so I am going to jump in the shower and get myself motivated to do some housework!

:fingerscrossed: All are doing well!

chippy
02-10-2008, 09:22
Jessie he looks so cute sitting up all by himself! They seem to just understand overnight, like they've been pondering it in their sleep.

Solids, She is going pretty well, but will still only eat with farex. She is up to cauliflower for dinner, and apple for breakfast. Thankfully she loves them both. For those breastfeeding, do you pump and add to thin out the food? Or do you use water? I am over pumping, especially today when I get maybe one cube. She won't touch banana but I tried for 4 days just incase. I hated throwing out that good breastmilk mix that takes me so long to get!!:banghead:

Lala how are Alex's solids going? How many feeds of milk and food a day are you doing?

Have a great day everyone. :sunshine:

lala7
02-10-2008, 09:32
Jessie Cooper looks so cute!! I know it's amazing what they suddenly do. In the last week Alexi has suddenly started sitting really well too. She was kind of doing it before, but only for a few minues, now she can do it for ages. And she wants to get into EVERYTHING - definitely a curious little one. Did I tell you she's already had a couple of tantrums when I've taken things away from her?! Naughtyness!

Chippy Alexi's still not going that great on solids. She's taking a little bit but not much, and just in the morning. Last night she did heaps of vomiting though so I'm wondering whether the banana I fed her in the morning isn't agreeing with her. It's also been since I started the banana that she's not sleeping in the day and is getting a bit hysterical about it. I don't know if the banana has anything to do with it, but I might try her on something different today.

So yeah I'm just doing one feed of food at the moment, for breakfast (if you can call it a feed ha ha!) and about 4-5 breastfeeds in a day depending. I just use cooled boiled water in her food, cos using breastmilk didn't seem to make a difference so the water is easier. Plus we're using all my expressed milk to try to get her to take a bottle - we've got her taking 60ml but that's as far as she's gone so far. How much are they supposed to have in a feed?

I'm still feeling nauseous. I did a pregnancy test yesterday but it was negative thank God. I feel bleh though.

hayleylea
02-10-2008, 09:48
Jessie - thats a cute photo of Cooper sitting up - he is adorable!

I use water to thin down Shelleys foods too - She doesnt have hers that runny anyway but yeah just water. Around 9 months with DS i just used cows milk for his breakkie - that was on the advice of the CHN - just a little bit to start with and he was fine. Will do the same with Shelley aswell. I figure its in some of the heinz baby foods anyway so it wont hurt just a little bit for breakfast!

Shelley has 3 feeds a day - she LOVES her food. She also has a arrowroot biscuit during the day as well as a snack - she loves them!! devours them!

lala - not sure how much they are meant to have in a feed - a formula feed is around 200mls a feed (i think - been awhile since ive used formula but im sure someone will be able to tell you?)

I can FINALLY see Shelleys first tooth poking through the surface! I have a feeling the other one isnt far off either. i cut her off a strip of our meatloaf last night and she loved it!

Shelley went to her first kids concert on monday! lol. I took DS to see Max and Milly (new mcdonalds farm) DS LOVED IT!! Shelley thought it was cool too. She was mesmerised by it! and being very vocal!! (photos of the show is on my website it was awesome!)

OK better get back to the house work

porridge
02-10-2008, 13:41
kids are asleep - time to post!!

2SPUNKRATZ (sorry, I lol every time I read your name Jess!) - I wish toilet training happened just like *that*... Griff tells us now when he's done and poo (poo, yucky!) and we can tell when he's doing one. Wee's just don't seem to bother him, regardless of how heavy the nappy is (I actually think he enjoys the heaviness, esp when he's jumping up and down...) I'm hoping for a warm summer so he can be outside nappy-less during the day.

BB&D - are you finding Daniel in odd places now that he's crawling? Arch got under the computer desk today and manages to get round corners and stuck in very uncomfortable positions. It's so cute watching him eyeing something on the other side of the room and drag/inch/crawl himself over to it.

Chippy - how did you go with the rice? You should come down to Tassie next year and do the half marathon - Scottsdale to Bridport. I wanted to do it last year, but decided not to (at 14 weeks preg). Hoping maybe for next year, if I can get my butt into gear and not get preg til after :p We have lots of great tracks close by - the council has done a great job along the river banks - and there's a lot of bush around too. We just use water to thin out Arch's solids... was doing BM but was frustrating how long it took to get enough and then if he didn't eat it!! grr...

Jessie - that's a real cute photo of Cooper! Arch doesn't have any teeth either but I can't see any coming up - he's all gums!! did it take Cooper long to work out the straw? It sounds like our boys are eating and drinking about the same - and sleeping! I'd love a full nights sleep again.

Hayley - do you have a secret on how to keep the arrowroots from becoming great slimey chunks of mess? I gave Arch one the other day and one minute he was neat and tidy and the next... well he wasn't - he had biscuit EVERYWHERE!! lol do you worry about Shelley choking on it?

Julie - I gave Arch chunks of cooked pumpkin and broccoli trees the other night for tea - he was soo excited!! The look on his face was priceless! I gave him some avocado and banana, but he didn't really like either and mushed them into the carpet (thanks Arch)

lala - hope you're feeling better soon. Being nauseous for no apparent reason is no fun!

well, I'd better go and get the washing in b4 the boys wake up. It's such a gorgeous day here - little bit windy but quite mild which is perfect for my 3 loads of washing!!!

take care everyone!

hayleylea
02-10-2008, 16:44
Porridge - havent really had any probs with arrowroots - Both my kids have just devoured them. Dont worry about her choking on them any more then usual with food. Im always with her when she eats but have had no problems with the arrowroot biccies! :no:

Jess - I forgot to mention a few TT tips. Does marius "hide" anywhere in particular when doing poos etc? if so put the potty there - it gets them thinking. Cooper has had a go's in the potty in his hidey hole places! Just putting undies on him is a start. They dont like the feeling of being wet. And if he wets his undies just tell him thats ok, we will try and get to the toilet next time! And just keep asking him every 10 or so minutes if he would like to sit on the potty - tiring but it does pay off.

Ok better go. kids are fed and bath and man oh man i cant wait to put them to bed tonight!

chippy
02-10-2008, 19:32
Lala Taylor HATES banana too. I kept trying for 4 days then gave up. She won't even have 1 tiny slice mixed in a bowl of farex. Hubby kept telling me she won't eat it because she is smart and instinctual and knows its not good for her. Aparently its a poison according to her blood type. Damn I hate when he's right! I started her on apple today and she loves it.

PunkyDiva
02-10-2008, 19:45
Hiya Lubblies:wave:, sorry so long no chat from me, here anways :D I have been reading though :thumbsup: snoopy lurker, LOL.

I've started word association with Mr D, making noises for wee and poo in the slim hope that when we TT he will let me know with those noises :o thought it was worth a try anyways as I hated TT with other kids.

Mr D is now over 24lb or 12kg, big boy!! Thought I had summer clothes sorted but luckily BH mums have come to my rescue with offers of size 1 stuff.

We have just started solids too and doing fine thus far. His fathers son I beleive, lead by his belly/food :laughing:

I am so busy, busy now with community stuff, but it's all good.

Enjoy the sunshine :sunshine:

Ummm Chippy, why is banana poison for a certain blood type ?? never heard that one before.

chippy
02-10-2008, 19:57
PunkyDiva Hubby follows the blood type diet, which is not to lose weight, but some people believe certain foods affect certain blood types, so for instance they have 'beneficial foods', 'ok in small amount foods", and 'poison". I hate to admit it but when I follow it my belly aches, headaches etc go away. Banana is also bad for me according to the blood type diet. All my life I eat it, and I get belly cramps. Go figure! We will always let her eat everything, and from all foods groups, but its interesting to look on her chart and see the things she hates, are not good for her (or so they say).

PunkyDiva
02-10-2008, 23:07
Chippy...Wow!! I've never heard of that, does it have a name or do you have a link?

chippy
03-10-2008, 06:00
Click on your blood type down the bottom of this page. This first lists are too simplified. http://www.drlam.com/blood_type_diet/index.cfm
There is a book too but we just went off this list.

littlefreckle
03-10-2008, 07:03
My God am I behind or what. I have been working 5 days a weeks of that last couple as we had a worker walk out and only one staff member apart from me who could do closes. Money is good but I have hated being away from Karjarna.

Been and read all the posts and it sounds like most of our bubbas and loving the world of solids. Karjarna is a little piggy. She is eating banana, apple, mango, peach, apricot, pear, yoghurt, porrige, cantalope, watermelon, pumpkin, sweet potato, corn, beans, carrot, broc, cauli, swede, fruit gels, custard, and chicken. Also anything she can get her hands on. I can feed her and she still wants what we are having.
How much (Tbs) is everyone feeding their babies. Take in account that she has been on solids for 2mths already. I'm worried that we might not be feeding her enough but then I don't want to overfeed her. She hadn't put on any weight last month and I asked the CHN how much I should be giving her and she just said what ever she will eat!!! She is like a puppy she will just eat till she pops. I am still giving her both boobs before I give her her solids.
Damm I'll come back later Karjarna has just woke up. Take care x x

InSaneOne
03-10-2008, 07:19
chippy i don't think i like those lists :o i am type A and it says for me not to eat dairy and meat - and i love my milk and steak. do you find it hard to stick to?

porrige - yes we find daniel all over the place now. i can't even leave the room long enough to duck to the loo now without putting him in the playpen so he can't hurt himself.
we can't even lay him on the bed anymore as the little moneky has rolled off the bed twice in the last week. he was ok after a few tears and a hug.

porridge
03-10-2008, 08:01
chippy - I had a look at the diets too and suggested to DH we have a go... but he's type A like you BB&D and wouldn't hear of it!! lol I'm type B... there's a few things in the 'not allowed' section that I would struggle giving up - avocado, chicken and bread!!

littlefreckle - sounds like karjarna is going well on solids! I bought some jars of food for Arch the other day and he didn't like it :rolleyes: looks like I'll be doing some more cooking!

PD - a friend of mine is doing word association and toilet timing with her little girl and it seems to be going really well.

We've started to introduce baby sign with our boys - Griff is going to an early childhood intervention playgroup type thing every week and they use it there (AUSLAN)... it's so cute - Griff signs 'brother' and says 'chee' (Archie)

sara86
03-10-2008, 08:55
hello to all....
i havent really posted on bubhub but i check out all the recent posts almost every day. my name is Sara and i have a daughter Grace born 31st March 08.
She is rolling from back to tummy, but has only rolled from tummy to back a handful of times, she is sitting by herself for AGES now, lots of 'talking', she wants to crawl and her arms are definately strong enough but she just cant get her legs up under her quite yet! She usually she has 2-3 solid feeds a day. I was only giving her food out of a jar but a couple of days ago i got motivated and cooked up a whole heap of veggies and also chicken thighs and fish, so ive got a good suply in the freezer for a while, and i was proud of myself! lol. I also give her baby yoghurt and jarred custard every couple of days.
Some days I have trouble fitting in enough solids for her, because i thought that i read when they start solids it shouldnt interfere or replace any bottles, is this true? does it matter if she has one less bottle a day cos she is having solids? is there a minimum amount of mls she should be having each day? ATM in 24 hours she is having roughly 800mls.
Here are some photos of my beautiful little girl...
http://c4.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images02/47/l_37918f1e865e481ebf854917498af093.jpg
http://c2.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images02/55/l_cb0db09fdff249ce8f85bda43c001d65.jpg
http://c4.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images02/28/l_1bb395ff8d0c44849ba55e2814a8e03f.jpg

chippy
03-10-2008, 10:04
BB&D I don't find mine hard at all to stick to, especially when i'm trying to lose weight as it seems to work. I'm not religious with it either. Also I do get a sore belly when I eat things I 'shouldn't' anyway so yeh its easy for me. Like if I eat too much bread (which I love!), I bloat and always get thrush, so i'd rather not eat it. I did find it amazing when I first looked at my list the things I always knew upset me, and things that give me energy were right there in front of me. Anyway, its not for everyone.

Do you think the playpen is a must for a baby? I never thought to get one. She's not crawling or rolling yet but does everyone use them?

Littlefreckle I want to know about how much solids to feed too. Taylor is exactly as you described....like a puppy who keeps eating as long as you keep feeding! I don't know where it all goes. I make her a massive bowl now cause i'm sick of defrosting 3 times more each feed. But I don't know if i'm doing the right thing either.

Welcome Sara!! Your baby girl is adorable. I'm sure someone can help you with the amounts of milk as I have no idea sorry. I'm trying to cut back from 5 breastfeeds to 4 or 3 but can't manage it yet:confused:

sara86
03-10-2008, 20:19
thanks for the "welcome" Chippy!
I also forgot to say earlier that Grace has got her 2 middle bottom teeth, as of last week...wooohooo!! The 2nd one came about 24hours after the first one haha. but for my first teething experience it wasnt that bad at all! she was just grumpy and not herself for a few days before hand, although im told the molars are the real painful ones so not looking forward to them!
And also another question i should have asked in my last post... in each 'solid' feed how much are other babies around Graces age (6months) having? on average grace is having one third to one half of the little baby food jars probably, so whats that maybe 2 tablespoons i guess?? but it depends how much she likes the food and how hungry she is too, sometimes only 4 mouthfuls sometimes a whole "baby yoplait" yoghurt tub!

PunkyDiva
03-10-2008, 20:52
Blood Type Diet...I'm always a bit sceptical about diets,so did some googling and found some extra info if any one's interested.

http://diet.wegohealth.com/blood-type-diet.html

It was actually right for me, foods I'm naturally attracted too were ok and wheat, potatoes etc do upset me but I have a bowel that twists, causing extreme pain.

lala7
04-10-2008, 11:19
Hi everyone and welcome Sara - Grace is gorgeous!!

Oh wow I still feel so far behind with solids...ahh!!! Every now and then I have a little freak out wondering what the hell I'm doing!! Alexi's still not taking it that much, although has done quite a bit better with avocado. I'm still thinking the banana may have upset her tummy as she did quite a bit of screaming when put down to sleep on those days, but seems better again since I stopped the banana. I don't know, maybe a coincidence??

I'm still only giving her one meal a day but I think I should start giving her two. Or trying to give her two. So if I did lunch next, I'd give her something she'd already tried then like the avocado/pumpkin/potato/farex/banana and give her the new stuff in the morning? How do you get organised to take the food out with you if you're out during lunch time? If the food is frozen do you defrost it first then just take it with you in containers or snap lock bags?

As for the amount of food, I just defrost an ice cube block worth and then she just eats whatever of that. She's not taking enough of it yet to be trying much more. So I don't know what that works out to - probably about a tablespoon and a half or something like that.

Chippy we don't have a playpen. We just use a portacot with some toys in it at the moment and she sits in there and plays. But she doesn't really get to move around much in there so we also give her floor time. Sometimes I think a playpen would be good cos then if you need to walk away for a moment you can. We just don't really have the space!

Blood type - I'm A too. I don't eat a lot of meat so I guess that fits!!

I'm STILL feeling sick and even though I did a pregnancy test and it was negative I'm still freaking out because now I worry that I just tested too early or something!! But seriously the chances are soooo slim - I'm on the mini pill (although often don't take it at exactly the same time), I haven't had AF back yet and we rarely do anything that would make a baby! Ha ha!! But I just feel so similar to when i was pregnant with Alexi.

chippy
04-10-2008, 11:25
Lala Im still with you on the solids-freak-out. But I have found Taylor loves apple and cauliflower. So much so that she will eat about 6 cubes. I am gradually reducing the amount of farex, and yesterday she ate the apple on its own. I generally stick a cube in the microwave for 20 seconds. Its enough to melt it, but not get it hot. She seems to like everything cold or room temp, which is what I tried to do so when we are ut, i'm not always looking for amicrowave. When she starts havng dinner i'll probably heat that one up a bit for her. If we go out when she's due to eat, I stick a few cubes in an air tight container, and by the time we feed it 1-2 hrs later its thawed.

