View Full Version : Oct 06 Mums - August Chat
Boy it's quiet in here - do we even need an August thread?:D
Had a lovely night out with my mum's group last night. Funny, I had booked a restaurant for 8 people, and 5 of them pulled out on Friday:mad: They all had valid reasons of course (well we are a group of mums after all!) and I ended up meeting the other two somewhere completely different, as it was closer to them - and it was fantastic. Had a blast, and the restaurant was just so lovely. The best laid plans and all that!
Hope it is warmer somewhere out there. It's August and I'm tired of winter!
Bec.
I'm still here Bec :D
Glad you enjoyed your night out last night, even though most of the mums pulled out. My mother's group keeps on saying that we need to organise a mum's night out, it's just something that we've never done. We've always gone out with partners and/or kids. The dad's even keep saying that they'll organise a night out soon...so we've got to get in first.
DH has gone skiing this weekend, with my brother and his g/f and her BIL. They decided on Monday that they were going to go this weekend. They thought to Mt Hotham. Then the idea of Threadbo was tossed around on Wednesday. Then they went back to Hotham (this is my brother mind you, everyone else was happy to go to Hotham). Well on Thursday he suggested going to NZ, dh thought he was joking. Yesterday morning when I left for work they were still undecided as to where they were going. I got a ph call at recess (11am) to say that they were going to NZ and that they were leaving on a 6.30pm flight. That meant that they had to be at the airport by 4.30pm and we live over an hour away from the airport. Which meant that I wouldn't see him until Monday night when they got home. Needless to say I was not happy about the whole thing. I swear if he ever brings up me spending money uneccesarily again, I think I'll deck him :laughing: I've never come close to spending the amount of money on anything for me like he has on skiing in the last week (he bought new ski clothes etc last weekend). All I can say is that he better bring me back something good from duty free ;)
So today I have to take Eloise to her swimming lessons (not taking Lara because I don't have bathers that fit, plus I would look like a whale in the water and she still has a cold). Then I'm going to take the girls shopping and spoil us all...again if dh says anything, he'll be in big trouble. Might even pull the breadmaker out and make our own pizza for dinner tonight.
The pregnancy is going well. I'm almost 25 weeks now, so getting close to the GTT and anti-d injections again. The baby seems to be a bit less active than Lara, so hopefully that translates to a calmer/easier baby :fingerscrossed: One of my girlfriends was due yesterday with her #3, and we haven't heard anything yet. I was expecting the call yesterday because both of her dds were born on their due dates.
Well girls enough of my rambling. Hope you all have a great weekend...
GeorgiaAnne
02-08-2008, 13:25
lol Sare on your dh's manouevre to NZ. Mine pulls stunts like that too and I just smile sweetly and then get away with my own murder ;):p Yummo, freshly made pizza, that sound good
Bec - Glad you had a good night with the girls. I was thinking of you last week when I went to the wallabies v all backs with my kiwi dh :D Let's hope we thrash them again tonight!
Nice quiet weekend planned here. Sophia had some croup last night and was really struggling for breath so I rang up emergency and they said to bring her in. So we got her ready and then put her on our bed while we got dressed then she fell asleep on our bed so we just stayed at home. It was pretty awful though and the more upset she got, the harder it was for her to breathe. She seems cool today but apparently it is the worst at night.
:wave: everyone,
I'm going to apologise in advance and not even go back into the July thread to try and catch up!!
Bec - Good to hear you had a great night out! I can't remember the last time I went out with a group of friends! I went out by myself last Monday night, as I'd had enough of DH. Took myself to the pokies and won $250!!
Sare - Ditto...sounds like something DH would do!! Men always seem to be able to make the plans they wish, and spend any amount of money without a care in the world don't they? Make sure you spoil yourselves ROTTEN!! I would, for sure! 25 weeks already? Wow! Monet seemed a little less active then the boys, I must say. She really only started becoming full on active at around 30 weeks. Hope you hear some news from your friend soon - baby news is always sooo exciting!
Georgia - Sounds like last night was a little scary for you. I've been told that if something like that happens when a child has croup, to rug them up and take them outside in the night air. Sounds stupid, I know, but it really does work! J was really sick with it whilst I was pg, and I tried it as he started sounding like you described Sophia. Took him outside for 10 minutes, and he slowly stopped coughing, got his breath back, and stoped wheezing, falling asleep in my arms. I hope your little darling is feeling 100% really soon!!
My little princess is just starting to wake, so best make this quick.
Monet slept 8 hours last night, woke for a feed, drank only 1 side, then slept again for another 6 hours. Fed only one side again, as they were so
bl00dy full, then slept another 4 hours. I hope it continues like this, but now I've said that, she's probably just going through some sort of growth spurt!! She is sure getting very chubby cheeks now, lol!
J is doing well, although still not saying too much. He has the occasional new word, but kost of the time, it's just whinging and whining until he gets what he wants - quite frustrating really!
My lil sis decided to come home from the USA early, and arrived back on Tuesday. She got to finally meet Monet, it was lovely to have her run inside straight to her. Her partner proposed to her the following night, so it's been a very exciting week!
Not much else to report I don't think. DH goes back to QLD this coming Wednesday, so the challenge will begin. Can I do it, by myself, with 4 children aged 5 and under?? The answer to this, will be revealed next week....lol!!
Ok, well her crying is getting a little more desperate now, so I guess I better feed her....
No scan today, so don't get too excited - I rescheduled to Friday so DP could come!
Sarah - good work going out by yourself, I have often thought about doing that! We are horsey betters rather than pokies though. In fact Dad's horse won on Friday, it was the favourite but still won DP $60!
Georgia - boy you went to the right game, I forgot to watch the game as I had a mate visiting, turned it on after she left and nearly died at the score:eek: Poor Sophia with the croup. My friend at work's daughter gets it fairly regularly, lots of midnight trips to emergency.
Sare - can't complain about the pullouts, as I forgot someone was coming and didn't ring her about the venue change:( some tremendous guilt now, she'll probably never speak to me again.
That is the only good thing about DP's being idiots with money... I now have what I call my "pub money", ie whatever he spends on grog/bets on the weekend, I get to spend however I like! Massages and clothes :D Hope you had a lovely shop. So you're RH neg blood type too?
Michelle - I loved it when Ella figured out the slippery dips with no help...lots less labour intensive for Mummy! Speaking of Mummy - it gets less fun as a word when that's their "whinge word". Doesn't matter what Ella's not happy about...it's "Mohm-meeee" in the loudest saddest tones she can summon!
Bye!
No scan today, so don't get too excited - I rescheduled to Friday so DP could come!
Oooohhhh....I was coming on here for some news. Just have to wait until Friday now.
Dh arrives back home tonight. I'm still not happy with him. I like the idea of what you spend, I spend Bec, but he has spent a small fortune on skiing in just over a week and our savings would take a serious beating if I did that. That being said though, I did buy the girls and I a top each and the girls both got to choose a new toy and I got them a gorgeous coat stand for their bedroom (which I intend to do up whenever Lara's bed decides to arrive). Then yesterday I splurged and bought myself a $65 moisturiser when I was at the Chemist. Not something I would normally do, but I thought why the hell shouldn't I? I've also left the house in a bit of a state and thought bugger it, he can clean it, I've had a busy enough weekend keeping my 2 girls entertained :laughing: Not spiteful at all am I? :laughing:
Sarah - What a nice surprise having your sister come home early. I hope you enjoy your last few days with your dh. I am sure that you will do a great job with all 4 of your kids. when you're up to it, we'll ahve to arrange a Melb meet, so we can meet your beautiful little girl.
Georgia - What a horrible scare for you guys. I hope Sophia is feeling better now. Love the names Jeremy and Felix by the way.
Hope everyone is well...:flowerz:
SalTheGal
05-08-2008, 11:01
Hi All....it's interesting how it always takes me a few days of a new month and thinking we are quiet to put two and two together and realise we have a new thread! :doh:
Got a message from Marion to announce her 4th bub Iona arrived 23rd July by C-Section 9lb4oz. All is going well and she said Logan has settled into being a big brother well too.
Not much to report here- I am working this morning then heading to the local Races here in Ballarat to watch 'our' racehorse run its first real race (I think we own about half of the tail!!). Apparently the trainer thinks she is definitely a chance for a place...so I'll put $10 on her and :fingerscrossed:...it's all a bit of fun if nothing else!
Have Nedd booked into the Paeds sleep nurse on Monday, so hopefully she will have some answers for us....I have been doing more research and have found heaps on the net about children with sleep problems who either 'body rock' or 'head bang' which is Nedd to a T (not the Paeds initial diagnosis- but I was always dubious about that anyway) ...apparently 30% of infants will do it, mostly boys and it usually doesn't stop till they are 4yrs old. :eek: But its been great to find heaps of info out there, I don't feel so alone.
Sare- pooh to you DH (but I must admit I am so jealous!!!) Make sure you milk it for all its worth. :p
Sarah- So glad to hear Monet is being an angel...hope it continues. Goodluck with your DH going back up north. I will be in Geelong next week (have been trying to get there for weeks now!), expect a PM!!
Georgia- How is Sophia? I hope she clears up soon, croup is so so horrible for them to go through isn't it.
My DH is in bed today with the FLU- and I can actually say it is pretty bad, had to drag him out of bed this morning to change the sheets as he had drenched them- it was lovely to be woken at 6.30 this morning by him groggily telling me he had wet himself :eek: After clarifying I was rather relieved to find he meant sweatyness wise!!
OK, thats all from me, mainly just wanted to pass on Marions news. Take care all! :goodvibes:
GeorgiaAnne
05-08-2008, 11:28
Congratulations to Marion :yelclap:
Sal - Yucko on the wet sheets, you're a nice wife changing the sheets! Good luck with your horsey today, it'll be in the Melbourne cup before you know it!
Sare - Glad you spoiled yourself a bit, you DEFINITELY deserve it.
Bec - Roll on Friday! What do you think?
Sarah - Good luck with your 4 when dh goes, we're all here if you need a whinge! But as i've said before, i'm pretty sure you're superwoman :smiliedance:
Sophia is a bit better now but decided that 5:45 was uppity time today as she was screeching and arching like she was in pain so I brought her to our bed to see if she would settle down with a doddle as soon as I walked out to make it, she was laughing with dh the cheeky little so and so, so I was definitely had!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
05-08-2008, 18:39
hi :wave: not much time to post.
i thut keanu had croup...but am not sure...think it could be asthma/hyper reactive airways related...have a doctors appt tomorrow anyways!!!
i am well...all is good here, except keanu is basically refusing to eat! he had brekky (whatever DP gave him) a cruskit for lunch....and all as he has had are a few milk arrowroot bikkies and doritos....so i am wondering if he isn't eating cos he isn't 100%...BUT other than that he is fine, happy as....??!!
Congrats Marion
everyone else sorry for no personals... :hugs:
diesal444
07-08-2008, 06:23
Mornin ladies :wave:
Wow it feels like ages since I posted here.
I have definitly been reading posts just wanting a good amount of time to write.
Sare - Nice life for your DH to being able to whip off to NZ at a moments notice. I can see how you would be a little mad although I am extremely jealous:laughing:
Georgia - Glad to hear Sophia's croup didnt get too bad. Not so great at the 5.45am uppity time. You definitly got rolled there luvvy.
Sarah - How wonderful is Monet sleeping 8 hours at such a young age. :fingerscrossed: she keeps it up for you. I am sure you being the superwoman/mum will cope just fine without your DH. Sometimes its harder work having them around then not....:p
Sal - Your PINK.....When did this happen?... I really am slow at times...:o
Hope your racehorse won and you got back lotsa money..
Congrats to Marion :smiliedance: on the arrival of Iona
Bec - Glad you have an awesome time out with the girls. Looking forward to haering about your scan tomorrow.
So we are all going ok here. Really hating my bosses at work atm, so much so that I had a few dreams of me yelling and screaming at then..hehe
Darcy is her usual wonderful self. Her words have really come along in the last week. Nothing like some of your bubs, but I am really happy as it was getting a bit worrying. At least now she is trying to mimmick what your saying.
