View Full Version : What Hospital are you delivering in ?
IAdoreYou
14-06-2005, 02:49 PM
I'm going to Mater Maters Private Brisbane ...
Anybody else?
Im going to deliver at Mater Mothers Public, im not due till 17th aug but wont make it till then so im almost a july mum 2 be?
Iv been told by my midwife that the private and public birthing rooms are the same its just your bedroom that is different. Us public people have to share a room :(
I would have to say that it is a really gr8 hospital so far! we are having a complicated preg so i have to go there every month for a scan and a check up Plus fortnightly gp visits, it gets a bit much. But even though we are not private we get a specialist team of doctors and stuff that are avaliable for private paitents(like you) We have Dr.Glenn Gardner and our midwife is lynnett Mcann.
How have you found the hospital and what Dr are you seeing? :)
Jes :)
IAdoreYou
15-06-2005, 05:40 PM
Hi jes,
We did our pre-natal course at the hospital about 4 weeks ago .. did see the labour rooms .. :eek: scary , I've known quite a few people who have had there bubs there private and public .. all said excellent! So far we really like it.
Dr Keeping from Wickham Terrace is my OB! His great we LOVE him :D
Thats what i like to hear! :D
But it sure is scary going into the del room and seeing the bed and everything, then going ooh my god i have to use this room real soon! :eek:
I had a little scare this week and had to go up for a check, which i was freaking- out about. We got there at 7pm and straight away they make you feel comfy, we had to be there for a couple of hours with monitors on and stuff but it was all good in the end. They just do a really good job, i hope my del goes as well
Our little one is pink too, having alot of trouble agreeing on a name :confused: how about you?
IAdoreYou
16-06-2005, 04:50 PM
when are you due?
I'm due the 24th July ... 1st baby. We have named her Brooke Holly :D I can't wait to meet her!
I see your 22 .. I'm 28!
Lisa.
hi Lisa :)
Im due 17th of august, but we will be early so around the end of july? The doctors cant and wont give us a straight answer they just say "anywhere from 34w to 38w depending on how things are going with bubs" So really i have no idea, we are just hoping for it to be later rather than sooner!!
Just to fill you in :confused: our baby has something called GASTROSCHISIS. Yeh it sounds alot worse than it really is, it just means that our baby will be born with its bowel on the outside of her tummy and will need to have that fixed asap after she is born. It leaves no scar and no other problems as soon as she is healed. She will have to be in intensive care for a few days and then in the special care nursery untill she is feeding ok and healed up nicely. Only bummer is i cant give her breast milk for a few days, so i will just have to express until she is ready.
Yeh i am 22 and this is our first baby, still no name? I have decided on heaps just my partner dosent seem to wana agree. He wants a short simple name and i want a name that she will be proud to say when she is in her 30's.
I like: Annalise
Brianna
Caitlin
He likes: Jayde
Paige
Kate
Emma
The middle name is Laura after my sister(even though it doesnt go with anything)The last inital is 'G'
I luv the name Brooke, but just like every other good name it has already been taken :rolleyes:
Are you all organised for Brooke's arrival or are you still buying like mad?
Are you working still or are you at home?
Sorry, as you can tell i go on and on!
IAdoreYou
17-06-2005, 03:00 PM
Hi jes
I've heard of GASTROSCHISIS! Sorry that you guys have to have that worry. ((hugs)) your in good hands though at the Mater like you said earlier.
I'm on maternity leave now .. taking 12 mths off! Its so niceeee.
I really like Annalise Laura G .. there ALL very pretty names though. You do have a hard decision ...
I've had Brooke for as long as I can remember ... I don't even know how I come about loving it .. I just "knew" I would call my daughter Brooke one day .. weird !!
The nursery is all complete! We are set to go ...
Hi Lisa,
Thanks, yeh it was really hard at first but now we are ok with what is happening ;)
Thats nice to have that time off after Brooke is born, iv already been off work for 6mths so i will prob have to go back earlier??
Well our nursery was all done for a boy/girl because we didnt think we were going to be able to find out what we were having. So now im just adding a little pink here and there to make it more girly!
I always said i would have Laura as the middle name if i had a girl, but was never sure for a first name?
So how are you feeling with only a few weeks to go, are you having any braxton hicks yet?
Are you nervous or just really excited?
IAdoreYou
19-06-2005, 12:59 PM
Hey jes,
It looks like we are the only 2 that post here ... :)
I can only imagine the shock you guys would have got finding out! ((hugs))
I'm starting to get a wee scared !!! I am getting alot of braxton hicks .. and she gets the hiccups as well , its so cute :p
you live in South east brissie? I live in Camira .. I hate giving away to much info for other wondering eyes if you know what i mean ..
are you close?
