View Full Version : Do big babies grow into big toddlers/kids??

mishkyah
06-09-2008, 12:32
My dd was born 9lb 6oz but has kept on growing at a massive rate, now 5mths she looks 9mths!!

So after reading the post on 10lb+ babies i woould love to know if they carried on to be big toddlers??

If we could all post their weight and length for each blue book (health center book) date so we can compare...

Here is mine

Girl D.O.B 1-4-08
Birth
Weight: 4250g
Length: 56cm

1 Month (4 weeks)
W: 5520g
L: 59cm

2 Months (8 weeks)
W: 6410g
L: 62cm

4 Months
W: 8370g
L: 68cm

Thats mine so far but if your kids are older please include 6mths, 8mths, 12mths and so on.

Hollywood
06-09-2008, 12:36
In my case, no. DS was 9lb 10oz (4.375kg) at birth, which is above the 97th percentile, and 55cm long.

Now at 19 months he's 12.5kg and 86cm, so 85th percentile for weight and 95th percentile for height (going by the WHO charts for breastfed infants).

Starlet
06-09-2008, 13:57
I don't have DS2's book around, but he was 9lb at birth.

He is now 4 1/2 years old and pretty average compared to the kindy kids in his class!

DS3 was also 9lbs, he was 6kg at his 6 week check up and now he's also pretty average for a 15 month old.

honeydew
06-09-2008, 14:04
I don't have DS's book near me atm but he was 9lb4oz born and he is still the biggest of all the kids his age that we know. He's not fat at all, he's quite skinny, but he is really tall and has huge hands & feet etc.

MamaHearts5
06-09-2008, 14:07
So far I would say yes, my son was 10lb 5oz born he is currantly 15mths old & weighs 14.5kg n over 100cm tall in a size 2-3. He is very strong (took 4 nurses to old him down when he was having a asthma attack 2 wks ago & they had to give him his ventolin)
Hubby is 6ft2 and 170kg he was 11lb born so I am guessing our son will be the same.

nugglyboysmum
06-09-2008, 14:12
DS was 9lb6 at birth too, but he was only 50cm long, just VERY chubby! He is now 2yrs 4mths old and weighs 13.5kg, not sure how tall he is but is about average i reckon, i know lots of toddlers the same age who are chunkier and slightly taller and lots who are shorter and more petite.

subaruforestermum
06-09-2008, 14:21
My son was only born 8lb 11oz, which isnt small, and 56cm long..

He is now 3 and people think he is older than he is, as he is tall, and well spoken. I guess he looks older too.

But he isnt 'big' in the sense of weight, he is only 15kg, and skinny as..muscley legs, arms and tummy (he swims 2 days a week since he was little, and constantly climbing the stairs).

Cant give stats as I've misplaced his baby book, but he wasnt as big as a 9lb baby, yet wasnt small either...so thought I'd contribute.

jaq
06-09-2008, 16:09
I think all of the above proves this is yet another thing where they vary greatly ... all about the genetics, I think.

My dd1 was on the average side at birth - 3.89 kg which is about 8.5 lb, I think. She just kept growing, and growing and growing ....

She hit the 100% percentile at her 8 month check, and by 18 months was so tall that she made the 60% percentile on the 2 year old charts!

Now, just turned three in July, she wears size 5 in clothes (on average) and weighs just under 18kg. She is long and quite lean - her weight always lagged a bit behind her height on the percentile charts, but not enough for them to be concerned.

They projected her height at age 18 from the growth charts, and apparently she is going to be over 6 feet tall. (I'm 5ft 4!)

My other daughter, in contrast, barely hits the 15th percentile, and there is just 20 months between them.

That'll be fun to navigate when they're older :(

Areca
06-09-2008, 16:25
DD1 - Born 4.1kg and 56.5cm long.
At 12 months old she hit 8kg. At 2 years old she weighed 10kg. She's now nearly three and weighs 13.5kg and I can't remember how tall she is but it was average height. From 6 months old until a couple of months ago people were always commenting on how small she was. She wore 00's from 2 months old until she was 14 months old. At two years old she was in size 0-1's. At almost three she's in size 2-3, she needs three for the length but she's really skinny so we're forever taking in her clothes.