This may be TMI, but i am a bit concerned about Darcy and her pooing. She really has struggled over the last few days to the point of screaming and needing help IYKWIM.
I soaked some prunes over night and added the water to her water cup, she isnt real impressed with the taste but I would really like to try and get her regular again.
Our house is SLOWLY coming along. I really dont remember the first house taking this long, but I supposed I am just a tad impatient.
Well I hope everyone has a great day, and a wonderful weekend!!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
07-08-2008, 09:49
Georgia - must be the week for Croup - keanu had it 2 nights in a row....i noticed the 2nd night he was having slight difficulty breathing...but not bad enough to worry, so i kept an eye on him...he was fine (unlike the last bout of breathing difficulties...we were admitted, he was on steroids to open the airways, and ventolin to help him breath...YES VERY SCAREY!!!!). while we were getting ready and waiting for the amulance keanu was on our bed....he fell off...so that was a great addition to the mix lol. last time it wasn't croup tho as he didn't sound like a seal - the bark :laughing: it isn't nice. how is she feeling now??
ke is fine....! he has been sooooo GREAT! so well behaved...touch wood!
will check in later at some point. i am starving!
:hugs: to all.
GeorgiaAnne
07-08-2008, 12:30
Jac - Poor Keanu :hugs: I hope he's better tonight poor sausage
Sal -Ooh we'd better behave now you're a mod ooh errrr!!!!
Mary - Anne - Great to hear from you, sorry your bosses suck but at least you get some release in your dreams lol. Sophia also doesn't talk much but is getting a bit better too. Re: constipation, is she drinking enough water? I find when Sophia's a bit dry the poo gets quite hard?
My daughter is really very testing at the moment and everything is a struggle. I even had a cry y'day arvo (which is SO not like me) but maybe some pg hormones too? Everything is just a struggle and she just doesn't seem as happy as usual. Day care have said she is very happy and fine so maybe she's sensing a change with the new baby coming? She is just crying and screaming/wailing it is really getting me down :(
Hey Kimba, you still out there luvvy? We miss you and Jet!
Jackie - get Keanu to do the lecture circuit, telling other toddlers how to behave.
maryanne - Abbey only had that type of difficulty once and it was horrible to watch. Maybe you could disguise the prunes/juice in her regular food.
Georgia - manipulative little so and sos aren't they? Where do they learn it?
Sal - did your horsey place? Or better yet, win? Yes, why are you pink? Are you a mod now? Not that I have a problem with authority, but now I have to :raspberry: you.
Sarah - how are you finding it on your own now? Helps that Monet is a good sleeper I'm sure.
My darling girl has started saying 'solly mummy' when she injures me, and giving me a kiss afterwards. Not because she actually feels guilt, but because I refuse to play with her until she does. Of course, she just hurts me again a few minutes later.
Cracked me up laughing the other morning, I was in here ignoring her while she watched her morning tv. She started making her help help help noise, the kind which meant she was stuck or her toy was stuck. I ignored her for 10 minutes deciding to wait until she used her words to request help. I finally gave in and checked on her. She was standing on the tv cabinet, unable to get down, and unable to see her show! And with poopy pants. I'm such a neglectful mother.
She has started climbing everything! I know the boys have been doing it for ages but Abbey wasn't a climber and was too wussy to try. Not anymore, she's a big girl.
She learns a whole bunch of new words each day, repeats new words after me and uses them later in her sentences. Today we learned clowns are scary. And everything belongs to her. Mine. mine. Mine. Mine. Not posessively, just stating a fact.
Sleeps have been going really well, in her bed until early in the morning and then coming to my bed on her own, or just appearing next to me when I wake up if I'm really out of it. But for the past couple nights she has escaped her bed from around 9.30 and sneaking up to my door to peer in, holding her teddy and looking so adorable. Pity I'm not actually in bed yet and she gets escorted back to her own. Its a great game that I'm getting rather sick of.
Housework awaits.
Georgia - You've done well to last so long before having a pregnancy breakdown. I have heaps of them already. I've been so teary this pregnancy. Maybe it is just as you said, that Sophia senses something different is happening and she is reacting to that. Does she have any idea about what's going on. Lara has no idea :rolleyes:
Jackie - Sorry Keanu hasn't been well. There must be some seious bugs going around this winter. Lara and I both havinbg really bad coughs and she has a cold to boot. If it doesn't clear up over the weekend, then we're off to the drs on Monday.
Mary-Anne - Sorry to hear that you are still having hassles at work. Are you still working the horrible times that you didn't like? Great news about Darcy's speech. She'll soon be talking your ears off. Lara babbles heaps, but the one thing she talks about consistently are the bl00dy fairies and Barnaby the busy buzzy bee. Drives me nuts :laughing:
Sal - Look at you all bright pink. I got a message from Marion on Facebook too. She sounded like she was in total shock that she had a girl as her pregnancy was so similar to Logan's. She also said that she'd put some pictures on Facebook in the next few days if she gets the chance.
Good luck at the paed. Did you end up moving Nedd into a bed?
Not much going on here, except for sicknesses. Nothing too serious just colds/coughs. Lara bed arrives tomorrow, so we'll see how we go. Eloise was straight into a big bed, but I'm not sure that Lara will be so easy. Plus they will be sharing a room, so that will be interesting. I just hope that sharing with Eloise will make bedtime easier on us all. She's started screaming when we put her to bed and last night it was on and off for 1.5hrs until I finally relented and went in to sit with her. I swear she lay down when I sat down and was asleep with a minute, the poor sausage. Does anybody elses toddler do that? Lara jumps up and down crying whenever we leave her in her cot...it's quite funny actually.
Bec - Good luck with your scan tomorrow - ours is next Thursday and I can't wait!!
Sal & Bec - So much fun having horses. I grew up next to racecourse in the country where my dad was president and I love betting on the horses. Haven't done much lately but looking forward to some better weather and going to have a family day out. I would love to own a horse (even if it is just a tail) - my dad used to own one and we talked about owning another one one day but that all went out the window when he dies. I still want to get one one day - DH is not so supportive of it though!
Georgia - how far along are you now? Musn't be too far. Kayley is a little PITA sometimes...
Michelle - Kayley has the climbing bug too. She climbed up on the back of the chair before to get to the cat and fell off flat on her face on the tiles - not a happy chappy - doesn't help that she hasn't slept today!
Georgia/Jackie - Scary about the croup. Our CC sent Kayley home early on Tues with suspected Hand Foot and Mouth disease but she checked out fine at the docs - there is a confirmed case though. I just hope she doesn't get chickenpox as I am not immune.
Sare - I am still getting in the pool and will as long as I can - I don't care so much how fat I look as I have an excuse!! Kayley goes down fine sometimes and chucks a tanty other times - I have no idea what sets her off sometimes!
Sal & Mary-Anne - where are your houses up to? I went to have a look at mine earlier and we are getting our internal walls put in (plasterboard) but are still not at lock up as we don't have a front door, a door to the garage or our doors to the balcony upstairs.
Well I have to run. Take care everyone.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
07-08-2008, 17:05
sare, hopefully you two are on the mend soon :hugs:
m_jelly - re the lecture talk...he was soooo noit behaving 2.5 weeks ago....i was to the point of crying - i was exhausted, mentally, physiclaly and emotionally....but we are both much happier now :)
how cute with the 'solly mummy' that is adorable!! Glad the sleeping is going well!
:hugs: to all
SalTheGal
07-08-2008, 19:26
Evening all...yep well pink...so you all better watch your p's and q's and if you do wanna push the boundaries, well I am always open to cash bribes! :p
Should be interesting, as if I don't spend enough time on here. :rolleyes:
Well on this front:
DH is a bit more human finally- I have never seen anyone hit so hard by the flu, he pretty much had 48hrs in bed sweating and sleeping.
Nedd is good- he is actually drawing out his day sleep longer and longer for some reason- up to three hours, thus going to sleep later- which I do not like, so I think I am going to start putting time restrictions on arvo sleeps. We put him down at night at 8sharp- but some nights he isn't actually going to sleep till 9ish.
He is obsessed at the moment with pulling the couch apart and making tunnels with the cushions. Has also discovered piggy backs, and yep Michelle he has worked out 'mine' also- just putting his label on everything, particularly any pictures that are on his tops!
Our horse was a great big fat flop!! She started out a while ago being a right little b!tch and couldn't even get in the barriers, so she was sent to a different trainer to calm her down, I think he has gone too far, she came last and apparently the jockey said she was so lazy and didn't have any interest in running. The trainer wants to try her one or two more times, and then if she doesn't improve he thinks we should throw the towel in. :no:
Beck- our house is up to lock up, brickies finished today, plasterers started yesterday, and it is looking FANTASTIC!!! (if I do say so myself) but after plaster is up we have to do a lot of the next stuff ourselves- flooring, kitchen, bathrooms and heaps of little stuff, so we will slow right up over the next month or so. I am just so excited though- this is easily (apart from Nedd) the biggest single thing I have ever done so its a pretty big deal!!
Sare- goodluck with Lara in the bed, I think you might be right about her and Eloise helping each other get to sleep by being in the same room- I hope so anyway for your sake!! We ran out of time to get Nedd's bed last weekend- and I think I will wait now till I speak to the pead on monday.
Michelle- that is SO cute re the 'solly mummy' We totally bribe Nedd for cuddles and kisses now too, anytime he wants something we take the oppurtunity to trade it for a cuddle, its lovely. He accidently slapped me in the face yesterday, and poor thing was more upset that I was I think, he gave me the biggest squeezy hug after it.
Maryanne- I only became pink today so you aren't that slow!! Glad to hear Darc is still being her usual adorable self. And poo to your bosses, I really hear you on the hating work stuff....if only there was a simple magic solution!
Gosh I have totally rambled...hope everyone is well, and the sickies (Sare) are better soon.
Take care. :goodvibes:
diesal444
08-08-2008, 08:39
Mornin ladies :wave:
Brrr...It's soooo cold. It looks like such a beautiful day outside. Sun shining, blue skies.. but so bl00dy cold.
Georgia - I hear you on our toddlers being testing. I am not even pregnant and there are times when I just wanna scream at her. Mainly at eating times...
Michelle - Great idea on disguising the prunes in her food. Thanks for that, would never have crossed my mind to do that. "solly mummy" very cute:yes:
Sare - Hope you are all feeling better in your household. How was DH's ski trip?? Sorry to hear Lara has been a pain at bedtime :fingerscrossed: things change when the girls are sharing a room.
Beck - The house...well its going kinda slow:rolleyes:. It is at lock up and my kitchen and vanities are in but it has been at this stage for a bout 2 weeks and we are getting a little impatient. Hope your house moves along quicker then mine.
Sal - Glad to hear DH is feeling better. We have a bit of a player in the cot at night as well. We have a bedtime of 6.30 but normally I can still hear her singing/babbling/laughing till about 7pm. I dont bother going in there as she doesnt cry at all and will always fall asleep eventually. Sorry to hear your horse didnt run a great race.
Had an ok night at work last night, although my leading hand was a ball breaker and pushed and pushed. :banghead:
Darcy has decided to turn into the devil when it comes to eating time. She really doesnt want a bar of food ATM. She doesnt want us to feed her, she dosnt want to feel herself, she just wants to make this noise liike someone is torturing her. My mum suggested maybe its teeth and she doesnt want to chew... What do you think?
Okies best be off, have to do some washing and ironing and cooking and get my stuff ready for work this arvo... xxxx
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
08-08-2008, 09:10
keanu has been EXACTLY the same with food. i am wondering what he is living on.
last night he was so restless...kept waking...to vomit at 7am this morning in his bed...so may be a tummy bug. he tried eating pancakes and really wanted to, but his body must have been telling him not to.....:no:
had better run.
have a great weekend everyone!
Re: Food - J is being a little poo at meal times too!! He is just refusing to eat, pushing the bowl back at me, telling me "No", or "No more". Frustrating!! Oh, but he's happy to eat all of the WRONG stuff!!
Re: Devilish children - Yep, happening here too! J really needs to start using his words and stop his whining...it's driving me mad! He hasn't had a new word for ages now, although he did make a pig sound for the first time last night. So cute.
