View Full Version : Whoooo now we can moan away lol

LA62
02-05-2006, 12:25
Hi there Girls

Now we can have a moan, a cry a laugh etc about what we miss about England (it right at the bottom of the page the topic) its called xpats living in oz, they also have eight other countries on there 2

also a nice way to find each other easier if we need a sholder to cry on etc:(

chat about our families & why we decided to move 2 oz

speak soon, off to watch enders on uktv:laughing:

Georgie47
06-05-2006, 12:28
Hey LA62!

:yelclap: Oh how I miss eastenders, we really must get uk tv, times have been a little hard since we emigrated 4 years ago, but apparently they're about 3 years behind anyway, is this true?

We moved to get away from the doom and gloom:gloomy: how about you?

We have a two yr old Max and one on the way, we took Max to England for christmas the year before last to meet the rely's, was much more of an emotional fairwell than normal:crying:

Georgie:wave:

LA62
08-05-2006, 12:40
Hi there!

Oooooh yes i am an eastenders fan! we are quite behind but we have been here 2years nearly, so i am watching episodes that i have not seen so its great:smiliedance: oooh you must get uk2v lol i could not survive without it.

yep we moved here also to escape the doom and gloom, but living in melbourne the winters are more or less the same as manchester:rolleyes: but the summers are what its all about for me i love it:D

My parents just went home last week after spending 4 weeks so thats hard and im missing them alot but i will get there and im sure in a couple of weeks i will be back to my normal self

nice to swap stories and hope to speak to you soonX

LA62
08-05-2006, 15:36
LOL neaby...yes it could be taken like that:laughing:

Georgie47
11-05-2006, 20:20
Hi LA62! I could really relate to what you said about your folks going home!:no: Its so funny how we must go through similar emotions, I too am really sad for a couple of weeks and then I'm fine, certainly have know desire to go back with them. Mine are planning to be out for the birth of our second bub in November:smiliedance: can't wait.

We're actually selling a house in England at the mo and once we do that I can get my uktv:yelclap: do they run those great sunday night dramas, oh and what about corrie st?

Aaargghhh, so many little things I miss,- sandwich spread, aunt bessies yorkshire puds, strawberry bon bons:laughing:

mtjt25
11-05-2006, 22:11

I miss Eastenders too......and I have to say Next - although my family send heaps of stuff over.

It must have been hard saying goodbye to the family now you ahve kids - Iam not looking forward to the next visit in that respect

We too moved to get away from the doom & gloom!

LA62 Where in Melbourne are you?

Me 31
DH 34
DD 20/09/05

Beany
11-05-2006, 23:13
Georgie47: where are you based?

There's a shop in Sydney that sells the Heinz sandwich spreads and strawberry bon bons. I nearly wet myself with delight when that shop first opened - I'd gone without for about 4 years and the care packages from home were simply not keeping up with my cravings. That first packet of pickled onion Monster Munch was just orgasmic ...

And yes, UKTV does have Coronation Street. Not sure if how far behind the UK episodes those ones are, though. Eastenders is about a year behind at the moment though we should be all caught up by Christmas if they carry on with the double episode thingy they are doing now.

mythreelittlemonkeys
12-05-2006, 20:30
Really happy just found a pub in village/suburb next to us...that sells walkers crisps, twiglets,frazzles and pickled onion monster munch as well as Stoford Cider on tap...and hundreds of ENglish beers I hadnt heard of half of them...cant wait till can drink again!! So sad what excites me these days...:smiliedance:

Georgie47
14-05-2006, 06:09
Hi Beany!

Good God I got so excited when you said I could have my cravings until I discovered it was Sydney!:crying: I'm actually in Brisbane, nevermind, I have been told this week that you can buy frozen yorkshire puds from action supermarket! Hope they're Aunt Bessies:smiliedance: That will give me a fix for a while.

Great news about Corrie, miss British tv, so American here, drives me nuts!

LA62
15-05-2006, 07:48
Hi there Girls

mtjt25 Im on the Mornington Peninsula!...lovley place when is sunny!:laughing: but at the moment its been Bloody:gloomy: not funny i feel like im back in england! ha

Uktv yes some good stuff on, corrie is funny and im gripped with enders:smiliedance: some good dramas on etc when i get the chance to watch it!

