View Full Version : Any New Zealanders around?????
Hi i've not long moved over here from NZ, just wondering how many others are here
i am sure there are quite a few from nz here
i am aussie
but hubby is maori, born in nz
we call our kids (mozzie)
melfunction
04-05-2006, 08:17
We are both Kiwi's but our son was born in Australia. 25 days until we go home and K meets all of his family!! :smiliedance:
Hope you enjoy going back home!
I would love to visit NZ...
i lived in NZ for a short period of time.. although that probobly doesnt count :o
i am sure there are quite a few from nz here
i am aussie
but hubby is maori, born in nz
we call our kids (mozzie)
LOL kymmy @ calling your kids mossie's
:wave: I'm from NZ...I was born there, been in Brissy since '88 tho. What part of NZ are you from?
04-05-2006, 22:08
Hey im not from NZ but i think Keanus mum is! :)
me me me!! hehe i moved over here on 22nd march, born in nz, moved here when i was 3, moved back at 12 and lived in nz til now.... so glad to be back :D
Yep - pick me!!! I have been in Aus for 6 years now.
Another kiwi here. Been here since I was 25.
Time flies.
melbryan
05-05-2006, 13:34
Been here since I was 3 years, grand parents live back there and hope to visit this chrissy.
Can't wait.
Kiwi's rule.
hi guys,im a kiwi!!lived in christchurch my whole life.we just moved here 4 months ago.luckily my son was born there:smiliedance: so hes not an aussie LOL
sadly the next child we have will be!!
Hi there, yup another kiwi here!!!! Technically from the central North Island but lived all over the north island including Auckland before making the decision to move to Melb for the better life
We have been here just a little over a year. My DD1 is 5 and had the pleasure of being born in Hamilton NZ. I managed to get pregnant a couple of weeks after landing and gave birth to my DD2 (almost 5 months) 4 days before xmas. Funny thing is, although she was conceived and born here she is considered to be a NZer as well (long story and a whole thread).
The 5 year old is now developing a slight australian twang which our family thought was amusing on our recent trip home to introduce the newby. Would love to hear from any fellow NZ mums in the area, is a little lonley here at the moment :p
............and another here! Im born Auckland, teen years Whangarei, adult years Wellington. Living in Sydney for the past 6 years with DH who is British. Work brings him to Sydney. DS is Australian and so will future bubs be.
peterpan
08-05-2006, 10:43
Yip Kiwi here From the South Island (kaikoura):smiliedance:
good to see a response!:wave: hello all
hope you don't mind if a aussie checks in on the kiwis
my orange man and mozzies are everything to me
and i love to hear about nz
I would love to teach my mozzies about the maori culture
and one day actually visit beautiful NZ
Kimmy you should go over to NZ for a visit, its absolutly lovely, Good to see a hole lot of kiwis here, i'm from CHCH lived there for 26 years and have just moved over here a few months ago, my DH was originally from Auckland, we are loving it here, i think its been the best decision we have ever mad moving here
Illusional
12-05-2006, 16:36
*hands up*
Another one here too.. Born in Auckland, lived all over until '82 when adopted family moved to Brisy.
Went back 7 years ago and travelled from Blenheim (where my biological mother was living) up to Auckland - visiting relatives.
Spent 9 months in Blenheim in 03-04 to be closer to my bio mum and siblings. Mums now back in Chch.
Cant say I want to go back there to live again though - the wages dont come close to equalling the cost of living :no:
I'll stick with Melbourne now
Babyangels,
can you tell my man to take me to NZ?
I would love to go
Do you have to have a passport to go to NZ?
my mum is from new zealand, shes from Gisborne, i was born here in brissy.
haha kimmy, yeahya need a pasport to get to NZ, tell hubby to go over for xmas or somthing, alot warmer then
DH and I born n bred in Christchurch, then lived 10yrs in Wellington before moving to Brissy 2 years ago.
My folks and sister are over here too now - they moved 3 yrs before us.
Darling Miss Ashley is our first lil Aussie - tried to convince the other grandparents that if we had a boy we were calling him Joey.
Where to visit in NZ?
I really would like to see marai
and other things so I can understand the culture better
Hi Kymmy for maori culture the real touristy side of things would be Rotorua. However if your DH is a maori it would be far better to get him or his family to give you a behind the scenes look so its not so commercial. But Rotorua has plenty of carving schools, kapa haka/hangi type activities as well as the buried village (after the eruption) so plenty to see there all in one place :-)
All of my family are kiwis! Both of my kids were born there and I even miscarried my last one while on holiday in NZ last year ... must have some allergy to having an Aussie kid - lol!
