Chickadee
02-05-2006, 16:17
Anyone else out there? Sigh :(
CJandMum
02-05-2006, 16:40
I'm from South Dakota in America.. is that close enough??? LOL:rolleyes:
Chickadee
02-05-2006, 16:59
Hmmmm. Well, ok. But only because your doggy is nearly as cute as mine :)
I'm half Canadian - Dad was born in Toronto and so far I haven't had the pleasure of living that side of the world.....!
DH and I did visit one February and even though I am from the UK I almost died of cold - brrrrrrr!
Where abouts are you from Martha?
Claire :D
p.s. you both have cute doggies - I am trying to persuade DH to let me have one, but with all the travelling we do he doesn't think its a good idea - how boring ;)
rynosmum
02-05-2006, 20:33
I need to ask a question of the Canadians - okay, that might just be you Martha...
I used to love a Canadian breakfast at Byron Bay. Bacon with Maple syrup and eggs. Is it really a Canadian thing or just keen marketing ?
lukaelmo
02-05-2006, 20:37
I lived in St Catherine's, Ontario for 4 months...
I work closely with a Canadian.
I also housesat for said Canadian.
I too enjoy Canada's finest Mayple Syrup.
Am I in?
Chickadee
02-05-2006, 21:07
Hey, Canadians are one of the friendliest bunch of people in the world and it's not at all exclusive. I'll give you all honorary Canadian memberships. Tuques, back bacon and celebratory beer are in the mail.
RM - yes, maple syrup has been known to be poured liberally on bacon. I'm not so fussed on it with eggs. French toast & pancakes are more usual in which case having it on the bacon is just accidental. When there was no other dessert my father used to make do with a bowl of maple syrup, soaking it up with bread, lol. Personally my favorite is maple syrup drizzled over a bowl of gourmet vanilla ice cream. Yum. You have to realise though that it's much cheaper to buy in Canada especially if you're near the producers. We used to buy it in 5 gallon pails :)
Clairet, I'm from north of Toronto. DH is from Newfoundland :)
rynosmum
02-05-2006, 21:31
You gave honorary membership to Bron ? But it was my question ???
Sheeezz....am I that forgettable ? I thought it was just my paranoia...
EskimoMumma
02-05-2006, 21:32
I am from New Jersey...and alaska..and then florida..a bit of texas and right now touring Victoria, i should hit your home town soon :thumbsup:
:laughing: :laughing:
Chickadee
02-05-2006, 21:35
OOOPS!!! Sorry RM. Dunno why I had Bron stuck in my head (kinda scarey thought!)
rynosmum
02-05-2006, 21:42
That's okay Martha, if I'm going to be compared to anyone then Bron's a bit of a compliment.
Dont tell hubby about you Bron obsession though.
Must go now and let you get back to talking aboot all things Canadian....
Chickadee
02-05-2006, 21:44
Ah, I see I won't have to send you the compulsory language tape to make you sound right :)
EskimoMumma
02-05-2006, 22:50
Still do it so she gets the accent just right though :o
OOOPS!!! Sorry RM. Dunno why I had Bron stuck in my head (kinda scarey thought!)
*spooky music playing in the background* :wave:
Im not canadian but My DH is and his parents are travelling back there at the end of the month for 10 weeks...
I would so love to visit there and meet the rest of his family but I am afraid to fly.. :o
Chickadee
03-05-2006, 10:05
Brooke, there are other options than flying. My father has circulation problems so long flights are a bit tough on him & I had checked out the alternatives to flying for him. You can hitch a ride on a freighter fairly cheap, but it takes over 2 weeks to get there! lol.
a maple syrup addict here!!
we get my mum (or whoever is visiting) to bring 3 litres at a time!!!
i'm from mississauga (near toronto) and lived in victoria for a while before moving here. my partner is aussie and we're going home with Jarrah this xmas. their first winter!!!! ha ha. stu reckons it'll be great but i still remember -20 degrees!!
Chickadee
03-05-2006, 10:15
Hi Faery! Isn't maple syrup so expensive here!? :( That's a great idea to get your mum to bring it. Last time I had family come their bags were packed full of presents for DD and there was no room (or weight allowance) left for treats for me :(
I'm from Richmond Hill :) Your trip home will be so exciting. First snow for Jarrah!! :yelclap:
Have you ever checked out any of the Canadian Clubs here in Oz?
richmond hill, we're practically neighbours;)
jarrahs first snow will be great,, and i'll be watching all of the excitement from the well heated indoors!!!:laughing:
never checked out a cnd club...have u?