DD2 - 10lb 2oz born and 54cm long. She's 12 months old now...at 9 months she was 8.4kg and 70cm (guessing height but it was close to that if that's wrong). I haven't had her weighed since. She's bigger than her big sister was, but not big by any stretch of the imagination. She'd be on the small side of normal. She currently wears size 0-1. She's wearing hand me downs from her sister that she wasn't wearing until she was 18 months.

My babies just have a good start to life, then they hit three months old, genetics kicks in and they become a normal size for our family!

xpress2
06-09-2008, 16:35
My DS was 9lb 1oz at birth (4.1kg)... He is now 12 months old and 10kg and wears size 0. He is 50th percentile for his weight and 90th percentile for his height. He is actually quite small compared to other babies his age and most of them were born a lot smaller. I don't think a big baby means a big toddler/child.

mishkyah
06-09-2008, 19:48
Wow im amazed at how different they all are, maybe there is hope for us yet!!! Was starting to worry as my girl has almost outgrown her size 0's and remember she is only 5mo!

GraceUnhearing
06-09-2008, 20:24
nope

DS was born 9lbs 2.5oz

hes now 20months and 11.5kgs
hes on the lower end of the scale

06-09-2008, 21:11
Boof started out big & has carried this on ! He was pretty much 10lb & 57cms long & now at 3.5yrs he is still off the charts with height at 106cms ( that was at 3yrs & he has grown again so will have to see what he is at ! ) but only weighs 18kgs. He is wearing size 4 - 5 but only for length cause he is tall & skinny like his dad heh !

G was around 9lb & 54cms long & had a rough start losing weight etc but has finally come good & is sitting on the 40th percentile for his weight now for his age at 12mths being 10kgs & at 79cms in height he is at the 90th percentile which im just so freaking happy about !

It is all weird though cause G is wearing stuff now at 12mths that Boof wore at 6mths LOL !

BazzasMum
06-09-2008, 21:33
DS was 7lb13 (3.46kg) and 50.5cm born. very average. Now he's 3 1/4, weighs 20kg and 106cm. Over 97% in height and weight. Of course he's been that weight for about 8 months and grown about 5cm. the CHN implied he was obese at his 3yr checkup. How rude!

miloand4
06-09-2008, 22:18
My ds1 was 9 pound and a chubby bubby till about 2 then slimmed right down he is now 15 and tall and skinny My dd1 was 8p12 and a very large baby (VERY) she is now a very average sized 13 yr old girl My ds2 was 9p9 and also a rather large bub he is sooooo skinny now (dont know how as he eats more than the teenager) and quiet tall and I have my little bub she was 8p15 and is 4mnth 3 wks old and 10kg so another hefalump bubba but am pretty sure that she will be like the rest of them. I dont understand why people worry so much about this as long as you teach your kids healthy eating and excersise habits they wont have weight issues during their life and you only have to worry about this when they start eating food.:D

mishkyah
07-09-2008, 00:31
Im not so much as worried but more so anoyed/frustrated that i am not getting decent wear out of her clothes! no jokes it is costing me a furtune as i am a single mum and received a large amount of hand me down clothes up to size 0 but she has eczema so away went all the non cotton clothing and of what was left she has now out grown!! I have had to go buy size 1 already and all the summer size 0s will never get worn :(

I was a big child (very tall but healthy weight) and suffered psycologically from it, (would always have to do the lifting and never be lifted in dance class, always have to play the male in role play with my girlfriends, always refered to as BIG) as a result i suffered from anorexia in my teens because i craved being refered to as TINY

I dont want my daughter to suffer the same so was curious to see how different children grow differently even within the same family

our little treasures
07-09-2008, 01:22
My son was just under 10lbs and he is very tall for his age. He was pretty much consistent with what your dd is at each check up. Now he is tall and not solid but not skinny I think just very healthy. Most people are taken aback when I tell them his age.

I wouldn't worry about weight as long as you know they are healthy