View Full Version : Designer Rags

26-04-2006, 12:04
Is It Important To You What Your Kids Wear?
My Mum Says
"just Put Them In Rags"
Personally It Is Important To Me
I Like Them To Look Different
And Clean..

jaimie
26-04-2006, 12:07
i think it depends on what you yourself wear. i dont do designer but jazz wears target,best and less,pumpkin patch and some hand me downs thrown in. as long as she looks clean and a bit funky then im happy..

jembelina
26-04-2006, 12:14
It is important to me. I don't spend ridiculous amounts on clothing for ds (I can't justify it or afford it) but I think he has a pretty hip and happenin' wardrobe:cool: I hate clothes that are a bad fit or bad quality. I have found you can find good stuff at a good price if you hunt around.
He has daggy old cheapy clothes to wear at home if we aren't going out and in the backyard. DF thinks i'm crazy if I change him out of these to leave the house onthe weekends!

diamonds22
26-04-2006, 12:16
I would have to say its important to me...not necessary brand names all the time..but definitely an effort to shop for nice/pretty things.

when i was growing up i got given all the hand me downs:o which wouldn’t have been so bad if there wasn’t 5years apart between us!!! I remember when I was lil..even as far back as kindy, that I was conscious of what I was wearing and compared my dresses to others..and left feeling somewhat embarrassed...my parents aren’t poor, far from it, however our clothes werent on there high priority list...For my children, there appearce to be neat/tidy and well groomed when in public is high on my list as then they can learn that its important to take pride in their appearance for there own satisfaction.

misskittyfantastico
26-04-2006, 12:17
I just like my DD to look clean and smell good:D She's a Target and Best n Less girl.....and she owns too much pink!

Scout
26-04-2006, 12:17
I would love to have drawers full of Fred Bare and Ralph Lauren Baby ready for my little guy but I just can't justify the money when they will be growing so quick and so soon.

My plan at the moment is to buy funky little clothes for him from wherever and have one expensive little outfit for each season. I get ticked off though cause I think the boys range from Target is just horrible so I'm not quite sure where I'm going to shop regularly for him.

I reckon for babies, nothing looks cuter than Bonds stuff - whew, thankfully that's not expensive!

jaimie
26-04-2006, 12:20
best and less just had 40% off bonds so i got a stack of that but what is with the crushed velvet **** in target!:barf:

Mum2Lucas
26-04-2006, 13:00
Brand names arent too important when dressing DS. We usually shop at target and pumpkin patch and also David jones, myers and other nice stores too. As long as he looks clean and nice thats all that matters.

26-04-2006, 13:06
I think the general consensis (sp?) seems to be, that they look clean, neat & tidy & a little bit hip!! Thats what I like!! My kids have a few brand name things but mostly Target stuff.

I never want my kids to feel embarrased about their clothes, but I aslo dont want them to only wear brand names either. A happy medium!! :D

Baby Girl
26-04-2006, 13:11
I like clothes that are a little bit different but still cute - that is for me!!

For my girls I like the same thing so they wear a lot of pink and purple with odd colours like orange and yellow thrown in!!

DP is a rap music junkie so he likes the girls to look a bit hip hop and funky so they have cargos and cute little tee's and hoodies.

I am happy as long as they are clean and tidy. I must admit both girls have a lot of matching tracksuit sets - pants and jackets and these are easy to funky it up with, just add a cute tee and a funky hat and shoes and they are looking pretty cool!!

One of DD1's fave fashion accessories is her pink bandana - just like dad's but his aren't pink - and she wears it alot in winter.

26-04-2006, 13:17
. I have found you can find good stuff at a good price if you hunt around.
!
that is me
can't afford Target these days but
i am a bargain hunter
so i buy a lot od designer stuff
for my kids
i like them to wear the sort of stuff
i wear

diamonds22
26-04-2006, 13:21
I think the general consensis (sp?) seems to be, that they look clean, neat & tidy & a little bit hip!! Thats what I like!! My kids have a few brand name things but mostly Target stuff.

