View Full Version : Advice please----shopping and bub's naptimes

loveshack
31-08-2008, 16:31
DD's 22 months and has just one day nap,but when we go shopping or visiting,we always try to do it after or before her nap.The issue is,things are always in a hurry.
When we shop,we have to do it quickly because if it's not her lunch time coming up,it's her nap time or dinner time or something else.I've to make a quick lunch or dinner beforehand to find time to go anywhere! And if she wakes up from her afternoon nap late,it's a run to the shops before they close! :hair:How do you manage?

codswallop
31-08-2008, 17:38
hiya i have the same thing DD usualy has her nap arond 2.30 3ish but if we are out she wont have one i cant get het to take one any earlier so what usualy happens is she ends up having her sleep after 5 or even 6, then i wake her up to have dinner later and 8.30, but DD hardly ever gose to bed at night any way till 11(waights for dady to get home from work) but it throws your whole evning out.

sam's mum
31-08-2008, 19:33
I try to get out right after breakfast, so that gets us to the shops ready for when they first open. that way I have got all morning at the shops then home for lunch and the afternoon nap.

It really depends on how flexible bubs is with their nap and whether they will sleep in the pram.

when I just had DS he would sleep in the pram, so it didn't really matter if I stayed at the shops. I used to wait until he went to sleep and then go and get a pedicure. :yes: something that no longer works with two kids :no:

Seacretsquirrel
31-08-2008, 19:51
Hi there my DD (21 mths)still usually has a morning sleep rather than an arvo one but I still try to get to the shops early (as she is up by 7am) so that way we miss the rush can usually have a coffee and babycino and she will either sleep in the car on the way home or will have an arvo nap she is pretty flexible - if she is really tired she will KO in the pram (or once in my arms as we wandered around harvey norman) and she is in bed by 7. We just try not to do it everyday.

pixiemum2
01-09-2008, 10:02
I have the same problem too and it really messes up any plans doesn't it. I have a two year old (on one nap per day) and an 8 month old (on two naps per day). If they don't have a decent nap in their cot at home they are feral. So that leaves me with about a two hour gap in the day where I can quickly take them both out to do any errands. Its really frustrating!

I can't wait until they aren't having naps and we can go out for the day.

monkeytoes
01-09-2008, 11:40
I have the same problem too and it really messes up any plans doesn't it. I have a two year old (on one nap per day) and an 8 month old (on two naps per day). If they don't have a decent nap in their cot at home they are feral. So that leaves me with about a two hour gap in the day where I can quickly take them both out to do any errands. Its really frustrating!

I can't wait until they aren't having naps and we can go out for the day.

I am the same. A 2 yr old having 1 nap at lunchtime, and a 6 month old having 3 naps (morning, noon and afternoon). It is very hard to get out as my kids do not sleep in the pram. So I need to be at home (or at someone's house with the port-a-cot) for them to sleep.

I take them both grocery shopping with me every week, but I don't often go shopping for clothes etc. It's just too hard. I will wait for the weekend and leave one or both kids at home with DH if I need to "browse".

lizzymcfizzy
01-09-2008, 12:21
DD's 22 months and has just one day nap,but when we go shopping or visiting,we always try to do it after or before her nap.The issue is,things are always in a hurry.
When we shop,we have to do it quickly because if it's not her lunch time coming up,it's her nap time or dinner time or something else.I've to make a quick lunch or dinner beforehand to find time to go anywhere! And if she wakes up from her afternoon nap late,it's a run to the shops before they close! :hair:How do you manage?

I'm glad you posted this, my husband accuses me of working my life around my baby when I try and organise things around her nap! My 15 month old naps right after lunch at 12 so I do the same as sam's mum and go out right after breakfast and take morning tea with me. Then I have a few hours before having to go home, have lunch then put her in bed.

Sometimes I will leave the house in a pigsty because I know I can clean it up while she's sleeping or in the afternoon.'

I have come to love catalouge and internet shopping :D

ps the other day we had to meet friends 40 minutes away at 1pm. Right in the middle of her nap time. So I put her to bed at 11 instead and she actually slept and had a late lunch! You never know until you try how flexible they can be sometimes.

Refresh
01-09-2008, 12:26
Hmmm...gosh, I dunno....if we get home later than her normal sleep then she will just go to sleep later....or go to sleep in the car/pram/whatever. If the kids are hungry and we are out they will definitely let me know and we will grab something to eat before we go home at a coffee shop or something.

rainbowmummy22
01-09-2008, 12:31
I'm glad you posted this, my husband accuses me of working my life around my baby when I try and organise things around her nap!

