View Full Version : Jan 2009 Mum's - What have you bought so far?

earthfairy
28-08-2008, 01:40 PM
Hey Gorgeous Pregnant Goddesses!:D

SO.... what have you bought so far for your bub?

When do you think you will start to set up the nursery?

So far we have: -

Cot (still in box)
Chest of drawers (also still in box)
Bassinette
Car Seat
Pram
Sterilizer
Lots of clothes
Bottles & Dummy's
Nappy Wrapper Thingy
Play Mat/Activity Gym
Some Nappies & Baby Lotions etc
Ive also already been given some little rattles & toys etc...

Most of this stuff is in the baby's nursery all still in boxes. Im not too sure when the right time is to set it all up?:confused:

So how about you gals?:D

Bexta
28-08-2008, 02:04 PM
Not much yet!!!

A toddler bed for DS... baby will go in his old bassinet & then into his cot. Still have to buy another mattress.

Some cloth nappies.

I hope to put a pram on lay-by this weekend :fingerscrossed:.

Will get by with most of DS's stuff at 1st until we know if it's a boy or girl.

TheMamma
28-08-2008, 02:21 PM
Nothing! Not a thing! Though like Bexta, I have to buy a toddler bed for DD. We'll get there eventually.

We didn't know sex when DD was born, so we have 3 months worth of unisex clothes anyway!

mrsmamo
28-08-2008, 02:21 PM
Im itching to start setting up the nursery so it feels like we know what we actually have! but cant do that till my bloody dad moves out grrr.

Anyway, so far we have:
Cot/matress/linen
Pram
Carseat
Mountains of clothes (lucky i have a neice and have all her old clothes plus some new ones we have bought :) )
Bottles/sterilizer - only a few for now as i intend on BF
Electricity plugs and draw/cupboard lock thingys
HEAPS of wipes
2boxes nb nappies
bouncer/rocker
playpen
high chair
portacot with bassinett
Cloth nappies to use as spew cloths
2 dummies (unsure if going to use yet)
other various bits and pieces

As i said, im itching to get in to the room/s to paint them both and de-clutter my house and set up the cot and everything.
I am on the lookout for a changetable and chest of draws :)
and am also very lucky my sister is coming home to live again from NZ so is bringing all her stuff (i.e highchair/playpen/portacot/toys/clothes) with her for us :D

missmum05
28-08-2008, 03:22 PM
I have evrything from dd still so havent needed to buy alot. Just waiting on my scan to find out bubs sex before i buy baby clothes :)

Ashi
28-08-2008, 03:43 PM
We havent got to carried away buying things as yet because we might be moving states b4 bub.. and i have NOTHING left from my other kids lol (wasnt ment to be able to have anymore so this is a wonderful suprise :))
anyways so far we have
A car seat and a few bits of clothes/hats/booties and a bunny rug
and thats it! lol

Bexta
28-08-2008, 06:04 PM
Mrsmamo you're sooooo organised!!!

Thinking of a highchair... will I need another one? Ds will be 20 months & loves his, but I suppose he will be 25/26 months when the new baby will need it.

GoneBatty
28-08-2008, 06:17 PM
Ok i have

Bassinet
Cot (on layby)
Pram (on layby)
Car seat (on layby)lol
Lots of clothes brought some and got given 3 garbage bags full!!
Playmats
Some blankets

Still need to get a cot mattress but coz we have the bassinet wont need it straight away. Need linen for bassinet and cot to. Um not sure wat else i need lol mind blank :D

mrsmamo
28-08-2008, 08:11 PM
Mrsmamo you're sooooo organised!!!
haha thanks.
I LOOK organised but most of that list is thanks to my sister who is bringing it home with her from NZ to give to us!
But i assure you, my house has boxes and bags of baby things EVERYWHERE at the moment till we can spread out into the rest of the house when my dad leaves (hopefully in the not too distant future!)

Hels*Bels
28-08-2008, 08:28 PM
Seeing as we are having another boy, we don't need to get an awful lot.

We have;
A basinette (which was used by DS)
A new cot and mattress as DS will use his cot as a toddler bed.
New furniture for DS's room so bubs can go in the nursery.
A tandem pram (secondhand)
A maxi rider for DS so bubs will go in the newborn carseat.
We have plenty of clothes, toys, wraps, blankets, nappies, formula bottles (will buy new teats), a sterilser, rocker/bouncer, playpen, highchair, swing, bumbo seat, exersaucer and playmat etc.

We need;
A new changetable as the other one has ripped.
Some more cot sheets.
We also need to decorate DS's new bedroom.

BecP
23-09-2008, 01:04 PM

I'm lurking in here from the Feb thread but am likely to be induced hence being in here.

For those of you who have purchased a bassinet can I ask what made you get one? I had one with DS but that was 15 years ago and am now undecided as to getting one. A few ladies have suggested a snuggle bed but they cost the same if not more than a bassinet so am confused...

and which pram did you choose??

thanks in advance

epiphany
23-09-2008, 02:27 PM
Bec...welcome to the Jan thread :)

We didn't get a separate bassinet. My reasoning being, they're expensive & you don't use them for very long. I borrowed one to use for my daughter but really only used it for a couple of months, at the most.

I bought an insert for the cot instead for #2 - it was like a little mattress with 4 sides & was made out of kapok (I guess it was like a snuggle bed?) - so nice & soft. I used to just put it inside the cot for bedtime (good because he was used to the cot by the time he outgrew the insert)...& during the day, I could carry it around the house, so my son could sleep in the lounge, etc. I could also put it in bed with me if I wanted to have him within arm's reach when I had a sleep. I guess I could have even taken it with me if I'd traveled or stayed somewhere (which I didn't...but I could have!). Then I just put it up on the top shelf of a cupboard to store once he'd grown out of it. I found the insert to be cheaper than a bassinet (although I guess it depends on the type of insert & bassinet you're looking at) & far more convenient. I'll be using it for this baby too.

We had a pram from #1 but the handle broke off in transit from NZ to Aus & we only discovered this when we took it out for #2's first outing! So we had to buy a pram that day. We ended up getting a Swallow Apollo - I wanted a 4 wheel pram with reversible handle (as they're handy for keeping the sun off baby's face). There were very few options that were both 4 wheel & with reversible handle...& the Apollo was one of the nicer ones for the price. I also liked that it had things like built-in fly screens & lots (& lots!) of storage. Only thing I don't like about it is it only has 2 positions for the pram's backrest - I would have like 3 positions (like our old one) but it was never really an issue. We now use an umbrella stroller for #2.

mumsi
24-09-2008, 04:18 PM
Haven't bought an awful lot yet, just a few jumpsuits and things.... Some muslin wraps too, but no major purchases yet....Still have DDs car seat, and baby will sleep in the same bassinette as the other kids - which is also what myself and siblings slept in when we were babies...... We gave our cot away a couple of years ago when we thought 'no more babies', but hope to borrow one when we need it..... Am going to buy a new pram though, love the peg perego skate, but think I will go with an imitation of it - the love n care adiva.... Less than half the price!! We still have DD3's pram, a steelcraft jogger thing, but it's been in the shed and I'm not sure how clean it will come up.......I have bought a snuggle blanket thing.... Locally made by a very talented mum who sells her wares at the local markets. It's made from a very, very soft fleecy type fabric, and has ribbon loops sewn into the seams all the way round the edge - you know how some babies always tend to hold/suck/smell the tags on things - these blankets are for them babies - tags everywhere!! It's very cute and cuddly.....

Hels*Bels
24-09-2008, 05:35 PM
I have bought a few more things for bubs...

A really cute "Just Hatched" embroidered nappy cover which he will wear home from hospital.
A couple of bodysuits.
SwaddleMe wraps.
A pram liner with matching seatbelt straps, quilt and pillow for the Strider pram basinette.

Tomorrow Spotlight are having a VIP sale so we are hoping to get a blockout blind for DS's bedroom and some new cot sheets.

BecP
25-09-2008, 10:16 AM
^^^^ oooh we're getting the strider4 with bassinet. Where did you get the liner, quilt and pillow from? We're going to use the bassinet from the pram as a day sleep bed

3already
25-09-2008, 11:57 AM
I have lots of baby clothes my mum treated me to when i was staying with her. Other than that i have a bassinett a friend gave me and nothing else! My mum is buying us a pram when she comes over when bub is born. Will buy a cot when we need it and so the main important thing left to get is a car seat. Oh and of course those other essentials such as breastpads and maternity pads..eeeww the memories are coming back :laughing:!

Ashi
25-09-2008, 01:37 PM
We finally chose a pram! we got it on tuesday its a Valco Runabout Tri-mode + Bassinette i uploaded some pics .. just cuz im excited to have baby stuff! haha.. lol how silly is that :p
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b347/Bad-Kitty/pram1.jpg
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b347/Bad-Kitty/pram2.jpg
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b347/Bad-Kitty/praminside.jpg
I actually made the bassinette sheets myself so that they would fit perfectly :D that was my little bit of creativity haha..

