View Full Version : August chat for october 08 mums and bubs-we are on the home stretch!!!

*Chels*
01-08-2008, 07:15 AM
New month,new thread!
Get chatting girls!!!:D

*Chels*
01-08-2008, 07:27 AM
:eek:I cant believe we have just hit August!And some of us could be having our babies next month!

PinkLily- Take it easy hun!How frightning for you!!:hugs:

Becca-Awesome news about your VBAC!!:yelclap:I wish you all the best!!Sux about you CTS!!

Kamb- You take it easy too!!Have fun seeing bubs on screen again!

Krissy-I dont know how you cope with all the kiddies!Just my one drives me up the wall!!!
Glad you fianlly got your wall border!Winnie the Pooh rocks,so it will be well worth it!Make sure you post some pics when you have done nursery!!

Kas-I wouldnt take those measurements as gospbal.Riley was 8p 7oz,so on the big side and I had a completely natural birth.Its when the baby is around 11p you should start to panic:laughing:

Myusernamewoohoo- Sounds like you are having a rough trot!Hope the medics start giving you some answers!!!Hope it isnt Pre-E:fingerscrossed:Feel free to vent away...thats what we are here for!!!

Well,I am going to do some cleaning and then take Riley to the park!
Have a great day kids!!!

YacinesMommy
01-08-2008, 07:29 AM
Hi Chels thanx for starting the new thread.
Mods if you are out there could you please make this one a sticky and unstick and close the July and May threads.
Tina

loulousmum
01-08-2008, 07:30 AM
Thanks for starting the new thread Chels! Wow - August - it really is the 'home stretch' (a little less of the stretch though please...:laughing:)

Well, cool thing happened to me last night. I went to a Tupperware party (and yes, bought lots of stuff) and the neighbour of the girl hosting the party is a nurse at the Sunnybank Hospital where I'm having the twins. I've met her before, both at the hospital and through my friend and she is really great. ANYWAY, it ends up she is doing her midwife training and needs to 'track and accompany' 5 women through 5 OB appointments, be there for their birth and then to two follow ups after the birth, one in the hospital and one at the 6 week OB appointment.

COOL! She's asked me to be one of her 5 mummies and I am so happy about it! As you all know, I'm struggling with the natural vs c-section thing and some of you suggested I get a doula or second opinion from a midwife - well, to me, this is the best of both worlds - a really nice person who I kind of know who is going to be alongside me for the coming weeks!! How lucky am I!:yelclap: She said she has to run it by my OB but she knows him from the hospital and is sure that he will be supportive.

Well, we are having a little girl from childcare (and her mum) over for morning tea today. I was going to bake a cake but we need bread so I am taking the easy way out and going to the bakery instead!

Archie needs a haircut too! (Family and bump photos on Monday morning)...so I'll check in probably MUCH later today!

By the way - thanks for the comments on the healthy twin weights you've seen and especially to Kirsty for the story about the girl who was great up to 36 weeks - I hope that will be me!:fingerscrossed:

Have a fab first day of August!:flowerz:

84zsazsa
01-08-2008, 07:36 AM
:ecomcity: :ecomcity:

There you go Chels!!!....lol

.......and the rest of you guys :wave:

B'day in a week or so......still doing mortage.....freezing in Townsville....am massive and buggered :laughing:......thats my update.

PINKLILY - No good about your Uncle. Hugs and take care.

Nice to see some of you ladies that havent posted for awhile (back over in the other thread).

:hugs: to the ladies feeling this last stretch in a bad way!! I know how you feel.

:sunshine:.....and keep shining and growing them babies to all doing well.

Have a good day,

Danni

BazzasMum
01-08-2008, 07:45 AM
OMG August already???? Means 3 more sleeps till my birthday...

Flipped the calendar this morning.... where did July go? Why is this year/pregnancy going so fast????:confused:

Anyhoo..... Friday. Laundry and floors today. yippee. DH hasn't been paid yet from his clients in NZ so he's taking the morning off. He's got the dentist after 1pm anyway. Great, just means he's hanging around here, stressing me out over money. Bl00dy men!!

MIL sent a parcel which arrived yesterday. My rasp leaf tablets, a few t-shirts for DH and some Bob toys!! They're so cute!!! But they came with a hunk of blue play-dough and DS thinks it's the best thing since sliced bread. It stinks!!! And stains everything....:doh:

PrincessT
01-08-2008, 07:51 AM
Hi everyone - I have a million things to respond too but I am trying to get some stuff done around the house so I can go to the shops with my mum - she has been super helpful lately and I want to surprise her with a gift... she loves little luxuries, so I thought if he went to the Chanel counter or something and look at some lippies.

Be back later xx

mum2ethan
01-08-2008, 10:52 AM
Hi all! WOW August hey!!! Thanx Chels for starting the thread!

LYP - so sorry to hear about your uncle :hugs:

Kas - thats great you have made up your mind about c-section, will be a huge relief. Now you can prepare yourself for it! When will you find out a date?? I dont find out till im 36 weeks... so start of Sept.

Woohoo - :hugs: hope it isnt PE and that you get some answers soon! The wait is so annoying!!!

To all thoses who have been MIA - great to hear from you!!!

Loulousmum - WOW thats great about the middie!!! how lucky are you!!!

Bazzasmum - awwww thats nice of you MIL to send the package!! (except the blue play dough!! :doh:)

PT - Sounds like you are 1 busy lady!!!

Well not much to report besides the foot that is permantly lodged into my ribs :dizzy: bub has been SUPER active the last few days. I keep having dreams about my waters breaking early... in fact thru-out this whole pregnancy MOST of my dreams have been about having the baby early... hmmmmmmm hopefully it keeps cooking for a while longer!!!!

Well better get back to it, take care all

Mel xoxox

KrissyM
01-08-2008, 11:08 AM
Cant believe its August, just 2 short months and these little bundles will start appearing, well probally less for some. Decided to have a sick day today, just getting too tired. It sounds like a weak excuse and I feel bad for doing it when Im going away for the weekend but if I dont Ill only end up getting sick. Had planned to sleep in but it seems everyone else had other plans. One of the mums from my class (who is also a really good friend) had to ring me at 9 to give me grief about not going in, then DP rang to get some password login he needed for work then the doorbell went with parcel for DP so gave up on the sleep in and got up. At least Ive got most of the washing done last load in now and am keeping my fingers crossed the showers hold off till its dry. Well better head off to hospital, still havent had my gd test so today is the day, just delaying going.
have a great weekend everyone
Kristy

Littleyorkshirepudding
01-08-2008, 12:07 PM

Thanks for your well wishes re my uncle - it's getting worse, my dad said the dr's are stopping the antibiotics now as they are not working and once they do this he will rapidly go down hill, worsen and die - it's such a shame all they can do is make him comfortable and Dad said they'd be there to see him to the end.
It's such a shame but my Uncle hasn't really had much of a life for the last 16 -17 years as he had a really bad cycling accident (wasn't wearing a helmet as it isn't required by law in the UK) and was dragged 50m by a car and ended up with a really serious head injury and couldn't remember any of his life past the 1970's and because it was a head injury he's never been the shame - will dress all in one colour from head to toe, won't clean his house, won't let anyone in to clean it even family, so there are rats etc in there and to top it all off he would drink bottles of scotch everyday and smoke 50 cigars - so although it is sad, he hasn't really had a good quality of life like we have and this is what has caused him to be so poorly, his liver is past repair etc - if only he would have excepted some help oh well.

Sam - love the tshirt and good news about the midwife that's awesome - hope you enjoyed your morning tea

Kas - can I ask what makes you so scared of childbirth that you would opt for a c-section, instead of a natural birth that our bodies are designed for and can do - I'm not judging just curious as I had a c-section with Ruby after a 21 hour non progressing labour and I know it is a personal choice and one I respect but I just wondered with it being your first. I hope you don't mind me asking?

Chels - you silly sausage about your car made me laugh though and I needed that.

I was at the hospital yesterday, GT good, bloods good, iron a little low, had my Anti D injection in my butt too, did the strep B swab and had more bloods taken, baby is growing well and is head down but not engaged, and my fundal height is measuring spot on 30cm's for 30 weeks and heartbeat was good - so I came away feeling great. Next appointment there in 6 weeks after my ultrasound at 36 weeks as they want to see if the fibroid on my cervix has moved and if so I get the go ahead for a VBAC if not it'll be a c-section for me :crying: at 39 weeks and they'll book it there and then - my gut feeling is it's going to be a c-section.

Pinklily - take it easy girl - I'd go and checked out but it does sound like a blood pressure thing.

I can't believe I have just over 9 weeks to go or 8 weeks if it's a c-section - is anyone esle feeling slightly overwhelmed about it all at the moment? because I am

Well must go I've waffled on enough and bathrooms don't clean themselves nor do dirty clothes load themselves into the washing machine - at least my jacket potato is cooking itself :laughing:

Take Care and talk soon

LYP x :wave:

loulousmum
01-08-2008, 04:08 PM
LYP - Again, bad news about your uncle. It sounds as though he may be headed for a more peaceful place though. Good news about your appointment - it is a bit full on to think of it as 8 weeks away!