3Divas&me
04-10-2008, 19:06
Hi all, just a quikie, still away on holidays, will be back on Monday- which will be nice although we will be living with the inlaws for a week while we rent our house out.

Been nice to get away- kids have been rather good too- well Phoebe has been- Bridget gets a bit fed up sometimes with it all but we are all enjoying urselves and the sunshine.

Anyways will go, will probably check back in when we get back home.:wave:

chippy
04-10-2008, 20:16
For those in warmer states, what are you dressing babes in at night? I find it so hard because its so hot at 5.30 when she goes to bed, then by 3am its cold.

Also, what do I mix her vegies with? Is farex the only option? I feel like she eats too much of it for breakfast and lunch.

lala7
04-10-2008, 21:18
thanks for the tips on taking food out chippy. So it's okay to let it thaw at room temperature then? Cos I know with milk you're not allowed to - it has to be thawed in the fridge or under warm water.

As for mixing veggies - can't you just mix the veggies together? I put farex in too but I don't know if I'm doing it right - I just scoop like a teaspoon into her veggies and mix it up - is that right?

I bought some baby yoghurt today (vaalia). I'm assuming it's okay for her to eat but I noticed on the ingredients there are all these things in there, including milk....I got some heinz custard too (both just plain vanilla). I hope they're okay!

chippy
05-10-2008, 08:03
Lala I have stopped adding milk as it was just too stressful for me to pump everyday to get enough. All I do now is add the veg water out the bottom of the steamer to thin it out, then freeze. Once thawed its runny enough. If its too runny, I add farex. I don't know if thawing for an hour is ok either, but I do put in in one of those insulated bags if that helps. It is still very cold but she likes it on her gums. I'm still going thru trying all the veg so I won't mix until she's had them all, till then I guess farex is it.

I keep looking at the yogourts. I know they say from 6 months on but i'm reluctant to give her cows milk. Can you get soy or rice ones? I might check it out. I'd like to wait till 1yr before adding cow milk.

sara86
05-10-2008, 10:44
I live in NSW on the mid north coast & im dressing Grace in either a short sleeve or long sleeve snap-at-the-crotch onezie of a night and if its cool she wears some cotton pj pants too, then when i go to bed or if she wakes up during the night and she feels hot i take her pants off...or vice versa, if its hot when she goes to bed i leave her pants off & she feels a bit too cool when i go to bed or during the night i put her pants on.
With her solids, i steam veg and cook meat then blend them with a little boiled water, then freeze them in cubes. then either put a cube in a container in the fridge to defrost or put it in the microwave for 10secs (so its defrosted but not hot), then sometimes i add one teaspoon of farex and a little extra boiled water, sometimes i just leave it the veg or meat/veg - no farex. But farex is high in iron isnt it, so it wont hurt adding a little farex for that bit of extra nutrition.
I give Grace "baby yoplait" yoghurt, most of the time only half a tub at a time, although she loves yoghurt and would eat the whole tub if i let her but im the same with the cows milk as chippy, i dont want to over do it at this early stage. but so far so good with the cows milk/yoghurt it doesnt seem to affect her in a negative way.

chippy
05-10-2008, 19:12
Thanks for thr tips Sara. Although if I tried to put pants on Taylor through the night she's wake and be up for 2 hours:no:. I generally lay her on a thicker wrap and cover her when it gets cold but she always kicks this off. I freak that she is cold, so although she sleeps through the night, i'm laying there worried sick :(

sara86
05-10-2008, 20:04
Yeah Grace kicks off her blankets during the night too, I make sure shes covered before i go to bed and if I wake up during the night needing to pee or whatever I always check on her then too, but I figure that she will cry out for me if shes cold anyway!!
Although me and her are co-sleeping atm anyway so its really easy for me to check on her during the night, all I gotta do is turn my head... :laughing:

Jules16
05-10-2008, 21:54

Sorry I haven't been around much lately. Have been so so busy. Blake is almost sitting up now and is rolling around everywhere. Desparately trying to crawl. So close I think. Still no teeth! Lots of solids!! We tried the Baby Led Weaning (great way to get your little one interested in food - just put some finger food on their tray and let them play with it and put it in their mouth at their own pace) but he's getting way too hungry now so we giving him mash veg, chicken, farex, porridge and fruit now. He's also tried yoghurt - we give him the Organic Plain Whole Milk type. No sugar or any additives - just pure yoghurt. And then just mix in some apple or pear puree. He has three meals a day now - each after a breastfeed. I just use water to mix in the rice cereal etc. Although he prefers a thick consistency now so we hardly use any. Just stir the rice in with the veg really. As far as going out etc., I just get all his meals ready the night before (ie. takes cubes out of freezer etc.), except for the rice cereal and porridge which I mix in at the time, and if we are going out I just put the pot of food in a bag with a icepack. And then if we are at home I might put his food in the microwave for ten seconds or so to take the chill off it.

Has anyone bought a stroller as yet? Can anyone recommend a good one that has a hood and lays back? And is nice and light of course.

Hope you are all keeping well.

hayleylea
06-10-2008, 08:57
hi guys

Been missing in action.

DS has come down with hand foot and mouth disease adn im pretty sure Shelley might be getting it now! :crying: So not much going on here staying away from everyone lol

glad everyones bubs are going well. We dont live in a warm climite - its warming up but still cold enough to wear a bonds suit.

OK gotta go DS needs me.

Jules16
06-10-2008, 09:03
Chippy. Have you tried stuffing rolled hand towels down the sides of the cot to stop the covers coming off? It seems to work for us. I remember you mentioned earlier but bub being unsettled on the weekends when DH is home - we have exactly the same problem. All the stimulation makes him very tired.

porridge
06-10-2008, 09:25
blankets coming off - Arch is in a grobag so even though it's still quite cool here, I only have a sheet on him (I know it says you don't need anything, but it just feels wrong to put nothing over them!!) You can get different thicknesses depending on where you live/how warm or cool it is. He loves it :)

lala7
06-10-2008, 11:24
We have Alexi in a sleeping bag too and just put a sheet over the top. They're great!

Well :fingerscrossed: she seems to be going well with her day sleeps again. This really makes me wonder whether it was the banana as it seemed to coincide with her eating that. Since I started avocado instead she's been going down with no complaints again.

But nights are a different story. It was recommended to me that I feed her both boobs each time (I was only doing one side) as she might be waking up in the night due to not getting enough during the day. I've been doing that for 3 days now but it hasn't seemed to make a difference. Last night she was up around 4 times, and all within the space of 11-4.30 so very very close together. There's no way she could be hungry. DH and I are thinking that we might just have to ignore her and hope she goes back to sleep. I guess if she were really hungry she'd start screaming right? Right now it's really just a loud grizzle but it can go on for ages, and her eyes aren't properly open.

Oh hayley foot and mouth disease that sounds awful. It's quite contagious isn't it? Hope they get better soon :hugs:

Morganj thanks for all that on taking the food out. When you take the cubes out to defrost in the fridge the night before, what do you put them in?

I pureed some apple and carrot yesterday. I'm a little worried that the apple may have the same effect as the banana, but I guess there's only one way to find out!

hayleylea
06-10-2008, 13:30
lala - yeah its very contagoius thats why we are staying at home. as for Alexi at night - do you feed her each time she gets up? maybe try letting Dh get up the first time she wakes up (when you know she is full) give her a cuddle and put her back down again. This way she knows that she isnt going to get fed each time she wakes up? If her eyes arent properly open sounds like she could just have a pain? or maybe even teething? Sorry im not much help!

Better head off.

Jules16
06-10-2008, 16:24
Lala - I have heard the banana can be hard to digest so I wouldn't worry about the apple. You should be fine with that. Pear is a really good one though. I just put the cubes in a small container with a lid. I bought some Avent containers which can be used to store EBM and food. Really good!

lala7
06-10-2008, 21:56
hayley yeah we got into the habit of feeding her every time she wakes up which i think is what's made it worse. It's really been the easy way out cos she goes straight back to sleep without any fuss, but I think we need to try a new approach and maybe try what you suggested. Last time we tried it it didn't work but maybe we need to persevere with it a bit more.

Oh I have some of those Avent containers too - I didn't even think about using them for food!! Thanks for that morganj!

Alexi crawled backwards tonight! She lifted her bum in the air and scooted backwards! She did it a few times but I'm not sure she understood what she was doing enough to give a repeat performance! Funny though!

porridge
07-10-2008, 06:12
Lala - Alexi and Arch must be comparing notes or something... the last couple of nights, he's been up every 2.5 - 3 hours - it's so tiring!! I've been feeding him (:shame:) but it's probably just making it worse. DH is away so I have to get him... so tired!!

I think he might be getting some teeth - chewing on everything, drooling and grizzling...

I want to go back to bed!!!

hayleylea
07-10-2008, 06:50
lala - i agree with you though, it is alot easier sometimes just feeding them when they wake up, i was the same with DS but then he was waking up expecting to be fed and it was getting tiring so we did what i mentioned before.

Shelley was up from 2,30 yesterdat till 11.30pm. everytime i would put her down she would scream. poor little thing. heres hoping for a better day! She just got up.

lala7
07-10-2008, 09:52
Yes, I think they're conspiring together - 'what to do to exhaust and confuse our mothers'!! Cheeky monkeys.

Hayley last night we decided to do what you suggested but Alexi ended up only waking up twice - once at 12 and then again at 5 when she also did a poo and she's asleep again now! That's the longest she's gone in awhile. I wish it would last! If she's up once or twice I can handle it, but there's a point where it's just crazy.

I don't know how all the mums who have to do it by themselves do it, it's so tiring. When dh was sick for a week and then away for a week I was so exhausted. I guess it makes me realise how much help I actually get.

Hayley poor little Shelley. Could she have had a tummy ache? Did she sleep okay overnight?

hayleylea
07-10-2008, 11:25
lala - im not sure what was wrong with her yesterday afternoon/night. I thought she might have been getting the hand foot and mouth disease like Cooper - sore throate etc. She has had a few suspicious looking spots -but its in her nappy area (where Coopers first started) but then they disspeared today so could be related to teething? as she gets a teething rash. She got one tooth through 2 days ago so the next one should be too far off and she has a lumpy gum. Once i got her down at 11.30 she slept till 7.15 so i guess it wasnt too bad! I had DS up at 2.30 telling his throat was sore though - its hard because im all by myself!!!! been by myself for 2 months now - DF will be home on saturday!! OH MAN I CANT WAIT!!!!!!

3Divas&me
07-10-2008, 11:37
Hi all, back from my week away- was pretty full on, nice to be able to relax a bit now.

Hayleylea- dont know howyou have coped for 2 months on your own- I take my hats off to single mums.

Gonna really start trying to get Phoebe on solids this week- Morgan have tried doing similar to you with the finger foods, but really need to try and get her eating off a spoon. She really needs to learn the art of eating now, will make going back to work next term a little easier esp if I want to work extra days.

Anyways might go get some lunch sorted.

Jules16
07-10-2008, 11:43
Hayley - wow you deserve a medal. You poor thing. I hope she's better for you soon.

Lala - when you feed Alexi at night do you put her back to bed awake? I used to find that if Blake fell asleep on me and I put him back to bed asleep, then he would wake up again an hour or two later for another feed.

Blake slept through on Saturday night. :yelclap: Then of course daylight saving started Saturday night and he's been all over the place the last two days as we do his routine by the clock. He gets over tired so easily so we find the routine works well for him. I don't know how he'll go when we go to Perth in two weeks if this is what he's like when the clocks go forward only one hour. The last two nights he's wanted a feed at 2.30 pm. I hope it's only temporary.

chippy
07-10-2008, 11:58
Solids are going well here, except hubby put the kiwi fruit in the bullet, then froze it, and now it tastes so bitter (must be the seeds). She had a crack but next time I will just mash it by hand. I was so happy he tried I never said anything!

She tried brocolli last night, two cubes, and now she has runny poo's, not the nice formed ones she's had since starting solids. Does that mean she can't eat it, or gives her an upset belly? She was in no pain at all passing, or last night. Is it just her body getting used to it or should I stop?

I honestly don't know what I'd do without you girls.:kiss:

lala7
07-10-2008, 13:07
Hayley I take my hat off to you too - that has to be bloody exhausting!!! I think I only appreciate how hard it'd be to be a single mum or have a partner who works away now that I have my own baby. My mum was a single mum so I'm proud of her too!

3Divas we're still struggling with solids her too, although today she ate all of her avocado and opened her mouth wide for it. The trick was that she had to hold the spoon with me and kind of feed it to herself! Hopefully one step in the right direction...oh and yesterday she ate a rusk whereas last time I gave it to her she just played with it!

Morgan that's a good point about putting Alexi down awake. During the day and for her bedtime she's always put down awake, but overnight when she wakes she tends to fall asleep on me and then she goes down asleep. Maybe that's the problem I'd never thought of that before!!! Not quite sure how to keep her awake but we'll see what we can do! Thanks for that :)

Chippy I'm certainly no solids expert :laughing: but I wouldn't think the broccoli would be a problem from what you said. If she wasn't in any pain or anything then I'd imagine it's okay. Alexi's poos are still quite runny, although she's probably not eating enough food for her poos to go solid!

3Divas&me
07-10-2008, 13:43
Lala- so funny- we are still having the runny bright yellow poos awell- like since she was newborn as all she seems to have is breastmilk- being almost 7 months though she really needs to eat some real food.

Morgan- daylight savings is always a bugger with kids- esp as they get older- I dont really cope well with the change either and it is only an hours difference- but seems to make all the difference!

chippy
07-10-2008, 19:24
I've never looked around bubhub until tonight. I really shouldn't have :no:

I'm worried now that i'm not giving her solids the right way, not enough lumps, I gave kiwi fruit not knowing its an allergic food. I worry i'm not giving her enough education stuff to play with. Should I be saying 'no' already when she pulls my hair? Do I talk to her enough? Do I say too much? Why can't I make her laugh?

This is going to do my head in. I'm flat out reading once a day, doing nappy free time, filing her nails, changing her, rotating her toys, getting her outside for a run, cleaning and making dinner, blowing bubbles etc.

Are you doing enough? Do you ever just have a quiet day and not really care if bubs plays on her own or watches tv?

3Divas&me
07-10-2008, 19:33
I've never looked around bubhub until tonight. I really shouldn't have :no:

I'm worried now that i'm not giving her solids the right way, not enough lumps, I gave kiwi fruit not knowing its an allergic food. I worry i'm not giving her enough education stuff to play with. Should I be saying 'no' already when she pulls my hair? Do I talk to her enough? Do I say too much? Why can't I make her laugh?

This is going to do my head in. I'm flat out reading once a day, doing nappy free time, filing her nails, changing her, rotating her toys, getting her outside for a run, cleaning and making dinner, blowing bubbles etc.

Are you doing enough? Do you ever just have a quiet day and not really care if bubs plays on her own or watches tv?

Dont worry chippy, you are doing an excellent job- there is no right or wrong way to parent as long as your child is being loved and cared for. I have 3 girls and they have all been completely different- and on the solids front- Phoebe is almost 7 months and still not really having any where as the other 2 girls were well and truly on solids and many of them by now. Dont stress- do things as they come naturally- mothers instincts are never wrong!;)

Jules16
07-10-2008, 20:41
Chippy - remember we are only human. It sounds to me like you are doing a super job. Blake has had kiwi fruit too. And he's had dairy, strawberries, wheat - all allergens.