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b347/Bad-Kitty/1_StartImage.gif thats the pic of it with the seat part in use from the valco site, we put it all back in the box so when we are ready to use it as a stroller it will look brand new again!

anyways yeah blah blah sorry im rambling about it but omg 14 weeks till we will have a baby!!! let me know what u think of it :)

readytotry
25-09-2008, 03:36 PM
Ashi I love your pram :) And well done on the DIY sheets!! We were actually very close to purchasing the Valco pram, same one, it is a really nice pram. But we ended up buying the Baby Jogger (http://images.babyuniverse.com/g/product/678/678118/678118_1001_PI.jpg) .
We have also now bought our cot, change table and drawers. We ended up spending more than we wanted but I am so glad we did. We bought the Boori Ranch range in walnut color.
Cot picture (http://www.boori.com.au/Images/Ranges/Full/CLASSIC-RANCH.jpg)
Oh and i nealry forgot, we bought a King Parrot Bassinet also.
Bassinet (http://www.king-parrot.com.au/PopUp-Gallery.asp?ProductID=65)
Annoying thing now is we have to wait 8-10 weeks for delivery! :eek:

Apart from that I have bought a Avent breast pump, and that is it! We have been recieving goodies from people here and there which is great.

Bexta
26-09-2008, 08:05 AM
Love the choices of prams, Ladies!!! Very nice!!!

Ashi - you're so crafty!!!

Readytotry - LOVE LOVE LOVE that bassinette!!! Simply beautiful.

Well I bought a mattress yesterday... should have seen me wrangle it into the car... must have been hilarious for people to watch :laughing:.

Still have the pram on lay-by... a P&T Vibe in black. Have to get it out soon. Silly really that Babies Galore on;y have 8 weeks lay-by??? Should be more like 6 months I think!!!

Bought 6 nappies fron Itti Bitti in the small size during the hunt (for going out). Might have to get some flats for home.

So much to do!!! Aaaragghhhh!!!

Ashi
26-09-2008, 09:22 AM
only 8 weeks layby?!? wow that is pretty silly!
most places have 6 months or so.. not that any of us have that long now (woohoo) but yeah thats just stupid!
readytotry i love that cot thats nice i like the darker wooden ones, we are waiting till bub is ready for a cot to buy one as we are going to co sleep for the first 4-6 months

mumsi
26-09-2008, 09:38 AM
I bought the fabric yesterday, that I planned to use to make baby a quilt.... Now, when I look at it, I don't like it!! So I'm going back today to buy some more...

missmum05
26-09-2008, 04:18 PM
I was the same about buying a bassinette been thinking about it for ages not sure if to get one..I already have a snuggle bed for the cot...but than I saw this pink bassinette today and changed my mind and bought it :p its so cool it has music and vibrates :D
well i thought I really haven't bought alot because I have pretty much all dd's things still so why not just buy it :p

Bexta
01-10-2008, 03:23 PM
I bought some muslin wraps yesterday from Target... they were 1/2 price!!!

DS loved to be wrapped, but he was a Winter baby... thought the muslin would be cooler for this bub.

How exciting!!! :flowerz: Still have soooooo much to do & it's going so quickly!!!

GoneBatty
01-10-2008, 03:54 PM
I got the same muslin wraps loved the bargain to:yelclap:

Picking up my pram and car seat off layby tomorrow arvo which will make me feel like im getting things organised finally!

We have a bassinet in our room we got of a friend as we are only in a 2bdrm house till a few months after bub is born so we'll be storing the cot at DP's parents place until then!

need to find some sheets to fit the bassinet now :yes:

Bexta
01-10-2008, 04:04 PM
Don't get me started on lay-bys!!! I have 5 going at the moment!!!

Aaaraaghhh... the STRESS!!! :hair: :laughing:

GoneBatty
01-10-2008, 04:41 PM
Oh wow 5!! Thats a fair effort lol i hardly remember to make the payments on my 2!!

Bexta
02-10-2008, 07:13 AM
I know!!! It's scarey isn't it!!!

2 are for Xmas.
1 of Decor stuff to try & organise my pantry.
1 for the pram.
& 1 for DD's new room... sheet set & doona cover etc.

PHEW!!! Have to go & pay a bit off the Xmas ones today or they'll get cancelled!!!

earthfairy
02-10-2008, 10:22 AM
Wow you gals are chatty in here too!:ecomcity:

We pretty much have most things - well, big things now - i just want to get a breast pump but not sure whether to get manual or auto?

