View Full Version : Help! I need a hobby

sharvs
28-04-2006, 16:28
I'm a SAHM (obviously), I have a 4 month old son and my DF is away for 2 months, then he will be away for 6 months after that. We moved to QLD earlier this year & I know 2 people here (one of which is about to move to TAS). I need some help to fill in my day otherwise I can see myself going nuts:eek: . Money is an issue (isnt it always) so things like Gym etc are out. I need to be able to set myself little things to look forward too. I am in the process of trying to find a playgroup, but I'm a shy person & introducting myself to a heap of new people scares me.

Any suggestions??

Ange&Seth
28-04-2006, 18:00
I like crafts and stuff. I quite often do cross stiches and I make these hippo play rug things. I've sold a few hippos, they're so cute, and I'm about to try and sell some on ebay.

Other than that, there's always day time tv! :laughing: sorry, probably not the type of suggestion you're after :D

28-04-2006, 18:11
i agree
crafts can be inexpensive, fun and rewarding
i like to knit
and make jewellery
they can make great gifts too.

drewid
28-04-2006, 18:36
Hi Sharvs

Sympathy for you here! I am fairly much in the same boat, restricted by money and transport, and a workaholic husband. We muddle through the days, but can't help thinking there could be something else I could be doing to make it more interesting/meaningful. Rack my brain for hobbies and come up with nothing!

Which side of Brissie are you on?

If all else fails, I'm online most of the day, so you've always got a chat on tap! :D

WeThree
28-04-2006, 18:42
ebay is a great hobby, plus you can make some money out of it as well!
you can sell bubs old good conditioned clothes, unwanted toys etc or scour markets/garage sales for things, which becomes a hobby in itself!
scrapbooking is another great hobby, you could also design your own webpage and regulary add pictures, a blog etc, all very addicitive though!
photography is another one which is good, and also helps with the webpage, you can do digital scrapbooking as well. :)

Jules16
28-04-2006, 18:44
Or maybe an online course in something you're interested in.

Mamaduke
28-04-2006, 18:49
What are we....chop liver?!!!!:rolleyes: ;)

sharvs
28-04-2006, 19:26
What are we....chop liver?!!!!:rolleyes: ;)

You're a dag, Mamaduke - lol :)

I know my number of posts on Bub Hub is going to increase over the next 12 months.

I cant sit infront of the computer all day though, I get a headache after a while.

Where do you start with the cross-stitch thing, sounds like it could be fun. Make some stuff for DS's room.

Noo, I'm Northside - Cashmere (near Warner)

Mamaduke
28-04-2006, 20:45
Where do you start with the cross-stitch thing, sounds like it could be fun. Make some stuff for DS's room.

Find a shop that sells cross-stitch kits - Spotlight does. You can either choose the cross-stitch kits which have the pattern drawn on the fabric or if you think you're up to it, the counted cross-stitch patterns, which means that you get a pattern with tiny squares marked on it with the picture. You simply find the centre of the fabric (by folding it into four even quarters) and then start stitching from the centre (make sure you mark off each stitch on the pattern so you don't get confused).
I made a Noah's Ark cross-stitch for Jesse's room when I was pregnant with him. It's easy once you get the hang of it...if I can do it, anyone can - I can't even sew hems...I staple them until I find someone who can sew!!!
Here's my first attempt...
Noah's Ark (http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b114/csbridger/xstitch.jpg)

Starlet
28-04-2006, 21:09
I do scrapbooking as well(I don't have much time these days tho).

You can pick up a tafe or uni course and do it externally.

You could take up party plan.

Ange&Seth
29-04-2006, 00:49
Wow Marmaduke, that cross stitch looks fab! I've nearly finished one with Teddy bears in different colours and numbers and letters all around. I find it's very relaxing, I lose hours once I get comfy and get started.

I read in a medieval novel once, a lady said about embroidery 'It doth occupy the hands, whilst keeping the mind and mouth free for speech' a bit flowery but I reckon it's true!

diamonds22
29-04-2006, 15:14
Oh god Sharvs, i'm in the same boat!!! i'm dying of boredom (bubbys not here yet..so i have NOTHING to do during the days!! (just finished off at work..so its a big adjustment being at home!)

My poor hubby almost gets bulldozed as soon as he walks in the door..i'm like a puppy all over him..cos i'm like YAY human interaction!!! lol

I'm trying to get into the cross-stitching thing too...but my hands are sooo swollen at the moment..i end up getting ****y with it and leave it a quarter done (my hubby refuses to take me to craft shops now!!)

lol PM me anytime...i'll probs be on here!!:rolleyes: :o

p4purple
29-04-2006, 16:59
Last year I canibalised alot of my old beads and jewlery and made earings and bracelets for my nieces! The two dollar bargain shops usually have a good chaeap range of clips and fittings and there are allsorts of ways to find beads ... from 2nd hand shops to bead shops (a little expensive). Overall it's not much of an investment and you can while away the hours making this years Xmas gifts or even sell the jewlery at a fete or something. Just make sure you have a good storage box and keep the loose beads and bits away from the little ones.

sharvs
29-04-2006, 17:04
poor..i'm like a puppy all over him..cos i'm like YAY human interaction!!! lol

I'm trying to get into the cross-stitching thing too...but my hands are sooo swollen at the moment..i end up getting ****y with it and leave it a quarter done (my hubby refuses to take me to craft shops now!!)

lol Diamonds! I am finding that with DF away, basically the only interaction I have (apart from Bub hub of course) is with my 4 month old. DF is worried he is going to come home and I'm going to say "Hello, bub bub - do you want mum mum to get you a bot bot & a nice clean nap nap!" I went to the shops today to look at Cross stitching stuff but DS has this habit lately of screaming the minute I get to the shops. He's done it the last 3 times now. I just get what I need to & get out of there. People stare at me like I'm a bad mum - this one guy even said to his daughter "i wish she would shut that whingy baby up!" I wanted to hit him (and cry). Sorry, got completely off the topic there!

04-05-2006, 12:38
I love scrapbooking!!

04-05-2006, 12:55
Last year I canibalised alot of my old beads and jewlery and made earings and bracelets for my nieces! The two dollar bargain shops usually have a good chaeap range of clips and fittings and there are allsorts of ways to find beads ... from 2nd hand shops to bead shops (a little expensive). Overall it's not much of an investment and you can while away the hours making this years Xmas gifts or even sell the jewlery at a fete or something. Just make sure you have a good storage box and keep the loose beads and bits away from the little ones.

I am addicted to making jewellery..
BEWARE

lediva
05-05-2006, 11:43
Hi:-)

I'm not sure where in brissy you are and you did mention that you'd like to eventually join a Mums Group.
We have one in the west subs if you are interested? Thats out Mt Ommaney way and surrounding areas. Let me know if you would like to know more okay.

And yes I love scrapping too! But my little one keeps me pretty active,lol.

mykidzrokk
06-05-2006, 20:12
I agree with the other girsl...crafts....i have always played sport and never done anything crafty in my life...but now i do scrappig and just love it....i have done plaques for the kids doors, made albums for my parents, decorated CD's for chrissie decorations, tissue boxes, baby tins...the options are endless......