View Full Version : Meet Attempt

Seacretsquirrel
21-08-2008, 07:38
Hi there I would love to try and get a meet happening. It seems that we have had a mass exodus of Darwin BH'ers so this is me getting the ball rolling again.
expreeions of interest and place ideas please!!!!

Bree3
21-08-2008, 22:14
I know not many darwin people around anymore, what happened to everyone?

These days I find it alot easier to go down to the kids thing at the Planet. My girls are then free to play, run and jump on what ever they like :D. There is also one in Palmerston which i haven't been to yet.

Hopefully there will be some interest, i know there are still a few darwin people hiding amongst the threads :laughing:.

Seacretsquirrel
22-08-2008, 07:08
Yippeee Some interest!!!!
Hopefully others will be interested if not perhaps just you and me....

amandariley
25-08-2008, 09:31
Hi, Im in Tindal, but will if i'm in darwin would love to meet up with peoples.

Seacretsquirrel
25-08-2008, 13:04
Well thats a bit of interest so do you have preferred days or times I am a SAHM so am totally flexible morning or arvo mon through fri let me know if you have a pref and we can go from there.
Was kind of thinking about the indoor playcentre in Palmo (closer for me hee hee) but am happy to go elsewhere if it suits better.

ChubStar
26-08-2008, 09:05
Hi guys, I recently moved back to Darwin and don't know many people with kids around my eldest's age. I would love to take the boys for a run around at the Palmo centre. I'm only free on Monday and Friday as I work the other days. Early morning or arvo are best for us.

Jac

Seacretsquirrel
26-08-2008, 10:29
Hi chubstar welcome back to Darwin and I have a couple of GF who's oldests are three so when we get this organized I will send the invite to them too.:yelclap:

I will wait for a bit more interest and see how we go if not we can have a nice small friendly meet.:wave:

Nettwins
27-08-2008, 12:23
I'd love to be in on it! Im gonna need as much sanity as I can in the next 9 months. My 2 are pretty flex when it comes to going out so where ever whenever.

dee26
31-08-2008, 14:54
I will have to get on to the fiance to start a family- we always miss out on the fun side of army life cos we dont have kidlets!!! Its always the way- unless u work, have kids or a REALLY REALLY out there kind of person u miss out on heaps of other oppertunities to meet ppl. Maybe i cld adopt one for the day??? Joking. I am going for a knee recon + other recon surgery end of teh month in sydney so havent been out to meet new ppl- mind u, been here going on 12mths!!! Sad huh. Plus when ur mans work collegues are all 17-18 yr old single blokes, u dont get to meet other women in your shoes!!

Seacretsquirrel
01-09-2008, 08:53
I am sure you wouldd be welcome even without kids (I know a few people that would be happy to give their kids away some days:laughing:)

Nettwins
02-09-2008, 07:25
Hell yeah you can have one of mine I got 2 to share.
I know what your feeling it was like that for me when I first moved out of home with hubby (though we weren't married then) all his friends were singlies. But we moved shortly after that so our circle changed to marrity's. But there is fun side to army life without kids too we had bbqs on aleast once a month if not more often. Well we used to anyway. Bit harder now with hubby coming and going every 5 mins.

mummymo
03-09-2008, 13:09
Hi :)

I have a 19 month old son and another one on the way due in January. I've only lived in Darwin since May and would love to meet some more people.

amandariley
04-09-2008, 13:25
hey dee26, I'm a ressy down in Tindal, partner is reg. All the young non kiddy ones down here have a ball and all the ones with kids palm them off to do singly stuff!! did that make sense??? My little one hasn't napped properly and my head is popping off!! If you want to borrow mine, he's more than a handful, I need about 10 arms and legs to keep up with him and he's only 15 months! (his red hair glows when he's up to no good you we always know!!-seriously!!!!) Hopefully willl get to meet some off you at some stage! Is SOOOOOOOOOOO boring down here on mat leave, i took 2 years, nearly up, but now we've got another due in March, so i'll be taking a bit more (boss will never let me return after this!)

