View Full Version : Moving To Townsville in a few months and am stressed...

Celeste77
12-09-2008, 16:41
Hi - I'm looking for Townsville Mums who can give me some advice ...

I'm moving to Townsville in a few months from Brisbane with my husband and am looking to get to know some other mummys there. I'm 31 and have a 1 year old dd and am preggars with the second due on the 9th of Feb. I'm really dreading the move to the heat but everyone I've spoken to seems to love Townsville.

Also I was also wondering about hospitals there. I booked in with Dr. Lucy Pallis and am going to the Mater Private. Does anyone know her?? Is she a good obst? Does that hospital have a good rep?

Sorry for all the questions - but I'm a bit stressed trying to organise things in a place I don't know!

:wave: I look forward to hearing your thoughts and hopefully meeting some of you when I get there.
Cheers Celeste.

Shauna
13-09-2008, 07:46
A big hello Celeste!!
Well i went public for my boys one perth other tsv, it was lovely...as for the dr im not sure, the mater itself is gorgeous..the only thing i n have heard of is they like c secs...they can organise there schedules then :rolleyes:

I arrived back up here Jan this yr and was due the march...i had really bad swollen ankles but i put that down to driving from WA :o they just took longer to go down..so long as you have aircon you will be fine :)

If you check out the Nth Qld thread we are all in there, some hold meets tuesday...varied in age and then others wednesday mostly 25 and under some over..and then if anyone wants to do something some other day we just organise it to suit. :flowerz:

What kind of work does hubby do? mine is defence :doh:

well look forward to seeing you around and good luck with the pregnancy xxx

Shauna

meggs
13-09-2008, 08:15
Hi Celeste:wave:

Im Megan and Im also 31 but only for another week:(, I have one bub who is 5mths and had her at the public hospital. I have also heard good things about the Mater and like Shauna said they like c sects hehe... both hospitals are really good, Im not sure about your ob but Im sure she is very good...

The heat is hard to get used to at first but with air con it isnt so bad we have been here since Jan 07 and im used to it now and when winter comes around you will be glad to live here! Right now the weather is perfect! You will def love it here, there are lots of nice mums and you are welcome to meet with any of us...

Anyway hope to stay in touch and see you when you get here:)

Celeste77
14-09-2008, 11:57
Thanks for the reply girls.

Shauna - you poor thing having to drive from Perth to Townsville pregnant! I moved from Perth to Brisbane half way through my last pregnancy but luckily I flew. My husband is in sales and has just gotten a good job up in Townsville so we are going to give it a go for a few years but eventually want to come back to Brisbane where all my family and friends are.

Megan - Happy Birthday for this week. Hope you have an awsome day and get spoilt rotten!!

Thanks for the info on the Mater. I am hoping for a natural delivery so I might have to put their schedules out a bit!! I will check out the North queensland thread if I can find it. I'm very new to this bubhub thing! I think I'll have my "L" plates for a while!

I look forward to meeting you both hopefully when I come up :smiliedance:

bAaM
14-09-2008, 12:01
Hi Celeste,

You will love it in Townsville, it can get hot but most houses have aircon so u will be right.

I have been here since dec last year, we have 2 kids a nearly 7yr old boy and a 19 month old girl and we are trying for #3 out last bub:crying:

Dont know anything about the hospitals yet but wante to come and say hi :wave:

~Alicia~:flowerz:

ETA- I am from brissy to :D

meggs
14-09-2008, 12:05
Hey Celeste:wave:

My hubby also works in sales:) he sells cars but dont hold that against him hehe....

There is also a birth centre opening at the Townsville Hospital so maybe look into that...the majority of women actually go to the public hospital too...oh and the Mater is opening a new womens and childrens section but still in the buidling stage...

For the Nth QLD thread its in the QLD section.....

Thanks too for the birthday wishes its the week after but trying not to think about it too much hehehe....

Cant wait to meet you....

Celeste77
14-09-2008, 12:26
Wow - you girls seem really nice!

I'm feeling heaps better about the move now. Its always scary moving to a place where you don't know anyone. (Well my parents in law live there but they dont really count!)

I will def look into the Townsville hospital - it seems popular.

Alicia - Good luck with bub nbr 3. "Practising" is the fun part!

Megan - I found the "Townsville Daily Catch Up" - Is that the thread you're talking about. I will pop on and introduce myself.

Celeste77
14-09-2008, 12:32
Megan - I found the section you were talking about. Just ignore me -I told you I was an "L" plater !! hehe

meggs
14-09-2008, 12:44
hehe no worries it can be confusing but come say :wave: everyone in Townsville is nice and welcoming most of us know what it is like to move here and not know anyone....

WarriorMummy
14-09-2008, 12:52
hi celeste-

i moved here from adelaide 3 yrs ago

i have a 3yo a 22 month old and bub #3 due dec 26th
it would be nice to have someone else pregnant at the same time lol

im going the the townsville hospital, public through the midwives,

as long as you have aircon you should be right in the summer- most of the year is great weather

you'll love the girls up here they are really friendly and fun:)

enjoy your move, hope to see you when you get here

Celeste77
14-09-2008, 13:46
Hi Hope..

Thanks for popping by to say Hi!

I'm definately very pregnant. I'm only 19 weeks but am huge already (its not all baby either) and only gonna get bigger! I just cant seem to stop eating with this one. Its nothing like my last pregnancy.
You've got a couple of months head start on me though!! hehe What an awsome Xmas present you guys are gonna get this year!

They suspect Im having a boy this time around - I have my next scan on Tuesday and should know more then.

Anyway I look forward to meeting you guys when I get up.

WarriorMummy
14-09-2008, 16:26
im 25 weeks atm so theres only 6 weeks difference, this ones a boy

good luck for your scan

AnnaT
14-09-2008, 18:00
One of the other mummies and I have both seen Dr Pallis. Im not delivering with her anymore as Ive chosen the birth centre but she is lovely. The Mater is supposed to be nice, Dr Pallis aims for her patients to have natural births so I wouldnt worry about the csection rate at the hospital.

Good luck with your move, Townsville is lovely. We've been here a month and half so far and its been ok.

Celeste77
15-09-2008, 16:29
Thanks for the info Anna. It makes me feel a bit better knowing that she is good. I will look into the birth centre too i think, lots of people have told me about it.

Good luck with your little girl. :)

mummyjessie86
15-09-2008, 17:41

Sorry for the late reply but i just saw this thread pop up.

I had Dr Pallis for my pregnancy and she was awesome. And I found the Mater Hospital to be just as good.

You will LOVE Townsville, it is a great place to raise a family.

And the NQ Bubhub girls are awesome :D

mumma2bella
15-09-2008, 20:40
Hi Celeste,

Just wanted to pop in and say hi!! I had my bub at mater hosp in jan and they were fantastic!! my ob was sam catalano and i was very much encouraged by everyone to have a natural labour and everything turned out fantastic! i have only heard good things about Dr Pallis and i know 4 ladies that have had her as a Ob ( all were natural births too)

Townsville is just wonderful, i moved here from brissy in oct 2005 and i love it here so much so i know you will too! It took time to get used to the heat but the winters here are just great! (not like brissy's winters)

well hopefully catch up when you move up here!! all the best with the move!

Nicole :)

Celeste77
17-09-2008, 16:25
Thanks Jessie for saying Hi. I'm looking forward to meeting all you girls when I get up there.

Nicole - I had an appointment booked with Dr. Catalano but for some reason preferred to see a femal obst so I cancelled and booked Dr. Pallis. Its good to hear som eother girls had positive things to say about her. Thanks for the feedback.

I'm all set for the move up north now - just have to do the packing and sell the house here and find a place to live up there etc...... hehe :thumbsup:

ohgosh81
17-09-2008, 18:27
Hi Celeste!!

Just wanted to say hi. I used to likve in Townsville, then went away, and moved back a few months ago. Love it!!! Everyone is very friendly. I am due in November and am seeing Dr Catalano and having bub at the Mater hopefully natural birth too. I think if I was due when the Birth Centre is open I would consider it though as it sounds great.

Just wanted to say welcome to BubHub and to Townsville!!

proudmama
17-09-2008, 23:44
celeste - just wanted to say hey and welcome to the townsville crew - we were in townsville from Dec 06 but recently moved about an hour away - the heat becomes tolerable after a while (especially with ac - and many trips to the pool)

the girls are great - they still let me tag along when i happen to be in town (which is a bit as dh works away every other week)

i have a 1yo also - but given all the age differences with the kids in the group they all get along great

when is it you are gettin into town?

hope the stress levels lower a bit and the move goes smoothly for you

meggs
27-10-2008, 17:11
:wave: Celeste..dont forget to come say hi in the daily catch up thread too:) oh forgot to say earlier hows the pregnancy going?

rinny2007
27-10-2008, 20:14
the mater private has the best reputation the staff there are great. and dr pallis del my friends baby and shhe was completly happy with her.

i hop eyou stay with the mater as the private dr wont go to the public hospital due to lack of bed space there if it gets busy. but you will be more hten happy at the mater

rinny2007
27-10-2008, 20:19
oh stick with dr pallis she is one of the best. some mums have had good expreience at townville but when you go into labour there you dont have the choice of the dr. and there are 3 obgyn there that i hate. one was a male dr that i hated with my first pregnancy rude and refused point blank to operate on me and 2 other females in labour because of there size.

and the other 2 were new and unprofessional with jokes.

Jess24
14-11-2008, 22:08
hi celest, hope the move is going/went well. i grew up in a town an hour n half north of tsv and it's a great place to grow up in. i moved to brissy in 07 and i miss it so much. there's so much to do up there. you'll love it!

ukmummy
14-11-2008, 22:32
Hi Im also moving to Townville in the New Year. Have never been before so have no idea what to expect. My youngest DS is 14 months. It is very daunting isnt it. We are moving to Kirwan.

rinny2007
09-12-2008, 10:13
hi uk mummy.

feel free to contact me about anything or if you would like to arange a play date your youngest is the ame age as my eldest

Celeste77
09-12-2008, 22:05
Thanks for the replys girls.

I finally made the move up here. I have been here about a week and am slowly getting things unpacked.

I have decided to stick with Dr Pallis and the Mater. She seems quite nice and is extremely thorough.

Sorry Ive been MIA. I look forward to meeting you all! :smiliedance:

bAaM
09-12-2008, 22:44
Welcome to townsville :yelclap: Look forward to meeting you one day soon.

84zsazsa
09-12-2008, 22:52
Hey Celeste,

I believe Monique may have dropped my name to you....she told me you were heading up this way soon...:smiliedance:

You will love it here...I lived here going on 22yrs and I cant seems to leave!!...:laughing:

I will PM you my Moby number if you wish and give me a buzz when you unpack....I will show you around.

Danni

Celeste77
09-12-2008, 23:06
Thanks Alicia and Danni.

Danni - Yeah Monique did mention you. She thinks you are a sweetheart for sending those clothes down! I definately want to meet all you guys - I have just been so slack. I havent finished unpacking and have just been tired all the time. I have 8 weeks to go til bub nbr 2 arrives. How's your little guy doing? I think you had him the same time Mon had Milla.

rinny2007
11-12-2008, 21:28
hi celeste,

welcome to townsville,

i love the weather here. but where else do you get to sit in a kiddies wadding pool with alcohol in your hands in the middle of the summer..hehe..

feel free to pm if you would like to meet. up i have an almost 4 mth old and a 15 mth olg..

looking forward to catching upp\\\

cya