My mum has just sent out invites to my baby shower for 30 August - that's scary for two reasons - 1. By then there'll only be about 4 weeks to go OR 2. By then I will already have had my babies 6 weeks early!!!

It's funny how one person's relief at deciding to have a c-section could be another's nightmare. I understand the medical reasons behind people's choice to have a c-section - but the whole idea of having one horrifies me and I'd do anything to have a natural birth again this time around! But I know what I'm in for - Archie's head circumference was off the scale - equal to what looks on the graph like it should be the 110th percentile!!!! Ouch :crying::eek: Let's just say - the old ice packs were getting a work out for about 5 days after the birth....

Picked up the twin pram this afternoon....things are getting a bit real now...have been holding off on buying the cots for fear of something going wrong - but ever since Princess T told me I need a slap, I'm reconsidering! And I should buy all that stuff now while I'm still on paid leave and won't feel too guilty about it!

Princess T - what did you buy your mum?

Kirsty - did you get all your tax stuff done and are you in for a nice cheque in the mail?

BazzasMum
01-08-2008, 05:25 PM
LOL Sam - I wish!! DH is self-employed, so it's basically minimising the amount of tax he has to pay!! Not that it'll be hard. With all the moving around this past year, he's got about 3 months where he didn't get paid at all. We're still paying off the credit card.......
And take heart, not many twins go full term, so doubt you'll have to contend with 2 more fat heads....but think positive too! You'll have your baby shower, still preggy, then they can come anytime after that..... And that's great news about the midwife!

I just had the most god-awful pain! Was lying on my bed reading when had to get up for a pee. The WORST stitch like pain EVER just at the top of my bump. Still painful to touch.

Kentucky Fried Rabbit for dinner...:barf: but at least I don't have to cook. Didn't sleep real well last night, so now I'm stuffed.

DH went for a huge hike with the dogs this morning (after he rang MIL - more in a minute). Now he's complaining of sore balls. Must be like running without a bra - how sore would that be??? :laughing:

The phone call..... rang MIL at work. Got to talk to her without the douchebag Dr in the background. She's going to ditch him!!! AFTER she gets him out of the rental house (his cat has been peeing on the carpet.. must have opened her eyes to his complete lack of respect for anyone) then she'll stay there once it's cleaned and start going to councelling with her DH :yelclap:YAY!!! She knows she's screwed up, he knows he screwed up, so I really hope they can work it out.... Such a huge relief!

Oh and I left the laundry out too long, now it's all damp. At least the dryer will heat up the house a bit.... :doh:

Sorry, but of a me-centric post..... will post personals later...

Littleyorkshirepudding
01-08-2008, 05:46 PM
Well it's Singapore Noodles and a bag of prawn crackers for my dinner tonight, although I now fancy KFC - thanks Bazzasmum and could probably eat a whole bucket to myself if only I lived near a KFC.....

Sam - thanks for your well wishes again - on a different note I've decided to get a change table after all seen some nice ones on ebay and am going to check out a few garage sales in the area too.

And I'm sure you'll make it to your baby shower with those babies still in there

I think it is my turn with the fussy toddler eater this week - God dinnertime has turned into such a battle, I suppose I have to keep reminding myself she is not going to starve - she's now happily playing with her little people bless her

Bazzasmum - good news about your MIL, but I bet your hubby is not too pleased about his sore balls poor man :laughing:

In the few seconds it has taken me to write this Ruby is now demanding my attention - well it is her bath time so I'll be off have a lovely Friday night all

LYP x

PrincessT
01-08-2008, 05:54 PM
Sam - as if anything is going to go wrong... I will slap you if you say that again!! Think of it this way, even if you do go into pre-term labour, there are so many babies in the neo-natal intensive care wards smaller that 30 weeks, that they would be 'big' in comparison. Remember Electric Mummy had Kane early and he is a little toughie!!!

So I didnt get my mum anything today because she turned up at my house dressed in trackies and runners, all ready to tackle housework!! I told her I wanted to take her out and she was like NOOOOO, lets do some things around the house! We did some washing, folding and I ironed whilst she and Allegra played. We did go to spotlight up the road - I bought Allegra some ribbons for her hair and some wadding that you use for quilting and mum got cotton and a new pin cusion! I'll go and get her something tommorrow and surprise her.

The wadding I got is for this rather strange kind of basinette cover that I got when Allegra was born from my grandmother. She bought it in Italy and it is tiny, small enough as a pram blanket or something but the thing is its cotton and you are suppose to put something inside it (it has doona kind of velcro snaps on the back) but as its an odd size, I had to buy wadding and cut it to size. Although I wouldnt use it on bubs to sleep because of sids and stuff, so it will be a pretty cover for when we go out in the pram.

Sam - you poor love re: the c/s thing. I'm the total opposite, because I have always known my spine is stuffed, I have always known that c/s is the go for me and its so not scary at all. I have always seen it as, I fell pregnant to have a baby not for the birth.. that way my mind didnt reject that my body is a failure. Dont feel like it may be a nightmare if you have to have those two little girls in a special way. Remember everything happens for a reason.

LYP - Prayers for your whole family xxx

DH and I are going to sit down for dinner now.. just had a glass of Sparkling Shiraz and Allegra is watching My Little Pony on DVD, so hopefully and early night... who knows, Mr T might just get lucky!!!!

~*clairesmum*~
01-08-2008, 06:09 PM
hey mummys,

i havent being on here for agers well in this thread. i feel like a out sider, but since we are so close now mite as well try n join in...

well my lil sister had her first bub today by emergnacy c-sec she was due on the 15th, she got pre-e. her blood pressure didnt go down, healthy baby boy 7pd1 named him karl after her Dp's dad....

me, i feel massive, i have a scan this wednesday the 6th to see if the placntia(sp) has moved up fingers crossed it has.

bub he moves heaps but doesnt kick as much as claire, its kinda scary claireis 2 next mth,

i now work with DH yes we got married on the 5th july just as doing filing etc, but its good cause its keeping me busy n it feels like its gone to fast,

has anyone choosen names yet?? me n DH keep thinking of names but thats it, we will be doing wat we did with claire n wait till we see him to deside wat he wll be named, DH thought of james-connor for a first name im loving it atm.... james will be after his brother, oh i have put on 12kgs :eek:

anywho i hope everyon is smooth sailing n if not fingers cross u get better

kas3
01-08-2008, 07:48 PM
mum2ethan - I don't know dates yet. Ob said we'd nail it down at a later appointment - my next one is at 34 weeks. I'd like to go as long as possible, but I'll wait to see if what my ob recommends. He's been brilliant so far.

LYP - I don't mind you asking at all :) I've always been freaked out by the thought of childbirth. Well not so much the birth - more about being permanently damaged by birth - incontinence, prolapse, ongoing pain etc. Plus, I was concerned that I might have some of the same issues my mum and aunt had - mum had high bp and I was born six weeks early via emergency c/s, and my aunt laboured with her first for hours only to be told that her pelvis was too narrow - she ended up having all three of her kids via c/s. My DH broached the subject of a caesar with my ob early on - I think I was only 8 weeks along. My ob said he was happy to go with whatever I decided, but he did say he'd recommend against it if I wanted more than three children. Since three's my upper limit, this isn't really a factor. The last 20-odd weeks have been really hard at times - I've stressed myself silly about making this decision. The growth scan has convinced me that a c/s is the way to go (for me). I know small women (I'm 5"1') can birth big babies, and that growth scans are not 100% accurate, but I don't really want to take the risk IYKWIM.

CraigS
01-08-2008, 08:05 PM
Kas isn't exaggerating about her fear of natural childbirth. It's one of the reasons we've put children off for so long. Her GP even suggested she seek therapy over it. I said I would support whatever decision she made.

She has been agonising and stressing over it since day one. It's not helped that she has been made to feel guilty over her fear by some people (not directed at you LYP :) ).

Honestly, it was a bit of a relief when the OB suggested that she may be heading for a C-Section. Now the decision is not in our hands so the guilt she was feeling has gone.

Craig

loulousmum
02-08-2008, 06:59 AM
Kirsty - has that pain gone away? It's scary when we get 'new' ones! My back was so sore last night I was wondering if it was something more sinister, but as soon as I went to bed it was fine!

LYP - glad to hear you're making the purchase. Are you going to try and match it to things or just look for a bargain?

Princess T - another Sparkling Shiraz lover! Yay! I think we've discussed this before but my fave one is from Greg Cooley Wines in SA- ordered 6 bottles the other day to help celebrate arrival of twins. You're right about the c-section of course, I just need to get my head around it and calm down!

Kas3 - Even though a c-section will reduce some of the 'wear and tear' on the pelvic floor - keep up those pelvic floor exercises!!:smiliedance: (That's meant to be a person exercising not jumping for joy at having to do pelvic floor exercises...) It is actually the carrying of the babies for 9 months and a lifetime of supporting the organs in there that weakens the muscles more than childbirth...I learnt this the hard way although I've done pelvic floors since I was a teenager. That's why women who've never had babies have prolapse and why it is most common in post-menopausal women even if they only ever had one or two babies by c-section.