Lala - I usually change Blake's nappy to wake him up otherwise he just grazes and falls asleep. I have to change his nappy though as he's a very heavy wetter. And if I don't he'll wake up anyway 'cos he's all wet.

lala7
08-10-2008, 10:10
chippy I know it's all confusing and it's normal to have times of worrying that you're doing the right thing. I think we all have them at some point because we only want to do what's best for our babies because we love them so much :valentine:

I've been talking to a lot of people about solids and it does seem that everyone's just at a different point. You said that she's taking food quite well so that's a great step in the right direction! I've looked for one but I haven't found a 'schedule' so I guess it's just going with your gut. A friend gave me the link to a website http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com that has quite a bit of good info. But maybe it's not more info you need....:eek:

As for playing on their own, it's good for them to have some time on their own. I can feel guilty about that sometimes too, but it's actually good for them to play with their toys by themselves for a bit and get used to their own company and figuring things out for themselves. I sit Alexi in her portacot which is filled with toys and she plays with them for ages by herself sometimes, and I've even put the wiggles on for her which she loves. And every baby is different anyway so like 3divas said I don't think there's a right or wrong way to do things.

Yesterday we had a ****ty sleeping day :hissy: She'd go down okay but only stay down for 40 minutes at the most and then wake up crying. She ended up doing another big poo at 6.30 that night so I'm wondering whether she had a tummy ache.

Then last night she woke at 11, I fed her and then she woke at 1 again. I decided to leave her and not feed her (had to turn off the monitor) and lo and behold she went back to sleep until 5.45 when I fed her again and put her back to bed and she's still asleep now (8.15)! That to me really just confirms that she's not waking cos she's hungry. Cos if she was hungry at 1am there's no way she'd go back to sleep for another 5 hours without eating. Hopefully we are in the middle of breaking this habit! :fingerscrossed:

sara86
08-10-2008, 13:20
Chippy - I sometimes wonder if im doing enough stimulating activities with Grace too, but like the other girls have said as long as our bubs are moving forward in developing and happy and taking the world in im sure they will be fine! some nights once Grace has gone to sleep i think oh god i feel like ive hardly done anything with her today, but oh well a day here and there pretty much amusing themselves & not doing any real activities wont hurt them surely! And i would prefer a child that can play by themselves rather than needing someone sitting with them ALL the time anyway!
For everyone who has a baby that is crawling... did they just get up and crawl by themselves? or did you have to do lots of encouraging?
Grace isnt crawling but she really wants to! I put her knees up under her when shes on her tummy so shes on all fours, and she is starting to rock by herself but when i put toys on front of her to try and encourage her to move forward she just drops down to her belly and reaches forward to get them. She gets up on her tippy toes and gets her bum in the air while shes reaching but doesnt get anywhere. If anyone has any tips or suggestions to get her moving that would be greatly appreciated! I realise that every baby is different and she will eventually crawl in her own time, but i was just wondering if there is anything i can do to help her.

chippy
08-10-2008, 13:59
Thanks for the words of encouragement. I think I need to get a playpen though so she can be left safely. She likes sitting and playing in her high chair though so i've been spreading toys out on that. Gives me a 10 minute break.

Sara i'm not sure about the crawling, but yes they will find it in their own time. Maybe putting toys a little out of her reach? Taylor sits for hours but won't have a bar of tummy time so crawling is waaaay off for us. I think she'll end up either grabbing on to standing, or scooting around on her bum.

Lala thanks for the website, ive got it open now to have a read. Interesting about Alexi going down with no milk. Is she waking cold or hot? She may just be a very light sleeper? If you did nothing then i'd say in my truly non-expert opinion:p that she is just having some awake time. I hope it continues for you that you can just leave her. Or maybe doing a wee wakes her? So feeding her will just make her wake next wee time? I dunno. Wish I did!

hayleylea
08-10-2008, 17:31
Chippy - everyone else has given some great advice It is sooo hard trying to feel like your doing the right thing when there is so much information out there what you 'should' be doing. You just do what you feel is right. Some days (especially since ive been on my own for 2 months) i just havent got the time to sit down and spend alot of time with Shelley. I have a demanding 3 year old so im not able just to devote my time to her. Although if we are doing puzzles etc. I sit Shelley next to us and she 'helps' but messing up the puzzle or eating the peices :laughing: It is really good for a baby/child to be able to play by themself aswell so some time with them just rolling around the floor or just playing with themselves is fine. Just include them in whatever your doing. If your reading a magazine sit next to her and talk to her about it, if your folding up the washing just talk about the clothes - they really do take alot in at all ages and just little bits here and there is great for them.

Sara - as for Crawling. shelley doesnt actually 'crawl' as such she does the comando crawl and the rolling thing. She manuovers herself around though. If she is lying on her tummy she will twist herself around to get what she wants. You cant 'make or teach' a baby to crawl imo - but you can encourage them by putting toys out of reach, lying in front of them trying to get them to work there ways towards you. I had to go to a physio with DS (he had an accident when he was younger) he was only 9 months and they told me to put a towel underneath him (while he is on his tummy) folded in half (lengthways) and then lift him up gently and see let him take the weight of his legs and arms (hopefully that made sense :laughing: DS didnt crawl till he was 10 months. He then walked at 14 months so they do catch up no matter when they crawl, walk etc.

Shelley loves to be on the floor. She doesnt like sitting up! she throws herself onto the ground if she is sitting up so she can be on her tummy or roll around (I swear she doesnt stay still!)

Anyway better go, almost the kids bed times :smiliedance: only 3 more nights till DF gets home!!!!!! :bee:

lala7
08-10-2008, 17:31
Sara I'm not sure about crawling but it sounds like what you're doing is good. I think a little bit of encouragement helps, but I'm amazed at the stuff Alexi just seems to do without any real encouragement like rolling and now she's rocking on all fours (only when on me though - she doesn't understand she can do it on the floor too!) and crawling backwards. I think they really just do it like some instinctual thing, but encouragement can't hurt.

I don't know about why she wakes either. She doesn't fully wake up though it's almost like she's grizzling in her sleep cos her eyes are mostly closed. I don't know if it's bad dreams, feeling cold (it did start around winter but we rug her up so her body is warm aside from her hands) or maybe she's just a restless sleeper. If she's legitimately hungry I don't mind feeding her, but I hope she stops waking up at these other times. I really feel like the feeding is just comfort for her, so she's half waking because she needs some kind of comfort maybe. Oh I don't know!!

chippy
08-10-2008, 20:10
What time do you put your babies to bed? We are trying to string taylor out to 7pm but the closest we have ever got is 6.02pm LOL. She wakes too early in our opinion at anywhere between 4.30 and 5. Is that what you do to make them sleep longer....make them stay up later?

Lala I hope you have a sleep thru night tonight. Does Alexi stay on her tummy much?

Hayley thanks for your post. How do you deal with 2 kids? lol. I have tried to bath Taylor on my own (we get in with her) and I find myself naked, cold, running round the house for an hour. I'd have no hope doing things on my own. Is it really easier with 2 as people keep telling us?

hayleylea
08-10-2008, 20:23
Chippy - Shelleys bed time is anywhere from 6.30-7.30. She has 2 sleeps a day. on in the morning probably around 10 (anywhere from an hour to 3 hours - averages 2) then goes back to bed at anywhere around 1.30-2.30 and has an hour sleep (sometimes more - the last week she has been having 2.5 in this sleep YAY) and then she goes to bed around 6.30-7/.30 depending on what time she got up from her last sleep. If she sleeps through she gets up at 5 for a feed. But my rule of thumb is, if its before 7 then they feed and get put straight back into bed. If its 6.45 and she doesnt look like she needs anymore sleep i let her stay up.

I do it on my own because I have to :p lol. Its amazing what you can do when you have to do it. We have a really good routine and I have two pretty good kids which helps. Mind you DS is in the 'Why' stage and some days by the end of the day Im glad that its bed time lol. Having 2 is DEFINATLEY easier then having one IMO. With one they dont have anyone to keep them occupied. With 2 the oldest one is always running around doing something, or helping out with the baby, or getting them toys because they really want them to play with them no matter what age they are lol. The baby adores the older one. (take a look at my website and you will see the fun of 2 and the look of admiration in their eyes) So yep i definatey think 2 is easier. Like i said we have a great routine. And i think its the only way we get throught the day lol. The kids bath together. So i kill 2 birds with one stone there, out they get. Shelley rolls around naked on the floor while i dress Cooper lol.

I really should be heading to bed.

night :D

lala7
08-10-2008, 21:46
Chippy I agree 430-5 is way too early. I've heard though that it's actually NOT the case that if you put them down later they sleep later and infact that the opposite is true as they say 'sleep breeds sleep' and if you keep them up too late they can get overtired which affects their sleep :sleeping:

Alexi goes to bed somewhere between 7-8 and we usually start her night time routine between 6-7. She's usually up for the day around 7.30, although the past 2 mornings it's been 8.30 and sometimes it's 6.30. But generally 7.30.

She ended up having a 2 hour nap this afternoon! I completely wasn't expecting it but there you go!

Alexi spends playtime on her tummy (she rolls onto her tummy) but she never sleeps on her tummy cos she wouldn't think to do it!

Hayley yeah I can see how in that sense it would be easier to have 2 because kids probably play with other kids better than with adults. I still think you're doing a fantastic job though!

2SPUNKRATZ
09-10-2008, 07:54
hey ladies. im just checking in. my kids dont have the greatest routine. unfortunately. but generally i try to get them in bed by 8-8.30. they wake anywhere between 7 and 8.30. Marius is a shocker at bedtime. its a massive battle to get him to go to bed. Aali goes down pretty well. but i feed her to sleep so thats probably why. i have tried and tried to get Marius going to bed properly, but nothing seems to work. on the odd accasion he is cool with it. so i know theres light at the end of the tunnel. its just a very small light atm. lol.

my sis and i are having a Girls Night In this weekend. keep your :fingerscrossed: for us we raise more than last year. last year we raised $500 this year we want to beat it.

ok im going to lay back down. i spent the night feeling really crook and dont feel 100% yet.

porridge
09-10-2008, 12:14
hey Jess - my sister and I are doing a Girls Night In too!! ours in on the 27th though, a little while to go... what are you doing for yours?

decided to step on the scales yesterday (was at my brother's - we don't have any) and am a kilo lighter than b4 I got pregnant with Arch :eek: a few ppl have commented lately that I've lost weight, but I didn't think much (if any) - just a bit of toning... but it's about 5kg in 2 months... huh.

routines - we try. Arch has been going well on up for 2hrs, down for 2hrs, up etc... and feed, play, sleep... and then something happens, we go away or daylight savings starts!! and things go crazy. His (and ours) day starts at about 6am...

I took the boys to the aquatic centre yesterday - it was so much fun!! Arch thought it was a bit noisy, but griff loved the water, slides - everything! I can't wait til they finish the one just down the road from us... April 09 I think.

boys are down for a nap together today... I love it when they do that! should probably tidy up...

toodles

3Divas&me
09-10-2008, 13:48
We dont have a gr8 routine with Phoebe either- DD2 and 1 are pretty good- DD2 is in at 8pm and dd1 is in at 8:30 om and Phoebe- well she just goes whenever we get there- she is left til last- if we can get the other 2 sorted then we can get Phoebe sorted without too much stress Iykwim! Bed time is pretty fullon in our house- get quite chaotic, but in saying that the kids go down quite well once we get them into bed.

Jess- I see in you signature ttc #3 in a few years- did you finally convince dh then? well done you!:yelclap:

Porridge- :smiliedance: for the weightloss- you must feel pretty good!

Have been really trying the get Phoebe to take solids this week- she seems to love anything sweet and :barf: anything with vegetable!

porridge
09-10-2008, 14:18
Jess- I see in you signature ttc #3 in a few years- did you finally convince dh then? well done you!:yelclap:

I noticed that too!! :D

3Divas&me
10-10-2008, 07:34
Finally- We have our first toothy peg!:smiliedance:
Noticed it yesterday afternoon- cant believe it has finally happened after months of teething- and many more to come.... but one tooth down!!!!

I got Phoebe weighed too yesterday- 7.3kg and 67cm long, head circ 41cm.

porridge
10-10-2008, 09:15
3Divas - well done on the tooth!! Arch is still gummy, but he's been so grizzly lately - something must come through soon!!

I need to get Arch weighed too....

Jules16
10-10-2008, 13:35

Blake is really sick this week with a barking cough so am feeling quite exhausted. I should be sleeping myself but I'm sure he will be awake again soon.

I went to see the ENT specialist today and my operation was a huge success and my hearing has improved massively. So great news. Have been having a lot of problems with my sinus though and the specialist suggested I wean and get on some medication!! I have lost a lot of weight recently and am feeling very worn out. Am not sure what to do though.

Has anyone bought a stroller recently? I need to get one to take to Perth in two weeks (to visit my new niece who is due on Wednesday). Any recommendations?

3Divas&me
10-10-2008, 13:46
2nd toothy peg has come through today too:smiliedance:- Two in two days- I knew they came close after each other, but within 24 hours- no wonder Phoebe was grumpy yesterday!!!

Morgan- I bought a stroller last year when dd2 was about 6 months and I just got one from target- think the brand is baby club- it has been really good- normally about $79 but target always have a sale so you could pick it up for about $50-60. Glad to hear you op went well- hope you are ok though with the weight loss and taking care of yourself.:hugs:

littlefreckle
10-10-2008, 20:27
3Divas- Congrats on the teeth. You said they come through close together and that they are meant too. Karjarna has had one bottom tooth for 3 wks now should I be worried that she is showing no sign of another one???

Sorry not hanging around too tired from all this work and Karjarna's sleeping is really out thanks to daylight savings. Going to get some sleep x x

2SPUNKRATZ
12-10-2008, 09:59

I noticed that too!! :Di didnt need to do any convincing. we had a massive D&M the other night. talked till about 3 am. turns out, he just didnt want me to think he was ready now. but after a long discussion he has come to realise, even if he was ready now. I AM NOT!!!! so we came up with "in a few years". lol.

Has anyone bought a stroller recently? I need to get one to take to Perth in two weeks (to visit my new niece who is due on Wednesday). Any recommendations?
all i can say is, get one that lays back!!!!!

3Divas- Congrats on the teeth. You said they come through close together and that they are meant too. Karjarna has had one bottom tooth for 3 wks now should I be worried that she is showing no sign of another one???

no need to worry hun. i know quite a few who have ogtten 1 tooth and not another for a month. its all good :)

had the girls night in last night. it was awesome!!! we raised apporx $340 from about 15 girls!!! we played some games which were great fun. i made a great cake and choccys for it. and we all got some great prizes. (all donated by local stores) i put all the pics on facebook. i will post a link.
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=60829&id=798989898
hope that works!

got the dreaded visitor arrived yesterday. YEP thats right, the witch is back, and causing me serious pain. so far Aaliyah hasnt reacted differently to me or my milk. so i am hoping thats a good sign that she will be all cool. gotta go though, shes sooking on the loungeroom floor. xxoo take care girlies!

3Divas&me
12-10-2008, 13:42
Hi there:wave:

LF- no concern with the teeth- usually if one comes up expect its twin to come up sometime soon- but not always the case. Hope your coping ok with the homefront, mummy work and going to work- I know myself can be quite challenging.

Jess- photos of your night look like alot of fun. Sometime d&m's do the world of good, you must be stoked hope is not lost on the bubba #3 part:thumbsup:

Things are all ok. Had a pretty bad night with Phoebe on Friday night- she screamed for most of it. She just wants to sleep with me all the time and have the boob easily accessible at any time of the night too- it is all wearing a little too thin IMO! I need to sort her out quicksmart.

littlefreckle
12-10-2008, 21:17
:wave: Thanks for the advice on Karjarna's teeth.

3Divas - I know what you mean about things getting hetic with going back to work. Not only have I got the house and yard, Karjarna and work I've got 3acres and 2cows to deal with. Not doing too bad. Now its daylight savings it will be easier as DH can do the lawns and outside bit and pieces as it is normally dark when he gets home. A friend is having the same problem with her DD. She wants to suck all night so she puts her in bed with her and lets her suck whenever she wants. Hope you figure something out.

Jess - :smiliedance: for D&M's. They can soooo help sometimes. Its great to be on the same page when it comes to the future. We are going on the TTC trip in Jan if all goes well. Have to back to the doc next month (cant get a closer app) things are not quite right even after the curette. In the last month I have had 3 lots of bleeding lastin for a couple of days. And for 3-5 days after having sex I'm really sore in the lower tummy with heaps of cramping. Hopefully its nothing major. Don't want to leave TTC number 2 for too long incase it takes me years to get pregnant again.

morganj - Great to hear your op has been a success. Its a big decision what to do though. You just have to do what is right for you and your health. You have gave bub a great start :hugs:

Karjarna is good. Only waking 1-2 times at night for a quick feed as I think she is having a growth spirt. Doing a 10k fun run (I'm walking it) on sunday with DH, DD and future SIL. Its a local thing the council does each year in burnie. Hoping I can make it the longest I have done since having bub is 6k's.
Better go and iron DH work clothes cant send him to work looking like he slept in them x x

2SPUNKRATZ
12-10-2008, 21:19
hey. i just wanted to show you some new pics. shes growing so fast.

smiling with such chubby cheeks http://s208.photobucket.com/albums/bb17/jab030207/DD/?action=view&current=PictureorVideo1411.jpg
just love this pic so much http://s208.photobucket.com/albums/bb17/jab030207/DD/?action=view&current=PictureorVideo1400.jpg
trying to crawl, she has not yet accomplished this, but she tries http://s208.photobucket.com/albums/bb17/jab030207/DD/?action=view&current=PictureorVideo1401.jpg
our girls night in. we all dressed up in pink, and so did she. pretty girl! http://s208.photobucket.com/albums/bb17/jab030207/DD/?action=view&current=PictureorVideo1423.jpg

i love my babies!!!!!

2SPUNKRATZ
12-10-2008, 21:24
littlefreckle - i have heard that having 1 baby can make falling pregnant with a 2nd sooooo much easier. because with the 1st, the body doesnt recognise, but with a 2nd, the body knows what to do. everyone i know has concieved thier 2nd a ****e load faster than thier first. my :fingerscrossed: for you.

chippy
13-10-2008, 09:04
2spunkratz those photo's are adorable! She has such a beautiful smile.

No sign at all of teeth here so I can't help with any questions there.

What do you mix in with your veggies other than farex?

Jules16
13-10-2008, 14:51
Chippy - we have started mixing some lentils and chicken with the veggies. Maybe have a look on the web for some recipes. With the lentils we just put some water, lentils, parsnip, potato and carrot in the slow cooker over night and then mashed it up in the morning. I don't think it tastes all that great but little Blake just woofed down five tbspns of it. And with the chicken casserole you can do pretty much the same - fry some cubed chicken and onion, and then bake with some vegies and stock (very low salt stock). Have you tried baby porridge. Rafferty's do a good one which I mix in with pear, apple or banana for breakfast. He loves it warm.

LF - wow you certainly have a lot on your plate. I take my hat off to you. I hope you are a lot better soon. Yeah go talk to the doctor pronto. I'm hoping AF will return soon as we'd like to try again after Christmas, and we too are hoping it won't take so long this time.

2SPR - looks like a fun night. Great photos. And exciting news that DH has agreed to No 3. How is DH these days. Is he feeling better?

3Divas - sorry to hear about little Phoebe. Will she take a dummy? We had this problem with Blake when he was younger. Now he's hooked on his dummy.

Well we had to take Blake to the doctor this morning after an awful weekend. He's got CROUP apparently. Am so annoyed as we took him to the doctor last Wednesday for his jabs and we mentioned he had been coughing a bit and asked if it was wise to give him his jabs etc. She didn't even check him over properly and said they get colds all the time and the jabs would be fine. Went to a different doctor today and she said probably wasn't a great idea (I so wish we'd gone with out gut feeling) and we feel that the jabs are what have made him so much worse. His poor little immune system has had so much to fight. So we've not had much sleep here. It's really bad at night and we've had four rough nights of it. He's sleeping loads today and his appetite is returning this afternoon so fingers crossed he is on the mend. It's awful watching him suffer so much.

The good news is I'm due to become an aunt for the first time on Wednesday - SIL is being induced!! We are flying over to Perth next week to meet her!! :smiliedance: So I'll have a niece for my birthday on Thursday!!

3Divas&me
13-10-2008, 18:35
Cute pics Jess- Aali is sitting very well.

LF- Wow your life sounds fullon, running a family and mini farm too! A/f returning can be quite all over the place after having a bub esp if you are still b/fing- hope it all gets sorted soon.

Morgan- :hugs: for Blake- croup is horrible. Have fun over in Perth.

Went back to work today after 2 weeks holiday and this afternoon finally came back home after 2 weeks- cant wait to sleep in my bed tonight. The kids are happy to be back in their home aswell- even the dog was over the moon- lol:laughing:

lala7
13-10-2008, 20:15
Hi everyone. I hope you have fun in perth morganj - that's where I am!

Just a quick one cos I'm in the middle of getting dinner. Alexi has a cold again. She's so snotty but hates me cleaning her nose. She's been pretty good except has slept HEAPS - yesterday she had 4 naps and today she's had 2 naps of 2.5 hours each! Except both days she's refused to go down for her late afternoon nap. Naughty!

She's still doing the rocking thing on all fours when we're holding her but no proper crawling or teeth. But sitting just perfectly.

Anyway, dinner's buzzing - gotta go finish it just wanted to say a quick hi

InSaneOne
13-10-2008, 21:09
well last night and today were very long. daniel and i have both had colds - mine was really sinusy that i have had since thursday but he only started to get snotty yesterday morning. last night he ws having trouble breathing and screamed in pain when he coughed. poor little man has a really sore throat and after a long trip to hospital he has croup too. so he has been very clingy and i am just exhausted. i thihnk my body needs more than 3 hours of broken sleep.

i am really thankfull that i have my sling. it has come in handy these past few days when all he wants is to be held close. otherwise i am sure my arms would drop off.

daniel is crawling - kinda - he pulls with his arms and pushes with his feet so more a commando crawl instead of hands and knees. he gets up on those and rocks tho. he still isn't sitting up by himself yet altho he is trying hard to. and he has just started pulling himself into a standing position when i have him sitting on my lap facing me. he is getting strong in his legs. i don't want him to be walking too soon tho. my dd was walking by this time and i am so glad that my baby is staying my baby for a little longer.

well i had better get some rest while he is sleeping. who knows how much longer it will last.:fingerscrossed:

Jules16
13-10-2008, 23:13
BB&D - really sorry to hear Daniel has croup aswell. I had no idea croup even existed and feel very guilty for not getting him to the doctor sooner. Well I did take him to the doctor last Wednesday and she shrugged it off and proceeded to give him his jabs. Well at least we have found a better doctor now! Blake isn't clingy - very restless and difficult to soothe as he won't sit still and just screams and wriggles. I think it would be easier if he could cling to me so I could settle him. It's awful listening to them cough though isn't it. And yes the nights are the worst for them.

Lala - enjoy those long naps. Blake is sleeping forever during the day at the moment. He gets tired so quickly. I have to really watch him. I hope Alexi is better soon. What are the nights like over there in Perth. Should I bring summer pjs for Blake?

3Divas&me
14-10-2008, 09:14
:hugs: to all those sick babies- not a nice time of year to be sick.

Lala- Wow huge sleeps- all Phoebe had yesterday when I was at work was 30 mins in the morn and 50 mins in the arvo- though she went to sleep about 6:30 last night and apart from a few feeds slept til 8 this morning.

lala7
14-10-2008, 11:53
Sorry to those babies with croup that sounds awful. The poor little things. Do they have medication for it? Morgan hopefully Blake is better by the time you have to come on the plane.

Morgan the weather here is a little all over the place. Yesterday it was 20 and today it's 30 so it's going backwards and forwards quite a bit. The nights are definitely not freezing but they're not overly warm either. We're still putting Alexi in long pj's and her sleeping bag, but we used to put a cardigan type thing over the top and we're not doing that anymore. It's too cold for something short sleeved, but then it depends on what weather he's used to I guess. We don't need the heater on anymore, but it's still a little cool. I think a lighter weight winter pj is probably best or a thicker weight summer one if you know what I mean.

Alexi was standing by herself yesterday when leaning on the couch...not for long but she still did it. Wow I can't believe dd1 was walking by now BB&D - very advanced!!

How is Phoebe going with the bottle now 3divas?

InSaneOne
14-10-2008, 22:06
yeah my dd1 scared the life out of me when she was about 4 days old. i was holding her with my hands under arms and sortof bouncing her on my lap and she kicked off. then at 3 weeks she actually rolled off the change table. (they are so not supposed to do that - i was :eek:) then she was way too little to be walking at 8 months. she started standing and holding on to things before she was crawling properly. i did get a bit worried that she wouldn't crawl at all. but now she is a very tall and skinny 3 year old who doesn't stop running (just pauses in front of the tv:rolleyes:).

well i forgot to mention that i quit my job last thursday. after busting my butt for them all through my pregnancy and returning to work too early and now i am not apprieciated. now we are short staffed as 1 lady went on holidays and my manager decided to give me 2 shifts and he gave 5 shifts to the new bloke who has been there less than a month. all of those 5 shifts i am available to do. when i asked him about the hours and why i didn't get more than 2 shifts he told me that they had to cut back on everyone's hours. ok fair enough - as long as it was everyone. but it was just me. now i mentioned to him that i can't feed my family on only 2 shifts a week and was it possible to have some more hours. the P***k told me that there was a job going at blah blah blah. this was me when he told me that :eek:. so i told him then and there to stick his job and walked out. i went back into the bar to get my stuff that i had left behind and handed in my armband to the ladies in the office and told them that i wasn't going to be in for my shift that night and they could find someone else to replace me as i quit.

now i am having to go through all that pain-in-the-bum thing of updating the resume and look for more work that i can fit around the kids and dh's work hours.:banghead: but hey at least i feel better now about throwing the job in his face.

:laughing: the customers are pretty peeved with him right now. i was very well liked by most of them :yelclap:

porridge
15-10-2008, 06:32
bah - I'd written a post and then lost it :banghead:

BB&D - sorry to hear your boss is a jerk - good on you for sticking it to him. Hope you find another job soon!

Hope all the sick bubs are on the mend and you're all getting enough sleep! Croup sounds awful - poor little tykes.

Julie - I hope everything goes well for your SIL today and you get to Perth safely... and have a great birthday tomorrow!! Are you doing anything special for it?

chippy - I've just been adding oat and millet flakes to Arch's food... I like the idea of lentils so I might give that a go too. Arch hasn't had much meat - I whizzed up some spag bol for him the other night and he woofed it down, but other than that - just vegies and fruit...

well, Arch was up a lot last night, just screaming. It was awful. I gave him bonjela and panadol and he just screamed and screamed. He slept for about 30 mins, then was up for an hour or so... I'm so tired!! I'm hoping that the boys have a nap together today - so I can too!

ok... time to make breakfast, do the washing and tidy up... :dizzy:

littlefreckle
15-10-2008, 14:10
Porridge - It must have been a Tassie thing last night. My normally sleeping angel was a devil last night. She would wake up screaming and bonjella and panadol did nothing. She wasn't hungery, dirty and i gave her a good scratch. She would fall asleep on me after a while but if I went to put her in the cot she would start screaming. Weird hey hopefully tonight they will be back to normal.

:hugs:'s to everyone with sick bubbas. Hope they are bette soon

3Divas&me
15-10-2008, 14:34
Porridge and LF- funny you mention that as Little Phoebe was quite unsettled too- felt like a zombie when the alarm went off at 6:15am this morn to get up and get ready for work.

BB&D- Hope you can sort some work out soon, so hard to find jobs to suit your lifestyle. It is disappointing though when you give people so much of your life and your slapped in the face for it.

Morgan- hows that niece of yours? Did she arrive into the world yet? Whats her name?

An unsettled night last night for Phoebe and only a 45 minute sleep today- what does one have to do?

Lala- no bottle taking yet but she has been eating a small amount of solids- which she still is not too fussed about.

2SPUNKRATZ
16-10-2008, 08:33
sounds to me like a few bubbas are having some growth spurts. when Aali is really unsettled and having a growth spurt i massage her. it always makes her fall asleep. but then again, if you think about it, sometimes you just feel sad, or you really want to be cuddled. sometimes bubbas just want to be cuddled. so yeh.

Aali has been a crazy phsycopathic chicken the past few days. screaming, high temps, teething. aaaaahhhhhhhhh!!!! its so exhausting. she just would not settle unless she was in my arms last night. i dont mind to much. i love my Miss Aali cuddles.

my poor best friend is 41wks 2 days. she is still not in labour. BUT..... she is 5cm dilated, easily stretchable to 6cm and very thin cervix. but for some reason, her labour just keeps stopping. the midwife says they will let her go till next tuesday, but if bub isnt born by then they want to break her waters. and if that does nothing, give her the drip. soooooo...... if anyone has any advice or ideas on whatto do to get her movin please do tell. so far she has used evening primrose oil, clarysage oil massage, shes having sex constantly, walking a lot, doin a lot of squatting....... what more can she do????? she had a c section with her first (emergency) but she really wants to avoid it this time.

lala7
16-10-2008, 11:46
Ouch Jess that's waaayyyy too pregnant! Nasty! Gosh I felt like I was overdue and Alexi came on her due date - I can't imagine how your poor friend must be feeling!! I tried everything too I'm not sure it works but there's eating curries, drinking raspberry leaf tea......good luck to her!! :hugs:

Poor Aali - it's nice that she can be comforted in your arms though. Mummy helps things feel better!

Alexi only woke up once last night :smiliedance: When I woke up my boob was about to burst and really hurt so I expressed. And I got 140ml in 5 minutes but then as I lifted it up the container wasn't screwed on properly and all 140ml went spilling over the bed....noooo!!!! :hissy:

She's going through another rolling obsession because she now knows how to roll back to front and front to back so she was rolling from one end of the bed to the other for half an hour yesterday and she keeps rolling in her cot instead of sleeping. The frustrating thing is that she hasn't seemed to realise how to roll onto her back in her cot for some reason and so gets on her tummy and thinks she's stuck even though she KNOWS how to roll back. So of course I have to go in and once she sees me nap time is over....grrrr!!!

rubyrags
16-10-2008, 19:47
HI Guys have been too busy to post just reading.. Emma is great eating solids and sleeping really well. She has one little tooth and another on the way. :yelclap:
I have been so busy at work and pretty crabby the last few days - maybe its the full moon?
She has changed so much two nights ago she hit her head on the bone area just under my eye which REALLY hurt me but I dont think her, when she saw my face she looked so sad and started to cry and I really think she realised I was hurt - it was so cute...