JJBS
06-09-2008, 19:02
Hi! Im in Tindal too! I've immersed myself in the kiddy side of things here though - very rarely get to palm mine off to anyone. Maybe we should have a Tindal meet as well! Although I am always up for a Darwin trip! :)

didie124
23-09-2008, 22:23
Hi there, hopefully you are still looking for people to add to a little group. i live at Palmo and regularly take DS 2yrs 8mths and DD 8 mths to the Playshak by myself.

I would love to meet some new people and kids for mine to interact with. :shakehands:

earthfairy
27-09-2008, 18:05
Hi:wave:

Im in Darwin too - DH is in the Navy.

I dont have any kids YET - #1 is on the way!!!!
Due in December....

I knew there had to be some more Territorians lurking in the hub somewhere!!!

Mumballoo
29-09-2008, 13:21
Hi we have just moved up to Darwin and would love to meet up with others in the area. I have two girls 3 and 10 months. Playcentre suits me.

Seacretsquirrel
09-10-2008, 12:54
Okay Girls now the school holidays are over lets get this thing happening!!!
I just Rang playshack and got some info for us

We don't need to make a booking just show up on the day.
The cost is $6-50 on a week day and $8-50 on weekends.
They do have a little cafe so coffee's etc are available and we are allowed to bring our own snacks for the kids (which is great as I'd heard some of these centres don't let you bring food:confused:)
So I guess the next question is what day suits and morning or afternoon.

I'll start - anyday is fine for me but would prefer afternoon as DD has a sleep in the morning! (oh and the lady said Tuesdays are often quieter)

Nettwins
10-10-2008, 16:43
I am up for anyday though if Tuesday is quieter that could be good. My 2 sleep at about 1030 so I guess afternoon would be good for us too.

ElleeV18
13-10-2008, 23:27
hi all

im a first time to-be mum. im currently 4 weeks and 3 days pregnant. i would love to meet up with you all, although this week i will be in perth for a funeral :( and the following sat (25th) is my 18th birthday happybirthday :yelclap:
cant wait to be a mummy!! and am looking forward to hearing your experiances on pregnancy, birth and after birth stories. hope to see you all soon

Ellee

nataliaandreecesmummy
14-10-2008, 17:42
Hi, There i also live in palmerston i would be more then insteaded in a catch up.. I have a 3yr old and a almost 4 month old.... I am a SAHM so i am normal free on most days... I do the palmo Library On tue and thrus morning thats really about it i just go with the flow....

Marissa

Seacretsquirrel
15-10-2008, 08:38
Okay I will give it another week that seems enough time for those of you who haven't had a chance to pop in a preference before we decide on a date and time!

didie124
26-10-2008, 21:05
Hi there again, sorry it has taken me so long to reply. Mon, Tues and Thurs are good for me and either morn or afternoon. If we are going to meet at the playshack it will have to be in the morning though as it closes at 1pm. Look forward to meeting you all soon.:)

Seacretsquirrel
26-10-2008, 21:50
Thanks for that I didn't think to check the opening time I asumed (silly me) it would be open all day.
How does 9.30 Thurs the 6th or 13th of November suit???

Nettwins
28-10-2008, 16:58
Either for me at this stage is fine.

nataliaandreecesmummy
28-10-2008, 17:41
Hey, Either one of those days is fine.. But i would ring and find out the time they close because i have been there druing the week before and have left a 3 in the arvo and gotten there at 12...

Mumballoo
29-10-2008, 20:44
Hello everyone
This sounds exciting i know my girls will love letting loose at playshak!! yay. Whichever Thurs is fine with me.

Seacretsquirrel
03-11-2008, 20:52
Okay I am making an executive decision for our 1st meet..........

I'll PM details to you all!

Look forward to seeing you all there. If it works we could make it a fortnightly event?:thumbsup:

Seacretsquirrel
04-11-2008, 18:46
Okay I PM'd everyone! I think I got you all pm me if you didn't get the message!:o.
Hope to see you all there!:wave:

Seacretsquirrel
12-11-2008, 11:33
Hey ladies I was soooo looking forward to tomorrow but I think I am going to have to pull out DD has been crook with a tummy bug since the weekend she has finally perked up today but now I'm feeling kinda gross so rather than share my germs I will take a raincheck (unless I feel great tomorrow that is) Hope you all have a great time!:wave:

earthfairy
12-11-2008, 12:40
:wave: Hi Ladies!

