View Full Version : Jan 2009- AUGUST CHAT THREAD :-)
readytotry
01-08-2008, 08:35 AM
Hey ladies :)
Can you guys believe it is the 1st of August today? Where oh where is this year going :eek: How are we all today? I have had my usual morning :barf:, it's how I seem to start the day. As soon as I have had my little spew, I feel 100 times better.
I popped into a maternity shop the other day and had a chat with the lady re: bras. She asked me how my current bras were fitting. I told her I thought they were ok, but I asked her to maybe check for me as I really wouldn't know if I am fitted correctly or not. So she had a look and said, "Good golly you have out grown your bra!" She said my underwire was pushing into my breast tissue which can cause deformaties to the growing milk ducts. So I ended up buying a Hot Milk Maternity bra, so cute, it was $57 which I thought was on the pricey side. But my shocking part of the story is that I have graduated from a 14B bra, to a 14 DD !!!!! I kept looking at the tag on the bra and to the lady and said are you sure? :laughing: DH loves it though of course!
Any plans for the weekend ladies? It is my DH 30 bday party tomorrow night, about 90 guests, should be a great night!
Mamalicious
01-08-2008, 08:41 AM
:laughing: How did you even get your bra on?!?!? :eek::p
Hot Milk are expensive hey, I want to save up and buy a couple of sets for after bubs is born, I will NOT grow out of a $50 bra! :o:laughing:
Ooh have fun at the party! I have NO plans for the weekend...just waiting on when we can book our tickets.
Oh, and in other news...I'm having a homebirth!!! :sunshine:
readytotry
01-08-2008, 08:57 AM
A home birth mamalicious that is so great! I have always wanted a homebirth. I figure for our first child I will book into a hospital, but for any subsequent children I would love to do a home water birth. All power to you mama L thats great!
Mamalicious
01-08-2008, 09:21 AM
:D Thanks, I'm so excited!!! I'm just waiting on an email back from the birth pool hire, fingers crossed they have one for me!!! :fingerscrossed::babydust2:
Can't wait to get over there and start setting up the house for us, and getting the garage ready for the birth! Lucky we're all due in January, it'll be lovely and warm!!! :goodvibes:
readytotry-i was told the same thing last week regarding underwire bras. i had to purchase a new bra as ive shifted from a 12c to a 12e. maternity bras can be quite pricey - in fact alot of the maternity range of clothing ive seen have been pricey- ah the joys of it all!
Belana
01-08-2008, 11:42 AM
hi all
i woke up today thinking that bubs will be here in less than 6 months. starting to freak out a bit as it still seems so surreal. havent even bought anything for bubs yet.
i think im up for new bras too. i only have underwires and they are all fairly tight. i was already a DD before i was pregnant so am a tad scared of the sizing aswell. i will have to check out those Hot Milk bras ur all talking about :)
congrats to mamalicious about ur homebirth :)
Incy Wincy
01-08-2008, 11:55 AM
I can't believe it's August already and I'm looking quite pregnant now. Quite a few people don't know yet and as it's winter at the moment I've kept covered up. It will be funny when they can't miss the bump. I'm not feeling sick anymore just having the odd headache which I'm putting down to hormones.
Mamalicious - excellent news on the water birth. I found water so soothing last time and spent the last week of my pregnancy in the bath at all sorts of weird times.
I've stocked up on maternity tops on ebay and I'm wearing my bra's from my previous pregnancy. They're not very sexy though.
Have a good weekend ladies and hope the boobs don't get too out of control :eek:
Readytotry - don't get carried away dancing at the party - you might knock yourself out :p :D
angelbaby013
01-08-2008, 11:59 AM
:eek: OMG you just gave me the biggest shock!!!
I have no freakin idea what date it was today...I saw the thread and I was like...geez you ladies are anxious its a bit earlier aint it.
Where has time gone...I don't want it to go this fast....SLOOOOOW DOWN!!!!! ;)
I hope everyone is feeling as nutty as I am today.....I guess it beats being sick.
Hels*Bels
01-08-2008, 12:57 PM
I went in to see my friend who had her bub yesterday. She's so small!! (the baby...not my friend...hehe). I have my scan on Thursday next week (& no, we won't be finding out the gender). I hate to say, I *still* can't get my head around the fact I'm pregnant & will be having another child in 5 months time...despite now being able to feel it kicking & hearing it on my heartbeat monitor thingy (this thing (http://www.mybirthcare.com/pregnancy/baby_heart_monitor.asp), except it's pink - it's very cool...can hear bubs kick & later on, can hear their heartbeat, etc...I used it a lot with #2). I'm just really struggling to get enthusiastic about bubs...which sounds terrible as we do want another baby & this one was planned, etc. Sigh.
I feel the same way, even though this bub was very much planned I just can't seem to bond and get excited. Maybe after the scan I will...
:D Thanks, I'm so excited!!! I'm just waiting on an email back from the birth pool hire, fingers crossed they have one for me!!! :fingerscrossed::babydust2:
Can't wait to get over there and start setting up the house for us, and getting the garage ready for the birth! Lucky we're all due in January, it'll be lovely and warm!!! :goodvibes:
Ooooh... does this mean that the move to Brissy is going ahead now?
:wave: Welcome to the new girls from the other thread. I have been reading but not posting much as I don't really have much news. Just plodding along really...
On a good note, the M/S has just about fully gone now. I still dry-retch at night sometimes (usually when brushing my teeth). Still getting headaches quite often but they have become a part of everyday life.
GoneBatty
01-08-2008, 12:58 PM
Hey all!!!
We had a nice little get away in melb but glad to be home!!
Had hospital appointment today and i got into the birth center :D pretty happy about that.
Hope your all doing well!!
Mamalicious
01-08-2008, 01:02 PM
Yep, we're moving!!!! :yelclap::D I should put a countdown ticker in my sig haha
Mmmm I lovvvved the bath when I was in labour with DS, I got so annoyed when they made me get out!!! I told them all I needed to pee and then locked them out of the bathroom :o:laughing: but then I could only get so far as the toilet because I was in transition and :laughing: I thought I just needed to poo!
beck75
01-08-2008, 01:10 PM
Wow I can't believe it is August already - my first thought was why are you starting a new post!! Scan this month - I can't wait!! Only 5 months and 2 days to due day now (that is sounding scary).
Wow on the boob sizes!! I am in my old maternity bras at the moment too which are not hugely attractive but do the job! Some of you have had huge growth already! I have only gone up a size and maybe a bit! I don't explect to get any larger as I am about the same size as last time now. I do enjo having boobs though!
Well we had a terrible weekend last weekend with our beloved dog dieing suddenly - he would have been 5 last week. DD is still saying "Cooper gone" and now she has got "Cooper goe up to the stars" as I was worried that she might start to get upset when other things were gone in the future. We have been pretty sad but getting better - he was such a good dog.
It is pouring here at the momentwhich I guess means no work on the house - I know we want rain but I just want to get to lock up then it can rain all it wants!!
I feel for all of you having problems - pregnancy is so tough on our bodies isn't it......
Anyway I have to run - keep well and have a great weekend.
angelbaby013
01-08-2008, 07:15 PM
:sleeping: im bored....where is everyone :(
Mummy to Mason
01-08-2008, 07:36 PM
Mamalicious that's great news on the move & the homebirth! :yelclap:
I am feeling so much better the last 2 days. I have stopped taking my maxolon which was meant to help with m/s but was actually making me so tired and therefore depressed. I have had 2 days off it now and if I can get through the morning yuckiness then I'm fine for the rest of the day and seem to have so much more energy.
I hope you are all doing well :hugs:
I am wondering how muminwaiting is doing, has anyone heard from her?
angelbaby013
01-08-2008, 07:51 PM
I am feeling so much better the last 2 days. I have stopped taking my maxolon which was meant to help with m/s but was actually making me so tired and therefore depressed. I have had 2 days off it now and if I can get through the morning yuckiness then I'm fine for the rest of the day and seem to have so much more energy.
I haven't used Maxolon before but Ive heard it doesnt work in everyone...sorry to hear your not feeling well.
I try start the day not too late and have a lot of water in the first few hours....makes me feel alot better than if i don't.
Big :hugs:
Mamalicious
01-08-2008, 08:00 PM
That sucks that it didn't work. :( Hope the mornings go quickly for you then. :yes::D
Hey yeah, where is muminwaiting?!
Mummy to Mason
01-08-2008, 08:29 PM
Thanks ladies. I am feeling sooo much better since stopping taking it so I am pretty happy about that (just bummed I suffered for so long with it without realising it was most of the problem :laughing:)
I have found that if I eat small meals regularly through the day it helps heaps. And the water idea is a good one, I find it helps too. I actually crave cold water some days lol.
I hope muminwaiting is ok :fingerscrossed:
Hels*Bels
01-08-2008, 09:01 PM
Wow I can't believe it is August already - my first thought was why are you starting a new post!! Scan this month - I can't wait!! Only 5 months and 2 days to due day now (that is sounding scary).
Wow on the boob sizes!! I am in my old maternity bras at the moment too which are not hugely attractive but do the job! Some of you have had huge growth already! I have only gone up a size and maybe a bit! I don't explect to get any larger as I am about the same size as last time now. I do enjo having boobs though!
Well we had a terrible weekend last weekend with our beloved dog dieing suddenly - he would have been 5 last week. DD is still saying "Cooper gone" and now she has got "Cooper goe up to the stars" as I was worried that she might start to get upset when other things were gone in the future. We have been pretty sad but getting better - he was such a good dog.
It is pouring here at the momentwhich I guess means no work on the house - I know we want rain but I just want to get to lock up then it can rain all it wants!!
I feel for all of you having problems - pregnancy is so tough on our bodies isn't it......
Anyway I have to run - keep well and have a great weekend.
Really sorry to hear about your dog, he wasn't very old either :(
I am wearing my maternity bras from last time too, I am lucky that my (*) (*) don't grow all that huge in pregnancy, just the rest of me does :rolleyes:
Glad to hear you are feeling better Haylie.
angelbaby013
01-08-2008, 10:54 PM
And the water idea is a good one, I find it helps too. I actually crave cold water some days lol.
:yes: i love water...some days it tastes so sweet...i can drink 3lts some days...its great.
ive been reading up what problems you can have if you don't drink enough....its very very scary :eek:
mumsi
02-08-2008, 10:11 AM
Hi ladies....
Hope it's ok that I introduce myself in this thread.... My name is Michelle, and I am 31. I am the mum of 3 gorgeous girls aged 11, 7 and 4, and am expecting baby #4 on January 22nd. I would really love another little girl, as I am almost 'scared' of baby boys, but as the old cliche goes, 'as long as it's healthy'......
For the ladies who have had to buy new bra's aready - me too. I went bra shopping at 10 weeks, and went up 2 sizes. I bought 2 'normal bra's' and a hot milk one - it looks quite french maidy (black and white lace) but it's so so comfy...... Does have a few big bows on it that I might take off though.....
