View Full Version : McDonalds Cheeseburgers and Quarterpounders

Ange79
15-08-2008, 12:55
Hi Guys!

I am sick of just having to settle for KFC fries! I really am craving a burger because it's more substantial!

I'm starving and am heading out - are Cheeseburgers and Quarterpounders safe?

I was told the cheese and pickles could be iffy. What have you been told/experienced?

Right now, it's a toss up between one of those and a Harry's Cafe de Wheels pie with the mushy peas and potato mash!

Cheers!

RmumR
15-08-2008, 13:04
Not sure of the 'guidelines' but when i was pregnant i totally craved maccas cheeseburgers for ages and had, well lets just say i had quite a few of them!

Beany
15-08-2008, 13:05
I'm pretty sure that it's fine if the food is good and hot. Cheeses to avoid are soft cheeses so the hard slice in a burger is fine. Pickles are likewise fine. Mayonnaise and other like things are not recommended so I wouldn't risk it.

mummajugs
15-08-2008, 13:06
i still ate them, i didnt really stop alot... just the main things like soft serve/deli meat/seafood etc.
just becareful of the fat/sugar intake that you dont stack on the kgs... alot of people have that prob

Alleykat
15-08-2008, 13:07
I usually dont eat maccas, but with pregnancy with DD and this one i was constantly craving cheeseburgers.

Never heard that this wouldnt be safe.. I never eat pickles anyway so always get without.

I used to work at Macdonalds many moons ago, and they are so strict with everything and clean. Also now they make up everything on order, i cant see why this wouldnt be okay.

I think its great to be careful and vigilent in what we put in our mouths especially what we have all heard about listeria etc, but we also should enjoy our pregnancies and if it seems safe and not on the taboo list, then i say go for it.

MellyMumma
15-08-2008, 13:07
I've never heard anything about not eating burgers. I craved Big Macs with dd1 and ate them till they came out my ears. I'm again craving Big Macs with this bub and have had 1 but we live and hour from Mc Donalds which is the only reason I haven't had more.

Whatever you get enjoy it!!! :thumbsup:

Pregnor
15-08-2008, 13:11
There have been cases where listeria has been found in bagged lettuce, but i dont think there'd be anything wrong with pickles, there are so many preservatives in them!

I agree, everything at MOST maccas is pretty top notch when it comes to cleaning. But I would still avoid eating the soft serve unless you know the machine has just been cleaned, as that is something that is generally looked over when shorted staffed etc.

Cordelia
15-08-2008, 13:16
no way!!! not those too!!! SURELY not!!!

BecP
15-08-2008, 13:21
yep we're not supposed to have soft serve at all

Alleykat
15-08-2008, 13:24
I get the thickshakes but not the softserve (must admit never been a huge fan) I know in my day working there every night they would dis-assemble the machine part by part at close, scrub and clean everything it would take hours and the supervisor did it with you, it was the worst job ever!!!!!
I hear individual stores do have their own policies though maybe it could be worth a check if one is paranoid about it. I wouldnt get it from the local mr whippy or food court place, but i really do think that the big $ food chains like Maccas etc are pretty strict in general.

mrsmov
15-08-2008, 13:29
mmmmmmmm cheeseburger!!! I had cravings & certainly made DH go to maccas & get them to fulfill my cravings:D He knows not to mess with a preggie woman!!!:laughing:

Alleykat
15-08-2008, 13:37
hahahahahahaha
happy wife = happy life!

dannitomplusbub
15-08-2008, 14:31
I've never heard anything about not eating burgers. I craved Big Macs with dd1 and ate them till they came out my ears. I'm again craving Big Macs with this bub and have had 1 but we live and hour from Mc Donalds which is the only reason I haven't had more.

Whatever you get enjoy it!!! :thumbsup:

my baby is going to be a big mac
already have 4 of the olympic glasses you get with the meal

tee
15-08-2008, 14:38
I went crazy on Hungry Jacks burgers last time I was pregnant and bub turned out fine ;) I put on a tonne of weight though :o

This time around, same craving - all I want is McDonalds burgers this time. Can't eat them because I'm gluten intolerant but have already resorted once to putting the contents into gluten-free buns just so I can get my fix. I think the proper buns make it what it is though :(

I worked at Maccas when I was a teen, for quite a few years, and never saw anything untoward in the kitchens. They go through produce so fast that nothing is ever left just lying around, and fresh stock is kept in the refridgerator.

The soft serves and thick shakes come from the same machine though, and I must say that in all my time working there I don't remember them being cleaned; although I'm sure they were probably done on the day shift when I wasn't working. I don't eat/drink the soft serves or shakes when I'm pregnant because I don't know how good the store is with their machine-cleaning; it's something that can easily get looked over with slacker stores.

Otherwise, everything else I wouldn't hesitate with!

SilverStarfish
15-08-2008, 14:40
My DH is a food tech, he does food safety for a living and is the original food nazi when I'm pregnant!

Cheeseburgers and Quarterpounders from Maccas were probably the one take away food that he was happy for me to eat :)

Looooove cheeseburgers. I love Maccas though. I'm an unashamed Mc Donalds fan :goodvibes:

Steer clear of the thickshakes and ice creams though.

NancyBlackett
15-08-2008, 14:42
Oh Macca's triple cheeseburgers and sausage mcmuffins were the one thing I craved all through my 2nd trimester - something about those meat patties and the plastic cheese:D

So of course I had at least one of them every day... go for it I say!

tootsy
15-08-2008, 14:57
oh man......... *gets in the car and drives to the nearest maccas*:o

readytotry
15-08-2008, 16:00
oh man......... *gets in the car and drives to the nearest maccas*:o
:iagree::iagree::iagree:
This thread has set off a SERIOUS craving for me, right now I need 2x Cheeseburgers... stat!!!

tootsy
15-08-2008, 16:06
well im back, i went and got 2 happy meals im happy coz i got 2 cheeseburgers and my son is happy coz he got 2 toys! lmao, oh and i gave him a fries so hes happy about that too lol

i want more though:rolleyes: 1 week away from my due date and im eating as if its the last time i will have a chance :laughing:

poppet
15-08-2008, 16:08
Ah its a wonder DD1 didn't come out as cheeseburger:laughing:

And DD2 a quarterpounder need i say more...

go for it hun enjoy:D

Emmi
15-08-2008, 16:25
Ive been eating heaps of cheeseburgers, espicially the triple cheeseburgers from Maccas! Ive never heard of them being unsafe

jess_live_die
15-08-2008, 19:12
i lived off them for the 1st 16 weeks thats all i could keep down

mizmiz
15-08-2008, 19:17
My neighbour had big mac & thickshake everyday sometimes twice a day. Her contractions started and she refused to move til she finished her shake.

Nothing happened to her.DOnt know if its just luck

Pices_79
15-08-2008, 20:27
I ate cheeseburgers through my last pregnancy...I had the BIGGEST craving for them esp in the first trimester...

This time round I have been eating them again :) Yummo

atara
16-08-2008, 05:17
If you really want a burger (meat)
go buy some very lean ground beef and make one at home. It's much healthier!:yelclap:

toscar38
16-08-2008, 22:34
In case you were wondering.... most McD's have "heat treat" machines (I don't know what they are really called), and in every 24 hours, the machine cleans itself, heating up to temperatures that kill all nasties, and then once a week they are fully taken apart. This is the best technology avaliable. The old style machines are cleaned every single night in all McD stores, it would be a rare rare instance where it wasn't cleaned (and If it wasn't, the manager coming in the next morning would have to do it, trust me, I was that manager).

I too craved cheese burgers with fries in them, and unfortuantly, with 4 babies I have eaten an awful lot of them, maybe 10 KGs worth, and no one told me to stop once I was no longer pregnant!!!!!
T:angel::smiliedance::smiliedance::baby:

maplewattle
15-09-2008, 19:05
Ooooooh! This thread is killin; me! Lovely, fake, fluoro orange cheese! Lovely, salty mushy fries. Am sitting here fighting the temptation to go to Maccas!