Still A bit homesick but getting there, not enough to go home though!

bumpsmum
15-05-2006, 20:48

I had to laugh at all you girls who wrote that you emigrated to escape the doom and gloom and then wrote that you watch Enders! Contradicting terms I think:laughing:

I too wouldn't be without my UKTV but I am a Corrie girl. But joy of joys Emmerdale starts in July. Happy days!:smiliedance:

Beany- where abouts in Sydney are you? The taste of home in Bondi is my Mecca

Beany
15-05-2006, 21:32
I live in the CBD so depending on what I fancy, I head either to Treats From Home (on Pitt Street) or to The British Lolly Shop (in Darling Harbour). They have penny sweets! You know, the sweets that actually used to cost a penny each when we were kids? That come in jars and were shaken by some arthritic old man into little paper bags? I feel like a five year old walking into that jar heaven ...

Treats from home is better for biscuits, crackers and pantry goods (like golden syrup, jams, jellies and so forth as well as cereals like Ready Brek and Sugar Puffs ... they even stock Persil washing powder! What a bizarre thing to import!). And Crisps. They have Wheat Crunchies! And Cheds! And Twiglets! And Monster Munch ... I'm making myself hungry.

They way I'm raving about these people, they ought to give me a discount for the advertising I'm providing.

Where exactly is Taste of Home located? They might have something different for me to sob over ... :D

Pixie
16-05-2006, 03:58
Beany I am in the CBD too and sometimes wander to pitt street to fibd a yorkie bar lol..I know the one id D harbour too..yet haven't ever bought anythere as it's always full of English tourists!!!

There's a yummy one up in Leura in the mountains :D

Beany
16-05-2006, 11:47
Devon mouse: have you had a gander in that "Sugar Fix" place in the food court under Myer yet? They have some choccies too (smaller selection) and Jaffa Cakes for some exorbitant price (but less than Treats From Home charge).

They also have weird looking American sweets. Haven't been game enough to try any of those, though ... I figure if I find Australian chocolate this distasteful, the American stuff would be unbearable.

bumpsmum
16-05-2006, 12:17
There's one at Bondi Junction just past darrel lee. You have me craving Wheat Crunchies now. I had forgotten about them.

My husband got me a packet of jaffa cakes for mothers day. They are an italian brand I think but taste exactly the same as mcvities. $2.99 which I thought was reasonable.

Who would bother to pay the extra for imported washing powder?

I always buy a tin of heinz tomato soup when I'm in there. Too good to resist!

Beany
18-05-2006, 15:56
*sigh* just walked past an old man on the street today, broad Northern accent (of the Yorkshire-realm ilk) ... smelled like TCP!

Instant homesickness, nostalgia and an irrational clawing fear that I would be required to gargle the vile concoction.

There's nothing in the world that smells quite like that stuff ...

louiseward
20-05-2006, 12:07

My name is Louise, moved here three months ago - so currently undergoing serious homesickness:crying: Especially because my son was two recently and it should have been a family occassion, but instead I was with people that I had only recently met.

Live on the Gold Coast with my DH and 2 DS's one 2, and one 4 1/2 months.

Can't watch Eastenders because it is so far behind what I have come from so will have to start in about 18 months time. Love all the CSI and Law and Orders though so - most evenings I am very happy:yelclap:

How long did people leave it before they went home for a visit - if been at all??

I moved out to escape the doom and gloom and the first week we got here it poured down the entire week - couldn't believe my luck.

I miss Sainsbury's the supermarkets here are just not i the same league - I can't believe that I would ever say that:o .

Louise

Beany
20-05-2006, 12:37
Hi Louise,

It was at about 3 months that the "I wanna go home! Waaaaaaah!" hit me, too. It does get better, though some days are better than others.

I went back for a visit after 3 years. Loved every second I was there (when the Aussie that went with me wasn't whinging, that is - and they have the nerve to call US whingers! the cheek!) and had to be dragged onto the plane to come back here. I wanted to go back again this Christmas but, alas, being all knocked up my holiday fund is being siphoned off for unnecessary things like hospital accommodation, a cot and drugs. Lots of drugs.