Well, that's enough about me for now, I look forward to chatting with you all.
Michelle
Mamalicious
02-08-2008, 10:17 AM
Welcome to the group mumsi! Little boys are great, lots of fun!!!! :D
I know what you mean though, I don't mind what we have this time but a little girl does make me a bit nervous sometimes! :laughing:
mumsi
02-08-2008, 10:27 AM
Thanks mamalicious,
I think it all boils down to what we're used to.... If I'd have had 3 boys, I'm sure I'd be wanting another boy.... It's just that, I know what to do with all the 'girls bits' IYKWIM...:laughing:
Mamalicious
02-08-2008, 10:44 AM
:laughing: Yep, changing a girls nappy terrifies me!!! :laughing:
fozzie
02-08-2008, 10:46 AM
Welcome Mumsi :wave:
Well on the subject of boobies I'm in my old maternity bras but one of those doesn't fit so i'm going to have to get some more pretty soon but it is never cheap for me as I'm an 18H in maternity bras and that should give me enough room for my milk to come in.
5 more sleeps till my scan :smiliedance:
angelbaby013
02-08-2008, 03:37 PM
Welcome to our little group Michelle
I hope you enjoy your pregnancy.
Well I have been a busy little bee today. DH told me he was cleaning the house and DD wanted to go to my mums so off we went.
He started @ 10.30 and its now 2.30 and he is nearly finished. He vacuumed the whole house, moving all the furniture too. Bleached all the floors. He has the bathroom left to do, he is bleaching all the grout etc.
Im so happy he is helping me out as I don't wanna go near the chemicals.
I hope everyone else is having a good Saturday. Having family round for a bbq tonight and Ive got everything ready so its computer time for me :smiliedance:
Mummy to Mason
02-08-2008, 04:56 PM
Welcome Michelle!
Yep, changing a girls nappy terrifies me!!! :laughing:
:iagree: :laughing: I think boys are so easy!
angelbaby013
02-08-2008, 05:29 PM
I think girls are easy? But, I don't understand whats hard about either :confused:
epiphany
02-08-2008, 06:03 PM
They're both easy.
Girls: remember to wipe front to back.
Boys: cover with a cloth while you're getting a nappy ready (or you'll more than likely end up with a face full of wee...not as big a problem when they're a wee bit older but can be an issue when they're very little) & remember to point it down when putting the nappy on (or you'll get leaking out the top when they go to the loo).
Easy :D
I've found my daughter & son have developed quite differently...different interests, methods of playing, etc...but that would be the same even between children of the same gender. But there's a surprising amount of genetic gender-based differences in their play, development, etc, that seem to exist without prompting (eg my son has loved cars since he was very little...my daughter was always into dolls...even though we make a point of not gender stereotyping during play...they just naturally incline that way).
Each gender has their unique challenges & issues. But they all bring huge blessing into a family. I love having both :valentine:
Mamalicious
02-08-2008, 06:11 PM
Cos with a boy you don't have to worry about poo going up their willy, it's an out only space! Girls are so much more complicated down there!
My boy did the HUGEST poo today and it was hard enough to deal with, a girl would have had to go under the tap!
epiphany
02-08-2008, 06:59 PM
Cos with a boy you don't have to worry about poo going up their willy, it's an out only space! Girls are so much more complicated down there!
It's not normally too bad - even with major poo ;)
angelbaby013
02-08-2008, 07:10 PM
My boy did the HUGEST poo today and it was hard enough to deal with, a girl would have had to go under the tap!
its not that hard...you just have to make sure you wipe down only and get gentle...simple really.
id love to have one of each...i agree each gender is totally different in personalities....but I couldn't imagine not having a girl...she is my little angel.
Mamalicious
02-08-2008, 07:27 PM
Lol I'm not saying girls are bad!!
I'm saying boys nappies seem easier to change, I guess I'll find out!!
Hels*Bels
02-08-2008, 11:01 PM
:laughing: I have had some pretty challenging boy's pooey nappies. I wonder if little girls put their hands in the middle of it all like my DS does?????
Cordelia
02-08-2008, 11:14 PM
Gosh! I thoguht I'd sticky beak my nose in and what are you ladies talking about !!!!! teehee!!!!!
Mummy to Mason
03-08-2008, 07:29 AM
The nappy discussions are so funny :laughing:
I don't think one is necessarily 'easier' than the other, I think it's what you are used to. Friends who have only girls say they would find it awkward changing a boys nappy and vice versa. I guess if I have a girl I will get used to it quick enough. Wees don't bother me, it's the messy poos that freak me out :laughing:
Mummyto3blue
03-08-2008, 01:20 PM
Well ive done soooo many stinker nappies to last me a lifetime. I reckon I do about 4-6 dirty nappies a day. Not good when im gagging over EVERYTHING lol.
I wont know what to do with a girl but I soooo wanna find out :)
GoneBatty
03-08-2008, 01:36 PM
LOL at all the nappy talk!!
i think anything different to what ur used to is a bit scary, fear of the unknown n all that hehe.
Today is going so slow. we went out for lunch with my family for my bday tomorrow which was nice, but now its just dragging coz i cant wait for tomorrow to come! so glad the scan is in the morning means i dont have to suffer the full day waiting :laughing:
epiphany
03-08-2008, 05:20 PM
Today is going so slow. we went out for lunch with my family for my bday tomorrow which was nice
Happy birthday for tomorrow happybirthday
It's my birthday today. My hubby actually remembered it (yay!!) & gave me a lovely gift voucher (among other things) for a massage & facial & other pampering at a local day spa. So yummy :D
I've spent part of the day painting. I'm really hoping it's not doing nasty things to bubs :no: But I'm sick of having my books all over the floor & need to get the bookcases all finished (man, I hate painters - I finally found one who actually turned up...only there are still patches where I can see the undercoat!!! Sigh).
I bought myself a wee pressie last night...well, a few - the credit card has had a bit of a Hot Milk onslaught. I got a couple of sets of yummy maternity bras & knickers. I so hate the nasty excuses for maternity lingerie that are in my local stores...& after just finishing 18 months of breastfeeding, I think it's time to upgrade to something nicer for the rest of the pregnancy (& into breastfeeding again).
mymaybebaby
03-08-2008, 05:27 PM
:smiliedance::smiliedance: HAPPY BIRTHDAY EPIPHANY!!:smiliedance::smiliedance:
Good to see you are spoiling yourself with some nice pressies.
Mamalicious
03-08-2008, 05:37 PM
Happy Birthday!!!!
:babydust2:happybirthday:babydust2:
Hels*Bels
03-08-2008, 06:45 PM
happybirthday Epiphany for today and HappilyInLove for tomorrow.
Epiphany - Well done on the creditcard splurge and the day spa sounds heavenly :) I will be painting soon too as I want to do DS's new bedroom. I have to paint the woodwork gloss so I will make sure the room is well ventilated as it's pretty potent stuff. I have gradually painted our whole house so I am no stranger to it lol. Can't wait to do DS's room though and furnish it.
How is everyone feeling? I am really good, seems that once I pass 16 weeks things change and I start feeling better and my skin clears up etc so I have entered the "glowing stage" at last lol.
I had my hair chopped off yesterday and I'm very happy with it. I will go back for some highlights next month.
My next OB appt is tomorrow, not sure if I will get a scan but I hope so :fingerscrossed:
Mummy to Mason
03-08-2008, 06:47 PM
Happy Birthday Epiphany!!!
and for tomorrow...
Happy Birthday HappilyInLove!!! I hope your scan goes really well, what a lovely birthday present getting to see your bub!
Mamalicious
03-08-2008, 06:52 PM
Aw Hels you lucky tart my skin is still being a tosser :crying: I'm so jealous!!! I'm so having a girl :rolleyes::p
I better start looking BEEYOOTIFULL this week, I don't want DH to run the other way when I get off the plane! :eek::laughing:
angelbaby013
03-08-2008, 07:47 PM
HAPPY BIRTHDAY EPIPHANY !!!
I hope you have had a nice day :hugs:
I just had KFC for dinner...been hanging out for months, it was worth the wait though, even if i had to reheat the chicken :cool:
I am stuffed now and I just hope bubs isnt too wriggly tonight otherwise i might :barf:
epiphany
03-08-2008, 08:38 PM
Awww...thanks everyone :)
Mamalicious - when do you come over?
GoneBatty
04-08-2008, 11:25 AM
Hey all! thanks for the happy bdays :)
Scan went great!! bub was laying on my right side on its back with head right down teeheehee was so funny!!
Everything looks to be in the right place and developing properly! :D
SOOOOOOOO EXCITED
oh and they were 98% sure we will be getting a.............
BABY GIRL!!!!!!!
:yelclap: :smiliedance:
mymaybebaby
04-08-2008, 12:38 PM
:yelclap:Congratulations Happily!!!:bee:
I got the preliminary results of my amniocentesis today and the baby is well.
:smiliedance:I am also having a baby Girl!! :cloud9:
So happy....
angelbaby013
04-08-2008, 12:40 PM
congrats Happilyinlove :yelclap:
I just found out some good news on Saturday night. My sister-in-law in Mauritius is pregnant with her 2nd. It was totally unexpected as they had problems conceiving DS1. They were actually coming to live here in Sept so they have put their plans on hold till bout June 09.
DS1 is less than 12months older than Steph and this new bub will be due about a month after my bub.
I can't wait till they move here as they will be Stephs only cousins.
How is everyone doing today? Steph had a fever last night but it seems to have been random and its gone now...very strange.
Mum just rang and she wants to take me and Steph shopping and to lunch. I might have a look @ some maternity tops and pants. :flowerz:
Mummy to Mason
04-08-2008, 12:48 PM
Congrats on the baby girls!! So far those of you who have found out are all having girls :laughing:
Mamalicious
04-08-2008, 01:09 PM
Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!! :yelclap::goodvibes::goodvibes::goodvibes:
missmum05
04-08-2008, 01:42 PM
Happy Birthday to the Birthday Girls and congrats on yor baby Girls :yelclap:
Wow I can't wait to find out bubs sex :p
only 4 more weeks till I have my scan.
My ms has been slowing down a little instead of being sick every day all day now its more like every second day :yes: so must be going away soon :)
As to the bra's I so need to buy some comfy maternity ones. I bought some maternity pants last week and they are very comfy!
justmum
04-08-2008, 01:48 PM
Hi ladies, sorry I have been AWOL. All is going well here - feeling really good, not particularly pregnant though. My NT scan and blood tests came back all good.
How exciting for those who have found out already - I am only coming up for 15 weeks so I am WAY behind you all. But we won't find out anyway this time.
readytotry
04-08-2008, 03:22 PM
oh and they were 98% sure we will be getting a..........BABY GIRL!!!!!!!
I am also having a baby Girl!!
:smiliedance:Yay ladies congrats on your fabulous news! I got chills of excitement for you both when I read your posts!:goodvibes:
My ms has been slowing down a little instead of being sick every day all day now its more like every second day so must be going away soon
My m/s is sounding similar to yours missmum, :fingerscrossed: for both of us it is on the way out!