BB&D that is a real shame about your job, I hope you find something that really suits you in fact I dont hope I know you will find something that is better than what you had.

Gotta go DH home from work :goodvibes:

littlefreckle
17-10-2008, 19:46
Hope all those unsettles little babies are sleeping soundly again.
Karjarna seems to have settled again. sleeping 5-6hrs at a time. She seems so hungry at the moment though. She isn't drinking any more milk but is eating a lot more in solids. The little piggy will eat everything in sight. I think her other tooth is on the way you can see it just under the gum. She has worked out how to go backwards on her tummy but she hasnt worked out how to crawl yet. She also walks backwards hanging on to our fingers. I think her gear box has been put in the wrong way :laughing:. I left her sitting in the lounge yesterday while I put some washing out and came back in to find her growling stuck on the table leg still trying to go backwards.
Having a **** time with household items at the moment. Our water pump died wed night and now the toilet is leaking flat out so the whole cistern has to be replaced as I think it came off the ark. Oh the joys of it. Just hoping the 3rd thing is something cheap and simple like the kettle

Gotta go my little bro just arrived.
Have a good weekend all

chippy
18-10-2008, 08:40
Sounds like Karjarna is well on the way, even if it is backwards :yelclap: I know what you mean about the solids as Taylor is eating so much I think she will bust. I have nothing left in the freezer so i'm spending the day cooking. So far I have done cauliflower, peas and lentils, and as soon as they freeze I will fill the trays with apple, pumpkin and maybe choko.

She still wants nothing to do with rolling. Is that bad at 7 months? Funny thing is the last 3 days in bed she will get over onto her side to fall asleep. All she wants to do is stand. If you try and sit her down she will stiffen her legs and make it impossible:D Is crawling something they need to do?, as i'm afraid she will just start pulling herself up. Can I encourage it by more tummy time or laying down?

Hope you all have great weekends :)

sara86
18-10-2008, 12:34
In regards to "is crawling something they need to do?"...
My cousin is 10yrs old and he has had a real hard time in developing, he has always been behind in speech/reading/writting/maturity etc (just growing up in general!), and my aunty and uncle recently took him to some special school in sydney to basically evaluate him to see what areas of his development he needs help with. then they do up a report and send to his normal school and they make sure he gets one-on-one teaching etc...anyway...at this school in sydney my aunty had to tell the teacher all about his life as a baby (basically to see if he has behind all his life i guess), and he pretty much skipped crawling, only did it for like a couple of weeks. the teacher said crawling is a VERY important step towards their growing up, and they should have tried to encourage and keep him crawling for as long as possible (easier said than done i know). she said it REALLY helps with their knowledge of getting from a to b, and distance, and speed, and moving around big objects etc iykwim.
Hope that makes sense, haha. Im not trying to be negative or anything, im just saying what i got told, im not saying this lady is right but just thought id pass that info on. and i dont really know if it would have made any difference to my cousin, cos from day one he has been behind.
And i think Grace will almost skip crawling too, any chance she gets she will stand, and i was walking at 9 months, so i think she will be an early walker too!

3Divas&me
18-10-2008, 15:07
Sounds like Karjarna is well on the way, even if it is backwards :yelclap: I know what you mean about the solids as Taylor is eating so much I think she will bust. I have nothing left in the freezer so i'm spending the day cooking. So far I have done cauliflower, peas and lentils, and as soon as they freeze I will fill the trays with apple, pumpkin and maybe choko.

She still wants nothing to do with rolling. Is that bad at 7 months? Funny thing is the last 3 days in bed she will get over onto her side to fall asleep. All she wants to do is stand. If you try and sit her down she will stiffen her legs and make it impossible:D Is crawling something they need to do?, as i'm afraid she will just start pulling herself up. Can I encourage it by more tummy time or laying down?

Hope you all have great weekends :)

Dont worry too much, Phoebe still is not rolling really either. She has done it and can roll from side to side but does not go over- am assuming it is cause she doesnt like going over- she hates being on her tummy.

In regards to "is crawling something they need to do?"...
My cousin is 10yrs old and he has had a real hard time in developing, he has always been behind in speech/reading/writting/maturity etc (just growing up in general!), and my aunty and uncle recently took him to some special school in sydney to basically evaluate him to see what areas of his development he needs help with. then they do up a report and send to his normal school and they make sure he gets one-on-one teaching etc...anyway...at this school in sydney my aunty had to tell the teacher all about his life as a baby (basically to see if he has behind all his life i guess), and he pretty much skipped crawling, only did it for like a couple of weeks. the teacher said crawling is a VERY important step towards their growing up, and they should have tried to encourage and keep him crawling for as long as possible (easier said than done i know). she said it REALLY helps with their knowledge of getting from a to b, and distance, and speed, and moving around big objects etc iykwim.
Hope that makes sense, haha. Im not trying to be negative or anything, im just saying what i got told, im not saying this lady is right but just thought id pass that info on. and i dont really know if it would have made any difference to my cousin, cos from day one he has been behind.
And i think Grace will almost skip crawling too, any chance she gets she will stand, and i was walking at 9 months, so i think she will be an early walker too!

I know having studied child development at uni (majoring in special education) it is seen as the norm for babies to crawl before they walk as generally most babies follow the same pattern of development- and then it makes it a bit easier when diagnosing developmental issues later on if they have not followed the 'norm' at some point/stage of their life- can help to determine where and how things have gone wrong if there is an issue. Every stage of development is important, i know now I question if Phoebe is 'normal' because of her not rolling, but she is very alert and very much 'on par' for age and stage of development. Some children skip stages or dont spend much time at particular stages but it does not always mean there is a problem- I know my niece never crawled, she simply walked and she is quite a bright little girl. I dont doubt what your Aunty and Uncle have been told, like I said, when there is an issue, looking back on the childs developmental history can often help determine problems and/ or possible causes. (I hope I have not offended)

So Phoebe is just a cranky little so and so atm- and she squeals when she screams- it is so ear piercing, its just horrible. She really is not as settled as what the other 2 were- makes life a tad difficult at times. She still is co-sleeping and feeding atleast 3 times during the night. Still no luck with the bottle, though she is slowly but surely open to the ideas of more solids. She just had a KitKat stick and covered herself head to toe in chocolate- funny little bugger!

The weather outside is just so gorgeous:sunshine: thats probably why this thread had not moved too far in the past few days!

sara86
18-10-2008, 16:08
im not offended its ok haha. i wasnt intending to come off sounding mean or rude. and i definately was not meaning that if a baby doesnt really crawl they will be worse off. so i appologise if i sounded like i did! i was only passing the info on cos i thought it was interesting when i got told, i didnt realise that crawling could effect his/her life so much in the future!

3Divas&me
18-10-2008, 20:01
im not offended its ok haha. i wasnt intending to come off sounding mean or rude. and i definately was not meaning that if a baby doesnt really crawl they will be worse off. so i appologise if i sounded like i did! i was only passing the info on cos i thought it was interesting when i got told, i didnt realise that crawling could effect his/her life so much in the future!

Thats good, I got a bit worried after I posted, but it is always interesting to hear other points of view:thumbsup:

chippy
18-10-2008, 20:11
Thanks for all of the information on crawling. I am going to make a real effort to not let her sit, instead I will make her lay on her back and front and try and encourage her to stay on her tummy. I don't want her to miss her milestone. I'm going to try and google some research articles. I'm going to lose sleep worrying otherwise!

chippy
18-10-2008, 20:39
I just came across this website http://www.activityvillage.co.uk/helping_your_baby_learn_to_crawl.htm
I feel better now LOL. I thought because she was sitting so well, she would never crawl but this is saying it's one of the stages before crawling. I dunno, but it makes me feel better :)

3Divas&me
18-10-2008, 21:14
Thats some gr8 information chippy- I find with your first your so eager to get children to all their milestones- similar with your second- with your third really forget where they are up to- lol!:laughing:

Here are some pics i have just loaded up onto facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1061599&l=c4741&id=739556304
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1061600&l=0ab85&id=739556304
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1061560&l=8d525&id=739556304
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1061561&l=d04c0&id=739556304
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1061592&l=2f506&id=739556304
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1061593&l=166ee&id=739556304

Ruby_Slippers
19-10-2008, 10:54
Hi March mums 2008 :flowerz:
I haven't been on here for about 4 months, guess i have been wrapped up in this new baby thing - crazy days.
You might remember I was one of the first march mummas to give birth, Matilda was 11 days early and was born 26th February. She is nearly 8 months now.
I started Tilly on solids at 5 months and 3 weeks as she was in the <3% and nearly off the "graph". She only now weighs 6.6kgs bear weight, but loving her food and catching up fast.
Still not a stable sitter, but plan to practice on an upcoming camping trip (as well as the foray into finger food - I figure the mess doesn't matter so much when your camping). Anyway looking forward to a holiday. It is with a close group of friends and we go to the same spot every year (4 others breastfeeding). We have made jokes that we will be setting up a cushion area under a tree called "titty city :)
It has been good to read your posts and hear that all is going well - I look forward to popping in more often again and keeping in touch.
I will send a link to some recent pictures of Tilly shortly.
Yours in mummy magic :babydust2:

lala7
19-10-2008, 21:52
Hi everyone. Chippy, I'm not too sure about crawling - I never realised it was an issue if they skipped it. Alexi 'crawls' backwards on her tummy, but my husbands cousins son is 9 months old and isn't crawling or rolling at all. They think he CAN do it but is choosing not to. He's a very social and happy baby though so I don't think there are any problems with him, he's just different and probably will go straight to walking.

Alexi learnt how to sleep on her tummy yesterday morning!! She is just OBSESSED with rolling and yesterday morning rolled onto her tummy in her cot while talking and laughing and then all of a sudden it went quiet and she'd gone to sleep like that. It was such a surprise cos she's never considered that she can do that - she always thinks tummy time is play time so I was very impressed! She did it again this morning :yelclap: oh and she's moving all around the cot, we go in to get her and her feet are where her head is supposed to be it's so funny :laughing:

She seems to have finally gotten the hang of eating, but especially it seems at lunch. We just started her on lunch yesterday and she gobbles it up a lot quicker and easier than she does breakfast, I'm not sure why.

I also think she gets hayfever - do babies get that? I thought she had a cold but she's still going in and out of being snotty and then being clear and if you have a cold it tends to stick doesn't it?

Oh and some positive news - my parents came around last night to try to put her to bed so we can see whether they can look after her while I'm in a wedding, and then dh is in a wedding the following week (did the whole routine complete with massage, bath and bottle instead of booby) and she took the bottle AND went to sleep :yelclap: I was so happy!

Oh but we've had some scares the past 2 nights. Because she's rolling she's going onto her side at night and we have one of those angelcare monitors that detects movement and an alarm goes off if no movement (or no breathing) is detected. It's gone off TWICE. I flew out the bed the first night in a mad panic and then I couldn't sleep for 2 hours. Sooooo scary.

Sorry it's a long post, I feel like I have a lot to catch up on!!

littlefreckle
20-10-2008, 08:25
Lala - Know what you mean about the monitor going off. Karjarna was doing the same thing when she started moving around. Move the sensor pad that is at her feet up the cot a bit if she tends to go to the wrong end of the cot. Karjarna's blanket come half way up the cot and I have one sensor where her tummy would be and the other half way between the end of the cot and her head. Great news about the parents and eating her lunch. I have wondered the same about the hay fever. Karjarna is often snotty in the morning for a few hours and a bit in the late arvo but fine in the middle

moostar - Hi there sounds like you have been busy. Good luck on your camping trip hope you have fun. Good to hear bub is growing

Well we got our toilet fixed. All I wanted was a new cistern but it turned into a whole new toilet. we couldn't just get a cistern as our toilet was out of the ark. It took DH and FIL 5hrs to get it in as instead of bolting the toilet to the floor the old toilet had been concreated down WTF. So that was fun.
Have a couple of sore muscles today as DD, future SIL and I did the Burnie 10 yesterday. It's a 10k race (run or walked) and we thought we would give it a go. I'm no where as fit as some of you on here but I did it in 1hr 44min. So I'm happy with that I wanted to do it under 2hrs so I made my goal.
How have people found travellin with a baby?? we are thinking of going to Charters Towers QLD next July for the townsville V8 round. We will be staying with friends for 10-14days. I'm just worried that bub is going to play up. She will be 15mths by then so I'm hoping she handles being away for that long.
Think Karjarna has another tooth coming as she is grumpy and not sleeping very well. She is also off her food a bit. DH had her on Saturday while I worked and she only had ate a couple of spoon fulls of breakfast and lunch and then I gave her her tea and she wanted nothing to do with it. I ended up giving her some fruit gel so she was eating something. She is a bit better today but I hoping that is just to do with her teeth.
Going to go spray some weeds. DD is asleep at the moment.
Have a great day all x x

chippy
20-10-2008, 08:30
Never appoligise for a long post lala! Have you tried feeding her brekki after her first sleep? I find taylor won't eat anything much until after so if your not doing that, maybe try. Then move lunch back a time slot lol. I have an angel care monitor too so i thought when they are rolling around the place its time to take it out, as they are obviously going to roll off the pad quite a bit. I will still keep the sound bit, but remove the pad for next bubba. Great news on the parents! That will make things a whole lot easier for you.

Taylor and I have been doing serious tummy time, and only in the last couple of days its amazing how much she has improved. Now she will look at a book for 1 minute before rolling back over, which is a massive improvement on the 3 seconds.

I think she is changing her day sleep pattern again, she's driving me nuts. I watch her for hours to show tired signs and there's none!

lala7
20-10-2008, 12:15
Oh good idea about moving the sensor pads. I know, I was kind of thinking of removing them too chippy but I've become so addicted to hearing the 'tick tick' that assures me she's breathing that I'm not sure how I'll cope without it! :laughing: but at the same time this alarm is driving me nuts - it went off again last night but didn't even wake her she was so sleepy! :laughing:

Well done on the tummy time chippy - it is amazing how it all just seems to change :yelclap:

Yeah, Alexi is like Karjarna with her snottyness. I'd almost rather it was a cold though than hayfever. I might pop into a chemist and ask them what they think, or take her to the dr.

No I hadn't tried giving her breakfast after her first sleep but it's a good point. The only problem is it's usually after her first sleep that we go out, but it might be worth a try because she does seem to get tired quicker after first waking up in the morning so she might be too tired when I'm feeding her. She tends to be able to stay up a bit longer after her first nap. Although today she did really well and ate all of her pear so I gave her some yoghurt too.

Today's the first time we're going to be out for her lunch time. Just at my mum's but I'm having to think about packing food for the first time, and think of the easiest way to transport it! I've just defrosted some potato and put in a snack cup, and put some yoghurt in another snack cup and put that inside a tupperware bag with an ice thing to keep it cool. I have no idea what I'm doing! :laughing:

When do they start eating meat? I was looking at something that said 7 months they can start having some, and she's almost 7 months. How do you give them the meat?

littlefreckle Alexi travelled really really well. We just made sure she had her familiar toys and things, and took her music box for her to fall asleep to at night and kept the night routine the same and she was brilliant. Her pram was familiar to her too so she slept in there during the day while we were out. But that was a month or so ago and we didn't have to worry about food or anything like that back then. I found she was a lot more adaptable than I expected.

Are any other bubs a lot more comfortable with you than with anyone else? Alexi can seem so serious around people she doesn't see very often, but then with us and my parents she laughs and smiles all the time. It frustrates me sometimes, because people get this perception of her that's not true. She doesn't cry or anything but she can just seem so serious.

