View Full Version : Feb 08 mummies chat :) #2
izziesmum
21-09-2008, 19:54
Posting my weekly update....seriously I don't know where my time goes and still haven't caught up with the washing and ironing from our holiday!
Morgsmum, don't wanna hear about too much sleep, there's no such thing! Izzie's still calling out at least three times a night. The upside is I'm only feeding once a night so I can get DH to tend to her as well!
Tillieandbug sounds as though Holden's going to be an early walker! Lucky you! Izzie's just started pulling herself up on the couch and actually did her first proper crawl today! Time to start child proofing! Don't know about how Holden reacts but she thinks she soo smart!
Demeter, hope the studies are going well!
Ofiona, so glad you're having a few wins! Know a horrible story about a toddler who escaped from home when mum had a migrane and medicated herself, if only she'd known about child proof doors I'm sure her life would be much better now! So glad you sorted that one cos I'd hate to hear of a repeat!
Glad Mackenzie's sleeping for you! You're an amazing woman for all you've been through and I love to read your stories!
Sparrowgal, hope Erika's better. My routine goes out the window when my DH is home...which is often as he only works a three day week! Don't know about lazy, I reckon it's just because they don't think! Still trying to train DH to follow the same routine but at least they try!
And to all you brave souls out there who are pregnant again.....OMG and good luck! Was asked today when I would have another one (seems to be the standard question when you have your first) and I was speechless! I haven't really given it much thought yet, although I suppose you have to do the deed first and considering our amount of sleep deprivation I doubt it will be any time soon!
Well, Izzie's chugging along. She did her first proper crawl today and was sooo pleased with herself it made us both laugh! She's still not sleeping :hair:(I know I'm boring you but this seems to be the biggest hurdle for us and all the calls to Tweedle have not helped much!) and she's still not really eating! She has a good pitching arm though, whenever I give her a spoon with something on it, it always ends up half way across the room! Can't 'feed her' cos she flaps her arms and shakes her head, real temper on her! I know I shouldn't be worried about her not eating but the MCHN has made me worry that she's falling off her standard curve! Suppose we'll see in a few weeks when she get's weighed in.
She had her vaccinations this week, late I know, but with her being sick and us being away it was the first opportunity. Well we had problems again with her spiking a temperature. Was wondering if anyone else has had the same thing and will it keep happening each time?
Anyway, thanks for reading, sorry for the long post but I haven't been on in a while! :ecomcity:
yummyyumyums - it's beautiful to hear how much you're in love with your little girl. And congrats on your pregnancy! I must admit, though DH and I are pretty much decided on two, I've been craving the belly and birth experience again. I see pregnant bellies and feel like I'm almost grieving.
kaidensMum - welcome back! Can't wait to hear more from you.
Sparrowgal - hate losing posts! It used to happen to me heaps. Now if I'm typing a long post I do it in notepad and paste it in when it's finished ;) The upright thing is hard. Bridget had a little cold last week and was the same. My neck was terrible from sleeping upright all night. My chiro had my head on a platter! But she knows there was little else I could do.
Two Little Buggalugs - they really are all so different aren't they? Don't worry about nutrients. They get everything they need from their milk till they are about 12mths. Food is just for fun at the moment.
morgsmum - another preggie belly. I'm really starting to crave it! I hope your sister and her bub are going well.
ofiona - I'll get my DH to talk to yours. He's talking about getting the "wires cut" soon. I'm a little hesitant. I know it's on the cards, and we've pretty much said two is nice and comfy, but there's a little part of me wants to hold onto our fertility. Don't know... I need to work on letting go. Maybe I should become a doula so I have an outlet ;) I hear ya on the doors - I have to keylock our security door through the day, and I have childproof covers on the handles to the laundry, bathrooms etc. Will is an absolute houdini! How are you going with Kate's treatments? what was the brain mix treatment you referred to? We've started testing things out, since Will's behaviour has stabilised. So far so good with bits of gluten, amines, antioxidants, glutamates and a few salicylates. We still need to do the corn treatment, which we are doing on Tuesday. Can't wait, so many products have maize products in them it's really hard! I'm not going to overdo anything though. Still keeping it on a small scale.
TillieandBug - Holden sounds like he's going great guns! I can't wait till Bridget is ready for toast etc. Things are getting lumpier, which is great. We've been to a couple of weddings the past few weeks, and it's been nice to just give her bits of mash etc off my fork, or a bean to munch on. I missed all that with Will, as he just didn't eat till much later.
izziesmum - yay for her first crawl! I love how pleased they get with their achievements. I wouldn't worry about food yet, if she's happy then just feed her when she wants. That's MHO anyway. I find health nurses are quick to scare good mummies with stats and outdated research.
DS used to have a temp spike after vaxes, but we haven't done any of Bridget's yet. We're doing the first of her 2mo vaxes this week, so we'll see. But might not happen to her because we're only doing one needle at a time.
Bridget is just a treasure. The happiest little thing. She still rarely cries. Wakes once a night for a one minute top up, then it's straight back down. She says "mumumum" and "dadada", and gabbles a lot. She's also started pushing the activity table around the floor, walking it around. So cute.
We just got back from a few days away, up at our block at Lake Glenmaggie. Well, we stayed on BIL's block because he has a cabin up there with tank water, generator etc. Our block is empty except for LOTS of trees in the most inconvenient places.
Anyway, better go for now. Toodles...
:wave: Hi all it seems like forever since i was in here and it looks like ive got lots to catch up on. Hank is doing well although my bub that has slept all night from 1 week is no more the last 3 weeks he has been waking every night but last night he only woke once for his dummy and lasted the whole night in his bed (been putting him in ours when he wakes) yay so maybe things are turning around. He is doing the bum shuffle around the lounge room but no crawling or pulling himself up yet, he leans forward and swings one leg out sideways and the other gets stuck underneath him then comes the face plant and tears but its fun to watch. He is still loving food any food that he gets his hands on. From quick glance at the posts it seems we have some bubs on the way congrats to all:yelclap:. Will catch up on the posts and talk soon
yummyyumyums
23-09-2008, 12:07
izziesmum - :yelclap: for Izzie's first propper crawl. They look so cute when they start crawling around don't they! I'm sure our little doll won't be far behind Izzie. Yesterday she managed to put one knee forward and push herself forward just a tiny bit, while up on her hands and knees. She looked a little shocked and just plopped herself back down onto her tummy. Lol.
elissas - Bridget sounds just adorable, and what a clever girl! Walking her activity table around! Wow! You gotta love the good sleepers eh! ;)
I hope everyone else is doing well. I'm starting to feel pregnant now! I'm teary and feel icky and blah..
Hugs to all. :hugs:
Hi everyone! It's been so long since I last popped in. Can you believe our babies are around 7 months old!! I can't get my head around it.
I hope everyone's doing well and your lives are wonderful :D
Well, lots has happened on my side. A month ago my husband left me. He called me up while he was working away and told me it was over that he didn't want to do it anymore. One week later he was inlove and with a friend of mine. Hmmm....
Whatever, doing ok with all of that. Honestly happier than I have been in a long time. I do love being single :o:p
Dylan is suprising me everyday! He's mostly shuffling backwards, but has been crawling forwards occasionally. He sits himself up from on his belly. This has all really happened in the last week! It's unbelievable how quickly it can all happen.
No teeth yet, but plenty of bites lol. Which bring me to....
We're still breastfeeding! I'm so happy, I never thought it would happen, but we're still enjoying our lovely bf relationship :valentine:
Alexi is a real little girl now, she interacts with Dylan so well. He's her little mate, he loves her so much too. They sit and laugh at each other .
We've decided to move to Hervey Bay. It's too hard living here with exDH seeing someone else. I have family down there and have always wanted to go back but exDH didn't want to, now I'm free to do what I want! New life here I come :D
Well, duty calls. I'll try and keep in touch more, but once I leave it's going to be hard to get online.
Take care everyone, I think about you all often. xoxoxoxxo :hugs:
Sparrowgal
23-09-2008, 15:05
Hi girls! Wow new thread already, I have to keep going back to the old thread to do all the catchups!
Alicia OMG :hugs: I am sure you are tired of people talking about it and asking if you're ok. I am just glad to see you're here posting, we're all here for you to vent and whatever, and just talk about babies. It must be lovely to be with family down in Hervey Bay! Gosh you know, I live in a city on the coast but I never see the beach or the sea, hoping the seachange is good for you and the kids!
Izziesmum - yay on the crawling! I have no idea what to do about your sleep... I know it can be so frustrating and people think oh your baby is so good why are you whining about this one little thing... I know people hate it but the last 2 weeks Erika has been refusing to be put down - crying when we put her down, so we have had to let her cry to sleep. I feel bad about it so during the day she gets lots of cuddles and attention, and before bedtime she gets lots of it too. I am sure Tweedle has told you lots of things to do... but I hope you find your own solution!
MumtoMH - sounds like hank is close to doing something more mobile soon! Hope his sleep gets better for you too. Gosh all these sleep issues!
Elissas are you sure your baby wasn't really transplanted with a December baby??? She's so advanced it's great! Bridget sounds like she's being adorable as always :)
Yummiyums - :hugs:hope the morning sickness passes soon and you feel better soon. I admire you so much for getting pregnant so soon!
I have no idea why every time i put a disposable on Erika she poops up the back, even though I have the back of the nappy quite high (compared to the bumcrack view I often have with my cloth ones). I put a sposie on her yesterday and she pooped a huge one that went up to her neck almost (from me lying her down to get the nappy off). Sigh. Another reason for me not to use disposables (I used it because I was out to lunch with a pregnant friend). Oh, and of course, she was wearing a new dress she hadn't worn before. I swear new clothes are always the ones pooped in.
Other than that, Erika has been good, sitting happily by herself playing with toys so mummy can go and do washing and making baby food. She's so funny, she doesn't really like sippy cups, she tries to drink like a grown up. I have got her a baby cup to drink out of because she wants to drink water out of a cup like mummy and daddy. Every time I have a drink she wants some. I wish she'd feed herself more, because she always wants to be fed. Perhaps I should give her some rusks. A bit hesitant to give her biscuits because of all the extra sugar in them. I suppose I could always use rice crackers or something, but I don't want to give her too salty food or anything.
Sleeping wise, she's been good the last few days (except for the fact she has to cry to sleep half the time). She's been going 9.30pm-6am which is great for me. I've been a bit sick lately (again!) so her sleeping means me sleeping! I wonder if it's because she's got a bit of a cold still or whether it's going to be a normal occurrence.
Well enough about me :ecomcity:, hope to read more of your posts girls so I can reply instead of writing about myself :laughing:
morgsmum
25-09-2008, 10:55
Morgan got his forst 2 bottom teeth yesturday. No more gummy smile! They look so cute. I was feeding him his breaky and i noticed the white lines, i got so excited i called hubby and we both laughed heaps. Its such a great milestone to see teeth coming through and hubby cant stop trying to check them out.
Morgan has dropped a feed (wrote about that in last post - not sure of anyone read it cause it was in the last thread - no one got back to me on their thoughts - guess we are all very busy and dont always have time to read everything) and now has only 3 feeds and 2 solids. 2 of his milk feeds are 200mls and 1 250mls. I hope that he is getting enough milk. He's still a chubby bubba 9.8kg 7months now.
QUESTION - How much milk do your bubs have? BF or Formula.
Thats all for now - chat more soon.
yummyyumyums
26-09-2008, 08:47
~Alicia - God bless you hun :hugs: I'm at a loss for words, but angry deep inside for what you've been put through :banghead: I admire your courage & your strength.
Sparrowgal - :hugs: The ms is finally starting to ease and I'm feeling great today! My energy levels are climbing too, which is fantastic! Erika sounds like such a dear little girl. I've offered our little dolly a sippy cup but she just plays with it, lol.
morgsmum - :smiliedance: Two precious little teeth already! Wow! I bet he looks adorable! Our little doll has 4 bottles each day ranging between 180mls - 240mls, and she has 3 small solid feeds each day. Sometimes this can change and she'll only have 3 bottles & 3 solids, or 3 bottles & 2 solids, or 4 bottles & 2 solids. I just let her choose what she wants. Her latest way of letting me know she doesn't want anymore bottle, or solids, is to shake her head no! I have no idea where she got that from, but it works & I get the message loud & clear! :yes: If you're worried at all, you could seek an opinion from a professional. You know your little one better than anyone else, so you would know if there's real need for concern.