:smiliedance: for you all with houses on the move! Must be very exciting. We have a meeting with the bank at the end of next week for some financial advice re: buying a house, so that should be interesting.
I'm just so flat out, I really don't get much time to get online anymore - the kids just pester me badly when I do. I'll try to pop back in tonight or over the weekend sometime. Hope all is good, Sarah
Ok Bec...where are you??? :detective: Wanting to hear your news.
re food - Lara has her moments. I just go with the flow with her, one day she will like something, the next she won't She sounds like Jarvis though Sarah , loves all the foods she shouldn't (bit like her mummy :laughing:). She is wanting to feed herself, which I don't mind most times.
Jackie - Hope Keanu is on the mend.
Mary-Anne - Dh enjoyed the snow, all 230cm of it :eek:. He said that it's so much better conditions over there and everythings heaps cheaper (I think he said lift passes were about $55AU a day)
Sal - That's a fun stage when they start playing with the furniture, making cubby houses etc. Not fun to clean up though. Lara says mine all of the time too, unfortunately she does say it possesively. She's always claiming Eloise's toys as her own.
Beck - Great news about your house. When have you guys been told that you are likely to take possession?
Well I feel even worse today. I was up heaps last night coughing what felt like a lung up. I went to work and left as soon as I could (3.30pm) My boss was alright about that because she knew how ugh I have been. I now have the cold to go with the cough too....lucky me hey? Dh is picking up one of those roast dinners from Red Rooster for dinner, so the girls still get veggies and I'll throw some zucchini in the microwave (Lara's loving zucchini at the moment). Then I'm going to curl up on the couch and see if I can stay awake for the Olympic Games opening ceremony...not liking my chances though.
Hope you all have a great weekend.
Sorry girls - didn't mean to leave you hanging.
Well the sonographer wasn't 100% sure, as the bub had their legs tucked up when we were trying to look, and could be hiding something but "she thinks we'll be joined by a little lady in the family!" So it's a GIRL (probably:))
So Kate Mary, hello in there!
All healthy and measuring to dates. It was so cute, they could hardly get her(?) to stay still long enough to take the pics! Very obligingly stretched the legs right out to take those measurements though - it was quite startling to see those looooong legs poked out, especially as Ella was a curled up little bundle for all of her pics!
OK I will go back and read some more now, BBL for some more chat.
Congratulations Bec. Two girls are great. The gap between your girls and mine (we've got 25 months) will be similar. Eloise and Lara have so much fun playing together, it's lovely to watch.
Didn't see the opening ceremony and I missed the replay because dh let me have a sleep in this morning, so I managed 12 hrs of broken sleep. Don't feel much better for it though, the headcold has well and truly taken hold of me.
diesal444
11-08-2008, 06:33
Mornin ladies, :wave:
Hope everyone had a great weekend, trying to stay warm.
I had a lovely day yesterday. DP got up to Darcy and I kept sleeping and didnt get out of bed till 10.30:eek:. Although I didnt finish work will 11.30pm the night before. Then I took my mum shopping for a few hours, then one of my besties come over with her DP last night and we got pizza and had a few drinks.
Re: The house. Things are not going so well. DP went there on Saturday to take pictures of things he is not happy with in the brickwork and wants fixed. We emailed them all the pics and a lovely message pretty much saying there will be no more money changing hands until its fixed.
My DP is very particular, but when he showed my the photos I was shocked at the sloppy and careless job.
My little cheeky girl has been ok, she has a tiny bit of a wet nose, but doesnt seem to be too bothered by it. She threw a bit of a tanty at Target yesterday, coz my mum let her out of the stroller(who knows why???:rolleyes:) and I tried to put her back in. She didnt like that at all and let me know about it. Very defiant girl.
Bec - :smiliedance: on another girl (maybe). How fantastic! I would love another girl if I have another, even though I wanted a boy so bad with Darcy.
Ok I best give my girl some breakie, then going to hang out with my 2 friends for coffee for the morning.
Have a great week all :)
Its so hard being 2yo. Concepts like soon, and in x sleeps just don't work. My dad was here a little while ago and told her he would be back in 9 sleeps, but of course she can't count, so every couple days she wakes up and asks if today is granddad day. Sorry, but no, few more sleeps. Anytime I say we will do something soon she remembers that grandad is also soon and asks about him.
This morning I told her we were going to see someone and she guessed straight away it was her cousin bailey and insisted I open the door to let him in. Soon. Grandad bailey open door!
Sorry sweetie! :kiss:
We've been working on colours since she seems a bit spesh in that area. Things are usually yellow or green. When I correct her she just calls everything that colour instead. I know colours are taught in preschool but I figure if she can recognise letters she should be able to recognise colours too.
She also has this notion that she can answer for me and it still means yes. She will go to the cupboard and get the biscuits, bring them to me and say 'spishus? Alright'. I have no idea why they are called spishus, probably because I tell her she is suspicious whenever she's in the cupboard, but just because she says alright doesn't make it so!
Maryanne - that sleep in sounds lovely! I couldn't do it even if someone took abbey, I'm broken. I used to be able to sleep all day given the opportunity :crying: Now I wake up at 6am and get fidgety until Abbey sits on my head and starts playing.
Boo to your builders! You must be so mad, I would be. A house is such a huge thing to settle for less than good work. Thats the whole point of building, getting things exactly as you want them.
We have pram tanties too, I tell her too bad and force her back in. It helps if I can sidetrack her by telling her we are going to a different shop or up to the play area. She will often stop struggling and do herself up, babbling about our new destination.
Bec - a girl, ohh :cloud9: They will have such fun together. I like the name too.
Sare - hope you're feeling better and dh has continued to take care of you. Lara still lets you feed her? If I try that I end up with food on the wall as she grabs the spoon off me.
Abbey climbs up into her chair, requests dinner, requests my dinner too, eats both of them (or plays in them), and usually has more than one spoon on the go. The other day she had 3 spoons stacked up, layered rice bubbles!
Sarah - another new houser, exciting!
Jackie - is Keanu feeling better yet? Abbey hasn't vomited since she was teeny and I really dread the first time. Especially if its on me.
Sal - cutting their nap short is surprisingly entertaining. You can finally indulge those desires to poke him and tickle him while he's asleep. I wake abbey up by opening the curtains and then sometimes touch my nose to hers, so funny when she opens her eyes and gets a fright.
Hmm, I wonder if our sleep problems have a source...
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
11-08-2008, 09:28
:wave: girls!!
hope everyone had a fantastic weekend!! we did....it was great, we got a :bfp: (tested again this morning and got another) so very exciting! we weren't really trying last month...had parents here and just weren't focusing on it...so i really felt it wasn't our month...until about 3 days before i was due for AF...i was CRAVING salami....omelette....and had felt icky (thinking i had keanus tummy bug).....so then i started to wonder? and kinda felt yep i was. made DP go get a test Sunday morning..held my wee in lol (sorry if TMI)....so we are very excited...a little scared....but i am sure that will pass.....excited none-the-less!!
keanu is ok.....the vomiting passed...he layed in his rocker all day then the next day was back to normal, altho he has really only started to eat today (fhe ate brekky - which is GREAT)....
Sleep in's are great....DP usually gets up to keanu each morning, he is an early person...and i do night duty lol
Woo hoo Jackie - sticky vibes your way!
SalTheGal
11-08-2008, 12:29
:smiliedance: Jackie, thats awesome news!!! Goodluck, and hope the MS doesn't hit too hard. :fingerscrossed: This is the month for all of us TTC.
I went out Sat night.....Mum had Nedd for the night and I went out for dinner with a GF, Lloyd stayed home still trying to recover from his flu. Well what was meant to be a quiet dinner and an early night turned into a BENDER>....I got home at 5.30am!!! :eek:
But I had such an awesome night, I really didn't want it to end!! And figured it may be the last time I get to enjoy it for a while. But boy did I pay for it yesterday, I had already promised to help out at the house, so Lloyd held me to that promise and had me in the car by 9am....grrr, he didn't have to start that early, but did so just to make me suffer! Luckily Nedd had a 3hr day sleep, so I caught up a bit then, and then in bed by 8.30 last night!!
We had out Paed app this morning, and alas he has no real suggestions, I have made a trip to clark rubber to invest in some thicker heavier duty foam to line the cot and he insists that we really have to learn to block him out and ignore it....a few other things to try but nothing really amazing. Although we are going to dose him up with Vallergen 3 nights running in the hope of breaking the cycle, which he thinks may work, but I hate the thought of 'drugging' my child to get him to sleep.:gloomy:
Bec- Awesome news on a little girl :cloud9: How exciting for you- and especially for Ella. She will love having a little sis.
Nedd is being a bit of a monster with his eating too....wants all the wrong things, but he gets what he is offered and thats it, and he is starting to learn this. He is also starting to get the concept of "two" more mouthfuls etc etc. So we can usually bargian with him.
Michelle- I hear you on the concepts of soon etc. My Parents recently went on a holiday for 2.5 weeks, and Nedd couldn't understand why Nanna wasn't looking after him once a week, he knows that by the end of the week he goes to Mums, and every morning I would take him to Daycare, and he would ask for Nanna...how to explain that she was away on a holiday, it broke my heart!!
Nedd knows red and yellow (red for the wiggles car and yellow for taxis-if it relates to vehicles he gets it in a sinch), which I think is pretty impressive, but no clue on anything else.
And re waking Nedd up- I get SO guilty doing it!! DH and I always fight over who has to do the waking cause we both hate it!!
Sare- how are you today? Hope you managed to rest up somewhat for the weekend and are feeling better. :hugs:
OK, must go do some work, procrastinated too long!! Take care all.
GeorgiaAnne
11-08-2008, 13:19
:smiliedance::goodvibes: Jacqui, i;m very happy for you!!!
Congratulations Jacqui, that's great news. :babydust2: I hope the next 8 and a bit months are happy and healthy for you.
I'm feeling much better. Didn't go into work today, so I got to relax a little more this morning instead of the usual rush. Then I had an OB appointment, found out that the baby is head down and that I'm growing another big 'un. I have to have a scan around 36 weeks to check the size.
My g/f had her baby yesterday, a gorgeous little girl. She was 10 days over. After having 2 vaginal deliveries, she ended up having to have an emergency caesar after the baby just didn't want to come out. I quickly dropped into see her after my OB visit, but will visit her properly tomorrow night with dh and the girls (Eloise is dying to see the baby). They are so tiny when they are new...almost scarey to think that I will have one of those in 3 months.
Sal - Sorry to hear that the paed didn't have any real answers to Nedd's headbanging.
Michelle - Clever Abbey knowing some of her colours. Lara's got no idea, but she can count to 10.
Well I'm off to watch some of the Olympics and will probably have an early night. Tiredness has set in again.
Congratulations Jackie that's great!!! Sticky vides being sent to you now......When will this make you due - I notice there is now and April 09 thread started - goes so quickly!
Bec - congrats on your little girl! I have been thinking all along we are having a boy but in the car yesterday I completely changed my mind and think now I am having a girl again! We will see on Thursday!
Michelle/Sare - Kayley is pretty good on the colours too - she is good with red, blue, green. orange, white, black, pink and purple but often gets yellow wrong for some reason! (She ususally calls it red too). As for the counting she can count up to 12 by herself now and she can say about 2/3 - 3/4 of the ABC song (although she has no idea what it means) - I think we have a little smart cookie here - hopefully the next one is the little athlete my DH wants!!
Mary-Anne - thats not good on the brickwork. We had friends who had lots of trouble and got their brickwork pulled down twice - there house took ages to build but is fine now. Who were you building with again?
Sal - hope you enjoyed your night out - I haven't had one of those for like forever!! Maybe in another 2 years!
Well as for names we have 2 picked out for a boy and one for a girl at this stage which is good - but we are bound to change our minds!
Oh and tanties - Kayley is an expert - she is sometimes such a bad little girl but I know it comes with the age....
Well I better run and get some work done. I will make sure I get back on after my scan on Thursday to let you know how I go.
Who here thinks play doh in the phone socket is a good thing?
