View Full Version : DD had one sleep today.. Will it stuff up our routin?!

UmmInayah
08-08-2008, 14:10
I am so paranoid haha..

It took me so long to get DD to learn how to sleep on her own and for her to have 2 regular naps of more than 45 mins each.

This morning, DD didn't have a nap. She seemed okay, and wasn't cranky so I put her down for a nap at 1pm.

I wanted to start giving her 1 nap a day, but I am worried she is going ot be over tired by the evening and then it will ruin her night sleep!

Should I continue on the 1 nap now because she started today, or should I revert back to 2 naps tomorrow?

TKK
08-08-2008, 14:19
Ah! My DD cracked her first one sleep day today too! Must be something in the air (excitement over it being 08/08/08 maybe :laughing:).

My DD is heaps younger than yours but I've noticed her shifting her sleeping patterns around for a bit and really fighting her day sleeps (pushing out the morning and fighting the afternoon). I think my DD is a bit to young to drop a sleep personally but yours may be right in the zone. Good luck.

Aparently (so *they* say) it opens up a whole new world when you only have to base your day around one sleep rather than two. Imagine being able to go out in the morning AND the afternoon :D

UmmInayah
08-08-2008, 16:48
LOL that's so cute!

I don't know why, but for some reason she just refused to take her usual morning nap. Might be because she is sleeping better during the night and no longer feeling so tired because of the constant waking?

Ah well, I might leave her on one sleep for now. Just sucks cos I have to reschedule her swimming and other activities to work around it! Will try for a couple of weeks and see how we go.

gizmoduckus
08-08-2008, 17:04
She is around the age that they usually go to one sleep. I have to agree with TKK that it is great when you can go out in the morning and in the afternoon now.

You might find that she won't go to one sleep straight away. Some days she will probably want 1 other times she will want 2. This will probably last a few weeks.

forbetoel
08-08-2008, 17:26
Try not worry too much, it really doesn't matter at all, as you will find out with your 2nd bubs, where you will most likely be running around more, and be in and out of the huse more often. Babies/young children are better off imo not having a rigid routine which is a stress for the mum to keep.
My youngest some days has 2 sleeps, sometimes 1 and sometimes none. I just take each day as it comes, and i fit in his sleeps when ever I can.

I understand her sleeping has been a big issue for you, but do try to relax a bit, and don't worry to much if she has 1 or 2 sleeps. She will drop the second sleep when she wants to, so it isn't really a decision that needs to be made....she just will slowly drop it herself.

Goodluck x

KHK
08-08-2008, 20:31
My son (14 months) has been having 1 sleep a day for about 2 months now but it was a slow transition.

He took months to decide if he wanted 1 sleep or 2. I maintain a routine for him but if we break it no big deal, we just pick it back up tomorrow. On swimming day he always sleeps earlier as he's really tired but on days we go out he often falls asleep later as there is to much going on. He won't sleep in a pram while we shop any more.

I miss the 2 sleeps because I don't have as much time to do housework but if I'm organised he sleeps longer when he only has the one sleep, so i can get a bit done.

I found now we are definatly a once a day napper our routine is so much smoother. We get stuff done in the morning or play at home, nap starts anywhere from 11-12 and goes for an average of 2 hours (on a good day I get 3 hours out of him :)). then we play in the arvo. Dinner at 5, bath at 5.30 and bed at about 6.30. I don't really every change the dinner, bath bed part of our day (except on weekends when we are out etc.) and he is going down to bed really well, I hardly need to be in there with him at all now. We were having major battles a month ago at the night time sleep, he's like a new child now its great!!:yelclap:

For great info on sleep and settle go to www.karitane.com.au (http://www.karitane.com.au) they have great fact sheets outlining what your childs routine should be like, or give them a call, they are great!:hugs:

Good luck, the battle over sleep is never fun.:sleeping:

Lilyloo
10-08-2008, 18:53
Hey Marna,

Lily has dropped that sleep now too, and is going down at around 12 or 1pm every day. Unfortunately we're lucky to get only 1 hour sleep, but she seems to manage.

We've been doing this for around 3 weeks, and, she was getting very tired at the end of the day to start with, but I think she's adjusted pretty well now.

It's great that we're not in such a stirct, ridget routine now, I don't need to be home at a certain times to make sure she has her sleeps. We're flexable with time now, and the whole day doesn't revolve around her and her sleep times.

So stick with it, and i'm sure she'll adjust really soon. x :)

UmmInayah
10-08-2008, 20:05
Thank you everyone for all the replies and reassurance.

Not sure if it was just coincidence, but that night she was so difficult to get to sleep at night. She didn't seem irritable or tired, not even hyper.. just her normal self, but only got ot bed at 9:30 instead of her usual time between 8-8:30!

We have gone back to 2 day sleeps. Morning sleep is 1.5 hours and afternoon usually half an hour or so in the car. Not so strict with that one and she seems to manage with the short nap at the end of the day which means that I can get more done during the day!

I might just wait it out and just give her one day sleep whenever she feels like she needs only 1 and 2 on other days.