View Full Version : How many do you go thrugh per day..

cocobambino
10-08-2008, 15:01
DH and I were just having a discussion and he seems to think it would be better for me and cheaper (huh) to just use sposies, now im really wanting to use cloth nappies he seems to think ill get sick of using them and would have wasted all that money buying them but i know I wont, i wanna know how many you use per day & how many you own, do u wash them as u change them, i want to make a completely educated desision and I need all the help I can get so please tell me all you can and help me make the right decision to use cloth.

rainbowmummy22
10-08-2008, 15:16
Hehe, sounds just like my DH. Have you thought about buying a few MCN's and seeing how you go? ATM, I'm part time with MCN's, as I have just started using them, and they really are great. I go through a similar amount of them as the disposables, possibly one or two more because they dont stay quite as dry as sposies for my DD anyway. They seriously are easy to care for though, and they have nearly paid themselves off in a few weeks!
I just throw them in a empty bucket and do one or two half loads a day (only because I dont have enough yet). Otherwise I would only do one load a day.
I would suggest them, especially with a nb, you can just use pre-folds for a while until the MCN'S fit.
They do save money for sure, especially if you use cloth wipes as well. And if you use liners they are super easy to clean! I also dont like the plastic feel of sposies anymore, I dont think DD does either!
Go for it, get a couple of trial packs and see how you go.

Fuchsia!
10-08-2008, 15:24
Ok well here is my take on MCN's.

I found that it was cheaper for me to use sposies. We only go through about 3-4 sposies a day and we buy our sposies from aldis. they are $18 for a large packet, i have heard that these are made by the same people as huggies, anyway when i was using MCN's they were very addictive. I was spending sometimes $120 a week on them just to stay up with what was "in". And trying out new nappies all the time, I tried cutting back but it was very addictive.

Slowly the fun of it all slowly dwindled away and i stated using sposies more an more often. I ended up just selling all my stash off, i lost a lot of money as i didn't near what i paid for them and when you add in postage as well, i lost out big time.

But having said that i know a lot of people where they have stuck with MCN's and haven't looked back and probably never will.

So for me personally i found them to be a waste of time and money. I wish i stuck it out but it was just geting to much. It was hard enough to stay on top of the washing as it was, so to add in more it was a PITA.

To answer your questions above

how many you use per day & how many you own, do u wash them as u change them- i used more than i would sposies. Probably in a 24hr period maybe 8-10, and i owned about 35, and i filled a nappy bucket or 2 and then i would wash them. Probably every 2nd day i would wash. The stench of the nappy bucket was horrible too!

I think if you control your spending, only buy what you will need and thats it, then it would be worthwhile, but it is very addictive!. Also if you are good with the sewing machine it would be very economical to make your own.

Or you could even just use terry clothes with a cover and that would be a lot cheaper too.

HTH

QTB
10-08-2008, 15:25
we got through about 8 a day, but depends on how many poos mr 3months does that day, sometimes it will be 6 nappies others it will be 10 :laughing:

I have about 25 mcns that i use regulary (and others that i jsut dont use lol) which last about 3 days. i wash a load every second day, hang them out as soon as they finish, and by the arvo they are dry and ready to use :)

bAaM
10-08-2008, 15:29
I did own about 40 nappies but have just sold a heap of them. ( i had an addiction:o)

I use between 5-8 a day and wash every second day.

punkbaby
10-08-2008, 15:30
We are the same as myQTboys sometimes its 6 a day sometimes its 12, although i have 20 mcns, i also use flats for those short nappy changes if she is wet before a bath or something, i find this is heaps for me :) i do wash everday though

TKK
10-08-2008, 15:56
I've probably got about 30 MCNs now - which is more than I need but great backup as I'm back at work full time and sometimes don't have a second to throw on a load of washing. In a perfect day we use 6-8 and wash every second day.

For us it has worked out financially after the initial investment, but we are now 100% cloth nappies and cloth wipes.

I'm very happy with my decision to go cloth - it makes sense for our family economically and environmentally and even socially...

And no, the novelty hasn't worn off for either DH or myself. We start the day discussing if its a bubblegum d'lish day or a starry GK funtimes kinda day :laughing:

Going cloth full time was possibly our best decision so far - but that's just us. I guess the value you put in determines the value you get out sometimes.

kezzaskids
10-08-2008, 16:12
I have 24 prefolds and 6 covers....newborn and size small. I also have 6 bumgenius AIO small and 6 itti delish small and 4 itti mediums. The prefolds were cheap (12 for 36 bucks) and Im not sure yet if I like them. The AIO were obviously way more expensive as I buy them as a six pack but I think I will end up using them way more so to me they represent better value!

mayhem
10-08-2008, 18:20
i just have to start by saying i hate dealing with poo and still do but im finding it alot easier now we are using flushable liners one ongoing cost associated with cloth that im willing to pay like you i wasnt sure if cloth was the way i wanted to go so i stasrted by making a few of my own just to see how i was going to handle the washing an stuff made about 10 for $30 and seriously have not looked back i dont really have much of a stash heaps of flats and my home made ones and 9 itti bittis which were my first forey into commercially made mcns

on an average day i use about 6-7 wash only every 2nd day and have not really spent alot of money on mcns cause i mainly make my own which is a great way to save

Lollie86
10-08-2008, 22:52
We're the opposite to Jaxcoop in regard to getting addicted mainly bc we're poor! :laughing::o

Most stores have lay by options so you can pay them off slowly in 8 weeks. I didnt really care what was new or in, just what worked for us. So when we figured out what that was we bought heaps of them.:thumbsup:

We own probably about 40 or so MCN and covers.We use probably 4-5 a day, sometimes only 3 only bc DD is TT at the moment. And we wash every 2 days or as soon as the nappy bin is full.

Oh and these nappies will be used on any future kiddies so we know we are getting our money's worth. :)

cocobambino
11-08-2008, 07:09
:idea:Well my bright idea for spreading the cost out is starting now and buying one a week until bub is born, im thinking a few newborn sizes and the rest one size fits all and im gonna get AIO's

*babygirl*
11-08-2008, 08:48
:wave: i LOVE mcn.;.. and it has taken me about 12 months to build my stash because i make them and it has taken me this long to perfect my pattern/absorbancy etc... i use mostly AI2's because of the increased drying time :yes:

i have made HEAPS but DD only has about 20 or so but i'm in the process of taking that up to about 35 ish... i use about 6/7 A day and wash every day or two....

hth

SpottySocks
11-08-2008, 10:54
Probably every 2nd day i would wash. The stench of the nappy bucket was horrible too!
HTH

I have 30 towelling squares and about 10 - 15 plastic covers. I usually wash every 2nd day and find that I am washing about 12 each time. I dry pail - put the nappies into a bucket with lid, no water etc and my nappy bucket doesn't smell at all - would never describe it as a stench.

I have just ordered 2 Itti Bitti D'Lish AIO's which I am looking forward too trying - it will be great to not have to fold the nappies when they come off the line! If these seem ok I am planning to get myself another 6 and have 8 AIO's as well as the towelling flats. This is my 3rd bub and I am finding the towelling nappies are more work this time round - but thats only because I have the other 2 girls to look after as well.

We do still use a sposie at night because she tends to leak through.

We have definately saved money using cloth and we can't afford for me to become addicted! I love the feel of a cloth bum too! Also I think my DD toilet trained earlier than all our friends because she was in cloth - she was 2 yrs 6 weeks and dry day & night, friends children where all closer to 3yrs when they toilet trained.

I have been using the towelling nappies from my older DD whilst DD3 was newborn size because I didn't want to go out and buy the small size AIO's only to have to buy more within 3 months or so. She is now 10 weeks and 6 kilos and I'm going to buy the medium size (6.5 to 11kgs) now and hope I get 6 - 8 months wear out of them before we need to go up to the next size.

Goodluck with whatever you decide!