View Full Version : Woolies and babywearing....oh and pooplosions!

jembelina
06-08-2008, 16:16
I never had ds in woolies when I was using teh HAB, nor was he doing pooplosions! This time around however things will be different!!
I'm wondering with woolies and babywearing(especially in something as close fitting as a HAB) do you tend get compression leaks??
Also, are woolies(handknits I mean) any good at containing pooplosions? Do you think the nappy itself will be enough to contain(I realise NOTHING can contain the best poooplosions!!) or am I relying on a good fitting cover??

I really want to use mainly wool with this net bub, especially in the first few months as it will be summer. But if either of the above ar egoing to pose problems it may not be the best option.

What do you think??

06-08-2008, 16:27
I never had any compression leaks in mind but i always made sure Squeak had his BBB's boosted that little bit more when out & at home he was always being changed lol.

I still find the only nappy that contains his explosions ( he still does them due to the way his bowel works :barf: ) are the BBB's because you can roll the frill over. So when they did have any leakage it was easy to deal with mostly & the woolies hold them fine ! Its more around the waist where the problem can lie especially when they are in something like the HAB because it forces it up even more so like when they are in a car seat .... Oh gawd those are terrible arent they !!!!

Squeak can poo up to 10 times a day or more if he chooses & they are all explosive its rare for him to have any form. Back when things were insanely mad the amount he was lose each time was ridiculous so seriously i cant see you having any major dramas lol ! You just have to be prepared iykwim !

NibbleCurlynBub
06-08-2008, 16:35
:laughing: Already considering the masses of poop huh?

Well done for thinking ahead :laughing:

I'd say a high rise one with nice elasticised holes. :)

boy wrangler
07-08-2008, 05:02
The only problem I reckon you'd have with pooplosions and woolies (especially hand-knitteds) are that you'd have to hand wash them a heap more than if they were just wee or contained poo nappies. The beauty of wool is that if they're not soiled you don't need to wash them every wear, I only wash mine every 4 - 6 weeks. But if they were pooey, you'd have to hand wash and re-lanolise every time IYKWIM.

We have #2 on the way, and I'm thinking that we'll use terry flats and BBH covers for the first little while.

And about the wearing, I've never noticed a problem with DS and his woolies leaking in the Ergo or BubbaMoe.

susiehomemaker
07-08-2008, 20:01
Mmmmm.... this is why I am thinking a close fitting wool cover (organic Loveybums ones) and THEN knitted woolies over the top for our next blessing (where are you my little one? I need a bum to clothie!)