View Full Version : Girls night out planning

heymamma
04-05-2006, 15:29
Hey all,

I thought i would start a thread for the girls night....just so we can put some ideas out there ... is that ok?

Mahjong
04-05-2006, 15:44
Yep! Im going even if it kills me! LOL!

What do you girls all like to eat in Particular?

Chinese? Italian? Japanese? Thai?

I pretty much eat anything LOL!

Shakey
04-05-2006, 15:55
I'm in, as long as it doesn't involve waking lol, I think we should go out somewhere unless someone has a free house then we could have a pot luck dinner where everyone brings somthing to eat, anyway if we choose to go out the only things i don't like is sushi and pork, anything else goes, :smiliedance: yay i can't wait, a child free evening, havn't had one of thoes for ages

karalee
04-05-2006, 16:19
what a fantastic idea, i know exactly how you feel kellie, not being able to chat to anyone because we are too busy running after our little marathon runners, hehe.

My suggestion would be to find somewhere not to expensive, so there would be a greater chance of a bigger turn out, cause i know i am not the only broke one around here!!

OK, i can suggest fasta pasta although i know thats up this end again
OR, maybe does anyone know of a buffet type place??
That would also cater to everyone's likes and dislikes

Mahjong
04-05-2006, 16:22
Fasta Pasta is nice :) But I like the buffet idea too :)

heymamma
04-05-2006, 16:25
OOOOhhhh Fasta pasta sounds real good....yummy :yes:
Yeah i agree with the not to exspensive thing...lol
Hubby just told me his brother was telling him how he went on a boat cruise for dinner & he said it was real nice....im not sure on the prices though..... does anyone know anything bout them?

But in food wise i dont like sushi... i love itailian.... or chinese....i dont really like thai.... but yeah maybe we decide on a price we can afford & what type of food. Sound good. :idea:

Shakey
04-05-2006, 16:48
I have no idea what kind of food places are around so can't help really, but I have driven past the southport sharks place a few times, does anyone know what the price is to go there or what it's like? is it a buffet like all the other rugby/league places i've been to? also if anyone wants to go to helenvale I have heaps of buy 1 get the second 1/2 price meal things (will have to see when the expiry date is for them) for the bull and cactus, its probably a bit far out for everyone though

SassyDiva
04-05-2006, 16:50
Love Italian food, but if we're going the buffet way what about Food fantasy at Casino, I think it's about $36, nice and central. Lots of public transport for people who need it. Then we can have a wine or two:D

SassyDiva
04-05-2006, 16:52
I have no idea what kind of food places are around so can't help really, but I have driven past the southport sharks place a few times, does anyone know what the price is to go there or what it's like? is it a buffet like all the other rugby/league places i've been to? also if anyone wants to go to helenvale I have heaps of buy 1 get the second 1/2 price meal things (will have to see when the expiry date is for them) for the bull and cactus, its probably a bit far out for everyone though

The Sharks is good. Haven't been for ages but they have counter meals and a buffet. Think $25 is the avg. price for a meal

Jenko
04-05-2006, 16:55
I'm pretty easy when it comes to food, can usually find something i like. I know i can get a lift to where ever it is but hopefully it's not too far for me as i will be cabbing it home. (i'm in broadbeach - heaps of places to eat around here by the way ha ha)

I guess we'll wait for a few suggestions and go from there. The southport sharks sounds good jo! I don't know the fasta pasta place - sure it's good though.
Woo hoo - can't wait!! :smiliedance:

Jenko
04-05-2006, 17:01
Love Italian food, but if we're going the buffet way what about Food fantasy at Casino, I think it's about $36, nice and central. Lots of public transport for people who need it. Then we can have a wine or two:D

Oh i like the sound of that - especially the wine or two!! :D

Mahjong
04-05-2006, 17:23
Food Fantasy is a great idea! You all have to promise me though if we do decide to go you will keep me away from the nasty mud cake :laughing: YUMMO!

Oh, and we will need to book in advance :)

SassyDiva
04-05-2006, 17:36
Wont make a promise I can't keep Beth.. Im a bit of a dessert bar girl myself:devil6:

So if we were going to suggest when, how would next Saturday night suit? If we get numbers we can book early next week to give people the chance to reply?

Shakey
04-05-2006, 17:51
the only weekend I can't make it would be the weekend of the 27th of this month, any other days suits, but if it's going to be during the week could we possably make it around 7pm so then I can have the car to get there, the weekend will be fine for any time

Mahjong
04-05-2006, 18:13
My weekends are pretty flexible and we are usually free any way :) Im cool with whatever date everyone is free :) The night that Mel suggested sounds good ;)

Mel, we'll just attack the dessert bar together and not tell anyone :devil6:

Littletreasures
04-05-2006, 18:16
i can do the 27th, there is also a place called howl at the moon that is in surfers or broadbeach ive heard that they do a 3 coarse meal for like $25 and they have a different variety of food thats worth considering

Jenko
04-05-2006, 18:20
So if we were going to suggest when, how would next Saturday night suit? If we get numbers we can book early next week to give people the chance to reply?

Sounds good to me! :D

*Chels*
04-05-2006, 18:21
hi guys,sounds like a great idea!i wouldnt be there til 8ish tho coz i gotta get riley down for the night.im keen for anywhere,cheaper the better:laughing:

heymamma
04-05-2006, 19:26
The Casino is an awesome idea...... Oh Beth & Mel you will have to get past me for those desserts ....im chocie crazy ..:laughing: :laughing:

So is that Saturday the 13th? Thats cool with me.... i wont drink to much either...im sure the kids wont want a hungover mummy for mothers day..lol

jessi
04-05-2006, 21:48
what about sizzler? LOL... Gosh, I havent been there in years...

I probably wouldnt come if it was at Howl at the Moon, my mate had her 21st there a few weeks back and the music was LOUD and there were quiet a few smokers around (and this was at 8/9pm at night)... being pregnant- Id kinda like to keep away from anyone whos smoking!

Places like Food Fantasy and Sizzler have Non-smoking sections... :thumbsup:

Im not sure if id be able to make a Saturday night though... Friday night might be better for me, but Id try my darndest to be there on a Saturday night if thats the night everyone agrees on!

Shakey
04-05-2006, 22:49
Jessie isn't sizzler the company that was closed down not long ago cause someone put rat poisoning in the food?

Maybe we should do a poll on where to go and only have it up for a couple of days then book the place on the tuesday or somthing. what do ya's think?

Mahjong
05-05-2006, 06:51
Kelly, are you able to make this thread into a poll?

Sizzler was the place that was shut down over QLD, but that incident was in Brisbane, not the Gold Coast. :)

Howl at the Moon in Surfers might be a bit hard though due to the lack of parking anywhere on a Saturday night, plus we have a few pregnant mum's with us so smoking is a no no :)

heymamma
05-05-2006, 07:43
Ok so what should i put in the poll....
Food fantasy casino?
Sizzler?
What else?

Rachael
05-05-2006, 08:34
oooh this sounds like fun :)

wish I could come and finally meet you all but we have a BBQ in brisbane for mothers day that night.

Will try and get to the next one.

If you want great food that is a fairly decent price ($10 -$20 or so) then I agree with whomever suggested Kokonut Willies at the Grand in Labrador. Although the casino would be more central.

Have fun girls

Mahjong
05-05-2006, 09:04
The Sharks at Labrador, Kelly :)

jessi
05-05-2006, 11:25
Jessie isn't sizzler the company that was closed down not long ago cause someone put rat poisoning in the food?

Really?

Oh man,I so dont pay enough attn to the news. I had no idea that had even happened!

heymamma
05-05-2006, 13:50
Yeah we should all decide on a date.....man its so weird this feeling...i havnt had a night out in so long.... just the feeling of us all organising it is so exciting..:smiliedance:

Well im fine with any dates except....my mum is coming up from the 4th june -11th june...so all that week i will spend with her...but any other time should be fine.....did anyone have a problem with going out the night before mothers day?

So if we can decide on a date & a place then we can get the ball rolling....wooohooo.

JorBai
05-05-2006, 14:09
I would love to come but my MIL is here on the weekends of 13th and 20th may so that counts me out but I will be at the next one for sure!!!

Have fun guys and think of me while your all having a nice night out and Im stuck with MIL and FIL:eek: LOL!

*Chels*
05-05-2006, 14:16
why is the grand hotel not on poll?i wouldve voted that!i voted sharks.i hate casino,bad experiences and i cant justify spending /$35 on a meal

heymamma
05-05-2006, 14:26
I did ask for suggestions to put on the poll... I havnt been out to dinner much since i moved up here so i dont know many places or whats good....sorry chels.

SassyDiva
05-05-2006, 14:28
Excellent idea with the Poll girls, get to see what the majority of ppl want..

With dates Im free anytime this mnth except 19th. Would be good to do it this mnth to strike while the irons hot so to speak, or maybe Im just desprate to have a night out:laughing:

*Chels*
05-05-2006, 15:56
sorry kel,i wasnt having a go!i just noticed a couple of ppl had mentioned the grand.i only just popped on when the poll was up and running.
will dissapear now...:wave:

louiseward
05-05-2006, 19:33

Been very quiet recently - but been keeping an eye on you. Sounds great - a night out. I voted Casino - purely because I want to be central.

So its the 13th May right??

Louise

heymamma
05-05-2006, 19:53
No prob chels...i must have not seen those about the grand.

Hi louise havnt seen u in a bit.

Yeah im not sure.....is the 13th ok for everyone or should we make it another time?

scarlett
05-05-2006, 21:26
Now this sounds like fun ... food, alcohol, music, grown up (ish) chat ....:yelclap: can I come? :yelclap:
Sat 13th would suit me but I think this should be a regular occurance!
Sara

Shakey
05-05-2006, 21:46
Now this sounds like fun ... food, alcohol, music, grown up (ish) chat ....:yelclap: can I come? :yelclap:
Sara
Umm well have to think about that Sara, nah of course you can come, I may even bring that ball of yours with me lol

What does everyone think about friday the 12th, no-one has said they can't make it that night, or we can keep it on the saturday as most of us can make it

SassyDiva
05-05-2006, 22:48
Friday is fine with me.. Not too close to mothers day then too :thumbsup:

abbynmonique
05-05-2006, 22:52
the bull and cactus at helensvale is awsome, and not expensive,,also if we are child free we could head on to options,, the tavern there after,it is open till 3am on sat nights,, if anyone was really keen??

Mahjong
06-05-2006, 06:52
I cant make Friday night the 12th Danie and I have a work function to go to. I think Saturday would be easier so it's not so rushed waiting for partners to come home from work etc..

heymamma
06-05-2006, 10:06
Yeah i think saturday is better ... Steven would not be in the mood to mind the kids all night after a day at work. :no:

mum2ryan
06-05-2006, 17:21
hi everyone,
Ladies night out sounds great... I need to get out again before bub#2 comes along in September.
I can't make the 13th, already going to a friends b'day dinner at Sizzler in Mermaid, i'll let you all know how the food is for a future night out.

Have fun!

Mahjong
06-05-2006, 18:08
Since a few mums cant make it the 13th (plus the following day is Mother's Day), what about the following Saturday the 20th?

heymamma
06-05-2006, 18:44
Yeah sounds good beth. What ya think ladies?

Mamaduke
06-05-2006, 18:50
I was getting all excited when you girls were saying the 13th...:smiliedance:
we'll be on the Gold Coast then, but I've just noticed that you're going to change it...what a pity!:(

Mahjong
06-05-2006, 19:06
:( Sorry Mamaduke :(

*Chels*
06-05-2006, 20:57
could we get away with having 2 in a row?13th and 20th?
my df owes me,he went out drinking after the league and got in a fight and was extremly hungover today and spent most of the day on the couch!!

Shakey
06-05-2006, 22:06
hey guys, I like the idea of having a girls night every second weekend or maybe once a month, I wouldn't beable to go to two in a row though, so i'm keen for either the 13th or the 20th

Mahjong
07-05-2006, 06:47
OK, we need to decide, the 13th or the 20th? Times a ticking away :laughing:

I wouldn't be able to make both, really loaded down with those darn bills this month :rolleyes: But I do like the idea of once a month :)

Does everyone agree the 20th would be better?

*Chels*
07-05-2006, 10:12
:yelclap: yeah the 20th is fine with me!!once a month girls nights sounds good:yelclap:

heymamma
07-05-2006, 19:45
Sorry it took me so long to get back to ya's... we went out today.
Yeah the 20th is cool for me :thumbsup:
I dont think i could afford 2 in a row.

Jenko
08-05-2006, 07:34
The 20th is fine by me...

louiseward
08-05-2006, 09:06
20th is fine for me to. Good idea about once a month - love to be able to sit and not chase kids around :thumbsup: .

Louise

*Chels*
08-05-2006, 10:52
ok so the 20th it is??
looking like it mite be at the casino!
i wont eat,we are dirt poor right now but i will definatley have some wines!!!!
what time we making it?

heymamma
08-05-2006, 10:59
I'm not sure....what time do you think it should be.... 7ish? or later?

Mahjong
08-05-2006, 11:08
7-7.30pm sounds like a good time you reckon?

We just need numbers now so we can book a table :)

heymamma
08-05-2006, 11:28
yeah thats a good time i think.

So are we all agreeing on Food fantasy at casino?

That way i can start the thread on the girls night out...so we can get all the numbers....or if anyone wants to start the thread please do. :)

A&Omummy
08-05-2006, 20:01
This sounds like a great idea guys:smiliedance: I think I should beable to make it on the 20th. But 7:30 would probley be better for me. That way I can feed and put bub down. Then she should be fine:fingerscrossed: I really don't mind where you decide.

Diana;)

*Chels*
08-05-2006, 20:25
Yeah Rileys usually down by 7ish so i will be there by 8pm at the latest!!
cant wait!!
kel start a new thread if u wanna,then we can shut down this one,i hate when it gets sooo long LOL

Mahjong
09-05-2006, 06:18
OK, I'll start a poll to get the numbers and let everyone know the details :)

heymamma
09-05-2006, 08:39
Ok everyone you can now use the other thread for all info.