I hope everyone else is doing well, and are happy & healthy.
Hugs 'n' Blessings to all! :flowerz:
izziesmum - Very exciting news on the crawling, what a clever girl :) Feel for you on the sleeping, we have seen great improvements this week & I forgot how much better I feel after good solid sleep. Hang in there.
elissas -Sounds like Bridget is a dream, isn't the babbling so cute. I have recorded Tess on my mobile so I can set it as a ringtone. Am I warped or what..
MumtoMH - Sounds like Hank will be moving in no time at all. Tess really does not like being on her tummy at the moment, but loves sitting up by herself. :yelclap:
yummyyumyums - CONGRATULATIONS on your preg :hugs: hope this one is as good as your little dolly.
Alicia - I feel for you, but it sounds like you have yourself in a really good place. Stay positive & good things will happen to you :flowerz:
Sparrowgal - Well done to Erika on the sleeping. Tess is a bit the same with the cup, tries to drink like a grown up & ends up wet all down the front.
morgsmum - Tess is still having 5 b/f each day, no idea how much milk coz she won't take the bottle.
We have had a good week, Tess has suddenly decided that she is going to eat. So we are now on three meals a day & since that has started we have also had sleep throughs again. I feel so good with a few full sleeps under my belt :) So I will start bringing the dreamfeed forward each day & try to eliminate that one first then hopefully she will decide she will take the bottle.
She is loving sitting up at the moment, seems to be at a real inbetween stage, she gets very frustrated lying on her back, only lies on her tummy for a few minutes before sooking, but can't sit up on her own just yet for long. Rolling seems to have stopped for the time being. Talking constantly this week "dadada & bubbub". Also growling a lot, which just cracks us up. For some reason this week Tess has decided she hates the bath, seriously screams in there, unless I am in with her. But still loves the shower ?? Who knows why.
Anyway hope you all have a great weekend, I ahve raved on enough here !!
GO HAWKS :smiliedance:
Hi all hope everyone had a lovely weekend. Well the sleeping has't got much better so i have booked into a sleeping and settling program with the local MCH so :fingerscrossed:
Sparrowgal- i was giving hank rice crackers but he kept breaking them then actually shoved the whole thing in his mouth i now give him vita wheats to chew on they are too big to fit in his mouth and take ages for him to break.
Morgsmum- Hank has 3 200ml and 1 250ml bottle and 3 solid meals a day (wow sounds like alot) i spoke to health nurse and she told me to increase his dairy cos in a month or so i should drop 1 of the bottles good luck sounds like morgan is doing great :smiliedance: on his new teeth
will cont later my not so sleepy bub is awake again
HunnyBunch
29-09-2008, 17:50
Hi all :wave:
I think I had been in the "When is your bub due" thread before my DS was born, but kind off fell off the side of the earth for a while. Yeah so I start writing something and he wakes up!! Will have to update you on the last 8 months later.
chrissy m
01-10-2008, 20:28
hi all iam back !!!!! well my computer is back !!!
the twins are doing fine getting very big and not so big their is 1.3kg differents twin 1(isaiah) is bigger and twin 2 (thomas)is smaller ...... isaiah is rolling over all the time and thomas just did it a few days ago even that thay are 7m 1week old .... no teeth :no: but sleeping all night :yelclap: eating lots and useing lots of nappies (lol) well all your babys look and sound well thats good i will pop in a lot more now bye for now
me -25
dh-30
dd-7
ds- 2 1/2
twins - 7m 1week
MumtoMH - hank sounds gorgeous. Glad his sleep is back on track! The bum shuffle sounds adorable :D
Alicia - sorry to hear about your relationship :( But you sound like you're having fun now! Good on you. Good luck with the move.
Sparrowgal - Bridget is the same with cups. She insists on drinking out of whatever type of cup Will is drinking out of that day. She's copying everything he does.
Morgsmum - yay for the teeth! Re milk, I don't know really. Bridget still mostly has boob. About 6 feeds through the day, though some of them are small feeds. She has 3 small meals, and usually has a boob or two through the night too.
Dingo - that's great news re the eating and sleeping! Bridget loves the shower too - she actually sticks her head under the shower stream :) No fear, my little water baby.
Hi HunnyBunch - can't wait to hear more about your little man.
chrissy m - what clever little munchkins, both of them sleeping through!
Well, Bridget certainly isn't sleeping through yet, but not stressing. I just keep her in with us and stick a boob in her mouth and go back to sleep :) She has decided she wants to walk. She is constantly in the wars, keeps letting go and wants to go. She can take a few steps holding onto just one of our hands, and will walk nearly all the way across the lounge room holding both hands. She is a gun - always smiling and calls out "mumumum" when she's looking for me.
Will is going great too! Thanks to our treatments with Kate he is now eating wheat, and even had a cupcake with pink icing at his cousin's party last week - and no crazy troppo fallout!!! Yay. Last week he was treated for casein, so I'm slowly going to start introducing dairy back into his diet over the next month. I hope this one has worked as well as all the others. Almond milk is so expensive ($5 for 1litre), so looking forward to saving some $. His language has improved so much, and he is talking non-stop and really tries to come up with words now, making an effort. The biggest thing is that he listens. When I talk to him he hears me and responds. Almost all the time. My life is so much easier.
Of course, this also has it's flip side. He dropped the F-bomb for the first time 2 days ago. Not that it's a common word in our house, especially in front of kids, but all kids have a knack for knowing what will push your buttons. He has said it a couple of times since, but I'm trying to ignore it. If I make a big deal out of it he will keep doing it. As nasty as it is it sounded so cute! DH and I had to leave the room so he wouldn't see us smiling and trying not to laugh.
yummyyumyums
02-10-2008, 11:19
Hi all :wave:
I just had to pop in here to tell you all that our little dolly hasn't puked for the past two days!! :smiliedance: She has suffered with reflux basically since birth, but it finally looks to be over! :fingerscrossed: Now she only needs a bib when having a solid feed - waa hoo - this will cut down my wash load :yelclap: I'm just so happy! :flowerz:
Hey girls, once again I seem to have missed a notification email and bam, its 2 weeks later and we have a new thread.
So much to catch up on, if only I could type as fast as I talk.....
Firstly and most importantly, Alicia, :hugs:I know exactly what you are going through, I have been there. My first husband left me when I was 3 months pregnant with Lockie and a week later had shacked up with one of his staff, who's child I had been babysitting so she could do some extra work. EXTRA WORK!!!!!!!! Well it takes time but all of us are over it, in fact my ex husband is staying with us at the moment while he tries to find a rental property in the area!!!!!! Everyone thinks we are all nuts but it works. I often miss single life (usually when there is a massive pile of laundry to be done) it was so much fun and a period of my life I really needed to help me find out what I wanted.
Elissas, my, Bridg' is a little gun isn't she? you must be nearly going out of your mind watching her try to walk already! Fletch has had 'all the basics' done according to Kate and is now going through the autism regime (think that's what she called it) There is a bunch of brain mixes she tested for and he reacted to about 6. I am pretty sure she called them brain mix 1, brain mix 2 etc. He is in a nice little routine there now, he removes the towels from the bed (he use to get under them like a proper bed) Kate brings in the box of blocks and he drops them off the edge and gets Kate and I to pick them up. She is wonderful and I can't thankyou enough for sending us her way. I took Fletch back to the homeopath and we have a new remedy which seems to have helped calm him down a bit too. it is now a big game to him for me to chase him 3 times around the house before he gets each dose and at 3 times a day I have no need to join a gym.
I have finally got all the paperwork organised so Fletch can go into daycare a day or so a week to give me a bit of a break. He isn't gonna like it but he will get use to it. I am also going to check out kindas again having just found out most of the kindas in our council run unstructured programs. Can anyone tell me how allowing a child to sit and devour everything from their luch box at 9am or do whatever they choose around the kinda, with or without the rest of the group helps them with the transition from home to school? I believe there are 3 in Cranbourne that are structured so it looks like I'll be driving to kinda each day. Next year he should get into an early intervention program with all sorts of therapists on hand so that should really help too. On the weekend he started to use our names to call out to us when he can't see us, in the past it has only been once he laid eyes on you that he used your name. Problem is he hasn't figured out to stop saying 'mummy, mummy, mummy' when I am right in front of him. But still, hearing him say mummy and sound so happy is just bliss.
izziesmum, I think I know of the story you are talking about and you just couldn't live with yourself could you? I am very concious of hiding the handle as I open it coz I know he will figure it out soon enough and I will need a locksmith out pronto.
So as for Mackenzie...she has had her first poo free day in 3 months. Yay! and to go from as many as 10 poos a day to none was a little scary, I found myself wishing for a pooy nappy today!!!!! She did have a little one so things are moving again. She tells me when and how many bottles she wants, I guess I make up between 700ml and 1lt of formula a day now that she has stopped breast feeding. She also has breaky and dinner and I am finding she needs a snack or 2 during the day to chew on otherwise she wants whatever we are eating, so she's not really hungry, she just wants to copy us. Her and Fletch are competing for their dad's attention when he gets home. She is an outrageous flirt, just like her old man! (his words not mine) She has developed this screeching noise that, when done in the car, is dangerous to the health of your ears. She is saying mumumumum and something that resembles blah blah or blum blum or sometimes bum bum! She will probably say the F-bomb before Fletch and it will most likely be at him! Mackenzie is still on the large side so crawling isn't gonna come easily. She lays on her belly with her arms and legs off the ground going through the motions and looks bewildered as to why she isn't moving. Just tonight she got up on her knees with her bum off the ground but the top half is just too heavy. She is mangaing to spin around on her belly so she isn't too frustrated.The slower the better I say. I am taking her for her first immunisation this week too and only getting one done at a time so it will take ages to catch up. She has been so healthy so far, well, other than losing half her bowel I guess!!!
Shane is off to Sydney on sunday, hopefully to see The Storm thump Manly, otherwise that will be another $400 down the drain on losing grand finals. He spends less when they lose but at least it seems justified when they win. So I have a whole day free, no clients, no dinner to cook (baked beans on toast works for me) and no idea what I'm gonna do yet. I have this very sexy husky voice at the moment, thanks to some bug but I am really sick of coughing and no amount of pelvic floor exercises help when I have a coughing fit.
Better hit the hay.
cheers girls
mwah!
MordecaiAliVanAllenO'Shea
04-10-2008, 20:26
Wow there is so much to catch up on. All the Feb bubs seem to be growing up so quickly and I cant believe there are already pregnancies - I havent even thought about that yet!
Things are still hit and miss with sleep here but getting more reasonable. Taj has two day sleeps, the morning one good and the afternoon one varies a lot.
We have had issues with weight gain and feeding but are slowly making progress and his reflux does seem to be improving gradually. He has three solid meals a day but I found that pumpkin which he loved made him cry for two days straight so I am very careful about introducing new foods slowly to see what makes his reflux worse.
Taj and Jai still adore each other to the point it's getting very hard to get Taj to breastfeed if Jai is around or even in earshot as Taj finds him much more interesting than drinking. If I try to screen his view to stop him craning his neck to view Jai he gets really cranky at me too. Jai loves playing with him more now that he is sitting up and grabbing for things and I love when they keep laughing at each other.
I love reading how all the other bubs are going, I just have to get the time to post too! Hope you mums are keeping well too,
Yummyyumyums - that's fantastic news! I felt the same way when DS stopped refluxing. My laundry looked a lot better :D
ofiona - wow re having your ex staying with you! I hope he has better luck finding a rental property. I've got a few friends looking at the moment. In fact, one is now boarding with us. He was looking and started staying with us because he couldn't find anything - then we figured that DH and I may as well have the extra $$ instead of some stranger. He's helpful and looks after himself though, the kids love him. So all's good.
I'm so glad Kate has been able to help you guys - I can't sing her praises highly enough. Will still gets under the towels for his treatments (still takes his shoes off and says "ni-ni" too). It has made my life so much easier - just being able to give him weet bix for brekky or a piece of toast or salada at 6am when it's too early for real brekky :D He had cow's milk on his weet bix this morning, and yoghurt the last couple of days. And he had a banana yesterday and today! And today he had the best day ever! So calm but energetic and vibrant. He is listening and responding immediately, and even jokingly argued with us today (a Yuck, Yum argument). And he said about 20 new words today. He was saying everything when we played fuzzy felts - mushroom, caterpillar, butterfly, leaf... heaps of them. Oh, and f-word a few more times (I'm hoping that one disappears soon). Isn't the sound of real words and their voice music to your ears - when you've been waiting so long and worried so much about it?
Yay for Mackenzie doing a poo (and not doing so many hehe). I had to chuckle at the thought of her on her belly moving her arms and legs. Too cute!!! And it sounds like our girls have the same immunisation programme! I'm doing Bridget's first one next week, and spacing them out one at a time too. Where are you getting them done? By your GP or the council nurses?
Bridget is really trying to walk. I hold her hands but it is purely for balance, she is supporting herself and walking on her own, and nearly balancing on her own too! This is all way too fast. She has begun the change table antics, flipping over and trying to crawl away. So the change table has been packed away in the shed and now nappy changes are done on the floor. She's on and off with food, but I think it's more because she's a control freak more than anything. So I'm giving her more finger foods.
Anyway, better go get some sleep. Daylight savings is here yay!! But we do miss an hour tonight. Got a friend's baby shower tomorrow, which I'm really looking forward to.
Have a lovely weekend ladies!
Hi Jaidevsmum - just missed your post while I was typing!
How beautiful that your little boys love each other so much. I reckon seeing Will and Bridget connect and be so affectionate (and trouble I think, I can see mischief in their eyes, they are conspiring against me).
I'm having the same problem with feeding. Bridget is always looking for Will.
By far the most frustrating thing with feeding is in shopping centre parents rooms, with their d@mn pictures - cows, sheep, pigs. Trying to get an inquisitive baby to feed is like pulling teeth. I had the same problem with Will when he was younger. I always complained to the centre management and asked for some "stimuli-free" booths, but they never complied. And so many parents need them.
Very quiet in here lately :yes:
Tess is sick at the moment, I took her to the docs yesterday & she has bronchilitis, poor litlle thing is so wheezy & her cough sounds like she has been smoking for 20 years, but it doesn't seem to be bothering her too much, just wants lots of cuddles. Other than that no major updates, overall she is just a happy little soul, loves watching the dog out the window & loves music. No signs of crawling, but sitting up on her own very well. Solids are going wel, 3 meals a day now, I tried bringing the dreamfeed forward but she just woke up earlier in the morning, so will try again in a couple of weeks.
MumtoMH - How did the sleeping program go ?
chrissy m - Sounds like the twins are doing great :smiliedance:
elissas - Walking, wow sounds like Bridget is gonna keep you on your toes.
yummyyumyums - Good work on the reflux. How is the morning sickness going ?
ofiona - mackenzie sounds adorable :) & it is great to hear things are going so well for Fletch.
JaidevsMum - Your boys sound so cute. I hear ya on the breastfeeding & distractions. Tess is the same, almost impossible to feed her anywhere but home now, she is such a little sticky beak.
Hope you all have a good week :flowerz:
My SIL is in labor as we speak (type) so waiting, waiting here......
:wave: Hi all well we went to the sleep and settling program(talk) this morning i was a little disappointed dont get me wrong the lady was great but i already knew the stuff she told us thought it was going to be different, anywho when i got home i got motivated and started doing CC so it only took 20mins and me having to go back in the room 4 times which i dont think is too bad he is still asleep and has been for just over an hr and with some tears he did it by himself :smiliedance: Good to hear everyone is well and:fingerscrossed: i can keep this up
07-10-2008, 14:52
Ellisas and Dingo - glad to hear I'm not the only one with a sticky-beak who wont feed. Worst thing is now he is feeding less in the day due to distractions he's making up for it by feeding more overnight - although I must say it's been great for my milk supply! It's a sight to see me try to wrestle him around so he is at least facing the breast and then he will finally attach only to pull off 2 seconds later. He gets really cranky at me too if I push it when he's not in the mood.
MumtoMH - I hope things improve with your little one's sleeping soon - it can be so exhausting!
Ellisas - So glad to hear things are improving for Will. My sister had been through a lot with my nephew and he is just starting to come out of himself and we are seeing more and more of his personality and it's just beautiful. Wow on Bridget almost walking too - sounds liek she'll keep you busy. Reminds me I really need to get Jai going to the toilet full time so we can put the potty away before Taj starts crawling!
Taj is finally starting to fill out a little in his cheeks and looks so cute. He's starting to really enjoy solids too. Also he's right into using the toilet too - when we first started solids he would often just do a little tiny poo in his nappy and I thought it was hard for him because it was more formed now so would hold him over the toilet and he'd go properly. It got to the point where if I held him he would try really hard to go even if he didnt need to just because he knows that is what you do there.
Anyway, with us going away and then me being sick the last 3 weeks I hadnt taken him to the toilet much but started again yesterday and it's like we never stopped. He always does something - either wee or poo - whenever I hold him over the toilet or potty. I often will be changing his nappy and just get a feeling he needs to go so take him and then he goes. I really should EC him full time since he seems to have taken to it so easily but just dont have the energy or time to commit to it at the moment. I cant say exactly what his cues but I must pick up on them subconsciously because I often just get a feeling about it. Anyway, thats just my little brag about my gorgeous boy.
Oh and yesterday we were out most of the day with a group of childless friends and they all thought the boys were wonderful (which they were - Jai loved his first ever yum-cha experience and Taj was happy and entertaining and not a grizzle out of him all day) and when I mentioned we would like more children one said "well no wonder you've had it easy, your kids are so good." I just had to laugh and said yes they are wonderful but it hasnt been easy and recounted Taj's whole history with reflux and weight issues and not sleeping. It's funny how people just see a snapshot and think your life is easy and have no idea about what goes on in yoru house in the wee hours of the morning!
Hope you all enjoyed the long-weekend, DH and I are sick here thought the kids are well. My bronchitis has turned into laryngitis and I can barely talk!
mel
Sparrowgal
08-10-2008, 13:48
haven't posted in 2 weeks, been so busy at work. have been on call at work every Friday and one day of the weekend every week for the last 3 weekends... crappy!
MumtoMH - I hope the sleeping goes well for you! I have been a little lazy and slack with my settling routine, sometimes I leave her there and she settles on her own (like within 5 minutes), but when she cries for 10-15 minutes I can't stand it so I have been putting her in the sling to sleep, she likes that. Looks like you're getting somewhere with it so that's great, hope it's not too hard on you :hugs:
Jaidevsmum - Oh hope you're feeling better soon with your laryngitis. And your EC is fantastic! I've given up on mine, Erika started screaming every time she saw the toilet seat so I thought I'd give her a break from it. Every time she poos though, I stand her up so the poo doesn't "squish" everywhere IYKWIM, making the nappy easier to clean. Anyway, Mel you've inspired me to try again.
Dingo - hope Tess is better soon, at least she can be comforted by cuddles which is good. Erika is not crawling either and does not seem interested in it, she likes to sit like Tess and play with her toys.
Yummyums - Yay on the less vomitting! Hope it's still good today.
Elissas - I tell my friends and colleagues about Bridget, because she so advanced with her motor skills! She astonishes me!
Ofiona - so how's everyone with your ex staying over? has he found his own place yet?
Izziesmum - how's the crawling going?
Well Erika still has no teeth yet. I wonder when she will start having a toothy smile.
Another reason I haven't posted is because I feel like a terrible parent. Last week Monday, Erika had her bottle and some lunch and was sitting with me at the table with DH and my mum while we ate our lunch and she started to vomit.. and VOMIT and VOMIT. her whole meal came up. I managed to catch a lot of it in the bib but she obviously got dirty and was upset for a bit. Emptied the bib in the sink... and found a nappy liner in her vomit. I felt so awful! I didn't even know she'd eaten it! She could have choked on it! And it was the size of half an A4 sheet of paper (A5) and when I unravelled it it was practically intact (ie not chewed). I have no idea how she swallowed it. and everyone was angry at me because I hadn't been watching her but I have no idea how she could eat somethnig that big so quick when the longest I've left her alone would be to go to the toilet to pee and come back...
Then last Friday she did another vomit and this time brought up half a tissue!
She's been right as rain afterwards both times within like 5 mins, thank goodness.
Now I'm absolutely paranoid and I feel like I should be reported to DOCS (though the feeling has subsided now, which is why I can talk about it). I feel like a terrible parent and now I have to take great care in what is lying around because she might eat it....
The funny thing is, she wont' feed herself any proper food! I give her finger food but she just picks it up and drops it, she doesn't put it in her mouth... why does she eat paper :confused: it reminds me of a dog eating plastic bags or chux wipes .. instead of their dog food
Hey Sparrowgal, repeat after me...I are NOT a bad mother, I am not a bad mother. I am so happy to hear Erika is ok but boy that must have given you a fright and a half. Trust me, we have all had something along these lines happen. Mackenzie fell off the couch onto the tiled floor, head first. And then one night, we put her in her rocker seat on the dining table while we ate dinner, I knew full well that it was an accident waiting to happen but walked around to the bench anyway and she dug her hells into the table and pushed herself straight off. Fortunately we had the chairs pushed in and her rocker fell onto the chair so she wasn't hurt at all but got the fright of her life and ours. So I am up for mother of the year! But then again, I went straight out and bought a reclining high/low chair and she has never been on a table, bench or couch again.
Can I ask what made your DH and mum think she was under your supervision when she ate it and not theirs? It is one of those situations, no single person can watch a child 24/7, we all have to wee and I'd like to see anyone have one with a baby in their arms, though I have tried in the middle of the night! We do the best we can. I believe things happen for a reason and perhaps the reason for this was to make you aware of what is around Erika so she doesn't eat anything else. Mackenzie goes straight for the dirty nappy I have just taken off her every single nappy change, no matter where I put it, like it could possibly be appetising!!!!
So, again, repeat after me... I am a GREAT mother, I am Erikas' GREAT mother.
Mwah!
sparrowgal-:hugs:your not a bad mother just this morning i caught hank with a matchbox car in his mouth took it off him then went to give him breakfast and he seemed to be chewing alot so i stuck my finger in and found a tyre (it looked like it had been chewed on for awhile) so believe me everyone goes through these things and as ofiona said you are a great mother and dont let yourself think any different.
Well we have stopped the CC and now instead of rocking him in my arms i put him in his cot and pat him to sleep just didn't feel comfortable with it and when he woke during the night he was awake for hrs never had that before.
Will chat more soon off to the pool for our first swim have a lovely day :wave:
Sparrowgal
10-10-2008, 23:18
Thanks girls :)
You know this sounds TERRIBLE but hearing other people's stories makes me feel better, not because i think everyone is bad like me, I just feel like... gosh its amazing what babies can survive and be right as rain! And you know what, I never think any of you guys are bad parents when I read about your stories, so I shouldn't be worried you guys are going to stone me out of this forum ... hopefully :laughing:
Erika had an AMAZING sleep last night! She went form 8.30pm till 7am... I have no idea what prompted that, but I wish she'd do it again... she woke up just now screaming and I've put her back to bed after a cuddle and she was fine.
MumtoMH: I hope the patting thing works with you, I can't get it to work. Sometimes the dummy + teddy and put on her side works, sometimes it doesn't (for me). I wish I could sling her to sleep all the time but soon she'll be too heavy for me to do that, so i should break her of that habit...
Have a good weekend girls!
Two Little Buggalugs
11-10-2008, 21:21
Sorry, been burning the candle at both ends lately and haven't been on for a while so sorry for not many personals, will try and keep up better!
Preggie ladies - hope you are all feeling well. How are the pregs progressing?
Morgsmum - prob entirely too late to answer your question about milk, but for what it's worth they need a minimum of 600 - 800ml when solids are being introduced and a minimum of 600ml once solids are established as 3 meals a day. That includes the equivalent milk/cheese/yoghurt in their diet (can't remember how you work out what those are worth). If you feed them more (within reason) to suit your own bub, that is generally fine too, but as long as it's not less than that at this age, you'll be fine. The amount can be broken up over 24 hours however suits bubs and you best :)
Sparrowgal - i agree with the others, i think most mums have some story like this, it's doesn't mean you (or we!) are bad parents. You are a great mum who obviously loves erika very much, don't let anyone make you feel different xxx
ofiona - i keep meaning to ask, mack does so many poos a day, is it normal or part of her bowel incident?
Alicia - wow, you sound really positive though, is part of you wondering this is a good thing to have happened?
Izziesmum - my fellow sleep searcher, how is Izzie going now? Here's hoping the improvements in both of them keep on coming!
Sophie is a bit unwell atm, thought it was the immunisations, but turns out she's just got a virus (red throat, runny nose, some vomits). She is so happy still most of the time though, babies just amaze me!
Her sleeping had improved so much before this, so I hope the illness doesn't set it backwards as my body is getting used to sleep again and might not appreciate the shock... I ended up chucking the dummy and letting her figure out her own self settling. :fingerscrossed: it sticks...
Hope all the other mums and bubs are happy and healthy :wave:
Hey girls, just thought I'd let you know that on 3 seperate occasions today I tipped Mackenzie upside down and started wacking her back as she was chocking on things. Once was a blade of grass she ate while I was hanging washing on the line, one was part of her dinner of mashed roasted vegies which must have had a lump and one I may never know because she ended up swallowing it. Blimey, there is no rest from this parenting thing is there?
Good to hear from you again Buggalugs. Mackenzie's poo situation is due to her shortened bowel. She lost half of her large bowel so (I am pretty sure this is right)whilst it doesn't affect the absorbtion of food it does affect the absorbtion of water and given that her bowel is shorter, the food (milk) doesn't take as long to go through it so they have been very loose as well as frequent.They say she will adjust to it over time but who knows how long that is. She has actually slowed down lately and boy, do we notice a difference in the nappy bill.
Better make the most of all the kids being asleep at once.
babygizaiah
15-10-2008, 18:50
Hi everybody Im new to this. My son was born on the 18th Feb, so he will be 8mths on Saturday. OMG time has flown, you get sad at how fast they are growing up. He has been crawling for the last 2 and a half months and getting into everything, so I have to child proof the house this weekend. Wrap all the cords up,lock the cupboards etc. Strangely enough my son has been teething, but he has no teeth. Is that normal. Does anyone elses baby not have any teeth either. He doesnt even have a tooth popping thru the gum, but I can see the front of his gums are thinning out. Im still breast feeding so im kind of dreeding the teeth anyway.
This week Gizaiah has been standing up by himself. He will hold onto the couch with one hand and pull himself up and stand up. Hes such an active little boy, so I think he will be walking in the next month or so, but we have having a few falls, just hard to keep my eyes on him 24/7.
He had been sleeping thru the night even since he was like 1mth old. We moved to our new house when he was 6.5mths old and everything just changed. He became clingy and he wasnt havent his 3 naps a day and hes waking atleast 2-3 times a night. He maybe just a quick feed and hes back down. But he was never doing this before. Last night was the first night in ages that hes slept right thru. Is this normal. Is it just a phase im not sure.
babygizaiah
15-10-2008, 18:57
Sparrowgal- patting my son's bum has worked wonders ever since he was born. My son is a very light sleep and anything wakes him up during the day. So if I pat his bum quite hard he loves it and it puts him straight back to sleep. Another thing you could try with Erica is rubbing her forehead with the tips of her fingers. My son loves it when I do that.
Funnily enough I could just pretend I was drowsey and falling off 2 sleep and my son would want to copy and he would go to sleep.
If you just keep to it, it might just work. let me know how it goes.
yummyyumyums
16-10-2008, 08:21
Sparrowgal - Not much I can say that the other girls haven't already said, but I'll echo them in saying that you're not a bad Mum.
babygizaiah - Welcome to the group :hugs:. It sounds like you have a very active little man on your hands! I bet you need eyes in the back of your head! Our little girl was born on the 11th of Feb and she doesn't have any teeth yet, though she goes through stages of extreme drooling and biting on things & I think maybe a tooth is coming, but then it all stops and nothing happens. Try not to worry too much, my nephew was almost 1yr old before he got a tooth.
I'm starting to get tired of people asking if our little doll is crawling yet, and asking if she's a bit slow :hair:, aren't all babies different! She can roll very fast and always gets to where she wants to go, and she can pull herself along the floor in a forward motion, sort of like a commando crawl. I try to tell them that not all babies do the traditional 'on all fours' crawl, but they disagree. Grrrrrr.. People can be so rude with thier comments. One day I was stopped by a lady who wanted to look at 'the baby'. She took one look and said "Oh, she's dark isn't she", I replied "Yes, that's because my husband is Kenyan", she looked horrified and said "Oh really?" and then she walked away. She made no effort to hide her 'horror', darned rude woman :banghead:.
Anyway, enough of that. Our little doll is doing really well, she's still sleeping through the night, and now loves to feed herself, though she doesn't like to use the spoon, just her fingers and hands. She makes a huge mess but she has a ball, so I don't care. "Dada", "Dad" and "Daddy" are her favourite words now. When she's really excited she'll say them faster and faster until her voice is very high and then she squeals - so cute.
Our DS has left home :crying: says he doesn't want to live with us anymore. He's hanging with the wrong crowd and his attitude is really awful. The words that came from his mouth and were spat at hubby & I over the weekend were just shocking. My heart is broken and it's really effecting me.
MS has eased and now instead of feeling sick, I just want to cry all the time. Life is such a roller coaster ride.
I hope you're all doing well. Hugs to everyone.
GBU :flowerz:
Yummyumyums, I love that avatar of yours, she is so gorgeous. Glad the MS is easing but not the morning/allday sickness. My heart breaks for you with DS. It is my biggest fear too. Lockie swings between being the model child and being revolting. Bigs hugs and kisses to you. And aren't some people just plain nasty? The 'dark' comment must have tested your self control. My best friend is Indian and married to an aussie and her husband has had people ask whose children he is looking after.
Mackenzie and I are on our 4th day in a row of very little sleep during the night. She cut 2 teeth in the last week and I am hoping that there are more to come to justify this deprivation. Last night I climbed into bed at midnight and she woke up at 12:05.GGGRRR!!! I was determined not to feed her at night anymore so I kept her in her room and settled her and put her back to bed, it only lasted half an hour. Then for the next 2 hours I continued this. By 3 am I had tried panadol (which anyone would have thought I was making her drink poison the way she screamed) and by 3:30 she had a bottle in her gob. By 4 I had rocked her to sleep. By 6:30 she was back up again. Nightclubbers would kill for her staying power skills.
She is just starting to manage rocking on all fours every now and then so crawling won't be too far away, probably right before we go camping Cup weekend!
Babygizaiah, Gizaiah sounds gorgeous. Had to laugh at him copying you falling asleep.
Have to go, kinder 'shopping' today if I ever get myself organised. Note to self...stay off facebook and bubhub!!!
:wave: Hi all
just a quick post had a very busy day and got nothing done between kinder drop off and pick up, lunch with the kinder mums and kids, banking, school enrollment and speech therapy for DS the day is all gone. Hank is doing a backwards crawl/slide after mastering the bum shuffle so i find him under the coffee table now or with his feet stuck under the couch.
babygizaiah :wave: hi and welcome you bub sounds very active Hank was born on 14th feb and we have no teeth yet but i dont think they are far off.
ofiona i agree i nedd to stay away from facebook and bubhub have so much cleaning i should be doing.
Hope you all enjoy the weekend we're off to food and wine festival in mornington on sun to eat lots of yummy food (although i think my diet will disagree) have fun
16-10-2008, 16:36
:wave:Hi Feb mummies,
Yummyyumyums dont worry Taj isnt even thinking of crawling yet - hasnt gotten up on all fours once, although he does manage to wriggle this way and that and move around a little that way. So sorry to hear about your DS, like Ofiona, it's one of my fears, and sometimes I wish I could keep them young forever where we are their whole universe.
Welcome babygizaiah, sounds like you have a very active little boy over there, we'll have to get him together with Ellisas little girl!
MumtoH wow what a busy day, and I thought I was busy! Dont know what I'll do when I have to be on time for work April next year, I'm already worried about making our 9:30am swimming lesson for Jai tomorrow morning.
Ofiona - sounds like we had similar nights last night then - I was up pretty much round the clock and in the morning demanding he show me his new teeth to justify such horrific shenanigans but alas still just a gummy grin. Have I mentioned before that I HATE TEETHING! Jai was also a terrible teether and I was hoping I'd be spared this time around but it seems not.
Taj's reflux has seemed much worse, almost as though he isnt on medication anymore. I was looking it up and found that both vaccinations and teething can make it flare up so no wonder - means not only are we dealing with teething but the pain of his relfux, sometimes not wanting to feed.
The thing that confuses me with Taj is that he still has not developed any sort of predictability with his night sleeping. Whether it be bad or good there is normally a pattern to it by now but he can sleep till 4:30 or 5am 2 nights, the next feed three times, the next once, then almost sleep through and then back to 3 feeds. I just make the most of the good nights because I never know which will be good or bad nights.
Oh! Almost forgot, Taj said "Ma!" the other day and has been trying to get it out a few times today but inly results in spitting everywhere (did I mention he's dribbling and chewing on things ferociously with the teething?).
I havent heard back from the preschool I really wanted Jai to get into for next year when I go back to work so have called another and I'm going to go have a look tomorrow. Not sure I'm happy with it though as when I mentioned a school readiness program the year before he starts school she was so enthusiastic she even mentioned they give homework!!!!:eek: I'm really amazed by how intense the preschools are becoming ovber this in order to be competitive. Poor things only get to be little kids for such a short time nowadays.
Oh and with Jai's language suddenly increasing at rapid rates I'm learning the saying "the sooner they talk the sooner they talk back" is very accurate! This morning he was rude to me and I told him "you never talk to mummy like that," and he replied in a very cheeky sing-song voice "never say never mummy!" Where did he learn that one from??! The child doesnt even attend daycare or preschool or anything. That's it, no more tv!!
Ok, I've rabbited on far too much again, and I hear Taj stirring (lucky thing gets to have day sleeps to catch up on what we're missing overnight - where's my catch up?:crying:)...
Hope you're enjoying the balmy weather any others around Sydney today,
yummyyumyums
17-10-2008, 07:27
Hi All!
ofiona - Thanks so much :hugs:, you're words mean a lot. Yes people can be very rude, I've had my patience tried many times since her birth. In fact even during the pregnancy. I got so tired of people saying "I wonder what colour your baby will be" :hair: She's a human, not just a colour! :banghead: I hope you've managed to get some sleep since your last post.
MumtoMH - The bum shuffle looks so cute doesn't it? Our little doll has been doing that for a while now too. It amazes me how quickly they can get from one point to another, even without crawling. They have little minds of their own and they know what they want and how to get it! ;)
JaidevsMum - Sorry to hear about Taj's reflux, I know what you are going through. Chausiku's reflux seemed to return yesterday, along with a ton of drool, and she's chewing everything like crazy, so it must be teeth. I hope it improves for Taj soon. :hugs:
Is anyone else's little one finding their groove when they hear music? Chausiku bops away like a real little dancing queen when she hears music, it's the cutest thing! Now when we say "Dance Chausiku" she'll start bopping with a huge smile on her face.
Yesterday while reading her favourite book to her, I was pointing to certain areas of the pages, and next thing I know she points her little finger and copies me by pointing to different pictures on the page! I was in shock! Then if I stopped pointing, she grabbed my finger and put it back on the page, it was so cute! :cloud9: Don't they just melt your heart when they're this small! I agree with JaidevsMum, I wish they would stay young forever.
I hope everyone has a lovely weekend.
Hugs 'n' Blessings to all. xo
17-10-2008, 10:58
Yummyumyums, Taj loves bopping away too, he bounces up and down and flaps his arms and is so cute.
We get heaps of comments about our boys colour too. I had a ton of visitors after Jai was born and I'm sure a lot were just curious to see what colour he'd be. My boys are very fair as you can see in my av and to be honest in a way I was disappointed because I hated that some of my relatives who are very racist were so relieved :banghead:. I feel for them because I'm sure their whole life they will get questioned about it as I am now, as they have Indian names they will forever be explaining that yes they are white but actually they are half Indian.
I hate that whenever my mum is with me and we meet someone new, when I tell them my boys names (usually the shortened more anglo versions I use on here a lot - Jai and Taj) she feels the need to explain why they have these names and that their Dad is Indian and how we were all so surprised they are so fair and have blue eyes etc etc etc. I dont feel it is necessary to explain our whole family history to everyone we meet.
Oh and we had those gorgeous black and white newborn photos done and my mum showed one of Jai to a lady and he is asleep on his Dad's arm and all the lady could say is "The father's black!!" in horror. Not nice :shame:. I'm lucky to mostly be surrounded by a very open-minded, culturally diverse group of friends so it surprises and saddens me when I find there really are still people who feel this way.
Good news - in the last 2 weeks Taj has gained another 700gms!! We're catching up:D. You can tell because he's finally starting to grow out of all his clothes.
We have had a good week. Managed to finally get Tess to cut back from 3 to 2 sleeps a day and she is back to pretty much sleeping 7pm-7am with the dreamfeed still & all of a sudden eating like a maniac. No interest in crawling, but we are in no hurry for that. Other than that no major news here. Wedding plans are hotting up, countdown is on. This week we choose our menu, Sunday I have another fitting and the dress will be cut out by then......getting very excited & nervous. Tess is still soooo clingy so we are a bit worried how she will go with a babysitter while we are at the reception, but I guess we will just cross that bridge when we get to it.
Two Little Buggalugs - I hope Sophie is feeling better, poor little monkey.
babygizaiah - Welcome :wave: Your little one sounds like a busy bee.
yummyyumyum - Same with us on the crawling, don't take any notice, what's the rush. I also hear you on the rudeness thing, some people are just plain stupid. The words are so cute aren't they, we are getting Dad, Mum & Bub now, even thought I heard a bit of Nan this week.
ofiona - Poor bugger, bloody teeth. We got the first two before we went away in September, no sign of any more yet thank god. I found Brauers Teething relief worked really well.
JaidevsMum - I find the sleeping pattern thing really frustrating too, just when there seems to be some sort of pattern BANG it changes again. Before having Tess I thought once they sleep through they will do that forever....I wish:( Hope the reflux gets better soon.
Hope you all have a good weekend :flowerz::flowerz:
19-10-2008, 14:05
Hi Dingo, how long is it till the wedding now? I went to my cousins wedding yesterday and it was beautiful. I wish I could get married again - to the same man though!:D I just loved my wedding day. I was promised an Indian wedding but we didnt end up going to India till 2yrs after we were married here so it seemed a bit silly..I make sure to remind DH from time to time though that I was promised an Indian wedding!
With leaving Tess she willl probably be fine when you leave her although you might be a wreck. Can the person minding her stay somewhere close to the reception place (like if it's in a hotel could they book a room) so you can pop in and out to see her if you need to?
We went to a local fair today and the boys enjoyed it - even Humphrey B Bear was there! It was so hot though so we kept drinking all day and despite all the distractions Taj actually fed well so he must have been very thirsty from the heat. He also didnt sleep the whole time we were out so was awake from 6:30am till 2pm, not grizzling or unhappy at all. One of the great things about a poor sleeper is they are great at being awake!:laughing: Got to be a silver lining hey?
My mum and Dad are going away for 6 weeks, though we will join them near Port Stephens for their last week, so we are going over to say goodbye this afternoon (and for a swim, it's sooo hot here today).
Take care,
(:ojust noticed almost every second post lately is mine, and I always ramble on heaps, sorry for hogging the thread guys!:o)
GizmoKel
20-10-2008, 13:23
Hi everyone :)
Has been ages since I last posted in here! I hope everyone and their bubs and families are doing ok!
I only skimmed over the last page of posts but did I read that someone was preg? Or am I seeing things? If so Congratulations :smiliedance:
Alyssa is nearly 8 months now and just starting to eat her food even though we have been trying for 2 months! She's a big girl yet she never takes a full bottle! Her new trick is getting up on all fours and rocking lots but she hasn't mastered how to go forward yet. Can get around the room backwards though! Likes to talk and make funny noises (her favourites being like a boat and a steam train) and she says Mum, Bub, Nan and Baa.
Take Care :flowerz:
20-10-2008, 15:24
Hi Gizmokel, good to see you again. My DS1 was like that with solids, not very interested and wouldnt have more than a teaspoon till around 8 months.
Taj had his first swim yesterday and absolutely loved it. Also, he only had one day sleep yesterday and today wouldnt sleep at playgroup so fell asleep on the way home at 12:20, it's now 4:20 and he's still asleep :eek:!!! And yes I have checked a few times and he's still breathing...so looks like only one sleep again today even though it's a mammoth one - Taj has NEVER slept this long during the day, even as a newbie. He's even missed lunch :confused:
izziesmum
20-10-2008, 20:41
Sorry no personals today as I don't think I could catch up even if I tried! So many posts lately and so little time at this end!
Well Izzie's a crawling machine! She's into absolutely everything and has to be watched all the time and if that wasn't bad enough she now cruising the lounge furniture! As a result she has numerous bumps and bruises and it's only a matter of time til someone comments!
Her favourite thing at the moment is licking the windows...go figure? My least favourite thing is cleaning the windows!
The whole sleep thing settled for a little while but she was lulling me into a false sense of security and now she enjoys a wake at 2am for a chat and a play until 4am. Doesn't matter what I do she just wont go back to sleep....any suggestions cos I'm starting to fret!
She's finally got her grove together with eating too! Turns out she's a carnevour! She demolished half a steak yesterday and the day before that a whole lamb chop. All that meat with no teeth!
For those of you who get comments about your bubs colour you're not alone! I'm actually olive in complexion and DH is very very pale. When Izzie was in SCN and septic they were commenting on how unwell she was becasue she was so pale....then they saw DH! Ignore these ignorant people! We live in a multicultural society! All colours of the rainbow welcome!
Izzie appears to be cutting her first tooth! Lots of drool...she's a miss cranky pants....and her bums red! Poor little thing! I do love the cuddles though!
Been busy organising Izzie's christening. Sooo much work! Hats off to anyone who did it without complaining! Almost as big a job as arranging a wedding but in less time!
Also found a great photographer. Izzie had a photo shoot in September and just got our proofs today. They're so good I'm having trouble deciding what to pick so if anyone's thinking of getting some shots done I highly recommend her.....you can look her up on line at kristencook.com.au. If you go into her blog Izzie's shots are titled 'baby doll' (well we think so but we're biased!)
Anyway, that's all from me. Just come back from a workout...sore as and in desperate need of a shower!
Hope you're all well! Happy, healthy and safe!
Personals next time!
23-10-2008, 16:39
Me again!
izziesmum - poor thing I cant believe you're having sleep problems again, you so deserve a break sleepwise! My only suggestion I think is really only good for toddlers who are more aware - that is to keep the wake time completely uneventful and in the dark, so no stimulation or playing till they realise it's boring they may as well sleep. This works with my DS1 if he goes through phases of waking up - my DH was letting him play but I just sat with him in the dark in his room stroking his head and after one night of doing that for over an hour he went back to sleeping properly again.
Dont know if it would help at our bubs age though?
Yay on the crawling for izzie - our big news is Taj has just started today!!!! Only the slinky, worm sort of creep along on their belly one but still it was very exciting! Wont be long I fear till he is into everything too as he's desperate to be able to be off after Jai.
The other night Jai was running around the loungeroom like a mad thing and Taj was laughing his head off, then Jai dashed into the hallway and out of sight and Taj started almost sobbing he was so distraught. Jai returned, Taj laughing; Jai disappeared, Taj sobbing - it went on for about 6 exits and entries and was so cute!
Jai has another cold - I think this crazy weather hasnt helped. I collapsed again yesterday and had another set of bloodtests. This was a different GP and he thinks it's to do with my inner ear and balance - made me march on the spot with my eyes closed and after about 20secs I collapsed again and the dr and DH had to catch me.
Where have all the Feb mummies gone?:crying: Come back!
babygizaiah
23-10-2008, 22:10
Hi ladies, well my update for the week. I had been having real troubles with Gizaiah sleeping right thru the night only for the last mth or so (before that it wasnt a prob) so I was on the hunt for any tips I could find and I have found a cure.
I am still breast feeding, but I realised he needed more food before he went to bed. Got a great tip from other mums is to put him down with a bottle, but to make it more filling put a couple of scoops of baby rice cereal in his bottle.
Also I went to target today and bought a Johnsons bedtime kit. So it comes with bodywash, oil, moisturising cream,bedtime powder and a lalaby cd. So I tried it out, while crossing my fingers that tonight was gonna be a good night.
Bathed him @ 6.30 massaged him, kept all the lights off in his room. Turned the lalaby cd on while I was feeding him. He was so content but still awake. I thought I would try my luck and put him in bed still awake (i have never done that before) and I sat outside his room listening. He was just chatting away to himself, but within 10min he was silent. Popped my head in his room and he had pushed his head up against his cot so he could hear the stereo and he was sleeping like a baby. And he is still out so I am so relieved I think we have a winner here.
Also big problem with the teething even though he doesnt have any teeth yet. Im sick of all the drugs bonjela, nurofene, panadol so I went and bought brauer natural medicine and you give the teething medication thru drops. Worked so well i havent heard a peep all night. So out the window with all that other stuff. I think our problems are finally fixed. So ladies if you need any help with your sleep deprived nights then you would have to try this, it worked for me so it may work for you. I hunted all the shops today desperate to find a solution. Im a happy camper now!!!!:yelclap:
yummyyumyums
24-10-2008, 07:49
Sorry I don't have enough time for personals, but I have read through the posts since I was last here and it sounds like things are going really well. Though, I'm sorry to hear about those still struggling with sleep issues. :(
Our little doll is teething like mad! She's just a drooling machine now and she has two big red swollen lumps where her two bottom front teeth are trying to come through. Poor doll. She will chew her fingers and then her little bottom lip drops and huge tears roll down her cheeks, it breaks my heart! Thanks to babygizaiah for the mention of the brauer teething product, I'll definately give that a go. The teething hasn't interrupted her sleep, but I know when she's in pain.
Her latest trick on the floor is to get up on her hands and knees, and then lift her knees off the ground so she's on her hands and feet! Looks so cute! She's made a few forward crawling movements, but she seems to be more interested in how to climb up the furniture :eek:. She rolls so fast too, and can manage to now get through doorways! two days ago she went from the family room, through the doorway, and out into the hall and stopped by the front door. Cheeky little monkey! She also likes to get herself over to the book shelf and help herself to the books! She giggles as soon as she knows I've seen what she's doing, so cute!
The other night Jai was running around the loungeroom like a mad thing and Taj was laughing his head off, then Jai dashed into the hallway and out of sight and Taj started almost sobbing he was so distraught. Jai returned, Taj laughing; Jai disappeared, Taj sobbing - it went on for about 6 exits and entries and was so cute!
Kaylah and Chausiku play the same type of game and Chausiku also cries when Kaylah has gone out of sight, it is beautiful isn't it!
Poor little doll has developed a terrible cough, so we're off to the doc today. I can hear her gulping after a big cough so I know she's swallowing yukky stuff, poor doll. Last night she puked up a big chunk of phlem :(.
I better go for now. Take care everyone. Good to see you in here again Gizmo.
GBU xo :flowerz:
HI Ladies :)
We have had a good week, very busy but good. Tess seems to be improving on the clingy issue, we have found if I am out of sight & earshot she seems ok, so that makes me feel a bit better about handing her over. For some reason this week Tess's nappies seem to be leaking during the night, last 2 nights around 3am she has woken and I have gone in, tried to pat her, rubbed her head etc etc. Then gave in & picked her up & both times soaked through. Poor little monkey, hates getting dressed at the best of times let alone 3am half asleep, with a mother who is half asleep reaching in the dark for god knows what clothing to put on her. Tess is talking or should I say shouting constantly, if she is awake she is talking. Very cute :laughing:. This week she just seems really settled & happy, so :fingerscrossed: this pattern continues.
JaidevsMum - Wedding is last weekend in Nov, which happens to be our 10 year anniversary.
5 weeks to go. :goodvibes: Dress fitting went well on Sunday, actually looks like a dress now. So we are getting down to the nitty gritty now, choosing songs etc...OMG so excited
OK married ladies - if you did a bridal waltz or first dance at your wedding, what song did you do it to ??? We are tossing up between.
How sweet it is - James Taylor
Tiny Dancer - Elton John ( kinda our song)
At Last - Etta James
Thoughts or suggestions much appreciated :flowerz:
Hope you all have a great weekend !!
I really, really, really wanted 'at last' by Etta James but my husband wanted all sorts of crappy bogan songs so we compromised with 'Can't take my eyes off of you' by Frankie Valley. That was 5 years ago, then the other day we were watching something and he heard the Etta James song and said 'gee that would have been nice for our bridal waltz'......
Men....
:wave: Hi all hope everyone had a lovely weekend. It has been a mad house round here lately between organising pre-prep for madd and our house settles on fri but we have to talk to the tenants to move out sooner or it will be 12 months till we get in there. Hank is now crawling :yelclap: we have fast backwards and slow forwards but i dont think it will be like that for long so i am madly doing a spring clean and rearranging the house he wants everything and its like he knows what he cant have and goes for it.
Dingo- just thought id let you know there was a mum at the sleep talk i went to and her bub was havin soaked nappies through the night and the lady suggested to her to put an ultra thin pad in the nappie helps it to last all night just a suggestion
well i can hear playin in bed happening so better go will post later :flowerz:
yummyyumyums
27-10-2008, 10:24
Our little dolly is crawling! :eek: :yelclap: It's not the traditional on hands and knees crawl, but it's a definate crawl all in her own unique style, and it's so darn cute to watch! We spent yesterday moving book shelves out of the family room because I just don't want to take the risk of something terrible happening :no:. She really does look cute, I wish I could explain it to you but it's one of those things you have to see to believe, much like most of her facial expressions.
Anyway, she's wanting some yogurt so I best get it for her. Take care all. I'll be back again soon for personals.
GBUA :flowerz:
:wave: Hi al wjat a week we have had plenty of milestones crawling has got faster, 2 teeth appeared and this morning hank discovered he can clap so all day he has been clapping at me. I'm happy that all the new things are happening but also sad that my lil bubba is gettin big and becoming my lil man he only seems like a baby when hes asleep and even that wont last much longer :crying:
Well off to bed hope you all have a good weekend and back a winner in the melb cup
Sparrowgal
04-11-2008, 13:47
Work and baby has been so busy haven't had time to read or post!
Welcome to babygizaiah, hope your sleeping problems improve with Brauers!
Mum2MH, Yummyyumyums, that's great about the crawling! Time to put those baby fences up soon i think!
Dingo: not long to go now till the big day! Gosh I remember AGES ago when you were talking about how u were getting married, and now the month is here! I didn't have a wedding dance at my wedding so I can't give u advice on that sorry :p
Jaidevsmum - that is so cute the running in and out of the room with Jai and Taj. I can imagine it would have been funny to watch! Unfortunately I can only relate in the not so funny way where Erika is smiling and giggling when I've put her down in her cot and as soon as she can't see me it's bawling and wailing, and then when she can see me again it's more giggles and arm flailing...
Izziesmum - I haven't got around to looking at ur pics yet, but I will when i get home! I bet they're absolutely GORGEOUS!
Hi to everyone I've missed!
Well, my baby is getting big now, I think she's cuter now than 3 months ago! She's climbing all over things, pulling herself up and cruising around, but not REALLY crawling yet, she does it but complains LOTS when she's struggling that half metre to get to a toy she wants. Had a bad night last night, but I think it was due to wet nappy, so unfortunately going to have red nappy rash bum today :hissy:. I think I'll have to stick to Bamboo at night and not hemp, just doesn't seem to be able to do the night without her getting wet.
Still won't feed herself though! She screams until I actually put the food in her mouth. Oh and boy can she squeal. My ears ring when she starts her high pitched squeals.... every time i put her in her high chair or at the table she starts squealing. I cant' wait till she talks to me so I know what she wants!
Sleeping wise, except for last night, she's been excellent, I have no idea why she has turned into the good night sleeper (9pm till 6am) but I am not going to complain. I hope for all of you with sleep troubles that it settles for you soon! I don't know if I did anythign special other than start feeding her solids and giving a bottle right before bed, but maybe I'm just lucky.
Anyway, hope you all win on the horses today ladies! I didn't get in early enough for my sweep today so I'll just sit and watch with everyone else.
izziesmum
05-11-2008, 10:41
First congrats to all those new movers and shakers out there. It's a completely different ball game now! Start baby proofing cos it wont be long that they'll be into everything!
Sparrowgal, yay about the sleep thing....still having issues (was up 6 times last night!) so if you work out the miracle cure be sure to let me know!
MumtoMH, fanastic about the clapping! Been trying to teach Izzie that one for ages...she just laughs and runs away!
dingo we had 'Have I told you lately' by Rod Stewart as we didn't have 'a song'....a bit corny in hindsight but still makes me smile when I hear it!
Where is everyone else???
Well Izzie's been camped out on my lap since Thursday. At first we thought it was just teeth but then she got the runs and started projectile vomiting, poor baby! So we assumed it was gastro. But then the constant chewing and crying so we've come to the conclusion that its both! Hope the teeth come soon she seems so frustrated. Tried the Brauer stuff and was very strict in giving it every 4 hours....didn't help and maybe that caused her tummy upset!?
Further the sickness has ment even less sleep...I'm a walking zombie! Have given in the last few nights and brought her into bed with us. Hate doing it but can't spend the entire night patting her on the behind!
She's stopped eating too! I'm worried about my supply (still BFing) and mastitis so been pumping every couple of hours!
But to top it all off it was our 7 year wedding anniversary yesterday and I finally remembered at 11pm! Only after checking the calender!
Oh my how priorities change!
Well, I hear crying (again), better go....
Hi all just thought id check in see how everyone is but no one is here :detective:
hope you are all well
Hi guys, we are all good here. Mackenzie cross cut a tooth so she looks like she has had her front teeth knocked out when she does a cheesy grin and she does a very unorthodox commando crawl, it gets her where she needs to go. Fletch is chatting more every day, very little frustration now as I can understand so much of what he wants. THe 2 little ones started day care one day a week and are doing really well. Mackenzie was always gonna be fine, she doesn't care who gives her attention as long as she gets it. Fletch is getting better every visit. I leave him a bit longer each time and he looks like he is really enjoying it. This week when I picked him up he tried to say goodbye to everybody in the room, it was a gorgeous sight. I am noticing changes each time he comes home, little improvements like he has figured out he won't be understood as easily so he is trying harder to talk and even appears to ask the odd question, I usually can't understand it all but it is definitely a question, huge step for him.
Mackenzie and Fletch are sleeping around 13 hours a night, and isn't that lovely? I had to move her into Lockie's room for 3 nights before our camping trip ( and another 3 afterwards) so I could let her have a bit of a cry without waking everyone else. Lockie loved sleeping on the lounge room floor! So the first night she cried for about 10-15 minutes, I had checked her nappy was fine so I just had to be tough. and what do ya know? she slept through each night after that. Camping kida stuffed that but we did the same thing when we got home and now I am enjoying lots of unbroken sleep. Well I would if I wasn't on the comuter all night!!!!!
Hoep all is well with everyone else....
16-11-2008, 07:10
Taj had been doing really well for the most part - still commando crawling but getting about heaps with it, going in and out of rooms etc. I have to work hard to keep my floors always clean, otherwise with his constant wet patch from dribbling when he drags himself along the floor he kinda mops them for me!
He all of a sudden slept through for 6 glorious nights but back to waking again. Seems to be in pain when he wakes though so I think it's the teething, just wish the damn things would come through already - last night was horrendous :cool:. He mostly either has one long day sleep, or if we're out and about he'll have 2 quick naps.
Seperation anxiety has kicked in he's mummy's boy now - last week someone else had him and he wanted me and as he was lunging for me he cried "mummy, mummeeeeeeee." It's the first time he's said it so deliberately so was very special:goodvibes:. Cutest thing too when I say hello to him he says "a-o" Never yet in DH's hearing so he thinks I'm imagining things:rolleyes:, but he said it when I was on the phone to a friend so I have a witness!! Some days though he doesnt want to be put down, even right beside me, so I spend a lot of time carrying him or having him in the sling.
He had his first swim a couple of weeks ago and loved it too. With solids we're on 3 meals and I'm trying to move to more finger food. What sorts of things are your little ones eating?
Jai still loves him so much and thinks he's fantastic now he's on the move. The other day someone made a loud noise and it scared Taj and made him cry and Jai got really upset and was saying "he made my brother cry!!"
I keep planning to wean him off the dummy but then I just think tomorrow will do, what's one more day? :p
Izziesmum - Happy Anniversary! Taj isnt interested in clapping at all yet either. I remember with Jai a friends son the same age was clapping and I used to worry and Jai took ages to start doing it and now looking back I cant believe I stressed over such a minor thing!
OFiona - thats so great about Fletcher and his language and settling in to day care. We're going away with my mum and dad next week and will be in tents - not exactly roughing it though as they have their caravan so we'll be having meals etc with them. How did you go with the kids? Any tips? Where did Mackenzie sleep - a port-a-cot or just with you?
babygizaiah
17-11-2008, 07:10
Hi ladies, sorry I haven’t posted in a while the days just seem to become shorter and shorter
Sparrowgal- you poor thing. As bad as you must feel you must realise it is humanly impossible to watch our kids 24/7, but I do know exactly how you feel. The other night Gizaiah was sitting on the couch next to me and he has this thing now where he climbs onto the coffee table. Well he tried doing it and I wasn’t looking then he hit his head on the table and drove straight into the floor. I felt so bad and it didn’t help that DH was telling me that I should have been watching him better. Now Gizaiah has a carpet burn mark on his little button nose. After a hectic run to the doctors all was well so very relived about that. Gizaiah also puts anything and everything in site in his mouth. Hubbie always lets him play with newspapers and I kept on tell him no because he will eat it. Sure enough I changed his nappy one day and there was a piece of newspaper in his poo’s.
Now our update for the last couple of weeks. I finally bought some HYLAND TEETHING TABLES and they have given DS so much relief that we are now getting full night sleeps. Forgot what it felt like :laughing: I couldn’t believe it when I woke up and the sun was shinning. I was like did I get up last night. It was a miracle. So I definitely know that it’s the teething coursing all these problems we are having. I just wish his teeth would break thru just to get this over and done with it.
DS has been walking along the furniture for the last month. I caught him the other day bracing himself to let go off the couch and step off. Geez bit early for him to start walking isn’t it. I have now moved the coffee table out of the lounge, because DS loves crawling under things and almost always bangs his head.
Separation anxiety is still as bad as ever. We live in a fairly big house, so I have to carry him from room to room otherwise he gets very upset and screams the house down. I had just a sling when he was a baby but didn’t like it. But now Im thinking I have to look into getting another one, because it’s a mission for me to try and complete my house work.
So far not so bad. But we do have some rough days. Yesterday he was very irritable and pulling at his ear. I have been told that this is associated with teething, but he was doing it abit more than usual. Just wondering if he may have an ear ache. I might pop in and see the doctor.
Has anyone In QLD use medcal. Its great. When you don’t feel like taking your child out and sitting at the doctors to be seen to. You can call medcal and a doctor will come directly to your house. Usually within an hour of calling. Great service. I called them late one night and they came straight out because DS had a huge rash that was just spreading over his body within minutes.
Well ladies you’s have a great week. Good luck with the sleeping patterns, teething, separation anxiety and I will check back in later.
yummyyumyums
17-11-2008, 08:33
Hi All!
Where does the time go? I come in here intending to do personals, but just can't find the time. Chausiku is awake and playing on the family room floor, but when she can't see me, the whole street knows about it! :o She is crawling on hands and knees so fast now, and she walks all over the place while holding onto the furniture. If something is out of her reach, she growls at it, expecting that to make a difference :laughing: It cracks us up! She is feeling much better now, after being very sick for almost 2wks, poor doll.
DS is still breaking my heart :crying: words fail to do justice to what he is putting us through.
Had the morph scan on Friday. Hubby's boss refused to let him leave work :banghead: so he wasn't with me when I found out what I'm cooking this time. The sonographer showed me our little bubba's 'boy bits' :yelclap: DH & I are over the moon!!
Our little boy seems to be smaller than he should be at this stage, and there's an issue with the placenta, but he wouldn't go into details and said I needed to wait and see my OB to find out more. I'm trying not to worry about it.
I hope everyone else is doing really well. So sorry I don't have time for personals.
GBUA :hugs:
Hi from the snot factory! Both the llittle ones here are full of cold and Fletc his miserable today, Mackenzie was on Saturday. The bigs ones of the house seem to have been spared but I am suffering from heyfever which really is no different from a cold.