I was born in Palmerston North, lived in Feilding until I was 3, Gisborne until I was 17, Wellington until 26 (with an interlude in Nelson), Feilding and Palmy again until 32, Masterton until 33 and then on to Sydney for 8 months before finally settling in Nowra on the beautiful NSW South Coast!
My dh was born in Whangarei, but spent the bulk of his life in Kaikohe and Masterton.
We are both Nga Puhi and discovered on our honeymoon that we are descended (4 generations back) from a brother and sister! Freaky!
I miss the culture and am trying to instill a little bit of it in my kids. My dd did a presentation to her Kindy class on friday about the kiwi and sang Oma Rapiti to them and now has to do it all again in 3 weeks at the "big" assembly! She is soooo confident ... not bad for a 5yo!
I don't really want to go back to live as life here is just so good and I have more friends than I have ever had in my little old life ... they are more supportive than my family too.
Kyra, I grew up in good old Feilding and hung out in Palmy all the time.
I was singing Oma Rapiti to my (aussie) DP when we first found out I was pregnant. I was tormenting him with it saying he needed to learn it since our baby would be singing it.
He said he had never heard anything so stupid but I said he best get used to it. :laughing:
And yeah, I was doing the hand signals!
I hear ya about the allergy to having an aussie kid. When it sunk in for me that my baby would be an aussie I actually bawled about it, Gawd. Part hormones, part justified!!! LOL.
karen, if you and your DP are both kiwi then I think you can register the baby before it reaches a certain age to get it a kiwi passport. Ring the consulate and find out the details.
My DP is aussie and bubby will be born here, so that makes him an aussie. Sadly.
I am part maori also, but a little white girl with freckles also!! My mum is quarter and she has blue eyes and olive skin, but we all came out white-as and freckly like Dad!!
Hi there Karen if both of you are kiwi you can apply for your bubby to be a NZ citizen by descent and therefore they will have a NZ passport & citizenship even though they have a Australian birth cert.
This is what happened with our DD2.
I too miss NZ we went back in March to visit the whanau and introduce the wee one. My mum being the awesome mum she is made sure she filled us up on kiwi tucker, not to mention maori.
Mmmmm boilup and frybread...hehe!
Mind you a few friends of ours are putting down a hangi for their DD birthday, hehe looking forward to that.
I miss home and my family but we have moved here because it is better for our family's future...so australia is now home but we will all always be kiwi's at heart.
DD1s school is having a footy day next week and the kids are allowed to wear rugby/soccor/football tops. So my partner is adament we are getting her a All Black jersey and that shes not to be caught dead wearing anything else lol.
The main thing that makes me sad is that my daughters may loose their culture here, so many trips home and my speaking Te Reo to them will hopefully help:)
I thought (and dont quote me, this is just what a friend told me) that if you moved here after 2003 your bubs have to have NZ citizenship. If you moved here before 2003 they get Aussie????
Anyway, DS is Aussie. DH and I have to get over our 'issues' surrounding sports etc and give him a sense of his own national pride. :laughing: Though he will ALWAYS know his herritage. We have a collection of NZ stories we read him at bedtime sometimes and hes got the good old buzzy bee and lets face it, between NZ, UK and Au hes always going to support a winning team. ;) Friends of ours were trying to teach him the Haka the other day. :o
I get a thrill when ppl ask me what natio my kids are
and i can say maori even though i am aussie
I thought (and dont quote me, this is just what a friend told me) that if you moved here after 2003 your bubs have to have NZ citizenship. If you moved here before 2003 they get Aussie????
Actually come to think of it your right after recalling a conversation I had with someone else.
Because both DP and myself are NZers we had no choice but to apply for citizenship by decent. What happened with us was we wanted a passport for our new bubby, we didnt bother applying for an australian one after being told by another expat that bubs wouldnt qualify and you dont get your money back. So we contacted the consulate in Sydney. Got the forms online (http://www.dia.govt.nz/diawebsite.nsf/wpg_URL/Services-Index?OpenDocument) and sent everything to Sydney (much faster than sending them back to NZ). You must first apply for citizenship by descent ($200 & a maximum of 2 weeks to process) then you use this certificate to apply for a passport ($83 2 weeks, $245 3 days, $543 callout).
We sent the application forms together and they were both processed one after the other. Its alot of paperwork to go through not to mention expensive. Funny thing is any children my DD2 have wont automatically be NZ citizens unless they are to another kiwi...hmmm
and hes got the good old buzzy bee
My baby's buzzy bee is waiting for him in the cupboard with all the rest of the baby things!! It was one of the first things I was sent from NZ after I announced my pregnancy!! :laughing:
oooooh hangi, can i come :D JK
Haha I know.....soooooo looking forward to it
Elijahsmama
29-05-2006, 22:46
Im a kiwi too, Born in Auck then raised in Tokoroa and Hamilton. DH is from Whangarei. Weve been living here for 2 & 1/2 years. Boy, time flies. DS is unfortunately a Aussie although we consider him to be a lil kiwi.