Would love to come tomorrow but im off home to Adelaide for a last visit before bubs comes!

Will definately make it next meet ~ i look forward to meeting you all!

Enjoy!:hugs:

didie124
13-11-2008, 12:57
hey there, did anyone else turn up today?? I was there but could not find anyone else that was with our meet attempt.:thumbsdown:

Seacretsquirrel
13-11-2008, 13:18
I was there as was nettwins I realised after I got there that I should have put a "will be carrying a red rose" type of thing on here so we could find each other!!!! But I guess we live and learn. It was sooo crazy there today so if we have another go we might try a monday or tues when its quieter!.
didie124 I am soo sorry we missed you :hugs: it got really hard to tell who was with who I only saw nettwins at the end and only cause I spotted the twin pram :yelclap:

Oh well chalk that one up to a learning experience and well have another go perhaps next fortnight?

Bree3
14-11-2008, 20:47
Hello :wave:

I would love to me meet up with you guys so if you happen to have your next meet on a Monday or Wednesday we'll be there.

Do you know that there is another play centre at the bowling place in Nightcliff. I know that there are a few of you in Palmerston but it's not as busy as the palyshack. We are usually there every monday.

Nettwins
14-11-2008, 21:15
One of my friends mentioned that to me yesterday arvo when I spoke to her and I was just looking it up to find the details, But I dont need to anymore :)
Bree, would you be able to give us an idea of what its like for those who haven't been there? Is there an area for toddlers? What is the admission? etc.
I guess we can see what everyone thinks, I wouldn't mind the hike to it but thats just me.

I should be up for another shot next fortnight asumming all is well with the twins. Though I tell you I never thought going to 2 playgroups 2 days in a row would wear me out so much, I was totally exhausted yesterday arvo.

Well ladies I hope we see you in a fortnight

Seacretsquirrel
15-11-2008, 13:41
I'm up for a change of location to I also don't mind the drive either (just not everyday lol) but as we are spaced out a bit perhaps mixing it up a bit will work so noone has to drive ages every time (unless you are coming up from Tindal not sure I could justify the petrol for that one:laughing:)

So other ideas and details would be great. (I personally would have loved to know about the socks at playshak I never thought to ask about that sort of stuff oh well you live and learn)

Bree3
15-11-2008, 20:52
It's called the Planet and i think it's basically the same as the playsahck just abit smaller. I'm not 100% sure because i've never been to the playshack. There is a area for babies and toddlers but theres not usually many big kids running around during the day. You can get food, drinks, coffee ect and i'm pretty sure you can bring your own food for the kids, i do. Also the little ones need to have socks.

Thats basically it, i'm happy to go to the playshack just thought i'd suggest the planet.

nataliaandreecesmummy
17-11-2008, 08:21
Hi I would be up for going to planet or the Playshack Which ever one is fine... Sorry i missed the last meet up my daughter was in the hospital.... Would of loved to of made it... Hopeful We will make the next meet... Monday or Wednesday are good for us....

Nettwins
19-11-2008, 17:48
Hi Everyone :wave:
So has a date been set for the next meet yet? I was thinking that we may need to have some kind of system to our meets to make it regular something like the 1st monday at say planet and the 3rd tues/wed at playshack of the month and I like the idea of alternating spots. I thought that the alternate days too would give more people a chance to get to at least one place if not both. Maybe we could think about every once in a while going to the water park (though I dont know what it is like I have heard it is good).
Well its just some suggestions anyway just thought I'd put it out there to see what you all think. :)

Nettwins
12-12-2008, 11:23
Perhaps we can look at starting this up in the new year as holidays are starting now and its a time for family.
Maybe February is a good place to start.

Seacretsquirrel
12-12-2008, 20:38
Sounds like a good plan Nettwins I am off on thurs to Brisbane till after bubs is born so I'll be back with an extra in March sometime (DH has a course in perth in early march so I'm staying with my mum for a bit longer than expected but I think mum will love the extra time with DD and the new bub)
Hope you all have a great xmas and holiday season and look forward to seeing you all in the new year.:xmas:

daisy4300
13-12-2008, 09:37
Just thought i'd say hi. I'm another Darwin mummy. Haven't been in here for ages. I have 5 kiddies and number 6 is on the way, due Aug. Oldest is 7 yr old, youngest is nearly 10 mths old. :flowerz: I'm out at Bees Creek.

ElleeV18
26-01-2009, 12:12
hey girlies sorry i havnt been on for such a long time. i was really looking forward to meeting up with you all. unfortunatly i lost the baby and had to have a d&c, but all is well and we have decided that we are going to try for a baby now. take care

earthfairy
14-02-2009, 10:16
been quiet in here for a while!

Is anyone still interested in a meet attempt?:detective:

ElleeV18 im so sorry for your loss honey:hugs:

ChubStar
14-02-2009, 15:05
I wouldn't mind meeting some other mums. I'm in the Palmo area with a 4 yr old and almost 2 yr old, but happy to go into town in necessary. I work Tues-Thurs so can only meet up on weekends or monday and friday.

nataliaandreecesmummy
15-02-2009, 15:16

I would still like to try and meet up.. I am not at palmo anymore but will still try and get to the meets out there.. My 3 year old has kindy on mon & wed mornings but is the meets are still on these days i will still as i also have a 8 month old...

Hope to meet you all soon...

Cheers:wave:

Soda2005
18-02-2009, 22:19
I'm living in Bees Creek, I've tried a few of the community freebies for kids but find it hard to get involved properly with other mums... everyone always seems to know someone else... anyway, I'd love to join in with a playshak group or whatever might be going, I'm a SAHM so free practically every day!
Got a very chatty 3 y/o daughter (who is in need of some little pals to run around with) and 5 m/o son...
:smiliedance: lets do it!!!

didie124
19-02-2009, 21:49
Hi there, I am agreeing completely with you!!! I am a SAHM of a very chatty 3yo Boy and a 13mo girl. I would love to meet up and we are free Mon, Tues & Thurs. Even if noone else wants to come i am happy to meet with just us:shakehands:

earthfairy
19-02-2009, 22:27
I live in Larrakeyah but i dont mind coming out to Palmerston - is that where this Playshak is?

How about Monday the 2nd of March?

Does this suit?

Do any of you know what times & how much this play shak is?

My Poppy is only 7 weeks old so she wont be playing much lol but i would love to get out of the house & meet some other Darwin mums:goodvibes:

didie124
20-02-2009, 22:10
Sounds great! Monday 2nd it is.

The playshak is in the Hub complex, you can access it from upstairs near the entrance to the hub or from in the underground carpark. It is open Mon-Fri 9-1 and i think 9-5 on weekends. Last time i visited it was $6.50 per child over 1 during the week and $8.50 on weekends. Adults are free. They have coffee, tea and cold drinks and even do toasted s/w's and other nibbles.

As there are a fair few people who go there most days, I can let one of the girls who are working that we are from bub hub so we can find each other.

Hope everyone can make it. C u all soon:thumbsup:

Nettwins
23-02-2009, 21:48
Hey Girls
I haven't been on here in a while I have had hubby home for 2 weeks at Christmas then I have family come up and been in Sydney for a few weeks and today I'm finally back on my own again and trying to get settled back into some form of normalcy.
I am up for Monday, what time would be good?
Also I am happy to be a rallying point - having the twins I definately stick out with my huge pram hehe.

earthfairy
26-02-2009, 18:31
Who's still up to meet on Monday?:detective:

Nettwins
26-02-2009, 22:52
:yes: im in

earthfairy
27-02-2009, 08:48
ok nettwins, even if its just us, i dont mind! lol

How does 9.30 sound? DO yu live in palmerston nettwins?

Where abouts is this playshak anyhoo? Im in Larrakeyah so have no idea! lol:laughing:

Nettwins
27-02-2009, 18:28
Yep im in palmerston. 9.30 sounds great. Its in the Hub complex. The door is in the underground carpark or you can get in from above though its a narrow door to get through.

earthfairy
01-03-2009, 10:54
Cool, 9.30 at the playshak - i'll look out for you nettwins - what's ur real name?

I cant come up to you & say "er....nettwins?" :laughing:

Looking forward to seeing you!