Put your hand down Abbey. Put it down. Yes, we agreed playing with the socket was naughty, and I trusted you to leave it alone, but now the phone doesn't work and mummy has to use her mobile for everything and we all know mummy is too cheap to recharge its credit, which means it is a ruddy good thing the dsl still works, albeit intermittently.
Yeah, you run from the big words, little monster!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
12-08-2008, 09:02
:wave: will be due by my dates 19/04/09.
so very excited!! :) hopefully i don't get m/s this time either!
Congrautaltions again - that is my sisters birthday - just an Aries if on time!
Wow Jackie, congratulations :thumbsup: That seemed to happen fast (well it probably didn't seem fast to you:D)
Michelle - oh dear. I wonder if that's one the Telstra phone centre hears often? Guess you have a good excuse for not ringing anyone you don't especially want to speak to!
Hey Beck - are you going to share your names? I like having one picked early on so there will be no negotiating in the hospital! I think Ella and Kate go well together too. awww getting mushy feelings...
Second timers, are/did you feel the baby move lots more? I don't know if it's just a personality difference, but this baby is crazy - never stays still! Let's hope it adjusts to the reduced space as we go on, or I'm going to be quite uncomfortable as the months go on...:eek:
Sare - so glad you're feeling better. Yay to your bubba for being head down! Very obliging.
Sal - wow what a bender! Sounds great! Sorry to hear the paed wasn't much help.
Better go - we are exchanging contracts for the house today :smiliedance:
GeorgiaAnne
13-08-2008, 11:25
:yelclap: Congratulations Bec on your Baby Girl, that is very exciting!:D
diesal444
13-08-2008, 16:01
:babydust2: CONGRATULATIONS JACKIE :babydust2:
Terrific news...........:yes:
diesal444
13-08-2008, 16:07
Ok so just a quicK question?
Am I the only one here that is neither pregnant or wanting to be pregnant or just had a baby??? :laughing:
I think I might be :yes:
GeorgiaAnne
13-08-2008, 18:10
lol Mary-anne, I think you may be right!
Oh it's been a long day as miss muffet has had gastro for 24 hours so i;ve been cleaning up vomit, washing sheets and cuddling her for the last day - i'm exhausted now, not much else to report. Hope you're al well! :)
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
13-08-2008, 20:33
:laughing: mary anne!! i think you may be right now!!
Georgia - aww hope little muffet is ok - have an early night!
Bec - we would have started our 4th month, so it took 3 months!! seemed forever but really not long at all :)
excited, but scared!!!
Sal - yes sounds like you had an awesum night!!!!
;) Think you might be Mary-Anne. :laughing:
Bec - Lara moved heaps more than Eloise, but this one is a bit calmer than Lara. :fingerscrossed: that it translates into a calmer baby for us. I have felt this baby hiccupping, which I never did with the girls. It's really cute.
So the house is yours now? That is marvellous news. When is settlement?
Beck - Are you going to share names? I love baby name talk.
Georgia - I hope Sophia is feeling better. Poor you at having to deal with that in late pregnancy.
I got an email today from ticketek about a hi-5 pre-sale concert. Of course I open the email and the concert dates are 15/16th Nov, 2 and 3 days before I am due. I had an idea that my mum or sister could take them, seeing that I'll either be in hospital (if I get induced that week) or be very, very pg. Lara won't be having a 2nd b'day party like Eloise did (she's got no friends...poor sausage) so she can be taken to see hi-5. Best bit of all is that I don't have to sit through a hi-5 concert. :D
Sare - oh boy does this mean that the new baby will be an even WORSE sleeper than Ella was?:eek: Oh that's just not fair. I won't really believe that the house is ours until settlement! Hasn't stopped me reading through a backlog of better homes & gardens mags and mentally improving the decor though :D
I'm not a fan of hi-5 either, and thankfully Ella doesn't rate them much (she's just wiggles obsessed. No room for anyone else)
Jackie - what are you scared of in particular?
:hugs: Poor Georgia, gastro is the pits for all concerned. Hope she's better and nobody else copped it!
Ella is much more her cheerful self today. We've had her sick early this week, then the last two mornings she's been waking at 5 and refusing to resettle, and then being a horrible grump all morning cos she's tired! But this morning she cuddled in with us and went back to sleep til after 6, then just wanted to sit on my knee for a while before brekky. So I think we're on the mend!
Have a good weekend everyone. We have a friend of mine from mum's group coming round with her little girls tomorrow morning - should be a good playdate!
SalTheGal
15-08-2008, 08:00
Morning everyone.
Bit down in the dumps here, work is going awfully at the moment...I'm just not coping and really don't know what to do. I think I will just wait out this month, and if I haven't fallen then I will start to think about other options.
Bec, sorry to hear Ella has been sick, glad that she is on the mend...
Have a Day in Leui today, cause I have to work tomorrow, so going to spend some much needed time with my little man. Fingers crossed I can convince him to give me loads of cuddles. :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
Take care all. :wave:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
15-08-2008, 08:10
:hugs: Sal....I am sure you will make the right decision. :hugs:
AND enjoy your day with your little man...we are off to the baby expo this morning!!!
xoxoxox
Grrrr - my browser just shut itself down and I lost my post!
Sare - I go tthe Hi 5 email yesterday too - think I might ignore that one with Wiggles and the Show next month being enough for me for now! Kayley likes them but is not obsessed and they are different people so I don't think she will even know what she is missing!
Bec - I felt this bub earlier than Kayley but I think that is common for a second. Kayley was extremely active and when she came out she basically didin't sleep like your typical newborn - this one appears to be much of the same so I am expecting the same issues too!!
Sal - I hope things work out for you soon.
Jackie - enjoy the expo. I have swimming lessons this morning then this afternoon might go to Big W to burn some money at the baby sales!
Oh and as for me. The scan went well yesterday. Everything apears to be in the right place and the right size! My mum and Kayley went but Kayley didn't really get it so sat there watching the Wiggles for most of it. And I found out we are haivng a.......................
BOY!
So DH and his parents are very happy!
Sare - as for names I am not sure if I am going to share them yet. But my girls name was Eliza (either Eliza Grace or Eliza Jayne). We are still in discussion for a boys name. DH wants Jack but I have a close friend who has already used it and it is the most popular boys name for years so I am steering against that. I have two names at the moment and might share them later!!
Anyway I have to run. Hav e agood day and weekend everyone!
SalTheGal
15-08-2008, 08:30
Awesome News Beck, I am so excited for you!! (Boys are just the best!!)
Congratulations on your BLUE bundle Beck!! I wish we could visit each other and compare bumps :)
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
15-08-2008, 09:49
Congrats Bec....a boy...awesum!!!
We wont be finding out the sex...i am not really fussed either way, but DP is against it...so it will be a suprise for us :laughing:
yeh hopefully the baby expo is alright, i have never been before! we are all ready to go!! Even had a chance to clean up a bit!!
Keanu has slept thru the past 2 nights - i haven't even got up once to give him a drink :smiliedance: so that has been nice!
GeorgiaAnne
15-08-2008, 10:28
:yelclap::yelclap: Congratulations on your boy Beck!
Beck - a boy, yay! A whole new style of clothing to buy!
Jackie - thats awesome about the sleep. You're going to be very thankful for it when the 1st trimester exhaustion sets in.
Sal - :hugs: for your downturn. How soon before you know this month?
Bec - Ella has good taste - hi5 are weird. Bet she enjoyed her play date.
Abbey tells me she needs more kids around. If shes not asking after grandad, its her cousin, and we had some interstate friends stop by half an hour the other night and she woke up asking for their babies! We drove out to my brothers house to collect something while they were out and she got upset that she was at bailey's house and wasn't allowed to play. Poor lonely thing!
But when we do go to playgroup she ignores the other kids and plays with toys, and when we have kids here she drags them around and laughs like an insane demon until they back away.
Birthdays are getting close aren't they? She doesn't have any friends either (mummy hasn't gotten around to stalking any for her) but we will have all our usual people over, and maybe hire a little jumping castle for them to injure themselves on.
Is it bad that I was more excited about her party last year and this one I have to remind myself about?
Abbey is sick with a nasty cold. Lots of new words related to it. Like snotty, cough, sneeze, and puke. Its her first puke as a child and I wasn't impressed. I can't get the smell out of the carpet, despite steaming and soaping and bicarbing and fabreezing...tomato soup, cheese, bread and milk is not good to see again.
Congratulations on your little boy Beck...I told you I had a feeling that you were going to have a boy.
But my girls name was Eliza (either Eliza Grace or Eliza Jayne).
Eloise was going to be Eliza Jane, but didn't sound good with our surname. It sounded like 'here lies a g*****" so we decided upon Eloise. I still love the name Eliza. Jack is a lovely name too. GL with your choices.
Sare - oh boy does this mean that the new baby will be an even WORSE sleeper than Ella was?:eek: Oh that's just not fair.
:fingerscrossed: Bec that it doesn't happen that way for you. Who knows with babies and sleep :confused:. Before having Lara I remember thinking how alike they would probably be, you ,know same environment, routines and upbringing...how wrong could I have been? They are like chalk and cheese, but you know what, I wouldn't have it any other way. I love 'em to bits just as they are...lack of sleep, temper tantrums and all.
Well I had a shocker of a day...minimal sleep as Lara had a bad night. Went to work this morning with a splitting headache and then mum phoned me at work to say that my Grandma (who has lived with Mum and Dad for the last 23 years) had a stroke. Well I just burst into tears in front of the kids. I composed myself, as I had to take the kids to Church for a whole school Mass and lost it when I told our Parish Priest, who used to be Grandma's PP. He told my boss who was lovely and told me to go straight and home and be with my family. So I have spent most of the day at the hospital with my mum, brother, sister and aunty at the hospital. Grandma seemed in good spirits. She is slurring some words and has a marked weakness on her right side. It was a real shock as she's 93 and is has been so good. So now I just have to wait to get some more news from Mum as to how long she'll be in hospital and what then.
Well better go and get my cherubs to bed. Take care...
Here's a laugh for you all...
Lara was patting my belly last night saying belly and then said brudda (don't know why, she just did). So I said can you say Oliver and she popped out with 'vulva' :laughing: It was hysterical. She just kept on repeating it for a laugh too. Such a show pony is my little miss.
SalTheGal
15-08-2008, 19:02
Oh Sare, just wait till he is born and she is going round introducing her 'brudda' "vulva"...how you gonna explain that one!?!?
I'm still around, and have been checking the posts, just not replying, lol!!
Jackie - Congrats on your BFP!! Very exciting news indeed! Hope you enjoyed the baby expo thingy you were going to
Beck - :smiliedance: Congrats on your BLUE news!! So excited for you! Boys really are great, as are girls of course, but as I have 3 of them I can really say they're great!!
Sare - So sorry to hear of your Grandma's stroke :hugs: Hope things improve for her and that she gets home soon. Take it easy, thinking of you
Michelle - I'm so not into the child pukes either. It's enough to make me want to join in! Good luck with the smell
Well, little Monet has been such a good little girl for her Mummy, sleeping right through the night :cloud9: She's just so so beautiful, I could have more....if I was guaranteed babies like her anyway, lol.
Jarvis is really being difficult at bed times lately, or should I say, still. I'm sometimes tempted just to cut his day sleep, and only let him have one every second day. I'm just so over him being awake till after 9pm every night. He's still not talking all that much. I'm still trying not to worry too much, but when my sis tells me of her DD, who is 4 months younger than J, saying so many things, it's hard not to worry, iykwim? I know he'll probably get there soon enough, and I'll be wanting him to shut up, but I just wish he'd start talking more now. I'm spending heaps of time with him encouraging new words, etc, but nothing much yet.
M and T are still being a little difficult, but it's to be expected I guess with all the changes happening continuosly in this household!!
Dreamfeed time. Take it easy all, and have a nice weekend!
SalTheGal
15-08-2008, 20:41
Oh Sare, I just read your previous post. So sorry to hear about you grandma, I hope everything is ok. :hugs: :hugs:
Why do coughs and snotty noses get worse at night? Abbey was fine yesterday, running and yelling, we even went to the playground. Then night falls and she starts coughing so much she puked her dinner all over me. Luckily there was a snail shape sorter container nearby who volunteered to hold the main flow.