Miss home and family like crazy but the money and weather here in Perth are too good to say goodbye to, for now. We went back to introduce DS over xmas and meeting up in Syd (halfway) next month :smiliedance: . Elijah has 3 cousins extremly close in age in NZ so it's a bit of a pity he cant grow up with all his couzzies like i did. I definately want to move back there one day but until then it will just have to be annual visits.
DS has a buzzy bee too and heaps of all black gear! I miss sizzlers(sausages) and BK chickens, i miss all NZ food too actually!!
Ive already posted here but thought i would come back to say hi:wave:
I was born in Chch.My mum was adopted so when she started tracking down her family,we found out we had maori blood.My mum is 1/8,and I am 1/16th.You cant really tell,except we go really tanned when in the sun-everyones so jealous i tan so easily:laughing:
We traced our heiritage back to the hone heke tribe.Ive tried learning maori language but i really suck at the pronuncation!
I think aussies get the impression that all maoris are like "once were warriors":shame: its quite sad really!
Im sooooooo glad my son was born in NZ!he has a cute wee All Blacks outfit.Unfortunatley if we have another baby it will be an aussie!!
Im going home in 5 more sleeps:smiliedance: for 2 whole weeks!!gonna freeze my *** off tho!!!!!!
Hello fellow Kiwis, how are we all? thought I would pop my head in here to see what everyone is up to, and no-one has posted in here for over a month, hope all is well with everyone,
catch ya's later
melfunction
21-07-2006, 08:03
Having just been through all of this I can tell you that if you and your partner arrived in Australia to live before February 2001, your children born after that date, are automatically Australian citizens.
24-07-2006, 10:02
hi guys,im a kiwi!!lived in christchurch my whole life.we just moved here 4 months ago.luckily my son was born there:smiliedance: so hes not an aussie LOL
sadly the next child we have will be!!
Hey there I'm a kiwi form the deep south Invers originally, though I moved to Wellington and Palmy as a teenager ( joined the army). We've been here two years now and love the place!!
Um Chels21 just thought you might be interested to know that until you all become Australian Citizens all of your kids even those born in Australia are considered NZ citizens!!!
I only just found this out the other day when I applied for an Australian passport for my aussie born son. They said because we are kiwis, so is he regardless of where he is born. So I am now in the process of trying to get a NZ Citizen Cert for him so I can apply for his NZ passport. Hope I get it soon as we head back to the deep cold south for a holiday in September!!
24-07-2006, 10:06
Actually come to think of it your right after recalling a conversation I had with someone else.
Because both DP and myself are NZers we had no choice but to apply for citizenship by decent. What happened with us was we wanted a passport for our new bubby, we didnt bother applying for an australian one after being told by another expat that bubs wouldnt qualify and you dont get your money back. So we contacted the consulate in Sydney. Got the forms online (http://www.dia.govt.nz/diawebsite.nsf/wpg_URL/Services-Index?OpenDocument) and sent everything to Sydney (much faster than sending them back to NZ). You must first apply for citizenship by descent ($200 & a maximum of 2 weeks to process) then you use this certificate to apply for a passport ($83 2 weeks, $245 3 days, $543 callout).
We sent the application forms together and they were both processed one after the other. Its alot of paperwork to go through not to mention expensive. Funny thing is any children my DD2 have wont automatically be NZ citizens unless they are to another kiwi...hmmm
Sorry didnt read all that before I posted. It so damn confusing isnt it! I had no idea DS wouldnt be cosnidered an Aussie I just assumed he would be since he was born here!
So we are in the process of doing all that paperwork now!!
Sorry didnt read all that before I posted. It so damn confusing isnt it! I had no idea DS wouldnt be cosnidered an Aussie I just assumed he would be since he was born here!
So we are in the process of doing all that paperwork now!!
Agreed, we had this idea that we could get baby a passport and head home for xmas but after speaking to another friend who had a baby 6 months earlier it saved us alot of time and money by not even bothering to approach the australians for a passport. Even my australian friends were suprised because they were taking great pride in claiming DD2 as their own lol.
But the thing is that although she has a piece of paper saying shes a NZ citizen it is 'by decent' something her children are therefore not entitled to inherit from her (NZ citizenship that is) I dont totally understand that.
We didnt get the birth cert back till end of January but were planning a trip home early March so I sent the money and documents to the embassy and rang every couple of days to get it pushed through asap.....2 weeks total. A+ for harrassment lol.