I completely agree about supermarkets here not being quite the same - there's just something a little tiny bit off about them and I can never put my finger on what, exactly.

Take care :)

mythreelittlemonkeys
20-05-2006, 16:08

I miss Sainsbury's the supermarkets here are just not i the same league - I can't believe that I would ever say that:o .

Louise

I so totally agree Louise...I been here a year now and I still cnat put my finger on it - but even my DH who a Aussie agrees on this one...we going home at Xmas - which despite the weather I am soooooooooooo looking forward to...I missed the whole feeling of Xmas and the build up, smells and everything! It was so weird walking around shops here in Nov/Dec and all Xmas stuff out and it being boiling...it really made it seem like somehow fake...didnt feel like Xmas to for me cos all my family and friends in UK and that kinda what makes any big celebration special....

Manxie
21-05-2006, 08:26

Nice to see I'm not alone. I have been out here for four years. My DH and I decided it was his turn to be near his rellies after him spending four years in the UK.

I have just got back from a visit home and so am feeling a little :gloomy: We took my eight month old DD to see her grandparents and Auntie and cousins for the first time. We had a lovely time but it was very hectic and quite intense. I cried most of the way home, even bursting into tears when we landed in Adelaide. I am slowly starting to settle back in.

I love UK supermarkets too! Although I was standing there waiting for them to pack my bags for me, have got so used to them doing it here. Also I got quite excited by the baby section in boots - how sad!

Look forward to chatting and moaning with you all!

Pixie
21-05-2006, 08:30
we all miss BOOTS eh :(

I have been here 8 years and been back 3 times....I hate the fact that all my overseas holidays have been there so much more i'd like to see!

I don't get homesick lol

mamachops
21-05-2006, 22:31
I keep considering asking Tesco or Sainsbury to come out here!

Can't remember the person from Brissie who was missing UK stuff, but there is a shop in the Myer centre in the CBD,, which is called Chocolate something. It looks like a sweet shop, and there's a little section of UK goodies. Ah vimto:p . Their stock varies a bit from time to time so I pop in whenever I'm passing to see what they've got. They had cans of mushy peas last time I went in. Eeww:barf: Still, it was a comforting sight!

WDT
23-05-2006, 18:43
Hi All I have just found this thread:smiliedance: I have been here 11 years :eek: where did the time go? I came over to work for a year - here I am a decade later three kids mortgage, etc etc. Never felt homesick until the kids arrived. Now I miss my mum and sister so much more. My sister has three the same age as my boys and they will hardly know each other i fear. Mind you it seems that young poms all head down under and young Aussies all head north as soon as they are old enough so I reckon in about 18 years my sister and I will just swap broods for a while.:laughing: I have been back for a couple of Christmas's as Christmas in Brisbane is just not the same at all! Mind you I will not be going at Christmas with young kids again - two boys stuck in granny;s living room for three weeks got somewhat trying .:laughing: and now we have three!! Each pregn I go into despair but now DS no3 is 6 mth I feel brighter and more rational and realise once more what a fab place Oz is for growing up.

Georgie47
03-06-2006, 13:28
Thanks Christoobs for the info on the shop in myers, I have since discovered a little shop at redcliffe opposite the lagoon too that also does yorkshires and strawberry bon bons:yelclap: still havent found monster munch though!

O.k looking for advice folks, I'm travelling to uk in a couple of months with a 2 yr old! and panicing every time I think about it!:( I was so much more confident when he was 6 months but now he has ants in his pants I'm wondering how he's going to sit still on the 12 hour flight. Not to mention the sleep patterns! If anyone has any experience on this please help:yelclap: I'm will also be roughly 22 weeks pregnant and needing to maintain my sanity:banghead:

Beany
03-06-2006, 13:49
I think I put this link in some other thread somewhere but I'll add it here too for all us homesick puppies with unsatisfied indulgences:

www.treatsfromhome.com.au

Enjoy!

I take no responsibility for any strife between you and your partner/s regarding excessive credit card usage and/or weight gain :p

Regarding the 2 year old on an airplane ... they tend to sleep most of the way. Take a few activity books and games and things, let him watch the movies and let him stretch his legs when he wants to.

natasha
03-06-2006, 14:23
WOW I just found this thread!!! (this whole section in fact!).