I never want my kids to feel embarrased about their clothes, but I aslo dont want them to only wear brand names either. A happy medium!! :D

spot on!:thumbsup:

26-04-2006, 13:25
i can't afford Target
it is so expensive and the quality iisn't great
QUALITY is very important for me
i bargain hunt
my kids wear anything from rip curl to fred bare to rock your baby to petit bateau
and even kenzo
i don't like american stuff
aussie stuff can be very good
and i like euro stuff too
i like to spend $10 on tees and shorts
no more than $20 on pants and jumpers
$30 on jackets

Funkychicken
26-04-2006, 13:56
I'm going against thr grain here and saying-very proudly-that I will not put my children in 'brand name' clothing. I outright refuse to support huge companies making squillions off people because of the name on the clothing. My children are dressed in clean clothes that mostly are handed on to them with some stuff I buy in markets/op shops and very occasionally in department stores. I love buying hamdmade clothes and knits from markets and I know I am paying someone directly for the work and love they have put into the item. My eldest is only 7 and hasn't got a clue what a brand name is. He puts on his clothes in the morning and off he goes-no fuss. My DD likes things that appeal to her visually-usually odd combinations of pants under skirts and woollen jumpers. We have a great circle of friends who are all happy passing clothes from one to another and our DD thinks it's the best when a whole bag of clothes comes her way. We play at dressing up/trying on and decide what fits now and what fits later. Her beaming face when she is dressed in something that she likes is priceless.:D

26-04-2006, 14:02
I love buying hamdmade clothes and knits from markets and I know I am paying someone directly for the work and love they have put into the item. decide what fits now and what fits later.:D

if i could i woulddesign and make clothing myself
i knit too
op shops are great too
quality doesn't mean a fortune

Ana Gram
26-04-2006, 14:05
DD has a lot of designer clothes. I, however have not and will not spend more than $5 on one item of clothing for her. I buy pretty much everything from secondhand shops. you can always find stuff that is great quality and still in great nick because kids grow so fast. I buy most of my clothes that way as well. Have never found anything good for DP though. I have noticed with second hand clothing that men wear things until they become a rag.

porridge
26-04-2006, 14:39
I get ticked off though cause I think the boys range from Target is just horrible so I'm not quite sure where I'm going to shop regularly for him.

grrr I know!! they have HEAPS of girls stuff and half the boys stuff looks like girls stuff!

I'm happy with hand me downs at the moment (if it's still looking good). I think I'll be going to Best and Less more because they have a good range of bonds stuff and it's cheaper than other places.

As long as my boy is looking neat and tidy, I'm happy. There are some *great* photos of me when I was lil and I look like a homeless feral (fuzzy hair and grotty clothes) - not nice. I too was very aware of my clothes compared to other people's when I was growing up, again - not nice.

26-04-2006, 14:43
As long as my boy is looking neat and tidy, I'm happy. There are some *great* photos of me when I was lil and I look like a homeless feral (fuzzy hair and grotty clothes) - not nice. I too was very aware of my clothes compared to other people's when I was growing up, again - not nice.

I was the same
photos of me and siblings
errr..
i want more for my kids
though i learnt about saving money
and bargain hunting from my mum

Mamaduke
26-04-2006, 15:06
My boys mostly wear Gymboree clothes. I've found the quality of their clothes to be second to none, and even though I have to pay a little extra at times (due to the currency rate and shipping charge) they wash really well, never shrink, have adjustable waists and I'm virtually assured that no one else will be in the same outfit.
I don't really buy from Pumpkin Patch because I think their quality is pretty crappy and the only thing I buy from Target are the track pants or 'knock around' clothes.
If I buy Fred Bare or Osh Kosh they aren't for mucking around at the park or kinder, they are for when we go out or have to attend a party etc.
So, I guess in saying all of this, it is important what my boys wear....
as Bree Van De Kamp says...