Chickadee
06-05-2006, 23:04
Oooh, don't stay indoors. You've got to show them how to make snow angels! :)
I went to one Cdn Club christmas party in Perth when we first arrived. Another Cdn couple invited us. It was good fun, the people were all nice (of course!) but I just never got around to joining properly. I keep thinking to check out the one here in Melbourne. This may sound odd, but I miss curling :(
My DH's canadian..he migrated to australia 3 yrs ago after we met on the net :)...one day i'll go over there with him and DD so we can meet his family...and i'll actually get to see snow! lol:smiliedance:
redracer
11-06-2006, 20:59
Hello Hello Hello - yippy, I am so happy I have found this post -- I AM CANADIAN 100%!!!!! Married an aussie in search of sun sand and surf - vancouver winters were getting me down - I now live in brisbane, after spending a year in coffs harbour and a year in cooma(snowy mountains).
Miss canada heaps but manage to go back every 7-8months - talk about lucky - mind you with bubby #2 due any day, I doubt I will be making it back anytime soon -- have no fear, the house is stocked up with Clamato for Ceasars!!!!
Hope all you canadians are well, will try to keep in touch!!
aries_moon
15-06-2006, 16:49
wow cant believe it took me this long to find the Canadian thread!!
I am from Vancouver as well, but must say I am really missing the place.
I am expecting bub #1, so me and DP are going to see the family in august!! Can't wait, it has been nearly 2 years. I met my aussie man when he was there working in the snow in Banff, so I followed him home here to Perth. Perth is nice in it's own right, but nothing compares to those massive mountains, lush green forests, and sparkling lakes and rivers that you will only find in Canada!!
Chickadee
15-06-2006, 21:29
Welcome Redracer & Aries Moon :) Nice to have some more funny accents around!
I still have extra copies of Canadian Living magazine around if anyone wants them. See my other thread here. They're a bit, hmm, well... targetted more at 30+ women I guess (like me) but the recipes are really good. Let me know if any of you want them.
Me too Me too...
I'm from Calgary (Alberta)...Moved here in 2004. Met DH in Calgary when he went there for work experience and then stalked him here hehehe...
My parents came over to visit last november and the only thing DH asked them to bring is Bulls-Eye bbq sauce .. he's addicted to that thing... they brought him every flavor there is and heaps of baby stuff...new and hand me downs for their future grandchild...
Hope to meet more canadians in Melbourne and around aussie...took me long enough to find this thread...
Chickadee
14-03-2007, 12:18
:wave: Hi Nanay! Where in Melbourne are you? I'm near Ivanhoe.
Has anyone joined up with any of the various Canadian Clubs (no... not the rye brand) around Australia? I kept meaning to in Perth and am still thinking about it here in Melbourne. I also want to join a curling club! :laughing:
DaddyDan
14-03-2007, 12:28
I'm from Ontario canada, living in Yukon atm :)
I have a lovely wife and kid in Brisbane, and I'm coming home shortly. it was the hugest mistake ever to go back "home". Australia is my home now, I know that :)
Anyone ever been to whitehorse? its coold :/
:wave: Hi Nanay! Where in Melbourne are you? I'm near Ivanhoe.
Has anyone joined up with any of the various Canadian Clubs (no... not the rye brand) around Australia? I kept meaning to in Perth and am still thinking about it here in Melbourne. I also want to join a curling club! :laughing:
Martha - I'm in Balwyn ... and no havent joined Canadian Club yet, been thinking bout it though
Chickadee
14-03-2007, 12:47
Anyone ever been to whitehorse? its coold :/
Hi Dan! No, North Bay and Timmins were as far north as I wanted to go.
2 Cherubs
14-03-2007, 18:34
I lived in St Catherine's, Ontario for 4 months...
I work closely with a Canadian.
I also housesat for said Canadian.
I too enjoy Canada's finest Mayple Syrup.
Am I in?
Sorry to hijack...
DP Uncle lives in St Catherines..
Would love to go there one day
I'm a Canadian from Toronto and been here for two years. My Australian parnter (hence why I am here) and I just had our first child. We have a not quite 3 month old boy. Where in Toronto are you from?
I have just booked a trip to Canada in June. Just myself and the bub. Have you travelled with a baby to Canada? Bit nervous but hope the young age will be on my side and maybe he'll sleep the whole way???? ;)
Chickadee
19-04-2007, 10:37
Good morning Jules! Welcome to BubHub. :wave:
I'm from Richmond Hill, north of Toronto. I've flown back twice with my DD - once when she was 10 months (11 months on return) and just recently when she was just over 3 years old. At your son's age the trip should be fairly good, provided he sleeps well. We booked the bassinette when DD was 10 months, but also got lucky in that the plane was less than half full so could sprawl over another row of seats and get alot of sleep. On the return the flight was full so we had to hold DD on our laps when she wasn't sleeping, but still it wasn't too bad. I think it gets harder as kids get older and are awake more. If you've got any specific questions I'm happy to try to answer them :)
FortMacMom
02-07-2007, 16:21
Just discovered this website. We just moved to Brisbane (Wellington Point) in June 2007. So we're pretty new to the country. I grew up in Brockville, Ontario and then lived in Edmonton and most recently Fort McMurray.
I have a 3.5 year old girl and a 10 month old boy. We'll be going back to Canada for a quick visit (only 6 days!) in August. I think we're a little crazy :)
Anyway...it's nice to see there's other Canadians in Australia.
Oh...and if there's anyone in Brisbane that can give me advice on suburbs that would be great. We need to buy a house we just can't decide which suburb to live in.
Chickadee
02-07-2007, 16:45
G'day FortMacMom! Brrrr, Fort MacMurray. We had an option of moving there. Are you or your partner in mining or oil by any chance?
I agree you're crazy for a 6 day visit! You almost spend that much time in the air. Let me know how it goes. My DD is also 3.5 years and I might consider a quick trip if yours handles it ok. I've been worried about the jet lag.
Have you posted in the Brisbane chat section yet about looking for a house there?
(ps - happy late Canada Day! :)
FortMacMom
02-07-2007, 20:57
Hi Chickadee,
Yes, my husband is a mining engineer. So we were actually lucky that he landed a job in Brisbane instead of something that was fly in fly out.
We're making the trip quick back because my husbands cousin is getting married. They have a really close family so it will be like a family ruinion and gigantic party. We're also going back to pick up some more of our things, like our hockey and golf stuff. We left everything behind so this is a chance to pick up some stuff we want but didn't need immediately.
My daughter handled the trip over pretty well. She slept over night on the plane and had a nap in the middle of the day once we got into Sydney. So hopefully she'll be pretty good going back.
I've had a look through several website forum about the suburbs in Brizzy. I've got a few in mind but it's tough to decide just looking on the internet. Luckily I have time so I'll probably have to check out one area a week until I get a better idea.
Chickadee
03-07-2007, 11:37
My partner and I are in mining too. I won't say who on a public forum but am happy to chat. FIFO is a pain, so congrats on avoiding that!
little bean
22-08-2007, 12:02
I'm from Montreal but I've been here just over ten years - wow, how time flies!! :eek:
Any other Canadians in Brisbane? It would be fun to get a bunch of us together to go out and celebrate Canada Day next year.
Chickadee
22-08-2007, 12:11
Little bean, time does fly. We're in our 6th year!
Have you looked to see if there is a Canada Club in Brisbane? There is a list here (http://www.canadaclub-vic.org.au/links.html), though I don't know whether it is up to date.
FortMacMom
18-09-2007, 19:17
We're in Brisbane, actually we're in the Bayside area (Capalaba to be precise). I don't know of any Canadian clubs in the area either.
FortMacMom
18-09-2007, 19:23
The short trip wasn't too bad. It was definitely tiring but we had a great time at the wedding, it was like a 3-4 day party.
My son, who was almost a year adjusted the best. He was back on a regular schedule the day after arriving. My daughter and I were off schedule the whole 6 days we were there. We kept sleeping in and staying up late, which was ok since the whole weekend was a party anyway. My husband adjusted better since he forced himself to get up at about 9am the day we arrived. I slept in until about 1pm and that didn't work so well :)
I think a 10 day trip would have been much easier though.
Chickadee
04-10-2007, 16:15
FortMacMom, I'm glad to hear you all survived the trip. I'm trying to decide whether to fly home for Christmas. It would be at most 2 weeks including travel time :thumbsdown:
I'm from Haliburton, Ontario. Been in Geelong for 2.5 years
I hope you dont mind me crashing your thread...Im aussie but my husband is half canadian, he grew up in Markham, Toronto...We got married there last year so I know the area pretty well and loved Canada!!! Although we did go there in Summer:)...MY in laws are there so hoping to go back as we are having our first bub in a few weeks and with grandparents so far way.....
Anyway hope to chat more!!!!
Hey girls!
I'm from Halifax and was born in Charlottetown. I'm currently in Korea working here with my husband (from Brisbane)...waiting for my visa to go through and then we're off to the Gold Coast! I can't wait!
cheezelz
25-03-2008, 08:17
:wave: Im just gonna bumnp by way in here. My mum married a Canadian 3 years ago and currently lives in Calgary. DH, DD & I were just over there for Xmas & New Year. I just have to say that I love the place and the people. Calgary itself is like a little Adelaide which is where I am from. It so warm (figure of speah cos its bloody cold) and friendly and we love the hockey......go the Flames and Hitmen.
We also have friends in Fort Mac and Whitefish in Montana.
FortMacMom
25-03-2008, 08:18
We're in Brisbane (Capalaba) so not too far from the Gold Coast. There aren't too many from around this area on the site so far. Good to see a few of us on here.
FortMacMom
25-03-2008, 08:36
Friends in Fort McMurray eh? That's where we moved from, we lived there for 5 years.
We're heading back to the Toronto area for a trip in August - really looking forward to it!! This will be the first time my parents have met our son who will be 20 months old when we arrive. (They had to fly out 4 days before he was born).
Five years ago when I arrived in Perth I was an oddity and got asked alot of questions because I was Canadian, (including "Canada is smaller than Australia isn't it?"....) now I get the "oh my neighbour/ coworkers / friend is from Canada too". We are taking over Aus!!! :smiliedance:
Chickadee
25-03-2008, 21:27
We are taking over Aus!!! :smiliedance:
Shhhhhhhh. The aussies might figure us out! :laughing:
Isn't it nice to book those tickets for the trip home? :yes:
Hi to all the newcomers to this thread :wave: Meggs, I grew up very near to Markham.
If anyone is missing ice hockey, my DH reports that some satellite feeds pick up hockey coverage on CNN.
I'm half Canadian - dad was born in Calgary - do I still count??? :confused:;)
Chickadee
25-03-2008, 21:39
Do you stock your fridge with beer, bacon and maple syrup? :laughing:
Why yes I do m'am :p
hmmmm... maple flavoured crisy bacon.....
:yelclap::smiliedance:
Chickadee
26-03-2008, 11:29
hmmmm... maple flavoured crisy bacon.....
:yelclap::smiliedance:
Oh great. Now I want some. Immediately!!! :laughing:
Chickadee how cool whereabouts did you grow up?
I really loved the food when I was over there...I still crave Tim Hortons French Vanilla coffee...and pizza pizza!!! My Dh will only buy the more expensive maple syrup in the supermarket...he cant stand the el cheapo one....I have to say Canadian bacon is soooo much nicer than here...We just got Austar so my DH can watch ice hockey and NBL....
We were hoping to take our new bub over at Christmas and so I can see a white Christmas but not sure yet it is sooooo expensive to fly there!!!
Can you believe the amount of snow they are still getting !!!!!! My MIL says it is the worst winter she has seen in her 20yrs over there....
We ALWAYS have maple syrup in our fridge.. and the expensive one too... we dont even think twice about the cheap ones...
We want to go back but like meggs said its just too expensive...too bad coz DS hasnt met his cousin, uncles and aunt yet...
Chickadee
27-03-2008, 12:38
When we were packing up to move here, we GAVE AWAY a 5 litre pail of maple syrup :crying: It's so expensive here, but we always buy the real stuff too.
Meggs, the most expensive time to fly is at Christmas. last year I went home in Feb & in December. The airfare for the December trip was nearly 2x what it was in Feb. So a white christmas is lovely, but if it's just snow you want you should plan to go in Jan or Feb.
Yeah we figured really anytime is expensive...all depends on DH's hols... we would prob go a bit later if thats the case...my MIL is coming out here in August to see our new bub which will be nice...hopefully she will bring us some yummy maple syrup and tim hortons!!!
i always ask for hersheys kisses caramel and DH always asks for bullseye bbq sauce...last time i think my mom brought over 10 bottles .. customs looked at her and she said my son in law loves them and customs looked at her and said and i see you're gonna be a grand ma too by the looks of the baby clothes you are bringing over (she brought my nephews old and some new clothes for DS.. now we have canadian winter clothes for him)