Hi ladies, sorry I have been AWOL. All is going well here - feeling really good, not particularly pregnant though. My NT scan and blood tests came back all good.
How exciting for those who have found out already - I am only coming up for 15 weeks so I am WAY behind you all. But we won't find out anyway this time.
Congrats on the good test results! I am also only 15 weeks so we are WAY behind together!
happybirthday to the lovely bday ladies also..
Hi to anyone I have missed :wave: I hope we are all doing well.
XXX
P.S. I deleted this post 3 times by accident before finally getting it! How annoying!!
fugly
04-08-2008, 04:00 PM
HAPPY BIRTHDAY EPIPHANY AND HAPPILY IN LOVE !!!
and CONGRATS CONGRATS CONGRATS to those that are having baby girls...someone did say it was going to be a month of girls - so far 3 out of 3 :)
Hope everyone is doing well and feeling good...
mrsmamo
04-08-2008, 04:58 PM
Hi All!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY AND CONGRATULATIONS TO EVERYONE :D :D HOW EXCITING!!!
I cant wait till thursday - thats our scan date! nly 3 sleeps lol.
Well after a major stressful morning this moring, looks like i MAY be finishing work super early... only because the director (i work for a small company) is sick of the staffing issues and may just downsize and do it from home.
So im pulling the weight of 2 people to make sure im not part of his cranky spit lol.
I still dont know if we should find out or not. Im going to ask the sonographer if they will write it down but i have now herd that alot of them wont do it because its not 100% Can only ask i guess :)
Apart from that, nothing new to report.
Hope everyone else is doing well!!!
Hels*Bels
04-08-2008, 05:17 PM
Congrats on the baby girls :yelclap:
I have updated our due date thread too. So far we have 3 pinks lol.
BBL it's time for dinner and I'm starving.
Mummy to Mason
04-08-2008, 05:49 PM
I am also only 15 weeks so we are WAY behind together!
Me too :) I have 5 weeks till my scan as we're getting it done at 20.5 weeks. It feels like forever away!
I got 2 big kicks from bub just before :goodvibes:
angelbaby013
04-08-2008, 05:53 PM
congrats on the girl mymaybebaby :yelclap:
is anyone having a boy:confused:
Mummy to Mason
04-08-2008, 05:57 PM
:laughing: I was thinking the same thing! We will need to start evening up the blue/pink ratio I think :p
angelbaby013
04-08-2008, 09:11 PM
:laughing: I was thinking the same thing! We will need to start evening up the blue/pink ratio I think :p
Well Id like a boy but another girl would be awesome. I had a dream years ago that I would be girl, girl, boy, girl as I wanted 4 kids.
Everyone is saying boy..so I guess I'll say girl :laughing:
I guess by the end of the month we should know more sexes...how many are not finding out? We are still undecided....well I am...DH is 100% about wanting to find out..I think he is really anxious for another girl as he loves Steph to death....its very cute :hugs:
Mummyto3blue
04-08-2008, 09:23 PM
OMG CONGRATS to the girls getting baby girls. I too hope I am having a girl.
What have u girls been craving?
Hels*Bels
04-08-2008, 09:31 PM
congrats on the girl mymaybebaby :yelclap:
I'm having a boy but it is yet to be confirmed :)
justmum
04-08-2008, 09:33 PM
Well I don't know obviously but I am so sure that I am having a boy that if I have a girl I will be gobsmacked in the delivery room.
What have u girls been craving?
McDonald's hash browns - appalling but so yummy. 4 of them, with a large fanta :o And yes, 4.5 kilos so far, little wonder!
I am not sure if I've missed talk on it but has anyone started thinking nursery themes?
As we won't be finding out I have decided to go with green and white and then once bubba is born I will add navy blue touches if it's a boy or pink touches for a girl.
My DS room is red and aqua and is cheery and happy. I love his room so I want to put the same love and joy into this one's room. It's just hard not knowing the sex.
Mamalicious
05-08-2008, 05:52 AM
Bubs will be in our room for the first 6 months or so, which works out pretty well for us because this way I can just focus on DS's room and make it special for him, he's never had his own proper bedroom before, we couldn't afford it and didn't have the space, so this is REALLY exciting!!! :D
I was going to do neutral creamy colours and add pink or blue once bubs was born though. :yes: And I REALLY want a merino waffle blanket, I'm stalking trademe. :o
fugly
05-08-2008, 09:45 AM
I have been craving MALTEASERS !!!
And I cannot get them here :( it is agony..
I had some in Hong Kong last weekend and SO should have bought some home with me. It is all I can think about :(
As for nursery ideas .... I think we will move to a new apt next APril so wont do babies room yet...So she will sleep in our room until we move BUT I already know the colours ...
Green, pink, purple and a little yellow .. Like the "It;s a small world" ride at Disneyland :)
SUch pretty girl colours.. ALthough I will by some Wallcandy as DS has some...I am deciding between the lollypops or the tulips .. that will decide the shades of colour I use :)
angelbaby013
05-08-2008, 10:09 AM
I am not sure if I've missed talk on it but has anyone started thinking nursery themes?
Im not repainting the room as DH has said its a waste of money, the room was a nursery when we bought the house and it was DD's room before we moved her to the bigger room. One wall is painted purple and the rest are cream. I am going to buy some wall stickers and just put toys up etc.
epiphany
05-08-2008, 10:41 AM
I've been craving bacon fat. Yucky. I don't normally eat pork (hate the taste) but a bit of fried streaky bacon has been breakfast de jour for a few days now - I'm really craving that nasty fatty goodness. Wii Fit is seriously going to love me if this continues.
We won't be doing anything special for nurseries or anything. We don't even know yet if bubs will be sharing Wee Man's room once it has stopped sleeping in our room or if we'll use the guest room for it - depends on gender. We built our house & have been in it for a year - so no need to repaint or anything as we picked the colours with babies in mind. All I've added to Wee Man's room is some nice pictures & some cool removable wall decals.
We've been looking at cars. Once bubs gets here, we won't be able to fit everyone in our current car. We want another bub after this one, so need to find something that will eventually be capable of fitting 2 car seats, a booster seat & a teenager...as well as two adults. I've been quite surprised how how difficult it is to actually find something suitable (most 7 seaters have silly configurations where the 3rd row has no foot well or your need to fold the middle seats down to get into the 3rd row - not achievable when the seats have car seats in them!!). We've found a Volvo XC90 which seems to fit the bill. Just waiting for an RACV check to be done & then we'll get it, if all is well. Was quite impressed with it...lots of space, good boot room & even has a seat that converts into a built-in booster seat. Cool. But what on earth do other people with several car seats drive??!
fozzie
05-08-2008, 10:57 AM
HappilyinLove congrats on the girl.
Mymaybebaby congrats on the girl and glad everything is well.
justmum - glad your scan went well I don't particularly feel very pregnant either but I haven't really felt bub yet.
I'm sure I'll even up the scores for boys as I have 3 already so I think it's unlikley I'll get a girl if I do I'll be in shock.
I won't be doing a nursery until we decide what to do with the rooms and if we are going to change them round. We have to paint all the bedrooms so I'll do the boys rooms first. Also want to get the family room and kitchen done before Christmas.
2 more sleeps till my scan :smiliedance:.
Hels*Bels
05-08-2008, 11:02 AM
Re nurseries - The new bub will go into DS's nursery straight away as it is already done in neutral colours and very little would need to be changed if we had a girl (just manchester really).
We will do DS's new bedroom in the next few months. He will have a car bed although he may stay in the cot for a while longer, but we have a basinette for the new bub anyway.
We also need to get new bedroom furniture for DS and I will paint a blue feature wall for him. We plan to move him in there around middle of november so he will have approx 6 weeks to settle before bubs comes.
Epiphany - Sounds like you need a mini bus :laughing: We have a Toyota Kluger which is plenty big enough for 2 kids and we won't be having anymore. My SIL has a Tarago for her 4 kids.
fozzie
05-08-2008, 11:19 AM
Great news I just felt bub wriggling around. That's put my mind at rest.:cloud9:
angelbaby013
05-08-2008, 12:20 PM
Great news I just felt bub wriggling around. That's put my mind at rest.:cloud9:
:yelclap: good one...its great when you finally feel it.
readytotry
05-08-2008, 12:46 PM
Oh so jealous :rolleyes:
I am 15 weeks with my first bubs. When did those who have felt bubs already first feel them? I am hanging out to feel something!
jess_live_die
05-08-2008, 12:51 PM
I am 15 weeks with my first bubs. When did those who have felt bubs already first feel them? I am hanging out to feel something!
preg with number 3 didnt feel until 18 weeks with number 1 was 20 weeks and with number 2 was 7 weeks
my 19 week scan 2moz yay
epiphany
05-08-2008, 01:00 PM
Congrats, Fozzie...feels good, doesn't it?
When you feel bubs also sort of depends on where the placenta is. With #2, I had more difficulty feeling him as the placenta was right over the front wall of my uterus - so all those nice kicks were hidden. My family also had a hard job feeling him kick later on.
I've felt this bub since around 10-12 weeks. But it hasn't been until this week (18 weeks) that I've been getting constant hard kicks, rather than just fluttering & small pushes. The placenta is right at the top of my uterus this time.
Can't remember with #1 (far too long ago!!).
Mummy to Mason
05-08-2008, 01:03 PM
We are in the process of building another house and it will be ready hopefully a couple of months after bubs is born so I might wait to do the nursery then. Bub will be in our room for the first few months anyway. For a girl I'm thinking something pretty like butterflies and for a boy I'm thinking bumble bees or something. Will wait to find out what we are having before buying anything though.
Congrats! What a wonderful feeling :goodvibes:
fozzie
05-08-2008, 01:07 PM
I think the placenta may be at the front somewhere. With DS1 I felt him kick at about 20 weeks, DS2 16 weeks and DS3 14 weeks so I have been worried that I hadn't felt this one yet being my 4th.
mrsmamo
05-08-2008, 02:07 PM
hehe im with you RTT - i have felt little twitches but feels like a muscle spasm...u know the kind that u get in ur eye? lol but i been getting them on my sides of my belly. So i figure it must just be the muscles stretching etc.
with the nursery, i have no idea. Currently my dad lives with us and has supposed to have moved out by now (at the very least, into a caravan in the carport but no, he hasnt even bought the van yet) so looks like we will have to move before i can set anything up - which wont be till early december :( im really peeved cuz as much as DH and I both kinda knew deep down this would happen, we held hopes that he would actually get his act together. And we have bought the cot but have to keep it at my MIL's place because i have no where to put it, all our purchases so far are sitting int he lounge room in the corner in a pile. I just wanna get moved and started to set up OR get him moved out so i can CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN his rooms, rip the carpet up, polish the floor, paint and finally get all the little bits and pieces out so i can start to feel organised.
