View Full Version : follow on from the who are you taking in with you??
~*clairesmum*~
25-08-2008, 07:49 PM
so its just a follow on from my other thread...
is anyone going to tell people when ur in labour besides ur sms buddy.. and who will be the first person u will be telling when bub is born??
for me, im not telling anyone that im in labour(family wise) besides my lil sister n her DP only cause they are looking after claire for me, and cause i dont want DH's mum to be there as she was with SIL, as soon as they new she was going to the hospital they were up there waiting for her to hve bub, luckly for SIL and BIL visiting hours finished and they got kicked out b4 she had bub, and thats not wat i want
and i will prob call DH's mum and dad and then my parents to tell them, then after that the siblings etc....
mum2peanut
25-08-2008, 08:07 PM
With DD I was induced, so I only told my mum, sister and closest friend that I was going in. And my DH obviously. Hmmm maybe I told my dad. Ended up having an emer caesar, so mum was there in the end for the weighing and stuff, and DH called family. I made sure my closest friend knew beofre I told anyone else.
This time I'm having an elec caesar, so I'll tell, mum, sis, dad and my three closest friends. I want some element of surprise, but I want those people to know to take my call at work. I remember last time it took me ages to get in contact with my friend, so don't want that to happen again. Won't let anyone else know until I'm out of recovery including DH's family. Don't want any visitors until DD has had some alone time to bond her her new bro or sis.
FirstTimeMummy
26-08-2008, 10:44 AM
If I had my way I wouldn't tell anyone i was in labour. I don't really want the enslaught of sms's and ph calls during labour - I know people mean well but I think it will be nice just for DH and I to enjoy the experience.
My Mum is a major stress head and has seriously high blood pressure and 2 aneurisms. I am adopted so she has never been pregnant and panics at every little thing that I tell her about being pregnant - she thinks something is going to go wrong. I don't think she is coping with me being pregnant at all - she's very standoff-ish and changes the topic and doesn't call to see how I am anymore (she used to drive us nuts calling every night before we got pregnant).
I want to tell Mum & Dad when we go into labour but I am concerned about stressing Mum out too much and something happening to her....
Any advice??
*Chels*
26-08-2008, 11:07 AM
Well,the first thing I am gonna do while in labour is jump on here and let you gals know!:D
Will probably just send out a few texts to the fam to let them know I am in labour,and then again when bubs is born.
We are having a "babymoon" this time,so NO visitors for at LEAST a day or 2.I just cant be bothered with the bloody circus that follows a birth:rolleyes:
KrissyM
26-08-2008, 08:07 PM
I'll let my Mum and Dad know once Im in labour. They both planning to come up once I am it'll take them 5 hrs to get here, not quite sure if I'll tell them when I think Im in labour or wait till Ive gone to hosp and the middies say Im in true labour. All depends on what time of day it is. They can then let the rest of my family know. Not sure about letting the in-laws know. MIL lives here but shell most prob leave us alone. Leave that to DP. Havent really thought much about it. More been worrying about after and having my parents (divorced) here. Not too sure how that one will go down. Maybe Ill just stay in hosp as long as poss so I dont have to deal with it lol.
kirra
27-08-2008, 08:34 PM
Last time mum knew as she came to the hospital with us and my DH rang my dad to let him know as he had to get a new ticket for the car :no:. This time will be a Caesar we will find out next week what day she will come into this world. I don't mind who knows the date most friends and family know best to wait a day before coming in except my sister. She has no idea I am having a Caesar and i have no intention of telling her different she thinks bubs is due the week after and she will know no different until we are home. She is terrible overbearing and condescending in her comments. Its a good thing we are not in contact at the moment should make it easier.
FirstTimeMummy, how will your mum act if you don't tell her till the bubs is born. I know waiting for my nieces and nephews to be born it was a long day and night of waiting and fielding calls from other family members wanting news. Maybe it will be best for her to wait untill you have the good news that way you won't be worrying about her either. Would she of come in if you were in labour anyway?
WarriorMummy
27-08-2008, 08:38 PM
i'llprob send out an sms to all family and close friends- do the calls later
84zsazsa
27-08-2008, 08:40 PM
Well,the first thing I am gonna do while in labour is jump on here and let you gals know!:D
Will probably just send out a few texts to the fam to let them know I am in labour,and then again when bubs is born.
We are having a "babymoon" this time,so NO visitors for at LEAST a day or 2.I just cant be bothered with the bloody circus that follows a birth:rolleyes:
My exact plan!!!!! :thumbsup: Could not have said it better....:laughing:
Danni
BazzasMum
27-08-2008, 09:32 PM
Caitlin - they can't call you if you turn your phone OFF while you're in labour! Send a txt, tell them what's going on and you'll be in contact again once it's all over!
that's what I'll be doing! After I pop on here.... :laughing: I don't have any family or friends around so don't have to worry about that. Actually I think it'll be quite lonely at the hosp after the first day or 2.