Although she does cry if a new person tries to hold her, and we were at dh's family thing yesterday and she burst out crying at first because there were all these faces and people in her face, but after awhile she was fine. She just takes awhile to warm up. I think it can sometimes be harder because the other baby her age in dh's family is sooo social and smiles all the time at everyone, whereas with Alexi she really has to be comfortable with you to really open up. She will smile, but just not nearly as much as she does with us. And this is even with dh's parents who we do see once a week or once a fortnight, I just don't understand it!!

chippy
21-10-2008, 08:48
Lala can you imagine some strange massive face coming up close to you and going 'goo goo gah gah blah'? I'd hate it and cry too! Don't worry most babies go through this stage and she will get more social. Right now they are just realizing their sense of fear and just want Mum or dad. I ask people to back off and let her study a bit first. Like with dogs i guess lol. After about 5 mins she's pulling faces and smiling at them. She sounds like a real little studier, wants to suss everything out.

Littlefreckle congratulations on the 10k :thumbsup: Well done. Are you still sore now? Its quite a long way. I am doing 5k jogs (ok, shuffles) every morn after the first feed (sux when its 4.30am!). But If I miss one day, I feel like ****, eat too much, and get tired too quickly.

How are all the other Mums and Bubs doing?:)

littlefreckle
21-10-2008, 09:00
Chippy - Feeling pretty good today. No soreness at all. DH on the otherhand reckons the tops of his thighs are still killing him. Have him at home at the moment he thinks he is getting this gastro bug great!! We all know what sick men are like.
Killer night with Karjarna last night. Poor little thing has her second tooth right there. You can see the point but it just wont break through. Hopefull it wont be long so it stops hurting her. What does everyone else do to help them. We are giving her panadol when she gets bad, using bonjella and putting cold grapes in her mesh dummy. Just wish there was more we could do.
Better go have to take the Mr T (cat) to the vet. He doesn't seem hisself. Think he has lost weigh and purring seems to be an effort. He's getting old he will be 10 this christmas

3Divas&me
21-10-2008, 09:24
Wow LF- 10km's- thats a gr8 workout for you! Even better that your feeling ok physically after it:thumbsup:- :laughing: LOL at your toilet hassels- older homes and older toilets always have hidden nasties- like the way they were installed- glad it is all sorted though.

Uhoh Phoebe is awake again- a small 45 minute nap, I guess it is something. She had a big 2 hour sleep yesterday arvo for mum- thats the longest day sleep she has had i a while.

Better go get her.

sara86
21-10-2008, 09:40
[quote=lala7;3163142]
How do you give them the meat?

Are any other bubs a lot more comfortable with you than with anyone else? Alexi can seem so serious around people she doesn't see very often, but then with us and my parents she laughs and smiles all the time. It frustrates me sometimes, because people get this perception of her that's not true. She doesn't cry or anything but she can just seem so serious.

quote]

(hope i did the whole quote thing right, ive never done it before haha)

Regarding meat... i make up a whole heap of purees for my DD and freeze them in cube trays, i make ones with fish and also chicken. i just bought one small fillet of basa from woolies deli, and to cook it put it in a micro-safe dish and put a small dollop of butter on top and cook in microwave, cant remember how long i think it was only bout 2mins. Fish like that cooks really well and very quick in the microwave, but u could do it in the oven or a pan if u prefer. Fish is REALLY REALLY good for little babies(brain food!), i think they recommend they have it bout 2-3 times a week. but oily fish like tuna,salmon etc they can have no more than twice a week. Once the fish is cooked i go through it thoroughly with a fork to check for any bones.
For the chicken i buy thighs (the dark meat on chicken is the most nutritional) and cook them in a pan with a little oil, then cut the chicken into little cubes.
Then i put a combo of either chicken or fish, and a few veggies in a blender with a little boiled water to make it blend easier, then freeze in cube trays.
And Grace does exactly the same thing around other people!! it annoys me too! just the other day my uncle said to me in a very concerned voice, "sara, does grace make any noises!?" haha, and when we are home in our own environment oh boy does she make noises! she talks, and squeels, and bangs her toys together and yells out, and she is starting to 'sing' when my mum sings to her she will join in haha so so cute! So yes i totally understand what your saying lala, its frustrating cos u want other people to see her how you see her, not just sitting staring around at everything in silence!

sara86
21-10-2008, 09:41
ok well obviously i didnt do the quote thing properly...
can anyone explain to me how to do it??

3Divas&me
21-10-2008, 13:52
ok well obviously i didnt do the quote thing properly...
can anyone explain to me how to do it??

You just press the quote icon then the reply page comes up and you just start typing underneath the quote but be sure not to delet or interfer with any of the html, like this:

[QUOTE=sara86;3166412]

Which will be at the beginning and end of the section you have quoted otherwise it does not work properly- takes a bit of practise!

sara86
21-10-2008, 14:06
You just press the quote icon then the reply page comes up and you just start typing underneath the quote but be sure not to delet or interfer with any of the html, like this:

[quote=sara86;3166412]

Which will be at the beginning and end of the section you have quoted otherwise it does not work properly- takes a bit of practise!

........(testing out my "quoting")......

lala7
21-10-2008, 14:06
That's exactly what Alexi's like too Sara - loud as anything at home or with people she's comfortable with. I think it's just hard cos I don't want people thinking bad or wrong things about her. But yeah, I totally agree chippy - I'd hate it too and in some ways I kind of like that she steps back a bit and takes a little time to warm up and obviously has her favourite people. It makes me feel like when she's happy with me then she's legitimately happy, if you know what I mean. So I guess I like it and don't like it at the same time! But yes chippy, she's definitely a studier!

Thanks for the info on the meat sara - it sounds so gross to blend meat but I guess they must like it!!

sara86
21-10-2008, 14:07
ok half of it worked?? why did the first paragraph do that? i just wrote under the 'quote'...
what if i only want to quote one section of a post not the whole thing

sara86
21-10-2008, 14:19
ok half of it worked?? why did the first paragraph do that? i just wrote under the 'quote'...
what if i only want to quote one section of a post not the whole thing
[ok half of it worked?? why did the first paragraph do that? i just wrote under the 'quote'...
what if i only want to quote one section of a post not the whole thing]

~~TESTING TESTING~~

sara86
21-10-2008, 14:22
haha oh dear why is it doing that? i dont understand im obvisouly doing something not quite right hmm...

i did that one ^^^^ in the 'quick reply' section, highlighted my previous post then did those brackets and checked the "quote message in reply" box...??

3Divas&me
21-10-2008, 15:15
haha oh dear why is it doing that? I dont understand im obvisouly doing something not quite right hmm...

Box...??

you can delete stuff but be careful not to mess up the beginning and end bits in the brackets- cuase that just wrecks it- keep practising- you will get there- you know you can multi- quote aswell- lol!

2SPUNKRATZ
21-10-2008, 20:52
you can delete stuff but be careful not to mess up the beginning and end bits in the brackets- cuase that just wrecks it- keep practising- you will get there- you know you can multi- quote aswell- lol!

dont confuse her with multi quoting till she learns a simple quote lol. i took forever to learn how to quote!

littlefreckle
22-10-2008, 08:44
sara86 - Yeah dont stress to much I always screw the quote thing up too

Karjarna's 2nd tooth finally came through late last night. She is so tired today she got up at 7.30am and went back to bed at 9am. Wonder how long it will be till the top ones arrive. I was 6wks between her first and second.
Good news the cat is going to be ok. He has a chest infection but apart from that the vet gave him a clean bill of health for his age. Just have to give him some meds for a week. Hope ill still have all my fingers lol.
Beautiful day here. will be nice to get some washing dry on the same day it was washed. Off to get ready for work whoo only 4 shifts and then I'm back on my normal hours.

3Divas&me
22-10-2008, 10:15
LF- Woohoo for the kj's 2nd tooth:yelclap: I have given your daughter a nickname alreday:laughing: only cause I am typing with one hand.

I have a swollen milk duct again today- my boob is in so much pain- feeding from it is killing me!

chippy
22-10-2008, 12:50
Ouch Diva (I think ur a diva too LOL). I can say I really know how you feel, although I haven't had any problems for 2 months now after multiple mastitis, blocked / infected ducts. Its the pits. I hope yours get better soon, and make sure you rest....yep that'll happen:)

Littlefreckle congrats on the 2nd tooth! I wonder if it makes a difference health wise if teeth stay in the gum longer or come out. I just thought that as I was reading your post. Probably not! Good news on puss too!

Um, do you keep their first tooth like you do hair? I know Mum didn't keep ours but wasn't sure. I'm not actually certain i'd like to see my baby teeth anyway?:confused:

3Divas&me
22-10-2008, 17:32
Um, do you keep their first tooth like you do hair? I know Mum didn't keep ours but wasn't sure. I'm not actually certain i'd like to see my baby teeth anyway?:confused:

I have kept all of dd1's teeth- I really dont know why as I thought to myself that it is a bit sick to keep a collection of teeth but did not think the bin was an appropriate place to put them- I really dont know what to do with them- they are piling up though in a shot glass in the glass cabinet for the moment.

Still sore booby- trying to get Phoebe to feed from it as much as possible- just had a warm bath and expressed a little- just very tender.

littlefreckle
22-10-2008, 18:08
Mum had a favourite pot plant she use to poke a small hole in the dirt with a pencil and put the tooth in there. She still has the pot plant that has both mine and my brothers teeth in it. She didn't want to throw them out either. Would love to be there if she repots the plant and all these teeth fall out lol

chippy
22-10-2008, 19:48
Taylor has started skipping one sleep a day (which I read was quite normal-down to 2), but her last sleep is usually from 11-1pm, which is a LONG time before bed. Problem is she is rubbing her eyes and falling asleep at her last boobie feed at 5pm after her bath. Thats SO early to put her to sleep, but I can't seem to string her out at 2nd or last sleeps. What do I do?

3Divas&me
23-10-2008, 07:30
Taylor has started skipping one sleep a day (which I read was quite normal-down to 2), but her last sleep is usually from 11-1pm, which is a LONG time before bed. Problem is she is rubbing her eyes and falling asleep at her last boobie feed at 5pm after her bath. Thats SO early to put her to sleep, but I can't seem to string her out at 2nd or last sleeps. What do I do?

Can you delay her 1st sleep so that her 2 nd sleep is later in the day?

hayleylea
23-10-2008, 10:57

Sorry i have been missing in action. I had DF home for a week and a half and he went back again yesterday for another month :( We have had Coopers birthday etc aswell (i cant believe he is 3 already :crying:) So things have been very busy here - new photos of both kids on my website - just click the link in my signature.

I have read back a little bit though. And hopefully ill be able to catch up more in here.

Chippy - I would try delaying her first sleep aswell, making sure you dont end up with an overtired cranky bubby! Shelley quite often only has 2 day sleeps...infact its quite the norm. But her last sleep isnt till around 3.30.

Shelley has 2 teeth now too. Both come within 2 weeks of each other. Im waiting for the top ones to come through too.

She is sleeping really well and really mobile now. A happy little thing!

OK better head off

InSaneOne
23-10-2008, 21:30
daniel started dropping that sleep too and because he was so tired i just gave in and let him have a nap late in the day. he usually drops off about 4.30 and only sleeps for an hour - or less. but that is what he needs. then we just put him to bed like normal at 8pm.

lala7
24-10-2008, 13:06
Sorry about the sore booby again 3divas :hugs:

Okay so I'm having another little 'thing' about this whole solids thing....so far Alexi has tried: teething rusks, sweet potato, potato, pear (not sure if it caused probs?), banana (same - might have caused probs?), apple (LOVES!!), avocado, vaalia baby yoghurt, pumpkin, farex.....I'm a little unsure what to try her on next?

She's 7 months old as of yesterday - is it okay to try her on anything? Spinach, eggplant, beans, peaches, mangoes.....not citrus though right? And should I be starting to make it not so mushy?

I'm finding as well that she's starting to eat more (especially of the foods she likes like yoghurt and apple) so I think I just feel really unprepared at the moment cos all of the food I'd frozen thinking it'd last for awhile is gone, and she doesn't really have any variety left at the moment...need to do some cooking but not sure what to buy next...ahhh!!! :dizzy:

hayleylea
24-10-2008, 15:50
lala you can feed her pretty much anything you feel comfortable feeding her. You can add meat to their diet - just make sure its not too fatty. Mango is good. But i wouldnt feed her alot of it.most recipies say to add say 80% apple and 10% mango. Its just enough taste but not too strong if you know what i mean. What you feed your baby also depends on what stage she is at...how many teeth does she have? and if she attempts to 'chew' her food. Shelley had a vegimite sandwhich for lunch and devoured it. She only has 2 teeth but she gum chews all her food (even if its custard! :laughing:) Teeth dont really matter - most babies gum their food anyway. My motto is use your common sense and watch baby eat. If she likes it, chews it, and digests it its fine. Eating table foods is reccommended from about this age anyway. So if you have made something and you think it might be ok for baby - try them with a little bit. Look for her reaction. just make sure its tender - soft. If you can, mash it a little if you feel more comfortable with that. We had meat loaf the other night and Shelley kept trying to get ours so we gave her a bit cut into a finger. She ate it fine. Spag bol is a pretty easy first table food for little ones too. Just make sure its not too rich. Apricot chicken is a good one and it freezes well!stemed vegies are good too if you want to move on to not having to puree your food. Hope ive helped and not confused you anymore! You were right stay away from citrus fruits

3Divas&me
24-10-2008, 17:03
Lala- Phoebe is still not eating very much- She loves anything she can hold and eat herself- like arrowroot bibbies- and intstead of teething ruskd I got the cheesy vegiemite sticks- says for 1-3 years- but I dont leave her alone with it.
Phoebe just does not like much of anything she is very cautious when something goes in here mouth- has a very worried look on her face- it is so weird as the other 2 girls were gr8 eaters!

Phoebe is moving around heaps on her back- hates her belly. Saw her today roll over to her belly to reach something- she pulled it in then rolled back on her back and continued to play- she will never learn to crawl if she keeps doing that!!

2SPUNKRATZ
24-10-2008, 20:06
hey girls. Aali still has just 2 teeth. i can see 2 on the top, and shes teething like mad, but htey just havnt come through yet. they are causing her pain to. poor bub.
i am slightly cautious about giving her anything dairy like yoghurt. marius was massively lactose intolerant and i dont want her to have the same kinda reaction as he did. it wasnt pretty. so for now im happy sticking with fruit,veg and some red meat. (she refuses chicken and fish at this point but will keep trying her with it) i have been trying to get her to eat home cooked stuff and she has flat out refused but tonight she ate pureed beef, pumpkin, corn, peas, cauliflower, broccoli, spinach and potato. was a big mix that i made adn seperated into freezer portions to try. woot, she ate the lot. i was so pleased. made me feel a lot better. i thought maybe it was my fault she didnt want it before. dont know what has changed her mind though. but its cool anyways.

gotta get the little ones to bed. sorry i dont get a lot of chance to write these days. i do read all the time, but writing aint that easy anymore. so many distractions.

xxoo

hope everyone keeps well.

lala7
24-10-2008, 20:32
Thanks guys. I'll have to have a big cooking day tomorrow (somehow....in all that time I have! :laughing:). Jess what were the signs of marius being lactose intolerant? I was kinda worried about giving her the yoghurt too but I wanted to just give her something new, and she loves it but I still worry about it a bit.

Alexi still doesn't have any teeth at all - although she's been 'teething' her whole life :laughing: drooling and chewing on things like crazy. I keep waiting for them to appear but they're taking their sweet time!

3divas maybe phoebe will just crawl along on her back!

Alexi has done some gross :barf: today - when will it ever stop??!!!

2SPUNKRATZ
25-10-2008, 07:52
Jess what were the signs of marius being lactose intolerant?

hey sweety.if she has had yoghurt and has seemed fine then she will be fine. when we discovered his lactose intolerance he had had his first bottle of formula and vomited like crazy for a few hours till it was all out. we werent sure if it was the bottle or a bug at the time, so a week later gave him another bottle and sure enough, same thing happened again. then we took him to the dr about it and voila, lactose intolerant. i wasnt overly surprised, i dont tolerate it very well, niether do either of my sisters or my mum or my husband for that matter. we can all only use skim milk. anything else and we get really sore crampy tummy and sometimes worse. marius ended up on soy yoghurt and soy milk for quite a while. now he can have it but only in really small doses. so considering the level of intolerance in my family, im sure you can understand why i am so nervous about testing her with such things.

chippy
25-10-2008, 08:12
Lala we are only still on veg and fruit. Some different ones are choko, parsnip, corn, peas, watermelon (Taylor loves this in her mesh dummy), rockmelon, paw paw, plum, star fruit. Brown and white rice are good to add to veg but taylor won't touch it. I have started just mashing with a fork. The only thing I still puree is apple. I might try her on yogourt today. Ant we are not doing meats till next month. (8). At 8 months we will do fish first, lentils, cheese. We haven't given her any finger foods yet, not even rusks.

3Divas&me
25-10-2008, 09:14
Finger foods is all Phoebe seems to be interested in... might go get one of those mesh dummies today and try some different fruits.

chippy
25-10-2008, 18:41
Finger foods is all Phoebe seems to be interested in... might go get one of those mesh dummies today and try some different fruits.

Haha Thats cute. Taylor is sooo not ready. She just opens her mouth and closes it for food, then opens again for more, with all the last food still in there. This goes on and on until I think it slips down the back of her throat when its too full.

Poor thing got sooo tired today, we went out all day for the first time so she only got bits of sleep in the pram. She was a mess in the car on the way home, we had to pull up twice to console her. I felt like the worst Mum in the world. :gloomy:

hayleylea
25-10-2008, 19:35
Chippy -:hugs: We all have them moments when we feel like the worst mum in the world! We arent though :) First all day outing can be hard, but just think its another thing over and done with :D

3Divas - Shelley will grab ANY food that we have. And straight in her gob! we had a 'teddy bears picnic' in the back yard today. Something to keep my 3 year old busy lol. And we made apple and cinnamon muffins, We had them on a little plate for Cooper, me and the 'teddies' We turn our back for 5 second and look back and Shelley had already eating half of one! :laughing: We had to move them away from her because she kept grabbing them and taking bit out of them :rolleyes: Its so much easier when they are onto finger foods. A good old sanga for lunch, and no mush lol. Shelley still enjoys her pureed food too though.

OK im off to bed im buggered tonight!

rubyrags
25-10-2008, 19:59
:wave: Hi Guys have caught up on posts phew all babies are growing well...

I had the biggest scare this morning Emma fell out her high chair of course I hadnt strapped her in :( we had never strapped her in - now we do.... She was ok just shocked I was ok just shocked :laughing: shocks all around.

Chippy - it is hard isnt it when they are over tired and you just want to help them...

:goodvibes: to all of you and your families

sara86
26-10-2008, 13:21
hello girls....
The last few days i have been giving Grace a sandwich for lunch, just with a little Nuttlex margarine on it cos i wasnt sure what else i can put on it. & she just LOVES it, its so messy though haha. i also give her a baton of cheese too, she loves cheese too.
I know a vegemite sandwich is a classic kids favourite, but is it ok for a 7month old to have?? any suggestions would be appreciated...
Grace is also SO SO SO close to crawling, she started getting up on her hands and tippee toes heres a pic... (excuse the mess we were cleaning out cupboards at the time!)
http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/96/spidercrawlth9.jpg

Now she is pulling her knees up under her, so she is on all fours, and she can move her hands but cant get her legs moving forward just yet!! im so excited for her to be learning to crawl but at the same time i know that once she gets the hang of it there will be no stopping her and ill have to keep such a close eye on her,

Jules16
26-10-2008, 14:10

I'm so sorry I haven't been around much. Have just been catching up on all your posts.

Chippy - Yeah I feel like the worst Mum too when Blake gets over tired and cries in the car. :hugs: I think it wouldnt hurt for Taylor to perhaps have another nap around 4.30 or 5.00 pm perhaps? Maybe for half an hour? I used to do that with Blake, but his afternoon nap is later now so we don't need to.

Lala - Blake also eats a lot of finger food. We steam sticks of carrot, big pieces of brocolli, zucchini, potato, etc. and just lay them on his try and he just goes for it. It's messy but it's great to watch them develop. His favourite is tomato quarters and orange. You have to watch them of course though. He does cough a bit but it's a learning thing for them. He's never choked. If he gets a big piece in his mouth and he just spits it out if he can't handle it. I give him porridge/banana for breaky, some finger food for lunch and usually some rice cereal and pureed veg for tea (when he's most tired).

3Divas - I hope you are feeling better soon. That sounds sore.

Ruby - how scary for you!! :hugs:

We've had a bit of a rough week. We were supposed to go to Perth to visit my niece last week but we all get hit with an awful gastro bug and had to cancel. Not impressed. Poor Blake still has the runs!! So am hoping to go in a couple of weeks. Just want Blake to get well now after his bad run of croup and gastro.

3Divas&me
26-10-2008, 15:28
Morgan- hope you all get better soon so you can make that trip!- What wasw bubs name size etc- always interested.

Hayley- lol at Shelley and the muffins- sounds like you have to be quick!:laughing:

Sara86- I have given poebe vegiemite sandwiches- she loves it- she has had penutbutter too- mum gave it to her- I said what if shes allergic and mum said its ok I am a peadiatric nurse- I can do cpr til the ambulance arrives- lol- seriously I am not that reckless:laughing:

Ruby- :hugs: to Emma- same thing happened to me last year with dd2 when she was 9 months old.

Went on a bbq picnic today. Phoebe had a go on the swings- she really enjoyed it- cant believe she is old enough now to do that stuff- where have the last 7 months gone?
I am sad as she is my last and dh is booked in for the snippy snip snip next week- so that will make things a bit more final.

hayleylea
26-10-2008, 17:38

Sara - wow definately looks like Grace is almost up and crawling!!!! Shelley just rolls everywhere. And manueveres herself all over the place. She can almost sit up from the lying down position now by herself, she is so close! Shelley has vegimite sandwhiches too, and vegimite toast! She loves it. I know its high in salt but hey we are australian :laughing::D

Morganj - I got hit with a gastro bug too! i ended up in hospital for the night on a drip and shots of maxalon!!!! It was horrible!!!! It was the week and a half while DF was home too! he got it but neither of the kids did which was so lucky!

3divas - sorry to hear your feeling a bit sad about this being your last :hugs:

InSaneOne
26-10-2008, 18:10
as long as its only a little bit of vegemite it should be ok. i use the cream cheese spread on daniels sandwiches. (he usually steals beth's toast)

3divas - i want dh to have a snip too as he has said no more and i am happy with my 2. but he keeps putting it off.

well i had better dash - time for dinner

sara86
26-10-2008, 20:18
Thanks everyone, i will give Grace a vegemite sandwich tomorow, and cheese spread is a good idea too, so ill give that a go in a couple of days! Im usually not picky with what i give her, ill pretty much let her try anything, and there is no food allergies in our family at all so i think thats why im pretty relaxed with what she eats as well.
She is getting such strong-minded and determined little thing. she hardly sleeps during the day anymore, even when shes rubbing her eyes and they are a bit red from being tired she just doesnt give in! and its not like im making her stay up, at the first signs of tiredness or when its been a couple of hours since her last sleep ill try and calm her down and get her off to sleep but nothing seems to work! its driving me crazy and its so exhausting! yesterday between 7.30am (when she woke up) and about 8pm (when she went to bed) she had probably a total of 1.5hours sleep...usually she has between 3 and 4.5hrs! she just doesnt want to miss out on anything, such a sticky beak wants to be up interacting with everyone! ohh i dunno what im gunna do... Could she be not sleeping from teething??
Morgan ~ you poor things! gastro is terrible, nothing worse than having the runs! and it makes you just feel crappy too doesnt it (hahaha no pun intended!!)

InSaneOne
26-10-2008, 21:10
i find that if daniel won't sleep i wrap him up in my sling and hold him and rock back and forth in front of the tv. i sit on the edge of the bed so i am comfy too. putting my mouth near his ear (chin on the top of his head) i just keep saying shhhh, shhh over and over and within 5 minutes he is asleep. it helps too if nobody talks - the tv is ok but not a person that is present.

Jules16
27-10-2008, 08:56
Sara - we haven't tried vegemite as yet. Other nice fillings though are mashed banana or mashed avocado apparently. Am going to try the banana this week. Sorry to hear about the lack of sleep - that does sound exhausting. You poor thing. Blake didn't sleep too well today - am wondering if it's a tooth or perhaps the heat.

Hayley - you poor thing. That sounds awful. We have no family here in Victoria and DH had to go to work for half the day for an important meeting and I remember just looking at him walking out the door thinking pleeease nooooo!! I can't do this!! It was awful. Am going to look into emergency nanny services in the area I think. Hope you are all better now anyway.

3Divas - our Blake is more into finger food now too. If I want to give him puree I have to load the spoon and give it to him, and sometimes some of it actually goes in the mouth - lol!! It's funny to watch. Sorry to hear about DH having the snip! :hugs:

lala7
27-10-2008, 12:26
happybirthday to me!!! My first birthday as a mummy :)

hayley :laughing: at eating the muffin! So cheeky! They just want everything don't they!!

rubyrags you poor thing about little Emma falling out of her high chair - that would've been very scary for you. And her!

Sara such a cute photo! Alexi is doing the same but is still just going backwards :laughing: She needs reverse lights!

I didn't realise they could have sandwiches already - is the bread okay for them? Even if they don't have teeth? I've finally got the hang of this puree stuff and now it's time to move on...ahhh!! :laughing:

Morgan you poor thing about the gastro :hugs: it seems to have been going around. It actually got really hot last week and I felt bad for telling you to bring winter pj's! But now it's gotten a bit cooler again...still crazy weather but we've been putting Alexi in summer pj's most nights for the past week so might be worth bringing some whenever you get here.

My boobs have been going crazy lately. They've started getting really full again and sometimes really sore too...not sure why as they'd settled down before? Maybe cos she's a bit all over the place with her feeds? I don't know. She's also not feeding properly anymore - she's getting soooo distracted and is hardly on there for any time at all. I'm wondering if she's reducing the amount of milk she wants now that she's eating more solids as she's become a bit of a piggy with that!

3Divas&me
27-10-2008, 19:53
happybirthday Lala- hope you hadf a gr8 day with your little girl!

Phoebe has been a bit of a nightmare for my mum today- had to work- 6 period day, meeting at recess so had to give her a quick feed during lunch- which was only about 20 minutes that I could spare! Then meeting after work- did not get home til 4:30- she hardly slept today- hardly ate, as she is reluctant to, and it was 30 degrees outside- getting a bit worried that she will dehydrate if she doesnt start taking something soon.

2SPUNKRATZ
27-10-2008, 21:38
sorry, no time to chat, just checking in, letting you all know i am still here, still reading everyones posts, still kickin on. xxoo to all. i will write more soon, i am just soooooooooooo tired right now and wanna go to bed. :sleeping:

2SPUNKRATZ
28-10-2008, 09:00
just incase i dont get time to come on tomorrow,

OMG, my baby girl is 8 mths old!!!!! where did that time go ?! :confused:

3Divas&me
28-10-2008, 12:39
OMG Jess, 8 months old already- thats just flown- and also made me realise Phoebe is only 2 and a bit weeks off that!:eek:

chippy
28-10-2008, 20:15
And I just realized Phoebe was born the day before Taylor! I can't believe they are almost 8 months old.

Does anyone else get the 'small talk' magazine? Oh wait, its just a QLD Govt thing. Its been my bible anyway lol.

I think tay has an ingrown toenail. Is this possible at her age? do you know what I should do? I suffer from them but I wuld have thought her nails are so soft they wouldn't bother her. Its red and a bit swollen tonight.

chippy
28-10-2008, 20:20
Sorry I can't get my signature to work....yet, so just wasting space and checking:goodvibes:

Jules16
28-10-2008, 21:27
Wow!! Yeah 8 months is scary!! It's gone so fast!! You just have to treasure every day don't you. Well since Blake has been sick I can see he's got used to the idea now of being comforted quite regularly on the breast. Hmmm. Joy oh joy!!

3Divas&me
29-10-2008, 15:29
Ouch chippy- in-grown toenail- I really dont know what to do:confused:

Morgan- yep the joys of booby hey? Although it makes comforting very easy- not too much hassel iykwim.

Jules16
29-10-2008, 21:02
3Divas - yeah the booby does make comforting very easy. That's why I'm hesitant to give it up. I actually did attempt to wean just recently but I think it upset his tum with the gastro etc. and he got the runs real bad after each bottle of formula. So I've put it off for another week or two. Am thinking of just giving him one or two bottles of formula a day. I actually have lost a lot of weight and need to give myself a break.

My SIL had a baby girl, Mia Claire, born 3.6 kg on the 15th October.

Can't wait to meet her. Have rescheduled our flights for 20 November!! :thumbsup:

3Divas&me
29-10-2008, 21:12
Morgan- I am loving the b/fing and the weightloss myself- almost back to the weight I was before I fell pg with dd1- have been 20 kilos over that weight after having dd1 and never ever got back- so extremely happy with those efforts (have been doing ww and lots and lots of exercise too)- I do remember you saying though that you had lost a bit too much- can definately takes it toll on your body.
Cutting down your feeds will still give you the option to b/f and f/f. With dd2 last year as I weaned her I ended up b/fing morning and night and f/fing during the day- it worked quite well for us.

Phoebe actually ate a whole bowl of custard and apple tonight- the most she has ever eaten in one sitting- we might actually be getting somewhere with the solids:yelclap: She also had an icecream yesterday and nearly ate the lot!! Was so hot here I thought Why Not!!

hayleylea
30-10-2008, 07:41
MorganJ- i have lost ALOT of weight too! HEAPS of weight. Im down to a size 10 which i havent been in since high school! It really does take its toll on my body which lots of weight loss. Although im happy with my weight now if i loose anymore i htink i might have to wean aswell!

Jules16
30-10-2008, 08:14
Thanks ladies. I'm the same as you Hayley. I just don't feel like I've been myself since the operation in August. I've lots 5kg since the operation, and I'm ten kilo lighter then I was before I fell pregnant. Everyone is commenting that I'm fading away (not that I look great). I wish I'd kept all my skinny clothes now, clothes I never dreamt of ever being able to wear again! Lol.

Blake is also very difficult on the breast, even more so at his bedtime feed. He just seems to pull on and off in frustration and cries etc. I am thinking this is the feed I really need to do with a bottle as he is just too tired I think to put in the effort. I'm going to try a late afternoon nap today to see if that helps. It make for a very tiring bedtime though and I'm shattered by the time he's in bed and just want to crawl into bed myself. Am going to wait another week now his poos are more solid and try the formula again and see if it upsets him again.

3Divas - great news that you are happy with your weight loss though. That's great news. Well done.

The mix of f/f and b/f sounds good. I'm wondering now though if the bottle is making Blake lazy and that's why he's getting even more frustrated with the boob.

