View Full Version : Little Dude is still little...
lukaelmo
03-05-2006, 11:04
Where is the Paranoid Mum's Section?
I know I have asked this before, but can whoever out there with a little bub please post here so I can stop feeling like I am the only one.
The dude is now 9 months and has just cracked the 7 kilo barrier :smiliedance: . I was really proud and excited at first, but I have recently been asked by two different girls if he was premmie, "Oh he's so tiny, I can't believe he's 9 months old" :mad: and even more recently, a "friend" with a new bub came over last week and commented about 20 times on how small the dude was. "My little xxxx is only 4 months and he's ALREADY the size of your Luka" :mad: . I kept giving her the death stare, I went from acceptance to anger to wanting to bop her on the head in the space of about 5 mins.
The dude is happy, eats solids really well, is BFed, has heaps of energy, sleeps well and is a lovely smiling little man. However, in my job as his paranoid mother, I recently went looking for photos of little people on the net, to see if the dude looked like a baby little person. Even with the new BFing charts he is only just on the bottom rung.
:banghead:
Surely the dude is not the only small baby out there?
ozzysmum
03-05-2006, 11:10
ozzy is skinny but long - only about 7.5 kgs now.
as long as your little dude is healthy don't let other people's comments get to you (hard, i know). My mum keeps telling me that i was over a year old before i was as big as ozzy is now - people used to think i was hugely advanced because i looked 6 months old but was walking and talking! there's always a bright side ;)
my jazzy is the same! she is 10mnths and is almost 8kg. i am always worried about itoo because she was a big bub when she was born. but she has times when she wont eat much and i have come to accept that she is just alittle girl. also i am only 149cms and 47kg and dh is not a huge man so i think as long as he is happy and healthy then there is no need for you to worry:) . easier said than done i know! at least they will probably never be overweight/obese kids!
melfunction
03-05-2006, 11:13
Ali, trust me. Luka is not the smallest baby out there. One of the babies in my mothers group is two weeks younger than K and has just broken through the 7 kilo barrier too.
Luka is a healthy, happy gorgeous dude and I think its all in the genes. You are not a huge ox of a person, so why would Luka be a huge ox of a baby?
People can be VERY insensitive about the comments they say about other babies. I get the absolute opposite to you, but then again, I am a huge ox of a person :p
Supermum
03-05-2006, 11:21
Ali - Ben has almost always been one of the smaller bubs and now toddler's amongst his peers.
He was in the 10th percentile for I don't know how long. Shorter and skinnier than most of his peers despite his love of food.
At 3, he has only just started shooting up and filling out a bit more.
KM's right, you are not an amazon and the little dude is happy and healthy. He is what he is Ali - worry not!
Baby Girl
03-05-2006, 11:21
DD2 is just about 1 and only ways 8.5 kilos and she is short to boot!!
DD1 is 3 1/2 and has only just hit 13 kilos - she got to 10 at about 18 months and then just seemed to stop getting heavier...... She was only about 9 kilos when she turned 1.
ButterflyKisses
03-05-2006, 11:24
I'm sorry but I probably would be like your friend too but only because I'd be comparing my big heffer to your little dude.
at 9 months my DS was just over 11kgs but he was 4.320kgs at birth and 55 cms long so he was always a chubby bubby. Not so chubby now as he's grown taller. People keep thinking he's 3 1/2 to 4 but he'll only be 3 next month.
I remember when DS was 5 months old I visited a friend whose DD was 3 months and we laid them on a rug on the floor together so we could take photos of our precious little bubs. When I loaded them on the computer and showed my DH he said "gee don't tell me your getting him to play with dolls!!!". I said "no that's so and so's baby". He nearly died because she was so tiny but mind you she was only 6lb at birth and was 2 mths younger.
Out of interest where was he on the chart at birth?? My DS was in the 97% at birth and is only just slightly under it now.
I'd only be really worried if he was not happy and healthy or if his weight completely fell off the chart.