~*clairesmum*~
28-08-2008, 06:47 AM
sounds like everyone has good family that respect u not like mine, i would be getting phone calls texts, wantiong to no what is going on.... i got a form from the hospital saying no family/visitors are aloud in with me unless they are support people which is a good thing, im going to photo copy it and hand it around so everyone no's.... and it also seems everyone is telling there side not DH's side??? is there a reason? also when he is born i will be waiting till be are back in our room b4 ringing people and it will go parents, then siblings, and if people want to come up they have to call so theres not heaps of people at once...
also wont be telling anyone his name, weight, length till they get up there and no one is aloud to tell anyone else unless they live up north as they wont be coming down, i just want to be the one that tells people everything not hearing it from other people, and it makes people want to come up or wait till im home n come see me... only cause i dont think i will be at the hospital for long
84zsazsa
28-08-2008, 06:53 AM
I forgot about hubby.....
I did discus it with him and he was of the same wishes as me. He said it is an intimate time for us to bond as a family.
Danni
~*clairesmum*~
28-08-2008, 07:03 AM
i agree, i just want to bond with bub as there was everyone taking photos and wanting to hold claire after she was born n i only want me n DH to hold him for the first day,
if u get wat i mean, i dont want to sound like a b!tch but i want things done my way for a change and not wat everyone wants it to be like.... i also think its coming from being bossed around from SIL with her son me and DH didnt hold him much well at all if she was there just cause she would freak out about everything, if shes there and we want to go near him wash ur hands and put detol washing stuff on that kills germs hes one in a mths time....
kdemonj
28-08-2008, 04:53 PM
My mum and DP are my support people so obviously mum and dad will know (will most likley be induced for medical reasons) and I don't mind if DP's imediate family know.
I only want family to visit me in hospital because like most other mums on here I don't want my new bubba being passed around to to many new people to soon. I think it should be a time for peace and quite and mum and dad to get to know bub.
All my friends already know that I don't want to be visited in hospital, I have made that quite clear already, to save any problems at the time. DP has some friends that will want to visit and it will be up to him to tell them to wait till we get home.
Maybe I will change my mind once bub is here and want some visitors and if that is the case, then I will ring and ask certain people to visit - but only the ones I know will be sensitive and not overbearing etc.
I think if you let people know that you are not to keen on lots of visits in hospital now, you will save yourself some stress about it at the time.
*Chels*
28-08-2008, 07:04 PM
I forgot about hubby.....
I did discus it with him and he was of the same wishes as me. He said it is an intimate time for us to bond as a family.
Danni
Yeah,my DH is the same.One of the main reasons we decided on the babymoon was to keep MIL at bay.She gets a bit hysterical at times:rolleyes:
When my niece was born,she was at the hospital telling my son he was no longer the baby in the family,peeking into other mums curtains to look at babies,and when other visitors came in and said "Congrats" she was all like "Thankyou!!" like she was the one who just gave birth!She was soo overbearing,loud and annoying,I cant be farked with it.
I want to take some time to get used to becoming a family of 4,let Riley get his head around things before 100 ppl start invading our space!!
And its up to DH to let his family know whats happening.I know MIL will be spewing about it:laughing::raspberry:
FirstTimeMummy
28-08-2008, 08:02 PM
Kirra - I would honestly prefer to wait until we had news to ring and tell my Mum to come into the hospital. I am really worried that she will stress so much when she knows I am in labour that something will happen to her... but at the same time i don't want to break her heart by not telling her?! Tough one. I think she would come to the hospital when we go into labour.. but as much as i love her, i don't really want her in the room there stressing me out too! Is that mean??
*Chels*
28-08-2008, 08:08 PM
Kirra - I would honestly prefer to wait until we had news to ring and tell my Mum to come into the hospital. I am really worried that she will stress so much when she knows I am in labour that something will happen to her... but at the same time i don't want to break her heart by not telling her?! Tough one. I think she would come to the hospital when we go into labour.. but as much as i love her, i don't really want her in the room there stressing me out too! Is that mean??
Hun,I reckon you should talk to your Mum about it.Say something like "Look,I just want to check that you are cool with knowing when I go into labour?Or if its going to worry you,do you prefer I wait until bubs is here to let you know?Either way,we have decided it will just be us in the birthing suite"
That way she wont feel hurt or left out.
And no way is it mean to want to be alone while giving birth!You dont want to be worrying about everyone else on your big day!
HTH:hugs:
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.