Oh well, today is my DH's 'boys 4WDing day and night'. He's agreed to take the kids to swimming so I can do the groceries before he disappears for the next 14 hours. I'm not too happy about it, but his friends seem to think the sky is going to fall when the twins are born and that they will never see him again, so I'd best just grin and bear it. (the two kids we've got don't seem to have stopped him from seeing them fortnightly on a Wed and going on a four day boys' weekend each year.....hmmmfff!)

Check in later...

*Chels*
02-08-2008, 07:16 AM
I am up early today,my sister stayed last night so I had to drop her off for work.Little biatch gave me her chesty cough:rolleyes:The last 2 times we worked together she was coughing non stop so I must have caught her germs.My chest is all tight and inhaler isnt doing anything!Wish I could take Cold and Flu tablets!:(

Quiet weekend ahead-watching the rugby tonight.GO ALL BLACKS:smiliedance:

Clairesmum-Good to hear from you again!And congrats on the safe arrival of wee Karl!!

Sam-dont stress!Those babies will be staying put for awhile yet!Thats cool about your babyshower...where are our invites???LOL
I decided not to have one,I didnt have one for Riley either.Think I will just have dinner with friends once I pop,and can have a few drinkie poos!

I so overdid it yesterday doing heaps of husework.Then I took Riley to Bunnings and we picked out some plants and pots,and did some palnting.

PrincessT-could you please send your Mum over to my place???I miss my Mum:crying:And my MIL would never come over to help me out with anything:rolleyes:

Littleyorkshirepudding
02-08-2008, 08:33 AM
Morning All,

Kas & Craig - thanks for letting me know I'm so nosy aren't I, but I totally agree with you, there is no need for you to stress out about childbirth when you have a fear of it, it's not right and you shouldn't be made to feel silly, stupid or guilty by your fear it, a fear is a fear whether it be of childbirth, spiders or dogs (mine - I was bitten by a Doberman at 12) and the great thing is as a woman you have that choice to do what is best for you and your baby, there is no point stressing through 40 weeks of pregnancy, then hours of labour etc - it will only result in birth trauma for you and maybe the bub and an even worse fear and potentially no more children.
Kas, you must be so relieved so have made that decision now - who cares what people think and no doubt you'll be surrounded by people who support you and won't question you like all of us :D

Clairesmum - Welcome back and Congratulations on getting married, I hope it was a lovely day for you - where was it? you must tell us all about it and Congratulations on being an Aunty too.

PrincessT - you're mum sounds wonderful can I borrow her too and I hope the sparkling shiraz was nice too

Sam - yes I'll probably match it - Ruby's cot and furniture is white so I'll try and get a white one, if not I'll look for a timber one to paint white, I'm really excited now sad isn't it
Sounds like your DH has the better end of the deal this weekend.

Chels - Sorry to hear you're not feeling too great, rest up today if you can particularly if you over did it yesterday.

Today I'm off to pre-natal yoga, while hubby takes Ruby to the park, then we're off to look at a 3 bedroomed house nearby, back for Ruby's sleep and I'll probably have a rest too as I did a lot of housework yesterday too, then we'll probably pop out in the afternoon for a little walk or something

Hope you all have a nice day/weekend planned

Catch up later

LYP x

kas3
02-08-2008, 12:59 PM
LYP - Thanks for your kind words :) I'm very relieved to have made the decision. I understand that it probably seems a little odd to some, considering this is my first baby, but I really do think it is the best decision for me. No more freaking out - yay!

Loulousmum - yup, I've been pretty slack on the old pelvic exercises... I've never been one for exercise of any sort LOL.

Electric Mumi
02-08-2008, 02:01 PM
Oh gawd we are so close now arent we ladies!! EEEEKKKK and YAY at the same time!

Well today DP and I bought a new carseat for $150 ($120 off) and change table/bath set up for $120 ($50 off) from Toys r Us. Also got yesturday, portacot with bassinette and change table on it for DP's house from Target half price at $80!! Very happy with our buys.

Hope y'all are having a fab weekend!! Talk soon mummies and daddy to be!!!!
Belly Rubs to all!!:goodvibes:

Littleyorkshirepudding
02-08-2008, 02:16 PM
Woo hoo - I just bid and won a change table off ebay and I love it and despite the colour on the picture it is a white one they are selling so wil go perfectly with the other furniture in Ruby's room. I am so stoked :D here's the link to it if it works
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&item=140253283883

And we went to view a 3 bedroomed townhouse for rent and loved it so we are going to put an application in for it - it had everything we need (except a dishwasher :hissy:) and very close to 2 shopping centres and only one suburb away from where we are now :fingerscrossed: we get it

Kas - no worries - I am so glad you've made your decision and the right one for you and bub and not the wrong one trying to please everyone else and with that huge decision out of the way you can relax for the rest of the pregnancy and look forward to the birth.

EM - sounds like you've had a good day with the bargains too and have got lots for your money - I think I have rarely bought anything full price for Ruby including toys, clothes etc as there is always a sale on somewhere - it's great isn't it.

Till later

LYP x

becca022
02-08-2008, 03:42 PM
Kas thats great that you've made a decision :yelclap:.

I had a caesarean 3 years ago & honestly they aren't too bad. I mainly want a vbac this time so life can resume normally again when we get home & I can hold DS & do things for him. If he could walk & do things for himself then I wouldn't object so much to a repeat ceasar.

84zsazsa
02-08-2008, 04:49 PM
Hi Ladies and Gents,

Hope all your weekends are going well

Kas - I say whatever works for you for something like childbirth....its a time where being okay with what you are going through is more important then anything :thumbsup:

LYP - You said pregnancy yoga....my OB has recommended it the whole time but Ive been naughty.....they say its great for ppl with bad backs.....do you enjoy it??

Moni - Heyyy Chic, you'd be proud of me today....(find out why below)...great job with the bargains. Everything Ive bought my little guy has been a bargain and Ive saved sooo much!!

Becca022 - I think a good decision too with the Vbac.

Chels - I wore my Jeans yesterday!!

Well so far this weekend all I have to say is....

I :valentine:(LOVE) JAPAN.....But whaling breaks my HEART!!

....and yes it really does. Awful stuff when you see it on the news....all for beauty products and meat!! :banghead:It makes me soo sad.

Sorry off track for a second :laughing:......I went on a tour of the GREENPEACE BOAT today!! It was great. Sorry to get all hippy on you's but for a free to public tour (so surprised not more numbers turned out) it was really fun. Started in the Office carpark near the Port Docks and they had free coachs (brand new too) to take down to the boat, gathered us in 4 groups and a guide took each one of us around the boat on a information tour :thumbsup:

Yes they gaves us the run down on Climate change and Whaling (but awareness for that can never hurt) but the tour was also fun. I hawled my huge belly up and down them damn boat stairs too!! Paying for it now.

I will post some pix if anyone wants too have a sticky and remember try and be green and get behind these guys....they really are trying to do great things for our planet & nature.

Peace out.........

ESPARANZA...Greenpeace boat
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/mm317/84zsazsa/Picture013-1.jpg

Boat..
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/mm317/84zsazsa/Picture021.jpg

'Queen bee" Little boats they use to come up the side of Whaling ships...
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/mm317/84zsazsa/Picture031.jpg

Front of the boat looking over to Magnetic Island...
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/mm317/84zsazsa/Picture025.jpg

Looking abit huge :o but thats the bod I dragged around it...very proud of myself..lol!!
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/mm317/84zsazsa/bghh.jpg

Have a good Sunday,

Danni

mum2ethan
02-08-2008, 09:04 PM
Hello all!!!

Loulousmum - isnt it funny how they think their whole world is gonna come crashing to a halt when the bub is born, but they have led the EXACT same life when the other kid/s were born... males hey! :rolleyes: since Ethan was born DP has gone on more holidays than ever! i keep pointing this out to him so he knows that things wont change that much!!! lol

Chels - hope that cough buggers off soon! dont you just love it when ppl share their sickness around!! :crying: i miss my mum as well, but she will be here again in about 6-7more weeks!!

EM - wow thats a great saving!!

LYP - Congrats on the win, it looks really great!!

Danni - great pics! Ethan was looking at them and wouldnt let me write a reply!! he wanted to keep looking at them! wow i would love to go on a tour of the boat!!!

Well ive been pretty slack today, leaving things to the last minute... ive only half decorated Ethans cake and its 9:30... opps :shame: but it looks blo0dy fantastic so far if i do say so myself :D cant wait to finish it and then i will post the pics!!

Well better get my butt into gear, have a great night talk soon!!

Mel xoxox

loulousmum
03-08-2008, 08:34 AM
Good morning everyone!

M2E - I know! But I survived the day and even used the free night after the kids went to bed to start a facebook page and do my bump photo! I think his head is a bit sore this morning...

We are off to the Broncos game this afternoon. It's not until 3pm which is a bit later than I'd prefer, but Lou and Archie love going to the footy and this might be our last chance until next season!

So, we are out twin shopping this morning...can't get the cots I want now that I've finally decided to get them...Princess T - I should have listened to you earlier and snapped out of my paranoid state....

kamb1403
03-08-2008, 12:08 PM
Afternoon Everyone,

Never got a chance to come in on Friday- was flat out at work and then had to get the car packed for our early Saturday morning drive.

On Friday, I was asked by a few people if I was okay as I was really pale. My boss took over something I was chasing up so I could sit and relax.