Sometimes I will leave the house in a pigsty because I know I can clean it up while she's sleeping or in the afternoon.'

I have come to love catalouge and internet shopping :D

:yelclap: Yes!!! My DH says I have spoiled her and 'thats why she wont sleep when she's out'. BAHAHA. We are all the same, I duck out at 8.45am, sometimes I wish the shops would open at 7.30! hehe.
Yes and EBAY is my bessst friend.

Ange&Seth
01-09-2008, 12:32
My boy is 3 in October and without fail, whenever I had to do groceries or any errands, he'd be tired and feral. I ended up buying an Ergo baby carrier and he sits in that perfectly comfortable and snuggles into my back when he's tired so I can still do what I've got to do. He'll sleep anywhere though - today he's chosen to curl up on the floorboards with a pillow rather than on the couch :rolleyes:

mummajugs
01-09-2008, 17:11
have you tried maybe taking her lunch with you?
that will entertain her in the pram and then you can put her down for a nap when you get home?
just an idea.
must be tough!

loveshack
01-09-2008, 22:03
My boy is 3 in October and without fail, whenever I had to do groceries or any errands, he'd be tired and feral. I ended up buying an Ergo baby carrier and he sits in that perfectly comfortable and snuggles into my back when he's tired so I can still do what I've got to do. He'll sleep anywhere though - today he's chosen to curl up on the floorboards with a pillow rather than on the couch :rolleyes:

Thanks everyone for your replies,Ange & Seth,how do you carry a 3 year old in a carrier?I find it hard to carry DD around at home even at this age:confused:

mim1
02-09-2008, 06:18
It is definitely a challenge. But I found it much harder when my ds was 6 months as he'd sleep most of the day, waking for an hour or two at a time, at no specific time. Now that he's 19 1/2 months I at least know he only has one afternoon sleep so it's pretty safe to go out at 9am. The problem is that if we go a reasonable distance in the car he will fall asleep once it gets to about 11am ... and wake up when we stop which could be 10 minutes later. Then we're really in trouble as he will then refuse his afternoon nap (which is usually 2 - 3 hours long!).

When I go out I take the pram, or use a trolley for him and I make sure I have lots of vitaweat biscuits and sultanas, giving him one at a time of each. That will keep him quiet for at least 5 minutes ...

elissas
02-09-2008, 06:37
I do my grocery shopping monthly, so I only need to spend one day out - though it's a long one. DD is 6mths and spends the day in the sling, so she just sleeps whenever she needs to. DS usually naps from about 1-3 when we're home, but that changes around too depending on circumstances. I just figure if he's tired enough he'll sleep in the stroller or car as we do the rounds of the supermarkets, butcher etc. If he hasn't slept well the night before, I either postpone it to the next day, or give him some Brauers calm during the day.

He eats on the hop with me, I pack sandwiches and snacks, and camomile tea instead of water.

If I need to go get little things in between the big shops, like milk and bread, we make it part of our daily walk in the mornings, as we're lucky to have a little shopping centre only a 10min walk from our place.

SassyMummy
02-09-2008, 09:37
I've never made sure I've been home for naptimes, or lunch or any such thing.

I dunno whether it's because she just got used to sleeping when out or not, but even now, at 3, she'll sleep in her stroller if she gets really tired while I'm out.

I don't rush around. I take my time. If she wants to eat, we stop and buy something and sit down, or I give her something I've brought from home and she can eat it in the stroller while I shop... or trolley, whichever.

With naps, she can just nap whenever she feels like. If I'm out, then she'll do it in the pram... if not, she'll do it at home.

It's never been a bit concern of mine, to make sure she's napping in bed. Kinda glad too, cos it means it's freed me up a little.

danik
02-09-2008, 13:17
We're home between 12-2.30pm during the day. DD (nearly 2 years old) has her lunch at 12pm, then goes down for her sleep at around 12.30pm and wakes between 2-2.30pm. It's not really a pain for us to make sure we're home for that time period. I just make sure I do things either in the morning or afternoon. It suits Jade and it suits us.

I've always worked my day around Jade's routine and if it works for her it works for me!

Ange&Seth
02-09-2008, 20:23
Thanks everyone for your replies,Ange & Seth,how do you carry a 3 year old in a carrier?I find it hard to carry DD around at home even at this age:confused:

It's an Ergo - it carries them ergonomically up to 25kgs. It works by spreading their weight evenly over your hips. I bought it because he was too heavy to carry on my hip for more than a few minutes at a time. He weighs 15kgs and I carry him on my back - it's SOOO easy.

If you google it, you'll find heaps of info on it. I'm in love with mine!!