View Full Version : cheap and just as good
mum2littleman
30-04-2006, 23:27
hey,
didnt know if there was already a thread about this but i couldnt find one so here it is i wanted to know what products other mum's are using on baby or for baby that are cheaper than other but just as good as the more costly brands:
BEEBEE nappies: are really cheap but i have found they are just as good as a huggie..
{id love to hear about wipes any other cheaper good ones huggies things are so $$)
Cheeky Little Monkey
30-04-2006, 23:47
Aldi Mamia Wipes.....I like 'em and think they are much better than huggies.
Why?
a) they are lovely and soft and super moist (unlike the huggies wipes I have used)
b) they don't stick together &
c) they are cheap! $2.99 for 80
They remind me of the curash ones actually.
Tam-I-Am
30-04-2006, 23:51
The coles brand wipes are 3 packets of 80 wipes, so 240 wipes, for $8.70, and they're pretty much identical to the curash wipes too.
I love those nappies...and also the Woolies Homebrand ones (white pack with black and red writting, NOT the Select ones)
I think the Little Wishes brand wipes are pretty good...a tiny bit smaller and thinner than Huggies, but they seem clean alot better. They aren't as dry as the huggies often seem to be either :thumbsup: They are pretty cheap too, you can get a huge box of them at Big W for about $20.
Other things....
Homebrand baby powder (woolies)
Homebrand baby shampoo, baby bath, etc (woolies)
$2 shop nappy sacks
$2 shop teething toys, obvoiusly check them very carefull before buying them.
Often places like the warehouse have cheap singlets, bodysuits, etc...as long as you check the quality first you can get some great bargains.
I'm going to bed...I'll probably come back tomorrow with other things...
hayleylea
01-05-2006, 07:43
Luckily for me i can use any nappy and it doesnt affect my DS at all. I use the BIG W brand Dympals nappies during the day they are a bargain if anyone is interested!! They are $22 for 96 nappies!! Cheap and they do the job!! I have never had any leaking from them. Everyone is different though! I use huggies during the night - i have never tried the dympals during the night but i dont know how good they will go.
I also use Aldi wipes and think they are great.....little wishes brands are too bad either!
nkenward
01-05-2006, 08:06
Great thread!!!
I would also like to hear about anyone using cheaper nappies. Huggies are good - but not for the price. Baby Love are good - but not much difference in price. Snugglers I find leak and need to change regularly.
Would like to hear about other brands ie: Supermarket brands and whether they are the same as commerical brands.
Thanks for the recommendation Hayley on the Dymples brand. I know you get huggies & babylove samples in the Bounty Bags - but I really think they need to include some of the cheaper/homebrand ones as well for comparison.
hayleylea
01-05-2006, 08:45
Great thread!!!
I would also like to hear about anyone using cheaper nappies. Huggies are good - but not for the price. Baby Love are good - but not much difference in price. Snugglers I find leak and need to change regularly.
Would like to hear about other brands ie: Supermarket brands and whether they are the same as commerical brands.
Thanks for the recommendation Hayley on the Dymples brand. I know you get huggies & babylove samples in the Bounty Bags - but I really think they need to include some of the cheaper/homebrand ones as well for comparison.
No prob! Like i said they probably arent Huggies Quality, and they have sticky tabs rather then grip tabs but during the day they are great and CHEAP! i hardley ever buy nappies! I think i use around 4-5 a day and then he has a huggies on for the night. Like i said each is to their own.....some people find different things dont work but if you can get your hands on some to try id say go for it!
mum2four
01-05-2006, 09:11
I use the Woolworths select for my DS but the new baby will use huggies for awhile, they are just great for newborns (even DH agrees:p )
I make my own nappy wipes and it works out heaps cheaper than the huggies ones which were the only ones I liked because of the thickness.
I use the Aldi Mammia nappies & wipes - they are the thick soft material not the plastic stuff which I can't stand I have used them on DS #2 for the past 12 months and have never had one leak and I use them for both day and overnight.
I use the Woolies wipes- Little wishes- i find them great. $20 for 480, but hearing the comments on the aldi ones i might give them a whirl too.