Yesterday we were up at 5am to drive to Junee - one of the twins was playing football at the Riverina Carnival. We got there at 9.30am and ended up leaving at 4pm to drive back to Yass. We stayed overnight in Yass as he had a football match this morning. Got home about an hour ago and I am relaxing. It has been a very tiring long weekend.

Hope everyone is having a more relaxing weekend than I have.

~*clairesmum*~
03-08-2008, 02:18 PM
thanks for the warm welcome back, we just got married in our backyard with close family n friends no more the 40people tops...

just about to go up to the hopsital agai to see baby karl, claire has being saying karl all day so thought we would take her up for a lil bit o see him......its going to take agers to catch up with wats happen with the oct people.

but for now i have to go get clarie dressed in clean clothes cause shes being helping daddy clean the backyard from were the puppy has draged all the plants around the yard :rolleyes:

talk later

BazzasMum
03-08-2008, 02:38 PM
Ha ha Tyrah - my dog used to do that too. Had a real thing for avocado seedlings I was trying to grow. Still don't trust him with them, but at least he's stopped chewing the others too... And congrats on the wedding.

Kamb - that's a lot of driving for one day! Hope you're relaxing today...

Sam - bummer about your cots. Maybe you'll snag a better bargain now... enjoy the game! yes, the pain went away fairly quickly, but still felt bruised all day yesterday.

Mel - hope Ethan's cake turned out... bet it was hard to cut! All that work...

Danni - cute bump! Must have been hot work though...

Kas - I'm glad you feel comfortable with your decision. Must be a relief to know how and when... Not long to go then...

LYP - when will you find out about the townhouse? Waiting is the worst part... we always nagged our real estate silly till I'm sure they let us in just to shut us up!! :yes:

Today DH decided to take the blow-up boat to the beach. Tromped down there with the dogs, he took DS out for a paddle, and then the grossest thing.... 2 hippies turned up. Of course they had to get completely starkers... even from our distance we could see she didn't just have dreadlocks on her head... IYKWIM! They were kind of secluded but we had to walk right past them to get to the rock pools so DS could see the crabs...

Came home, made yummy BLTs for lunch, then I'll get a bbq chook from the shop for dinner. DH is on potato salad duty... looks shocked!

Chat later, hope we're all having a wonderful Sunday!

mum2ethan
03-08-2008, 04:01 PM

Well the party went well, here are some pics of the cake...

http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0019.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0179.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0173.jpg

Ethan has only just gone to sleep now!!! He had the best time, and after the party we went to MIL house cos she just got her spa delivered and he went in there and was running a muck!!

Well i better go and clean up the house he opened all his presents here and it looks like a bomb has hit!!

Will be back on later to do some personals! hope you all had a great weekend!!

Mel xoxox

BazzasMum
03-08-2008, 04:36 PM
Cake looks awesome Mel! You did a great job. Got any left? Can you email me some please???:D

*Chels*
03-08-2008, 04:39 PM
Hey girls
Just quickly checking in.I feel like death.This flu has really knocked me,I have been coughing nonstop.Also have had horrid heartburn.
Cool cake Mel.Ethan is so cute,he looked stoked!!

A huge HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Kirsty for 2moro-have a good one hun!happybirthday

Will be back 2moro :wave:have a good night.

loulousmum
03-08-2008, 07:55 PM
Kirsty - nice work on all the personals! Can I please steal them? Ha Ha :laughing: Ha Ha about the hippies!! Your birthday tomorrow? Have a fab one!

Mum2Ethan - cake looked great. Well done!

Chels - Hope you're feeling better by the time you read this!

Now - this bit is about my twin room shopping trip this morning - tune out now if you think it will make you :sleeping:

Well, get this - I was whingeing about the cots being unavailable and my newfound fervour for getting the twins' room ready and DH actually suggested a trip to IKEA! Unheard of! I looked at their website and found some white budget priced cots and off we went. When we got there, I saw they had some that convert into beds - small, toddler beds perfect for fitting two in a bedroom to give us some breathing space until we decide whether we will be staying here, moving, extending etc. I got Lou to lay on one and there is still plenty of room for her - so they should do the twins until they are 5 - unless they are giants!

We also got a shelving unit with removable change table (I know we're getting the bathroom station but I thought it would be handy to have one near their cots for middle of night changes - and the change table bit was only an extra $40) and two little wooden units that you slide plastic drawers into. Archie has something similar and it is perfect for now and later will just be used to store toys.

Change table : http://www.ikea.com/au/en/catalog/products/S29828090

Cots: http://www.ikea.com/au/en/catalog/products/10077353

Drawers: http://www.ikea.com/au/en/catalog/products/S09848447

So - that bit's done - I'm planning on a pink/red/white and green combo with lots of polka dots and if I can find them - strawberry themed things (I may be dreaming)

I am getting bump photos and family portraits done at home at 7.30am tomorrow, so had best go and iron some coordinating clothes for the family!

Broncos won! Yay!

Kiddy Farm outing with playgroup tomorrow - was cancelled two weeks ago due to rain...hope the weather holds out for tomorrow. Brisbane is getting the most beautiful weather at the moment, it should be fine!

Right - that's it - all about me. Sorry.

Have a fab Sunday night. Can you believe we are half way through first week of August????:flowerz:

CraigS
03-08-2008, 10:30 PM
Kas's pregnancy snoring is continuing. But I've had two wonderful nights sleep. I went to the chemist to get some of those strips you put on your nose. The conversation went something like this.

Me: "Do you have any of those snoring strips?"
Chemist: "Certainly sir. They cost $35 a box".
Me: "Wonderful. I'll take one of those little packet of ear plugs for $2 please".

Bliss. Only now I can't hear the alarm clock in the morning :)

People at work keep saying we should simply sleep in separate rooms. But I just don't want to do that. I love spooning Kas with my arm around her, feeling the baby kick and squirm during the night. I'd get lonely if she wasn't there.

Craig.

BazzasMum
04-08-2008, 07:26 AM
Thanks Chels..... can you believe my husband forgot? :eek: Even though I reminded him yesterday????

Sam - of course you can borrow... and I love the furniture!

Craig - :laughing: on the snoring strips! But whatever works!!! maybe I should have tried that with my DH, but we've got other issues (he steals the blankets, and takes up 3/4 of the bed!).

Righto got to clean the kitchen.... oh what joy! DH offered, but it would mean doing it again after, so no point! He's off to buy new batteries for his truck, so I don't have to keep jump starting him every morning.

loulousmum
04-08-2008, 08:07 AM
Thanks Kirsty! We are going to have a little working bee putting together the furniture each night this week! It is very exciting now.

Well, photos are done and photographer has left. Kids were perfect, I looked huge and she has agreed to send me low-res digital copies of each photo so I can share some here and on Facebook. Yay!

I'm having a few dizzy spells this morning and not feeling all that great - but I'm putting it down to a busy morning. I just need to sit here for a few minutes and regain my composure before traipsing around a farm for the next few hours!!:eek:

BazzasMum
04-08-2008, 08:14 AM
Take it easy Sam!!! Maybe have some more to eat before you go anywhere, and make sure you've got some muesli bars in your handbag just in case (for you, not for the kids!) Glad the pics went well.... add me as a Facebook buddy please???

KrissyM
04-08-2008, 09:12 AM
Morning all
Back from Adelaide, its nice to have the morning off on strike, not so good about having to be on strike but the sleep in was nice, off to a protest rally in a minute (for those not in SA teachers are having an industrial battle with the govnt atm much like what Vic and WA have just been through). Had an interesting weekend though. Asked SIL if she was coming up when bubs was born, she told me she not only was but shes coming in, I told her no she said yes and went on about how id need someone else there :ecomcity::ecomcity::ecomcity:. No offence to those who are choosing to have people other than their partners in the room with them but that just isnt me. SIL had her mum a couple of student docs and Im not sure who else so to her birth is public event to me its a private one. When we left I asked DP if she was serious he said she prob was shed think it was her right to be there. Fortunately DP is happy that I only want him in there and wont let anyone else in. Plus well write that in our birth plan and the Middies wont let anyone else in either. Sorry for ranting I still cant belive she went on an on after I said no with reasons as to why. The one that cracked me up the most was DP might need a break, not likely if I dont get one he's not getting one either, he got told ages ago hes not even allowed out for a smoke. However in saying all that I still reserve the right to change my mind on the day, I am female after all lol.
Have a great day everyone.
Kristy

mum2ethan
04-08-2008, 10:02 AM
happybirthday Kirsty, hope you have a great day/night!!!

Thanx for the feedback on the cake! Im just so glad it turned out and looked like i had pictured it.

:laughing: Craig! well my DP snores so this is payback for him :D

Loulousmum - that furniture looks great!! I still havent washed my bassinet! Ive pulled it all apart but havent washed it yet, i need to handwash most of it as its really delicate material... i will do it soon :o
Great to hear the photos went well, cant wait to see them!!!!

Krissy - thats great that you only want your DP in there, as you said it is a personal experience. I had my mum and DP in when i had Ethan, DP didnt like the idea at first and im like well are you gonna be the one going thru all that pain??!! In the end he was really glad she was there and so was I, but thats what worked for me and thats what i wanted, so stick to guns :yes:

Well its a public holiday here today, the last one till xmas. So better go and do a few things will be back on later.
Have a great day

Mel xoxox

PinkLily
04-08-2008, 11:40 AM
Hi everyone. Wow 4 pages of August posts already :laughing:

Okay, after my little "pass out" on thursday I took myself off to a maternity hostpital after work on my way home to be checked out. Firstly, the nurses told me off for not going there straight away :o oops. They monitored me and bubs for several hours and took a few blood tests, until deciding they wanted to keep me overnight. I had to ask for something to eat by this stage (10pm), I was starving! Was about midnight until I finally got to sleep, but didn't get much sleep as the bed was really uncomfy and there were lots of babies crying - haha now I remember! :rolleyes:
I did get to see bubs again on the ultrasound. She's still laying transverse with back to my back, which is one reason my back is so sore.
The test results came back okay, blood pressure and bubs was okay, but as I didn't go there straight away they're not exactly sure what caused my blackout? Stayed home from work on friday and rested. I think it may just be my body telling me to slow down a bit. I must remember to listen to it more, this pregnancy seems to be wearing my poor bod out... Feeling very average today again. Hips/pelvis are playing up again, and got the flu. Think the nausea's made a return too. So tired of feeling like this :(

Sorry to rant on! Hope everyone is having a wonderful monday.

Littleyorkshirepudding
04-08-2008, 12:13 PM

PL - it's good to hear all is well with you and bub even if you're not sure what caused the blackout, but you are right you're body is probably trying to tell you to slow down - we're all reaching that stage now.

M2E- WOW the cake was amazing well done so pleased Ethan had a great time at his party.

happybirthdayKirsty hope you have a lovely day

Sam - I love the ikea furniture you got - you must be very pleased and we're looking forward to seeing the photo's aswell sounds like you had a good time.

Krissy - Having people at the birth apart from your hubby/partner is a very personal choice and it amazing me that your SIL would presume you'd want her there (no offence to your SIL) and actually tell you she'll be there without you asking, I agree with you and it's a good job your hubby will put his foot down.

Craig - you are so sweet and a great hubby Kas is very lucky to have you.

Me - well I got the phone call this morning from the UK - my Uncle Ray passed away peacefully yesterday afternoon surrounded by family - although it is sad it is for the best, he isn't suffering anymore and has gone to a better place.

The strange thing is 3 years ago this August my Grandad passed away (who is the father of Uncle Ray) a day after my dad's birthday and this time Uncle Ray passed away a day after my Uncle John's birthday (My dad, Uncle Ray and Uncle John are all brothers) like they both knew to wait an extra day - even the Dr's said with Uncle Ray they couldn't believe how long he had lasted. God bless him.

I'm back to the drawing board with names the one we really thought was going to be it which is Emily Rose I have gone off it, my current favourite now is Evie Rose but I suppose we'll all be like this till our bubs are born.

We've just handed our application in for the rental property we saw on Sat so fingers crossed we get it, I daren't ask how many applications they had in for it as I didn't want that disappointment knowing we were up against 10 others etc. I just really hope we get it as it would be so perfect for us and we can move before the bub is here, but hubby thinks this one will be a bidding war and although it is advertised at $500 per week it'll go for more, we can only afford the advertised price.

Right off to do some baking, have a lovely day all

LYP x

Electric Mumi
04-08-2008, 12:36 PM
Heya Dan: Its a very rare occasion that I will pay full price for anything!!! We have done so well...Including all the stuff I had to buy for this house when I moved in..all the timber blinds in each room were less than half price, light fittings were on clearance sale for $6 and they are worth $50 a piece! All the wardrobes and cupboards were on sale and the coffee table was from Vinnies...so that was a bargain too!

Yay for you in supporting Greenpeace honey..wish i could have sussed out the boat and asked some questions! I love Whales (and all other living creatures for that matter!) and think that in this day and age whaleing should be totally illegal world wide...Shame on Japan! I have a girlfriend who LOVES Japan also. She is even studying their culture and customs at Uni. She took her family there last yr for a holiday and says now that one day she will live there!

Pink Lily: Im so glad u went to the hos. Shame they couldnt pin point ur issue tho. Well its a good shake up for u to back up the truck a tad and take things a bit slower and easier from now on. We are heavily pregas now darl, and our bubbas are taking a huge toll on our bodies! BE CAREFUL!

Well I had a wonderful weekend out at DP's place. Just got back now in fact. Things are so fabulous between us, Im sure its the fact that we dont live together. Im sure that one day we will...but why rush it? I think its healthy to start out again slowly dont you guys?? We have our own money, our own space, own bills, own washing\cleaning etc. And then we see each other a few nights a week and every second weekend at least. He is being so excited and supportive of this pregnancy and really looking after me this time. He was a bit tough on me when I was pregas with Kane 4.5 yrs ago. We were moving our gear into our new home we bought when I was 22-23 weeks pregnant and he wanted me to help him lift an industrial washing machine with him! This time around I cant even lift the washing basket with him around!

I missed my hospital tour a few weeks back so I have to go tomorrow now! Thats a bit exciting...really will sink in tomorrow how soon it all may be I think!

babysweet
04-08-2008, 01:27 PM
Hey ladies :wave:
Hope everyone are well.
I just had my 28 week visit at the doctor today!! All is well with baby, heard its heart beat again - i love it when i hear that!! :yes:
Its moving around heaps and heaps, its legs and bum are still downwards (yep i can definately feel that!!). Feels like is doing a dance inside of me at times :smiliedance:
Anyone else that is 28 weeks or around the same week and still in the bretch position??

I cant wait for our birthing classes, they start in 3 weeks time!!!

loulousmum
04-08-2008, 02:08 PM
Hi again everyone! The farm trip was great! It was very sterile and they had to push food through the fence to the animals but got to pat them, brush a pony, hold a guinea pig and mouse etc. Normally I'd be a bit disappointed it wasn't more 'real' but in my current state it was quite relaxing!

KrissyM - up to you who you want at the birth - I personally would only want DH and at a push if he wasn't available, my mum. But your SIL? That's a bit of a stretch isn't it??

PinkLily - glad you are well again. You do need to listen to your body. Even though I was in a hurry this morning, I just needed to sit down and rest. A friend of mine has a "Rushin Chair" and if she finds she is 'rushin' too much, she sits down for a couple of minutes to regain her perspective - and she's not even pregnant!!

LYP - Glad to hear your uncle is at peace. It's crazy sometimes how family milestones occur at similar times to each other? Love the name Evie (similar to our name Edie). She can always shorten to Eve if she wants something more professional. (It must be my pregnant brain, when I first read your post I thought it said Elvis Rose :laughing::laughing:)

Electric - Glad to hear all is great with your relationship. It makes life so much easier when everything is going well in that department!

BabySweet - One of the twins is breech and is so sqaushed up, they've warned me it will take a few days for her legs to bend back down to normal!!! There's still time for them to turn - don't stress yet. Great to hear you are excited about your birth classes. Ours went for 6 weeks and when Lou was born at 36 weeks we showed up at the last one with our baby!!! Everyone was so happy for us and I think the girls appreciated knowing that I'd given birth two days earlier and was still in a state to attend the final class!!!

Well, we just cooked 8 choc chip cookies. Kids had two each, I had two and the twins had two.....

*Chels*
04-08-2008, 03:13 PM
I still feel like death.Dont even want food-now thats a fricken suprise!But have been eating soup and toast so at least bubba is eating.
Poor old Riley has caught it-hes asleep now.Our house has been very mellow the past few days-all we have been doing is staying jammies,watching TV,reading and sleeping!:o

Sam-Added you on Facebook.Cant wait to see your pics.Oh and I LOVE Ikea!Am so jealous you got to go!!

Mon-Glad things are going so well with you and DP!Mark and I didnt live together straight away,when I was first pregnant we lived sepreatly and it worked great!

Kirsty-Hope you have had a great bday.Your DH suc-he better buy you a big pressie to make up for it!!

LYP-Sorry to hear about your uncle,at least he is a peace now.
I like the name Evie,its cute!
Good luck for the house:fingerscrossed:

Pinklily-Good to hear you got checked out!Rest up and take it easy!!

Krissy-LOL cant believe your SIL.My sis is a bit like that.She has it in her head that she will be there during labour and everything.
DH and I have already decided we will be having a "babymoon" this time,where we want no visitors for at least a day or 2!Give us all time to get used to being a family of 4.Havent yet talked to my sister about this,but I just laugh her off and think in my head "keep dreaming buddy!" LOL
Birthing really is a private thing,and I think the less people traisping round the better!!

I probably missed people in my personals-sorry!Hope everyone is well.

babysweet
04-08-2008, 03:37 PM
Hi everyone,:wave:
I'm just wondering has anyone bought the manchester from the Kidsline range?? What do you think of it?? I find the designs just gorgeous!!:yes:
Has anyone got any photos of how they have set up their babys room in the Kidsline range manchester?? If you do, i would love to see them! :D

Littleyorkshirepudding
04-08-2008, 04:10 PM

Chels - sorry to hear you are both unwell - I hate being off my food which doesn't happen often :laughing: but at least you are having something - hope you both recover soon.
I love the sound of your babymoon too - it's a great idea

Sam - LOL - Elvis Rose now that name is growing on me - only joking
Sounds like you all had fun at the farm and eating cookies this afternoon - I always have twice as many too being 2 for me and 2 for the baby etc
and wow to you for making it to your classes with a 2 day old.