Mackenzie still has not mastered crawling, which is fine by me. Her little arms just aren't strong enough to hold up her very big body. It is so cute though, watching her little butt go straight up in the air on her knees and even on to her toes.
For those of you who have little ones walking around the furniture....prepare yourself now for bumps and bruises. They ARE going to happen and whilst we can try everything in our power to avoid them, they still happen so girls, please don't beat yourselves up too much about them. Making mistakes is a part of learning, for them and us. And when your little one gets his/her first big bump on the head you suddenly start noticing loads of other kids in the supermarket with black eyes and bruised cheeks and you can give their mum that 'I understand' look!
Babygizaiah, glad to hear you've found a bit of teething relief, isn't sleep just the best?!
Jaidevsmum, when ever we go away with the kids we try to make their beds look as much like home as possible. Mackenzie sleeps in a portacot with her sleeping bag and her 'Moo' (sleep aid blanket thingy), both the little ones use the same fisher price ocean wonders music to cue sleeping and Fletch uses the same pillow and blanket he sleeps with at home. They adapt beautifully whether we've been in a tent or motel room. Unfortunately they have both woken during the night (I think they do that at home but I don't hear them and they put themselves back to sleep) so they have ended up in our bed sometimes when away. Enjoy your trip.
MumtoMH, hi, hope Maddox and Hank are well.
Izziesmum, Congrats on the wedding anniversary! Hope Izzie has improved and those rotten teeth are through (pardon the pun) Mackenzie has cross cut a tooth so when she smiles she looks like she has had her front teeth knocked out!
Yummyumyums, I am crossing my fingers and toes for you, for both your boys. Great news it will be a llittle 'he'.
Sparrowgal, Glad to hear Erika is sleeping so well but good luck on the nappy rash, it is such a pain and can look so sore.
Dingo, how long to go now? and how's Tess?
Better get back to these noses....
I have been so slack. I have been reading and nothing-no-one around, then this weekend everyone has posted. Makes for a nice Monday morning.
Well the countdown is on here, under 2 weeks till the wedding. I am so excited, everything seems to be falling into place, now we just pray for good weather !!
No time for personals today - so I hope you are all doing fantastically as usual :yelclap:
Quick update on us.
No crawling, but scoots around on her bum a lot, & I don't think the crawling will be too far away.
No consistency with the night sleeping, sometimes in bed at 7pm & not a peep till 2ish, next night sleep through, then up every hour ??
Teething still whcih I think relates to the sleeping, hopefully the bloody things will come through soon.
Clingyness is slowly but surely improving.
Still b/f, will talk to MCH next week about oputting her straight onto milk after Xmas and skip formula.
Other than that Tess is pulling lots of funny faces & makes lots of noises, is in love with our dog & is a absolute joy !! :flowerz:
Hope you all have a great day. :smiliedance:
mythreelittlemonkeys
17-11-2008, 18:21
I have been really bad at keeping up here...I do read every now again...but not very good at getting posts written...so i am jsut going to fill you in the past couple of months of Holden :)
He is crawling so fast now, still half and half on knees but hey he gets where he wants. He pulls himself to sit, stand and walk around things...but only stood couple of seconds alone. He is still very happy boy, though separation anxiety a bit when tired or not 100%, and he loves heaps of attention (dont they all!) He has started really chatting, saying Mama and something that sounds like Hello when he waves but I think that jsut fluke!
He loves our dog and they roll around together like goons which is so cute...
He is still quite light for a boy 8.06kg on his 9 month birthday and longish at 72cms...bit tired of the oooo he is tiny comments as he is well covered chubby legs...just he moves so much it is all being burnt off! Oh I am still breastfeeding him first thing in morning mid morning mid avo and for bed...though sometimes he has more or less...he is eating heaps of normal food that i make us just minus salt, finger food and other stuff loves those HeiNZ organic rice cakes :) no cows milk unless cooked yet here or egg.
He has a bit of a snotty nose at the moment but I am hoping this is the last one...they seem to have been sick on and off since April!
He has started swimming lessons in October and he loves it! so hilarious he seems to think he can swim without me and grips on to the side of the pool when we monkeying down it with very little support...water baby!
We went camping last weekend too...the two older ones (6&11) slept in a tent next to us for the first time and we had the 10 man one to ourselves...Tillie had the front room like a princess on her queen mattress and with a playarea! Her first time in a sleeping bag and it went okay...few visits in the night but she slept as good as here...
Holden was an angel we got him a kindercot and it was amazing! well worth it as we have never had a porta cot...he slept just the same all through the night! from about 6 - 6...we just didnt put him in the sleeping bag...he had a grobag and then his sheepskin on top of the inflatable mattress it comes with...highly recommend!
Okay think that is us wrapped up in a nutshell...i am on facebook more than BH these days just cos my family overseas all there....but will try to be a bit better here!
Take care...lovely to hear all the news of the little Feb babies :)
Georgie & Holden xxx
Just looked at the kinder cot website...I want one!!!
mythreelittlemonkeys
17-11-2008, 22:31
Just was reading back and I wanted to add these two things :)
We had 'God only knows' by the beach boys for our first dance cos I love it and the words and tune are so fantastic...but then Laura by scissor sisters and Hey Ya by Outkast straight after as they were our songs :) Oh and I think Islands in the Stream (total cheese!)was soon after too...cos it was on the jukebox in the pub I worked in when first met DH.
I swear by Cammomila (sp?) granules for teething and colic, and Kali Mur granules for snotty colds, you can get them in health food shops :) They are homeopathic and safe for kids and babies. Some places even do like a crystallised version of the cammomila that you can rub into the gums. I have had no problems really with Holdens teeth or colic since we started giving him these.:fingerscrossed:
babygizaiah
20-11-2008, 10:06
Mackenzie still has not mastered crawling, which is fine by me. Her little arms just aren't strong enough to hold up her very big body. It is so cute though, watching her little butt go straight up in the air on her knees and even on to her toes.
For those of you who have little ones walking around the furniture....prepare yourself now for bumps and bruises. They ARE going to happen and whilst we can try everything in our power to avoid them, they still happen so girls, please don't beat yourselves up too much about them. Making mistakes is a part of learning, for them and us. And when your little one gets his/her first big bump on the head you suddenly start noticing loads of other kids in the supermarket with black eyes and bruised cheeks and you can give their mum that 'I understand' look!
Babygizaiah, glad to hear you've found a bit of teething relief, isn't sleep just the best?!
each baby to their own I say. How first unit didnt have much room in the lounge, once we moved to the new house superamart took about a mth to deliver all our furniture so ds had all this space and he just started crawling. It was amazing Im so glad I got it captured on video. But yeah he started off with the army crawl. One day he got carpet burn on his little knees so it was hilarious watching him trying to crawl on his bum and feet. But yeah she'll be off when shes ready.
Yip a couple of weeks ago ds started walking along the furniture. God you have to eyes in the back of your head. I have to figure out how to lower his cot now to. I dont leave him in it when hes awake because Im petrified hes going to jump out. But yip we've had a few bangs and bumps but you can see hes learning. Now when he loses his balance he knows to put his hands down so they will hit the ground first. Or when hes standing up and hes trying to sit down its so cute to watch how cautious he is. But yeah Ive had to move the coffee table at the back of the lounge, because he banged his head on it then drove into the carpet. He had carpet burn on his nose lol. But yip after a call to 13health and a hectic drive to the doctors we're alright. Being a mum is so hard and it is so easy to overeact and freak out.
Hi girls! Sorry I haven't been in here for awhile. Things have been crazy busy at home, between the two kidlets.
We're all doing well here. Will is going great guns, turning into a real little man. He melts my heart a gazillion times a day.
Bridget is a little fireball. She was 9 months last Thursday, and decided on Monday that she'd start walking. She can get up to 20 steps now. Just tonight she was playing in her room and I watched her walking out to me with the biggest grin on her face. So wobbly, so cute!
So now I'm in a whole heapa trouble.
I've had a glance and looks like everyone's enjoying their beautiful bubs so much. Can't believe it was nearly 10 months ago we were all wondering who they'd be! :)
Hope I can get back to do personals this weekend. Take care everyone!
babygizaiah
22-11-2008, 15:41
Hi girls! Sorry I haven't been in here for awhile. Things have been crazy busy at home, between the two kidlets.
We're all doing well here. Will is going great guns, turning into a real little man. He melts my heart a gazillion times a day.
Bridget is a little fireball. She was 9 months last Thursday, and decided on Monday that she'd start walking. She can get up to 20 steps now. Just tonight she was playing in her room and I watched her walking out to me with the biggest grin on her face. So wobbly, so cute!
So now I'm in a whole heapa trouble.
I've had a glance and looks like everyone's enjoying their beautiful bubs so much. Can't believe it was nearly 10 months ago we were all wondering who they'd be! :)
Hope I can get back to do personals this weekend. Take care everyone!
wow that is so amazing that dd is already walking. Gizaiah turned 9mths last Tuesday. I dont think his legs are strong enough to walk. He can walk along the furniture but thats about it, but I think maybe by christmas. Well done :yelclap: thats absolutely amazing
Sparrowgal
22-11-2008, 19:03
I've been lazy lately - so busy! Feeding solids and milk is so much more work than breastfeeding and I used to think BF was hard work!
It's great hearing what everyone else's bubs are up to! Elissas, it doesn't surprise me Bridget is walking already she was always so active!
Dingo, next weekend must be the big day! All the best for your big day!
YYY I hope Chausiku is feeling better and hope all is well with your bub, I'm sure everything is fine!
BabyGizaiah I"m glad you got some teething relief! I'll have to remember which page your post is when Erika gets teeth.
Ofiona hope all the colds in your household have gone now and you can get some rest!
What's new with us... nothing much, still no teeth, though I think there may be a hint of something on her gum! And she's drooling lots and chewing her fingers all day long. Erika is cruising around like mad, and has finally figured out how to commando crawl to places she wants to go to. I've had to keep the cotrail up now coz she can get over it (mostly by leaning over it) which makes it hard for me to put her in the cot! Need to get DH to lower the cot I think.
Eatingwise not so good, Erika has been throwing up a bit lately, though she doesn't look sick. I'd give her some solids and she'd cough and then spew up lots and lots of milk and solid, it just scared me. She's been doing that a few days now, so I thought I'd just give her a trial of just formula today. She seems ok otherwise! Playing and everything, not feverish. Anyway maybe I'm overfeeding her (though she only eats about 50-70mL of food 3 times a day) + her milk.
Anyway our first long trip today! Am down in Canberra to see my parents and Erika seemed to be ok with the 3.5 hour drive. But golly her nappy was soggy after!
5 sleeps to go & I will be getting married..woohoo...I have had ants in my pants all day, so excited but not a lot could be done today. Tomorrow & the rest of the week will be busy.
We decided on our songs, & we are doing our dance to "At Last", practised tonight & we are ****, but laughed lots.
Tess has really turned a corner with her clingyness, just in time so I am confident she will be fine on Saturday. Her top tooth popped through last wek so I am back to having a happy little girl. Her night sleeping is starting to improve too, last night she slept all night in her own cot & I only got up to her twice to put her dummy back in, it was nice to have some room in the bed for a change.
Anyway, I hope you all have a great week. Please say your prayers for me for nice weather Saturday & I will do personals next week when I am a married woman.. :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:
01-12-2008, 13:20
Congrats Dingo for Saturday! How does it feel to be a married woman? How did Tess enjoy the festivities?
Sparrow - is Erica maybe having trouble with lumps in her food making her gag and then vomit? Or maybe an intolerance.... I hope you can get to the bottom of it.
Thanks Ofiona for your advice with camping - we went really well and Taj even slept through two of the nights we were there. For almost 3 weeks now he's been on half his losec dose and doing well so hopefully he's finally growing out of his reflux. He commando crawls at top speed now and is just strating to pull himself up. He's been saying some words here and there but then wont say them consistently. Everytime he does it I'm sure it must be a fluke but it's always in context - like my Dad was crouched down and he reached out and took his hat off his head and said "hat" clear as day. I thought I must have been hearing things but a few minutes later he reached out to the hat again and said it again. Then he hasnt said it since then. He said grandad a few times too (gandad) when looking at my dad but then not again for a while.
When we were away DH could only come up and be with us one day in the middle of the week, and Taj was sooo happy to see him - DH couldnt put him down the whole time he was there or he was crying and reaching out to him saying "Dadda! Dadda!"