I know this is off the topic, but I am having so much trouble finding the Little Wishes in the bulk boxes - I've been to all the local Woolies & Big W, & can only get the small refils - has anyone else had this problem? I'm sick of having to buy the more expensive ones that dont work as well.
zacsmumma
01-05-2006, 19:51
* I was using Huggies nappies for my son but me & my partner have found that the grip tags seem to rip off easy. Also i have typical mother in-law that has a say about everything & her latest is about the environmental impact of disposabales as she is old fashoned. I tried Baby Love brand nappies when Zac was a new born, & they didn't seem 2 soak up much but, the now have a new brand out called Baby Love Eco bots which decompose a little quicker. They r only about 50cent cheaper than the huggies, but seem 2 work alot better also. they don't leave that jelly stuff on his bottom.
* Also i have changed wipes i was using as he has dermintitis i have 2 b carefull of the products i use & i was using alot of Huggies wipes at 1 time. Now i am using Johnsons extra care wipes with moisteriser, now they are a little dearer $4.99 for a pack of 64, but i use alot less & it does not irratate him at all.
For nappies, I mainly use Aldi Mamia (the only ones that haven't leaked regularly, Huggies were terrible). I also sometimes use flat cloth nappies when I have time.
Wipes - I use Aldi Mamia for #2s, and for everything else it's a face washer and a bottle of chamomile tea. Too easy!!
SuperWoman
01-05-2006, 22:39
For my DS I have found that Huggies and Baby Love nappies are the best for him. I tried Snugglers once and he leaked through constantly. I have heard that Bebbes are good so I might try them too.:thumbsup:
mum2littleman
01-05-2006, 23:07
wow im glade this thread is going so well i was hoping sumone would give me sum good new brands to try for little man and now i have a few i cant wait to try on him thanks... keep them coming!
o and i found sungglers to by the worst brand ever! i think they are even worse than the home brand nappies..
has anyone found any other nice baby bath i use the blue johnsons one just love the smell but for $5 for one thing its kinda a rip when u think about it...
and i dont no if its just me or what but i use to love the smell of the huggies wipes but latly they make me want to :barf: hmmm maybe its just me!
angel_one
04-05-2006, 10:45
well im usually a very budget wise person, buying the home bran version of almost everything i can (that i know is ok) but the one thing my lover dds bottom decided for me is that i cannot buy cheap nappies!, we started out with a big pack of baby love newborn nappies, and only used them for like 2 days before she had a very red bum, and since then (she is now almost 3) we have tried so many different brands with no luck, nappy rash with each type, except of course cloth nappies, but im not a big one on washing them (nor does dh like changing them) so we have had to stick with huggies, especially at night! and we are now potty training her and i love huggies pull ups, as we do a lot of travlling, they are perfect for the car trips and shopping trips - just not so good for nite times yet, so my almost 3 year old wears her 4 month old brothers nappies to bed!! lol not bad hey!
i do want to know if there are any other brands of pullup like nappies ? havent had much luck finding any yet.
i also love huggies wet ones, and i saw the stiking to getherness of them mentions before, well finally (after 3 years of dh complaing about then sticking) huggies have brought out the popups packs, they are excelent, so much easier to use, as we were about to buy a different brand that did that, we will noy be sticking to huggies - its really sad, its like these kids are trying to kill my wonderfull cheap shopping skills!
just thought i'd throw in that crazy prices ( if you have one near you )
have 3 packets of 80pk wipes for $3.99 at the moment, thats equivalent to $1.33 per pack :thumbsup:
angel_one
04-05-2006, 10:51
oh i also use mainly the curash baby soap, as its a bigger bottle than most of the johnsons ones, and its under $5, and as both the kids and my self use it its great, i also found a 1lt bottle of johnsons wash (the sleep time one i think) for $10 at big w, last weekend!, conciderng the 500ml one is like $8 i thought it was a great deal!, and its pump action top too! like the curash one.
This is an excellent thread. Especially if you are a new mother and all the brands out there is just mind boggling. Baby due in Sep. Bought a pack of Huggies for newborns. Do any of the others come in sample sizes?
mum2littleman
04-05-2006, 21:54
This is an excellent thread. Especially if you are a new mother and all the brands out there is just mind boggling. Baby due in Sep. Bought a pack of Huggies for newborns. Do any of the others come in sample sizes?
send away to all the makers of the nappies and most of them send you out nappies to try for free and u can then decide what u like best
:D love my free stuff!