Kirsty x:hugs:

PS: For anyone else interested, just come along, 9:30am Monday 2nd March at the Play Shak at Palmerston x

Nettwins
01-03-2009, 20:49
I'm Annette, yes I can imagine that would be quite strange to say to some stranger and embarassing if it wasn't me.
See you tomorrow :)

Seacretsquirrel
15-03-2009, 22:29
Hey ladies I am back in Darwin and look forward to meeting up with you guys next time you venture over to playshak.
I have the new addition so I am sure DD will love an outing with other kids rather than being stuck at home with me and DS (esp as DH and I have been cleaning since we got home due to the house being locked up for the best part of 3 months):wave:

Letifico44
07-04-2009, 13:28
Hi, I've just moved to the NT from Qld. Been here 3 weeks now. Bub #1 is due July 19th. I'm keen to meet some new people soon.

I live in Palmerston.

Seacretsquirrel
07-04-2009, 13:39
Hello and welcome to Darwin Letifico44.

Is anyone keen for a meet next Wed @ playshak????

DH is away again so am looking to get out of the house esp with DD's extra special (rough) love of our new arrival.
I think your DH is on my Dh's boat this trip Earthfairy.

Letifico44
09-04-2009, 12:43
I'd be keen to meet up with you. I just need to know the address to get to the playshak... Would that be this coming Wednesday?

Kimmi562
10-04-2009, 18:06
Hey im new to all this

hoping to meet new people.

dee26
11-04-2009, 23:10
Been awhile since iv been here! I wld love to meet sm new ppl- iv been in darwin for 18mths and met only a few ppl- but were ppl i met thru fiances training at kapooka!! Hmmm, i dont get out much for reasons : im on workcover and awaiting a knee recon and a few other knee injuries. And i guess a bit isolated from the world when u dont get to work!! ANyway, hopefully i can meet sm others in a similar position of defence families and understand how being away from family is!! WOE IS ME!! hahaha. Plus i dont have kids so its even harder to meet ppl!! :ecomcity::ecomcity::wave::smiliedance::geek:

Nettwins
12-04-2009, 20:02
Im up for another meet if we are organising :)

Seacretsquirrel
13-04-2009, 09:08
Was thinking this week but not sure if it is till school hol in which case next week might be better.
ETA -Lets make it next wed. (april 22)

emma2938
23-05-2009, 19:45
hi guys,

I am with defence, and just found out we maybe posting up to darwin in about 8 weeks, so just thought id try and meet a few of you on here before i come up!!!!

My little girl, Liesel, is 6 months old.

So....... Hi! :laughing::yelclap:

Emma.

Seacretsquirrel
23-05-2009, 20:13
Hey Emma, My DH is in the Navy and I have a 2 yr old DD and a 12 week old DS I am still attempting to organise another meet IRL so we might actually manage one sometime soon I think a fair few of the darwin mums on here are ADF or wife/partner of ADF and if they are anything like me I kinda go into hibernation with DH when he is home and often visit interstate when he is away but hopefully we'll get their!
Welcome to darwin and hope you like it when you get here! Feel free to PM me if you need anything when you first get up here I am happy to help where I can.

emma2938
23-05-2009, 20:50
thanks so much. My DH is in the army, we ahve lived in Darwin about 3 years ago, si I know it, but I didnt have a baby then, and i was working, so im thnking this time around it will be slightly different :laughing:

Hope to meet IRL when i get up there!

Aries
23-05-2009, 21:08
Hi all Darwin mums!

I'm mum to 2 month old Benjamin & live in the city. We haven't been out & about too much so I'd be interested in a meet up at some stage to meet some more people. Even though I've lived here practically forever, I don't know much about what there is to do with babies exept for the library story time & the fun in the park program. I know there are a few playgroups available but I haven't really looked into these as yet.

Seacretsquirrel
01-06-2009, 15:00
Emma it is really different with kids we were here almost 5 years ago for 18 months and it was great fun but with kids you definately do different things and look at things differently too!
Welcome Aries We really do need to organise a meet sometime soon.
Does anyone have any ideas and days times that would suit - I am a SAHM so I am flexible!

Raechele
22-07-2009, 10:02

I have justmoved to Darwin (DH was transfered with a promotion) and I have a 16 month old and am currently 23 weeks pregnant with my 2nd. I would LOVE to meet some people arund the area. I have moved to Farrar and am a SAHM so if anyone is interested please feel free to email banfieldrj@bigpond.com or we can just chat via thread u pto you. Hoe to be meeting some new friends soon!!