I moved over here about 3 years ago from Liverpool in UK. I haven't been back to see family yet and I really don't intend to!! There are soooo many things i miss, but my family are NOT one of them!:p
I miss Pot noodles! Strawberry bonbons! Walkers crisps! Vimto! QUAVERS!!! TESCO"S!!!! New look! 'poundland'!(does anyone know that)! A good curry! All the pubs with beer gardens!(there's hardly any in OZ, which makes no sense!) A roast dinner on a sunday arvo in the pub!

I have been to that shop in the city, the one beany has given the link to. Its expensive but it's so nice to see all the things we use to have! I got 15 bags of quavers last time i went, and ate them in 2 days!:p

Beany
03-06-2006, 14:52
Poundland ... the British equivalent to a $2 shop? Been there :D There was one in Stratford. Still there, as far as I know.

I went a bit nuts in the shop when it first opened - bought a bit of everything (Yorkie chocolate, a double decker bar, monster munch, wotsits, salt and lineker (!) Walkers and more) and pigged out. Goodness was I ill for the next few days ...

Totally worth it, though :D

scotsmum
06-06-2006, 22:54
We moved here in Nov from Scotland and am already missing some specific foods - somebody mentioned aunt bessies yorkshire puddings - well i had to dig the recipe book out at the weekend and try and make my own! Was Ok, but nothing as good as AB! Actually was back home a few weeks ago (scotland) and felt like it was Xmas when I was in Boots... so much choice. Oh and had the best fish and chips..... not quite the same over here. But hey ho the weather is a winner and that's why we moved to the Sunshine State! :)

scotsmum
06-06-2006, 22:57
Oh forgot to say after all that - there is actually a shop on the southside (Brisbane) near Ikea that sells Walkers, Bisto, Quavers, Haggis (for those that like it) and various sweets. I was so chuffed to see that Woolworths sell Irn Bru and Lurpack Butter... Nummmm :thumbsup:

Georgie47
07-06-2006, 18:40
Hi All!

I'm 15 weeks pregnant and have a bazaar craving for a bottle of Bing and a cadburys flake, so wierd, havent drunk Bing since I was little but would give anything for it right now!:confused:

Caught a glimpse of eastenders yesterday too, just loved it, gotta get foxtel.:yelclap:

annb
07-06-2006, 18:51
natasha..im from liverpool too....you know what i miss....curry and chips!!!! they just dont make the curry sauce the same over here!!

scotsmum
07-06-2006, 22:33
Georgie47 - You mentioned getting Foxtel for Eastenders... well because I only came over here in Nov 05, there's no point me watching Foxtel for Eastenders as it's about 2 years old! Coronation Street is the same... apparantly Emmerdale is starting very soon, but suspect that will also be years old. Don't know why they do that? :(

Beany
08-06-2006, 00:45
They will catch up soon enough though - they are having 2 episodes of Eastenders a day, everyday to that end.

So get signed up by the end of the year, I guess :)

scotsmum
08-06-2006, 08:42
Yeah you are right. At least when you watch Eastenders and the doomy and gloomy weather :gloomy: , it reminds you why you moved to Oz! It's makes all the difference getting out of bed every morning to the sunshine! :)

Beany
08-06-2006, 11:27
Hah that's irony for you ...

The last week or so of Eastenders, when not shot at night, have been bright and sunny. Visibly cold but sunny. And Sydney? It's been peeing down.

bumpsmum
08-06-2006, 14:19

I think Emmerdale is actually only a few months out because they are discussing stuff that was in the pipeline when we were home in January. We've been away from England for 5 1/2 yrs so they are all new to me.

I have every sympathy with the cravings. The other night I really wanted English fish and chips. DH offered to go to the chippy but I knew it wouldn't be the same.

I also really wanted a red mr man ice lolly . I can't remember the last time I had one, probably 20+ yrs ago :laughing: its not fair that the body should crave things it can't have. Hopefully bub will be born soon and this crazyness can stop!