Oh yikes... sorry girls - that turned into a bit of a rant didnt it :( sorry, soo didnt mean to let all that out! oops.
So yes i cant wait to feel bubs lol.
readytotry
05-08-2008, 02:48 PM
When you feel bubs also sort of depends on where the placenta is.
How do i know where my placenta is? Do I ask at my 20 week scan perhaps? The sonographer didn't mention anything at my 12 weeks scan, except she did say the view wasn't good enough through my belly so she did an internal, do you think that may indicate my placenta might be in the front?
:laughing:Is it obvious that I am a first timer?:laughing:
angelbaby013
05-08-2008, 02:51 PM
I felt DD around 17wks and this bub around 12wks, its easier 2nd time round as you know what it feels like and first time round everyone tells you its just gas:D
epiphany
05-08-2008, 03:53 PM
How do i know where my placenta is?
They are supposed to check the position at your scan to make sure you don't have placenta preavia.
If they didn't tell you where it was at your last scan, ask them at your 20 week scan.
The placenta being at the front (anterior placenta) shouldn't effect whether or not they can get a good view externally. The ultrasound waves just penetrate through (just like they can see bubba's bones, etc - the waves just go through the body, depending on what they set it to as they do the scan). External vs internal depends a bit more on your shape, how the uterus is lying (eg I had to have an internal for one of my scans simply because my uterus was flopping backwards at the time for some reason), & their equipment.
readytotry
05-08-2008, 06:31 PM
Thanks so much Epiphany! You are really clued up on all of this, do you work in the industry?
epiphany
05-08-2008, 07:03 PM
Thanks so much Epiphany! You are really clued up on all of this, do you work in the industry?
No worries.
Hehe. Nope, I don't work in the industry. My career of choice is actually marketing (although I'm a SAHM now) but after having an horrendous birth experience with#1 & wanting to attempt a VBAC with #2, I was determined to study up as much as I could when I got preggies with #2. Plus years of dealing with gynaes as part of the whole treating PCOS thing makes you more aware of the need to do research before dealing with Drs in general.
Hels*Bels
05-08-2008, 10:02 PM
I didn't feel anything with my 1st until 19 weeks, I remember it was just before my scan. He kicked me so hard that I jumped off the chair and squatted on the floor in shock :laughing:
This time I have felt flutters since 12 weeks and now I get plenty of kicks and most of them are very low down.
I was told at my 12 week scan that my placenta was at the back but they should give an exact location at the next scan.
3already
05-08-2008, 11:22 PM
:wave: girls,
Well the internet finally got up and running in the new house today!
Welcome to the newbies :)
I'm 15 weeks today and the sickness is still hanging around a bit . I fly to the UK in 13 days so i think i might get some maxalon to use for the flight, don't fancy :barf: on the 22 hour trip :eek:!
Have a check up scan next week to check babys blood flow and size of organs and more blood tests, hope everything is ok in there and i am allowed to go on my holiday :fingerscrossed: We're still undecided if we will find out the sex yet
Well i'm off to bed now :wave:
Mamalicious
06-08-2008, 05:57 AM
I didn't feel anything with my 1st until 19 weeks, I remember it was just before my scan. He kicked me so hard that I jumped off the chair and squatted on the floor in shock :laughing:
I know what you mean! I went to lie down yesterday evening and I got the hugest wallop my eyes just about fell out of my head! :eek: I got such a fright, I thought something was wrong! :o
It was huge, like you know when they're bigger and they move and you can feel their little legs and arms all lumpy and bumping against each other...it was like that!!! :dizzy::laughing:
beck75
06-08-2008, 07:06 AM
Looking like a girl month - congratulations to those who have already found out! I have just over a week until my turn - can't wait!!
I have been feeling bubs since 12 weeks this time and 15 weeks the first time which is relatively early. I know some people don't feel until much later depending on where the baby is sitting and their placenta etc.
As for a nursery I am also building so will wait until I move in but will probably keep it pretty simple. With DD I painted a feature wall and put some wall stickers up. Will probably look at doing something similar for both of them. DD will be going into a big bed in the new house which I imagine will result in her being up every few seconds!!
Well DD got sent home from child care yesterday with a suspected case of hand foot and mouth disease. She seems pretty good to me but DH has taken th day off to take her to the doctors. Not likely to have any effect on me being pregnant but will need to ensure I keep everythign clean.
Well I better run and do some work. Best wishes to all of you.
*Bec&Bel*
06-08-2008, 08:12 AM
Hey all long time no talk. I have moved to Sydney now staying at dads till we search for a rental property. so still not finished with the move yet...
Im 17 wks 4 days today with a growing bump but i still can't feel nothing down there yet. Was a bit worried but this morning theres a few movements down there. I have my 18 week scan on monday the 11th so that should put my mind at ease a bit. We are going to try find out the sex. I can't wait. I was thinking its a girl but in the dreams i have of bubs its always been a boy. Time will tell. Oh since moving from brissy to sydney i went to my hospital appointment which was a waste of time as i needed all the info from previous pregnancy ect they didnt tell me that over the fone and the rude midwife said: "you've had babies you should know" but its a bit different in QLD. Oh and i weighed myself and it said i had put on heaps =( i cried that day it was horrible. I asked the midwife could the scales me wrong she said no there always right. Went to the docs 2 days later and i was 5kgs less!
Hope everyone is doing well.
Mummyto3blue
06-08-2008, 09:43 AM
I have felt bubs, but then I think - was I really feeling bub? I have felt a few kicks but that was a few weeks ago and nothing since then - they were really low too. I was told my placenta was anterior? Does this mean I shouldnt feel many kicks for a while through my tummy?
Ill be upset if my family or rick cant feel the kicks, its a way he feels more connected to the baby.
I have no idea where my boys placentas were. But I felt kicks with them at 20 weeks, the week after my Morph scan.
6 days till my scan. Im terribly nervous.
Mummyto3blue
06-08-2008, 09:47 AM
Bec - What a biatch!! I still have no idea what im doing and Ive had twins LOL! Its different at every hospy too I think! My scan is the day after yours. EXCITING!
Beck - Childcare workers love the old foot hand and mouth disease! 90% of the time they are wrong too. Im glad my boys only go once a week. Let us know how she goes.
Hels - Thats awesome about the kicks! I cant wait to feel some like that.
3already - Good luck for the flight!
jess_live_die
06-08-2008, 09:54 AM
i have my 19 week scan today
fugly
06-08-2008, 10:02 AM
GoodLuck Jess cant wait to hear how everything goes :)
I feel crappy today and feel bad for DS as he has to suffer......What do you do with you other kiddies when you are feeling crappy ???
angelbaby013
06-08-2008, 11:18 AM
GoodLuck Jess cant wait to hear how everything goes :)
I feel crappy today and feel bad for DS as he has to suffer......What do you do with you other kiddies when you are feeling crappy ???
put on a dvd, get them some food then lay down, thats bout all you can do. it sucks but its life. :hugs:
GoneBatty
06-08-2008, 11:32 AM
:dizzy: i just did the good old put on disney and have a quick rest LMAO bad idea that was today!!
Ollie decided not to disturb me and lovingly poo'd on the floor:barf:
not nice at all :crying: made me feel crappier n a bit down thats for sure
angelbaby013
06-08-2008, 02:31 PM
i just did the good old put on disney and have a quick rest LMAO bad idea that was today!!
Ollie decided not to disturb me and lovingly poo'd on the floor
not nice at allmade me feel crappier n a bit down thats for sure
:hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:
epiphany
06-08-2008, 03:41 PM
I was told my placenta was anterior? Does this mean I shouldnt feel many kicks for a while through my tummy?
Ill be upset if my family or rick cant feel the kicks, its a way he feels more connected to the baby.
You'll feel them but it might take a few weeks longer for them to be really hard. Depending on where bubs is kicking, you may or may not be able to feel them with your hand. I couldn't easily feel them with #2 with my hand & hubby & my daughter almost never felt them...I think my daughter may have felt them a couple of times.
I ended up getting one of these (http://www.mybirthcare.com/pregnancy/baby_heart_monitor.asp) from Kmart when I was preggie with #2 (they're not a doppler, so no ultrasound waves...which means there's no risk for bubs). It meant everyone could hear bubs kicking & when he had hiccups. Unfortunately, I never heard his heartbeat with it but I think it was because of the anterior placenta (it just amplifies sound...doesn't use ultrasound). I liked the fact I could record his kicking & send it to rellies overseas. Plus it meant I could hear bubs kicking even when I couldn't feel him (which is quite reassuring).
Good luck, Jess, with your scan today.
jess_live_die
06-08-2008, 05:02 PM
i had my scan and its a..........
BOY
earthfairy
06-08-2008, 05:05 PM
ehhhh..... so this is where you've all been hiding eh?:detective:
I couldnt find you:crying:
So how are you all anyway?
I cant believe it is August already! Oh ma ma, where does the time go! Im over half way now:smiliedance: and its pretty darn exciting!
I have the pram & car seat organised, cot & nursery furniture & even names. Now all i need is to catch up on sleep & wait for this one to enter the world!
My mumma gets here in 2 weeks & i cant wait! Ive scheduled my scan for when she is here so she can see. She will be over the moon....
I think ive mentioned all this already????? Well, if i did, i apologise, my preggo brain is at it again!
I went to the hairdressers today & spent $200 getting my hair done!!!!:eek:
ANDDDDDD>..... i bought a new pair of gorgeous shoes:eek:
shhhhhhhhh...... dont tell DH!! tee hee hee.....
jess_live_die
06-08-2008, 05:13 PM
all went well thankyou im still in shock lol
angelbaby013
06-08-2008, 06:51 PM
just sitting here wondering...
how is everyones partners enjoying your pregnancy. are they learning more about it with you?
this is my 2nd but it it will be my first vaginal birth :fingerscrossed: i want to teach hubby as much as I can about what Ill be going through and what to expect but he doesnt seem all that interested....maybe its too early yet.
i just know having not seen a real birth except 1 video he will prob freak out :laughing:
Mamalicious
06-08-2008, 07:00 PM
Well my hubby hasn't seen me since I was 3 weeks pregnant, and now I'm 18 weeks...so I wouldn't say he's learning a huge amount!!! :laughing:
He's very excited though, and can't wait to see bump, and he's really excited about the birth and we're totally on the same page with the pregnancy which is great. :yes:
He was great with DS and I don't doubt he'll be just as good this time, I'm quite lucky like that...well I feel lucky anyway, to have a partner that finds pregnancy exciting and fun and sexy...yes I'm still sexy...:o:smiliedance::laughing:
Mummy to Mason
06-08-2008, 07:24 PM
Congrats Jess on a boy!
earthfairy
06-08-2008, 08:18 PM
:wave: Heeeellllloooooooo!!!!!!
Im KirstyB - you may remember me from such threads as
Due in January 2009 - July Chat?
or
Due in January 2009 - June Chat?
Anyway, just wanted to remind you all im still here:D
Pices_79
06-08-2008, 08:20 PM
Sorry I havent been around here much lately. Our 19 month old DD has had a run with ear infections lately - fingers crossed its over now! I cant wait for the warmer weather so all the germies go away!
Well I am just over 15w and going along nicely. Our NT scan results were great which was good! Our Morph scan is booked for the 6th Sept - fingers crossed everything goes well. We are also going to find out what we are having.
I have begun to organise DD's new 'big girl' bed. Hopefully we get it in the next month. So I am organising all the decorations at the moment. Once we have organised her room we will move onto the Nursery. ALl her NUrsery furniture will go in there....Hopefully we dont have too many problems moving into a bed...Not looking forward to it!
My pregnancy is going along quickly - I think that has something to do with running around after a toddler, working and trying to get everything else done as well!
How is everyone else feeling???
I have lots of posts to catch up on :)
Belly rubs to everyone
p.s. congrats Jess on a BOY!
Mummyto3blue
06-08-2008, 08:34 PM
i had my scan and its a..........
BOY
WOW congrats Jess!! Is this your first son? Boys are so awesome, as is all kiddies but i just love doing the boy things with my men. They both just LOVE their broom broom cars :yes:
ehhhh..... so this is where you've all been hiding eh?
I couldnt find you
So how are you all anyway?
I cant believe it is August already! Oh ma ma, where does the time go! Im over half way now and its pretty darn exciting!
I have the pram & car seat organised, cot & nursery furniture & even names. Now all i need is to catch up on sleep & wait for this one to enter the world!
My mumma gets here in 2 weeks & i cant wait! Ive scheduled my scan for when she is here so she can see. She will be over the moon....
I think ive mentioned all this already????? Well, if i did, i apologise, my preggo brain is at it again!
I went to the hairdressers today & spent $200 getting my hair done!!!!
ANDDDDDD>..... i bought a new pair of gorgeous shoes
shhhhhhhhh...... dont tell DH!! tee hee hee.....
OMG Kristy - $200!! I spend like $130 at the max, and I have to have terrible regrowth for that to happen LOL! But good on you for pampering yourself, I wanna get my hair done!
2 weeks will FLY till your scan. Please let us know how u go.
Well my hubby hasn't seen me since I was 3 weeks pregnant, and now I'm 18 weeks...so I wouldn't say he's learning a huge amount!!!
He's very excited though, and can't wait to see bump, and he's really excited about the birth and we're totally on the same page with the pregnancy which is great.
He was great with DS and I don't doubt he'll be just as good this time, I'm quite lucky like that...well I feel lucky anyway, to have a partner that finds pregnancy exciting and fun and sexy...yes I'm still sexy...
Your hubby hasnt seen you for 15 weeks? Thats HUGE. Id go insane without DH for more than a night. I havent slept more than one night away from him for 6.5 years now!
My DH is pretty knowledgable on the whole birth thing. I yap a bit too much about it so I guess he does listen some of the time :laughing:
Me - Im doing ok! God a email back from a physchic today - and she thinks im having a girl. She also told me my white car needs the brakes checked, and we have a white car which has some very wearing out brakes! So I was pretty impressed!!!
mrsgrumpygills
06-08-2008, 09:06 PM
Me - Im doing ok! God a email back from a physchic today - and she thinks im having a girl. She also told me my white car needs the brakes checked, and we have a white car which has some very wearing out brakes! So I was pretty impressed!!!
I didn't really put any stock in psychics but I went to one at some markets once as a laugh. She kept asking me if I was pregnant and I laughed at her and thought she was fishing for a reaction. 3 Days later I found out I was pregnant, completely unexpected as we definitely were not trying (DS now 2yo, a happy accident). Talk about spooky. The thing was she kept asking me even though I emphatically denied there was even a chance I was pregnant (or so I thought)
GoneBatty
06-08-2008, 09:36 PM
Hey there Kirsty B i see ya there lol glad to see ur still about :) may i ask tho lol how are you over half way already?? im due on the 1st and not half way yet :confused:
wow $200 hope it looks great hehe mum gave me $100 for my bday the other day and i still havent spent it i found a pair of sunnies for $180 but wouldnt buy them for some reason i cant spend money on myself!! i just look at it as to much of a waste if its something for myself :( no matter how much the item is no idea why im like, this anyone know or the same??
Congrats on the boy jess :thumbsup:
Ive never been to a physchic have thought about it somethings i hear just amaze me!!
other than that my day didnt get much better just felt down n crappy all day :( hopefully tomorrows a brighter day!
angelbaby013
06-08-2008, 09:50 PM
Well my hubby hasn't seen me since I was 3 weeks pregnant, and now I'm 18 weeks...so I wouldn't say he's learning a huge amount!!!
He's very excited though, and can't wait to see bump, and he's really excited about the birth and we're totally on the same page with the pregnancy which is great.
He was great with DS and I don't doubt he'll be just as good this time, I'm quite lucky like that...well I feel lucky anyway, to have a partner that finds pregnancy exciting and fun and sexy...yes I'm still sexy...
WOW i be sad if hubby was away from me for that long esp when pregnant.
Its good to see your partner is good with your son. Hubby loves DD to bits and is a great dad but as far as the birth went he was pretty much obsolete cause i had an emergency cs so he just stood by me until it was time to cut the cord. Id really like him to be an active part of this birth if all goes well :fingerscrossed:
:wave: Heeeellllloooooooo!!!!!!
Im KirstyB - you may remember me from such threads as
Due in January 2009 - July Chat?
or
Due in January 2009 - June Chat?
Anyway, just wanted to remind you all im still here:D
:hugs: Welcome back girly....we missed you :smiliedance:
Mamalicious
07-08-2008, 08:58 AM
Your hubby hasnt seen you for 15 weeks? Thats HUGE. Id go insane without DH for more than a night. I havent slept more than one night away from him for 6.5 years now!
Lol you have NO idea how many times I've heard that!
Yes, it is hard! And we're never doing it again! :laughing:
jess_live_die
07-08-2008, 09:42 AM
melly yep this is my 1st boy i have 2 girls
earthfairy
07-08-2008, 10:24 AM
Hey there Kirsty B i see ya there lol glad to see ur still about :) may i ask tho lol how are you over half way already?? im due on the 1st and not half way yet :confused:
Well, I was 18 weeks on Monday which makes it 4 and a half months. With another 4 and a half months that makes 9 months....well, to get to 36 weeks anyway.lol
OB still thinks i'm due around the 29th of December but i havent had a proper scan since the dating scan so i guess my big scan will tell me either way in a couple of weeks:D
if i am im sooooo still crashing this thread....... lol
Yes, i know that $200 was a bit excessive but my hair does look good, if i do say so myself - lol
Everyone sounds a lot better than the last few weeks - mrs morning sickness seems to have left me alone now for over a week - im just so tired all the time.
Its exciting reading everyones plans for the nursery's - sounds like there's going to be lots of PINK ones around the place:cloud9:
Well, im off for a nice lunch with my best friend who is also UTD - will catch you all later on.
I hope you all have a beautiful day:hugs: x
Hels*Bels
07-08-2008, 10:33 AM
The ultrasound place rang me this morning and have changed my scan to the 20th Aug so now I have an extra 2 days to wait and I will be exactly 20 weeks....grrrrr.
Feeling very tired and hard to get motivated. Some inconsiderate hoon decided to roar past the house at 6am this morning and woke me up with a start.
Not having a good day so I'm going back to bed for a nanna nap when DS has his sleep.
mrsmamo
07-08-2008, 10:37 AM
Good Morning Girls!!!
What a lovely day it is today (well at least in Sydney/Wollongong!).
Im sooo excited - we only have 3.5 hrs till our 19w scan! OMG!
ANNNDD im 90% sure i felt bubby last night! i was hunched over and felt butterflies quite low down. At first i thought it was gas :o:laughing: but when it didnt stop and never "produced anything" im almost sure it was :D
hehehe very exciting - we are still not sure if we are going to find out or not. Hubby is 90% sure he wants too, im not fussed either way, i just dont want to be disappointed that we wont get a surprise at the end.
Congrats to everyone finding out - (sorry madly trying to finish stuff at work before i leave at 2).
Will keep you all posted on what happens! :D
Might even try and load some of our dvd to youtube so we can let my sister in NZ see it.
jess_live_die
07-08-2008, 10:42 AM
Good Morning Girls!!!
What a lovely day it is today (well at least in Sydney/Wollongong!).
Im sooo excited - we only have 3.5 hrs till our 19w scan! OMG!
ANNNDD im 90% sure i felt bubby last night! i was hunched over and felt butterflies quite low down. At first i thought it was gas :o:laughing: but when it didnt stop and never "produced anything" im almost sure it was :D
hehehe very exciting - we are still not sure if we are going to find out or not. Hubby is 90% sure he wants too, im not fussed either way, i just dont want to be disappointed that we wont get a surprise at the end.
Congrats to everyone finding out - (sorry madly trying to finish stuff at work before i leave at 2).
Will keep you all posted on what happens! :D
Might even try and load some of our dvd to youtube so we can let my sister in NZ see it.
aww good luck at ur scan trust me lol even after u know the sex u still get a huge surprize
GoneBatty
07-08-2008, 10:56 AM
KirstyB :laughing: oh ok i get ya now i go by weeks so 20 weeks is halfway of 40 weeks
my dates r between 30th of dec & 1st of Jan but im still staying round here to :yes: more likely ill have bub a bit later than early i reckon
hels thats a pain about ur scan getting pushed back:( wat a bummer
mrsmamo goodluck 4 u scan!! how exciting!!
i agree jess its a surprise now or at the end lol just depends when u find out.
im to impatient to wait the whole 9 months im terrible lol
mrsmamo
07-08-2008, 11:08 AM
Hels - what a pain in the perverbial! At least, bubby will be bigger so you will be able to see more.. i think.. do i sound like i know what im talking about? :confused: lol.
HIL: my date is also 31st December but im sooo sticking around this neck of the woods.
Part of me hopes that it comes 'ontime' - before midnight so we dont have to get the bonus in installments (does that sound dole bludgerish? :o) but then wouldbe good if it went over becuase Hubby's bday is the 28th dec and mine is the 4th jan lol.
Uh this whole working before scan thing is horrible lol - i can NEVER concentrate hehe oh well.
O i better stop rambling now :ecomcity:
GoneBatty
07-08-2008, 11:48 AM
lol i know what u mean about the baby bonus! would be handy to get the lump sum but if not ill deal with it hehe
My brothers bday is the 29th and DPs the 5th of Jan!!
Mummy to Mason
07-08-2008, 12:37 PM
Welcome back KirstyB! I'm glad to hear you are feeling better and you are making sure you are well pampered :D I so badly need my hair coloured. I had it cut a couple of weeks ago while we were away but got nothing else done.
Melly- ooh I hope the psychic is right and you are having a little girl! It will be interesting to see how correct she is.
Mrsmamo- GOOD LUCK! I want you to find out the sex cause I'm dying to know what everyone is having :laughing: If you are unsure, get them to write it down and you can always peek later if the suspense gets too much.
