View Full Version : Anyone from upper mountains??
16-09-2008, 18:04
Well my DH and i are in the process of buying a lovely house in katoomba.:yelclap: We are so excited cause we just love it up there and to buying into it is fantastic. We used to live in blackheath 3yrs ago and our DS was born in katoomba hospital. So we will be moving up there around Nov/Dec and was wondering how many mummys from here are up there to catch up with. Looking forward in seeing some replys. :D
I'm from Springwood but come upto Katoomba often.
I have a 3 month old son Flynn.
dragonflyblu
17-10-2008, 14:23
I am moving to Mt victoria soonish. When we are up there I will PM you. My DD is 21 months.
17-10-2008, 21:48
Hi Bec and Dragonfly! :wave:
Im looking forward in meeting you guys when we come up there. :yes::DWe are still in the process of buying, it will be about 7wks when we actually move. :yelclap:
dragonflyblu
11-11-2008, 09:08
hey there, we have moved up here now. send me a PM if you want to meet up at some stage.:)
11-11-2008, 11:32
We're moving up to katoomba on the 15th Dec, so not long now, yay!!! :yelclap::smiliedance::D Will def PM you guys once we move. :yes::hugs:
floodprincess
11-11-2008, 11:38
:smiliedance: for dragonfly & jaydensmum....let me know when you're all settled! We can look at organising something, maybe after xmas - depending on how you feel..
I'm getting ready to move myself (although I'm only doing an upper mountains town swap) 15 days till we start and the countdown is on!!
It's been nice driving through the mtns of an evening - I can smell all the blossoms in the air - gotta love spring!
11-11-2008, 11:51
Yep that sounds great, i cant wait to meet you guys. I was so worried that there would be no one for me or the kids to socialise with. You're making me jealous by describing the mountains air, i just love that smell and miss it heaps!! :yes:
floodprincess
11-11-2008, 11:55
:) you'll be in it soon enough! (the air that is).....lol
There's plenty of kids around, there's us here, my girlfriend has just had a baby and she's happy to join us and although my oldest is 11, she loves kids....and of course DD2 is due in Feb..
I'm in Springwood - well at least part time anyway! The mountains are just so beautiful....
14-11-2008, 10:01
:) you'll be in it soon enough! (the air that is).....lol
There's plenty of kids around, there's us here, my girlfriend has just had a baby and she's happy to join us and although my oldest is 11, she loves kids....and of course DD2 is due in Feb..
Wow thats fantastic! :D Im looking forward in meeting you all. :yes:
I'm in Springwood - well at least part time anyway! The mountains are just so beautiful....
You can definetly join in, the more the merrier!! :D
AnnabellesMum
10-12-2008, 13:38
Hi all :)
Im Annette I have a 19 month old girl. We live in wentworth falls if anyone wants to meet up?????
floodprincess
10-12-2008, 17:16
Hey Annette!!
Welcome to our little list - we're now in Wentworth Falls too. How is everyone else doing with their house moves?
We've pretty much completed our house move...just got a few dregs and some cleaning at the old place and a whole lot of unpacking and sorting at the new one!
Lol...aaah well the unpacking gives me a xmas project.
Hope you are all doing well and enjoying the mountains :) hopefully the weather settles into a more reasonable pattern.
11-12-2008, 13:50
Welcome Annette! :wave: Well we are moving to Katoomba on Monday!! So were busily packing and cleaning getting ready to move. I cant believe its almost here. :eek:We're def going to have to have a meetup soon.:yes: Take care everyone! :hugs:
floodprincess
11-12-2008, 14:50
That's awesome Naomi!!!
Hope you manage to sufficently unpack so you can relax and enjoy a mountains christmas!
Just watch the roadworks on the highway outside the showground and the hospital...they've got some killer bends in them atm!
21-12-2008, 15:57
Hi all!! Well just letting you know that we finally moved into our new home.:yelclap: We're slowly settling in but getting there. :yes: We had some terrible dramas on the day but now its in the past. We all love our new home and the area. We dont have the net connected yet, im currently using my inlaws atm in sydney. So dont think that im ignoring you if you post. :DHopefully we'll have the net by next week. Anyway take care everyone, have a great chrissy and we'll catch up soon.:xmastree::xmas: Bye!! :wave:
FiveInTheBed
21-12-2008, 16:03
(hi girls, sorry to highjack for two seconds...just noticed your thread...We might be moving over that way soon, DPs boss has told us to look around at what areas we like...I liked the Katoomba and B.Mountain areas ...well what I saw on the computer any way....
...Can one of you lovely ladies tell me how long it takes to travel in to say Richmond ?? Pleeeassse!!?
Is there schools and shops close by?
Cheers in advance from someone who has no clue:o
)
Or send me a PM so I donit intrude on your thread.
mini munchkin
21-12-2008, 17:06
I'm in Wenty too! Not sure for how much longer - still waiting to hear from the DET about DH's placement for next year.
Anyway...
Would love to catch up sometime after Chrissy!
Um, Richmond is about 1hr and 15 mins from here. I have lived in the Blue Mountains all my life- except for my o/s travels. Great place for a young family.
Take care and have a Merry Christmas!!
Mich xxx
floodprincess
21-12-2008, 21:45
Hey Mich....
It's cool to meet another 'long term' mountains resident on here!! I've been in Katoomba my whole life (save for like 2 years in Mount Victoria)....am now in Wenty.
I agree it's a great place for a family!
Hey 5.....you're welcome to join our thread - you never know the urban legends we tell might make or break your decision to look closer at a move to the mountains :) but Mich is right, it's about an hour 15 to get to Richmond, give or take (depending on what part of the mountains you live in).
But don't get too concerned about the commute, while it's a big chunk of the day, from there it's a fairly easy drive with not huge amounts of traffic.
Have a great xmas guys! We'll organise a meet in the New Year sometime.
FiveInTheBed
21-12-2008, 22:06
thanks girls!
at least it's something to keep in mind when DP chat s to his boss.