25-07-2006, 12:54
[QUOTE=NZMama]
But the thing is that although she has a piece of paper saying shes a NZ citizen it is 'by decent' something her children are therefore not entitled to inherit from her (NZ citizenship that is) I dont totally understand that.
QUOTE]
How crazy is that??? The laws are so ridiculous!!
I also might have to call them up and harass them about getting his cert processed I'd freak if we couldn't get his passport in time!!!
Most definitely. I rang and informed them of the intended date of travel.....
26-07-2006, 20:50
I didn't realise you could send your citizenship and passport apps at the same time, as when I called about awhile ago they said you have to do it seperately grrr!!
I rang the Internal Affairs office in NZ today and they have printed his citizenship certificate and told me to send his passport app straight away so they can process it, so thats good, I'll definatley get it in in time for September, what a relief :o
Looking so forward to going home, it's the first trip home since we moved here two years ago.
I don't think I am going to handle the cold too well though. I have been whinging about our 20C degree days here in Brisbane, where as Invercargill has been having -9C degree frosts, OMG:eek:
Thanks for all the info NZMama, will come in handy when we have bubs at the beginning of next year.
JulieXavier bet your glad your getting it all sorted now and not finding all this out closer to the time, hope you have a wonderfull trip back to invers, hope you don't freeze too much lol, I was thinking of going back to chch in sept/oct for a week or so, still havn't decied yet
I didn't realise you could send your citizenship and passport apps at the same time, as when I called about awhile ago they said you have to do it seperately grrr!!
Oh your joking.....so then you have to wait for the post and everything, how annoying! I noticed on one of the forms it asks if you are including money for anything else because we also sent the one money order for both documents so we said yes and stated the other amount and what it was for. But no you can definitely send them together. The person I spoke to was very helpful letting me know all the tricks to getting them processed as fast as possible. I think 4 weeks from when I sent it off to when I received it in all.
Thanks for all the info NZMama, will come in handy when we have bubs at the beginning of next year
Your welcome, I was soo relieved that I had a friend from NZ who had recently been through this with her bubby...saved alot of time, hassle and money.
28-07-2006, 17:33
I was going to use a money order but was told at the post office that they are only for use in Australia ( I am sending to NZ) so I am using my Visa Debit card to pay for it so that was easy solved. I'm not a fan of credit cards so the debit card is great for these sticky situations!!:laughing:
I posted the passport app today so hopefully will get his passport in the next fortnight yay!!
Thanks also for your help NZmama!!
Greyeyes, thanks we will have a great time! We are going to our family farm, so there will be many firsts for Xavier. He has never seen snow or been on a farm, he will love he open space I think!!
Better get those tickets soon though, gosh they have got expensive over the last few months. We got the cheapest tickets available (Air NZ surprisingly) and it still cost over $600 return for me and infant!!!
Although since you would be flying to CHCH, Virgin would your best bet there as they fly to CHCH and have some really good deals if get in at the right time.:yes:
I was going to use a money order but was told at the post office that they are only for use in Australia ( I am sending to NZ) so I am using my Visa Debit card to pay for it so that was easy solved. I'm not a fan of credit cards so the debit card is great for these sticky situations!!:laughing:
I posted the passport app today so hopefully will get his passport in the next fortnight yay!!
Yes thats right but we sent the money order to the embassy in Sydney not back to NZ so they are technically Australia. Anything to avoid using the old credit card.:rolleyes:
We tend to fly Freedom only because my family are in the BOP and its closer without the hassle of a large international airport (1hr check-in instead of 3hr). Although as of March they decided to only operate seasonal flights....Oct-March. It still works out well for us though we are going home for xmas this year, it will be babys first real xmas (she was only 4 days old last year) and we want to be surrounded by family...sooo looking forward to it. We were back there in March and we hit a real bargain on flights..$1,000 return all up for 2 adults, 1 child, 1 infant....such a bargain! Dont think we will see that again though.
Ive been told it is freezing back there....my mother lives central north island and its snowed there...not a common thing. The south islanders have been hit really hard, some going without power for long periods......but the colds resulted in a boomer of a ski season..:p
01-08-2006, 22:10
Freedom also doesn't fly to invers, which sux. They fly to Dunners but then mum would have to drive three hours to pick us up and after flying all day with a 1 and half year I dont think we'll feel like more travelling.
I just looked for the cheapest flights and it happened to be Air NZ that had the best deal that day!!! I don't think I will be able to get them that cheap again either, with fuel prices going up it's only going to get more expensive.
Such a Bummer, when Garth and emigrated here we got $99 flights it was so cheap!!!
Those days are gone..........:gloomy:
My aunty is a farmer and also does alot of tramping so she has a heap of thermals for me to wear when I get there, sounds like I'll need them.
Have fun at Xmas that will be awesome to have everyone together!! Your littley will be into opening pressies this year!!!