I went to spotlight yesterday & bought some material to cover some canvas' & make some cushion covers & big floor cushions.....
I couldnt decide between 2 so bought a metre of each to bring them home & try them out?
I still dont know!:laughing:

I also got some white cane baskets in various sizes for storage & i got 2 packets of fairy lights for the nursery ceiling, they are in star shapes & oh so cute - thought they would be nice for bubs to look at & nice soft lighting for those night feeds...

Can anyone tell me where to get bassinette sheets from?

GoneBatty
02-10-2008, 10:57 AM
Bassinet Sheets I have been looking everywhere (in tassie thats not alot of places lol)

Big W have some usually they have around 4 styles in my local store but when i looked they only had 2. a white one and one with an ugly pattern on it.

I couldnt find any in target or kmart down here, may be different where u are.

Other than than our specialist baby shop(BabyWorld down here) had the biggest range tho a bit more expensive.

I also noticed when looking that they have different sizes so may be best to measure ur bassinet and take the measurments with u when ur looking :)

Hope that helps a lil bit

Oh and there is always ebay or oztion maybe some other online baby stores to?? Havent looked into any of them yet haha

adorableangel
02-10-2008, 02:27 PM
Hi everyone...

you all seem so very organised. I'm due in January (only found out 4 weeks ago that I was pregnant) and we are yet to buy anything...

What do you suggest I buy first?

twinmumdee
02-10-2008, 03:57 PM
Bassinett Sheets: Ok girls, I've never actually used a bassinett but I have heard that pillow cases are actually really good to use for a bottom sheet (like a fitted sheet) as they are the right size and obviously you can buy a few of them and use them later... I dont know if I'd use a flat top sheet in a bassinett, prob just a blanket or something...

Can someone check this out and confirm?

earthfairy
02-10-2008, 04:02 PM
Bassinett Sheets: Ok girls, I've never actually used a bassinett but I have heard that pillow cases are actually really good to use for a bottom sheet (like a fitted sheet) as they are the right size and obviously you can buy a few of them and use them later... I dont know if I'd use a flat top sheet in a bassinett, prob just a blanket or something...

Can someone check this out and confirm?

What a fantastic idea!!!!!

This makes so much sense! God bless your cotton socks didi:D

Bexta
02-10-2008, 04:07 PM
Spotlight has some nice (& cheap!) basinette sheet sets... but the pillowcase idea is awesome!!!

BecP
02-10-2008, 04:57 PM
yep that's what I used, but Target also have some bassinet sets at the moment during their nursery sale which are pretty cheap. I paid $10 for a cot set.

Mummy to Mason
02-10-2008, 05:02 PM
How did I miss this thread?? I am the QUEEN of shopping :D

I have just read the last couple of posts re basinette sheets- Mason was a winter bub and I just used flanellette wraps from Big W for the sheets. Someone did sew a couple of wraps as fitted sheets for me but it would work just as well without and just tuck it in. I guess you could use a cotton wrap for the same purpose since we are having summer bubs?? I don't know if it works out any cheaper but I actually couldn't find any proper basinette sheets where I live so this did the job for me.

GoneBatty
02-10-2008, 05:36 PM
:yelclap: that pillowcase idea is VERY clever! makes sense to me to spend money on something that can be used again!! other than spending money on just bassinet sheets that i couldnt use for much else!

Thinking of the Target nursery sale did that end yesterday does anyone know?? or is it a 2 week one?

Mummy to Mason
02-10-2008, 07:22 PM
I just read through the whole thread and now I'm getting really excited about our bubs arriving so soon!!!!

Thinking of a highchair... will I need another one? Ds will be 20 months & loves his, but I suppose he will be 25/26 months when the new baby will need it.

Maybe you could look into a booster chair that straps to the dining chair for your DS? We use both that and the highchair for Mason and he loves it! They aren't very expensive, maybe $50 at most??

For those of you who have purchased a bassinet can I ask what made you get one? I had one with DS but that was 15 years ago and am now undecided as to getting one. A few ladies have suggested a snuggle bed but they cost the same if not more than a bassinet so am confused...

We have one from DS but a lovely bubhubber sent us a new cover/skirt for it in white. The reason we are using one is because the cot won't fit in our bedroom and we like to have the baby in with us. I'm not into co-sleeping because I just wouldn't relax and would be paranoid about squishing the baby so at least with a basinette I can have the baby next to me but in her own bed iykwim.

Ashi I love your pram!!