This is the sickest she's ever been so I count myself lucky to have avoided worse.
Question - how much milk is everybody's small human drinking? I've never been a milk drinker so to find myself buying milk every 2-3 days is a real eye opener. She has around 200ml 3 times a day, plus a slice of cheese, and milk on her morning cereal of course. Its not much milk it just seems like a lot when I have to keep buying it. Occasionally I replace her lunch milk with yoghurt.
Does chocolate she steals from me count as dairy?
Sarah - that's the same reason I cut out Abbey's day nap when I can. Some days she doesn't mind at all, some days she has a late nap and stays up late. I prefer it when she goes to bed by 7pm with no complaint and out like a light.
Sare - I'm sure vulva will appreciate his nickname, at least until he's old enough to understand what it really means!
Big hugs about your grandma, hope she's allowed home soon.
Today we are doing some grocery shopping for things we don't need in the hopes of winning things we do. It works out well for me actually, mum hits these product competitions pretty hard and stocks up on things, then I get to shop from her pantry for free. mmm free tim tams, free lollies...boring things like soup and tea too of course, but you know which things I steal first!
SalTheGal
17-08-2008, 21:35
Well its been a rather eventful few days here....culminating in the decision that I am going to hand in my Resignation tomorrow :eek:
We have done a lot of soul searching, and well you have all heard enough of my whining to know how much its been getting me down....plus I am performing poorly, and I know my managers are starting to scrutinise me- so it is either buck in (which means long hours and a lot of work- meaning Lloyd would have to pick up a lot of slack), or get out...which means especially while we are building I can focus on supporting my family!
The most frightening thing is that i don't have a job to go to- so I am taking a huge leap (but see my signature to see my attitude!!), DH is the one who is usually most scared of taking risks, but he has been absolutely wonderful, so understanding and supportive...I even think any woes we have had will be so much better without this added stress of being miserable, and I can support him.
I feel like the most amazing load has been lifted just by making the decision...Fri we talked about it- and then I had to work Sat, and honestly I just knew I couldn't keep doing it- once the thought was there, I realised how crazy I have been to do it for so much longer than I should have.
Frightening thing #2- What the hell do I do if I've fallen pregnant this month!?!?:dizzy: After wanting it for so long- this is the one month I could do without it!! But the flipside is that in the last week DH has really become ultra clucky himself, so if I have fallen I know we will work through it.
Luckily I have a heap of holidays owed to me, plus 4wks notice, so I have plenty of time to work things out.
So apart from that- we have been flat out at the house this weekend, we are up to the "fix"- putting in skirtings, doors, joinery, arcatraves etc etc, which DH is doing himself- so all systems go....it is loads of fun though- we have a little corner set up for Nedd with various toys, table and chair etc, and he trundles around after Lloyd all day handing him screws etc being the ultimate little helper....plus it is so muddy- and he loves getting in his gumboots and walking through the mud with me.
It gives me goosebumps every time I am there, our dream is so close! :cloud9: And that we are doing so much of it ourselves with Nedd at such a fun age is making it all the more special.
Well wish me luck for tomorrow, I am rather nervous about it all, I've held this jobn longer than any other I have had, and its been the start of my "career" rather than just a job, so its a pretty strange feeling to think I will be leaving, and I don't know where too!
Forgot to mention.... cause for celebration here. :party:
Eloise had her first nappy/pull-up free night last night and woke up dry :yelclap: :goodvibes:
Congratulations Sal on having the guts to make such a big decision!!! And how exciting about the house. We exchanged last week and should be moving in a month, and that's exciting enough, let alone building your own lovely house!
Sare - yay Eloise :yelclap: What a big girl. I wonder if she will be helpful to Lara when the time comes, by showing her how to do it all! Hope your grandma is ok. And how funny about brudda vulva coming along!Great story for his/her 21st.
Michelle - poor Abby, hope she's feeling better today. Ella has a small sippy cup of milk (about 250ml) at 8am and a big one before bed (about 300ml?) Actually makes me happy as even when she's off her food she still drinks most of her milk - so there's something for her to run off!
Sarah - how lovely that Monet is being such a good little baby for you. Did you eat anything in particular during your pregnancy?:laughing: Karmic reward for being such a supermum I reckon.
Well Ella had a lovely playdate on Saturday, I wished they could stay longer. For some reason she and this little girl play really well together, they were hiding in Ella's pop up Dora cubby, it was so cute! Also my friend brought brownies with her, mmmm. DP didn't even get one:D Ella is back to being her lovely self after being sick and whingy. Of course now DP has a hideous headcold and I have a chesty cough.....
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
18-08-2008, 10:47
:hugs: Sal....sounds like you have truly made the right decision, good on you and goodluck!!! :)
And well done Eloise :yelclap:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
18-08-2008, 10:47
oh my first dr appointment today :smiliedance:
Calling Sal - Sal, where are you? How did you go? Did you do it? I know when I resigned from work, I felt SO much better almost immediately. Hope it all went well and you're still feeling ok about it.
Sare - :yelclap: for Eloise!! What a great effort. T is still in a nappy overnight, even though he was fully toilet trained by the age of 2. M on the other hand, toilet trained at age 3, and was out of nappies at night within weeks of toilleting during the day. Go figure! Good job Eloise!! Hoping your Grandma is sailing along ok.
Bec - I ate a LOT of chocolate, lol!! Perhaps that's the secret!
Michelle - :hugs: for Abbey. Hoping she's feeling better really soon.
Quiet night tonight, Mack is staying at Mum's, T, J and little M are all asleep, so I'm going to bed too!
:wave: girls,
Just a quick one...
Sal - what happened? Hope it all went to plan for you.
Jackie - How did your drs appointment go?
Michelle - Lara has a cup of milk at breakfast and one at dinner (probably about 350-400mL all up). She also has cheese and yoghurt each day. Plus she eats broccoli, so her bones should be nice and tough.
I hope Abbey is feeling better, poor little sausage and poor you for having to clean up vomit (yuck!)
Sarah - Are you really thinking of #5? My hat goes off to you. I don't think I could handle being pregnant again after this one, it's been one ache after another.
Grandma is doing better each day. She could have a conversation today and was asking us questions. The physio even had her up walking (well shuffling). It looks like she'll be in hospital until the end of next week and then will more than likely have to go in a home (mum and dad have a really steep driveway and stairs inside, plus they don't have the room to put in all the extra equipment that Grandma will need from now on). Mum and my aunty haven't told her yet, but she won't like it.
I'm feeling really cr@ppy again...stupid cough. To top it off my pelvic floor is well and truly r00ted when I cough, that I think that I'm soon going to be a tena lady :o. I can't wait to meet this baby, because I think that I'm well and truly over being pregnant. :yes:
Ok, I'm off to bed. Night girls...
SalTheGal
19-08-2008, 20:28
Hi everyone, sorry been slack!!
Well yep- went in yesterday and it all went well- by boss seemed really surprised, and definitely tried to see if there was anything they could do to help me stay.
But I know I have made the right decision, what has been really wonderful is how supportive everyone has been- my family have all been brilliant, and anyone from my company who i have since told has actually congratulated me for being so gutsy!
Only downfall- I have really sore boobs today, and they feel swollen (maybe my imagination) but it'll just be my luck that I fall pregnant this month, I'm due to test this time next week. Isn't it always the way that I have wanted it for so long- now the one month I could do without it it will probably happen!!!
Sare- so glad to hear you Grandma is on the improve....hope she copes ok with going into a home. And sorry to hear that you are feeling ordinary- you really haven't had a good run this time round have you?
Bec- Isn't it lovely when you have playdates? I have a few friends with kids around Nedd's age, and we are just getting to the point that they play together. I love it so much!!
Michelle- How is Abbey and her snotty nose? Hope it is clearing up. Re the milk- Nedd has a big cup morning and night, and would probably have another one during the day if he were home. He also has a tub of yoghurt, and some cheese, and milk on his cereal- its calcium city here (and I can't stand milk!!)
Well I am off to bed...DH has been going early, and complaing that I don't join him whilst he is still awake ;) so I best go make him a happy man!!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
20-08-2008, 12:17
sal :hugs: what is meant to be will be!! wouldn't it be exciting if you were! :)
doctors appointment went well. had a heap of blood taken, urine tests...you know the go. i have an appt in 1.5 weeks and my first scan at 12 weeks. i'm not worrying about a dating scan!
i am feeling sooooooooooo tired, and my back and neck is killing today.....i am mopping and cleaning....hmm probably not the best thing to be doing...well best be off to finish up and give keanu lunch and us both have a nap :sleeping:
So sick... cough has turned into a chest infection topped with a headcold!! It's been so horribly draining, I have dropped a bit over a kilo since Saturday which is a bit worrying. Went to the field day I had to run on Wed morning then came straight home to bed and haven't gone back to work - doctor's orders! Boy I hope I feel better soon. Just came on here long enough to have a whinge cos my eyes hurt too much for long at the computer... boo hoo!
A quick :yelclap: to Sal for the resignation going well!
For all the sickies I hope you feel better soon. My sister, BIL, DH and a few people from work have all been off sick over the last week or so.
Sal - congrats on the resignation. It sounds like you have done the right thing. Hopefully you can find something to do close to home in the future!
I had my first ob appointment after the U/S yesterday and the baby is great (was sucking his thumb when we had a look - so cute) - but my uterine dopplers were high which means I am now on 100mg asprin a day for the rest of the pregnancy to reduce chances of blood clots and pre-eclampsia. I have to go and get some more blood tests today as well tocheck a few more things. The other side effect could be a low birthweight baby. So I will just be monitored from here through my normal appointments and see how everything goes.
Well I have to run I have a really sore back today.
Have a good weekend all
Abbey got sicker, its been very sad. Lots of snuggles and being clingy while we were at mum's house, on panadol for 3 days straight and still having a standard temp of 38.8. I decided to take her to the doc yesterday when we got back and good thing too. She developed one of those snotty infections where it goes to the eyes as well, so she's on lovely drugs and seems so much better already.
Just highlights mum does not always know best, as she kept saying poor abbey just had a cold. Well this mummy knows colds don't get worse and 3 day fevers aren't normal!
I brought my little sister home to play nursemaid while I did the yard for an inspection on Thursday and last night she slept with us too. Abbey was SOOOO happy. A mummy and a Didi to snuggle!
I'm getting sick too so I made sure I did the gardens today before I'm incapacitated.
My cousin has just booted her hubby out and chosen to 'play for the other team', so moved the woman in with her and the kids and he's bereft and stayed here last night on the way to mums and just talked and talked and cried a lot. The only person in the world I can do emotions for is Abbey. Everyone else I just wish there was a manual, like insert hug here, pat hand here. I'm afraid I wasn't the helpful shoulder he needed. Its just not something that comes naturally to me and I know I will have to make sure I keep the special bond Abbey and I have so she doesn't grow up roboty too.
Beck - how did the blood tests go? Hope it all shows normal and you can stop worrying.
Sal- great news about the resignation. I bet the sun is shining in your life again, nothing worse that going to a job you hate. If you aren't pg this month are you going to actively avoid it until you have a secure job and some time behind you? And if you are?
Sare - don't knock the tena ladies! I wear a tena liner for long outings, just in case. I should do my kegels but they're so hard. They used to be so easy!
Glad your grandma is feeling better. I think there are some really nice homes out there, she might find its the best place she's ever lived.
I have to go in search of tissues now. Tomorrow I will go in search of Codral too.
Poor Abbey...hope the drugs are helping. It's definitely going around. My girls have both had temps around 38.8 for the last 2 days too and panadol doesn't seem to be helping them too much.
I went to the drs on Friday afternoon for my cough, turns out I have a throat infection, but my chest is clear, so that's just a virus. So I am on antibiotics for my throat. I have been coughing so much that I have pulled a muscle in my stomach, so have been in absolute agony for the last few days. I finally feel like I am beginning to get better.
Michelle - Your poor cousin's hubby. I am sure that just having your company would have made him feel a little better.
Oh...believe me I am not knocking becoming a tena lady...I am now officially one. Hopefully not for too long though.
Beck - :fingerscrossed: that all your blood test results come back clear. Hope your back is feeling better...the joys of pregnancy.
Bec - :hugs: Hope you are feeling better.
Jackie - Hope you are getting lots of rest too. 1st trimester tiredness is the pits.
Sal - So glad that everything went well for your resignation and that everyone has been supportive of your decision. Well done.
Nothing else really to report from here. Off for GTT on Tuesday. That's about it...bit boring really :yes:
Thanks Sare
Won't get the blood tests for another week or so so just have to wait. At this point I can't do much except for remember to take my asprin every day!
Oh and my back has been so sore the last few days.....feel like a holiday but holding onto all me leave now waiting for the baby to maximise pay in my time off.
Waaa! My drugs don't work and I haven't slept properly since Abbey was sick and I can't breathe and I'm shivering and I'm hot and I can't swallow and I have people coming over and a dentist appointment in an hour which I'm obviously going to cancel.
I knew there was a reason I refused to get sick.
OKay, finished sooking
GeorgiaAnne
25-08-2008, 08:50
:hugs: To you Michelle - I hope you can get some rest today and Abbey gets better too. What a nightmare having both of you sick.
Beck - GL with your tests, hopefully it's not PE. Did you have that last time?
Sare - Hopefully you've made a full recovery as well. How's that lovely belly of yours going - any photos for us to see?
Sal - How are you going - when do you finish up at work?
Bec - Hope you're feeling better too.
Jac - How are you going - any ms for you yet?
All is well here, just a huge tummy and finally got the room ready for the baby. Sophia is obsessed with the bed and all things baby, though i'm sure that'll change! Still working though the edema is killing me now from sitting at a desk, i'd much prefer to be running around but who wants to be served by a big fat pregnant lady :D Going to have some acupuncture this arvo so hopefully that will help.
:hugs: Michelle. Do you have anyone who can look after Abbey for you so you can get some rest? The dimetapp nasal spray is great for congestion (I've been using it religiously over the last few days) Hope you feel better soon.
Georgia - I'm not one for taking belly photos. I should, but it's just soooo big. I can't believe that you are still working when you are on the 'days' countdown. Good luck with the acupuncture this afternoon.
Beck - Take it easy. How long are you planning on taking off work after the baby is born?
I'm starting to feel a bit better...coughing less anyway. Just having a few dizzy spells. They're probably due to tiredness, Lara's back to her usual poor sleep patterns again and wanting 'cuggles' every 5 minutes.
Back at work today and still feeling run down, but a vast improvement on last week! Also I have a truly hideous coldsore...ick.
Can I just say :babydust2: poof no more sick germs!!! It's not fair that everyone is getting sick all at once and trying to look after either kids and/or pregnant bellies as well! Who's looking after US!?
On the plus side it's finally above 10deg here and sunny - got that feeling that spring's just around the corner! And we're moving into our "new" house in two weeks...so exciting.
Sare - I'm not much of a one for belly photos either (especially not naked belly...) I took two last pregnancy. It's because of my double bump (ie spare tyre perched on top of baby bump) - not the loverly smooth curve on the preggo magazines! Glad you are feeling better, even if Lara's not helping. As to being a tena lady - is it too late for the old squeezer exercises? I do them every night while Ella's in the bath/shower, so I don't forget! Good luck with your test tomorrow.
hey Georgia, hope you're at the acupuncturist getting some relief right now! I've been doing squats against the wall every hour just to stop my back from aching sitting at the desk.
Beck - I hear ya on the sore back! I don't remember aching this early on last time, do you? I hope your tests are ok, how are you feeling?
Michelle - :hugs: hope you feel better soon. Sook away, who else can we sook to if not here? Sucks looking after a sick kid and needing looking after yourself. BTW we find Nurofen better for fevers (even though I don't like using it regularly) - and I did exactly the same with the "it's just a cold" with Ella when she had her chest infection! Can't always be right I guess:D Jeez I can't blame you for not knowing what to say to your cousin's ex... how well do you know him? Most of my cousins I barely know their partner's names :p let alone how to give comfort on demand!
Sal - have you tested yet????? How are you feeling about everything?
Better get back to work (sigh). Where were the little pixies who were supposed to do everything for me while I was away sick?
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
25-08-2008, 18:00
just a quick :wave:
been extremely tired...and queasy of late. No :barf: thankgoodness....fingers crossed it doesn't come either.
don't have a lot of enegery at the moment, we will be at the 7 week mark on Thursday!
keanu is great, all is well here. sorry no time for personals i am hungry and tired :laughing:
but sal - any news yet?
love and hugs to all.
SalTheGal
25-08-2008, 19:49
Hey Everyone- I am due tomorrow...and have a very reliable 28day cycle so we will wait and see. Not going to test unless I don't get AF tomorrow, then I will test wed morning.
So sorry to hear all the sickies- sending you all loads of healthy vibes.
Especially you Michelle- I don't think I can remember you ever being sick!! You just seem to be one of those people who are perpetually healthy, so I feel for you. :hugs:
We are allhealthy here (sorry! :o) cept for a mild case of conjunctivitis for Nedd, but nothing major.
What time are all the kiddlywinks getting to sleep in other houses? Nedd is still wide awake at 8.45. We are religiously putting him down at 8pm, but he is not tired and not ready to sleep, and then proceeds to stuff around for an hour or more. We are put off transferring him into bed ATM becuase of this. Then he sleeps late in the morning and I have to wake him. Over the weekend he slept till after 9am both mornings (lovely for me) but no good during the week. Any suggestions?
Work wise I have three weeks left to go- I have been looking into a franchise oppurtunity which I am at solicitor stage- google xpressodelight if anyone wants to check it out- I can't be bothered typing it all out....in a nutshell it involves getting coffee machines into companies and getting the revenue off them....after extensive research it looks like you can get a very decent wage (fulltime equivalent) by only working 2-3days a week (yes it sounds too good to be true, and I thought so too- but all checks out so far!)...plus its the kind of business I'd be able to do through pregnancy and with a baby- so all looking good so far.
OK this has turned into a total me post- sorry!! But I am sending lots of thoughts and well wishes to everyone who is sick. :goodvibes:
diesal444
26-08-2008, 06:43
Morning all :)
Sorry to hear everyone is feeling crappy.
We are all better in this household which is wonderful news.
The only bad news is, that I was going to be heading up to NSW yesterday for 5 days but there has been a few dramas up there and it was suggested to me that I wait and go up later. Kinda disappointed coz I have 5 days off with nowhere to go. :(
Sal - Glad to hear your resignation went well. How is the house going? Good luck with the business opportunity.
Re: Bed time. Its always 6.30-7pm. Usually Darc only stuffs around for half hour or so. Not crying just singing and stuff. I dont go into her coz I found if I do, she gets upset expecting me to get her up and play. She drops off no later then half hour of going to bed. Downside is though we dont get those 9am sleep-ins ever. The latest we get is 8am. Its normally 6.30-7am.
Bec - You must be getting excited about moving into your house. Hope your week at work gets less crappy as it goes on.
Sare - Sorry to hear your so sick. You poor thing pulling a muscle from coughing. How is your Grandma going?
Georgia - What the hell are you still doing at work??.... My goodness, rest luv. Hope the acupuncture helped.
Michelle - Geez the sickness bug really hit your household bad. Hope you and Abbey are starting to feel better. :hugs:
Well one of my good friends had a baby girl last wednesday "Abbey Rose". She has a little girl Darcy's age as well. Cant wait to see her little bundle.
We are having a few issues with the house, have a site meeting with the builder on thurs to sort stuff out.
Darcy has been so good, she really is such a sweet girl, although she does have her moments when she doesnt get her own way, nothing that a bit of distaction doesnt fix.
ok I better go, Have a nice day everyone:wave:
Abbey is loving the lack of rules around here. While she was sick mummy was too tired to enforce them and didn't want to anyway, and now that mummy is sick and losing her voice reprimands are almost inaudible and she knows I'm not going to follow through. Boy does she have a surprise coming in a few days!
My houseguests all went home today so her routine comes back in too.
It was good having people here while I'm sick. Not the least that it was my family so I didn't have to take care of them. Didi did the Abbey chasing and entertaining, and I did the snuggles and poo changing. My vaporiser broke and mum bought me a new one, and some lovely drugs which actually work.
I had the option of keeping my sister here another week but thought that would be too mean. She had been here for 4 sleeps and was resorting more and more to giving Abbey sultanas and dvds to get some time out. Still, it should be enough to deter her from a teenage pregnancy!
Abbey has learned a new skill. Wiping her nose with her sleeve. Trouble is she does it literally as I'm about to use a tissue.
mary-anne - my what a lovely name! It has my approval. :laughing:
Sal - this is the 2nd time I've been sick this year. Both times coincided with family visiting from South Australia. I knew there was a reason I didn't go there!
Good luck for the result you want tomorrow and hugs either way for the actual test result. Can't believe you're so on top of things that you have something else lined up already. I'm more of a la la la la fluke things kind of gal these days. No idea what will happen when I eventually return to work, probably get fired for not paying attention!
Re sleep - with 12.30-2pm day nap she goes to bed at 8pm and takes an hour.
With no day nap she goes to bed at 7am and takes 10 minutes.
Guess which I prefer :rolleyes: I wouldn't mind her taking an hour if she didn't insist I stay for the duration. No matter what time she goes down she will always be up by 7am though. Its a rare day she sleeps until 8am, usually thanks to a dark rainy day.
She will always get up if I do though, happy or not.
jackie - I remember those early weeks. Its 6pm, you're no doubt in bed already. Hope the ms stays okay for you.
Sare - love the cuggles! We have 'snubbles' and 'best snubbles' because I tell her she gives the best ones. She even climbs up and says 'best snubbles nigh night' like I don't get a say in where she nods off!
Bec - yay on the sunny day and the countdown to new house. Are you all packed and ready to go?
Well I've about enough of squeaking at Abbey not to throw her dinner on the floor, so it must be time for physical action. Off to shower, ignoring her protests. If she can't hear me, then logically I can't hear her!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
26-08-2008, 21:27
:wave: thought i would pop in...have tried reading personals...
sal keep us informed!!
all is well....has the u/s today just to make sure things were ok...it dated me at 6 weeks. but i know i am 6 weeks 4 days going by LMP. so i am sticking to that :laughing: but all is well, so now just await the 12 week mark.
keanu is well, gowing sooooo fast! can't believe they will be 2 soon. he has been addicted to 'baby boppers' it is a dvd he has had since about 3 months old....he cracks it if i put elmo or some other dvd on. i got dora today and another dvd baby einstein - as it is similar to baby boppers...but no go....:no:
no news of a transfer for DP...so we are making the most of perth....but as soon as there is a transfer we will be very :D but all is well. i have git thru my bout of being down, still miss everyone like crazy but i have got thru it, and am feeling a lot better, more in control and on top of things! which is great.
anyway had better run, but hi to all. and sorry for no personals. I am off to bed :sleeping:
Abbey had a relapse last night. She was getting better, even ate a couple dinners, but has been having very little liquid for days now. Probably barely enough. But last night she was raging fever even after having nurofen and wearing very little clothes. First the shivers then hot hots. I ended up resorting to dosing her with panadol as well. I've tried icy poles, water, cordial, milk (she's barely touched that for 2 weeks), I've even given her some of my tea diluted. Most I can get into her is a sip before she discovers swallowing hurts and pushes it away.
I'm going to offer diluted lemonade today, I just really need to get her hydrated to avoid a trip to the ER where we will be stuck for hours and she will pick up an even nastier bug.
She's already on antibiotics, so I'll fill the repeat for them today too.
I've got her drinking a Yakult each day to avoid thrush, hope its not making the antibiotics ineffective.
Sigh, being a mummy is worrying work.
Michelle - :hugs: for you and Abbey. Poor little girl. I hope she's better soon.
Jackie - You won't believe how fast subsequent pregnancies go. I'm in my 3rd trimester already and can't believe in 2.5 months I'll have another baby.
Glad you are more upbeat about Perth, but still got my :fingerscrossed: that your dp gets his transfer soon.
Mary-Anne - Sorry to hear that your trip fell through. Hope you enjoy your 5 days off though.
Thanks for asking about Grandma - She's not doing too bad, although she has picked up a chest infection while in hospital (the day befor she was going to be transferred into rehab, so that now has to be put off until she is better). She has her up and down days.
Sal - That's fantastic news that you think you have another job lined up and you get to be your own boss...would have to be a huge plus. I hope it all works out.
Good luck for tomorrow.
re bedtimes - We aim for 8pm. Sometimes Lara's asleep in 10 minutes, others...well don't ask :hair: She normally wakes between 8am and 8.30am.
Bec - I'm with you over the sicknesses. Roll on spring (and that's coming from someone who usually loves winter). re being too late for pelvic floor exercises - I don't think it's too late, it's just that they are so weak and all the coughing that I have been doing has really strained them. Hopefully once the cough disappears so will the need for the tenas.
We've had a shocking run with temps and sicknesses here. Monday night was terrible. Lara had a temp of 39.3 and started vomitting. She was shivering and just wanted mummy cuggles. She had a really restless night. Luckily dymadon (we've found that it works better at trying to reduce temps) and a wipedown with a tepid facewasher helped settle her a little. Eloise has also had a temp in excess off 38 for the last few days and dh took yesterday off work with the same thing. So there was I, still with my throat infection, cough and cold caring for all my sickies. I'm well and truly over sick season.
GTT went well yesterday...no vomitting after I had to drink that sweet concoction. I've got my 1st anti-d injection on Monday and then the 4d ultrasound the following Sunday. :smiliedance: Can't wait to see what this baby looks like. Eloise had really petite features when she was a baby and Lara was a chubba, all cheeks. So I wonder which one this baby will be more like (I'm hoping it has Eloise's smaller head....she was easier to push out :laughing:)
Well better go. I still haven't had a shower. We're having a day at home today as Eloise isn't really well enough to go to kinder.
Sare:hugs: to you and your poor sickies. I hope everyone feels better soon. Is DP really sick or is it a "man cold" (ie totally threatening flu that requires lots of looking after). My DP is prone to them:p But he was really nice when I was sick. Yay on the upcoming ultrasound. We didn't even really get a good profile shot of this one, too much bouncing around in there, it's kind of blurry! Do you think spring will bring a nice segue from colds to hayfever :laughing: just kidding (I hope)
Michelle - more :hugs:, poor little Abby and poor you too. Good work with the Yakult - see she is drinking something! I'm such a woos about fevers, I always ring the hospy if she gets over 40deg (living in a country town is good for that though!) Good luck with the lemonade, hope she burnt all those bugs out of her last night! Hey are you going Nappy Hunting this time - I see registrations are open! Re being packed and ready to go...ROFL not even one box. I've been doing a lot of mental packing and sorting though...plus I'm off to Melbourne for a week for work while DP finishes the moving. No cleaning for me, yippee!
Jackie :smiliedance: the u/s went well. It's funny how you can kind of pick your due date isn't it! And lol at Keanu refusing to be distracted by other DVD's. Glad to hear you're in an up cycle now and we'll keep hoping for that transfer!
Mary-ann: enjoy your 5 days off I say! Make sure you get some slobbing in. That girl's name is really pretty - I love Rose but DP has this thing against flower names. Sigh. The way you describe Darcy is just how I feel about Ella - she is such a good kid and I'm really proud of her (you know, most of the time!)
Hey Sal - soooo?
Glad everything is going well for you and congratulations on being so organised with work!! Re sleep times - I think we are finally getting the payoff for the long months of "gentle routine training":rolleyes:. She goes down at about 7.20 and we usually don't hear form her again until 6.15. She is really a routine junkie though... if she misses her day sleep or goes to bed late, you can guarantee she'll play up during the night!
Time to go home and have some lunch. I wonder if I can justify a Maccas visit (because I'm pregnant of course)
Sare & Michelle - hope your girls are over their sicknesses soon! Touch wood - Kayley hasn't really been sick at all - afterbeing a bub who was sick all of the time I think I will be continuing the flu injection for her next year - and for me also. My husband, sister, BIL and nephew have all been really sick taking at least 3 days off work/school and we have not caught it - neither did my mum who also had a flu shot so I am pro them this year!
Mary-Anne - how is your house going now? Ours is going pretty well - they started some of the tiling yesterday. We hope to be in by early October. I love the name Abbey Rose - was one on my list!
Bec - sounds like an active one coming along there! This bub is as active as Kayley so I am expecting another non sleeper - maybe it is something I eat - DH blames salt and vinegar!
Sal - so what is happening with you and your new job opporunity???
Bec - have fun in Melbourne - hope it isn't too cold.
Jackie - glad Perth appers to be growing on you - I loved Perth when I visited and we possibly would have moved there instead of Adelaide but my family is around here.
As for weather it appears to be warming up here a bit - suposed to be 18 tomorrow - yay!
Well for our household, DH is in Sydney for training this week and it is a bit of a pain being alone. Kayley crucked a tantrum when being dropped off for childcare and on Monday night she screamed for about 20 minutes when I wouldn't let her take her duck which was full of water into the lounge room. Plus I seem to have hurt my back which is a bit of a pain when I get no time to relax!
I have to start contacting fencers, curtain places etc soon which I am not really looking forward too! We bought Kayleys big bed for the new house a couple of weeks ago which cost over $2K for the set but is really nice. Used the Big W and target sales to get linen and a bed rail.
We had fun catching up with my sis and the twins last week and Kayley got along with them really well. We will visit them probably late september. We have the show in a couple of weeks too!
Well I have probably blabbered enough - take care everyone.
diesal444
28-08-2008, 10:12
Mornin :)
Michelle - Sorry to hear Abbey is still so sick :hugs:. You poor thing, how are you feeling now?
Sare - I agree.."roll on spring". Arrghh, that sweet glucosey drink. Gee that brings back memories. :barf:Hope you family starts to get better soon too.:yes:
Bec - Hope you enjoyed your maccas feast. I hear ya on the hayfever, DP gets it so bad.
Beck - pfft to the house. Glad to hear yours is coming along nicely. We have yet ANOTHER site meeting today to sort some stuff out.
Well as lovely as 5 days off is, I am kinda getting cabin fever. Its too cold to go anywhere nice and if I see the inside of another shopping centre soon I may just lose it.
On a good note...I have lost 2kgs!
I have tried being really good and only eating when I am hungry instead of ALL the time like I used to.
I have also been walking to help with fitness.
I just really want to get my weight under control before I even think about being pregnant again.
Have a great day all :wave:
GeorgiaAnne
28-08-2008, 15:45
I just really want to get my weight under control before I even think about being pregnant again.
Have a great day all :wave:
:devil::devil: all these pregnancy hormones from this thread have got to you!
I had my rental inspection today - you have never seen an agent whip through a property so fast! I opened the door and she cries "oh you're sick too!" ran down the hallway and out again.
I bet I get a letter telling me to weed the garden though.
Abbey is feeling a lot better, she just needs sleep. Pity she can't get it with me coughing and fidgeting all night, but she refuses to sleep in her own bed while even a little bit sick. So I let her take a 3 hour nap today while I lay on the couch and now she's going to be up for ages.
I'm quite disgusting, i blew my nose so hard i peed a bit, and have a toothache from coughing.
She's so cute though, saw me having a coughing fit and brought me her puke bowl for mummy's yuckies. Although, only a mother would find that adorable!
Tv is my friend, a very good babysitter.
She's drinking her fluids and eating better too. Nothing fancy because I'm not cooking it, but baked beans/spaghetti/nutella sandwiches go a long way.
Mary-Anne - have you been overly influenced by our baby talk? You swore you wouldn't just yet!
Bec - I purposely only have a standard thermometer that Abbey won't let near her. If I had one I could use while she was sleeping I would probably call the hospital each time too! Either she is warm, hot or damn I'm going to sit up and worry hot.
I can usually justify a maccas visit, I'm great at convincing myself. Abbey is so familiar with the drive thru she starts demanding chips before I've even ordered. Sadly I let her eat most of them too. That's why I limit my maccas visits to once or twice a fortnight.
She actually gets more excited by Red Rooster signs and we don't even go there, crazy baby.
Sare - hope you and the girls get better soon. Its a nasty set of bugs going around. Make sure your dh doesn't catch it or it will be man-flu.
Beck - that must be a nice set-up you're getting ready for Kayley. I keep meaning to take photos of Abbey's room but ya know. Gotta love toddler logic. Why can't a wet duck go play?
diesal444
28-08-2008, 18:00
You guys!!
So my whole post went unnoticed till I put a pregnancy/pregnant bit in there :laughing:
Cant blame me really.
Everyone on here is either pregnant, trying to be pregnant or just had a baby. I am kinda feeling left out!!
My friend just had a baby last week AND I just found out yesterday that my other friend is due in Feb.
Its not so much that I want another baby right now, but I am running out of unhormanal friends :laughing:
Still a few years off for me if we decide to go again :yes:
Mary-Anne what did you expect from this established crew of baby mad mummies? LOL
I'm so very attractive right now. I've developed conjunctivitis and have gone deaf in one ear. Got antibiotics today. Pink eye! Pink eyyyyyyyeee!
I should totally go out on the town and share some lovin', can't shave my legs though, I get dizzy when I bend.
Sadly, come to think of it, I would NOT be the most feral item on the menu at most clubs.
:laughing: esp some of the crowds at the over 28's.
Sorry to hear that you've got conjunctivitis. Take it easy.
SalTheGal
01-09-2008, 21:06
heeelllooooo *echo* its so quiet in here, am I missing something???
I don't think its worth starting a new thread for the new month (unless its already started- will check after I am done here!)
We had the inlaws down for DH's birthday for the weekend- it is so exhausting...why is it that MIL's think it is there DUTY to feed children up on junk food- I politely asked her to not give Nedd to much sweet stuff as he has been a pain with his wanting *cake cake cake* all the time lately, and she whinged all weekend about how she is such a mean nanny etc etc because I wasn't letting her feed him up....then she proceeded to give him chips for lunch AND dinner sat, and lunch sun grrrrr!!
Things have kinda gone to poo with work finishing up but can't say much bout it at this time....not sure who is watching!!! I am actually on stress leave till I finish next friday though- so winding down quietly.
Our house is going great guns, DH informed me he thinks we will be in by early Nov- a month earlier that I was expecting, I am so excited. I went and put a new massive cosy squishy modular lounge with chaise on layby over the weekend.
Have a app with Dr next week for a referral to ENT to get Nedd's adenoids checked- he is snoring heaps and it is getting worse and I am thinking it may be contributing to his poor sleeping- worth a shot anyway!!
Oh and I got AF, so not sure what we will do now, we both really want this bub now, so I think we will forge ahead and keep trying and hope for the best business/jo wise. If I go ahead with franchise option I can manage that right through a pregnancy and with a baby aswell so it could work out ok.
OK, I am getting paranoid everyone is chatting in a new thread without me and I am here talking to myself- so I am off to have a squiz!! :p
ETA- nope no new thread, so everyone is just super quiet!!
Hope everyone is well. Take care.
It is quiet in here. Don't know where everyone went, wish they'd come back.
I'm watching some small hands reach around the benchtop, looking for something interesting. Since I haven't done the dishes the only thing she will find is a mess. Haha, or the top of the smoke detector and she is now trying to reach the ceiling to put it back where it goes.
We're feeling much better. Abbey is still snotty and coughy but very much recovered. She just can't run as much without coughing for now. I'm much much much better, not dying anymore. Except at 3am when I have my coughing fits of course. I even have some energy to tickle her.
I entered a comp won 3 hours of house cleaning, never had a cleaner in before. Wonder if its okay to let them in and go out for the morning, I don't think I can watch a stranger clean my home, I'd think they were judging me. TBH, I'd judge me too right now!
My energies have been directed towards Abbey first, me second, her play needs third, washing nappies and jammies fourth, and everything else way behind.
Well the only personals I can do are Sal because everyone is hiding.
Sal - Glad you have the option of stress leave even now, my past employers just wanted me to work extra hard before I left.
November is very soon, you'll be decorating before you know it!
Can't believe your little man is a snorer, it just seems wrong for cute people to snore.
SalTheGal
02-09-2008, 09:05
I think everyone else is off having babies. :crying: :crying:
Once you and I join the crew we will have to come back and play with Maryanne- otherwise she will be all alone! :(
How lucky are you getting a cleaner, and what perfect timing after you've been sick...I would definitely leave for the morning, I couldn't handle sitting there while someone was cleaning my house around me...and atleast if you aren't there you can't stress about how 'dirty' it is! :o
Glad to hear you are all feeling better, pity the snotty bit is still around but I always find that takes ages to clear.
I went into centrelink yesterday to finally get us on the system- we haven't been receiving ANYTHING since the babybonus- apparently we somehow slipped through the cracks....so nearly 2yrs of FTB and childcare allowance coming our way :smiliedance: TBH because I went back to work so early on I didn't even realise we would be applicable for anything!
And off to get 2yrs worth of tax done this arvo (we are really slack when it comes to chasing money if you can't tell!)...so hopefully along with my work payout we will have a nice little lump sum coming our way. Pity we won't be taking any holidays this year due to building and any excess money needs to go towards housey stuff...I might try to sneak a couple of hundred to spoil myself.
OK, off to hem DH's pants like the dutiful housewife I am to be! :p
Hello lovelies,
I have been away cos I've been packing! We get the keys on Friday arvo and DP is the sort who won't be able to sleep until he's moved a couple of loads in :D Also we are having a garage sale on Sat, then I fly out to Melbourne on Sun afternoon...lots to do!! I am having to physically restrain myself from the internet:p Things are busy at work too, but I couldn't stand the tumbleweeds blowing around in here, it looks too lonely!
Sal don't wish a baby on me just yet - I'm only 24 weeks!! Sad about the preggo test - but they're funny things for making you realise what you really want, aren't they? You see that blue line or lack of, and what you feel is pretty clear! (or it was for me). Sorry to hear about work (say no more). Yay about centrelink though. Nothing like a good backpayment! My DP would be hopeless with tax too if I didn't ride him about it:D
How annoying about the junk food frenzy. Really - how hard is it to listen to the kids' mother!!! In laws hey. Can be a real pain!
Michelle - so glad you guys are on the mend. What a rotten run, although it did work for the real estate agent obviously! Maybe you could go hang out in the garden while the cleaner's around? Or drop in & out as you run "errands" (made up as necessary) Good timing though, I bet you could do with someone else coping with it for a change.
I snore - Michelle what are you saying?? Ella snores sometimes, it seems much cuter than when DP does it (about 20 decibels softer might have something to do with it.
Mary-ann: I only said I was thinking about Macca's. How did you know I'd follow through?:p Good work with the fitness stuff, I bet you're feeling good.
Beck - we have occasional bath-toy related tantrums too! I don't know how much of this pregnancy being different can be attributed to me being 10kgs lighter than last pregnancy - maybe the kicks just aren't being muffled by so much padding this time!
Hmmm. Might go home and eat some pad thai.
I have been reading, but not posting, because that would have felt like I was here talking to myself (and sometimes I already feel like I do enough of that at home with dh and the girls ;))
Not much really going on here. We're all 100% better than we were last week, just a few sniffles and coughs left, but we seem to be over the worst of ity. Hopefully now that we are in Spring, that's the worst of the colds done for us.
Eloise has been a real little pain today. Hopefully it's not that she's getting all silly because of her birthday at the end of this month. I don't think I could handle another 3 and a half weeks of her attitude. Sometimes she sounds like a 12 year old with the attitude that she has...God help me when she does hit the teenage years.
Lara has been her usual self. She's so adorable and loveable, but she can switch it on. Dinner time is a real struggle, because she just doesn't want to eat (she wants to play). But she always has a bright smile that is so infectious that you can't be angry with her for too long. She is such a show pony. She'll do something that she knows will make us laugh and says "look at me mummy" in a really mischievous voice.
I'm not sure how she'll go with the baby. She gets really jealous when Eloise is giving me a cuddle and tries to push in between us, even pulling Eloise's hair to make her stop at times. At church on Sunday, we were sitting next to someone we know who had a 11 day old and Lara was playing cars with her 2 year old. When Lara couldn't have the car she wanted, she threw the car she had and it hit the baby on the head. Luckily the baby was ok, but there is no way known that I will be able to trust Lara alone near the baby for a millisecond. Interesting times ahead for us...
Bec - That's fantastic that you get the keys this week. Have fun packing.
Sal - Sorry that you didn't get your BFP, hopefully it happens soon for you guys.
Fantastic news about you FTB though. That musty have been a lovely surprise. We get ours in a lump sum at the end of the financial year. We spent part of it on a new Phil and Teds Vibe that I get to pick up this weekend. :smiliedance: Then the rest will just go top the mortgage :(
Michelle - Glad to hear that you and Abbey are on the mend too.
Great news about the cleaner. If that's one wish of mine that could be granted, it would be to have a cleaner do my housework. I detest it at the best of times, but when I'm pregnant my house just looks terrible.
Well I am off for my 4D scan on Sunday and we have decided that we are going to find out the sex of the baby. It has been doing my head in this time around not knowing. Not sure if I am going to share though...we're not telling anyone that we are going for the scan though because if they ask whether we found it if we are having a boy or a girl, I wouldn't be able to lie and EVERYONE would know.
Now speaking of babies....Georgia where are you??? Any news yet? That little boy of yours must almost be ready to be introduced to the world. Can't wait to hear all about him. If it hasn't happened yet, good luck and I hope you get that VBAC that you want. Take it easy :goodvibes:
Oh well better go and organise lunch for my :devil:. They've been snacking all morning, so probably aren't too hungry, but we're off to see my Grandma later this afternoon, so better get things moving along.
GeorgiaAnne
02-09-2008, 12:57
Well I am off for my 4D scan on Sunday and we have decided that we are going to find out the sex of the baby. It has been doing my head in this time around not knowing. Not sure if I am going to share though...we're not telling anyone that we are going for the scan though because if they ask whether we found it if we are having a boy or a girl, I wouldn't be able to lie and EVERYONE would know.
I'm going to PM you, that is just TOO exciting!!!
I'm still around, due on Thursday, but thinking I will probably go over like last time. I've had a few false starts which have faded away after an hour or 2 so at least my body is trying :)
OK, so I have to brag, dh won last night Chef of the Year in the SMH Good food guide and we were runners up for restaurant of the year so it was a good night and I only had 2 glasses of champagne :devil:
Congratulations to your DH Georgia (and to you for being the woman behind the man ;)) and for you both on coming runners-up for restaurant of the year.
Got my :fingerscrossed: for you that all your pre-labour turns into the real thing and that you're soon holding your little boy. Gee your pregnancy has gone fast and you sound like you've had a really good one (not whinging about it at every chnace you get, like I have been :laughing:)
GeorgiaAnne
02-09-2008, 15:06
Yeah, i'm trying to be positive, even when i'm up every hour to wee. It sounds corny, but we only get to be pregnant a few times in our lives if we're lucky and it is an honour, sorry i;m not usually the sentimental type :o but when you hear the struggles some women have just to get pg it makes me shut up :D
That's so true. In the whole scheme of things it is such a short period of time and what you get at the end if it is well worth all the hassles that you go through in order to get the baby.
Wow Georgia, sounds like things are coming along! How exciting. And what great sentiments you have about pregnancy.
Ella had a bad dream this morning at 5am, she came pelting down the hallway and into our room going "mummy, mummy" - very sad and she seemed out of sorts all morning, poor little muffin.
GeorgiaAnne
03-09-2008, 09:52
Hi chicks
How are we all this morning?
I got some awful news last night that my nephew (my brothers' son) is autistic. I had suspected it as he already has many of the behavioural characteristics but it is so devastating to have it confirmed :no:
SalTheGal
03-09-2008, 11:15
Georgia- :hugs: :hugs: to you, your brother and his family...that must be heartbreaking. Have they determined how severe it is? Autism sectrum is so vast that diagnosis is many and varied...how old is he- hopefully they have cought it early enough to get some intervention in place.
After selling related to Autism it frightens me how it can creep up- I still worry for Nedd, especially as headbanging is a major sign, and he has a new obsession with lining things up neatly....but I think we are ok as he is very very outgoing affectionate and is meeting all milestones.
Bec- Poor Ella, atleast she could come to you....hope it meant some lovely snuggles in bed before you had to get up.
Congratulations on becoming home owners today! That is brilliant, have fun moving etc. :smiliedance:
Oh and I snore too!! Got my adenoids removed a few years ago and while its better (ie- DH can now sleep in the same room as me) I still get the freight train going every now and then...I think I know where Nedd gets it from!
I have been talked into doing a stupid interview for the local paper today- my bestie's SIL is a journo and always looking for guinea pigs- well this one is on handbags, apparently panadol have some promotion going about women and their handbags so she wants to do a story on someone who owns a few (I have 12, didn't think it was that many!!) so she is coming today to take a pic of me and my bags, and to do an interview...so no doubt I will now be fondly known around the place as the bag lady. I really really don't want to do it, but she has no one else. How embarrassing!!! :o
Sare- goodluck with your scan on the wkend, can't wait to hear how you get on. And glad to hear you are all on the mend....must be that spring air (I have all the doors open today to let the air through the house, its wonderful!).
Georgia OMG do you mena this thursday- as in TOMORROW?!?!? Thats so soon, I didn't realise it was so close...oh oh oh goodluck next time you log on you could be a mummy again!!
And congrats to your DH on his award- that is some big major deals!! You guys must be rapt, and so proud.
OK, I spose I best go do some housework before these stupid people get here to take this photo, though I made her promise that she couldn'y let any of the house show in any pics cause it is so festy- couldn't she have waited till we were in our new house?!?! :p
GeorgiaAnne
03-09-2008, 12:20
Thanks Sal, he's 18 months and I have had my concerns for a while but the most telling was that he started dropping skills and has stopped saying ANY words. As far as severity goes I guess time will tell but sil is a nurse so i'm sure she will connect herself well with early intervention and that sorta thing.
Sorry to hear about your nephew Georgia. It must be so hard on your family. :hugs:
Got a call from my OB tonight. I've got gestational diabetes this time around. That iced the cake for us...#3 will definitely be our last.
GeorgiaAnne
03-09-2008, 20:19
What a pain Sare, I hope it's manageable for you :hugs:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
03-09-2008, 20:57
Aww sare :hugs:
georgia....wow due tomorrow how exciting.
not much to report here...except last weeks u/s didn't show a foetal pole or a heart beat only the yolk sac...and i was measuring a few days behind...so we went for another scan today and we are measure exactly right at 7 weeks 3 days....bubs heart rate was 150bpm...all looked healthy...which was a relief. My GP said that she wasn't worried, just maybe last week it was too early...and she was right :yelclap::smiliedance: very excited.
other than that i am just feeling exhausted. DP has been home for 13 days and been WONDERFUL. getting up to keanu of a morning, letting me nap and have a sleep in too....we will miss him soooo much! the queasiness is 24/7 on and off...it sux! wish it would go away lol....but all is good other than feelin tired.
on that note am off to bed :sleeping:
sorry for lack of personals!
Good luck Georgia - seems to have come around sooo quickly!!
Sal - sorry no BFP for you this month but I am sure you will get there soon - good luck on the job hunting!
Sare - Gestational diabeties - that's not good. Do you have to take anything or just watch what you eat? Does thi smean you are likely to go early?
Jackie - congrats on the scan - itis always good to see the h/b!
Bec - I think Kayley has been having a few bad dreams - waking up crying. Kept saying the other day Cooper fell over.... Cooper is our dog who dies a little while ago so maybe she did dream about him?
Well I better run - take care everyone.
Oh I have started a new thread too - hopefully this will take you to it!
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3012070#post3012070