View Full Version : Hip and Pelvic pain
29-04-2006, 19:35
I'm currently 36.3wks pregnant with #4 (and last might i add) and this pregnancy has been a real shocker :crying: . The problem is I've only been able to get 3hrs max sleep per night and maybe an hour during the day if im lucky due to really bad hip and pelvic pain. During the day im fine but as soon as i get into bed my pelvic bone and hips stiffen up making it hard for me to roll over. I have to get on all fours the shift myself to lay on the other side (hope that makes sense). It's to the point where im in tears when i do need to turn over because i can't stay on one side too long or else my hip really hurts. Now, i experienced this with DS#1 and went to physio but it didn't work. When it came to giving birth with DS#1 it felt like my hips were about to explode apart. For me it was a really bad labour even if it was for only 8hrs.
With this pregnancy i have tried wearing a waste band to bed and used a heat pack but nothing seems to work.. i have also tried putting pillows inbetween my thighs but that didn't work either.. :crying:
It's also getting to the point where im extremely tired and need a decent night sleep !!!!
What i would like to know.. is there anyone who is currently experiencing the same thing or has experienced it through their pregnancy if so, how did you cope and is/was there anything that helped relieve the pain ????
Someone please help !!!!!!!! :banghead:
Hi Lauren
I'm not sure if I can provide any answers but I can sympathise to the fullest extent. My pubic bone pain has been so bad that the physio's were going to put me on crutches. And like you, at night my hips and pelvis would cause me to lay awake in agony.
I tried wearing one of the belts but it only made the pain worse.
There are 2 things that have helped me - ice, ice, ice. Lots of ice packs - 20 minutes on and 1 hour off. Being my first, it's also meant that I have been able to be extremely "still" at times ie I barely moved off the couch over Easter in order to rest.
The other thing that has helped me, which from what I understand may not happen to you being your 4th, is that with bubs nicely engaged, I'm finding all pain has gone.
As I said, not much help - try a physio again, perhaps a different one???
Good luck!!
29-04-2006, 22:17
hey Scout,
thanx heaps for replying and sharing your experience. I know it's not a fantastic feeling atm but it's kinda good to know that im not on my own.. though i do sympathise with you :hugs:
I will give the ice packs a go :thumbsup:
thank-you so much for the advice ect... and also goodluck with bubs :yelclap:
29-04-2006, 22:20
I had the same thing with my first pregnancy & so my mum brought me a body pillow...it worked like magic! u should try one of those because you can wrap ur whole body around it & its really comfy :fingerscrossed: ur feeling better soon!
30-04-2006, 09:24
Hi Krissy,
thanx for the advice but I've also tried the body pillow. It's more on an internal uncomfortableness than external. Hope that makes sense, so tired !!! :sleeping:
I had exactly the same thing with both pregnacies and I would love to say I found a great cure - but I didn't.
I found streching exercises helped and hot baths in the middle of the night gave some relief.
Did the phisyo give you some streches to do? I know fitting them in with 3 kids would be hard but worth a try.
30-04-2006, 11:55
Hello Megan,
I have tried doing the exercises and stretches ect.. also tried having baths before going to bed, but as per usual nothing seems to work :crying:
If only i had bigger hips it shouldn't be like this.. i just don't think my body structure is able to handle child birth :laughing: i thought this pregnancy would be a breeze after having 3 kids but hey as they say every pregnancy is different. The last two kids, i didnt go through anything remotely like this one and my first..
After my third child i lost heaps of weight thinking, there's no way im having anymore!! Heh, Yeah Right !! :rolleyes:
Is there a 'Magic' pill i can take ????? :laughing: *wishful thinking*
I can sooooooo relate. I wake up crying at times.
I am nearly 25 weeks with twins and it's unbelievably bad.
I have found panadeine helped when I was told I could take it, but it caused terrible constipation.
I have nausea 24/7 and am just about ready to die at times.
When I can I get to the local heated pool and do some gentle exercise there. That seems to help a little. I also find it a bit better if I sleep with the body pillow straight between both my legs and keep my legs straight.
Deep Heat??
God I'm trying everything and can only pray that this will end soon. At least the end is closer for you.
I have been very depressed with this pregnancy and the nausea, so the aches just add to the joy of it all.
This is my second pregnancy and will never ever do this again!! So I think you are brave for doing this 4 times.
Mara
30-04-2006, 17:05
Mara, First of all... lots of big :hugs: I hope it all settles down for you sometime very soon as you are only going to get bigger, poor hon. Goodluck with the twins.. glad it's you and not me
as to everyone else... thank-you so much for your advice even though i have tried practicaly everything :crying: Maybe i just needed to vent or have a huge sook as i don't think DH really understands how im feeling or what the pain actually feels like even though i have tried to explain to him several times
Again.. Thanx girls!!!!! :hugs: :hugs:
02-05-2006, 00:48
I can so relate to you, this is my second pregnancy and i am 29 weeks with my first i had the pelvic pain but it was nowhere near as bad as this time round.I find it very hard to turn over in bed and when i get up in the morning i can hardly get out of bet let alone walk and yes i am not getting much :sleeping: i am so tired during the day and then i am in pain all night.I can feel my pubic bones shifting when i turn over in bed and it nearly makes me :crying: it hurts so much.
I tried the pelvic support belt but ended up close to tears because it was putting too much pressure on my pelvis.
So far i havnt found a cure i have just had to put up with it.My baby is already 3/5 engaged into my pelvis so is causing alot more pain and i still have another 11 weeks to go so if u manage to find something to help or cure it:laughing: (dont think it will happen) let me know.
Hope you feel better soon good luck with the birth.:wave:
02-05-2006, 16:42
Hi Jaclyn,
I wish i could tell you that it gets better but it doesn't :thumbsdown: Hopefully it'll be different for you and the more your baby engages the better it'll be. I know the exact feeling of having your pubic bones shift, not a great feeling. Then trying to get out of bed is a nightmare and hobbling around for the first 15-20 minutes or so is hell. I have tried everything possible but nothing seems to work. My only hope is that they'll induce me due to this fact at 38wks as it has been tough on me since week 12.
Lots of :hugs: :hugs: for you Jac and if i do find something that works i'll PM you straight away!!! Take care hon :wave:
03-05-2006, 00:51
I probably only have about 8-9 more weeks to go i will probably be induced around 38-39 weeks cause i am diabtetic but i hope it dont get any worse.It has been ok today not too bad and i even went to the shops but i will probably pay for it tonight when i try to sleep.Well goodluck with the birth and hopefully :fingerscrossed: they will induce u at 38 weeks until then rest up and i will be waiting for a cure:laughing:
Hi. I think you will find this site really helpful.
http://www.plus-size-pregnancy.org/pubicpain.htm
I suffered a ridiculous amount with my first pregnancy. I tried all the physio options and they didn't help. I wish I had read this info back then!
I found a great chiro (have pm'd you details) and within a few weeks my pain was gone! Hallelulia. I'm now 24 weeks with my 2nd pregnancy and have had some mild pain. I had one session a few weeks ago and 95% of the pain has gone away.
I was a little hesitant about having chiropractic treatment especially whilst being pregnant, but my chiro is extremely gentle and the results are so wonderful.
Also there is support from this group http://www.pelvicinstability.org.au/
03-05-2006, 06:32
thank-you so much Cathy :hugs: the website has been a big help with a few suggestions that i can't wait to try out.. !! :thumbsup:
wonkyjoints
19-05-2006, 12:44
Hi There,
I'm sorry not to have seen this sooner, but am really glad you found the website for the Pelvic Instability Association. I am part of this group - we meet quarterly in Melbourne (next meeting end of May about sexuality, see website for details).
Hope you're feeling better soon,
Kate
I was going to say chiro, so I agree with Wattle.
Chiro or osteo
accupuncture
massage.
Check qualifications first. Many many chiropractors are fully aware of the discomforts of pregnancy and are very knowledgeable about what is happening with dem bones. More so than your average GP. They can even tell you what to expect next.
My chiro has a special table and everything. He tells me what is happening and shows me why, on his little "skellington" dummy :laughing: and he fixes my aches and pains. I fully recommend it to every pregnant women whether they are experiencing pain yet or not. Coz its probably coming!!
Good luck.
diamonds22
19-05-2006, 16:26
Oh Karni you explained EXACTLY what I’m going through!!!! even down to the tears at night when your trying to turn over and stuff!!
I've asked my mum...but by the sounds of it she didn’t get it like I am...So I guess some people like us get it worse then others :gloomy: I’ve told my doc about it and he just says "Oh its just part of pregnancy":banghead: so I just grit my teeth...I hate trying to get up to the toliet at night..I hear the worst cracks in my pelvis/hip area and my back feels like its dislocated!! I didn’t realise pregnancy was gonna hurt so much!! (lol thank god i'm having a c/sec!!!)
Anyway...at least were not alone go by what others have said too!!:hugs: