View Full Version : What Made you emigrate?

LA62
02-05-2006, 14:47
What was it that made you want to emigrate?

For me it was the british weather:gloomy:

also there was a programme on in england called a new life down under, it was great all about familes moving to oz, seeing the sunshine and surf did did it for me

mmmm except i ended up in melbourne :laughing: not the sunshine coast i had hoped for but its all good!:thumbsup:

Jacki
02-05-2006, 15:03
When I met DH he had already been to Australia to visit relatives and decided he wanted to emigrate. We both visited Australia together in 1999 and I really loved it, however I thought it was a huge committment and didn't think I could do it. After being home for a few months I started to have strong feelings about Australia and thought, "you only live once, why not give it a go". DH and I came out for another visit in 2001 to look at Australia through different eyes and decided, "yes, let's do it".

We came back to the UK and submitted our application in March 2001, DH is a carpenter so we applied under the skilled category, we finally got our visa in August 2002 - after a long 17 months:smiliedance:

We moved to Melbourne in November 2002 and haven't regretted it for one minute. We're now helping to boost the population as we're expecting our first baby in December.

LA62
02-05-2006, 15:18
Congratulations on your pregnancy:)

Where abouts in Melbourne do you live

im on the mornington peninsula

Jacki
02-05-2006, 15:24
We're living in Berwick but did stay in Mt Eliza with relatives when we first arrived.

Where abouts in the UK did you live? We were in Milton Keynes.

Pixie
02-05-2006, 15:40
I cam here in 97 on a holiday to visit my brother who was living here at the time met a friend of his....hmm spent some time with bro's friend...went back to the UK for 6 months came back moved in with brothers friend and here we are 8 years later lol Holiday romance :D

Jamily
02-05-2006, 16:41
My DH is an Aussie and when we met I was living with my best mate Stace who is from Canberra. Long story short, he moved in with us and we all moved to Sydney. A good few years later we're still here, but thankfully Stace moved out..she only's just up the road though when we need a babysitter :D

I think we'll be here for good but its nice to have choices (I am half Canadian too so we might try it out)!

LA62
02-05-2006, 17:00
I live in Mount Eliza Jacki! small world

Im from manchester originally

i bet a lot of british ladies met a nice aussie Fella backpacking etc nice place to have a holiday romance:D

Jamily
02-05-2006, 19:37
, DH is a carpenter so we applied under the skilled category, we finally got our visa in August 2002 - after a long 17 months:smiliedance:

Hey Jacki

Wish you were in Sydders - I need a good chippie....!

Congrats on your pregnancy too - I boosted the population in June last year (can't believe my little girl is going to have an Aussie accent :eek: ) and hope to add to it again sometime next year :smiliedance:

Oh, I am from London (Exeter originally though) so not far from the good old Milton K.

Claire x

Jamily
02-05-2006, 19:38
, DH is a carpenter so we applied under the skilled category, we finally got our visa in August 2002 - after a long 17 months:smiliedance:

Hey Jacki

Wish you were in Sydders - I need a good chippie....!

Congrats on your pregnancy too - I boosted the population in June last year (can't believe my little girl is going to have an Aussie accent :eek: ) and hope to add to it again sometime next year :smiliedance:

Oh, I am from London (Exeter originally though) so not far from the good old Milton K.

Is anyone planning on a trip home soon?? I am thinking about going in June but not sure I can face it with an active and determined 1 year old (despite the lure of topshop and M&S)!

Claire x

Milis
02-05-2006, 20:03

My DH is also an Aussie - we met when he was on holiday in the UK and had a bit of a holiday romance. A few months later I came out on a whim and we ended up moving in together. 3 years later we're married and had our little population booster in January.

Clairet - I'm half Canadian too, on my mother's side :D We've thought about maybe going out there for a few years but I'm not sure I want to pick up and move countries again :rolleyes:

Look forward to chatting with you all!

Beany
02-05-2006, 20:29
I moved for the silliest reason of all ... love :barf:

He's Aussie, I'm not. It was easier for me to move than it was for him. Or so he said.

LA62
03-05-2006, 07:57
I went home for a holiday in june last year

It was nice to be home and the weather was fab to...i was in shock:laughing:

Must say it was very stressfull trying to combine everything and seeing all our friends and family, it was like being pulled in two:thumbsdown: but the free babysitters were great:thumbsup: :laughing:

I felt like i needed a holiday on our return 2 oz, although it was stressfull, i'd do it again just a little different

mythreelittlemonkeys
03-05-2006, 10:41
i bet a lot of british ladies met a nice aussie Fella backpacking etc nice place to have a holiday romance:D

the what that made me move was a nice aussie fella & being head over heels in lurve:smiliedance: I was a backpacker...we met in a bar I was working in as a tap wench in woop woop...he actually came to UK for a bit too and we got married there...and planned to stay for at least 5 years...but things changed and his need to be over here stronger than mine to be back home...though I miss it and friends/family etc...and now making Oz my home...and hell I have I have an Australian in my tummy tooo...I will be :eek: outnmbered!

Jacki
03-05-2006, 13:54
Is anyone planning on a trip home soon?? I am thinking about going in June but not sure I can face it with an active and determined 1 year old (despite the lure of topshop and M&S)!

My DH's sister and father live in Scotland. SIL has asked if we would consider going over in December 2007 as a surprise for FIL's 70th birthday, which is on Xmas day. Scotland in winter and travelling with a 1 year old doesn't really appeal:no: Even though it would be nice to show bubs off to family and friends, we'll have to wait and see how things go.

Georgie47
06-05-2006, 12:09
:smiliedance: It was so nice to discover this sight, although i'm not homesick, you still feel a little on the outside occasionally.

We've been in Brisbane for 4 years and have a two year old, Max with one on the way due in November, we lived in Dover, Kent.:ecomcity: We too lft England primarily to get away from that bloody weather!:gloomy:

Goergie:bday: (tomorrow yey!)

p.s We went home last year with a one year old Clairet, and he was fine, slept through most of the trip.

jmacg
06-05-2006, 17:43
Georgei47 we're in Brisbane too.

plan to go back for 3 weeks in December Gaia willbe 8 months good to know you did journey and survived. Sometimes think it willl bo ok but others times like today when she screamed so loud in a shop i had to take her outside, i feel panicky! Do they provide food for little ones, should be on solids b y then.

Georgie47
07-05-2006, 13:36
Hey jmacg!

:thumbsup: If its any consolation I have an extremely active little boy, and dreaded the flight for months but what I found was he slept more with the noise and vibrations of the plane. People told me this would happen but after a screaming fit in the post office (like you said) I was very doubtful!!:devil6:

With regards to the food, they do provide little jars (which I always took but kept for later:) but Max had his favourites by then and so I took our own! I found it was one thing I could feel certain about, at least he'd eat! As Jo Frost would say "choose your battles!!" lol.

So, what part of England are you from, and are you homesick now you have Gaia?

Jamily
07-05-2006, 16:27
jmacg - I second what Georgie47 said. I took Emily back to the UK when she was about 6 months old and she slept the entire way....there and back. I flew Emirates and they had food, toys and change tables in each bathroom so it was pretty easy.

Georgie47 - glad to hear the trip is just as easy with a 1 year old...I wasnt' sure how it would go now that she is active! :thumbsup:

Hope you're all having a good weekend - I am still renovating :eek: will it ever end!!?

Cx

jmacg
07-05-2006, 16:46
Good to hear your experiences Georgie47 and Clairet. I love Supernanny was addicted before I had Gaia and love it even more now. Would be a good idea to take food I know she will eat.

I am originally from Sunderland lived in Edinburgh for about 10 years(met my husband and stayed). Lived in Cardiff last 2 years (hubbie's first time away from SCotland) and then moved here beginning of August. Haven't been too homesick. In my head because I know it is SO far don't think about going home, my way of coping I think. Was crying for my mum when I went into labour. The midwife said it was really funny cos she offered to phone her and get her to come in to hospital and I was almost hysterical saying she was in the UK!! My best friend has a little boy (our Godson) and he is 18 months. We emailed each other all the time during the pregnancy and it does bother me that I don't see him and will be ages till she sees Gaia. My parents are coming out for a month on the 18th May so looking forward to that. Then my MIL is coming out in August watch this space , might need to have a few rants on bubhub!! Got a couple of friends coming out inbetween. Looking forward to showing off our little girl!

What about you? Have you settled?

Renovating AAH long job. Will be nice when it's finished.

love Jxx

clairereid
09-05-2006, 16:55
I hope you dont mind me joining in cause I have just found the UK part, hurray!
We live in Perth and have done for 17 months, originally from Aberdeen in Scotland (no would not reccomend in winter!)
We are going home in June with DS who will be 18 months, too small for a seat and too big for the bassinette so I am having sleepless nights already, but reading your posts it sounds like things went okay for you all!

Hope to chat more soon
Claire
ps, I miss good TV, decent Chinese food and my central heating (call me crazy but it gets bloody cold in Perth!)

jmacg
11-05-2006, 08:05
Claire love your signatures the one about not sleeping with a baby is SO true.