07-05-2006, 09:12
I hate Snugglers
I love Bi-Lo nappies and think they are just as good as Huggies. They are exactly the same as the Target night and days which are dearer to buy than the Huggies too!
For a day-time nappy I think you can't go past the k-mart nappies. Stock up on them when they have 15% off and you can't beat them!
I use Coles wipes and have had no problems.
I also dis-like the Avent bottles and will not be using them for my next bub. I think the narrow bottles are best and I was told that the regular (cheap) teats that are available loose from the chemist are the best for bub.
angel_one
08-05-2006, 09:26
I also dis-like the Avent bottles and will not be using them for my next bub. I think the narrow bottles are best and I was told that the regular (cheap) teats that are available loose from the chemist are the best for bub.
twins, what do you dislike about the avent bottles? i use them and the pur self sterlizing bottles (casue we do alot of travlling - easier than dragging the steralizer everywhere) i love the avent bottles especially the teats, and with the pur bottles i had to swap the teats for the avent ones cause the pur ones just collapsed whlie ds was sucking. I will say that the self sterilizing bottles arent the greatest with a non pur teat, as they are designed to have the teat stored upside down in the bottle while not in use, but the avent teats dont quite agree with this method - hell i even tried cutting that little bit of plastic that is in the way off, but tht was a big mistake had water everywhere!!! lol. so now i just live with taking a seperate container with the teats in when im out and about!
kadownie
08-05-2006, 09:48
Currently we use Aldi nappies- they are great- just as good as Huggies. They also have a pull up as well- but haven't used it- but will when the bubs get a bit bigger. When the twins were newborn we used Huggies only, they were good but so expensive. Tried Snugglers but hated them. Then started using the Bilo brand during the day- they were pretty good- had no complaints at all. Still used huggies at night though. We also use cloth on and off- depending on things. I feel a bit guilty at the moment using cloth as it increases our water consumption and we're in a bit of a water shortage.
But we are Aldi all the way. I think I may try their wipes as well from the comments written here!
twins+another
09-05-2006, 13:03
I find that the Avent bottles don't clean as easy as the narrower bottles especially around the underside of the neck. They also leak from time to time and my kids don't seem to be able to hold them as comfortably as the narrow ones.
Karitane nurses told me that the Avent teats are not long enough for their width, to sit at the correct part of a newborns mouth. This can affect the way that they suck. Karitane reccomend NOT using Avent.
We use coles brand or woolies home brand (not select) nappies and the woolies home brand wipes, I think they're fine and we never have a problem with leakage.
~Emmylou~
09-05-2006, 14:00
Another convert to the Aldi nappies and wipes here :yes: .
We don't like Snugglers, they are the only nappy that has ever leaked on me and they are one of the most expensive :banghead:
We used Woolworths Select brand nappies just before we discovered Aldi - they are excellent but almost as expensive as Huggies.
Cosifits (only available at chemists) are good value - $21 for 70 odd medium sized nappies. The nappy is good but I don't like the plastic sticky tabs - prefer cloth grip tabs.
mum2littleman
12-05-2006, 21:55
hey , this is not a cheap one but i ran out of the huggies wipes today and instead of getting another re fill i just went and got the new pop up ones haha and i think they are really good they dont stick together like the other ones do:smiliedance:
:smiliedance: so so much better you can take them out wit one hand instead of having to pull them apart lol
______
The Mummy-Louise 20 {Lou}
The Baby-Lucas 5 months{Lukey}
hey , this is not a cheap one but i ran out of the huggies wipes today and instead of getting another re fill i just went and got the new pop up ones haha and i think they are really good they dont stick together like the other ones do:smiliedance:
:smiliedance: so so much better you can take them out wit one hand instead of having to pull them apart lol
I did the same this week...I was almost out of wipes so I got one of the pop-up containers. I opened them today and the wipes seem thinner than the old ones :( The first few I used ripped when I pulled them out :( Does anyone else think they seem thinner? Or is it just my imagination?
claireandbailey
12-05-2006, 22:46
I bought the pop-up tub just to get the tub. I use wolloworths/bigw little wishes wipes and i found they are easier to get out of the tub then the huggies ones are plus i think the little wishes work better, they are a little bit thinner but i find u dont use as many as u do with huggies.
I used the Little Wishes ones when DS was still in nappies, but I have been having trouble getting them since DD was born :(
Good to know they work well in the pop-up tubs tho :thumbsup: I always thought they were better than Huggies, I find that all the Huggies wipes are really dry, except for the last 5 at the bottom of the packet, I've never had that problem with the Little Wishes ones.
I buy the Huggies nappies (box) when they are on special ($29.95 is the cheapest I have found!) and use Aldi nappies as a second option and found them to be just as good.
Also Little Wishes baby wipes (I got them for about $15 for a box of 6 packets (80 wipes in each packet) from Big W when on special) and I like them better than the Huggies wipes because they are softer although I use the Huggies ones in my nappy bag because of the smaller handy container.
My little bub also loves the Happy Baby dummies and they seem to be the cheapest dummies around! She didn't take too well to the costlier Avent Orthodontic silicone one!
tyhleigha & izaiah's mum
12-05-2006, 23:19
for wipes we use woolworths little wishes brand theres 6*80 there round about $19.99 there just the same as huggies i have found.
hope this helps
i used to buy bi lo or target nappies. my son was,and is, long and skinny and the huggies fitted him terribly.
i cant see why everyone has such a big problem with snugglers.
i have been using them almost since RJ, my son, was born and have had no problems at all. his nappy can get so heavy and full of wee and they still dont leak. no problems at al whether he has done a poo or wee.
i really dont know everyone is so against them and all for huggies. because they are made by the same company anyways. and huggies to me are just way too expensive.
why pay more for something else when i'm already using something that is doing the job just as well. and alot of people must like snugglers coz everytime i go to the supermarket, either woolies or frankilns, i can never get the big boxes of nappies because everyone alyways buys them, but there are always plenty of huggies boxes of nappies in the store.
before trying the snugglers i was using babylove, they were terrible. they fit terribly for my son who is a big boy and they leaked all the time. i only bought 2 packets of those nappies before i went into labour but ended up throwing them away they were that bad.
mum2littleman
22-05-2006, 23:40
yes they are made by huggies but i myself dont think they are any good but what works for some dont always work for another i have found that with alot of things
im glade they are good for u ur the first person i have heard that has a posite thing to say about snugglers..:thumbsup:
i have started to use baby love on DS latly as they are cheaper than the beebees nappies but i must say i use huggies at night and if he is going to stay wit sumone for the night as i dont want them to think i give my son cheap things lol i know they prob wouldnt think that but i just want them to no i do look after him..
dummies: i use happy baby and he loves em and hates avent even no they cost alot more my boy likes the cheap things lol
22-05-2006, 23:59
I use Bebe's nappies and have never had a leak, whereas with the huggies I once had an absolute shocker.
I also like the J&J wipes in the blue pack, for some reason they're cheaper than the others and they're great, and i've also tried the Coles brand wipes, like them better than huggies wipes.
I love Huggies nappies. I bought 2 boxes of Snugglers when I got pregnant and ended up taking one box back to exchange for Huggies after I had to put up with the first box....boy did they leak!!! I was sick of James waking up wet at night (its much easy to deal with day wetness) so I used Huggies at night and my Snugglers during the day.
Yesterday I bought Babylove and have been using them today and the end of his Huggies at night, just incase the Babyloves leak, but I have found them to be fantastic so far.
I did look at the Bi-Lo brand but couldnt bring myself to buy them 'just in case'...I'm paranoid they will leak but everyone that has tried them on this thread seems to say good things about them. Are they really as thick as Huggies?
I think the test of a good nappy is how thick they are (anything close to Huggies is good) and whether the gathering around the legs is tight.
I found with Snugglers that they were too thin and the legs were too loose.
I also love Huggies wipes, I stocked up on heaps of Johnsons and Huggies before having James and I find that I dont have to use as many Huggies as I do Johnsons because they are thicker and seem bigger, although I do hate having to pull them apart. Its a bit of a pain!
mum2littleman
28-05-2006, 00:21
I love Huggies nappies. I bought 2 boxes of Snugglers when I got pregnant and ended up taking one box back to exchange for Huggies after I had to put up with the first box....boy did they leak!!! I was sick of James waking up wet at night (its much easy to deal with day wetness) so I used Huggies at night and my Snugglers during the day.
Yesterday I bought Babylove and have been using them today and the end of his Huggies at night, just incase the Babyloves leak, but I have found them to be fantastic so far.
I did look at the Bi-Lo brand but couldnt bring myself to buy them 'just in case'...I'm paranoid they will leak but everyone that has tried them on this thread seems to say good things about them. Are they really as thick as Huggies?
I think the test of a good nappy is how thick they are (anything close to Huggies is good) and whether the gathering around the legs is tight.
I found with Snugglers that they were too thin and the legs were too loose.
I also love Huggies wipes, I stocked up on heaps of Johnsons and Huggies before having James and I find that I dont have to use as many Huggies as I do Johnsons because they are thicker and seem bigger, although I do hate having to pull them apart. Its a bit of a pain!
get the new pop up tub! they dont stick they are great! i love it
but there wipes are ok.
I can also say I love the Bilo brand Nappies. They are great and I never have a problem with them. I have tried the Homebrand Woolies nappies and I think they are pretty crappy.
Also if you decide to buy the Bilo brand nappies, they are cheaper to buy them in a small packet of 16 (10-15kg pkts) than the 72 big packet.
mum2littleman
06-06-2006, 21:29
hey just though i would write in i went shopping yesterday and got little wishes wipes for the first time i always get huggies but though i would try sumthing new as i was going to pay $15.20 for 240 wipes then saw little wishes for $20 for 480 wow! for not even $5 more im getting double..
i also though i would try the homebrand baby bath i have never seen it before but i got a 500ml for $3.06 and it smells so nice i normaly pay $5 for the johnsons 200ml so i was happy with my savings for this week...
i wanted to try a cheaper home brand nappy on DS to see how they are caz if they are ok then i would save heaps but i cant bring my self to do that:confused: i dont no why but i guess with my other savings it really wont matter caz ill have extra money now.. think i might just stick to huggies bebes or baby love at least i no they work for DS.
09-06-2006, 23:57
For those of you who are breastfeeding, the Home Brand breast pads from Woolies are great and a pack of 20 is about $1.99!
MrsMiggins
10-06-2006, 00:27
I use a washing detergent for bub's things called Purity Sensitive & it is BRILLIANT!!! Not very dear at all ($3.85 I think, for 1.25L) much cheaper than similar products.
While I'm on washing products, I also buy the Coles Smart Buy laundry liquid for our stuff & it is only $1.49 for 2L!!! I have had no problems with it whatsoever & find it actually very good!
Coles' Reliance brand used to do a laundry soak suitable for babies' things similar to Napisan, but I can't find it any more! I am so disappointed, as it was only $2.25 a tub!!
I actually buy most of Coles own brands of things (Persona, Reliance, You'll Love Coles, Smart Buy etc) and more often than not, I find them excellent & in many cases even better than name brand stuff.
Nappies - fluffies fitted terry towelling for day at home use. $5.50 each (use about 10 a day but wash every second day). Woolies homebrand disposables for night and going out $5.71 for 20.
Wipes - cheap wipes from Crazy Clarks (my mum bought them) 3 packs for $4 or something like that. Or I use woolworths little wishes.
Washing - homebrand napisan for soaking/washing fitted nappies.
Baths - Johnsons milk bath, johnsons bedtime bath (baby shower gift) or curash baby bath (baby shower gift) - will be looking into homebrand one's once finished this lot.
Breastpads - woolies homebrand - will be looking into getting some washable ones.
Also check this out: http://www.simplesavings.com.au/tipsheets/NewMothers.pdf
borntobemummy
12-06-2006, 14:21
Just like to add, I really love Babylove nappies!! I used to use Aldi nappies and loved them too, but for the same price, I think these are better - very absorbant, well fitting, no leaks at all. And we get a box of 112 5-11kgs for $32.98 !! And that lasts about a month!
Also, Snugglers nappies are the worst ever - don't even bother with these. I even rang up to complain about them and they sent me more! (which was kinda bitter sweet lol)
mum2littleman
12-06-2006, 16:50
hey thanks for that it was really good to read i would never even think of sum of that...
got to love saving money :yes: