View Full Version : Melbourne Mums Meet - May
Chickadee
26-04-2006, 13:36
Time to get started planning the next meet in May! Do people want to have another coffee/lunch meeting with bubs and toddlers or want to try something different? Maybe dinner somewhere or an activity (I have a rock climbing club I want to try out!).
My only stipulation is that if it's a daytime meet with bubs I'd prefer a Tues or Thurs so I can actually go this time!! And to try to find a spot more central to the city to make it more accessible for everyone.
Edit: I have added the poll above to try to sort out people's preferences for days! You can choose multiple options, ie you can pick tues & a dinner meet :)
Rock climbing!!! OMG!! My life is stressful enough thanks!! But I like the idea of an activity.
I had suggested dinner on the 26th May, some thought it was to late but I figure lots of notice can be good.
What about bowling?
Chickadee
26-04-2006, 15:17
Oopps. I meant indoor wall climbing, not rock climbing :)
There can always be more than one meet if people are interested in different things.
26-04-2006, 16:48
depending on what, when and where... I'll be in lol
How about a playcentre? Can have coffee and lunch there but a shopping centre etc with a group of kids wouldnt really work... veryyy boring for them!
Tuesdays are good for me as if im not feeling up to driving I can get DP to drive me but I have preggy checks every tuesday so would have to be lunchtimeish for me!
I can't be in on anything that doesnt involve kids as they're always with me of course.
jembelina
26-04-2006, 18:23
And to try to find a spot more central to the city to make it more accessible for everyone.
I would love that!! I have been dying to go again! I went to an early meet( could have been teh first one) but have since moved so have not really been able to get to the others:thumbsdown: Anyway, Thursdays work better for me than Tuesdays and I'm pretty much happy to do anything (thoug i don't think rock climbing and pregnancy mix!) but have to be able to bring ds.
I will keep checking in to see what everyone wants to do......
MrsScatterbrain
26-04-2006, 18:53
Something that involves the kiddies would be great! Put a second vote on for me for a location closer to the city! :)
I hope that it is ok for a Mum to Be to come along - I would love to join in (unless it's rock climbing of course but certainly don't hold back if you get the interest!).
Not having a baby yet and being on mat leave means that I'm pretty much free, Monday is the only bad day for me. And I guess one of the only reasons that I wouldn't be able to turn up is if I went into labour but am not due until the end of May and doubt that I will go early.
26-04-2006, 20:40
oh if we all get to come there will be a lot of preggy ones :D :D
what side of the city is everyone from as in the actual city will probably be a bit hard to find somewhere really suitable.... so see what side most ppl are from and then the closest most suitable location to the city perhaps?
I am easy, will travel
would prefer tuesdays...
Rock climbing indoor or out :no:
bowling sounds like fun :yes:
i am also up for a dinner no bubs.... :thumbsup:
should be fun miss everyone and cant wait to meet some newies
(preggos most welcome)
Chickadee
26-04-2006, 21:20
Is bowling ok for preggies and heavily preggies? I'm not sure on the twisting motion.
I have a Kids in Melbourne (or something like that) book that has a bunch of recommendations for playgrounds and indoor playcentres and will try to hit a few in the next week to check them out. I was thinking somewhere slightly east of the CBD would be convienient for most people coming from the southeast and from the north. Kew, St Kilda, etc sort of area.
27-04-2006, 11:02
How about Camberwell?
Try Rare Bears Playcentre in Toorak, it converts to a restaurant on the weekend: Rare Bears Playcentre and Café Separate play area for children under three, including car tracks, junior bouncing castle and ball pits. For the older children a rock-climbing wall, play structure with flying fox, slides and ball pits and a large jumping castle. Great-quality food at reasonable prices, with Rare Bears converting into a family restaurant (with a BYO licence) on Fri and Sat nights. Holiday hours: Mon-Tues 9am-6pm, Wed- Thurs 9am-7pm, Fri-Sat 9am-9pm, Sun 8.30am-7pm. $6.50 (over 5s), $5.50 (under 5s). 1134 Toorak Rd, Camberwell. Enq: 9889 9444.
Ana Gram
27-04-2006, 12:05
I'll keep my eye on this thread for sure! But wouldn't you know DD starts playgroup on Tuesday! So we would only be able to go anywhere in the afternoon adn that would depend on her mood.
Is bowling ok for preggies and heavily preggies? I'm not sure on the twisting motion.
You could roll me down the alley at the moment! I don't think that I would be able to bowl personally - the bowling ball that is supposed to be my baby, is somewhat restricting my movements. But if that is what other want to do and it is a kiddie affair too, at least you'll have a willing babysitter.
Travelling isn't really an issue for me either.
Fairyfloss
29-04-2006, 01:50
You could roll me down the alley at the moment!
I will keep you company:yes: , could barely lift the bowling balls before I was preggy, let alone now that I am forbidden by DH.
will have to confirm if can I make it or not once teh date is set, as I have to check my roster to see if I am working or not. would love to meet everyone again.:smiliedance:
I will be in on it too. Tuesdays and Thursdays are both fine for me and i'm happy to travel to most places.
Indoor rock climbing is out for me; as is bowling.:(
I will only be able to make it later in the month though so i will keep my eye on this thread for dates.:)
Paris...How are you travelling?
DNA...congratuations on the pregnancy...
Jake and I would love to come but Tuesdays and Thursdays are out as he's at creche both those days and I work Tuesdays...
Although if it works out that we do something without the kids then Thursday is fine with me.
Speak to you all soon.
Martha has a decision been made on location / date etc.. for the May meet?
Chickadee
04-05-2006, 15:05
Nope, no decision here. Mainly because I suspect that with the weather these days & kids along we'll need an inside option and I haven't had a chance to try out any playcentres :( So if anybody wants to nominate a location then that would be good. The Camberwell playcentre already suggested might be ok.
So far the best day for an daytime meet seems to be Thursdays, except for Shajake, and later in the month. May 27?
If anyone wants a dinner meet I'll leave it to someone else to sort out, as I probably won't be able go.
jembelina
04-05-2006, 22:30
Feel free to shoot me down for this, but..............maybe a decent maccas with a good playground and one of those mc cafe things??? It'll be free, semi indoors, and we can still get a coffee.
I completely understand if you all think this is a dumb idea (especially those with older kids who want to keep them as far away from maccas as possible!) but thought it couldn't hurt to suggest it anyway..........
04-05-2006, 22:35
maccas would be great (I love mccafe) but i really cant go near there while im pregnant.. having too much trouble with this diabetes and i imagine even the water there would have my sugar levels through the roof lmao
Might have to just count me out though if its not going to be for a while because end of the month things will be way to risky for me to be going out and about like that with all my preggy problems
so if something happens to get organised for fairly soon then I'll come, other wise have to be after bubs is born!
A girlfriend of mine has just told me that there is a Playdays in Doncaster which is supposed to be good. I don't know if that's too far out or not though.
Fairyfloss
07-05-2006, 12:29
Paris...How are you travelling?
I am most likely to drive my car, unless the location happens to be near my work or something why?:confused:
Thea`s mum
07-05-2006, 21:48
Hi!:o
Can anyone tell me were there is a meet? And are everyone welcome?
I think it would be fun to come. Just want to know were and when...:o :o
Hi Paris...I meant how are you feeling?
Dna...That's right there is one in Doncaster. There is also one in Hawthorn...But playcentres can get a bit pricy especially if there is more than one child coming...
Smurfette
09-05-2006, 22:25
Hey, how we going with a decision? Have we come up with anywhere yet. I am really keen. Tuesday or Thursday suits me. Location isn't a huge issue, I'm bayside so can travel a little while.
Chickadee
09-05-2006, 22:35
Ok then, I'll put a date and place up and if it doesn't suit then we can discuss changing it.
May 25, 10am. Rare Bears Play Centre, 1134 Toorak Rd, Camberwell. Enq: 9889 9444. See Charmzy's post, top of page 2, for more details.
I'll also be looking at taking DD to the farm at Coopers Settlement, Bundoora sometime in the next few weeks. Date will depend on weather forecasts and may be last minute, but if any northern mums want to join in we'd love the company.
Smurfette
09-05-2006, 22:53
Perfect for me, its in my diary. Yah, I'm sooo excited * and I just can't hide it* :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :confused:
well Thursdays were out for me :(
i am sure you guys will have a great time though
Chickadee
09-05-2006, 23:07
Tracey, Noooo! When you said Tuesdays were better I didn't realise it meant thursdays were out :(
Shall I put a poll up? Options of Tuesday 23, Thurs 25, Another weekday entirely, or lets do dinner?
Smurfette
09-05-2006, 23:12
I can do the Tuesday of that week if it suits. I'm happy to work around other people so we can get more mummys out there.
MissBrightside
09-05-2006, 23:16
The farm at Bundoora is great! Went there about a month ago was really good the kids enjoyed it!
Tuesdays are out for me but not sure if i could make it on a Thursday at the moment anyway got a few things on, so have fun and maybe I can come next month!
Chickadee
09-05-2006, 23:23
Ok, I've added a poll. You can pick more than one option, so if you can go any day then tick all of 1 & 2 & 3. If you want a dinner meeting then pick that too. If enough people are interested in different options then there's no reason there can't be multiple meetings.
Nicandbensmum - we've been there before too, but not for a few months. DD was pretending to feed imaginary chickens and horses at the park today, so I guess it's time for a return trip! I love feeding the lambs anyways :o
MissBrightside
09-05-2006, 23:25
It'd be great to have a dinner! Id love to get out without the boys for a night!
Ana Gram
09-05-2006, 23:35
I should be able to do this! Can't wait!
newbiesmum
10-05-2006, 14:23
Rare Bears on Tuesday or Thursday sounds great, especially with access to trams for a PT bound person like myself. I will make every effort to be there!:thumbsup:
I'm PT bound too, but Camberwell is pretty easy to navigate (and I might get a spot of shopping in afterwards!)
So yes, I'll be there.
Edited to say - public transport-wise - the number 75 tram goes right past it, and Burwood station on the Alamein line is closest. It's near the corner of Toorak and Camberwell Roads.
Fairyfloss
10-05-2006, 14:49
Hi Paris...I meant how are you feeling?
I so should have got this one, well my preggy brain working at full speed I suppose:laughing:
I am hanging in there, and thinking, where are all those promised good feeling and energy hormones are gone, they were suppose to be here a while ago when my second trimester started, oh well maybe they will come in the third one.:fingerscrossed: thanks for asking.
I voted fro dinner, cause have midwife appointment on 25th and the farm is a bit far for me. never the less have fun ladies:yes: , see you soon.
I voted for the Thursday but i can do Tuesday too. I didn't see that the poll was multiple answers sorry! :(
Rare Bears sounds great!!
sorry Martha should have been more clear...
11-05-2006, 19:17
Unlikely I can make it to either but tuesday is definitely out, ive got hosp appts and growth scan etc. Thursday the 25th is a slight possibility for me but again a probably not. Will see when it ends up for and come along if i can!
I didn't realise the poll was multiple voting...I voted for a different day but I'd love to do dinner as well...
Paris...I'm glad you're feeling good...How many weeks are you?
So what's the deal girls? Are we doing the Tuesday thing next week? Or the Thursday thing? I have to make some plans...
newbiesmum
15-05-2006, 16:10
Looking at the poll stats, looks like it might be Thursday...?
Chickadee
16-05-2006, 08:36
Thursday looks the most promising. So thurs 25 May at Camberwell. Sorry Tracey :(
If you click the numbers on the right you can see who voted for the other options, so if anyone else wants to organise a meet on the alternate days (or a dinner!), go for it!
newbiesmum
16-05-2006, 14:19
What time shall we meet on the day?
Chickadee
16-05-2006, 14:29
May 25, 10am.
at
Rare Bears Play Centre, 1134 Toorak Rd, Camberwell. Enq: 9889 9444. See Charmzy's post, top of page 2, for more details of the Centre.
newbiesmum
16-05-2006, 14:31
Thanks MarthaM!
I probably won't be able to make it until 11am.
newbiesmum
21-05-2006, 20:21
Bubby bump & I will be there Thursday given that there'll be no glitches or hitches beforehand. :smiliedance:
Chickadee
22-05-2006, 11:11
Angela, I'm sure I'll be there till 12 at least and hopefully a few others, so just come along when you can :)
Ana Gram
23-05-2006, 13:38
All set to meet some of you on Thursday, now all I have to do is get up early!
Hi Girls. I'll do my best to drag my troublesome toddler and my big bump along :D Looking forward to catching up with all the 'oldies' again and meeting everyone else.
Unfortunately Coban and I are unable to make it to the meet tomorrow.:no:
I hope you all have a great time and please let me know what the play centre is like as it does sound great.
Funkychicken
24-05-2006, 11:00
Will most likely be there. Looking forward to meeting the Melbourne bubhubbians!:)
MissBrightside
24-05-2006, 11:04
Id love to come but I'll have to see how far away it is!:detective:
Im hopeless with directions and Id probably get lost and take hours finding my way home again! :laughing: See how I go, if I dont show up Im either lost or chickened out!
Smurfette
24-05-2006, 12:48
Id love to come but I'll have to see how far away it is!:detective:
Im hopeless with directions and Id probably get lost and take hours finding my way home again! :laughing: See how I go, if I dont show up Im either lost or chickened out!
I hope you don't chicken out, will be great meeting you.
See you all tomorrow.
Funkychicken
24-05-2006, 17:46
OK I have just had a small moment of panic. How will I identify the group as a play centre is usually full of mums and bubs?
Good question Sal....
Martha is there an easy way people can identify the group...?
Perhaps a balloon??
I am still thinking of coming along....
Funkychicken
24-05-2006, 21:28
Or does the pink ribbon on the pram idea still stand?:)
oh even better idea Sal, go with that
ok i have decided that we are going to come along :D
see you all in the morning :smiliedance:
newbiesmum
24-05-2006, 22:48
If you see a preggers woman looking lost, it might me me! Don't be afraid to ask if somebody is a bub-hubber. See you there!:rolleyes:
I'll have the hot pink ribbon on my stroller too!
Ana Gram
24-05-2006, 23:22
I don't actually own anything hot pink, so I won't. But I don't think you will have much trouble working out who I am.
nothing pink !! I am so shocked Chelle !! ;)
Missed this post till today but unfortunately EJ and I wont be able to make it as EJ has a nasty cold.
Hope you all have a great time:)
Bummer Cathy, I was just wondering this morning if you were going to make it along. Maybe next time.
I still have some pink ribbons left over from our wedding hehehe, now at least I can use one of them again.
Maybe you could bring a spare bit for Chelle... for next time!! :laughing:
Ana Gram
25-05-2006, 09:53
Sorry guys, discovered the car with a flat this morning, so it's highly doubtful I am going to make it out there :crying:
Chickadee
25-05-2006, 14:39
Oh Chelle :( That's too bad, we missed you and your little girl :(
It was great to meet everyone this morning and all the kids running around. DD of course didn't want to leave and I was stuck there for an hour after you all left (I'm such a pushover, lol). And she still hasn't slept! aggggh.
Ana Gram
25-05-2006, 15:13
Oh Chelle :( That's too bad, we missed you and your little girl :(
She was very disappointed :(
thats such a bummer Chelle for you and your little one !
Hopefully next time
It was a great fun morning and great to meet many who i hadnt before :D
Samuel and Ethan had a ball and are both STILL sleeping :smiliedance:
Smurfette
25-05-2006, 15:56
Good afternoon ladies
Liv and I had a great time today and I wish she was still sleeping.She did sleep on the way home, but could really do with another hour or so. Oh well, long afternoon for us both.
It was great meeting you all today and I can't wait for the next one.
Funkychicken
25-05-2006, 18:10
I concur it was a great day! And by these posts I can assume everyone made it home again! I drove to Donvale afterwards and then back to school to collect my older two, so Hamish had a reasonably decent sleep in the car. We got home about 4.15, fed Hamish some fruit, a bit of boosie and he was asleep by 5.00pm.:sleeping:
Oh and the good news is...DH has gone out tonight so I can bubhub to my hearts content!:smiliedance:
MissBrightside
25-05-2006, 21:13
Hi everyone! We had a great time today!
Ben fell asleep before we even left the carpark!:laughing: Slept in the car for about half an hour till we got home. Woke up when I got him out. We had lunch then he had a nice 2 and a half hour sleep.
Mum came over and took Nicholas to the park then to visit my grandma, so I had a quiet arvo! Which was good I was exhausted after this morning.:laughing: Nicholas finally fell asleep at about 8:00 he was sooooo tired!
Sorry if I didnt talk to everyone, Im not real good at talking in person. Easier on the computer!:laughing:
check out some pics here :D
http://spaces.msn.com/ptsmckenzie/photos/?_c02_owner=1
MissBrightside
25-05-2006, 23:07
They are great pics Tracey! You are so organised. I still have pics of Ben and Nicholas somewhere on disks and the computer. I keep saying Im going to put them all together and get them printed one day!
thanks Sarah! but its not me being organised its me being obsessive LOL
Funkychicken
26-05-2006, 08:47
Thanks so much for taking those pics, Tracey. Once upon a time I took my trusty SLR everywhere and was always the piccy taker. Ahhh....the old days when I had a life.:laughing:
We had a great time too. Eloise slept for about 45 mins in the pram whilst I walked around Camberwell and then was awake the rest of the afternoon. I thought she'd really crack it later in the arvo, but we went over to PILs for a drink at 6pm and she stayed up - happy and laughing mind you - until we got home at 9pm. What a little trooper!!
Looking forward to the next meet now!!!
Great pics Trace!:yes:
Looks like you had a great time. I wish we were there.:crying: I almost didn't recognize Samuel though! When did you get his hair cut?
Great pics Trace!:yes:
Looks like you had a great time. I wish we were there.:crying: I almost didn't recognize Samuel though! When did you get his hair cut?
Oh Angela we missed you and Coban !!
and Zaka and Meshan and Bella28... where were you guys?? :(
hopefully next meet??
Angela i got his hair cut probably about a month ago now....
so sad just a regular little boy now (but still adorable !! :yes: )
thx for the photos posted!
I felt like I was there without being there!
Is anyone else's little one sick?
Eloise has been off colour ever since we went there, she's thrown up a couple of times, had a bit of diarrhoea, off her food.... a bit sleepy. Just not herself. Might take her to the doctor's if she's not better tomorrow.
Chickadee
29-05-2006, 17:04
All healthy here. I hope she feels better soon :( :(
Sorry I couldn't make it - Thursdays are impossible for us - but hopefully next time.
Would love to see you all again.
Is anyone else's little one sick?
Eloise has been off colour ever since we went there, she's thrown up a couple of times, had a bit of diarrhoea, off her food.... a bit sleepy. Just not herself. Might take her to the doctor's if she's not better tomorrow.
YES ! Samuel has been really off colour.. not physically ill but definantly not well, off his food and sleeping alot... let me know how you go at the doctors
poor little ones :thumbsdown:
Weird Tracey. That's how E has been too. She had diarrhoea again this afternoon and hasn't eaten anything major since Saturday. We have G&T's and cheese & crackers after work every night (like the good little 50's housewife that I am) and normally Eloise would hoof into the cheese and bikkies, but tonight she only nibbled at one and then gave it back to me. :thumbsdown: I'll let you know how I go. Got a doc's appointment on Wednesday but I'm going to try another surgery tomorrow to see if they've got a free spot to see her.
She woke up in a mess of vomit on Sunday morning, she'd thrown up during the night and not made a sound. :barf: Her head was covered in crusty chuck. And threw up again that afternoon after a short drive. She had two naps today - actually asked for milk and bed which is strange...
Sorry, I'm rambling, but I do worry because she gets sick so rarely. :o
Mamaduke
29-05-2006, 23:34
I'm now re-thinking my idea of having Lukey's birthday party at Rare Bears...:confused:
Oh I'm sure it was nothing - really. I'm SUPER paranoid about germs that's all, and those playcentres are rife with them!
Just don't do the party on the weekends because it's chockers. During the week it seems to be quieter. Listen to me the expert will you? I've been there once on a Thursday and once on a Saturday! :rolleyes:
Mamaduke
29-05-2006, 23:51
I'm now looking at Billy Lids in Hawthorn...any thoughts on that one - seeing as though you are the playcentre party queen!!!:p
Rach how is Eloise going?
Did you get in to see a doc
Samuel is still "out of sorts" and Ethan is too although he is teething so who knows there :rolleyes:
Mamaduke I've only every been to Rare Bears.... so sorry, can't help there. I have heard that Playdays is good though.
Tracey, Eloise had major diarrhoea ALL night/morning yesterday, and I tell you, it's the first time I've been close to throwing up from the smell. Oh my lordy, I literally gagged. :barf: And it's a horrible pale mustard colour (sorry for TMI).
I took her for a walk down to the chemist in the afternoon and we got a rehydration drink for her, which she drank a little of. She ate 5 pikelets for dinner last night - the first thing she's eaten since Saturday night - and she managed to keep them down. She's still asleep now so hopefully :fingerscrossed: she might be on the mend. She's just got big wind now - really loud but no poo!
I couldn't get a doctor's appointment until this afternoon so if she's still not good today, I'll keep the appointment, otherwise I'll just let it run it's course. I doubt the doctor will actually do anything anyway, other than what I've already done.
And last night I got the hot/cold shiver thing and felt like absolute cr@p so I hope I'm not coming down with whatever it is too. I was in bed with the electric blanket on 3 and still shivering at 8.30 last night. Feel a little better today though.
I hope little Sam doesn't get any worse. :no: :hugs:
Tracey, Eloise had major diarrhoea ALL night/morning yesterday, and I tell you, it's the first time I've been close to throwing up from the smell. Oh my lordy, I literally gagged. :barf: And it's a horrible pale mustard colour (sorry for TMI).
OH NO!! Poor Eloise and poor you !!! :(
Funnily enough i wouldnt say Ethan or Samuel have diarrhoea but both have had more poo's than usual and "soft" poos and a very pale colour!!
It must be a similar thing they have but seems like poor Eloise has copped the brunt of it ...
Do you remember how bad the change room smelt when we were in there??
Perhaps the person just before us had the sick bub?
I think i'll be sticking with Playdays from now on....
I hope she feels well soon and i REALLY hope you avoid it!!
Yep, I'm tipping that the change room had some type of germ... although I used a change mat and so did you. :confused:
I just had the grossest experience. She woke up from her nap just before and promptly had a big sloppy poo. Not 10 minutes later she tells me again - poo poo mummy - so I plonk her up on the change table, reach up to the waist band of her pants, pull them down, only to feel a warm slimy feeling on my hand. Her nappy has gone and leaked stinky, slimy, pale yellow sludge - ALL - OVER - MY - HAND! :barf: The stench was unbearable. OMG. She's gone straight in the bath, her clothes went straight into the laundry trough. There was poo everywhere! OK I'm going to stop now before everyone starts :barf: .....
Thanks for that Rach....
:barf:
dont worry i am sure most of us have had the "poo on the hand" experience....
no fun for anyone...
I really hope she feels better soon
MissBrightside
31-05-2006, 18:14
Both my boys have been fine! Nothing worse than when the kids are sick. Yup Ive had poo on my hand too! Lots of times!:barf:
I reckon they should provide that disinfectant spray to use on the changetable at those places.
Hope you are all feeling well soon.