View Full Version : For those who used terry flats on newborns...
NewBeginnings
13-08-2008, 10:59
So I have decided to put bubs in terry flats to begin with and start laybying MCN's closer to bubs being born..... so I can use the baby bonus to pay them off...
So how do you fold them? and pin them?
Do you soak them in nappysan? or just throw them in the dry pail bucket with all the MCN's?
How many do I need to wash every two days?
What covers do you use over top of them? and about how many will I need if I wash every second day?
I think that's all I can think of for now! TIA! :flowerz:
boy this is going to make me think! :laughing:
Yes I used terry flats on my new borns.
My DD1 was prem and skinny, and now at 4 still has no bum!! and I just folded the triangle for her until she was big enough for the kite fold.
DD2 was chubby born and born with a bum, so she went straight into a kite fold.
I always had 2 nappy buckets set up in my bath room, with hot water and nappisan in them, and I would rince the nappy under water then throw them in the buckets, I would also wash every day, just wring them all out, pop in washing mashine with some washing powder,/lux flakes and more nappy san and fabric softerner.
And pop them on the line.
I used the clip over the pins to secure the nappy, and the pilchers I used, I dont remember the nameof but they are soft ones, with the tiny line of plastic in them.... oh FLUFFY pilchers. :yes:
Hope I got everything right. I have no idea how many you would need, I have a ton of cloth nappys, I could make a quilt out of them to cover australia, way to many, but I dont like them when they get ratty looking and then they go to our rag pile.
hope this helped.:)
punkbaby
13-08-2008, 11:46
i had 30 flannelette nappies, that did me, that was washing everyday but i still had lots spare i just threw them in the wash and line dried washing them the same way as i did my mcns.
At the chemist you can get these little t shaped wraps, they are called snibs ( you will only need one pack as you can wash them till they lose their shape, generally you get a few goes out of them_ i just used them first up with flats as your changing them so often its not like they get a chance to wet through, as bubs got a little bigger, before she could get into her green kids i would lay a booster in the flat too, we used the bat fold :)
I also got some great little covers from nappies covered, they are chloes toes ones they were awesome for flats and seemed to hold the nappy on nice and snug too. All my babies were so tiny so flats were the way for us to go till they were around maybe 2 months old/
NewBeginnings
13-08-2008, 12:23
trouble... I remember those fluffy pilcher thingys lol. My mum used to use them on me and some of my bros and sis! :laughing: are they still around these days! :eek: Will Big W and Kmart and likewise places sell them?
Punkbaby - I will have to have a looksies at the chemist for them...
but dumb question... I have no idea what those folds are :o is there somewhere I can look them up! :o
punkbaby
13-08-2008, 12:26
If you want a few snibs i can post some for you to try (they dont fit dd anymore) your welcome to have them :)
Umm google the batfold nappy, i will see if i can find it for you, its the same way they do it in hospital anyhow will be back :)
ETA i am not sure if i can post link i know its been mentioned before though but if you google the nappy lady and bat fold in one, you should find it :)
I have always got my pilchers from big W and those sorts of places, and with the nappy folds, just google nappy folds, and it should come up with heaps of sites.
Nappy folds...
http://www.cherubsnappyservice.com.au/nappyfolds.html
and
http://nappyexpress.com.au/khxc/ccp0-display/folds.html
Frazzled
13-08-2008, 12:35
Hi NB
I am planning on using terry flats till our baby is big enough to fit into my new stash of BBH's. I have bought 2 dozen and have some nappy pins as well as snappi's. These are a three-way rubber clip thing (google them) and they sell them in a three pack at Big W for about $4. I got my flats here too - one pack of dri-glos but my mum said these are too thick really for newborns, so the second pack I bought the cheaper ones (were $19 fr=or 12 I think). I have some BBH covers and I also bought 5 covers from Big W, they have a cloth outer cover and a waterproof and net lining. They stay together with velcro and cost about $3 each. They come in three different sizes and in boy or girl prints.
I will let you know how it goes.
Oh, my mum has said that for newborns to use the triangle fold - which is simply folding the nappy into a triangle and then put the baby with the middle point pacing down - bring it up and then the sides to meet.
Look up the kite fold - its too tricky to explain.
SpottySocks
13-08-2008, 12:38
So I have decided to put bubs in terry flats to begin with and start laybying MCN's closer to bubs being born..... so I can use the baby bonus to pay them off...
So how do you fold them? and pin them? I have never used pins, we use a Snappy, stretchy plastic thing with little hooks that grip the nappy - work great and are quick and easy to put on and no risk of stabbing baby. They are made by Happy Baby I I buy them from Coles (used to get them from Woolies too but our local doesn't have them anymore) Happy Baby has a website if you Google them you'll find it.
This link has some good instructions for folding; http://www.cherubsnappyservice.com.au/nappyfolds.html
I have always used the 3rd one down that they call "Thick Triangle" I used this fold on all 3 of my girls from when they were newborns until it wouldn't reach around their tummies.
Do you soak them in nappysan? or just throw them in the dry pail bucket with all the MCN's? With my 1st 2 I hadn't heard of dry pailing so I used to soak them in vinegar and then wash. If a nappy had a yellow stain I would soak it in nappysan. This time round I drypail (nope they don't smell) and if one has a yellow stain I leave it on the line in the sun for a day and it completely removes the stain (wish I had known this before).
How many do I need to wash every two days? I am currently washing about 12 every 2 days and I have 30 in total. My older 2 used to be pooey just about every nappy change when they were newborns, our latest little one goes every 3rd or 4th day so I don't seem to go through quite so many nappies. I do use a disposable at night as she has started sleeping for about 7 hours and the cloth wasn't holding everything in and she'd be all wet when she woke up.
What covers do you use over top of them? and about how many will I need if I wash every second day? I use a variety of plastic covers that I have brought over the years mainly from places like kmart, target, coles & woolies. I like the velcro opening type covers the best but the elastic waist & leg style plastic pants are handy for long sleeps. The velcro opening style are much better for pooey nappies - otherwise you have to pull a pooey cover down over the legs and it makes even more mess. Often the cover can be re-used when you change the nappy. I think I have about 15.
I think that's all I can think of for now! TIA! :flowerz:
Hope this helps! Our baby is now 10 weeks old and I am just starting to look at MCN's rather than the towelling flats. She weighs 6kgs and will fit into the medium size of most of the types I have looked at.