"When you leave this house, you're representing this family & what you wear is a reflection on all of us"
I love that quote!:D

Jem
26-04-2006, 15:18
My kids wear op shop clothes... i find great brands. Pumpkin patch, osh kosh, Target etc....
Even clothes that arent brand name... nice.. neat... funky ;) :thumbsup:
i very rarely buy them something new.... not when i get a few bags per week from my local vinnies :D

Scout
26-04-2006, 21:46
So are you guys all saying that you wouldn't part with $80 for the little Diesel t-shirt I saw for a one year old today?

:eek: Ouch.

Funkychicken
26-04-2006, 21:49
So are you guys all saying that you wouldn't part with $80 for the little Diesel t-shirt I saw for a one year old today?

OUCH alright!! I can't fathom anyone spending this much money on a t-shirt for an adult let alone a little one!:confused:

Funkychicken
26-04-2006, 21:52
grrr I know!! they have HEAPS of girls stuff and half the boys stuff looks like girls stuff!

I'm happy with hand me downs at the moment (if it's still looking good). I think I'll be going to Best and Less more because they have a good range of bonds stuff and it's cheaper than other places.

I often looked through photo's from childhood and thought :eek: at what i was dressed in but when I look at all the other people in these photo's they are dressed the same. I think it was the standard of the day. Oohh, am I showing my age here?:D

Scout
26-04-2006, 21:55
http://www.babykidsmarket.com.au/

Has anyone ever attended one of the Baby & Kids Markets? There is one on in Melb on Sunday so I'm going to go and have a look.

rynosmum
26-04-2006, 21:59
I find the 'Stix and Stones' range at Best and Less to be surprisingly funky and hard wearing. I think it generally looks a lot better than the Target stuff too.

My DS has a bit of Tommy Hilfiger and Baby Gap stuff thanks to DH's yearly trip to the US for work and the great DFO near the US office.:D

Apart from that, my favourite by far is his Best n Less gear.

tyhleigha & izaiah's mum
26-04-2006, 22:20
ok my 3 year old daughter wears hi-5, barbie, my little pony, mary kate and ashley, pumpkin patch, adidas, ralph lauren, wrangler, winnie the pooh, wiggles etc there is a couple of target but nto much maybe 2 sets

and my 16month old son wears winnie the pooh, thomas the tank engine, ralph lauren, wrangler, adidas, billabong, pumpkin patch, wiggles, spiderman, bob the builder and a couple of target and best and less

my kids dont have yard clothes they have to wear the good ones around the yard, but its all good daddy has to wash and soak im so lucky hehe:smiliedance:

JaYdEn&CaYLeE'sMuMmY
26-04-2006, 22:29
yer..i dont put my kids in 2nd hand clothes.. they wear good clothes.. i brought jaydens nikes the other day and soon ill be buying caylee some.. i just use preen to get dirt off their clothes..works great..but yer.. i wouldnt wear 2nd hand clothes so i wouldnt put my kids in it..
but its ok if any1 does..its ur choise.. im giving all my baby clothes to my bfs sister.. coz she only buys 2nd hand clothes..well im actually giving her everything of the kids . i like the kids to look good..even though they got more clothes/hoes and look better than me..lol

Frazzled
26-04-2006, 23:02
I love dressing my son up all cute to boot but I never spend ridiculous amounts on clothing - what is the point? he only vomits on them and grows out each size every two months!

As long as he is clean and warm I don't mind. He has a few good quality hand me downs, but most of his wardrobe is from Target. I find their quality great, the same with PP too??? He has a fair bit of Bonds and some things from DJ's and PP when they have a sale on. I always find the clothes in Big W for boys, simply flithy and I don't find Best'n'Less any better. Maybe it varied state to state?

What I dont get though is why som nay of the childrens/babies clothes these days are so 'grown up'? I just don't get the skanky look for a 12 month old bubba girl and I don't want my little man looking like a punk rocker come bikie come porn star, at five months old! They are only babies for such a short time, let them look like and be babies!

That's just me anyway.

Oh and I also think that the other rule is that there is just so much more for girls!

littlepickle
26-04-2006, 23:59
I like things that are funky and a little different - whether they are a fancy brand name or not doesnt mater too much although I would like to splash out now and again if I se somethign really special

Ana Gram
27-04-2006, 00:06
yer..i dont put my kids in 2nd hand clothes.. they wear good clothes.. i brought jaydens nikes the other day and soon ill be buying caylee some.. i just use preen to get dirt off their clothes..works great..but yer.. i wouldnt wear 2nd hand clothes so i wouldnt put my kids in it..
but its ok if any1 does..its ur choise.. im giving all my baby clothes to my bfs sister.. coz she only buys 2nd hand clothes..well im actually giving her everything of the kids . i like the kids to look good..even though they got more clothes/hoes and look better than me..lol

Sorry, don't really want to start an arguement but 2nd hand clothes can still look good, and they can still be good clothes.

caitsmum
27-04-2006, 00:43
2nd hand clothes can still look good, and they can still be good clothes.

Have to say that I agree with you on this. Some of my girls best clothes are clothes that have been brought on Ebay and are used clothes. Especially when they are little and grow out of their clothes so fast they don't get the full wear out of them.

SixtiesChild
27-04-2006, 01:12
I know that second hand clothing doesn't appeal to everyone but I have found high quality clothes in op shops before, so I have to agree with chellegoth & Caitsmum.
Who would know anyway if something you're wearing is second hand?

SassyMummy
27-04-2006, 01:21
I generally buy things that I think are nice - and it really doesn't matter where they come from, just so long as I like them and they fit DD.

That said, the most I have ever paid for any of her outfits is $30 - because she's a baby and it will only last one season (if that). I'm not willing to fork out $30 for a t-shirt either - I don't care if it has "FRED" written across it or not. Why would I want to pay so much money for some stupid name to be written on it? It doesn't make a difference to the quality...only to your bank account.

If I can get a bargain on brand-names...then I will if I like a particular item of clothing...but otherwise, I shop at Big W, Best and Less, Target, K-Mart and the odd item from Pumpkin Patch (though I've found that their clothing is a very small fit...and a lot of it LOOKS cool but it difficult for a crawler to get around in). I also hunt down bargains on eBay (gorgeous Pumpkin Patch skirt for $8...and a Ladybird skirt for $3...lol).

When I'm around the house, DD often wears BONDS stretchy pants. They're so much easier for a crawler to get around in...and I don't care if she dirties them.

I have a friend that says that if she ever has a baby...it will NEVER wear jumpsuits. Pfft...they're the EASIEST things to keep a newborn in, IMO. DD still wears them to bed too...they're just better than tops and pants that can lift up and let bellies and backs get cold.

Pixie
27-04-2006, 05:16
Hmm I bought a lot of Eliza's clothes from the Peter Rabbit line bit pricey yet so cute :D and baby world line from Myer sure they sell it everywhere though. nearly everthing we have bought has been when they have 20% off which is all the time in the Sydney city myer store.

I have been given a heap of 2nd hand clothes call me a snob or tradittional I wanted new clothes for my first born. and not blue with trucks on it!! So I gave them back to the MIL lol

We ge lots of comments on her clothes but everyone comments on newborn outfits lol as they are soooo cute!

littlepickle
27-04-2006, 08:27
I have bought a few bits and bobs on ebay - even some cute little baby dior outfits!!

27-04-2006, 10:43
Im kinda glad I have a boy and its not just the easy hair cuts (DM;) :laughing: ) coz like you I love little girl clothes awww too cute!!!

I think its harder to find cute, edgy clothes for boys but when you do they are sometimes cheaper (than girls clothes) and boys only really need t's and pants not many accessories LOL like little girls ;)

I Love Bonds, the BodyGlove range from Kmart (they have the cutest Royal Pirates range for little boys!) my ds wears lots of cargos and t's and I too like him to look clean and tidy (not always possible with an active toddler LOL but i do try!)

Im a bargain hunter too:smiliedance:

fee's
27-04-2006, 10:56
before I had my bub I was given 3 large nappy boxes full of clothes from a friend with 3 boys. For the first 6mts of his life he lived in most of that stuff and a few special outfits I bought for going out.

I have just discovered alot of the designer stuff (fred bear, oshkosh etc) and have been stocking up on winter stuff - some from shops and some from ebay I usually look for the designer stuff on ebay and supplement it with cool 'different' stuff I can find at the usual stores like kmart, best and less, wollies and target.

I have never had much luck with pumkin patch stuff, my boy looks great in bright colours and most of their stuff is kind of pastel - washed out colours so they just don't suit him.

MissSparkle
27-04-2006, 11:50
My lil man wears lots of the brands sold in Myer but I buy them at the end of season sales for the next year. Like before he was born I had clothges up to size 4 that I found of sale.

I admit I did buy him a pair of Quilksilver boardies ($55) and a matching shirt ($40) and jumper ($60) but that was when it was tax time and I got a nice return from family tax benefit and wanted to spoil him abit. He also wears lots of bonds and target too. As long as he is clean, warm enough and happy I don't mind!

Briannabear
27-04-2006, 11:54
I have some brand name clothing Ive bought for my DD, but I havent bought them for the brand. If I see something I like, and its a bit different or really pretty I'll buy it.
I dont have a problem with second hand clothing at all. Ive bought quite a few things off ebay - and I think its great!:thumbsup: We've also been given hand-me-downs that Ive used as well. If its in good condition I dont see what the big deal is.
I must admit I enjoyed putting my newborn baby in new clothes that I picked myself, but I wasnt too funny about it. It doesnt bother me at all anymore! :D

JaYdEn&CaYLeE'sMuMmY
28-04-2006, 00:54
theres nuthing wrong with second hand clothes.. i just prefur to put new clothes on the kids.. even if it is from target,kmart and best & less..i use stuff like my sons baby blankets and my sons gown he wore lastyr in winter.. my daughter wears it.. i wasnt trying to affend anyone..
sorry if i did:o

SassyDiva
28-04-2006, 01:12
Well as I've mentioned in a previous Thread Im a reformed shop-a-holic but I still love to get out and find a bargin.
I have 2 wardrobes for 3 year old DS - 1 for Kindy / messy play and 1 for going out. I like my boys to be decked, I like the boys in Nike or Adidas runners but Im not a slave to Brands.. Shop lots at Target and Pumpkin Patch and Big W., then I like to have a few items like Billabong hats and beanies, like Oshkosh for the quality and I've recently got on to a web site to get Baby Gap clothes from US.. so cute and very cheap.

:smiliedance: - Me when I find a bargin

28-04-2006, 09:52
[QUOTE=YoungMumSteph]My lil man wears lots of the brands sold in Myer but I buy them at the end of season sales for the next year. Like before he was born I had clothges up to size 4 that I found of sale.

I DO THE SAME THING

IF YOU ORGANISE YOURSELF AND BUY AT LEAST A SEASON IN ADVANCE
AND KNOW WHERE TO SHOP
YOU CAN HAVE THE BEST STUFF

I USUALLY PAY HALF PRICE FOR MY FAMILY'S CLOTHES
THE ONLY PROBLEM IS I BUY WAY TOO MANY THINGS FOR MY GIRL
GIRLS ARE WAY TOO EASY TO BUY FOR
IT IS ALOT MORE REWARDING TO SHOP FOR MY BOYS
COS IT IS MORE OF A CHALLENGE

28-04-2006, 09:58

WHY NOT SPEND $200 ON A TEE FROM nOLITA pOCKET AVAILABLE FROM
dAVID jONES

:no:

SassyMummy
28-04-2006, 23:11
I forgot to mention that I'm also a bit of an eBay baby clothes addict. I go on there ALL THE TIME and try to get great deals for my little girl. The way I figure it, I can pay 25% of the purchase price for something that's probably been worn about 5 times...and at this stage in her life (9 months old), she doesn't do much to get dirty so neither would most other little ones. It's the perfect place to grab a bargain! (I got an Pumpkin Patch 05 winter skirt, new with its tags, for $8. It was bought for $25...so I think that's a decent save!)

I also find that buying 2nd hand gives you more variety - you're not just buying the current stock...so chances are, your bub will have something that other babies don't!

I don't see the need to deck my little girl out in expensive gear because she'll outgrow it within a few months, and she doesn't even CARE what she wears anyway. If I shoved her in a paper bag dress, she'd probably LOVE it (especially because then she could RIP the paper...lol).

My DP is an idiot though. He told me the other day, "I don't care what STYLE my clothes are...just so long as they have a brand attached!" I was shocked. What an idiot!

Fairyfloss
29-04-2006, 06:24
I am sorry, this might sound a bit dumb but what do you mean by designer brands? and if possible can I get a couple of example names!!! I am in process of shopping for my baby cloths but have no clue, what the fuss is about. sorry if I am going off in a tangent.:o

WeThree
29-04-2006, 09:51
There is no way i will spend heaps of money on something that my child is only going to fit into for one season. i love scouring op shops for clothes for them, you can find fabulous brand name stuff and super cheap play clothes, it is good because i spend like, $20 or something and come out with a bag full of clothes! so it also helps relieve the shopping addict inside me without breaking the bank.
i love ebay as well for really good quality used or unusual clothes, although i havnt gone their much lately, i wasnt actually saving money in the end, because i was buying wayyyyy to much, specially for my girl!

talon
29-04-2006, 10:39
I am sorry, this might sound a bit dumb but what do you mean by designer brands? and if possible can I get a couple of example names!!! I am in process of shopping for my baby cloths but have no clue, what the fuss is about. sorry if I am going off in a tangent.:o

Fred Bare, Baby Gap, Quiksilver, Billabong etc. :)

stilldreaming
29-04-2006, 10:40
I have a mixture of both.

Coop has a bit of Fred Bare and Eeni Meeni Miini Moh which I always get on sale or buy last seasons stock from ebay shops. I just buy larger sizes and put them away so I never have to have a big shop at the change of seasons.

He also has lots of bonds, target and kmart clothes. My mum and MIL both send over clothes all the time so we are pretty lucky...they send stuff over that we can't get here.....eg best & less and big w.

I am a big fan of ebay and have no problem with buying 2nd hand clothes....most of the stuff has hardly been worn anyway. And its lots of fun!

Scout
29-04-2006, 16:36
Coop has a bit of Fred Bare and Eeni Meeni Miini Moh which I always get on sale or buy last seasons stock from ebay shops. I just buy larger sizes and put them away so I never have to have a big shop at the change of seasons.

Ooohhhhh, I love the Eeni Meeni Miini Moh stuff!! It's like Pure Baby which is just gorgeous. Thankfully the Pure Baby factory is in Melbourne and they have great sales each year hence my little guy is going to be well-decked out for the first few months.

claireandbailey
29-04-2006, 17:02
My lil man wears lots of the brands sold in Myer but I buy them at the end of season sales for the next year. Like before he was born I had clothges up to size 4 that I found of sale.

Myer have the best sales at the end of the season. i always stocl up on the next size clothes. they always mark the prices down then you get 50% off that again. plus I dont think myer (Baby World i think???) is that expensive plus they pretty much always have 20-25%off. i like myer better than target who i think is a bit exensive and not the best quality. But i definetly cant go past best and less (doesnt help much i work there and i am on maternity leave at the moment) their clothes is cheap but really cute plus good for basics.
My dd has a fair bit of brand clothes but i always buy when on special plus my grandmother sends heaps of baby gap from scotland.

stilldreaming
29-04-2006, 21:57
Ooohhhhh, I love the Eeni Meeni Miini Moh stuff!! It's like Pure Baby which is just gorgeous. Thankfully the Pure Baby factory is in Melbourne and they have great sales each year hence my little guy is going to be well-decked out for the first few months.
I haven't had any of the Pure Baby gear.... I can't get it over here. It looks very similar to Eeni (which IS gorgeous)...........
I might just check it out on ebay right now....:D