EM - sounds like you have a great set up with your DP and it is working well that's what counts and yes you are right there is no need to rush things.
And too get so much for your home as well without spending a fortune is great - don't you just love a good bargain - I just can't see the point of spending a lot of money on things when I know I can get them cheaper and not necessarily have to compromise on quality either.

Babysweet - Hi enjoy your classes and I'm sure bubs will move round in time. I found out at my 30 week appointment that bub is head down but not engaged but before then not sure what position she was in.

I said earlier we had put an application in for a 3 bedroomed townhouse - well we've heard from the real estate agent as he wanted some more info from us and said we were in the top 3 applicants for the property - so now I'm really trying not to get my hopes up but knowing we've made it to the last 3 is getting my hopes up, I really really want this it's just perfect for us. Anyway no doubt we'll find out one way or another very soon.

Right must go promised Ruby a walk to the shop and she's stood at the door with her monkey backpack awwwww bless

LYP x

KrissyM
04-08-2008, 04:26 PM
Afternoon all
was a very peaceful afternoon at work after the mornings strike I only had 8 children for the afternoon so got a few things done in my class which is lovely. Im not usually an organsied person at work but I have to be this term incase bubs decides I need to finish early.
Anyway a question DP and I were discussing circumsision (spelling ) over the weekend and what we want to do if its a boy. Im not really fussed either way, Ive always thought its a boy thing so when I have kids the baby's father could decide, and DP would like to. Im just wondering if it still happens for non-religious or medical reasons. Just curious on what others plans/thoughts are.
Well better get something organised for tea 2nd antenatal class tonight.

loulousmum
04-08-2008, 04:54 PM
KrissyM - on circumcision, we didn't do it for Archie but one of the girls from our pre-natal group did. I think the WHO doesn't recommend it but I think it comes down to personal choice and what you think is best. Why not ask around or ask for advice from the midwife at your classes or from your local GP?

LYP - :fingerscrossed: for the flat!!

Babysweet - will go and check out Kidsline now!

Chels - have confirmed you on Facebook. My page is a bit boring yet - only started it on the weekend! I don't know if I love IKEA or not - but there's nowhere else we could get a whole room full of brand new furniture for the twins room in the colours we want for under $1000. The other deal we had from BabyCo didn't include drawers or shelves, so we are quite happy with ourselves.

DH is home now and I am all organised with kids in PJs and dinner plan ned - all part of a plot to get him to start putting together the furniture from IKEA!!

And with all of that, it is time for a red wine.

PrincessT
04-08-2008, 06:10 PM
OK - I just wanted to drop in to say I am feeling foul. I looked at myself today in the mirror then saw a photo of me 5 years ago on my bedside table and wanted to cry. I feel so foul and bloated :( I hope I wake up tommorrow feeling better, I even said I wasnt going into work tommorrow because I'm over it.

Feel free to add me on facebook all - my name is Teena Zaccone Vescio - cant miss me xx

babysweet
04-08-2008, 06:16 PM
KrissyM - on circumcision, we didn't do it for Archie but one of the girls from our pre-natal group did. I think the WHO doesn't recommend it but I think it comes down to personal choice and what you think is best. Why not ask around or ask for advice from the midwife at your classes or from your local GP?

LYP - :fingerscrossed: for the flat!!

Babysweet - will go and check out Kidsline now!

Chels - have confirmed you on Facebook. My page is a bit boring yet - only started it on the weekend! I don't know if I love IKEA or not - but there's nowhere else we could get a whole room full of brand new furniture for the twins room in the colours we want for under $1000. The other deal we had from BabyCo didn't include drawers or shelves, so we are quite happy with ourselves.

DH is home now and I am all organised with kids in PJs and dinner plan ned - all part of a plot to get him to start putting together the furniture from IKEA!!

And with all of that, it is time for a red wine.

I just love it, the designs are sooooo cute!!

farmmummy
04-08-2008, 06:28 PM
Hello every one hope you are all well. I have been a busy bee over the last few days. Told Matt about the car, not happy but reacted much better than I thought he would. On Thursday Matt's aunty dropped in for morning tea and took Sarah up to Grandma's. So Thursday arvo we got in and I started painting the second coat of colour on the front of our bedroom window (the verandah is has now had both coats of colour on there now). After lunch I helped Matt to clean his car and then we went off to his counselling appointment. After we finished there we went to our fav country clothes shop and Matt brought me a shirt before we went out for dinner at the RSL (finally got to use my free meal voucher that they send out for our birthdays and expired on the 31st) lovley quiet dinner out for a change before doing the groceries in piece.
Friday had to go and pick up some more paint before going home and painting the french doors and the trim around the window and front door on the verandah.
Outlaws were over on the weekend MIL looked after Sarah, FIL cleaned out my stables (my mare is about due to drop any time) and cut down the old chook pen. Matt started painting the post and rails on the verandah (all I have to do now is touch them up which I'll do tomorrow) while they did that I had the fun of doing the awning over our bed room window (I hate painting and I hate small jobs like that).
So I've had the day off from painting yesterday I just veged and today I rewashed all the baby sheets and blankets that were in storage because of course mice have eaten my vac bags. Moved the freezer in from the verandah into the laundry, vacuumed, made beds, tidied up the linen press, washed two horse rugs with the pressure cleaner before putting it away and the mower as well as watered plants and tidied the verandah. I dont mind if I'm nesting but I don't want it to be the nesting. Hospital bag is now officially ready to go (need to put it in the car now) tomorrow I'm going to clean my car touch up Matt's painting. I have OB appointment at the hospital on Wednesday and staying with Matt in Beenleigh till Friday, I'm going to maybe go to the ekka with a friend on Thursday so will be queit again till next week on Saturday Matt and I are going to finish painting the verandah. Sorry guys for the rant about me.

LYP - Sorry to hear about your uncle.

Clairesmum - 5th July is a good date (my birthday)

Kirsty - happybirthday

I am so sorry I've just read the post since last Wednesday and that there is way more personals I should have done bub duh baby brain.

Nikki x

loulousmum
04-08-2008, 07:16 PM
Teena - I keep having the same feelings - don't worry, we'll be back to normal in no time...in the meantime, I'm all for hiding out at home! Great excuse to finish work now...

Farmmum - Good girl - I have packed toiletries and maternity pads (figure they are the bits I wouldn't want DH to have to do!) but can't bring myself to start living out of a suitcase yet!!!

Wow - My facebook friend list has doubled in the past 24 hours due to you girls!! Who'd have thunk it? I am not too publicly available on it as I worry about ex-students wanting to join - my brother says I can just reject them but I would feel bad!

BTW- can BubHubbers on Facebook keep in mind that i haven't shared my preferred baby names with anyone but you here on the October Forum? Thanks girls.

Yay!:smiliedance: There's a due in April thread!!!

farmmummy
04-08-2008, 07:53 PM
Something else I've forgot to mention is that I am sure I have a uti/bladder infection :no: every time I go to the loo it's not so much burning but it's like I have a huge full bladder but just a thimble full and one I let go it feels like there is more there that should come out. Sorry TMI. At least I have the OB appointment on Wednesday.

Electric Mumi
04-08-2008, 07:55 PM
Sam: Just dont accept the add girl..dont feel bad! Your students dont need to know about ur private life!! :)

Am looking at slings and ones that have even weight distribution. Found this one..

http://poshtotty.com.au/proddetail.php?prod=MOBYCHO

And look at these little numbers... I love em!!

http://poshtotty.com.au/proddetail.php?prod=LDFIFI

kas3
04-08-2008, 08:34 PM
Feet are swelling up big time now! They're like bricks :eek:

farmmummy
05-08-2008, 07:16 AM
Morning ladies and Craig hope you all slept well, went to bed at 11:00pm last night and slept fine. Another big day planned today I'm going to do some house work (quick dishes and vacuuming) before ducking into town. Then I'm going to clean my car and pack it then brush my mare (if the rugs are dry) and some painting as well decided not to finish off the red I'm leaving that to Matt when he comes home and I'm going to get into the beige instead. I will post a pic when it's finished.
All this before I go to Brissy for OB tomorrow.
Will try and catch up again later on today hope you all have a good day.

Nikki x

*Chels*
05-08-2008, 07:22 AM
OK - I just wanted to drop in to say I am feeling foul. I looked at myself today in the mirror then saw a photo of me 5 years ago on my bedside table and wanted to cry. I feel so foul and bloated :( I hope I wake up tommorrow feeling better, I even said I wasnt going into work tommorrow because I'm over it.

Feel free to add me on facebook all - my name is Teena Zaccone Vescio - cant miss me xx

Hun,I am exactly the same!I recently scanned all these old photos for my facebook page,and I was amazed how skinny I used to be!And I thought I was fat back then LOL
I am feeling so gross,so over it!All these gorgeous spring clothes are coming out in the shops,and I just wanna get back into shape and go shopping!:hissy:

loulousmum
05-08-2008, 07:58 AM
Morning everyone! Ah, the bliss of the empty house! I have a board meeting this afternoon but this morning I have the house to myself. I'm going to stay online for awhile and then reorganise the pantry (did the fridge/freezer Sunday night - not that I'm nesting or anything!!)