I agree with the others, it is still so wonderful at the end even if you know in advance what you are having. When Mason was born they still announced "it's a boy!" and I will never forget that feeling of overwhelming love when I saw him for the first time :cloud9:
fozzie
07-08-2008, 01:59 PM
I'm back from my scan and bub is looking good but my placenta is borderline low lying again :crying::hissy: I'll find out when I go to the doctors what it means and if I'll need another scan or not.
And we are having a ..........
BABY!!!!:D
The little monster was not co-operating so looks like a Christmas suprise for us. I'm gutted we couldn't find out but I'm so glad bub was ok.
Mamalicious
07-08-2008, 02:02 PM
:laughing: Congratulations on your baby Fozzie!!! :D
jess_live_die
07-08-2008, 02:03 PM
I'm back from my scan and bub is looking good but my placenta is borderline low lying again :crying::hissy: I'll find out when I go to the doctors what it means and if I'll need another scan or not.
And we are having a ..........
BABY!!!!:D
The little monster was not co-operating so looks like a Christmas suprise for us. I'm gutted we couldn't find out but I'm so glad bub was ok.
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
beck75
07-08-2008, 03:46 PM
So exciting the scans are going well! I am counting down ot next Thursday now - can't wait!!
Are most of your partners going to the scans? My DH doesn't want to go and I am not going to make him. He went to DD's 20w scan and was bored through most of it.
DD does not have Hand, Foot and Mouth disease so she got a day home with DH yesterday for no reason.
Fozzie - I had to laugh about a non-cooperative baby! I bet that happens to me too!! Actually I had a friend who paid for one of those voluntary 4D u/S late in the pregnancy of her second to last one and it was in this that they found problems with her ovaries which meant she had to be operated on straight away - I am wondering if it would be a good idea?
I have to run - oh one quetion - can someone tell me what I need to do so my ticker will show up in my email signature rather than just the link?
missmum05
07-08-2008, 04:25 PM
Hey Girls
Jess Congratulations on your little Boy:yelclap:
Fozzie :hugs:what a bummer....bubs must have been hiding so you have to hold on till you find out :p
I been pretty sick with the flu for the past couple days but in saying that I havent had any morning sickness at all for a few days which is a miracle :laughing:
fugly
07-08-2008, 04:29 PM
HAHA Fozzie - CONGRATS on your BABY :yelclap:
Hubby has come to every appointment I have had - Both with DS and now DD...
Luckily he came to the 2nd last appointment with DS as my water broke about 15 mins later as we walking in the supermarket .... Luckily we just had to turn around and go back upstairs to the docs :laughing::laughing: and then across the road to the hospital.
Is anyone else feeling tired ALL the time..I wake up and am just exhausted again. DS has become clingy and won't let me out of his sight and the cat keeps meowing at my head all day ... DRIVING ME CRAZY :yes:
epiphany
07-08-2008, 05:29 PM
Evening ladies.
Forgot to let you know how the scan went.
Everything is fine. I ended up having to go back so bubs had time for it's bladder to fill up (so they could check that). I was sneaky &, as hubby wasn't with me at the 2nd scan, I asked if the sonographer could confirm if my feelings about what gender bubs was were correct. Baby wasn't cooperating (turned round & legs together) but he's 80-90% sure I'm correct (he thought that was a labia he was looking at)...'cept he suggested not going out & buying pink, just in case (I hate pink, anyway).
But don't tell hubby, or I'm in big trouble...lol.
angelbaby013
07-08-2008, 07:01 PM
:yelclap:congrats on your scans ladies...hopefully bubs will co-operate @ your next scan so you can find out bubs sex :fingerscrossed:
ive been getting a few really strong kicks today, one after another too. Bubs is definitely growing!
Mummy to Mason
07-08-2008, 09:03 PM
Good evening!
Fozzie- oh how frustrating :hissy: With Mason we weren't able to find out at 19 weeks but ended up having another scan at 32 or so weeks and we found out then. It's dissapointing when you are so excited to know! I hope your placenta moves up, there's still plenty of time yet :fingerscrossed:
missmum- yay for no morning sickness! :yelclap:
Fugly- yep I am tired ALL the time. I am seriously struggling to get through the days and look after Mason properly. The poor boy watched his wiggles dvd twice today because I was too tired to do anything with him :o
Epiphany- oooh how exciting! Are you going to tell your DH at all or just let him think you don't know? It would be kinda special having a little secret all to yourself (well except for us lol).
Beck75- yep my DH will come to all the scans, and has been to the 4 we've had so far this pregnancy. He does shift work and is home a lot of days so I just book them for when I know he will be able to come. Also, we travel 3 hours for our scans and I can't do that by myself so he sort of has to come. I'm not sure about the ticker, you might need to go through the whole set up again and once you preview it it has a few options down the bottom to copy and paste. I can't remember exactly what I did but I don't think you have copied & pasted the right link.... hopefully someone else can explain it better!
I'm feeling so tired and unmotivated as usual... I'm so over it!!
Hels*Bels
07-08-2008, 09:31 PM
My DH comes to my scans but not to my OB appts, as time off work means no money as he's self employed.
There is an open day at the hospital coming up which is on a sunday so we will go to that providing we can take DS. I'll have to ring them first and ask.
I am tired all the time too but I have finally got my evenings back. So instead of going to bed early I can stay up until 11pm now, so that's progress :)
epiphany
07-08-2008, 09:50 PM
Oh no!!!!!!
I went to watch Bub's DVD from the scan & they've given ma a blank DVD!! There's nothing on it! I have it's first scan - that's fine...but the 2nd DVD with the anatomy scan is blank!
I will phone them tomorrow to see if maybe they've given me the wrong thing but I'm a bit annoyed, really. Here's hoping they actually have mine somewhere (although I sort of don't hold out much hope)...:fingerscrossed:
GoneBatty
07-08-2008, 11:26 PM
just a post to let ne1 interested know next week (starting thursday the 14th i think) is BABY WEEK at Big W :D :yelclap:
ive been having doubts whether bub really is a she :( i really want it to be a girl now im so excited but i feel i want another scan to double check, but if i do that n they say no its a boy i think ill be upset :( but if i wait till Jan i dunno if ill be upset or not lol
oh that makes no sense im babbling away in my silly frame of mind :hissy: :crying:
Mamalicious
08-08-2008, 06:31 AM
Baby week? A sale? I arrive on Thursday, woohoo!!!! :D
mrsmamo
08-08-2008, 07:24 AM
GOOOOD MORRRNING!!!!!!!!!!!
Well our scan went well - although bubby was Moving around like crazy so our scan went for a whoel 60mintues! Which was good :) The poor sonographer was getting VERY frustrated though lol....
So..... Hubby REALLY REALLY REALLY wanted to find out. If you have read my previous posts, you'll know that all along i have said (along with Hubby) that we are having a girl.
Well..... WE WERE RIGHT!!!
WE ARE HAVING A BABY GIRL!!!!
Hubby was soo funny - he has come to every scan and i thought he was going to start crying in there - so then we HAD to go to the shops so he could buy 'his little girl something sweet' hehehe so he got her some girly jumpsuits - very cute and some cute bibs and we got our layby off :)
However - Epiphany - we got a DVD too, and we got home and went to watch it to see what the quality is like and if you can see that its a girl on there because we wanna show family but not tell them, and it DOESNT WORK :(
I will have to ring them today but because it records as the U/S is being done, i dont hold hopes that they will be able to re-record it without us paying another $150 for another scan :(.
Im so disapointed because they only gave us 2 photo's too. :(
Oh well - SHE will be all worth it :)
Mamalicious
08-08-2008, 08:57 AM
Congratulations mrsmamo!!!!!!!
Your hubby sounds so cute!!! :goodvibes::laughing:
fozzie
08-08-2008, 09:10 AM
Thanks girls I'm hoping for another scan because of the placenta and hoping in all hope that it moves.
Congrats mrs mamo.
I think I'm coming down with a cold :( DS1,2 & 3 are have one so does DH now :hissy:I don't want it.:crying:
jess_live_die
08-08-2008, 09:30 AM
congratulayions on ur bubba girl how cute
earthfairy
08-08-2008, 10:26 AM
Morning Ladies:)
COngrats to all of you that have had scans & found out what you are having. How exciting!
I am a bit flat today & tired, i couldnt sleep last night as my best friend had an OB app yesterday & there was no heartbeat:(
Her baby had passed away sometime last week.
I cant help but feel like it is happening to me all over again as exactly this time last year I was going through the nightmare of loosing my baby.
I feel guilty, helpless, sad & lost for her. I dont know what to do.
Sorry for being a bummer on you guys.... sending you all lots of love & belly rubs for our gorgeous miracles :hugs:we are so blessed..
GoneBatty
08-08-2008, 10:32 AM
oh you'll be just in time for the sale then Mama lol great timing!
congrats mrsmamo another little pink one!!
hope everyones day is well
jess_live_die
08-08-2008, 10:34 AM
Morning Ladies:)
COngrats to all of you that have had scans & found out what you are having. How exciting!
I am a bit flat today & tired, i couldnt sleep last night as my best friend had an OB app yesterday & there was no heartbeat:(
Her baby had passed away sometime last week.
I cant help but feel like it is happening to me all over again as exactly this time last year I was going through the nightmare of loosing my baby.
I feel guilty, helpless, sad & lost for her. I dont know what to do.
Sorry for being a bummer on you guys.... sending you all lots of love & belly rubs for our gorgeous miracles :hugs:we are so blessed..
oh my im so sorry for her send her some love from me :hugs::hugs:
i cant even being to imganine what shes going through or what u went through :hugs:
fugly
08-08-2008, 10:41 AM
KirstyB - please send our love to your best friend...it is such a hard thing to go through.
It is great that she has a great friend that knows what she is going through and can be some support throughout this time.
It is an awful thing to go through and sadly, SO many other women have been through it too so there is so much support out there if she wants to look for it
:hugs::hugs::hugs:PLease give these to her for us
earthfairy
08-08-2008, 10:44 AM
I wish i could grab all you girls & give you all a HUGE, MASSIVE CUDDLE!:hugs:
Thanks for being so kind... who says that cyber friends arent real friends! I treasure you all like you were my friends in real life!
Sorry, im feeling a bit emotional today & really need a hug - hope i dont cry - im at the front desk at work! lol:o
Thanks girls:hugs::kiss:
mrsmamo
08-08-2008, 10:52 AM
Mamalicious: lol yes i had to laugh but at the same time, im sooo happy he is soo excited and ready for it. It wasnt that long ago that he was telling his mum he was getting a vasectomy (sp?) because she wouldnt let up on the kids thing. hehe I cant wait to see him with her. the whole arvo he was like, cant she just be here now?! i want her now lol.
fozzie: oh no! i :fingerscrossed: your not getting sick! it sux when the house comes down 1 by 1 with it (kinda like 'the ants go marching lol).
jess_live_die: thanks Jess - she is gonna hate her middle name tho - its going to be my late nan's name (she passed about 3 weeks before we found out.)