Our families are from opposite ends of the country I'm from Southland DH is from Central North Island, so it's hard to get the family 2gether for Xmas. Also DH parents are divorced and remarried so he has to share Xmas day between his Mums family and Dads family and oh what a mission so, if they want Xmas together they have to come here lol!!:laughing:
Families are so complicated!!
My SIL and her Boy friend are coming to stay from NZ this week. They love coming to this warm climate and swimming in our pool even though DH and I think its freezing and wouldn't get near it till summer!! The 22-25degree days here in Brissy are like a nice summer day in NZ so they think it's "choice!!!":laughing:
Ahh ok, we are lucky we fly into Hamilton....my mother lives in Taupo, father in Ohope(whakatane) then DPs mother lives in Paraparaumu and his father in Patea. So you think you have it bad? lol. But I think that this year we will be in Ohope for xmas, I want to be at the beach. It is also DD's 1st birthday and we intend to have her party back there with the rest of the family. DP isnt too fussed on going back but I am soo looking forward to it. Im very close to my family and xmas is always a huge family affair. At the beach my grandparents, dad and all his siblings, all of their children and then our children....all come together from all over NZ to spend the holidays together. YAY
Yes I remember the days of the $99 flights....seems like such a long time ago now.
Wow 22 must be nice down south but in the north island thats still freezing lol.
My mother and brother came over at the beginning of the year and the heat killed them, they now vow not to come over in summer again lol. I remember my brother and I going to the dairy (or milkbar as they call them here) for bread and milk, it was 8am and it was already 35 degree's...see even in VIC it gets hot lol. They are also not very big fans of the beaches in VIC after stumbling across some syringes when walking along the beach in St Kilda. We were shocked.....soo naive when you come from NZ and theres not even a slight worry about that sort of thing on the beach but here people shrug it off. Soo disgusting.
Hope you have fun on your trip but yes definitely rug up lol.
I have to get bubby's passport organised. I don't even know where to start.
Everyone wants to come over and stay and meet the baby.
This one was coming then that one and that one and that one. I just decided today that instead of that, I will go there and they can all meet him in one go. so thats one airfare instead of about ten, so they can all chip in for it as well, LOL.
I hope bubby will travel okay, he will only be about a month old. He'll be okay won't he?
DP's not keen on me taking him, but he should have known when he hooked up with a kiwi that there would be trips back to NZ involved. I want to show off my beautiful baby!
07-08-2006, 10:56
I'm sure bubs will be fine!!! I wish I had takne Xav back when he was really little as now that he is 15month sold he is going to be right terror on the 3 hour flight home, am dreading that!!
When Xav was born we had different family members here every month the first year and it was great to have them here, but also tiring and hard for bubs as he was a bad sleeper and would get all out of whack when people visited.
He didn't want to miss out on anything so it was impossible to get him to sleep some nights!!
I think its great a great idea to take him back to NZ!!
NZmama- Well my SIL came from Wellys which has been really cold to here (Brissy) and yesterday they flew to Singapore where it is 30 degrees so they have been finding the weather differences a little hard!!
My mum finds it too hot here in summer too and they always plan their visits for July/ August since its cooler here then!!
Shed -
Hi there, baby should be fine. my mother and brother visited us when baby was born but we flew back to NZ when she was 8 weeks and she was perfect. I simply BF & changed her at the airport just before we boarded...she slept and didnt wake up till we touched down in Hamilton. As we were getting off the plane a gentleman at the front of the plane stated 'yes get off the plane and take that noisy baby with you' :rolleyes: He and his wife couldnt believe how quiet she was.
Julie - Yes I remember flying to Sydney once from NZ we went from 3 to 28 degrees, my DD and I both came down with climate sickness not great. The latest my mother will dare to come here is for the Melbourne cup, but thats cutting it fine for her lol
07-08-2006, 16:31
Hey cool to put a face to the name NZmama!!
Wondermum
08-08-2006, 07:23
Just thought I'd drop in and say :wave: . I was born in Hamilton NZ. My mothers side are all kiwi's. I lived in Dinsdale, went to Rhoad St Primary School, then spent almost 1 yr at Melville Intermediate before moving to Australia at the age of 11. I went back to NZ when I was 15 then came back to Oz when I was 18 and have been here since ;)
Fitmumma
08-08-2006, 07:50
:wave: I'm from NZ...I was born there, been in Brissy since '88 tho.
Same as me, I grew up in a small town called Waikouaiti on the South Island just north of Dunedin.:)
Hey cool to put a face to the name NZmama!!
Lol thanks.
We are looking at heading back at xmas and my daughter will almost be one by then so if you pick up any tips to keep a toddler entertained on the plane please share...I sooo know we will need them because she has a short attention span and is extremely nosey, its going to be so much fun lol.