I went to the Bondi shop this week and bought a malt loaf which DH and I ate in about 10 mins. It was lovely. We've hidden the butterscotch angel delight from the boys LOL

Pixie
08-06-2006, 15:11
Well I am heading to the city later buying a new hoover :smiliedance: oh how small things fill me with elation lol but....I might go to treats from home although I lost all my baby weight and want to lose more but I think there is room in my left butt cheek for a yorkie bar :D

Beany
09-06-2006, 00:29
Lucky left butt cheek.

*waddles off in dismay*

rubyredlips
09-06-2006, 12:44
Can you imagine what bedlam there is with the football being on and everything!!

Anyone in Manly want to go for a beer and watch a game??? True, this will be difficult at 5am..........I'm still breastfeeding but there is always the pump! :smiliedance:

scotsmum
09-06-2006, 19:35
would love a to come for a beer, but unfortunately am in Brissy.... will have to settle with a glass of wine and the TV instead... had a night out a few weeks ago and had to use the good old breastpump! Even though I didn't have to get up for Amy, my boobs were that full that I had to express - what with the noise of the thing and my sore head... think I will give the hard core stuff a miss for a while now! :( Oh and yes I have been hearing that the UK have been getting scorching weather.... think we are nearing the same temp here in Brissy and it's our winter - how cool is that! :)

mamamianz
12-06-2006, 22:36
I'm an expat Kiwi with an english family (mum dad and 2 sisters)
I have been here 2mths now
just wanted to let you know I have a really easy recipe for Yorkshire Pudding will find it and post it soon if you are insterested.
Tata for now
Josephine

scotsmum
13-06-2006, 13:23
Hi Josephine welcome to Oz - how are you liking it so far? Yeah a good recipe would be good..... :chef:

mamamianz
14-06-2006, 18:18
Hi yes settling in slowly - it gets a bit lonely sometimes especially at weekends but Grace keeps us busy

Recipe for Yorkshire Puddin' for you UK expats

1cup Standard plain flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
1/2cup milk
2 tblspns water
2 tblspns fat/butter

sift flour and salt into bowl
make well in centre add eggs lightly beat then add milk gradually mixing into smooth batter. Chill for 1hr. Stir again, heat fat in muffin pans until smoking hot
quickly pour in batter bake at 200C for 30mins or golden brown & well risen

serve with Roast beef and lovely thick gravy mmmmmmmmmm

hope it tastes like the ones from home

natasha
14-06-2006, 18:52
yep i use that recipe to make my yorkshires, I had them yesterday! SOOOOO yummy!!:chef:

scotsmum
14-06-2006, 20:43
Josephine
Thanks for that recipe.... funny as I actually cooked Roast Beef tonight with Yorkshire Puddings - they were alwful and were all deflated and stuck to the trays! Will try your recipe next time.... my recipe did not have the water and the trays were obviously not hot enough. Better luck next time. :thumbsup:

Hope you settle in soon, I know what it's like to start with, but the little ones do keep you busy.

Davina

jmacg
14-06-2006, 22:13
Scots mum where is the haggis shop?? I had a craving for haggis when I was pregnant and now you have mentioned it could really fancy it! My DH is Scottish and we lived there for years. Liked your post about expressing. My parents have been over for a month and we had a few nights out. Gets to 3 in the morning and I am in agony and need to express but am then paranoid that the milk will be contaminated and can't give to DD.

Feeling a bit sad today as my folks left yesterday. Thye had a great time, spend lots of time with the baby and we went on lots of trips. Not homesick love Brissy but feel sorry for them having to leave the baby and missing them a bit too. Feel better today as my DD has started smiling loads today and that cheered me up. Is funny cos I am so used to her solemn little face looking at me so when you get the huge gummy smiles takes you by surprise.

Back to the footie
Love Jxx

scotsmum
15-06-2006, 07:18
Hi jmacg the shop is near Ikea on the southside. I can't remember the shops name, but will ask DH when he gets home. Haggis was OK, but not as good as back home. DH loves flat sausage in a roll (like lorne sausage) and that's good from that shop.

Yeah I had to throw the milk away that I expressed through the night and in the morning, otherwise DD would end up a bit tipsy!

I take it your parents are living back in the UK or somewhere else in Oz? I know what you mean about feeling sorry for them. DD is the only grandchild on both sides of our family and it is sad that they don't get to see her. We actually went back to Scotland in April, so they got to see her while she is still wee. The goodbyes never get easier though! We have DH parents coming in Sept for 7 weeks holiday..... Will be nice to see them, but it's a long haul. :D

jmacg
15-06-2006, 11:15
Scots Mum my parents live in North East england. My mother in law in coming out in August for a month and my best friend and her hubby in July so busy with visitors which is good. My DH told his mum that she should go to Sydney in the middle of her trip to give us a break he is so tactless sometimes-men. he has a point we get on ok but can be a bit intense having visitors for a long time can't it especially as when you are off work.

OOH lorne sausage had forgotten about that. We are hoping to go back for Christmas -if we rob a bank:D keep thinking of yummy things like haggis and smoked sausage suppers! Think it must be the BF am constantly hungry-honest!

Feeling better today going out this evening with my DH friends are babysitting. Even motivated myself to do some exercises with the baby earlier don't know what came over me! My folks are in Singapore get back to their house Saturday will try and put baby on webcam for them that should cheer them up.

Bye for now,

Jxx

scotsmum
15-06-2006, 20:53
Hi Jmacg :wave:

The shop is called Syd's Pies and off the Pacific Highway (corner of Lea warra Drive) Loganholme - if you have a look on www.highlandflingproducts.com it shows you everything you can buy. Oh don't talk about chippies.... I was a battered sausage girl... nummmmm

Yes men just don't have a clue. Alright for my DH, he will be out working - though I am hoping to be back at work (or lets say find some work) part-time come Aug/Sept. We keep in touch with DH parents through the web cam and it's great as they get to see Amy.

Yeah I am BF and have been trying to lose weight at weight watchers - Ummmmm had really good will power in the beginning, but like you say am hungry all the time and just want to eat everything in sight. I need to motivate myself to get out walking now that it is cooler. My excuse before was that it was too hot before.

Have you been in Oz long? Are you southside or northside? We are living on the northside.

Hope you enjoyed your night out tonight with DH. Better go as this is turning into a novel... :ecomcity:

Davina x

jmacg
16-06-2006, 22:39
Hi Davina

Thanks for the details will have a look at the website. DH will love me if I get him some Lorne sausage!

Exactly that was my argument about my MIL I will be at home ALL day with his mum. When my parents were here was just a couple of hours at night and the weekend. have you got a job lined up?

We have been in Oz since beginning of July. Were here a month and found out I was pregnant. What about you? We live in the Valley.Are you planning on staying? We are here for 3 years initially (DH has a contract for that long ) but love it so far so we shall see.

We had a great time last night our friends babysat they were brilliant with Gaia , when we got home she was sound asleep. She had a long lie in till 7.30 :smiliedance:

Bye for now Jx

scotsmum
18-06-2006, 11:51
Hi Jmacg

No job lined up as of yet - I worked within social work back in Scotland and went to the careers convention in the city a few weeks ago where I got speaking to Queensland Government, so will I am going to give the guy a phone next week to see what's on the go over here. I will need to get my C.V. pulled up along with all my certificates etc... what a thought! Hoping to get back into part-time around Aug/Sept time. Quite daunting really - I think I have probably snookered myself a bit with childcare, as I did not realise that there was huge waiting lists and I only have Amy on one list! Whoops. So again I will need to telephone around next week and get something sorted out.

We moved to Brisbane in November 2005 - I was 32 weeks pregnant, so that was an experience!!! It was either that or wait until this year to make the move, but decided that we might of been too tempted to stay in the UK, what with the baby and grandparents etc! We are here for good - we have permanent residency now. Well we said we would give it 2 years minimum and if we like it we will stay, if not, go back home. We are currently renting in Kallangur, but have bought some land in Narangba and are building (about 40 mins from city centre).

Miss our friends and family so much..... but over time, hopefully will get a good bunch of friends etc.

I must stop bleathering away - seem to have taken over this thread! Whoops. :ecomcity: This is what happens when bubs is sleeping :sleeping:

Davina x