Thanks for listening.

porridge
30-10-2008, 08:22
hey guys - sorry I haven't posted in a bit, have just read the last couple of pages...

weightloss - I was happy with bfing and losing weight but I now none of my clothes fit and am walking a fine line between ok and doing too much (resulting in being too tired and feeling sick)... bf is so convenient though and tbh I don't think we could afford to go to ff...

ingrown toenails - DS1 has problems with his big toes - just like DH!! Just be sure to keep them short, but don't cut the corners out cos that makes it worse sometimes. If they get pussy go see your gp. Poor little girl chippy!

I can't believe how old our bubs are getting! the time has flown!

My sister and I had our Girls Night In on Monday night - was great! We raised $1674 so pretty happy with that :D

Anyway... better go and get ready - have play group in 45 mins and I'm not even dressed yet - Arch is still asleep and Griff is still in his pj's!

toodles

3Divas&me
30-10-2008, 21:59
Very quiet day it seems.

Morgan- very possible that Blake is getting frustrated with booby as it is more work than the bottle. You have to do what you are comfy with and what you are ready for aswell.

Hayley- Woohoo for the size 10- So much more exercise too with 2 littles ones to run around after- I know mine keep me on my toes- oh and have been walking around the Mt too- thats a good one:thumbsup:

Porridge- IKWYM about the convenience and affordability of b/fing- is so much cheaper if you can do it. When dd2 went on f/f it cost me an extra 20$ a week on top of nappies and wipes and food and everything else. Well done on the Girls Night In- thats a fantastic total you raised- well done.

Not much to report myself. Just working and exercising alot lately- get the kids in the pram and just walk- I love it, they love it- and the weather has been so nice for it.

sara86
31-10-2008, 09:08
Hello to all, hope everyone is well, just wanted to let you know that...........

:smiliedance: Grace is now officially crawling :smiliedance:

:yelclap::yelclap::yelclap: for my clever little girl!

hayleylea
31-10-2008, 12:03
YAY for Grace what a clever little girl!!! :yelclap:

Shelley is trying deperatley to crawl but not quite there - she gets the sh!ts and just gives up and rolls :laughing: DS didnt crawl till 10 months so im not holding my breath with Shelley.

Check out her pics on my website (signature below) she was 'cheer leading' it was hillarious!

Shelley now claps her hands when i say 'clap hands' its so cute. She thinks she is so clever.

3divas - your keen walking around the mount...the sound of it just exahusts me :laughing:

I agree with everyone about how cheap BF is. It definatley saves us money. Ill probably ween around 11.5 months onto cows milk. For someone that wasnt going to breastfeed past 3 months i think im doing pretty good! :thumbsup:

Ok better head off.

3Divas&me
31-10-2008, 13:16
:yelclap: Well done grace with your crawling!!

Phoebe is so lazy- often (like now) when we put her on the ground, she rolls up over to her side and falls asleep:laughing:!! It is actually quite funny as the other 2 girls never ever once fell asleep in the middle of the floor!

3Divas&me
31-10-2008, 13:23
Hayley- your photos are really lovely- you must have a pretty good camera- they look like they are good quality. So funny seeing all the familiar landmarks in your photos! We might have to do a meet up at the park one day:thumbsup:

InSaneOne
31-10-2008, 13:53
well daniel did his first hands and knees crawl this morning. he has been doing the comando crawl for a few months now sliding around on our tiled floors but he actually did a proper one today :smiliedance:

i had a horrible morning - i took the kids back to the drs to get daniel checked out from his UTI last week and now the dr has to send him for more tests. another pee test plus a blood test and a kidney and bladder ultrasound - so its off to the mater childrens on monday so we can get all them done. i am so exhausted. plus i think he is teething so he has been really cranky and just wants to be held all the time.

i am also having problems with daniel feeding from the boob. he has gotten lazy and won't even feed from me anymore :crying: i so wanted to keep feeding him as it is so much more convienent and cheaper. but he hasn't fed from the boob for over 3 weeks now and i am still producing heaps of milk. they get so sore that i just have to express a little and work out any lumps that are forming. the stupid drs won't/can't give me anything to help dry me up faster either:hissy:

well i am off to have a nap while i can. have a happy halloween everyone!

3Divas&me
31-10-2008, 14:00
:yelclap: To Daniel for crawling today too!! Hope Daniel is ok- BB&D what are they checking for?

InSaneOne
31-10-2008, 14:07
i don't know - the stupid indian dr is a real idiot (but the only one available to see) he didn't tell me what the tests were checking for only that in a child so young they had to do extra tests. they have to do a blood test and a pee test and an ultrasound on his bladder and kidneys - to check for further infections i suppose.

hayleylea
31-10-2008, 14:37
3divas - i have a canon SLR digital camera - its awesome!! My pride and joy lol. Yeah we will definatley have to catch up at the park one day!

BB&D - yay for daniel crawling!!! Not so good about the tests - I hope everything is ok. Poor little man :(

all this talk about Breastfeeding - Shelley has started BITING ME!!! OMG it kills!!!!!!!! she is doing it almost every feed and if she keeps going i dunno if i can take it. She has her two bottom teeth and they are sooo sharp. I think if she is biting me with them 2 i cant imagine how it will feel when she has her 2 top ones! :eek: I actually think thats why she might be 'biting' - I mean Cooper use to bite the bottle when he was teething and im pretty sure she is getting her top ones so maybe she i just trying to soothe her gums? Dunno i hope its short lived though!

OK i better go. Talk soon.

2SPUNKRATZ
31-10-2008, 17:48
just checkin in. so much not to good stuff going on in my house.

hayley - as harsh as it seems, when she bites you, give her a firm but not hard pat on the bum and say in a firm voice, "ouch, no, that hurts mummy, dont do it". did that with Aali and she hasnt bitten whilst feeding since. except when i have tried to feed her when she wasnt hungry.

chippy
31-10-2008, 18:46
Just wanted to add that sage dries up breastmilk (its extremely oestrogenic). The tea 3 times a day or the capsules. Most of the time it will take 5-6 days and is irreversable, so make sure you are certain before you do it. You can get it from any health food store or pharmacy. :)

chippy
31-10-2008, 18:49
Oh and Hayley I have the same camera as you! They are sooo worth the money huh. You just point and shoot and your a professional photographer already lol.

3Divas&me
31-10-2008, 20:03
Have been talking to dh about getting a new camera, thought I might put my $1000 per child back into the economy by buying one in December:laughing:

Jess- hope all is ok at home

hayleylea
31-10-2008, 21:20
Chippy - yep DEFINATLEY worth the money - 3Divas i highly recommend them if you after a new camera :D

is that $1000 per child?

lala7
01-11-2008, 12:04
I have one of those cameras too - they're really good.

BB&D that must be pretty stressful - I hope he's okay and you get it all sorted.

Hayley OUCH about the biting. Alexi yanks on my nipples but doesn't have any teeth yet so it's not quite so bad - not looking forward to when she does.

I don't know if Alexi's been having intolerance to some foods - she's been a little more grizzly than normal and I'm wondering if her tummy is hurting as her poos are getting more solid. I don't know whether that's normal when their digestive systems are getting used to things, or whether I'm giving her something that's upsetting her? So hard to tell.

She is soooo clingy at the moment - she doesn't want to go to anyone else. I find it kind of cute for the moment but we'll see how long that lasts! I've heard that it's normal for them to get a bit of stranger anxiety and separation anxiety about now (7 months).

Her hayfever symptoms seem to be back again. The chemist said babies can get hayfever and gave me some stuff to give her. I don't really like giving her medication, but I don't want her suffering either.

Hens night tonight - very stressed about leaving Alexi....ahhh!!!

3Divas&me
01-11-2008, 15:09
Hayley- yep $1000 per child apparently:yelclap: and Mr Rudd says spend it- put it back into the economy!!!:laughing:

Lala- Not sure about the digestive system and passing of foods as you introduce solids- makes sense though- cant really comment as Phoebe is only really having the smallest amount of solids still- booby girl all the way! Have a gr8 night out:thumbsup:

InSaneOne
02-11-2008, 10:55
Her hayfever symptoms seem to be back again. The chemist said babies can get hayfever and gave me some stuff to give her. I don't really like giving her medication, but I don't want her suffering either.

i was told i can give daniel 1ml of the infant claratyne once a day to help with his hayfever. it really seems to help. he is fine in the morning but after lunchtime he starts getting bad so i found if i give him some with his lunch (i put it in with his water - only 20-40mls) and after he drinks it he is so much better. his eyes stop watering and he stops sneezing.

it looks like a cold is doing the rounds again here too. i woke up feeling not the best an daniel and beth have snotty noses again - i am so over the kids being sick.

Jules16
02-11-2008, 12:28

BB&D - yeah I hear you. Sorry to hear the kids are sick again! :hugs: It's so tiring isn't it.

We have a Canon SLR too - they are fantastic. Well hubby is a photographer so we actually have a few. Although I still wouldn't be without my tiny point and shoot which fits perfectly in the handbag.

3Divas - is everyone getting $1,000 per child?

It seems Blake's reflux is playing up again. The last few nights I've given him his solids a bit later so that we can all eat together, but it doesn't seem to be agreeing with him. He seems to not cope too well with going to bed with so much food inside him. I've been trying to change our evening routine around so Blake isn't so tired when he goes to bed as he's impossible to feed when he's so tired. I've tried a 5.00 pm power nap but then he won't settle too well when he goes to bed. I think I might just have to resort to giving him a bottle at bed time as it's just impossible to breastfeed when he's so tired - he gets very frustrated with it. I haven't tried the formula since his gastro (when he got awful diarhea from it) so now he's back to normal I'll try it again and see if it still upsets him. Last night we were up at 10, 11.30, 1.30, 3.30, and then thankfully he slept until 7. I'm so tired. Poor DH has to shoot a wedding today aswell.

3Divas&me
02-11-2008, 14:03
:hugs: Morgan- reflux is the pits, dd1 had it and did not ease til she was about 11 months. As far as I am aware everyone who receives ftb part a gets the $1000 per child.

Jules16
02-11-2008, 20:59
I haven't applied for family allowance yet. Is Part A based on income?

chippy
03-11-2008, 08:48
Sorry to hear about the sick babes, it must be soooo exhausting.

Morganj we are reeeeaaaly struggling with the afternoon naps too. Its hard huh. Taylor wants to cut back to 2 sleeps a day, but she has them both before 12, leaving 5-6 hours of misery. Poor thing is so very tired by 4 but won't sleep till bedtime. We are hard pressed keeping her up till 5.30pm. We have tried delaying her morning sleeps but she just cries and its not fair on her. If you figure it our please let me know!

Other than that she is great, eating apple like there's no tomorrow. The cheaky brat has 4 mouthfulls of dinner, like she knows she has to in order to get desert (apple), where she scoffs till I refuse to give her anymore!

Questions:

- Am I meant to do the above? Is she too young to understand no veg=no fruit? I think she is but what do I do? Let her go hungry till she has her milk?

-Do you keep feeding till they stop? Because she would eat anything sweet till she vomited if I let her. I don't want to set up bad eating habbits, but is denying food better?

-I am always giving her new stuff, which she sometimes doesn't like. Do I still then throw it out and make her something I know she will eat?

I don't think i'll ever get a handle on solids! Lala how are you going with it?

lala7
03-11-2008, 11:38
:smiliedance: Alexi did really well during the hens night!!! She went to sleep for my parents and did wake up twice before I got home, but was able to go back to sleep quickly. And then once I was home she still didn't even wake for a feed all night so she slept through the night until 8am :smiliedance: She did wake at 4.30 though and start rocking back and forth on her hands and knees and turning her music box on and off....it was funny cos I was in the room with her and watching but she didn't know it :laughing:

So I feel soooo relieved now that everything went well. I got a really sore back on Friday - it just spasmed and then went tight and I couldn't move and I think it was stress about this because now it feels better. One down, just 2 weddings to go now....ahh!!

Morgan that sucks about the reflux, especially cos it's keeping you all up at night too. Could it be a certain food causing the problem?

Alexi struggles with afternoon sleeps too. Sometimes she'll go down after 3 but often not, and even when she does she usually wakes up after only half an hour and is not normally happy like when she wakes up other times. I have no idea why.

Chippy I've wondered the same thing about feeding. Alexi loves apple too (and pear and yoghurt) and I usually have to stop her when eating them cos she just seems to keep going and going cos she likes them, whereas with other foods like potato and stuff it's more of a struggle to get her to eat. I find it hard to know if she's had enough but I kind of just base it on the amounts she's been eating in the past and don't let her go too much past that in one day, so gradually let her have a bit more over a few days. But I have no idea. It's just guessing.

Solids are going okay, much better now that she's eating them but it's hard to keep up with all the cooking, and I'm finding that I'm giving her apple and pear everyday for lunch cos she likes it, and her new veg in the morning, but I think I need to give her a variety in the afternoon too. Sometimes I feel like it's going well, and other times I still feel totally out of my element and worry that I'm not giving her enough, or enough variety :hair:

Oh Alexi slept through the night again last night :smiliedance: - 8 until 7.30. I sooooooo hope she doesn't go backwards again, and that this time it sticks :fingerscrossed:

Jules16
03-11-2008, 13:03
Lala - that's awesome news about Alexi sleeping through. What a clever girl! You must feel on top of the world.

Chippy - we went back to our previous evening routine of feeding Blake his solids at 5.00 pm and putting him to bed at 7.00 pm and he's settling a better now. He has a nap around 9ish until 11ish and then goes down again about 1ish until about 3 or so. I was trying to fit in another power nap at 5.00 pm to stop him being so tired at bed time but it just wasn't working for us. He was too awake at bed time, so I've scrapped that idea.

The reflux seems to have settled down now that I've spaced out his feeds a bit more during the day and have brought back his tea from 6pm to 5pm, which is a relief. He's still throwing up a bit (not huge but just little bit like reflux type vomits) so it's either 'cos he's got a cold or he's teething, as apparently both of these can flare up reflux. Still no teeth yet but lots of signs that they are coming... one day.

I'm off to cook up a ministrone for Blake's tea. I found a recipe so I might cook up a large batch and freeze some. As far as amounts go, I just usually go with about two or three table spoons. Just increase it slowly depending on how much he is taking. He has his fruit with his breakfast (with his porridge) but has meat, pasta, rice and veg for his other meals. Although I usually don't give him meat with his tea as I like to keep this meal simple so it doesn't upset him.

The good news is he had a bottle of formula again last night and it didn't upset him, so might start trying that each evening. He guzzled it down actually! Hope everyone is having a good day.

hayleylea
03-11-2008, 14:00
here i was searching for baby food recipies when i stumbled across one that I started when DS was 9 months lol. Silly me. http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=31344 check it out if your after some recipes :D

InSaneOne
03-11-2008, 14:40
wow some great recipes there.

i am off to try some now for ds.

just a q's tho - can you freeze portions of fish? i don't have a lot of time in the evenings as that is when dh gets home tired and the kids are grumpy too. i like things that i can just heat up.

hayleylea
03-11-2008, 14:53
hmmm. Good question BB&D - whenever i was making fish for DS i would just make it on the spot. not sure about freezing it... someone out there might know though. Im a bit iffy with seafood etc...

Jules16
03-11-2008, 15:42
I tend to give Blake his big meal with meat for his lunch, when he's not so tired. I usually give him something easy like some ministrone soup or steamed veg from the freezer which is easy to heat up.

I cooked up a dish called fish lyonnaise and have frozen that up in portions and haven't had any problems. So I reckon it's fine to freeze cooked fish for sure.

InSaneOne
03-11-2008, 16:03
morganj - can you post the recipe you use for your fish?