Luka I can sooo sympathise with you. Porsha is also 9 mths and is almost 8kg...(not quite there yet).
I keep thinking she'll have a growth spurt soon...but I'm still waiting.:laughing:
Peaceangels
03-05-2006, 12:07
The dude is happy, eats solids really well, is BFed, has heaps of energy, sleeps well and is a lovely smiling little man.
I think you summed up every mother's dream with this statement (& I'm sure your friend cannot say the same?!!:rolleyes: ).
If in doubt have him checked by your CHN or a Paedeatricean just for peace of mind.
If they are happy and healthy then there is no need to change what you are doing.
Some people just don't know when to shut up :banghead:
There's always going to be comments, I get them with DS2 cause he is on the stocky side, but again he is happy and healthy (not overweight), so there is no cause for concern.
Next time she repeats these unnecessary statements, it may be time for a polite "I'd rather you didn't say that, he is happy and healthy and that's all that matter's"!
Hope she get's the message soon!:fingerscrossed:
ToTeenyTots
03-05-2006, 12:17
I agree with peaceangels. Tash haas always been small and I worried alot as she has never been very interested in food but as you say she is happy, energetic and up with all her "correct milestones" . So in the long run thats all that matters. When Tash got her 12 month shots (she is 16 months now) she only weighted 8.74 kgs. It feels like she has put on weight since then but that could just be me luggging around her sister due in June. Definately bigger the 2nd time.
jasminesmum
03-05-2006, 12:24
My dd has just turned 1 last week and is only just over the 8 kg mark.
I am not very big either so I guess shes going to be like her mummy.
I know its hard not to worry when all the other babys the same age and the younger ones are alot bigger.
He sounds very happy and healthy though so thats the main thing.
At least our small babies get more use out of their clothes.
Kassiasmum
03-05-2006, 13:57
My little dd is 26months and weighs somewhere between 8.5kg and 9kg. She is tiny, quite short and not much fat on her at all, people are always commenting on how little she is, but you just get so sick of it that I don't even reply anymore. She has a cousin who is 7 months old and is bigger than her in both weight and height, it is quiet funny when my dd tries to pick her up. I get asked all the time how old she is, I guess cause she is this tiny little person and people are seeing her running and talking and she is toilet trained. As you said, your little man eats, drinks, is active and reaching all his milestones as he should be, so that is a great indicator that all is well. If you are really worried, take him to your pead and he will check him out, we did this and were referred on to a growth specialist when she was 12 months and after all these awful tests they finally agreed with us that there is nothing wrong with her, she is just little, there are no giants on either side of our families.
I hope all these posts put your mind at ease and that some kids are just small.
Another one here:yes: 19 months and around 9.5kg if Im lucky (I dont get him weighed much because my Dr freaks and I start wondering if I should be worrying).
Anyway, when he was 13mths we listened to our GP and took DS to the Paed again (first time he was 9mths and the guy said nothing wrong). He still said "nothing wrong" as hes happy, healthy, bright eyes, alert, developing and he has a good covering - just no fat. Anyway, he ordered bloods just to be sure and it was traumatic and came back 100% normal.
My figuring now is that someones gotta be at the bottom end of the scale for there to be a scale and as long as development is pretty much on track - forget the scales. Afterall, over 25% of children in Australia are obese (just a figure I picked up from Sunrise this morning:D ) and I think its something like 70% or 80% are overweight so of course little but healthy babies are quite a big difference visually to many children.
If you are worried then get it checked but if everything else seems fine than i personally dont think its cause for alarm.
BTW, DSwas born smack on average for weight and height.
03-05-2006, 15:05
Try not to stress hun !
I would be the same as ButterflyKisses in that i would possibly say " wow look how little he is & cute etc " only because i have a heffalump LOL !
I see all these tiny bubbas & i want to steal them :p
Bubs has always been around the 99% area on his charts its only recently he has started coming down but is still in the 80's currently at 14mths he is the average size of a 21mth old.