Welcome to Fitmumma and Wondermum.
I was born in Hamilton as well but we moved to the central north island before I started walking lol. I also had my eldest daughter there at the River Ridge, really recommended if you are having a natural straight forward birth, it was the BEST. But givin we all live in Oz now highly unlikely anyone would lol. Sorry having a moment.:p
08-08-2006, 20:36
Hey there fellow Kiwis, Fitmumma and Wondermum!!!!:smiliedance:
I'm a southerner - Invers, but lived in Palmy and Wellys from age 17yrs. Been in OZ Since July 2004.
NZmama - I will let you know when I get back (20th Sept) how things went, it will certainly be challenge as Xavier can't sit still and is nosey parker too, he will want to visit the other passengers and annoy them.
I have a two hour wait for my Invers flight when I get to Christchurch too, so I am going to get a quicksmart fold up pram to push him around in there, otherwise I'll spend the entire time chasing him around the airport.
Although he has a harness he will be walking me everywhere, he just doesn't stop!!
I will be packing lots of books and little matchbox cars to keep him occupied but that won't last long.
I really don't know how we will handle it, soon see I guess!!!
You never know it might not be as bad as I think :fingerscrossed: lol:laughing:
Hi Kymmy for maori culture the real touristy side of things would be Rotorua. However if your DH is a maori it would be far better to get him or his family to give you a behind the scenes look so its not so commercial. But Rotorua has plenty of carving schools, kapa haka/hangi type activities as well as the buried village (after the eruption) so plenty to see there all in one place :-)
yep rotorua is great.................... but only if you are not sensitive to smells ........... but i used to love going there................ I am actually of indian background , born in Fiji and raised in Wellington and now living in Aus................. lol
did anyone here had to apply for permanent residence and go through immigration and all that bull****........................ I am still doing it.................... lucky for me my hubby is an Aus so i didn't have to get nz passports for my sons................... i couldn't go through all that again..............
mum stiil lives there....................
Shed - I just read your birth story...CONGRATS!
Yes we ended up going home with the newby and organised her christianing while back there, all the whanau just came to Taupo or that. It was great and everyone got to meet the wee one. Much easier than having a constant stream flying from NZ. They all cant wait till we go back for xmas now although she will be a completely different child.
Julie - Thanks anything that will help will be great. I just know she is going to be wriggling everywhere the whole time. Fingers crossed your little boy sleeps the entire way!
Ashika - yes the smell of sulpher can be quite strong in parts of Rotorua, but without it you wouldnt have half the attractions. Hmm Hells gate, wear a gas mask lol.
We are from all over Te Arawa (Rotorua) Ngati Tuwharetoa (Turangi/Taupo), Tuhoe (Whakatane), Ngati Porou (East Coast) and the Hawkes bay. My entire family live back there in NZ and I miss them all. But dont regret the move........
hi all just thought I would throw my ten cents worth Im on the other side of this thread really Im an nz born lived in auzzie until I was 19 and moved back to nz to be with my man who has been my hubby now for six years.So I currently live in nz and I do love it but do miss all my family in auz travel there very frequently and have travelled with dd since she was small last trip was in july and she was 23mths it was probably my most trying trip through sydney I bought one of those quinny prams that folds up to fit in the overhead locker which helped tremendously and the best ever thing I ever used was my dvd player what a godsend as my parents live in mudgee nsw so bit of a hike from sydney and my daughter was entranced by it!!!!my hubby is from taupo born and bred too small world huh!!!
hi nmummy...woohoo Taupo....my hometown :p Welcum!
kiwibird27
08-11-2006, 07:52
Any one else caught in the immigration law change??? I can't become an Australian citizen cause I arrived in the country 4 months too late, so I can't sponsor my dutch husband as a permanent resident. I recently had a daughter who has a rare genetic disorder, so I can't go back to work and aren't eligible 4 carers payment or healthcare card for cheaper prescriptions!!! We get family tax benefits though. Anyone who arrived after Feb 2001 isn't a permanent resident - we are special category temporary residents.
Do u think they are going to make it even harder 4 NZ er's to live here??? And if your not a citizen by a certain date they kick u out??? Am really worried about it, we may have to move countries!!!
:hugs: :hugs: Kiwibird27, that's really tough, hey!
My DH and I arrived in Aus in 1999, so we are eligible and have in fact got citizenship interviews later this month. When you arrived in the country were you granted a permanent visa? Perhaps talk to the DIMIA regarding this.
danielle13
08-11-2006, 08:06
Ooh me me me!!
I'm a Kiwi, a JAFA....
I moved over here in January last year, moved back in June last year, decided it was still ****, tried out Melbourne for a month, now back in Sydney where I've started my whanau!!