It only takes 7 minutes for him to get to work atm!!
:laughing:-smal town!
Thanks again.
Enjoy the silly season!!:D
I'm from the mountains too and the best thing about it is the community. I grew up in the mountains and never realised how good the community for families is. There are so many play groups, parks and things for kids to do.
Great to know you are settled in Naomi. I do my shopping in Katoomba, so I may have already seen you around and not even known.
Flood princess - your face looks familiar, I think you may have been a few years above me at school hehe.
floodprincess
15-01-2009, 10:38
Hi Rachel....
Funny thing about growing up in the Mountains - you still remember people's faces!!
It's quite possible we went to school together around the same time...I spent my time at the Katoomba schools (public & high) and 2 years at Gateway in Blackheath.
Finished yr 10 in 1993 if that helps?
How is the warmer weather treating everyone with their unpacking? i know I've just about given up, although most of the house is all good, it's just the conversion of garage to study/office left to do but that will happen once I've got the babies room all painted and sorted :)
TTFN
17-01-2009, 20:13
Hi everyone! :wave: Hows everyone coping with the recent warmer weather? To answer you about unpacking its sort of gone on hold due to the lack of energy and heat! :laughing: We've slowly unpacked most of it, theres just the fiddly stuff left. We went to minni ha ha falls the other day with the kids which was lovely, they had a ball. Now we're mostly settled in we're going to have to arrange a meetup!! :D It will be lovely to meet you girls finally. Anyway i hope all of you are well, talk to you soon! :hugs:
25-01-2009, 15:07
Just a post to see how everyone is going? Hope you're all coping well with the recent heat. :yes::D Well take care and chat with you all soon. xxoo
floodprincess
26-01-2009, 22:04
Hi Naomi!!
Coping kinda in the heat here (doing my best to spend as much time at work or in the car where it's air conditioned) so have run out of steam to do the work that really has to be done before bubs arrives...:rolleyes:
Ahh well....that's summer for you - at least so far this year we have been spared the bushfires :fingerscrossed: and the severe summer storms :fingerscrossed:
Talk soon....
29-01-2009, 20:44
floodprincess - yeah we've been very lucky this year with missing the fires. They are never a good thing. Hows your pg going? Getting excited? :D We'll have to catch up for a coffee soon and finally get to meet! :yes::D Just let me know when your free and we'll arrange something. Take care, chat with you soon! :hugs:
06-03-2009, 19:02
Hi guys, i noticed that there hasnt been an entry in here for a while. So hows everyone going? Hows the crazy weather, i suppose its getting us ready for winter, lol! :yes: Well i just wanted to say hi to everyone and to *bump* this thread!! :D:thumbsup: Hope you are all well, chat with you soon. :hugs:
floodprincess
01-04-2009, 12:08
Hi Ladies!!
Naomi, I got your message but was unable to reply (been having major computer dramas)....would have loved to go to the meet, but had to take Monique to Westemead that day :(
Anyways, I hope everyone is doing well and coping with this wet period....must get frustrating for those of you with active toddlers who want to go outside to play!
Well, hopefully we can manage a catch up when time and weather permits. So TTFN and talk soon!
EmilsMum
08-04-2009, 01:18
Just thought I would pop in and say hello.
I too live in the mountains. In wentworth falls. I lived in hazelbrook most my life, moved to mt druitt for 2 years and finally made the move back up the mountains 3 weeks before our little one was born! Anyway I would really really love to meet some mums from the mountains!
hi Ladies! Hope you don't mind me thread crashing :) Just after some advice from those in 'the know' about moving to the mountains. I lived there when I was quite young but have lived in sydney all of my life since then. We went to Mount Victoria today and it is gorgeous! I absolutely love Blackheath so searching for property there too :laugh: We can't really commit to look in one suburb but that's a financial constraint more than anything else!
If you guys could just tell me about the basic day to day life of living in the mountains, doing grocery shopping, is internet/foxtel service good where you are? are there lots of playgroups? what are the schools like? I know i'm askign a lot of silly questions I am just so excited about moving but scared as it's a big step away from everyone in our families and most of our friends.
Thank you so much in advance everyone! To think I will probably be catching up with you all in a few months is just so exciting!
catbiscuit
14-05-2009, 23:48
Hello - I'm going to crash too. :)
We've just moved up to Hazelbrook from Melbourne, though it's familiar territory for my partner, as he grew up here.
I can't say anything about schools or playgroups, as we're only expecting our first bub in September (though I've already been to a Korowal open day and have fallen in love with the classrooms).
Internet access is fine up here though. Cable/satellite tv is handled by Austar instead of Foxtel... the different (and not in a good way) menu system is a slight adjustment and Austar doesn't have as many channels as Foxtel, but it's basically the same and we had more reception problems with our satellite dish down in Melbourne than we have up here.
I've got a question of my own - have any of you been through the maternity ward at BMDAMH in Katoomba? I'm adoring the birthing suites and midwives, but am a bit concerned I'll be sent down to Nepean if there's no anaesthetist available. When we moved up here three months ago, I was under the impression that the closures were over and things were running smoothly up there - the front page of the Gazette is suggesting otherwise though. :/
Anyhow - nice to see some local-ish people on here. :)
EmilsMum
15-05-2009, 09:11
Kizmet I LOVE living in the mountains!!!! :) Some times it gets annoying when I know I have no choice but to go down to penrith because I need something but most of the time you can find all you need up here! :) I can't say that I'm too sure what it is like in terms of every day life around mt victoria or blackheath but I also love blackheath and woldn't mind buying around that kind of area!
Where I live (wentworth falls) internet service is pretty good but don't know about austar as we haven't really bothered with it. It was on the to do list when we moved but we have managed without it so have decided not to bother :)
There are LOTS of play groups around the area but I'm not really too sure about higher up? Sorry!! I feel like I'm not too much help here!!
catbiscuit I lived in Hazo most of my life!!! And I still visit there frequently because my parents still live there!!! :) I know what you mean about the korowal school that just moved there! I too really like it! I know Hazo public has had a massive explosion of kids! :eek: And they have had to out lots more demountables in!!