29-04-2006, 22:54
Well i couldnt go near a brand name as it wouldnt be worth my time effort or money !
Bubs has grown like a trooper since he was born & is currently in a size 2 yet is only coming up to 14mths in age so we have never been able to keep up with buying enough so there goes our idea of buying things from last season to do for he following year as it just doesnt work !
He wears a lot of Target, Kmart as well as Best & Less & i have to say compared to Pumpkin Patch or even the brands they do just as well standing up to a rough & tough little boy for half the price !
I love that for this winter so far he has a lot of denim, cord & camo style stuff with browns, navy's, khaki's & red's he looks fantastic in them !
I was pretty lucky that when bubs was a newborn my oldest sister was still living overseas as he got all branded european styles etc that were adorable & you never saw anything like that out here ! Cant wait for the next baby so have them in some of the stuff he never wore cause of his size !
I think if bubs looks clean & well presented i couldnt care if he was wearing op shop clothing because i think there is more to it than that.

MonkeyMum05
29-04-2006, 23:26
I don't really mind too much what my little man wears... he's just so cute that it doesn't matter! :D

01-05-2006, 09:29

lucky babe
tell me more
i love eeeni and pure baby too

01-05-2006, 09:35

no, that is okay...
to me designer stuff
is not the mass produced stuff
like target, etc

easy way
if it says on the tag
designed in Australia
or France
then it is considered designer
brand name examples
Aus- Fred Bare, Run Scotty Run, Eeni Meeni Miini Moh, Woof, Minihaha
Euro-Petit Bateau, Absorba, Timberland,Confetti

BlessedWithBlue
02-05-2006, 23:37
My boys mainly wear Best & Less, kmart and Kid's Who. I usually buy trackies and play clothes from Big W. They have a lot of Lacoste Baby, Osh Kosh, Ralph Lauren, Nike,. Fila clothes and shoes but some of that is courtesy of df's mum and brother who always bring things back from the philippines when they came back here. We don't have a lot of money to spare and as long as my boys look clean and not "feral" i'm happy. We don't go out a lot but when we do they both look cute ;)

carls
03-05-2006, 08:23
Hmm I bought a lot of Eliza's clothes from the Peter Rabbit line bit pricey yet so cute :D and baby world line from Myer sure they sell it everywhere though. nearly everthing we have bought has been when they have 20% off which is all the time in the Sydney city myer store.

I have been given a heap of 2nd hand clothes call me a snob or tradittional I wanted new clothes for my first born. and not blue with trucks on it!! So I gave them back to the MIL lol

We ge lots of comments on her clothes but everyone comments on newborn outfits lol as they are soooo cute!

I'm with DM on this one - David Jones and Myers have great 20% off sales all the time. I have never worn second hand clothes and wouldnt let James wear them. I like to know where they have been - from the factory to the store!!!
Most of James clothes are PP, babyworld and target but I actually did the unthinkable and went into best and less the other day to see for myself what the clothes were like. I was very happy to see that Bonds were a lot cheaper than everywhere else, and actually picked up a jacket for James (but put the best and less bag in my handbag out of sheer embarrassment and didnt tell DP!!) :o

03-05-2006, 11:08
I'm with DM on this one - David Jones and Myers have great 20% off sales all the time. I have never worn second hand clothes and wouldnt let James wear them. I like to know where they have been - from the factory to the store!!!
Most of James clothes are PP, babyworld and target but I actually did the unthinkable and went into best and less the other day to see for myself what the clothes were like. I was very happy to see that Bonds were a lot cheaper than everywhere else, and actually picked up a jacket for James (but put the best and less bag in my handbag out of sheer embarrassment and didnt tell DP!!) :o

Some brands are the same where ever you buy them
the price is just different
Myer and DJ sell bonds suits for $17
Target and best and less for $10
Big W for $8
Kmart is the cheapest
I bought them there when they had 25 % for about $5
It is a Bonds Wonder suit
an essential item so it doesn't matter where you buy

08-05-2006, 13:21
I don't really mind too much what my little man wears... he's just so cute that it doesn't matter! :D

A nice way to look at things!