View Full Version : Organised Activities???

LittleButton
16-09-2008, 14:18
Hey ladies, I wanted to play games with my lil man but i kind of wanted to create a folder kind of thing... Just unsure how to go about doing it, say i wanted to do playdough, i'd need the recipe and then i wanted to write down ideas on how to play with it.... How would you set it out In a folder.... nice and neat? O and i want to put the ages at which bubs can play with it so as he gets older i'll addd to it and when i have another child ill have games on hand to read and go "yep i can do that at that age" Im a very organised person so I want it spot on lol. (Control freak much :rolleyes:)

Okay everyone.... any ideas? :wave:

LB :hugs:

JabberJaw
16-09-2008, 14:23
Could you just make a special folder on your computer so you can add little messages to yourself? then maybe you could print it out later and but it in a folder with plastic inserts or maybe even do a special scrapbook, that way your bub and any future bubs could have there own activity book.
I am hoping to write a book one day but as yet dont have the time to give it my full effort but when i think of stuff i write it up in word and its all saved to my 'book' folder so i have it for future reference.
Just a thought, i am not very organised though!!!!
Good Luck

LittleButton
16-09-2008, 14:23
Guess maybe Studying ESC could help me?! Lol, wish she was off school!!! Anyone study childcare or soemthing do this? I have a friend in RL but he is busy today so I cant ask him... Wanted to start it today too... Am I Impatient?? haha

LB

LittleButton
16-09-2008, 14:25
Could you just make a special folder on your computer so you can add little messages to yourself? then maybe you could print it out later and but it in a folder with plastic inserts or maybe even do a special scrapbook, that way your bub and any future bubs could have there own activity book.
I am hoping to write a book one day but as yet dont have the time to give it my full effort but when i think of stuff i write it up in word and its all saved to my 'book' folder so i have it for future reference.
Just a thought, i am not very organised though!!!!
Good Luck

I figured i would do it on the computer as i have terrible handwriting, and I will print it out... But how would you set it out on a piece of paper... like

TITLE OF GAME

Utensils...?
Ingredients..?
Age Bracket..??

How to play :confused:??

LB

Beachside Mumma
16-09-2008, 15:52
If you can wait until tomorrow, i'll have a look through my uni stuff tonight and find the template we used for you:)

LittleButton
16-09-2008, 15:57
If you can wait until tomorrow, i'll have a look through my uni stuff tonight and find the template we used for you:)

would be very much appreciated!!!! :D:D:D:D

LB:D

mrsmamo
16-09-2008, 16:03
Little Button - i was JUST thinking about this sort of thing this afternoon (even though we are only 25wks Pregnant! :laughing:) Yay for us being organised (or anal haha but i prefer Organised) :yelclap:

I have been thinking and I have decided to have boxes (probably the plastic storage bin type boxes) and label them:
*Craft
*Art
*Playdough
*Water Play
etc and in each box have the relevant things:
Craft - junk mail, cereal boxes, good ol clag (lol who doesnt remember eating that stuff!) texta's etc
Art - paint, smock, different papers/cards, brushes etc
you get my drift.

Then in a box have little cards made up for games and activities (i.e dining table cubby house, cooking/baking, art, craft, water play, play dough and then child pulls an activity out of the box and bam there's soemthing to do for the arvo. Also on the cards you could have on the back, the recipe for the cookies/playdough/things like that OR have a separate folder of Recipes - that can include play dough, fav baking recipes, paints etc.

I dunno of course how well these ideas will work in practice but my mum was a pre-school teacher and seems to think they will be fine :)

So really, in reply to your post, you could even make a shopping list of things to get for a particular activity (i.e art) and make the card. or Make all the cards of activities and create a shopping list of what you need to get to make the activities work.

I hope that makes sense lol - in my head it does but that could be pg brain too haha. :laughing::ecomcity:

*Cj*
16-09-2008, 16:07
I would have a three-ring binder (some of mine are 4). Then us tabbed dividers for each age group. Maybe 0 to 3 months, 3 to 6 months and so on. That would take care of the age bracket.

if its how to make playdo,
then start with Ingredients, then how to make it .

Have a look at this link. Might give you some more info. http://www.organizedhome.com/how-to-make-household-notebook

(its about making home note books) I have one full of stuff for my dd to look at, So when she is crying she has nothing to do she can look in there.

I have other ones to kitchen and bills. One for my self and one for Dh

NibbleCurlynBub
16-09-2008, 16:10
You can do that.

I would organise it by age. :yes:

Include things like rice in empty coke bottles and finger painting and collages. :)

Should be easy. Do put one activity per page though and include some ideas you can use to expand off that.

Making 'grocery' lists is fun. :)

LittleButton
16-09-2008, 16:16
I would have a three-ring binder (some of mine are 4). Then us dividers for each age group. Maybe 0 to 3 months, 3 to 6 months and so on. That would take care of the age bracket.

if its how to make playdo,
then start with Ingredients, then how to make it .

Have a look at this link. Might give you some more info. http://www.organizedhome.com/how-to-make-household-notebook

Thanks for the link CJ!! got any ideas like how to set up the page such as what to put on the pages in the folder?

LB :hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:

LittleButton
16-09-2008, 16:18
You can do that.

I would organise it by age. :yes:

Include things like rice in empty coke bottles and finger painting and collages. :)

Should be easy. Do put one activity per page though and include some ideas you can use to expand off that.

Making 'grocery' lists is fun. :)

What do you think about making them and then taking a photo for it? Say like to remember what went well and what didnt? :ecomcity:

LB :hugs::hugs:

LittleButton
16-09-2008, 16:19
O and thanks MrsMaMo... lol, your prgenant brain seems to be working well!! :D

hugs!!!!

LB

mrsmamo
16-09-2008, 16:31
haha no worries - i just read through some other posts and didnt even think of the age group issue!

oops! lol

*Cj*
16-09-2008, 16:34
I have a song book (pages with songs on them)

Colouring in sheets.
Info on making Ant farms.
Lots of things to cook.
Things for her scrapbook

(my Dd is 6 have't started one for Ds 3 months yet)

Got to go and sort out Ds will add more later.

studyingECS
16-09-2008, 16:43
I have a massive folder full of stuff, I will go let you know how I set mine out.

Contents page

Arts and Crafts
Physical play
Creative play (Home corner, dress up)
Cognitive play (puzzles, reading etc)
With playdough, One page has the recipe and method of how to make it (Its the cooked stuff), If you wanted you could also have a few pages of playdough actives (You can google and find heaps of stuff).

For things like painting, get a paint recipe (If you want to make you own) and keep that at the back in a recipe section. Then if you find a painting activiting (like string painting for example) you already have the paint recipe and you can use it for other painting activities instead of having to put the recipe on each of your activity pages.

So for example

Pg1. Playdough activies (you can have you recipe in a different section at the back).

pg2. String painting, explains what you need and how to "string paint". (Paint recipe already at the back).

pg3. Sponge painting, same as above, have the method and things you need typed out and just refer to your recipe to make the paint.

But do it will all the activities you want.

Hope I am making sence.:o

I have the recommended age under each activity.

Where abouts are you? I could make you one if you wanted?

LittleButton
16-09-2008, 16:49
Thanks Kate! Been waiting for you allll day to come on lol, knew you'd porbably have a good idea or advice lol.

I needed more ideas on how to set it out lol, whether i put recipes in with the games or in another folder labelled recipes... Thanks for that :D OOooo the joys of being Anally Organized haha excuse the wording lol.

LB

NibbleCurlynBub
16-09-2008, 16:53
You can add photos, but I wouldn't. :no:

Just a few comments further down the page like 'cover the floor with newspaper' or 'don't use paintbrushes, use sponges' would suffice. :)

This is for YOUR reference, not display. :laughing:

studyingECS
16-09-2008, 16:54
Probably just put them where they are relevant..like on the same page as the game, or next to it, so its easy to find.

Have you got a contents page? and dont forget page numbers:yes:

Kittylou
16-09-2008, 16:59
Ooh studyingecs, I think I just found a wish you could help me with!!! Oops, wrong thread... :o:p

*Cj*
16-09-2008, 17:02
Are you going to have lots of recipes? I all so have a recipe note book, With binder's. I have some kids cooking in it.

But I still have some of dd's fov in her note book.

I would have tabbed dividers
One part Reciper's
One part Games
part's with stuff for mixed ages and one for each age group ( if its only for little kids iykwim)

I would be getting it all together then playing with it. Till YOU get it the way you like. So don't name each tabbed divider till you have it the way you like.

I fine with note books it takes time to sort out what you like best.

studyingECS
16-09-2008, 17:07
Ooh studyingecs, I think I just found a wish you could help me with!!! Oops, wrong thread... :o:p

pop on over to the wish thread and let me know what I can help you with:D

peanutbutter&jelly
17-09-2008, 15:36
I'd organise a folder for each age group - babies, toddlers and preschoolers and sub-section each of those. Creative play, dramatic, manipulative, constructive, physically active and cognitive play. But thats all the early childhood in me! I'd put ingredients or things you need in one column and ways to use it in another. And down the bottom of the page I'd put a section for related activies.