Oops- he's waking up now, better go!
Sparrowgal
03-12-2008, 12:25
Dingo - I'm sure you're too busy to be reading forums but I hope the weekend went well and that you're having a lovely time somewhere enjoying being Mrs Dingo!
Jaidevsmum - I think I got to the problem - she eats too fast and then drinks too fast and is overfull and then vomits. I put a longer period between milk and solids and no more vomits since! I felt like a silly duffer, overfeeding my baby :no:
Erika is moving around lots now, can't keep her pinned down. She will crawl to everything and then climb up on it and start pushing it around to get places - boxes, laundry basket, stools, rubbishbin!!! Grandma sent her apush along toy so she can walk with it and at least it doesn't tip over like the laundry basket...
Trying to slowly introduce meat into her diet... gosh it tastes yukky when it's not flavoured nicely! Feel like i'm eating jerky or something.
Anyway, gotta go back to work, just wanted to pop in and say hi!
Hey Ladies,
Where is everyone ?? :confused:
Probably driving around shopping centre car parks!!!! Got a client due but I'll be back tonight for a catch up.
:wave: Hi all hope everyone is well been a mad house round here lately between xmas shopping and trying to organise to move plus last kinder days :crying: its been crazy. Hank is doing well except for the sleeping at night just want my bub that slept all night back so sick of squishing in bed and waking to hair being ripped out, but other than that hes great started walking round the furniture and always wants to be standing has also become alot more vocal just yells and chats all day. Still loves food although he doesnt really want baby food anymore prefers fingerfood and what ever is on someone elses plate :laughing: and we have discovered that we have to put weights outside the playpen otherwise we see it travel across the room. Hope everyone is well and planning a good xmas
MERRY XMAS TO ALL (incase i dont get back on before)
Hey Ladies,
Where is everyone ?? :confused:
Probably on Facebook ;)
We're good. Just incredibly busy unfortunately. Will turns 3 on Boxing Day, and Bridget is just flat out full on (well they both are, but Bridget in a different way).
The two of them now play chasey around the house. Bridget has taken to waving, pointing, and grabbing my hand and taking me to whatever (or wherever) she wants.
So I practically have 2 toddlers in the house, psycho!!
On another note, I'm an auntie now :D My SIL had a little girl last week, Molly, and she is divine. Makes me want to go back for more, even though DH and I have agreed that 2 is just luverly.
Hope everyone's not stressing out too much at the moment and is enjoying the festive season.
I did my Christmas shopping the other day, took 4 hours to get gifts for 16 people and I was exhausted, but I refuse to spend more than half a day on Christmas shopping. Well, I did some planning beforehand hehe. Just like grocery shopping, the time and money savings are always in the planning ;)
Most of the kids gifts are sharing ones - an outdoor table setting, sand and water play table, and a dolls house (lol, I actually got the doll's house from freecycle, a good ole fashioned solid wooden on, and have been saving little boxes etc that we can make furniture with using other stuff from the craft box).
Other than that nothing much else to report here, besides craving a belly again, but need to remember that the belly turns into a very expensive, hungry and moody 14 year old down the track ;)
Take care!!
What do you mean 14 yo? I got it 2 years earlier than that. I went grocery shopping today and pretty much bought double what I normally would for lunches coz Lockie will eat double the normal school lunch when he is home. And then there are all the mates he brings over, Have been known to make toasted sandwiches for 5 12 year olds before, there goes a loaf and a half of bread and packet of cheese and the weeks worth of ham.
Oh joy.
Fiona, you domestic goddess, you! Wow, hats off to you though.
Did it look like something out of that "17 and Counting" show? I was just reading on the Herald Sun website that they just had their 18th kid, and are debt free. Amazing. I feel very humbled by my efforts with 2. Imagine having a bad day with 18 kids :O
Hahaha, is that woman crazy or what? She has virtually had a baby a year for 20 years. Oh well, except for the 2 sets of twins in there!!!!! Imagine her stretch marks and she would definitely not be jumping on a trampoline with her kids would she? She is probably debt free from the government hand outs. (shouldn't judge I know)
Well we are up to day 3 of school holidays and Lockie is having his 4 friend over today. Admittedly, this particular boy is the most polite kid ever and loves to play with Fletch and Mack. And I love having him over coz he lost his mum a couple of years ago and I think his dad is doing a fantastic job.
Back on the subject of babies, my husband and I had an intersting conversation last night and it might fall into the categoy of TMI but I'll tell you anyway. All along he has said he would have the snip after Mackenzie was born and still hasn't gotten around to it. I am more fertile than your average guinea pig and just using condoms is making me very nervous. (I have conceived 1 child while on the pill, 1 after being sick for a couple of days while on the pill and 1 within 2 weeks of being off it.) He bought (god only knows why) a couple of packets of condoms a few weeks back and is now saying, all be it very jokingly, that if we don't use them all up by our anniversary (Jan 25) he doesn't think he should bother getting the vasectomy. I told him that I would give him a 'home' vasectomy if he didn't get it done soon!
Another crazy day of clients, thankfully my last before Christmas. I will really try to get back here before Christmas to update more ont he kids, they are just going great.
Mwah!
Sparrowgal
24-12-2008, 11:26
I just wanted to get on to say Merry Xmas to you all! It has been quiet in here hasn't it? I know I'm guilty of too much work and not enough time (and the rest of my spare time is taken up with baby now).
Some boring updates on Erika:
Finally getting teeth! Erika now has 2 teeth on the bottom and boy is it drool city. I thought that her nappy had leaked but actually it was drool dripping of her elbow from her hand being in her mouth...
Still not into finger foods at all. I have had a few friends telling me that I'm spoiling her she has to learn to feed herself etc, but she just isn't interested at all! She isn't really a mouth girl, I hardly ever see her put anything in her mouth (except her fingers). I am just going to keep feeding her until she decides to copy mummy and daddy and use her spoon for something more useful than as a drumstick or an object to watch fall over the edge of her high chair...
I hope that you all have a lovely and safe christmas and happy new year!
24-12-2008, 13:05
:xmastree:Merry Christmas everyone and especially for our bubba's first Christmas! It's lovely for us this year because DS1 Jai is old enough to really get into it. He's so excited today helping me cook ready for tomorrow.
Taj also has two bottom teeth now. He's also pulling himself up to stand heaps and thinks he's the bees knees for doing it. Yesterday he let go and stood there for a bit without holding on! Sometimes he forgets how to get down again though and is stuck standing there till someone comes along and sits him down:D.
He weaned off the dummy very very easily and I'm so glad we're rid of it. He feeds much better now because he does his comfort sucking at the breast now he doesnt have a dummy. Sometimes now he'll even crawl over and try to latch on through my t-shirt, then try to pull it up when he realises it's in the way! DS1 never did anything like that so it's new to me, but after all the issues we've had with feeding it's so lovely to have him really wanting to feed and enjoying it.
Sparrowgirl - with feeding themselves, I wouldnt expect them to be too good with a spoon just yet. Taj knows what it's for and can get it in the bowl of food, but no chance of it getting back to his mouth. I give him finger food for self-feeding - toast, steamed veggies, fruit, sausage for example. Oops just read back your post seems shes not interested in that kind of thing either. Dont worry, they're still little bubs, they will get it one day and you're not spoiling her.
Ellisas - congratulations on your niece Molly - what a sweet name! I'm getting clucky again too but have to hold off a bit longer.
MumtoMH - Hank sounds like a strong little boy! Taj is a noisy little guy too, always chatting away, quite serious about it sometimes too with this look of concentration on his face.
OFiona - How's Fletch going nowadays? As for Lockie - I just cant imagine my two little guys becoming teenagers - does it ever seem surreal to you?
Ah well, 5 minutes to myself.... it has only taken 3 weeks. I am sitting here on my new (refurbished ) computer and so far so good. Good to hear everyone elses Christmas was a good and as hectic at mine. At least I didn't have 46 people here while 7 months pregnant this year. Never again!
Our day was great, a nice quiet morning with the little kids (Lockie spends the morning with his dad each year) My husband's family arrived about 10:30 ish for brunch and we gone by 1:30 so we could head off to my mums. Great relaxing (if that's possible with 3 kids) afternoon/evening. My dad dressed up as Santa and my cousin's 3 and a half year old daughter was torn between absolute idolisation and suspicion it was my dad. Fletch wasn't too keen on being near him so he kept a nice safe distance.
Lockie had a great day. We did a bit of a renovation rescue on his bedroom and did a feature wall and set up his new loft bed and sofa bed underneath all on Christmas eve, it nearly killed me but its done. Then he ruined my Christmas by telling me at lunch time on boxing day that he had his new ipod and phone knocked off at school a week before. I nearly killed him for being so stupid for leaving it on a table in the calss room next door and for not telling me till a week later when I can do nothing about it. He had promised he would keep them in his school bag for the trip to and from school. A very expensive lesson.
Fletch is doing well, new words all the time. Coped beautifully with all the fuss of Christmas and is loving all of Mackenzie's new toys! His don't seem anywhere near as much fun.
Mackenzie got her 4th tooth today, cross cut again so she looks a true bogan with no front top teeth. She is crawling at lightening speed, particularly when I am trying to get a clean nappy on her. And is very adventurous with walking around the furniture, if her hands are full she just lets go and stands still and reaches from chair to chair. She part labrador and doesnt seem to get full. She is my first child to drink milk from a sipper cup and I am so pleased with myself for getting on to it early enough. She is also into finger food. I saw my cousins daughter yesterday who is 4 weeks older but should be 5 weeks younger than Mackenzie. She has just gone into 00's (Mack is in 1's) and can't master purees. My cousin was so upset with how far behind Mack she was till I told her my boys weren't as advanced as she is, particularly with food.She is a bundle of personality and Fletch is so tollerant and protective of her, it's so lovely to watch.
Better go, falling asleep sitting here, chat more later girls
Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Mwah!
jodes123
13-01-2009, 14:32
New here. Of course, it's birthday time soon! What are you planning for bubba's first birthday?
I have a bit of a gap between kiddies.
Much has changed no doubt :)
yummyyumyums
14-01-2009, 16:08
So good to hear you're little ones are doing so well! Our little doll has just cut her 3rd tooth, with number 4 half way through. She now claps her hands, blows kisses, plays peek-a-boo, gives a high 5, crawls really fast, walks all over the house holding onto furniture or the walls, can stand alone for long periods - she can even dance while standing alone, and has so far taken 2 steps without assistance! She has been sleeping in her own room for almost 2wks now, yes we took our time in this area but I had to wait til I was ready :p. She babbles heaps, and laughs a lot. She's still so placid and a delight to take care of.
I'm still trying to get my head around the fact that she'll be 1 in 4wks!! With our next little bubba due in approx 12wks!!
Anyway, enough :ecomcity: from me. Gotta go finish the washing - drat..
Take care everyone. Welcome Jodes :hugs:
To all the beautiful feb bubbies who have had or are still to have their birthdays.
HAPPY FIRST BIRTHDAY !! :smiliedance:happybirthday:smiliedance:
Can't believe how fast the year has gone !!
Hope you are all doing well.
izziesmum
24-06-2009, 13:06
:laughing: Logged in to see if there was any gossip....but no posts since February!!!
Can't complain I haven't been on since November! We must all be very busy mummies indeed!
Anybody out there?????
Mandiemoo
25-01-2010, 14:33
i have just recently joined bubhub and my DD was born in Feb 08.
But I noticed that no-one has wrote in here since june. Is there anywhere else someone can direct me to chat about our toddlers??
Just recently my 2 in a half month old son had breathing problems' his symptoms were all wheezing, chesty coughs, change of color in the face,fevers around 38/39 and vomiting after his bottle feeds both my partner and I took him to the doctors to find out they couldnt give him anything but suggested give him panadol, We both were not happy at the time and couldnt handle seeing the little guy going through it so we went to emergency here in melbourne and the nurses looked at him seen how pale he was and having breathing difficulties, and 15 mins later a pead doctor came rushing down seen our son ordered xrays for chest scan and tell us that he had pneumonia just below his shoulders (right side) i was in so much tears couldnt resist seeing him go through all of that, then 1 hour after all the xray scans the pead doctor told us he had to get transfered to RCH melbourne, so now ive changed my family doctor and everyone seems to be happy now,, so all mothers out their hope your doing fine with you child its just a shock to see what doctors do these day..
take care ;)