View Full Version : Big Bubbas and starting with cloths
madboysnmummy
10-08-2008, 20:33
My DH and I are thinking about switching to MDC nappies, but we are a bit lost we want to use AIO as close to using dispoables as we can get (easy wise)
I was looking at baby beehinds website and they only have ones that suit up to 16kgs.
My question is what companies make for big bums? DS1 is 17kgs and DS2 is 14kgs. They can be big wetters too so do I need a booster every nappy change? Oh and silly question but does the booster just sit inside the nappy next to the skin.?
I am very new and clueless and I have been a big fan of disposables until the last couple of weeks they have been letting me down.
Any suggestions for an easy change over for DH and myself cost isnt a huge issue, but keeping in mind as off the end of November if ds1 wont toilet train I will have 3 in nappies :eek:
I have been skimming forums and googling, but Im not sure about the companies and brand names yet so be easy on me!!
Thanks Everyone
kezzaskids
10-08-2008, 23:02
Maybe pocket nappies would be the way to go? Green kids or bumgenius have a good range.
boy wrangler
11-08-2008, 05:28
I'd definitely go with OSFM, cause you can then use them with all the kids.
My DS is a big lad, 13kg and 85cm at almost 15months.
I've found Greenkids bamboo insert to be super absorbant. One of the best. As for fit, it's a bit short in the rise and not as roomy as I had expected for a OSFM.
Bumgenius 3.0 are good value, they come with 2 inserts a big and a small, the size is good, bigger than the GK, put I don't like the PUL that they's used, it doesn't "feel" nice to me, a bit plastic-ey.
Baby Beehinds Bamboo are fantastic, but are just a fitted so you'll need a cover, but they are super absorbant, and cause they come with two boosters you can adjust the absorbancy for each or your children. They are an ok size for an OSFM.
The best pocket I have size-wise is a Patooties, by Natalie a WAHM based in Brissie. The rise is generous and it fits DS really well, with heaps of room to grow. Unfortunately I haven't had much experience with absorbancy because DS poos every time he's in it! She also custom makes all her nappies, so you get exactly what you want. you just go to her web site and pick out you inner and outer fabric! pm me if you want the link.
I hope this helps, or it could have confused you even more!
tishsmum
11-08-2008, 06:18
I'd definitely go with OSFM, cause you can then use them with all the kids.
17kg might be a bit big for most one size nappies but could be great for the other 2 though. Some brands do larger sizes that would suit your oldest eg Pea Pods, Monkey Doodlez, Happy Heiny's, Honey Boys and quite a few others I'm sure.
mumma bear
11-08-2008, 08:40
I think Baby Kangas are the only OSFM that goes that big. I have small kids and they are a terrible fit because they are designed for the larger, chunkier kids. They are a pocket nappy.
For heavy wetters i would be looking at a combo of bamboo and microfibre for inserts.
madboysnmummy
11-08-2008, 11:19
I was a bit worried about OSFA. it wont matter because both boys are currenty in the same size anyway. they have the same bums one kid is just taller.
I have 2 questions.
Do I still use disposable liners to catch the solids in the AIO's? If not Can you? I want to make it easier for DH to pull out poos and flush.
The other is Why do alot of Cloth Mummies still use sposies at night? Is it becuase you need to change them quicker than you would a sposie or does bub feel the wetness quicker?
I am keeping an eye out for some pea pods nad I have a sample pack of itty bittys but I think they may be a bit small, if so I can use them on DS3
You can use flushable liners in you want or fleece liners that are washable.
mumma bear
11-08-2008, 15:42
Some people find the thought of cloth at night too hard because it can take some trial and error to get it working for you. They don't want wet beds. We use cloth over night for DS and DD2 and have never had a leak. I guess i over boosted first and when i knew that was too much deducted some stuffing. We have some Krap Katchers and some home made night nappies and they work smashingly!!
The other thing is depending on the build of your kids they still might fit larges OK. Some brands are bigger than others and although they give a kg indication it is really a guide only. Little Buttons are pretty generous as are Ecobubs.