Been to Aberdeen a couple of times spent New Year there when we lived in Edinburgh. It's a great city if you pack your woolies!

Thanks for the advice about flying feel less panicky now.

Someone is waking up!
Bye for now,

Jxx

clairereid
11-05-2006, 13:10
yeah, your right, definitely need the winter woolies!! I am going home next month but will still be packing them even though it will be summer!
I have a whole book with the baby quotes in, a friend gave it to me when Aiden was born and it is really cute.

take care x x

claireh05
28-07-2006, 17:26

Just found this thread - yeay! :yelclap:

I came over here in 2001 - married an Aussie and now we have a daughter who is 8 months. I am taking my DD back to the UK in September for two months - can't wait, but I am travelling on my own and a bit worried about the trip - I have asked for a bassinette but been told that the priority is for the younger bubs - did anyone else have this issue and not get one? If I do get one, will it be big enough for my LO?! Do they sleep lots up in the air... I hope so! I can't imagine trying to entertain her for 24 hours - she is so into crawling at the moment I don't think she'll cope with being stationary for that long!

I am flying Qantas and then BA - does anyone know what they are like with bubs?

Cheers!
Claire :)

*Sparkles*
28-07-2006, 17:50
I am originally from Southampton and I have been here since 1993. I emigrated with my ex (also a pom). We were living in Qld and separated in 1999 so I moved to Melbourne for a work opportunity and met hubby #2.
We are still living in Melbourne (south east suburbs) and baby #1 is on the way.

DH has never been to the UK so I will take him back for a visit in the next few years (when bub is old enough).

I have been back to UK once in 1997 so I am overdue for a visit! My parents have been over here a few times and will come over again early next year after the birth.

So that's my story! I love Oz and would never go back to England! :)

filmgirlgail
30-07-2006, 18:38
[QUOTE=claireh05]Hi guys,

Just found this thread - yeay! :yelclap:

I came over here in 2001 - married an Aussie and now we have a daughter who is 8 months. I am taking my DD back to the UK in September for two months - can't wait, but I am travelling on my own and a bit worried about the trip - I have asked for a bassinette but been told that the priority is for the younger bubs - did anyone else have this issue and not get one? If I do get one, will it be big enough for my LO?! Do they sleep lots up in the air... I hope so! I can't imagine trying to entertain her for 24 hours - she is so into crawling at the moment I don't think she'll cope with being stationary for that long!

I am flying Qantas and then BA - does anyone know what they are like with bubs?

QUOTE]

I've just found this thread too. You may want to rethink the bassinette depending on whether your bubba can get out of it or not. It's not very secure once they can sit up and climb so when I travelled solo I just had Jess sleep on my lap otherwise I couldn't go to sleep myself as I thought she'd wake up in the bassinet and climb out.

All airlines I've flown with have been great, especially as I've flown solo to the UK twice with Jess. They're always ready to help and Japan Airlines were brilliant and cleaned up me and Jess after she was sick all down me, without me having to get up! :o

Hope this may help?

annb
30-07-2006, 19:14
just on the flying issue...we took our DS to Sydney at age 10mths and he did okay in the bassinet but then again was only asleep for about an hour....we took him to the uk at 12mths and he only just squeezed into the bassinet and hes only a little boy, and at one stage woke up when we were asleep and climbed out of it (getting under the safety harness) luckily he fell into my lap but we didnt put him back in it again!! I believe BA do a car seat type of bassinet which a friend got when her baby was 10mths old and she said it was fantastic...but if you are on the QF plane to London they dont have them
our boy only slept for max of about 4hrs on the entire trip so best of luck!!!! get some antihistamine medication just in case you get desparate it is not as long lasting as vernergan (sp?) we used something beginning with p in a pink bottle cannot remember the name! and the food on BA/QF is **** as well so take plenty of snacks....our baby meal consisted of some mushed chicken and potato follwed by a profiterole and a nice sugary blackcurrant drink!!!!!

claireh05
06-08-2006, 14:33
Thanks for your tips on flying guys - it's good to hear that all the hosts/hostesses are really good. I will certainly need some help! Shame the bassinettes aren't bigger hey?! but I suspected it might be inappropriate as my LO is a right big heffa (heifa...sp??!)

I just realised I posted in completely the wrong place - so sorry everyone!

HollyHotLips
25-08-2006, 15:06
Always had this feeling I wanted to life here, OH spent a year backpacking and loved it and we just felt Australia had more to offer us than the UK.

Scary as we have no family here but so glad we did it! :D