RTT- oooh the Boori stuff is just beautiful isn't it! We have the classic cot & the changetable in jarrah and it's gorgeous. I would like the matching chest of drawers but we've decided instead to just use one we already have that is SIMILAR in colour (although not completely matching).

adorableangel- maybe you could start out with the main things like car seat, cot, pram etc. And a few little jumpsuits for bub in hospital.

Well we have heaps of stuff since this is our 2nd... I have bought quite a few new pink things though!! So far I have lots of clothes in 0000 and 000 but I might need a couple more jumpsuits in 0000 depending on how big or small bub is. I have most of the nursery stuff, I just want to get a laundry hamper and some cane baskets for under the changetable. We also need a new bouncer and a tandem pram- probably a phil & tedds or a lovencare.

Cloth nappy users- will you use flats with a cover in the early weeks?? This is what I am thinking of doing. And what mcn's have you bought? So far I have one bubblebubs fitted and I scored 5 peapods for $70 :yelclap: I'm not really sure how many I will need for a newborn (we didn't use them with Mason until after he was 1).

Bexta
02-10-2008, 07:26 PM
I think the sale is on for another week??? :detective:

How did I miss this thread?? I am the QUEEN of shopping :D :laughing::laughing: PMSL!!!

1stTimeMum09
05-10-2008, 03:17 PM
How did I miss this thread?? I am the QUEEN of shopping :D

:laughing: Me M2M

Well this is what I got so far:

108 box of nappies..
A drawer full of mix of hand me down and new clothes and I am getting more Monday/Tuesday..
Another with singlets, pacifiers, towels and face washers, bottles, blankets and wraps, baby soap
Bassinet manchester
Bassinet
Pram x3
High Chair given to me
Port-a-cot
Play mat that was given to me.

I need to get:
Cot turned into toddler bed (next year with baby bonus)
Nappy bag, bottle starter kit, AngelCare monitor, rocker (its all on layby)
Car seat (on layby)
Change table (bidding on one at the moment on ebay)
Sun shade for pram
Baby cleaning stuff
Clothes for when he gets older

Well I think I am pretty much organised..Lol. Thanks for the idea about the bassinet sheets to..

Kirsten

startinafamily
24-10-2008, 05:40 PM
Well hi everyone, I'm new to this thread I've been hiding out in the Gold Coast thread.

Here's what we have:

Advia Sport Pram (or as DH says the best pram in the world)
Cot
Matress
Change table and pad that sit on top of cot
Car seat (layby)
I got a bottle pack last weekend but want to BF
Have some blankets
A few little rompers

Still want to get
portacot (mum in law buying)
Breast pump but not sure manual or auto
chest of drawers

Want to make a co-ordinated linen set
Making a sling at the moment like a hug a bub
Made a nappy, planning on making more

So much still to get, but not stressed at all.

Getting very excited.

Bump is moving lots and lots...

Hels*Bels
24-10-2008, 07:44 PM
I love our safe n sound carseat/capsule that we bought at the weekend. Not only does it mean that we can put bubs in and out of the car without disturbing him, but it also fits into our steelcraft pram :yelclap:

I think we have everything now, just want to get some plastic protective strips for the sides of the cots as DS chewed his :rolleyes:

I've also got to finish DS's new bedroom so we can put the new cot into the nursery and personalise it a bit for bubs.

newlywedtobemum09
26-10-2008, 03:17 PM
Hey Ladies in due anywhere between the 22nd and the 30th Jan and already have my nursery set up mainly because some of my stuff is second hand.

Cot set up
Change table set up
steraliser
Bottles
Dummies
Activity Mat
Pram
Car Seat
Bunny rugs
Cot sheets
Wrap sheets
Bath towels
Baby face washers
Baby wipes
Nappy Clips
Heaps of Clothes especially Wonder suits
Cot Blankets
Nappy Wrapper bin
Mum has some nappies which she is giving me
2 Baths one for home and one for mother inlaws
Change Mat
Buying some toys just incase bub decides to come early like christmas time
need nappy bucket and Nappy bag suncover for pram.

Is their anything anyone else can think that i will need straight away if so please post it so i know what else i will need as you can tell this is mine and my husbands first baby.

Hels*Bels
26-10-2008, 08:50 PM
You've done very well and it sounds like you have most of it all covered :yelclap:

My only other suggestion would be a rocker/bouncer? Or even better a swing, my DS would happily lay in his swing for hours and would quite often go off to sleep in it. It came in very handy at our meal times too. We have got the fisher price one.