So i can understand somewhat how frustrating it is because i get the " wow he is big isnt he " or " shouldnt he be walking yet he is old enough " auuugh !
I think no matter which end of the scale they are at we have comments made to us & its frustrating especially when we are our harshest critics.
As you said Luka is having his solids, still bf'ing is a happy & healthy bubba so you are obviously doing all the is right & necessary !
At least your son wont be beating you up in kindy LOL ;)
Look at that avatar he is gorgeous !
He is fine as he is bugger everyone else :hugs:
repeat after me -
LITTLE IS OK ... LITTLE IS OK .... LITTLE IS OK .... LITTLE IS OK ...
now breathe deeply ... hug your son.. and have faith in the fact that he is a gorgeous... content... happy (well.. most of the time :D) ... enthusiastic little dude... who could charm the birds from the trees.. .and will DEFINATLEY be a heart breaker :laughing:
:hugs: to you .. and a MASSIVE thwap to that idiot woman who had NO idea
note edited to comply with Lukaelmos comment :p
lukaelmo
03-05-2006, 17:44
Um if little is okay, then why did you have to write it so big?:laughing:
Annsam, I don't take the dude to the CHN or Doctor anymore either because they are the ones who made me wonder if something was wrong also. I remember tripping happily along to the doc thinking she was going to complement me on my lovely happy baby, and walking out choking back tears because he had dropped a percentile.
I also know the dude is thriving, but like Kassiasmum said, I get really sick of hearing people comment on his stature. I know when you see him next to a baby of a similar age, the size difference is really noticeable and people just automatically react to that. Unfortunately though, it just means that I hear it again, and again, and again. Perhaps what I need to change is my attitude. I do think that asking if he was premmie is a little rude though, I think that is quite an intimate question.
Perhaps I should just start lying about his age. Then people could comment on how advanced he is for a 4 month old :laughing:.
Thank you everyone for your reassurance, I do so adore my little man.
hmm fair enough .. .have edited to demonstrate statement :D
lukaelmo
03-05-2006, 19:12
You big dag.
Jack is looking particularly handsome in your new avatar :yelclap: .
why thanks you dear lady (bowing to the round of applause) :D we think he's a spunk!!!
- your dude isn't looking to shabby himself in your new pic!! (still miss the hoody shot though :laughing: ) ... and we await the tutu shot!!!
Jen
angel_one
03-05-2006, 19:56
luka, my dd had only just hit the 8 kg mark at her 9 month check up,and is now almost 3 (in aug) and has been 11kgs for soooooooooooooo long, that i was starting to worry, but i have been told by my nurse that she is just a petie little girl, shes in the 25th percential of all the charts, i look at it this way, as long as you are feeding him his daily requirements and he is gaining weight on a regular basis - he should be fine, do you go to monthly well baby clinics? they are a great way of having him checked over and to ask any questions you might have, they are soooo much better than having to go see a damm doctor when you have a small problem!
any way im sure hes going to do just fine - just gonna be a tiny one!
sopolicha
03-05-2006, 20:03
Little Mum + Little Dad = Little Dude
How would you carry a big fat baby around?
He is lovely and OK. Enjoy him.
Annsam, I don't take the dude to the CHN or Doctor anymore either because they are the ones who made me wonder if something was wrong also. I remember tripping happily along to the doc thinking she was going to complement me on my lovely happy baby, and walking out choking back tears because he had dropped a percentile.
there are plus sides:D He gets into all the pay for 1+ play areas for free :D Even at 19 months the woman at the local tells me to just go through because he only looks just over 12 months. Ok, I think thats an exageration but Im not complaining.:o
bubbles28
03-05-2006, 20:31
My little man is almost 15mths and weighs just over 9kg. For his height he is just below the 10 percentile.
Everyone tells me he looks like he is 11/12mths.
As long as your bub is happy, eating well and has lots of energy. I wouldn't be worrying.
Good things come in small packages!!