View Full Version : Tummy Bug and 14 weeks pregnant - Advice please

wakydoo
25-08-2008, 07:55
Over the weekend I managed to fall ill to a horrible tummy bug which left me vomiting all night. I had to have an injection just to stop the vomiting. I'm pretty sure it was a virus as my son woke a few hours after me and started vomiting himself...it was horrible...

I just want to know, will this affect my unborn baby in any way? I've never suffered anything like this before, nevermind whilst being pregnant. So, could the bug have affected the baby...please help, any advice will be appreciated greatly...
TIA

ManekiNeko
25-08-2008, 08:01
I'm really not sure I had a really terrible gastro bug at 32 weeks with DD that I had to go to hospital but they didn't say anything about it harming the baby... DD is also fine and I got over it within a week. Maybe ask your doctor.

ButterflyMama
25-08-2008, 08:03
Just stay hydrated and rest as much as you can. It won't harm the baby.

Ffrenchknickers
25-08-2008, 08:20
Hey there....bubs will be fine and you will be toom in a few days....I have had gastro with all 4 of my pregnancies...it isn't nice but it had no effect on them :hugs:

La Que Sabe
25-08-2008, 08:38
i had gastro when i was pg with DD, it was horrible.
i rang my widwife cos i was worried and she said we'd both be fine but she came over and had a listen with her doppler and i felt much better!
i was actually worried i might sme hoe vomit her up!!!:confused:
but all was good. so you'll both be fine=]

plumptobump
25-08-2008, 09:21
The pregnancy books say it wont affect bubs, unless you get really dehydrated, so stock up on the gatorade, or powerade, and nibble on toast...you and bub should be fine! :)

wakydoo
25-08-2008, 09:32
Thanks guys, thats reassuring to hear that bubs is ok I guess...thanks to all those who replied...

kezzaskids
25-08-2008, 10:27
I had this horrid bug over the weekend too and DH was ready to run me off to the hospital!! I went into the maternity hospital for a check up on sat arvo and they did the normal checks including a heart trace thingy on bubs and all was well and I went home half hour or so later. I was told to rest and drink heaps of fluid!!

Buby
25-08-2008, 10:38
when I was preggy with my twins (and that was after I had BAD morning sickness in the first trimester! Not to mention I slept 18 hr days and threw up the rest of my waking hours!). My boys were totally fine, I was with 5 specialists at my hospital (in NZ)-they said lots of rest and plenty of water to flush it out. I had regular scans anyway and my bubs were totally fine in fact the specialist was telling me about how in concentration camps mothers would get no food and have bad morning sickness and those babies turned out the heaviest in weight (he said that babies will rob mum of nutrients first and thats why there healthy and we arent when we're sick). I got lots of interesting facts when I had my twins I never knew about hehehe Mind you, they called me a potato with matchstick legs (nice) so I guess they were trying to take there minds off me begging from 30 weeks onwards to have my babies because I was just soooooooo huge!