I haven't been through the maternty ward at Katoomba but if I had been told that I could be transferd up after I had bubs I wold have!!
When were were having bubs last year we were told that they do ahve to lose it down every now and then because of a lack of staff but that for the most part it is usually open! However I do know that if you have any kind of compication or potential complication they will sed you straight to Nepean cause they don't have the faclities there! :no:
How are you liking hazelbrook so far?
floodprincess
15-05-2009, 09:35
Good Morning Ladies!!
welcome to the newer mountains residents and those considering the shift.....:)
I'll try and answer some of the questions, I've lived in the Mountains 32 years (my whole life - I was born in BMDAMH lol)!
Kizmet - Mt Vic/Blackheath is lovely, I lived in Mt Vic for about 5 years. They have a real village atmosphere still and many of the Blackheath businesses have been there for decades! The best place to get a variety of groceries is Katoomba where you have Coles and Franklins. Although I personally find it cheaper to head to Lithgow to shop at Aldi (can't wait till they finish building it in Katoomba) even with petrol costs taken into account. From Mt Vic, Lithgow is only about 20 mins (but be wary of the roads early in teh morning or late at night - 40 bends is a notorious black ice spot).
No Foxtel higher up than Springwood, we get Austar which is basically the same (as catbiscuit mentioned), internet is good. Some areas have mobile phone blackspots but that's improving slowly too.
I believe there are a fairly large number of playgroups, but wouldn't swear to it (never used one with DD1 and DD2 is too little). The schools up here are excellent (especially the primary schools)!
Catbiscuit - I've had both my girls at Katoomba. The staff there are fantastic and the new birthing suites awesome. Unfortuantely, the closures are set to continue. Maternity Service up here is so sporadic, if you don't fancy the trip to Nepean you should look into alternate plans NOW - the unit is only fully covered about 60% of the time (and will ship all 'high risk' births to Nepean automatically. I was lucky that when DD1 was born (11 years ago) the maternity unit here was fully staffed. I was luckier that DD2 decided to make her entry on a day when it was also fully staffed (1 day later and I would have gone to Nepean).
It's going to be a long term problem with no easy fix - regardless of what the pollies say! Good luck with it all - :fingerscrossed: they sort it out before too long!
AFM - Miss M is blossoming into a beautiful, usually content little bub. Her arm has pretty much regained full movement in all parts, although her wrist is still a little weak (when she was born her right arm was paralysed, no one could figure out why). She doesn't often like to sleep anywhere but my arms during the day, but we are slowly working that out (thankfully she is a fantastic night sleeper!!). DD1 just adores her and is more than happy to help out with her when she can, and they share an incredibly special bond (Tiffani was blessed with the first real smile).
Our next challenge arises in two weeks when I go back to work.....I really wish I could go back part time, but can't afford it. Thankfully I have a great family network who are prepared to come to my place to look after Miss M while I'm at work!
With more of us being on here I think we should really seriously consider organising that get together (before it gets tooo cold ) lol....
Anyway, am off to do housey things....chat soon
Thank you all for your replies!! :)
I am really looking forward to it all, will know more after this monday as to what our options are whether we can buy or will be renting, life on one income, so that will also give as an idea as to what area we can go to!
I lived in Blackheath when I was quite young and love the atmosphere and just everything about it! DH will have to commute back to work until he can get a transfer out but I think that could be years away!
Thanks for the info re: foxtel/austar. We are currently contracted to Foxtel but I think our contract officially finishes in July so that should give us the flexibility to switch without issue :)
We went to Mount Vic last week and went to a park there, the kids LOVED it! All the trees losing their leaves, it is just beautiful! They had an awesome time jumping in the leaves, collecting all the different colours...just having those experiences they don't get to have with city life.
Where in the mountains does it snow? Just out of curiousity. I know it sometimes snows in Blackheath. Sorry I am asking such stupid questions! I am really quite excited/nervous/scared/excited :laughing:
Do any of you bubhubbers meet up?
floodprincess
16-05-2009, 20:28
Not silly questions Kizmet...
Generally Blackheath & Mount Victoria get most of the snow but on some occaisions it will snow as far down the Mountains as Wenty Falls (I remember one year it snowed as far down as Faulconbridge)
And finally, us bub-hubbers are trying to meet up, we've all just been a little busy!
Good luck with your pending move! Keep in touch...
I will definately keep in touch!
I just realised that you're in the firefighters thread as well! I was wondering why there was something familiar about your username :laughing:
note to self: get more sleep!
MountainGirl
17-05-2009, 00:04
:wave:Hi guys!,. just thought I would pop in, as we are just about to do a tree change and buy a house in Wentworth Falls:D,..
My DD is set to start Kindergarten at Blue Mountains Grammar next year,..are any if your kiddies going there?
catbiscuit
18-05-2009, 09:06
Good morning!
Thank you for the welcomes!
EmilsMum, I'm loving it up here so far - it's taking a while to get used to the cold though (people keep telling me I haven't seen anything yet - argh!). My partner actually went to Korowal when he was younger, so I've been hearing about it for a few years - now having seen it, I'm fairly certain we'd like to go there. I think that the Steiner school is having an open day next Saturday and I might go and have a look about, but I'm thinking that Steiner might be a bit too rigid in it's principals for us... we embrace tv and computer use in moderation. ;) My partner went there too though and MIL was involved in setting it up, so I'm suspecting they'll want to see how it's going.
floodprincess, that is good that you had both children up at Katoomba and that the maternity ward sounds as wonderful as I'm thinking it is - it's sad that it was down to luck the second time though. Thanks for the advice. I just had a look at your youngest's date of birth - I was in the maternity unit picking up my blue forms on that day (I'd just arrived up here the night before and was enthusiastic) and remember the midwives saying that they'd show me the birthing suites, but they were being used at the time. I'm really glad to hear that you and bub are doing well. :)
Kizmet, good luck with the move up! I've been quizzing people about the snow thing too - heh. Though I've just lived in Melbourne for a decade, I spent my first twenty years in Perth, so the idea of snow is a serious novelty to me. I've promised myself that I won't make a twit of myself in trying to get onto the ice rink at Winter Magic this year, as it doesn't seem a great idea during pregnancy. Next year it's possible though. ;)
Welcome Scarlett_Jasper_Rafferty. :D
On Friday, I had an appointment with the anaesthetist for an assessment - good news is that I've officially got a low risk pregnancy and that he's happy to cover me. :smiliedance: The first ob/gyn I saw at the hospital decided to send me all over the place for tests and seemed convinced I'd be high risk, but everything is going very well - I'm really pleased. The midwives, my GP and the ob/gyn I'm to see for any other appointments didn't think there was anything to be concerned about, but I was still a bit unsettled about it all. Anyhow - the anaesthetist spoke quite frankly about the staffing problems... he estimated that they're currently 90% covered and seemed very frustrated at the problem. I might write to the minister of health and local MP (mainly for the sake of being able to feel I at least tried something, to be honest), but other than that, I guess it's a case of wait and see.
Another thing - I noticed Kizmet and floodprincess mention fireys... on moving up here, my partner signed up with the NSW RFS. I'm very proud... and love that there seems to be so much social responsibility and involvement up here - it's not something I've ever experienced before. :)
Hope that you're all well!
mini munchkin
18-05-2009, 10:01
Hey ladies!
It's been a while since I've poked my head in here.... life's been fairly busy!
My DH and I moved to Glenmore Park at the beginning of this year (his work) and we are both enjoying our time here, but missing the mountains!
Let me know if you do have a catch up as I'm still up there at least once a week.
Hope all is well for every one!
Mich xx
22-05-2009, 00:52
Wow this thread has taken off recently i see! :D
Scarlett - hi hun how are you? I havent talked to you for ages and welcome to the mountains!! :wave: You'll be just down the road from us, we live in Katoomba!
Catbiscuit - yay for being classed as low risk, thats fantastic news. Hopefully everything works out well for you hun. I had my boy in katoomba hospital in 2005, luckily there was none of these troubles back then. It really sucks how the health system is letting down this little community! :thumbsdown:
Kizmet - good luck with everything, looking forward to meeting up with you in the near future. :yes:
Well its been so crazy of late that i havent even had time for poor ole bubhub! Uni has been pretty full on but thank goodness i only have one more week of the semester then i get a month off. Now we seem to have a little group expanding we should look at arranging a meetup. It would be great to meet up with everyone in our area. So if everyone wants to put forward some suggestions of what we could do, then we could try and organise something. :) Well i hope everyone is doing well and enjoying this lovely cold weather!! :laughing:
MountainGirl
22-05-2009, 08:47
when we move in, you can all come to my place! lots of space for kiddies to romp around!:D
22-05-2009, 12:10
when we move in, you can all come to my place! lots of space for kiddies to romp around!:D
Sounds good to me, lol!! :D Let us know when you move up, and we'll arrange something. :yes:
25-06-2009, 16:53
Hi everyone! :wave:
So whats been happening to the mountains mums lately? Everyone seems very quiet of late. Well hope all is well and just popping in to see how everyones going. :D
floodprincess
30-06-2009, 11:37
Hi Naomi & everyone else!!
I think it's been so quiet in here because the sensible ladies are cuddled up keeping warm ;)
Who braved the Feral Fest (aka winter magic festival) a couple of weekends ago?? DD1 begged me to take her up (I normally avoid it like the plague) so I relented and took her up - the only good thing about it was that I found a decent parking spot.
The stalls were boring (aside from my regular favourite which sells proper corsets ;)) and there were too many protestors, and as for the crowds, well, it earnt it's Feral Fest nickname again this year! Sigh...maybe I've spent too long in the mountains?
Meh, not moving though!! lol...
Well, just quickly sticking my head in to say hi and see how everyone is! We must extract digit and organise that get together soon, or it'll be xmas before we know and we STILL won't have any time...
Take care & keep warm!
EmilsMum
01-07-2009, 07:56
Hello al!
I made it to the feral fest!! I have't ben for a couple of years but I used to love going!! Only ever managed to stay for a couple hours! This year I only really went so I could catch up with a couple of friends that I haven't seen for ages!! I ended up only being able to find one and we spent most our time in Kmart cause it was just too cold!! And then it started raining!!:no: lol! I definately did not have a good time at all!!! And I agree it certainly lived up to it's nickname!
The only part that I saw of the "parade" was protesters!!! Might just give it a skip next year!
How is everyone else??
We are going alright Emil is trying to get hi two top teeth through!! Argh! So not much sleep for anyone! But other then that it's all good!! :)
catbiscuit
01-07-2009, 12:35
Hello!
I didn't go, despite it being my first year up here at the right time of year... maybe when Lentil is old enough to want to, I'll take them - a day at home in front of the fire was a lot more appealing this year though. The only thing really tempting me was the ice skating rink (which was still up when I went past last night), but I don't think 28 week pregnant women who're getting wobbly just walking up Katoomba Street are encouraged to strap blades to their feet and slip about.
Hope that you're all well!
It's been all about the renovations down here - it's looking as though our bathroom might be useable this weekend (woot!) and the nursery should be all painted by then too. Pregnancy is going well - at the moment, I'm swinging between feeling as though there's way too much time until it's over and feeling very much not ready for the birth... I'm guessing that that's quite normal though. :)
Take care and keep warm!
02-07-2009, 17:58
I didnt go to the festival, i wanted to as we've never been before but i had to do night shift so i thought i'd have a quiet day at home. :yes: I heard there was a lot of protesters up there.
Emilsmum - i hear ya on the teeth thing. :yes:My DD is getting another two teeth so shes been a bit miserable and having sleep issues from it.
Catbiscuit - glad to hear all is going well with your pg, not too long to go now. Hope your renos finish soon for ya! :)
Floodprincess - i def agree with organising something, the yrs gone fast already, we'll have to come up with a list of things we could do and agree on something. One thing i had in mind is the Kids Kingdom at katoomba aquatic centre, its indoors and heated so it will be nice and warm for us all and for the month of July its only $5 a child and adults are free. So its not too expensive, its just a thought. :D
Well i hope everyone is keeping nice and warm and doing well. Chat with you all soon. :hugs:
floodprincess
02-07-2009, 23:58
Naomi, DD1 tells me that kids kingdom is 'sick' .....she looked at me as if I had two heads when I had to ask why she wanted to go again if it was that bad...
So yeah, if it will keep my 11 yr old amused it must be pretty good :laughing: something we should look into.
Anyways, a quick one tonight, I'm buggered and off to bed.
Take care all.....
03-07-2009, 16:26
The kids seem to like kids kingdom. The parents can enjoy a cuppa with cake whilst still supervising and the kids can lose themselves in the play equipment. We used to use them a lot when we lived in sydney cause we lived in a unit which drove the kids nuts. So we used to take them to play centres to burn some energy and also socialise with other kids. We'll im pretty easy with times and dates at the moment, as im on holidays from uni. So we just need to organise a venue and date/time. Well off to get dinner ready, chat with you all soon.
hi girls
just stumbled across this thread.
I too am from the mountains, Springwood i am pregnant with my 1st bub at the moment and would love to get to know other mums and mums to be in the mountains.
Has anyone arranged for a meet?
floodprincess
14-07-2009, 21:35
Hi Bp....
welcome to our small circle of mountains mums!! To answer your question, we haven't yet arranged a meet, had plenty of conversations about the topic but just never managed to organise ourselves lol..
Hang around, we may get to it one day!!
How's everyone else going? It's a fairly mild winter so far, but I hope you are all coping. Who's being driven mad by the roadworks?? Each morning and afternoon I drive through the continuous stretch between Wentworth Falls and Hazelbrook...lol....funny that the entire GWH was meant to be 4 lanes for the Sydney Olympics - I guess we shouldn't have assumed that it was for the 2000 Olympics :laughing:
Anyways, I'm off to relax for a while before going to bed....Monique has been waking at 0300 each morning for a feed :eek: couple that with work and all I want to do a lot of the time is curl up in a corner and :sleeping:
Have a great night!
I am from the lower mountains (Blaxland way) and would love to get to know other mother's in the area. My hubby and I moved here about two years ago.
I currently have a DD - 7 and am 33 weeks with DS.
If there is any other mum's out there looking to chat and get to know one another please start talking!!
Tamara - 33
Michael - 47
Taylah - almost 7 in ten days
:ecomcity:
Shananaaah
27-07-2009, 15:54
Hi Tam (and everyone!),
I'm in Emu Plains and we are hoping to move back to the mountains in the next 6 months or so. DH is from Glenbrook.
I have a 2yo DS and an 8mo DD. Currently on mat leave but have to return to work in a couple of months (in order to finance afore-mentioned move back to the Mtns!!)
Sorry, DD on myt lap eating a book! so will come back later :wave:
welcome Tam & Shananaaah,
us newbies seem to have hijacked the "upper mountains" thread :yes: maybe we need to add a lower mountains one????
Tam where are you having your next bub at? I was booked in at Nepean but have since changed to Katoomba (nepean as back up if needed) I am 22 weeks.
Shananaaah do you and DH know where in the mountains you will move or still deciding?
Hi Shan and Bp,
BP, I am having DS at Nepean Private this time. I had DD at Nepean seven years ago and can not speak highly enough of it. I am not sure what Katoomba is like. I definitely go up there for emergencies as there never seems to be a huge waiting time as like Nepean.
We are currently living in Mount Riverview and my DD - 7 just started at the new school yesterday and she seems to really like it. Hopefully we will be here for a while.
BP, wish you all the best. I am on the final count down now and the time has been going so slowly. This has to be the longest pregnancy in history in my eyes. How is yours going?
Chat soon :yes:
floodprincess
29-07-2009, 11:03
Don't start a lower mountains thread!!!! We should change this one to just a Mountains I think....
It's good to see a few new faces around!
I'm only on here quickly for the moment, but wanted to say :wave:
Have a great day!
catbiscuit
30-07-2009, 00:17
Hello all and a belated welcome to Tam, bp and Shan!
I'm mid-mountains (Hazelbrook) and was kind of treating this as a general mountains thread already. ;)
Nice to see others who're currently pregnant here.. I'm 32 weeks now and it's feeling as though it's dragging on forever. I'm going to Katoomba too, bp.. the midwives and my obs have been great so far. :)
I've actually got an obs appointment in the morning, so I should be in bed now - just wanted to check in and say hi! Hope that you're all doing well!
Well we went and had the tour of Nepean Private and the birthing suites are a lot smaller than over at Nepean.
Also since when has pethadine (hope I spelt it right) between the last resort for pain relief. My hubby and I got that impression when we were there. Is anyone else absolutely fearful of epidural's? Or is it just me?
I know have 5 weeks and 3 days to go!!!!! YEAH..
How is everyone else going? :wave:
Shananaaah
09-08-2009, 22:48
Hi again everyone :wave:,
Tam - a friend of mine had an epi at Nepean Private last October. I haven't heard that they have changed the rules?? That would seem strange considering Nepean Public is SO busy all the time and they wouldn't want to be transferring patients unless they absolutely have to :confused:. I was TERRIFIED of epis, but was so thankful for the one I had with DD in Nov. It was very scary to have it, but wow did it help.
bp2206 - we are looking at all suburbs up to Springwood at this stage. DH is originally from Glenbrook and loves it there, but I love Springwood too. It's a few months away yet (still preparing our house for selling) but I keep a keen eye on realestate.com!
Can anyone tell me how bad the funnel webs are up along the mountain? I am terrified of spiders and am convinced funnel webs are going to get me.......
Shan,
In my little time (2years) living in the Blue Mountains I have yet to see a funnel web spider and we were surrounded by bush in both places. They say they are here but thankfully I havent encountered one yet. Touch Wood!!
BP - how long have you got to go now? I am literally marking off the days on my calendar. 4 weeks and 6 days to go!!
Hope all is well with everyone and look forward to chatting again soon.
:sunshine:
Shananaaah
10-08-2009, 21:12
Shan,
In my little time (2years) living in the Blue Mountains I have yet to see a funnel web spider and we were surrounded by bush in both places. They say they are here but thankfully I havent encountered one yet. Touch Wood!!
That's good to know. I am convinced they are all out to get me.. we're in Emu Plains now and I haven't seen one ever, but it doesn't mean the little buggers aren't lying in wait for me.....
So is everyone ready for Spring? I certainly am. It's lovely now that the days are getting that little bit longer. AT least you don't have to get the washing off the line by 2pm anymore....
Hope everyone is well!
floodprincess
10-08-2009, 22:44
:wave: Ladies how are we all tonight?
Spring is fast approaching isn't it? Makes me wonder where winter went, I can honestly say I've missed winter this year, it was no where near as long or as cold as it should have been - makes me wonder what sort of a summer we are in for?
Anyways, time will tell, the BoM say there is an average chance of a wetter summer than normal but also an average chance of a drier than normal summer so it's still anyones guess.
As for funnel webs.....their numbers fluctuate with the weather. Some years you can be unlucky enough to find several, some you won't find any! I have found (at least in the Upper Mountains) that the warm, humid weather brings them out in droves (especially during mating season which is September/October) that said though, if you follow the basic spider precautions (ie DON"T leave shoes outside overnight & put them on without testing ie stomping on the toes first) you'll be fine.
The funnel web CAN be an aggressive spider, with the females more so than the males, but generally again, only during mating season (I guess it's hormonal like most of us:rolleyes: lol). But funnel web bites are rare, and of those recorded bites in the past few years, most of those have been from morons provoking the damn spider or from being careless.
I don't want to scare anyone, but they are a very real neighbour in all mountains towns but you can safely co-habitate with them if you are sensible (so don't let hubby pour transmission fluid down their holes followed by a match).
Also - there's no point trying to catch them to assist with the making of anti-venom, our closest spider collection point is Gosford - unfortunately, the hospitals no longer take them and ol' Rex has moved out of the area.
Sorry if this scares anyone, but it's better to gain as much information as you can!
Take it easy girls, we'll have to organise a get-together as the weather warms up and becomes friendlier (although I'm hoping summer doesn't get too hot and dry - I'd like to have hubby home again)
I am looking forward to spring very much so as it marks the 2 week count down. I am also looking forward to utilising the pool we have. It is solar heated but costs way too much money to run so we have it turned off in the cooler months.
My DD is counting down the days until mum says "yes you can go swimming" instead of "no way its too cold."
In regards to the spiders I know how you feel but my fear is snakes. Those i did encounter on many occasions up at Yellow Rock, brown snakes and red bellies were always sunning themselves on our driveway. It didnt help that my cat also used to like catching the baby ones and leaving them dead (thank god) in the house. Though I always used to say where there is babies there is mummy hanging around somewhere!
So how is everyone going? I do look forward to these chats. :smiliedance:
Talk soon
catbiscuit
21-08-2009, 13:37
Hello all!
Hope that you're doing well!
Things are going excellently here, though I'm getting so impatient for Lentil to arrive... I don't know how I'm going to manage waddling around like this for another four weeks, if it takes that long.
I had my first ante-natal class at Katoomba hospital last Saturday and have the second one tomorrow. 2/3 of the couples there seemed to be either from or about to move to Hazelbrook, so I'm expecting to see the local shops overrun with prams this summer. The classes have been good so far and I'm happy with having chosen going up rather than down to give birth. :)
re: pethidine - the midwife who ran our class was saying that they've phased it out and are using morphine instead... some (you'd think not all that relevant, given how long labour goes for) regulation about pethidine being easier to form an addiction to than morphine.
It's so nice not to have to be wearing a jacket indoors at the moment - I would have liked a longer wetter winter too (mainly for a milder fire season), but I'm appreciating how comfortable things are right now.
Take care, all!
I hope everyone is well and enjoying this beautiful weather. Only 8 more days left of winter and I cant wait. :sunshine:
I have only 3 weeks and 1 day to go.. Though I woke up last night feeling like the baby's head was coming out. It would have been a nice surprise considering it was my hubby's birthday yesterday as well. Oh well not to be!!!
Well I am going to sign off and go enjoy the nice day while I can..
Chat soon :ecomcity:
Nobody has chatted here for a while but I will do an update.
I am now officially 2.5 days overdue and counting. If my DS doesnt come on his own I will be induced on the 23rd:yelclap:.
How is everyone else going? Any babies been born yet?
I hope everyone is well and keep the updates coming.
Hopefully next time I will be able to report the new addition.
Take care :flowerz:
catbiscuit
18-09-2009, 00:15
Tam: Argh - how frustrating to go overdue! Good that you've got an induction date, though fingers crossed bub will make an appearance sooner for you.
I'm due on Sunday and have been in prelabour for just over a week now. Frustrating and painful... I'm hoping it'll be soon for me too. I've been trying to keep busy waddling around what's slowly becoming a vegetable garden out the back.
Hope everyone else is doing well. :wave:
23-09-2009, 14:28
Tam0504 & Catbiscuit - have you had your bubbys yet?? :D If you have congratulations and if not it wont be long now. :yes:
Hows everyone going? Its been very quiet on here lately. How did everyone find the dust storm this morning. It was actually a beautiful sight except having dust over everything.:yes: Hopefully this cold weather passes and the sunny days come back again. Well not much happening here, just study as usual. I hope everyone is doing well. :hugs:
catbiscuit
13-10-2009, 18:55
Tam0504 & Catbiscuit - have you had your bubbys yet?? :D If you have congratulations and if not it wont be long now. :yes:
Yup!
Oscar Christopher Cornelius was born on the 29/09/2009 at BMDAMH in Katoomba. He's two weeks old today, feeding well and gaining weight. :)
Hope that you and your bub are doing well, Tam!
Hello to everyone else! :wave:
We haven't lit the fire in a couple of days now.. nice to have a break from the cold.
Isaac Guy Maurice - finally made his entrance into the world on Wednesday September 23. On the day of the dust storm. I ended up having to be induced as I was 9 days over. It was a pretty long and stressful labour but I succumbed and got an epidural, which was the best thing because within an hour of having it, the boy was born.
Isaac weighed 8pound 8ounces - 3.9kgs and was 53cm long. He is doing fantastic and is 3 weeks old today. He is feeding very well and already sleeps for 6 hours straight at night time. He is a sleeping angel!!! Mum and Dad and big sister couldnt be happier. He is very precious to us all.
I hope everyone else is good and enjoying their babies and study.
Let's keep talking and catch up soon.. :yes:
floodprincess
24-10-2009, 07:36
Congratulations.ladies!!!
Please.excuse.the.full.stops.my.keyboard.is.broken .and.I
haven't.been.bothered.to.get.the.laptop.out.of.the .car.
So.how.is.everyone?
We're.doing.well.atm.just.plodding.along.like.norm al(well.
as.normal.can.be.for.us):laughing:
Just.a.quick.hello.this.morning.as.Miss.M.is.getti ng.tired.so.it's.off.to.bed.with.her.methinks.
28-10-2009, 12:48
Cat and Tam a huge congrats on your new little arrivals!!!:yelclap::smiliedance: Glad to hear that they both made a safe entrance into the world! :D
How crazy is this weather?? One minute its cold then boiling hot then freezing cold again, its soo bloody confusing!! :yes: I suppose it will calm down the closer it gets to summer.
Since the bubbys have been born now, it calls for a celebrational coffee's!! :D What does everyone else think?? It would be great to be able to meet up with you all.
Well i hope everyone is doing well and chat with you soon.
:wave:Hi Everyone,
I think that meeting up for a coffee sounds wonderful. It would be great to meet everyone else. :shakehands:
How is everyone going? This weather is awful. I rejoined Weight Watchers yesterday (have to get rid of the pregnancy weight) and was keen to go for a walk but the weather is too unpredictable at the moment. :confused: I have had my electric blanket back on again this week.
Isaac is doing great and gaining weight rapidly. I cant believe he is already 5 weeks old. Time goes very quickly. Everything has seemed like a blur the last month or so.
My brother was deployed on Monday to Pakistan, Iraq and Somalia for six months so that is a bit of a worry. He lives with us and it was sad to see him go. I pray and think about him everyday.
Well let's organise this get together very soon.
Take care and chat soon
floodprincess
30-10-2009, 13:44
Hey Ladies!!
It's good to hear everyone is going Ok and kinda coping with the weather!!
I'd be up for coffee (not that I drink it, but a glass of water will do me).....sometime before Xmas..
The weather....she sure has her ups and downs hey? But not unlike any other spring up here that I've known (this is now officially my 32nd spring in the Mountains).
My Miss 8 months is finally discovering the benefits of tummy time and beginning to crawl (we have the commando crawl happening atm). I'm so thankful - I thought she was going to be a late crawler because of the paralysis in her R arm at birth, but maybe not.
Anyways...I must put tired Miss 8 mnth to bed before Miss 11 comes home from school and works her up again :rolleyes:
Take care all....and enjoy the fire free warmer weather while it lasts!!! lol
~BEXTER~
30-10-2009, 13:49
I'm in Bathurst anyone this far up?
I'm so lonely
floodprincess
30-10-2009, 13:55
Hey Keiara's Mum....
I'm not in Bathurst but I don't think it's 'that far up'...in reality, it's a closer and calmer drive than most parts of metropolitan Sydney.
hence why I am up there every couple of weeks doing my shopping - it's a much better atmosphere and far less people!
If you want to catch up over coffee, I'm sure we can arrange it!
~BEXTER~
30-10-2009, 14:02
I would love to catch up.
I moved here from Richmond 3 weeks ago I know no one up here and feel so alone, and Keiara needs friends.
04-11-2009, 10:09
Welcome Keiarasmum to our lil group!! :wave:
Well it looks like everyones pretty keen to meet up, so lets organise something!! :yes: Any suggestions??
One thing i mentioned ages ago is meeting up at Kids kingdom, that way the kids can play while we have coffee and chat in peace! :D I was thinking too, you're more than welcome to meetup at mine, we have a huge backyard where the kids can be feral and an almost finished outdoor entertainment area to sit under, if you like.
It would be great to finally meet you all after all this time. We've been up here since last Dec and still havent met any mums, so it would be great to have someone to chat with. :yes:
Hope everyone is doing well and chat with you all soon. :)
floodprincess
07-11-2009, 17:28
woohoo!!! Let's pick a date and work on a venue....I'd love to meet up!
How is everyone going? Enjoying the slightly warmer weather?
Only a quick one from me today because I'm in Grafton working on the floods up here - I fly home again tomorrw......sooo missing my girls (it's sad, I only flew up here yesterday)..
Take care everyone! Talk soon...
MountainGirl
07-11-2009, 18:32
HI guys,.. We are settling in nicely,..(8 weeks in!),.. and apart from the odd weather, it;s great!
You can all come to my place (W.falls) if you want,. we have lots of outside space,.. and plenty of inside space (if you are happy to indulge me and take your shoes off!!!! new carpet:o),...
~BEXTER~
07-11-2009, 18:39
sorry girls I have been in Sydney for the week.
Keiara is a handful of a child so I wouldn't trust taking her to someones else house, she is full of energy and just needs to run so a play center is better for me
09-11-2009, 21:25
Keiarasmum - dont worry hun i have monsters of my own too!! Thank god for backyards to let them out to run a muck!! :laughing:
So whats everyone deciding on for a venue?
We have the play centre, my house and mountaingirls house as options so far. Theres also parks too. The one at wentworth falls and blackheath are the ones that first came to mind.
So lets decide girls!!! :yes::D
floodprincess
11-11-2009, 12:01
I'm going bail out of the decision making process (do too much of it at work and home :o) lol...but in reality - It doesn't phase me one way or the ohter.
Chances are DD1 will be in school when we meet up and so far DD2 doesn't slide herself too far! She's just mastered commando crawling (well sliding more like) which has left me in a flap trying to re-baby proof the house to some extent (impossible in my place, but I've gotta get the electrical cords and plugs out of her way and barricade the stairs at least).
As for days/times....again, I'm pretty flexible and with a full on xmas workload coming my way due to the boss' holidays - I'll have more than enough flex time clocked up to take a relaxing day off!!
TurnedBatty
11-11-2009, 12:04
Im lower mountains, just under an hour from katoomba!
And richmond is just about 30 mins - 40 mins from my house, depending which way you go!
11-11-2009, 20:11
Well maybe we could meet up at the playcentre or park, somewhere thats neutral for everyone and easy to access. The park would be great esp if its a day like we had today. :yes: The playcentres good too, esp if its a bad day outside and also having coffee on tap!! :laughing: It can be a bit pricy though if you have many kids attending. Either way it doesnt faze(sp) me, but we need some input into what people want to do and when?? :D
Its great that we are trying to organise something. A park or play centre sounds good.
Let's start with, is a weekday or weekend more convienent for people?
If it is a weekend - how does Saturday 28 November sound? Now we just have to figure out where. I am happy to travel up the Mountain to Katoomba if that is where we decide. Does anyone know any good parks up there?
Hope everyone and kids are all well..
Chat soon :smiliedance:
12-11-2009, 15:46
Its great that we are trying to organise something. A park or play centre sounds good.
Let's start with, is a weekday or weekend more convienent for people?
If it is a weekend - how does Saturday 28 November sound? Now we just have to figure out where. I am happy to travel up the Mountain to Katoomba if that is where we decide. Does anyone know any good parks up there?
Hope everyone and kids are all well..
Chat soon :smiliedance:
I'd actually prefer weekdays only cause i work every weekend in sydney.:yes: Sorry to ruin that plan!! :o The nicest parks up here that i know of are at Wentworth falls as it has a lake and you can actually swim in it too, with bbq areas etc. The other one i can think of is at Blackheath which has bbq areas too with a duck pond and is next door to the pools.
Weekdays sounds good to me, I am free everyday except for Wednesdays'. I am happy to travel up the mountain. Does anyone want to pick a park?
Let's hope that its not too hot on our day. I dont cope well with the heat.
How does Monday 30 November sound for a meet up?
I hope everyone is good and getting prepared for Christmas:tree:
Chat soon
floodprincess
11-01-2010, 21:04
Helllo again ladies!!!
Sorry I've been so MIA, but throughout November, December and so far Jan work has been non-stop.....I've taken more plane rides in those 3 months than my entire life put together to date !!! (which really isn't that hard, I can still count the number of plane rides I've had on one hand, and that INCLUDES the return flight....lol).
Anyways, how did everyone's Xmas turn out? Hope you all managed some good times with family and friends over the silly season?
I got a little, but not as much as I normally would because they flew me out to Cobar to manage the Bourke/Brewarrina floods on Xmas afternoon :rolleyes:
No matter....just wanted to stop by and say hi :wave: and see how everyone is doing.....
Talk soon.....we must get around to finalising our meet!
1danni73
16-01-2010, 07:41
Hi there, im a bit of a late stater and i hope no body minds me popping in. I would just like to say hi and that i have been living in the mountains for thirteen years. I had all four of my children at Blue Mountains hospital and loved it. We recenty moved to Wentworth Falls from Hazelbrook and we love it, its beautiful especially in the winter. Hope every one is well.
Danni.:wave:
me 36
dh 34
ds 11
dd 9
dd 5
dd 2
25-01-2010, 09:57
Hi danni, of course your more than welcome to join our little group, Welcome!! :wave:
How was everyones xmas and new years?? So i think our new years resolution for this thread is to set a date within 2010 for a meetup!!! :laughing::yes: So lets get our heads together and work something out. The warm weather wont be hanging around for much longer if you guys want to meetup in a park or something. So lets set a date!! :yes::D
floodprincess
10-02-2010, 15:29
:iagree:
Who's got suggestions for when and where??
1danni73
13-02-2010, 11:27
i have just had an operation, had a hernia in belly button, so when ive recovered why dont we all meet at wentworh falls lake how about in three weeks time? danni:yes:
floodprincess
15-02-2010, 19:25
That sounds good Danni....the weather should still be warm enough without being too hot! And the lake has plenty of space for the older kids to run amok without disturbing anyone too much!!
So, that makes it what Saturday 6th march??
01-03-2010, 14:51
Can we make it Friday the 5th March?? Not sure what weather will be like but its not good at the moment. I think were in for sunny weather at the end of the week. :)
Hello Everybody,
I do apologise for not contributing lately but time just gets away from you. I hope we havent had the official meet up yet and if we have can we have another one?
If not the school holidays are fast approaching so what is a good day in the second week of the holidays for everyone?
I hope you are all well. My DS is now 26 weeks old and boy is he growing fast. He has two words to his vocabulary - "dada" and "bubba". Still no "mama" yet but I am not expecting that for a while.
I am going to try and log on more here and hopefully we can get a little mother's club happening>
Chat soon
Tam