Sort of wanting to go back but not sure how the finances will hold up.
kiwibird27
08-11-2006, 18:35
:hugs: :hugs: Kiwibird27, that's really tough, hey!
My DH and I arrived in Aus in 1999, so we are eligible and have in fact got citizenship interviews later this month. When you arrived in the country were you granted a permanent visa? Perhaps talk to the DIMIA regarding this.
Already tried that, DIMIA are a nightmare.............We meet 95% of every criteria so we aren't eligible, I am an early childhood teacher and have my qual's approved in QLD and NSW, and its on the skilled occupation list (child care co-ordinator), but my qual's aren't enough for immigration??????? My quals may be okay for something else but u have to guess which occupation and its $400 every time u apply. Normal immigration is about $2000 to apply. No one after Feb 2001 got a permanent visa when arriving!!!!
Any one know a different way around????
kiwibird27 - If you are serious about staying I think a reputable immigration consultant is the right way to go. They would know the ins and outs and be able to get your PR applied for, at a cost obviously though...
My overseas born husband lived in NZ long enough to get NZ citizenship before we came over here, thats another option but obviously it takes a lot of upheaval and a few years in NZ.
kiwibird27
15-11-2006, 19:34
We still wouldn't be classed as permanent residents here though even if we were to go to New Zealand - and you have to stay there for 5 years now to get a new zealand passport!!!
I agree 5 yrs is a very long time (it was only 2yrs when we did it), investing in an immigration consultant is probably your best chance.
Re the healthcare card, are you sure about that one? I was actually given one when I first arrived over here (last year) before we started working and we certainly don't meet the new residency requirements. And I just had a quick look at the centrelink website and it says the healthcare card is not affected by the change in legislation
http://www.centrelink.gov.au/internet/internet.nsf/factors/nz_policy.htm
Worth looking into anyway, every little bit counts :)
mixi_mama
22-11-2006, 16:56
wasnt sure if i had already replied to this thread.
Im Moewai - originally from Devonport (nth shore aucks!). Been here almost 8 years (i think!)
Got 2 beautiful bubs - 4 and almost 1. My DH is from Rewa but his parents come from Opononi. We currently stay in brissy
uniquelywonderful
08-01-2007, 21:40
Hi fellow kiwis,
I've been in Aussie for 7yrs, born & bred in BOP & very thankful i'm here living a wonderful life of great opportunities.
DF is from Invercargill, lived in Aussie on & off for about 10yrs.
When BabyK was 2wks old we had to chose between snowy South Island (NZ) or sunny Gold Coast (DF is a miner), well we went for the sun & very happy we did. Gold Coast is beautiful & we can actually afford to live near the water. Even on two very decent incomes, living by the water in Sydney wasn't even an option...$$$$
I'm a SAHM enjoying our precious girl.
Would love to meet up with fellow kiwis on the GC.
lilBoofD
16-01-2007, 21:03
Hi another Kiwi here!
I was born in Wanganui and moved to Hamilton when I was 21 where I meet my lovely hubby (who was born and bred there). Both of our kids were born there, I agree NZMama, River Ridge is the best - I transfered there after Kyah was born and actually had Mason there. I am a bit bummed that I can't go there to have this one!
We have been here almost 1 1/2 years now, we moved over when Mason was 5 weeks. Was the best thing we have ever done! Went home for Christmas and it was freezing...and the middle of summer...doesn't take long to get used to the fabulous Brissy weather!
Hello there Kiwis....
I am a proud Aussie married to an even prouder Kiwi!! My DH was born in New Plymouth and moved to Hamilton (Dinsdale) when he was about 3 years. He has been living in Sydney since January 2000. When our son was born I had a bad time trying to convince DH not to name him Tana. I won in the end. I think the "That's not even his real name" played a huge part in it.
Just thought I would say Hi. Know I am not a Kiwi but I do actually like NZ (don't tell anyone!!!), the place, culture and food!!! Yummo!!!! Rashuns, pies, afghans, cameo cremes, chocolate fish..... my mouth is watering!!!
We try to go back to NZ at least once a year as my DH has a daughter in Te Aroha.
Anyway thought I would say Hi. Hope you all had a good Christmas and New Year.
Lucy
melbryan
17-01-2007, 07:42
Hi to all you kiwis, (keep bumping into your lucY)
I have been here most of my life but love NZ and will eventually move there one day.
I am from Whakatane, mum from Taupo and dad from Kaitaia.
Oh I got some choccy fish on Sunday at a markets they had other choccies too. buzz bars, pinkies, I was in heaven. Oh and I love making afgans!!! Mum gave me the Edmonds cookbook and it's got some cool recipes in it.
Mum gave me the Edmonds cookbook and it's got some cool recipes in it.
I had to bring several of them back from NZ last time I went over as several of my Aussie friends were jealous of mine:D
Mel, yes we do keep bumping into each other!!! I love my Edmonds cook book (again don't tell Women's Weekly!). I cook from it all the time.
melbryan
20-01-2007, 15:38
I had to bring several of them back from NZ last time I went over as several of my Aussie friends were jealous of mine:D
I got mums tatty old one and mum got a new one but she said alot the good recipes are missing from it.
Lucy we shoudl make some goodies and bring them when we meet up next time.
lilBoofD
20-01-2007, 21:01
Thats so funny, on our trip home at Christmas the most important thing I had to bring back was ....yeap, an Edmonds Cookbook!! :laughing:
Wondermum
25-01-2007, 22:50
My DH was born in New Plymouth and moved to Hamilton (Dinsdale) when he was about 3 years.
OMG that's where I grew up!!! Faaaar out... wonder if I knew him??? I went to Rhode St Primary and Melville Intermediate for a few months before moving to Aust.
My DH lived in Bremworth Ave and went to Frankton Primary School and then Fraser high.
Wow so much has happened in this thread. My daughters and I just got back from a 7 week holiday in NZ...now thats what I call a holiday lol. Although they arent really have much of a summer over there...rain glorious rain.
Just reading the posts on the immigration issues I moved here 2005 and yes we are effected by the SCV status as well. We arent considered to be permanent residents. Something that we will definitely have to sort out soon. How long is it that your allowed to stay in Oz on that visa? As for the Health care card I have one and never had any issues with that.
Hi all...
I'm not a kiwi but married to one..he was born in Te Awamutu ...been living here 6 years now...
the only reason we have foxtel is because of the rugby apparently nrl does not count as rugby :shame:
We try to go to NZ every year or 2...i just love it to go visit, we're taking DS there in a couple of weeks, hopefully the weather will be nice.
Hi all...
I'm a fellow Kiwi.. :thumbsup:
I'm Nicola and I was born and bred in Hamilton and I've only just moved to the Gold Coast with my French husband and 2 kids.
My DH lived in Bremworth Ave and went to Frankton Primary School and then Fraser high.
I went to Fraser too... Your hubby is only slightly older than me so I wonder if I know him?
seems like a lot of hamiltonions lol
i went to fairfield college! lol lived all around hamz over the years though!
~J'dore~
19-09-2007, 20:54
I'm a kiwi:)
Lived in Tauranga my whole life, moved to Sydney with hubby over 3 years ago. We love it here:)
I've got family in Hamilton (Dinsdale).
DS 1 was born in NZ, DS2 and DS3 here in Aussie.
x Denise
too many north islanders around here lol
we need more southislanders in here
Nickyps welcome to BH and welcome to the GC, i'm from NZ as well, Christchurch and we moved to the GC a year and a half ago, loveing it here
Seems like a mass evacuation of Hamilton! LOL...
Gizmo, which part of the GC are you on?
andie_pandie
19-09-2007, 21:01
Kia Ora
I was born in Palmy, moved to Waihi (BOP again)when I started High School, then back to Palmy before moving over here with My Husband and then one child back in 1996
1 Kiwikid, 2 Aussie Kids
mumx3littlies
19-09-2007, 21:11
Hey all. I'm a kiwi too:) Me, DH and kids moved here a year ago. We love it here. Born and bred in New Plymouth, Taranaki tho.
Seems like a mass evacuation of Hamilton! LOL...
Gizmo, which part of the GC are you on?
Probably a good thing that everyone is escaping Hams, there aint much to do there lol
umm i'm in southport :thumbsup:
SweetAngels
05-11-2007, 09:22
Hi everyone, I know I'm replying rather late but oh well.
I'm a Kiwi still living in the land of the long white cloud lol. Spent my childhood in Putaruru (South Waikato) 5 years in Hamilton went to Melville High then Girls High, had DD at River Ridge, lovely place to birth! Moved to Tauranga for 3 years spent a year in Rotorua and just moved back to Tauranga which so far is my fav place to live, good weather nice people and the beach :D
Hi Tarsh,
My SIL had her babies at River Ridge too.. It's great aye, oh and the food is just awsome!! LOL...
my DS was born at river ridge too... i love it there! :D my mum is a midwife in Hamilton too :D
It's been ages since I posted here, but it definately sound like a mass evacuation from Hamilton! I keep asking my DH if one day we could mistakenly get on a plane to Hamilton Island instead of Hamilton - he doesn't seem too impressed with this!
Seriously though, love NZ. We did a 2 1/2 week tiki tour around before our son was born last year and hopefully will do again soon with both bubs.