Farmmum - poor you, there's nothing worse than a UTI when pregnant! You need to get some Ural into you!

Monique - love the look of the sling - it seems very 'you' - I can never get them to work so just go with the old Baby Bjorn. The shoes are too cute for words!

Chels - I'm with you on the Spring clothes coming out now. I'm just consoling myself with the fact that by the time the post-Christmas sales are on, I might be nearing my old self!

Now off to check out Kidsline manchester and this Posh Totty site!

BazzasMum
05-08-2008, 07:59 AM
Chels - hope you're feeling a bit better today.

Teena - I know how you feel! Looking in the mirror is just scary atm! I have NEVER in my life weighed this much - even my undies are shrinking.... and still got ages to go before I see how much is just extra fluid, and how much is extra padding I need to get rid of.... :crying:

babysweet - fairly sure this bub is breech too, but really hard to tell. It's WAY back there.... won't be happy till I can feel a bum up the top. NO WAY will I be happy with a c-section, and if bub is still breech, I don't have a choice, which royally sucks!

Nikki - hope the Ob appt goes well - take it easy traipsing around the ekka.

Krissy - i got my DS circ'd at 9mths. The Dr who did them as babies took extended leave just after a couple of girls in my mums group got their boys done, but not when I was ready. Had to see a paed who wouldn't do under 6mths. This time, i have to get a referral asap from my GP as I found someone up here, who only does it till 4weeks old. Never regretted my decision, and I won't if this one is a boy too. Strange that living in a hippy town when DS was born - saw more circ'd boys than up here. I think because it's so hard to find a decent Dr.

LYP - I really hope you get the house. Sorry to hear about your uncle. bit spooky about the birthdays etc...

Got stacks to do before I drop DS off to daycare, and I need to do that soon. his day goes much smoother if he gets some outside play before morning tea. Should just drop him off first then come back.....

Lyneve
05-08-2008, 08:01 AM
Morning.. Happy to find you all (I got lost in July :p)

I'm 28 weeks today.. Yay. Officially last trimester! Got good results back from my GTT, well within the normal ranges (after failing the screening test... no one told me I wasn't supposed to have lunch just before!).

Anyone else that is 28 weeks or around the same week and still in the bretch position??

I cant wait for our birthing classes, they start in 3 weeks time!!!

My little boy is still feet down too most of the time. I'm pretty sure he is still doing 360 spins... will be nice when he decideds to stay put. But then it will be onto the sore ribs right?

Cots: http://www.ikea.com/au/en/catalog/products/10077353

I love the cot, especially as it can convert to a toddler bed! I still haven't found one... have been looking at garage sales and online, but nothing has really appealed yet. My brother is in Leichart (sp?), so maybe I can bribe him to take a trip to Homebush for me.

I'm on Facebook too, though I'm a little hesitant to put my name on a public forum, how are you finding each other?

Lyneve

*Chels*
05-08-2008, 08:09 AM
Lyneve-heres my facebook link.When you add me,I can suggest all the Oct girls so you can add them too:)

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=633166874

Littleyorkshirepudding
05-08-2008, 12:23 PM
OH MY GOD

Guess what - we got the townhouse we applied for and are moving in 3/4 weeks woo hoo I am so excited:yelclap:

Now I am just juggling money to pay the holding deposit as hubby doesn't get paid till next week typical isn't it.

Wow I am so excited - this house is just perfect for us, it's bigger and we have an extra bedroom - this will come in so handy as my parents arrive in Oct for 4/5 weeks my inlaws are here in Jan 09 for 8 weeks and I feel like it will be a fresh start for us - I am going to be so ruthless with the packing and chucking out of things I no longer need/use etc, I'm already dreaming of all that extra space - the great thing is although the living room is quite small there is another large living area that is tiled where the kitchen and laundry room are off it that is just going to be perfect for Ruby - to keep all her toys there and it opens out into the back garden perfect and hubby and I get to keep the front room to ourselves without it being covered by toys etc like it is now and although it is not a good time for us financially really, it is to get settled in and moved whilst I am still pregnant and the baby bonus is round the corner so that'll help us out, plus we must do our tax too.

All good in our household yeah.........:D

back later to do personals as must ring the bank re money

Have a lovely day all

LYP x

naebie
05-08-2008, 02:12 PM
LYP- Thats fantastic! :yelclap:I bet that this is such a relief to know you got the townhouse, so no more househunting

Chels- Hope you and the family are feeling better! The plus side of being home on bedrest with virtually no visitors means that I am not likely to pick up a cold or flu!

Lyneve- Good to hear you passed your Glucose Tolerance Test! I have mine on Friday (at which point I will be 28 weeks, YAY!), at my hospital they don't bother with the screening test, they just do the 3 hour one where you have to fast. Hopefully everything is good with mine, they think I am at risk because I am not active at all (kinda hard to be active when you are on bedrest). As for convertible cots/ toddler beds I think I saw a decent one at ToysRUs (fairly cheap

Nikki- Hope you have a good OB appointment! As for UTIs, I'm with you and pretty sure I have one too, I got a referral to get it checked out at pathology, but I left the hospital without going upstairs and doing it. I figure I will be up there doing my GTT on Friday and will do it then!

Yesterday I ventured out of the house (without drs permission, naughty me) and DP and I bought a carseat and bassinett. These are the only things we have so far, but I figure I need a way to bring bubs home, and somewhere for her/him to sleep, I can gradually add to what I have over the next few months. Even if bubs comes early, I figure that we'll still have plenty of time to get stuff sorted while he/she is in the hospital.

Hope everyone is having a good day!

mum2ethan
05-08-2008, 02:13 PM

Just popping in to say hi...

Congrats LYP on getting the house!!! :smiliedance:
Chels - hope you are feeling better heres some healthy vibes for you :babydust2:
farmmummy - i get so exhausted after reading your posts!!! how do you find the energy to do all of that?!?!? :confused:

Kas - my feet swelled up soooooooo much with Ethan, but they havent yet... touch wood!!!

Me - well i am feeling so uncomfortable... im feeling all hot and bothered, the aircon is on and everyone in the office says its nice and cool but im just feeling so hot!!!!!! im drinking loads of COLD water and doing everything to try and cool me down, but im so restless and feeling bla! Well off to wash my face and get more water... :crying:

Have a great day
Mel xoxox

alby2508
05-08-2008, 03:03 PM
HI EVERYONE- YES I AM SO SLACK!!! I never get around to posting much these days!! Nice to read everyones news!! As for me boys are growing well they are 1.5kg and 1.7kg which is good. Twin 1 is breech so he said if he stays in that position he will deliver at 37 weeks- YIPPEE i am absolutely HUGE (will post a photo later)

Electricmumi- i have had ur parcel addressed and in my handbag for about 3 weeks now- will send tomorrow!!!!

Loulous- good to hear things with u are going well- things do become a lot more "real" when you start thinking about..if they come early etc etc. MY OB told us that he had a lady give birth to her twins a couple of weeks ago at 26 weeks and they were 5oograms and he said they are doing very well- but thank god we're both beyond that. Having said that a distant relative just had twins in Cairns and she was.....42 weeks!!!!!!!

Little one just woke up will come back later ..........

mum2ethan
05-08-2008, 03:26 PM
ohhhhhhh i forgot to share some news about twins!!!
One of the mums of Ethan's friend had twin boys the night before Ethan's party (he still went to the party the grandparents took him) but she was 38 weeks and they had induced her, so she went to term pretty much!!!

Ok did that all make sense??? LOL

PrincessT
05-08-2008, 03:33 PM
OK - I am feeling a little more the thing today. Even though I have bags under my eyes still, my face is a little less dry and bloated looking and tommorrow I am having my eyebrows waxed and a bikini wax YAY!!

There is definately something wrong with me though as my extreme nesting has extended to the garden and every garden bed has been ripped apart and being re-planted. my mum and DH are not talking to me because I am insisting on doing it when they are not here because I want to do it... I only want DH to do the digging and my mum to help with the new plant selection... but I am so enjoying getting my hands dirty and Allegra is loving it too.

Other than that, I am getting some serious Braxton Hicks (The gardening so doesnt help) but I am feeling really fit after all the physical stuff. I mean this morning I had vacumed, made both beds, cleaned 2 bathrooms and done 2 loads of washing, fed Allegra and cleaned the kitchen and spray and wiped the coffee table before 9.15am... I dont know whats wrong with me LOL!!!! I just hope the energy dont disappear as there is just too much to do (gosh I feel like Alice in Wonderland... rushing like a mad woman!)

Anyway love to all... Alby take it easy sweatheart xxx LYP congrats on the townhouse thats fantastic news.

Be back tommorrow!

BazzasMum
05-08-2008, 03:51 PM
Oh boy.....Teena's nesting!!! :laughing: Don't wear yourself out girly!!!

:yelclap: LYP awesome news on the townhouse!! Now comes the fun bit.... all those boxes... :no:

great weights for the boys Alby! Good girl...