KirstyB: Im so sorry to hear that. Im not going to say it was for the best because no matter what was wrong with the little buba, i could only imagine you would feel like it wasnt enough for their life to be ended. Big hugs and your probably the best person as you know what she is going through so can talk about experiences if your comfortable with it.
Hope everyone else is well :)
Oh btw: i rang the u/s place this morning and they WONT do another dvd they jsut said sorry it doesnt work, nothing i can do. I said ok, so is it possile then that i can pick up some more of the photo's that were taken. Cuz i only got 2, and was supposed to get a dvd. She goes, yeah its possible but we wont do it. Sorry.
you'll have to wait for your 34week scan but then the photo's will be **** cuz the baby will be so big. :hair:
Very dissapointing. Oh well.
Mamalicious
08-08-2008, 10:55 AM
oh you'll be just in time for the sale then Mama lol great timing!
Isn't it though!! :laughing:
KirstyB that's such sad news, big hugs to both of you. :hugs::hugs::hugs:
jess_live_die
08-08-2008, 11:24 AM
heres some pics of wat brought bubs
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n...cture167-1.jpg (http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n128/jess_live_die/Picture167-1.jpg)
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n...Picture168.jpg (http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n128/jess_live_die/Picture168.jpg)
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n...Picture169.jpg (http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n128/jess_live_die/Picture169.jpg)
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n...Picture170.jpg (http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n128/jess_live_die/Picture170.jpg)
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n...Picture171.jpg (http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n128/jess_live_die/Picture171.jpg)
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n...Picture172.jpg (http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n128/jess_live_die/Picture172.jpg)
Mummyto3blue
08-08-2008, 12:20 PM
Congrats Mrsmano on your little girl!! Im getting more and more jealous here~! LOL! Ive only got 4 days till my scan. Im SOOOOO nervous!!!
epiphany
08-08-2008, 01:16 PM
Oh btw: i rang the u/s place this morning and they WONT do another dvd they jsut said sorry it doesnt work, nothing i can do. I said ok, so is it possile then that i can pick up some more of the photo's that were taken. Cuz i only got 2, and was supposed to get a dvd. She goes, yeah its possible but we wont do it. Sorry.
Oh no! That's terrible! I phoned the imaging center this morning as well & they said they can't do anything till Monday as that's when the admin lady who was on when I had the u/s will be back in the office (she should know what happened, apparently)...& the sonographer I had won't be back till Thursday. They've left a note for someone to get back to me on Monday, with a promise that they'll "sort something out."
I'm hoping the machine stores the u/s on the hard drive for a wee while & that they'll be able to retrieve it for me or, failing that, that they'll be able to offer a quick rescan to get something on disc. But I'm very mindful of the big disclaimer on the back of the DVD that says they don't do rescans because of poor quality. But a blank DVD is different to poor quality! And whilst I'm not terribly upset at the moment (part of the whole "pregnancy...blah" thing I'm getting), I'm concerned I'll regret it later on. Especially as I won't be having a 34 week scan with them.
As an aside, I got my HOTmilk goodness today. So yummy! And so comfy!!! Much nicer than my horrible "maternity bras must be beige or white & look like something your grandmother wouldn't even be caught in" bras (that were the nicest in my local shops) that I've been wearing. I immediately ditched my beige monstrosity & am loving the difference the HOTmilk bra makes.
Plus I get my new "we have a bigger family than the entire population of Kamchatka" car this afternoon. So today hasn't been all bad.
Kirsty...big hugs for you friend & sorry to hear of her loss.
Jess...yummy clothes! *wonders if I could sneak some girly goodness into the house without hubby noticing*
3already
08-08-2008, 03:47 PM
Hello all,
MRSMAMO...congratulations on your girl :yelclap:! Sorry about your scan DVD, could you get one of those 4D ones done? I'd like to but they 're pretty expensive and i can't afford one at the moment.
KIRSTY...sorry to hear about your friend, must be really hard for both of you as i bet you were really thrilled to be sharing your pregnancy journey together.
JESS...cute clothes!! I love those little shoes :yes:!
EPHIPHANY...i know what you mean about granny bras! I got my first maternity bra from Kmart on Monday and feel as sexy as a wet fish! It is so plain and boring, i would love to splash out on some sexy ones but can't justify that expense at the moment :no:
I'm going to find it so hard in the UK seeing all the fab baby and maternity things they have there (no i'm not a whinging pom, but it is true that there is a MUCH better choice of baby and maternity stuff there) I darent even go into Baby Gap cos their baby stuff is to die for :yelclap:! I'm hoping my mum might take me on a baby clothes spree while i'm there :laughing:! When i think of all the mountains of beautiful baby stuff i had when mine were little it makes me want to cry that i have got to start from scratch again, and with a LOT less disposable income than i had back then!
6 sleeps until we get to check up on babys health via the special scan and check my antibody levels, please all keep your fingers crossed that all is ok cos i'm terrified! I will be 16 weeks and 2 days when i have the scan so there is a good chance we can find out the sex if we want to i think, i will be having another scan when i get back when i will be 21 weeks too.
I'm meeting some Perth Bubhub girls for a cuppa next Friday so am looking forward to that !
Have a great weekend girls :)
Mummy to Mason
08-08-2008, 07:49 PM
Kirsty- I'm so sorry to hear about your friends baby :hugs:
Jess- aww those clothes are gorgeous!!
3already- I'll be keeping everything crossed for you and your bubba :fingerscrossed:
mrsmamo- congrats on your girl!
Had another yuck day today (story of my life lately lol). I have ordered a maxirider for Mason so that's one thing off the list at least.
fozzie
08-08-2008, 08:34 PM
Kristy - Sorry to hear of your friends loss. :hugs:
3already - Don't remind me of all the lovely UK baby stores I'm missing Sigh BabyGap I loved Next stuff too. Can you fit me in your suitcase? Where are you going?
:hugs:and good luck with the scan.
mrsmamo
08-08-2008, 09:32 PM
Hi everyone!!!
Sorry i have just been on such a rollercoaster today! after having the scan yesterday and bein so happy, i crashed lol, i was sooo
angry/frustrated/upset this afternoon however my darling hubby has just fixed the scan DVD!!!!!
I cant believe it! i dont know how he did it, but even though through my computer it said there were no files on there, he managed to get the data off the dvd and put it on the pc so at least we can watch it on there.
He is now trying to re-burn to another dvd. :smiliedance:
Epiphany - does your dvd when u look on the back, does it have the darker ring like it has something burnt on it? if So you CAN fix it :D
Oh and my actual reason for this post is that i managed to scan the 2 pics we got from the scan:
Head profile: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=30110274&l=e16e1&id=1000236183 (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=30110274&l=e16e1&id=1000236183)
Face: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=30110273&l=2e877&id=1000236183 (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=30110273&l=2e877&id=1000236183)
epiphany
08-08-2008, 10:08 PM
Yay for fixing your DVD! :smiliedance:
Nope - there's nothing on my DVD at all. It's blank. And no rings on the back. I actually looked at it before putting it in the DVD player & thought it looked odd & that there was very little data on it...especially given that my last scan was shorter & took up quite a lot f space on the DVD. So can't fix it because there's nothing on it to fix :no:
fugly
09-08-2008, 01:07 AM
:hissy: I just got home from taking my DS to the docs....
We were getting ready to go for a swim and he fell and hit his lip on the side of the bookshelf and needed 4 stitches on his teeny tiny lip :no:
He was Screaming when they put thestitches , as you would imagine (and I was bawling) I made his Daddy go in with him because I was crying - it was so hard to see him in so much pain ....
Not a good srart to the weekend...
So that is 2. I almost broke my nose last week and had to go to the emergency and now this one .......:hissy::hissy:
fozzie
09-08-2008, 07:59 AM
Hi everyone!!!
Sorry i have just been on such a rollercoaster today! after having the scan yesterday and bein so happy, i crashed lol, i was sooo
angry/frustrated/upset this afternoon however my darling hubby has just fixed the scan DVD!!!!!
I cant believe it! i dont know how he did it, but even though through my computer it said there were no files on there, he managed to get the data off the dvd and put it on the pc so at least we can watch it on there.
He is now trying to re-burn to another dvd. :smiliedance:
Epiphany - does your dvd when u look on the back, does it have the darker ring like it has something burnt on it? if So you CAN fix it :D
Oh and my actual reason for this post is that i managed to scan the 2 pics we got from the scan:
Head profile: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=30110274&l=e16e1&id=1000236183 (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=30110274&l=e16e1&id=1000236183)
Face: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=30110273&l=2e877&id=1000236183 (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=30110273&l=2e877&id=1000236183)
Oh that's wonderful so glad you were able to fix it.
Yay for fixing your DVD! :smiliedance:
Nope - there's nothing on my DVD at all. It's blank. And no rings on the back. I actually looked at it before putting it in the DVD player & thought it looked odd & that there was very little data on it...especially given that my last scan was shorter & took up quite a lot f space on the DVD. So can't fix it because there's nothing on it to fix :no:
Sorry yours can't be fixed that's so dissapointing.
Fugly - Oh no hugs for your DS. :hugs: poor little love.
3already
09-08-2008, 10:42 AM
:wave: all,
FOZZIE...I love 'Next' too...and 'Adams'! I will be spending some time in my mums lovely apartment overlooking the river in Surrey and the rest at my mums beautiful 400 year old country house in Suffolk, it is all wooden beams, original oak floorboards etc and is like stepping back in time, it is so beautiful and homely..very different to how i live in Perth :laughing:
MRSMAMO...glad you got your DVD working :yelclap:!
FUGLY...sorry to hear about your DS, it is so hard when they have to have procedures like that done isn't it? :hugs:
I had my first dose of really bad heartburn last night, i suffer really badly with that in pregnancy, with my first 3 i remember by the last couple of months i had to sleep virtually upright just to try to ease it a bit.
I'm trying to work out how realistic it would be to apply for a job doing mental health telephone support from home, they keep advertising and its good money, plus the added benefit of not having to worry about getting your head kicked in everytime you go to work by some drug induced psychotic!
earthfairy
09-08-2008, 01:07 PM
Hello Ladies:wave:
Again, i am at work:thumbsdown: poo i say! POO!!!!!!!!!
So its kind of starting to sink in that im having a baby.
Is this really happening?!?!?!?!?!
I woke up this morning & realised something..... i am TERRIFIED of giving birth! I dont think im going to be able to cope with the pain - what if i need an epidural? those things scare the hell out of me! What if i tear or need an episiotomy? SO SCARED!!!!!
I received a HUGE box of baby stuff from my mum yesterday as she wouldnt be able to bring it all on the plane without being charged a fortune!
There is soooo much stuff in this box! There even a little jumpsuit that says
"No Body Puts Baby In The Corner":laughing:
Too cute!