I worked for a building company in brisbane and our home loan is really tiny as we bought our place 4 years ago before the MARKET went a wee crazy so thats gonna help with me staying home .. otherwise, I don't know how we could of done it ..
ITS SO cold today!
Lisa ~ Ciao
I live at Capalaba so not real close to you? We are not ready to be buying a house yet, i would like to in the next couple of years. Its just super expensive in the Redlands and we dont really wana move anywhere else!
I would send you a pm but im not too sure how to do that...lol!
It sure is cold, we are just about to go out so i will have to rug up before we leave :rolleyes:
Enjoy the rest of your day, Ill be on line later :D
IAdoreYou
19-06-2005, 03:12 PM
I just sent you a private message.
I just added my pic ( avatar ) and my sig then. I actually post on another board which I pay to use .. they have the same set up with sigs and pics.
have a great afternoon .. I'm gone for the day .. back later this week :)
Lisa.
our little treasures
20-06-2005, 10:45 PM
HI GUYS
Just thought I would say hi and let you know that I'm due 22 July and we are expecting a boy. Even though I wanted to be surprised my hubby told me by accident a week ago!! I already knew as I had seen an extra bit on the u/s video, but wasn't positive but I also had that feeling that he was a he. So know we have a pigeon pair well we will have. We are going to Dandenong here in Vic even though we wanted the new hospital in berwick we were rejected as I was considered a high risk patient.
So now we have to go to Dandy where we had several problems with dd birth. We are remaining positive though. I hop all is well.
Oh I was actually born at the mater hospital 25 years ago. Many miles away from there now.
loving mummy and wife to
dh 30
dd 16mnths
ds edd 22 july
IAdoreYou
22-06-2005, 07:39 PM
angelbaby8 - Positive thoughts coming your way!
I added you to the Due Date list.
Is it cold down there in VIC?
Lisa.
jonesso
24-06-2005, 03:25 PM
I'm also having my baby at Mater Private and am due July 20th. I am so excited, these last few weeks are going to drag!! Every day my husband says "any contractions yet?" - he is super-keen to start being a dad too I think! The hardest thing I have found is not knowing what to expect. None of our friends have kids, we are the first, so I don't really have anyone to ask about what is "normal" about what isn't with how I'm feeling.
Also, you are told that if the baby's movements decrease, you should call the hospital - but I find that there are days where baby is really quiet and still, and others where he kicks the **** out of me all day. As it is so inconsistent, I don't bother calling the midwives as I'd be on the phone every other day! Do you find that your baby is like this? Or have you heard of it being inconsistent? Whenever we see the OB the baby has a strong heartbeat and there hasn't been any signs that I should worry... but you never know, do you??
Sonia
IAdoreYou
25-06-2005, 06:28 PM
Hi Sonia ..
The room in there is getting quite small now for them to move about .. if your really worried just give the hospital a call. Do you do kick counts ..
Old fashioned Lemonade does it for me .. the softdrink from Coles, just have a huge glass of that with ice - lay down and rest for 10-15 mins .. then count 10 kicks or movements .. if you get to 10 - YOUR FINE!
My bub does the 10 kick count daily .. and more! It dosen't sound alot ..though nearing the end it definately slows down, theres just no room.
Try not to worry.
Lisa.
our little treasures
26-06-2005, 09:01 PM
I hope all is well, has anyone else felt the baby drop yet? Yesterday the little one felt so low I wondered if he would say hello!! I can feel his head move low in my groin very wierd and sometimes very painful. I love this stage in pregnancy I love the bump and the way it moves and how you can feel the tiny feet and the round bum. It's so cute. We are anxious to say the least to know what he looks like how much hair how big etc. The biggest is how the labour will go, and as I have my bubby girl who is 16mnths I worry how she will go.
I have to leave her with mil and dd has never stayed away from home over night, we will only leave her while I deliver and then we want her bought to the hosi. My hubby will watch her for the other days. So much to prepare this time my suitcase dh bag dd overnight bag and the new ones bag, the funny thing is I've packed most of them over and over and then dd gets hold of them and unzips the bags and pulls everything out!!!!
Last Q Has anyone been nesting, with this one I seem to be spring cleaning a room a day...
Have fun all.
IAdoreYou
27-06-2005, 12:15 PM
angelbaby8 - I so have the nesting thing going on! I'm still not sure if bub has engaged or not .. I can breath alot easier though and even eat more :eek: so maybe yes?
I cna't believe its only 3/4 weeks away for us now, I'm getting so excited!
The other night I kept feeling Brookes foot sticking out the side of me .. it was so cute, though kept me awake all night.
Ciao, have a good everyday, I'm SO FULL! I just had lunch and so decided to jump on-line to rest ..
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.