Seacretsquirrel
22-07-2009, 12:09
I am heading to the Playshak next Wed PM me for details if you are interested!:yes:

Nettwins
26-07-2009, 11:40
Hey all! I haven't been on here for a while, thought I would pop in and see what we are all up to. We've been getting back into routines with hubby coming home from overseas last month and now he's heading back to work I thought I should try and find an excuse to get out of the house. I'm up for a meet, anyday really suits me I'm a SAHM.

Ardentwhispers
27-07-2009, 21:54
Hi everyone. I'm moving to Darwin in a few weeks (OH is in the army) so I thought I'd say hello! I don't know anyone there really, so it's all new! My kiddos not so little, he's 8 now..but hopefully there will be some more on the way soon:fingerscrossed:

paulandsharron
02-09-2009, 14:22

We've just moved to Palmerston from the UK (kids=13,10 & 4yo twins) and I know my OH is keen to meet other moms, adults, anyone!

Paul & Sharron

hellonewman
04-09-2009, 14:27
Would love to catch up and get to know some of the other Darwin Mums. Just recently moved from Adelaide and certainly need some adult conversation! My two year old boy is pretty flexible too and I can do any day but Friday.

emma2938
04-09-2009, 18:36
hi girls,
im moving up there in abt 5 months. I have a 9month old DD and one in the oven :laughing:

Look fwd to meeting you all then!
Emma.

Aries
06-09-2009, 15:14

Just wondering if any more meetings have been scheduled. We've just done the big move from a city apartment to a house in Anula. :) DS is almost 6 months & I need to start socialising him ( & me too!!! :))

Any recs for any playgroups as well?

kathrynnorth
24-09-2009, 14:40
Hi all, I am new to Darwin, live in Nightcliff and have a 5 month old son. Wanting to know if any mums keen on meeting up, heard that there is a Playshak in Palmerston which has re-opened recently. If anyone keen let me know. Cheers Kat

shantelleB
06-10-2009, 13:07
Hi :)

I have a 19 month old son and another one on the way due in January. I've only lived in Darwin since May and would love to meet some more people.

hi mummymo- im due in january aswell when are you due??? i also have an 18 month old son.

shantelleB
06-10-2009, 13:12
would love to meet up. im free most days. my son sleeps over lunch time so either morning or arvos suit me.
im new to the area so meeting others is definately what i need. i live in lyons but happy to meet anywhere.
its a huge :thumbsup: from me

kathrynnorth
08-10-2009, 11:28
Hey Shantelle, awesome, what days suit you best? We could meet up next Thursday or Friday (15-16th) if that suits in the morning? Let me know what you think

Mrs Mac
10-10-2009, 21:58
Hey fellow darwin-ites!!

How goes it? :wave:

shantelleB
11-10-2009, 07:13
hello kathrynnorth: i can meet either thursday or friday and in the morning is perfect for me. i guess just pm me the details, as im still working out how to use all this fancy web site stuff. im sure ill fiqure it out.
shantelle

kathrynnorth
15-10-2009, 11:56
Hey Kizallie,

How are you?

Seacretsquirrel
17-10-2009, 20:58
ooh ooh ooh :wave::wave: pick me pick me can I come too!
I have a nearly 3 (in dec) year old girl and a 7 month old boy DH is in the Navy so away a lot so I have lots of time on my hands would love to meet up with you all mornings are a bit better for me but I am flexible :yelclap:

kathrynnorth
18-10-2009, 09:52
Hey SS,

Yeah for sure, the more the merrier! Shantelle and I were thinking next Thursday or Friday morning. What day suits you better?

Kat :)

Aries
18-10-2009, 22:34
I'm also up for a meet. DS (7 months on Wednesday!) needs some socialising (and me too!) We've just recently started going to the Babes & Books sessions at the library on Wednesdays which is good but I'm keen to meet some other mums and bubs as well.

Looks like a few of us have them around the same age which is great.

Kathrynnorth - I'll pm you my details!

kathrynnorth
19-10-2009, 10:27
Morning girls,

Looks like we now have a few of us who are wanting to meet up, YEA!!. So what about if we meet on Friday 23rd at 10.30am? (let me know if it suits all?) at the Playshack in Palmerston ((Hub Complex, Maluka Street, Palmerston). Now I havent been there before myself but what if we were to meet at the front (I have a red three wheeler pram and might attach a ribbon or something to it so we can have something to recognise for meeting).

I believe that there may be a few dollars that may be required for entry? But will ring them and check up on it and get back to you all.

Kat

shantelleB
19-10-2009, 14:56
hey, that suits me friday at 10:30 hopefully i wont get lost. meeting out the front is a good idea. i will have a toddler with me and im pregnant so hopefully ill be recognisable.
hope to see you all then.
shantelle

Seacretsquirrel
19-10-2009, 21:02
Oops I got carried away with the excitement of a meet PM is the way to go!!!! (deleted all the bits!)

And DONT FORGET SOCKS as they are a must to play and if you forget you have to borrow some (they are clean but still ewwww) They have a little snack set up going and there are signs up saying no outside food but snacks for the kids seem to be fine just not maccas etc I think.

I'll pop a bright green ribbon on the blue quicksmart stroller so you can find me.
See you on Friday!

RaryGirl
19-10-2009, 21:12
Ladies ... please remember this is a public forum, is googleable and can be read by people other than our members .... so I would really urge you to please delete the details of meet ups and give out the exact details via PM ... otherwise you don't know who might show up. :no:

Julzi
21-10-2009, 13:20
Hello Ladies,

I hope you don't mind me gatecrashing your thread but I'm new to Darwin too. We moved here from the UK only 8 days ago and I am desperate to get out and meet some new friends. I have a 4 year old girl and 2 year old twin boys who are driving me nuts....we're in an apartment at the mo, move into our house in Lyons next week (hooray!!).

Would love to come to the meet on Friday however hubby hasn't managed to find his own cheap battlebus for travelling to work so is using my car, but will definately be up for the next meet.

Julie

Aries
21-10-2009, 15:33
Hi Julie,
Welcome to Darwin!
Gee you'll find the weather slightly warmer than the UK :laughing:. Look forward to meeting you at one of the meets!

L

Ardentwhispers
21-10-2009, 21:13
Hi Julie, I live in Lyons as well :) Been here about a month now.

shantelleB
22-10-2009, 07:59
hello julie, welcome. i live in lyons also.
its great here..looking forward to meeting up soon

Julzi
22-10-2009, 08:31
Fab news some of you girls live in Lyons....can't wait to meet up with you all :wave:. Did you know that there was a Lyons Estate Playgroup starting soon at the neighbourhood centre on a Monday and Wednesday? Can anyone tell me where the neighbourhood centre is....I don't have a clue where anything is :dizzy:?

As for the weather :sunshine:, I am loving it at the moment, I hated the climate in the UK. Can't wait to see these storms that everyone keeps telling me about.

Aries
22-10-2009, 08:58
I'm gathering our meet is still happening tomorrow???

I'll be wearing my black baby bjorn with Ben inside!

shantelleB
22-10-2009, 09:11
hello, ill be there was the time 10am or 9am now, also meeting inside or outside as there has been a few different ideas????

julie- thats great news about a playgroup in lyons estate not sure where the neighbourhood centre is but ill investigate, i have 19 month old son so hopefully they can blow some steam off together lol.

looking forwrd to seeing everyone tomorrow.

Seacretsquirrel
22-10-2009, 19:51
I'll be there around 9am (it works better for me - more time to wear DD out:D) but I look forward to seeing every one there whenever

Seacretsquirrel
23-10-2009, 12:41
Hey lovely Darwinites it was great to catch up with Aries shame everyone else didn't make it perhaps next time.

Will have to remember the PM info thing so we don't get gatecrashed by strangers :yes:

Take care everyone.

Oh just thought had anyone got their cyclone kit organised yet I was looking at my list last night and have a few things to get....

shantelleB
23-10-2009, 23:09
hello ladies. sorry i didnt make it today my lil boy was sick ova night with a high temp etc, then he seemed fine in th am so packed up got ready jumped in the car to find a completely dead battery so had to wait for my BIL to come ova jump start the car, then dantaes temp was up again .....was such anightmare of a day, really bummed i missed it , hope there will be another meet up soon, in a week or 2 so sorry i couldnt make it hope u had a good time

Julzi
24-10-2009, 11:37
Aries and Secretsquirrel - I'm definately up for the next meet up. What did you think of the Playshack? I'm thinking about taking the kids there tomorrow, is it safe enough to let them run around on their own (they are aged 4 and 2) or would I have to go round with them?

Seacretsquirrel
24-10-2009, 22:24
Hey Shantelle I am soo sorry you rwee man was unwell hope he is feeling better now.

Julzi I really like playshak DD (nearly 3) runs around on her own it is all padded so pretty safe esp if you get there early when there are fewer kids (sometimes the big kids get a bit rough - mostly just because they are bigger and faster etc) there is also a small fenced off area next where the tables are so you can see your kids it is for under 3s (but it doesn't seem to be enforced but it is great for the littler kids).
Look forward to the next meet ladies!:wave:

Julzi
25-10-2009, 12:54
Went to Playshack this morning, it was fab, kids loved it and I even managed to drink a coffee in peace and quiet.

Hey what about that termor last night, OMG never felt anything like it....remember I've come from the UK and it's unheard of there, it was so scary especially as hubby was away.

Aries
25-10-2009, 17:13
Julzi -
Yep, we get quite a few tremors up here, from Earthquakes that originate in the Banda sea. Usually they're only small and most of the time I can't even feel them.

This has been the second big one I've experienced. I woke up from a deep sleep with all the doors shaking. I was so worried I even woke up DS in case we had to get out!!!. The last big one I experienced I was living in an apartment block in the city. Everyone in our street basically evacuated anto the street outside!

Glad you enjoyed the playshack. I met seacretsquirrel there :wave: hello! DS was a bit too young playing on the equipment, but he was happy enough playing on the floor & stealing other people's toys!!!!:wave:

Ardentwhispers
26-10-2009, 12:55
I slept right through it :laughing:

Didn't hear anything about it until I got the paper this morning! Although nothing seems to be disturbed in my house, so I'm guessing it wasn't too big? Or my house is just fairly secure? lol

nessym
06-11-2009, 20:33
Hi there. I'm a forum newbie and have been having a look at the Darwin posts recently as it looks like we will be moving from Syd (Wollongong) to Darwin mid Jan for hubby work.
My little man has recently turned 2 and I'm due for #2 in 2 weeks.
Hopefully I will get to meet some of you if we do move, which is about 99% likely.
I'm looking forward to the experience of living in NT but will miss family and am worried about the heat for the little ones.

Julzi
11-11-2009, 20:59
Hello Ladies, just wondering if there's going to be another meet up before x-mas??....been to the playshack loved it and would love to go again and meet all you girls.

Aries
28-11-2009, 23:30
LYONS PLAYGROUP?

I think some of you were talking about this in previous posts. Have you been there? Is it only for people living in Lyons? What was it like?

I went to a playgroup at Moil Pre-school after talking to the lady the day before, and no one was there!!!! Not quite sure what happened but it put me off a bit!

I was going to babes & books at the library but thats now finished & my little man needs some friends! Ive found that most mums got together at parenting classes & I missed out so Im a bit of a nigel at the moment!!!

Julzi
30-11-2009, 07:06
Aries - yes I go to the Lyons Playgroup every Monday, it runs from 9-11am and is held in the Sales Centre building in the middle of the estate. Anyone is welcome to come along to the playgroup, I know a few ladies who don't live in Lyons and come along.

The lady who runs it Amanda has 2 little girls and because she knows her kids have playing needs she will be keeping the Playgroup open over the holidays!!!

Will hopefully see you there!!!

Aries
30-11-2009, 16:28
Julzi - Good to hear you go to that playgroup. I callled Amanda yesterday & left a message asking her to call me back but so far I havent heard anything. Whats the group like size wise & age wise?

Well, when we got up this morning we realised that some little (or big) bgger/s had pinched about 10 of our garden solar lights from the front. I guess it was too tempting for someone, especially since we dont have a front fence. We are in the process of organising one but just hadnt gotten around to it since we only got the house in September.