I spewed again this morning, not nice! My heartburn too is pretty bad so i can sympathise with you ladies that are suffering too.
Is anyone else getting really sore inner thighs? Like in the groin area? I wonder if this is stretching? Feels like ive been riding a horse for the past month!
Hows everyones movements? Im still not getting regular distinct kicks, but more rolling movements. Hope it starts soon!
Im off to get me some HotMilk Bras & Undies tomorrow - they ahve a deal on - buy 2 pairs of bras & 2 undies & you get a sexy teddy or set of pjs worth $100 for FREE!
FREE I TELL YOU!!!:devil6:
I love free :D
WHat are you lovely goddesses up to on this saturday anyway?
Fugly - so sorry to hear what happened to your little man! Sending him cuddles
epiphany - hope you can either fix your dvd or they give you another one. Buggers!
mrsmamo - your scan pics are gorgeous!
Hope youre all having a beautiful day!
missmum05
09-08-2008, 01:32 PM
Hey Girls
Not much happening at our house, we are all still sick with the flu :( It's been 5 days and I dont feel like I am getting better. I am gonna see a doctor 2nite :)
Kristyb sorry to hear about your friend :hugs:
And mrsmama CONGRATS on your baby Girl:) and I am glad to hear your dvd is fixed....
epiphany thats such a bummer about your dvd, they should let you do another scan for free:yes:
readytotry
09-08-2008, 01:51 PM
Hello all :)
Sorry I have been MIA, just got back from Sydney today for work.
KristyB you sound like your in a lovely mood today, thats great, keep it up because it is contagious! :goodvibes:
I have a question...
I am 16 weeks today, yay for me! Yesterday during my work conference I was sitting there listening to a lecture when i started to feel, twinges, right where I think bubs would be right now... Directly below my belly Button. They kind of felt like muscle spasms. Do you guys think that maybe this was my baby????? I am so excited to finally feel something and I pray that was what is was. I havent felt it since but i did feel it most of yesterday afternoon. Did anyone elses first baby movement feel like this?
Belana
09-08-2008, 01:57 PM
KirstyB - Im terried of giving birth too :( vaginally/epidural/pain relief/c section - it all scares me. Even the idea of breastfeeding scares me - but I have had a pierced nipple that has alot of scar tissue so Im probably more scared about that :no:
Im sure we will be ok though. Im trying to learn more about birth etc so I dont freak out so much when the time comes :)
Hope ur friend is going ok :hugs:
Mummyto3blue
09-08-2008, 03:05 PM
Hello Ladies
Again, i am at work poo i say! POO!!!!!!!!!
So its kind of starting to sink in that im having a baby.
Is this really happening?!?!?!?!?!
I woke up this morning & realised something..... i am TERRIFIED of giving birth! I dont think im going to be able to cope with the pain - what if i need an epidural? those things scare the hell out of me! What if i tear or need an episiotomy? SO SCARED!!!!!
I received a HUGE box of baby stuff from my mum yesterday as she wouldnt be able to bring it all on the plane without being charged a fortune!
I spewed again this morning, not nice! My heartburn too is pretty bad so i can sympathise with you ladies that are suffering too.
Is anyone else getting really sore inner thighs? Like in the groin area? I wonder if this is stretching? Feels like ive been riding a horse for the past month!
Hows everyones movements? Im still not getting regular distinct kicks, but more rolling movements. Hope it starts soon!
My groin is killing me - its one of the things that relax with the hormones related to pregnancy. Oh the joys.
If you are having heartburn have u tried Zantac or Zantac Extra? They are just a tablet that u take once a day and it stops my heartburn in its tracks.
You never know with the borth, my mate just had a 5 hour labour and it was so quick she coudlnt even stop to think!! No stitches, no drugs, nothing!!
Hey Girls
Not much happening at our house, we are all still sick with the flu It's been 5 days and I dont feel like I am getting better. I am gonna see a doctor 2nite
Kristyb sorry to hear about your friend
And mrsmama CONGRATS on your baby Girl and I am glad to hear your dvd is fixed....
epiphany thats such a bummer about your dvd, they should let you do another scan for free
My boys are sick too, both threw up in bed last night. We have a bath this morning rhats for sure!! ewww
Hello all :)
Sorry I have been MIA, just got back from Sydney today for work.
KristyB you sound like your in a lovely mood today, thats great, keep it up because it is contagious! :goodvibes:
I have a question...
I am 16 weeks today, yay for me! Yesterday during my work conference I was sitting there listening to a lecture when i started to feel, twinges, right where I think bubs would be right now... Directly below my belly Button. They kind of felt like muscle spasms. Do you guys think that maybe this was my baby????? I am so excited to finally feel something and I pray that was what is was. I havent felt it since but i did feel it most of yesterday afternoon. Did anyone elses first baby movement feel like this?
Thats wehat mine feels like, and its certainly the baby. Just wait until it kicks u in the ribs and theres no denying thats the baby LOL!
justmum
09-08-2008, 03:21 PM
For those first timers worrying about the birth I just wanted to say I had the most fantastic birth experience with my son and am really looking forward to the labour and birth this time around.
I highly recommend that you get hold of the "Business of Being Born" a really illuminating documentary by Ricki Lake. (Google it and watch!).
Read up on labour and birth - it's so easy to focus on the pregnancy only but I urge you to take some time to think about the sort of birth you would like to have.
Think you might like pain relief? Great - do some research and see what your options are, the side effects etc. Don't want medicated pain relief? Also great - find out what your non medical pain relief options are and what you might like to try.
I know not everyone gets the birth they want or plan for - but the more armed you are with knowledge then the more control you will hopefully have over the process.
I know not everyone has a great experience, but mine was fantastic and labour and birth hold no fears for me this time around.
Mamalicious
09-08-2008, 03:35 PM
For those first timers worrying about the birth I just wanted to say I had the most fantastic birth experience with my son and am really looking forward to the labour and birth this time around.
:iagree:
earthfairy
09-08-2008, 04:05 PM
Thanks for all the encouragement!
I have been reading a great book called "Birth" it is really informative.
It goes into all the stages, pain relief with pro's & con's etc..
I guess the main thing for me is that i am going to go into that labour open minded. Im not apposed to anything - that being because i dont know what to expect so how could i be apposed to things i dont know how they feel. iykwim?
If i need a c-sect - then do it
If i need an episiotomy - then do it
Obvioulsy i would LOVE to have a natural vaginal birth but i just dont know what its going to feel like.
I think being open minded first time around is safest:thumbsup:
It is so nice to hear of nice birth stories though, people are always quick to tell you the horrors....
I meditate & am quite spiritual so im hoping that this will aid my labour & birth
My friends think im a hippy & have named me Mung Bean & they have named the baby MoonShine
lol :goodvibes:
Im sooooooooooooo tired this afternoon, 6pm cant come fast enough so i can go home from here!
Im glad that im not the only one with groin pain! i thought my fanny was breaking! lol:laughing:
earthfairy
09-08-2008, 04:07 PM
Readytotry - sounds like your little one is letting itself be known to you hun!:smiliedance:
How exciting!:hugs:
mrsgrumpygills
09-08-2008, 04:16 PM
KristyB & Belina - Don't be scared, women have done this for thousands of years. I'll admit that my son's birth was quite full on but I did it without any pain killers and I feel wonderful for doing that (I was more scared of the side-effects of an epidural than coping with the pain). This time round I am taking hypnobirthing classes, I couldn't afford to last time.
justmum - I love that movie to. I downloaded it and I give a copy to eveyone I know that is pregnant.
I have been feeling little bumps now for a few days. All the movement has been at the front whereas last time I felt it mainly in my back and inside (where I image my pelvic floor to be). Last night I put DH's hand on my belly and he felt some bumps to. I am definitly carrying differently this time, he didn't feel anything until well after 20 weeks last time.
DS turned 2 a month ago but tomorrow is the first time I have been able to get all the family together for a party. So we are having his party a month late. He has 8 cousins and they are all going to the pool in the afternoon and then back here for afternoon tea (he went to babyswim since he was 3 months old and just loves the water). I will be up all night baking and getting ready for tomorrow.
Mummyto3blue
09-08-2008, 09:11 PM
Thanks for all the encouragement!
I have been reading a great book called "Birth" it is really informative.
It goes into all the stages, pain relief with pro's & con's etc..
I guess the main thing for me is that i am going to go into that labour open minded. Im not apposed to anything - that being because i dont know what to expect so how could i be apposed to things i dont know how they feel. iykwim?
If i need a c-sect - then do it
If i need an episiotomy - then do it
Obvioulsy i would LOVE to have a natural vaginal birth but i just dont know what its going to feel like.
I think being open minded first time around is safest:thumbsup:
It is so nice to hear of nice birth stories though, people are always quick to tell you the horrors....
I meditate & am quite spiritual so im hoping that this will aid my labour & birth
My friends think im a hippy & have named me Mung Bean & they have named the baby MoonShine
lol :goodvibes:
Im sooooooooooooo tired this afternoon, 6pm cant come fast enough so i can go home from here!
Im glad that im not the only one with groin pain! i thought my fanny was breaking! lol:laughing:
I think because I was so laid back and open minded the first time is the reason I ended up in a c/s. I never thought of how it could affect my future pregnancies and births.
All that matters though in the long run is the baby is safe and mummy too, but I would def check out that movie that ricki lake did. Its awesome!!
Belana
09-08-2008, 09:17 PM
justmum, Mamalicious & mrsgrumpygills
Thanks for your posts. I already feel less scared and more confident :yelclap:
I have started reading the "Pain during child birth" thread in the "Birth & Labour Questions" on the forum and its helps alot too. I have already decided that I want to go to antenatal classes if possible - I will have to ask about it at the hospital when I go for an appointment :flowerz:
Belana
09-08-2008, 09:21 PM
Oh I forgot to mention that I have seen "The Business of Being Born" a couple of times but I think my mind was still set in the surreality (sorry if thats not a word lol) of being pregnant. I will have to watch it again with a stronger and more confident mindset this time :D
It is such a great doco :)
fozzie
10-08-2008, 08:44 AM
I know not everyone gets the birth they want or plan for - but the more armed you are with knowledge then the more control you will hopefully have over the process.
I know not everyone has a great experience, but mine was fantastic and labour and birth hold no fears for me this time around.
:iagree: totally my first wasn't too bad I was induced but no stitches or epidural or anything and DS2 it was amazing. Unfortunatley I had problems with placenta previa with DS3 so had to have a c-section but I'm looking forward to what ever birth I have this time.
Hels*Bels
10-08-2008, 10:49 PM
I'm not looking forward to the whole birth experience either but I am glad that I am having an elective CS this time. I am looking forward to about 1-2 mths after the birth when I am healing and getting in a routine with bubs. I keep focusing on that as I know the time will fly by so quickly and you soon forget about the whole birth thing.
Mummyto3blue
11-08-2008, 08:15 AM
Hels my c/s was so easy, I was mobile 2 days after and I was running 5 WEEKS after the op. So I felt fantasti