Take it easy naebie... still a ways to go yet.

Mel - i know how you feel. I'm so hot today... already had 2L of water and my hands are soooo puffy! Wasn't even cold in the supermarket, and everyone who worked there was wearing fleece!

Today I went to bunnings and bought myself a new mandarin tree ( the whole section smelled heavenly!) as my b-day present from DH (well, part of). Potted that this afternoon once I got back. gave my last one to mum last year... it's only small, but has lots of flowers on. Hopefully i'll get a couple of fruit this year to try!

I really shouldn't go shopping hungry... I bought so much junk!! Had to get the new minty MnMs!! they were on special.... bit yummy!!

Have just moved all DSs clothes into his new drawers... now comes the fun bit... unpacking the baby stuff!! :smiliedance:

loulousmum
05-08-2008, 07:12 PM
Ah Kirsty - why did you mention M&Ms?? When I was pregnant with Archie I think I alternated a large bag of M&Ms and a large bag of Clinkers everyday for the final month!!! No wonder he was nearly 10 pounds!

PrincessT - Great to hear about your energetic nesting action! I've been in a bit of a frenzy too! I'm treating the Braxton Hicks as a warning sign to sit down between jobs...

LYP - Congrats on the house. Heard a quote the other day but don't know who said it - basically "Only fill your home with items that are beautiful or useful" - maybe some inspiration for your packing?

Naebie - I agree with you. Have the basics and the rest can wait. In fact, you'll end up saving money by not buying things you won't need.

M2E - poor you in the heat. I was just thinking to myself that I hope I can find some stuff in my cupboard to fit as the weather gets warmer in September! I remember just before Archie came 2 years ago at end of September, Brisbane was really heating up - but I hadn't thought that for you it is like Summer all year around!! By the way - the twin thing you mentioned - she was induced? So she had them naturally and all was well? Great news, they're the stories I want to hear!!

Alby - Glad to hear it is all good with the twins. How did you convince Dr to go at 37 weeks? Mine says 38 unless there are other factors at play!!!

Well, item one of the twin furniture has been put together!!:yelclap: We had a great dinner - I even made stuffed capsicums (I'll go to great lengths to get this furniture in order!!)

I have NOTHING on tomorrow! I'm going to drop the kids off and go shopping for twin things first up and then come home and try out my slow cooker with a curry. I know I bought it last week - but I've been reluctant to use it the first time when I'm not home - am I paranoid???

BazzasMum
05-08-2008, 07:19 PM
Ah Kirsty - why did you mention M&Ms?? When I was pregnant with Archie I think I alternated a large bag of M&Ms and a large bag of Clinkers everyday for the final month!!! No wonder he was nearly 10 pounds!

:laughing::laughing: I bought a bag of Clinkers too!!!!! :laughing:

kamb1403
05-08-2008, 07:29 PM
:laughing::laughing: I bought a bag of Clinkers too!!!!! :laughing:
In my draw at work I have a 500ml container that is full of lollies. The container currently contains milk bottles and party mix. It has previously contained clinkers, chico babies and snakes. :laughing:

*Chels*
05-08-2008, 07:39 PM
Please dont mention lollies!I have a major sugar craving,cant get enough chocolate or lollies!!
I am feeling much better today.Unfortunatley poor lil Riley is so sick:(

Ok so Rileys bday is 17th Oct,and bubs is due on 11th.I am panicking that bubs will be born too close to his bday and will take away the specialness of it IYKWIM.Also stressing I will have no time to do anything,including making a cake.I have already starting planning his bday,and will probably go shopping in the next week to get party supplies.I am not obsessive am I?DH thinks I stress to much,but I HAVE to be organised!!:hair:

Electric Mumi
05-08-2008, 07:49 PM
LYP: FABULOUS NEWS honey!!! Yay

ALBY: LOL I just figured you had forgotten hun. WIll look out in the post for it. Thanks again :)

I had my hospital tour today. So wrapped with the new Mater hospital. In the birthing suite their is a long couch\bed for partners to camp on, a bath, a shower with 2 shower head thingys, a fit ball, stereo, plasma tv, epidural gear if u desire or need it, monitoring equipment, all the equipment in case baby needs oxygen etc. Babes get their hep B and vit k shot in the room too...they keep babies in the room with you at all times!!!
Then...in the post birth rooms their is a max of 2 ladies per room, a baby bath, an ensuite with shower and loo etc, great views and you stay in there for 2-3 nights.

I felt rather emotional being in their actually. Saw a very fresh newborn which teared me up a bit too! Gosh its so close guys! Wonder wot our birth experience will bring for us all....:)

farmmummy
05-08-2008, 08:10 PM
I managed to clean my car inside and out and what for we had a small thunderstorm this evening. By the time I finished cleaning the car, feeding dogs and doing a couple of odds and ends my back was killing me. I was starting to think that maybe it was labour back ache because it was soo bad. So I had a bath (with a 2 yr old for company of course "boobies mummy?") and a cuppa when I got out and I felt sooo much better took some panadol just incase. Car is packed except for Sarah, pillows and handbag. All I have to do is tidy up the house before heading off in the morning.

Monique - Sounds like the birth suite and the rooms are lovley. I know it's nice sitting in the waiting room at the Mater, much nicer than the old one. I can't wait (well maybe a little bit longer)

So off to hospital tomorrow for ob visit and then get to spend the rest of the week with my darling husband. Then I hope to have the colour done on the house by this time next week.

Chels - Hope Lil' Riley feels better soon

Sam - You always lovley dinners you can always come and cook for me.

Kirsty - Love the smell of citrus trees when they are in bloom. We have a lemon tree in the back yard and an orange tree about 500m away from the house and it smells so devine when they are in bloom. I want to get a fruit salad tree (where they have grafted multiple citrus trees together).

Did any one watch "the one" on channle 7? They just did the Peter Falconio and it's very creeepy because out of 3 of them they all chose the same place individually.

Okay girls I'm off to bed I'm buggered and I'm going to have my cuppa in bed before going to sleep. No doubt I'll have **** loads to read when I get back. Hope you all have a good week/end.

Big belly rubs :babydust2:

Nikki x

PS happybirthday to thoes having birthdays over the next few days too. X

alby2508
05-08-2008, 10:52 PM
loulous- I didn't convince him of 37 weeks he just said if twin A stays breech he will deliver at 37- something to do with the cord and it being down low ( i know i should have paid more attention) HOWEVER he said if he moves back to head down its back to 38 weeks. With my DD i went to 41 weeks and 2 days so he is not one to jump the gun- i think i begged from 37 :laughing:weeks for him to induce my daughter and he wouldn't!!! I reckon i'll be 38 weeks and be the size of 2 elephants- i think these boys want to make sure every muscle is torn and all my skin is stretched:laughing:

happyhips
06-08-2008, 07:17 AM

Hope you are all feeling as well as possible. A bit hard when we are all getting sooooo huge!!

Electric - Do they have birthing pools in the new mater? Not that I'm planning one but was just curious. I haven't booked my tour yet but will try to this week.

Chels - I know exactly how you feel with that blasted flu. Take heart that it should be gone within 2 weeks.

Loulousmum - I did Little mates farm last week with my playgroup. Jasper loved it, was a bit worried he was going to kill the mouse via suffocation though.

As for me, well I think it is all going ok. Had an ob appointment monday and my bp was up a bit but he didn't seem too concerned. Nothing exciting, just playing the waiting game now.

Take care and have a fabulous day!

Annette :flowerz:

loulousmum
06-08-2008, 07:53 AM
Good morning all. This is the 3rd morning in a row I've been feeling a bit odd. It seems to clear by 10am though, so rather than being worried like I was 3 days ago (feeling odd is an early sign of labour for me) I am now accepting it as the norm. I'll now be worried if I don't feel odd every morning!!!

I'm out gift shopping all morning! :smiliedance: It is m nephew's 2nd birthday on Sunday and I want to get Archie a bean bag for his birthday (end Sept) and Father's Day gifts bought and wrapped so that I am organised should babies make an early arrival.

HappyHips - I was a bit dubious about the $18 each for two kids for Little Mates Farm, but when you think about how much fun the kids had (even just running around with wheelbarrows) it was well worth the money! What playgroup are you in?

Chels - I know what you mean about birthdays. Archie will be 2 on 25 Sept and my due date is around 5 October. I'm worried the twins will arrive on his birthday!! I've put my mum in charge of ensuring he gets a birthday cake and candles if I'm in hospital (she said she'll do one for childcare and one for the family to have at the hospital!) - unlike your boy though, Archie will be too small to really understand this year! It will be future years that I'll have to do the juggling act!

Alby - Ha - I think I'll be all stretched too! Someone at the Multiple Births night had hers arrive at 33 weeks, she said it was awful to not be able to hold them and feed them straight up but the benefits were: none of that final month stretching, babies were in a routine by the time they came home and although she had to do lots of pumping etc. she was able to get a good night of sleep each night while recovering from her c-section. I guess there's always a bright side to look at! I've not got any stretch marks yet - every morning and evening as I put the Palmers Butter on I go on stretch-mark patrol....it's only a matter of time!

Well, off to shop...will check in later and share my purchases!!

*Chels*
06-08-2008, 08:01 AM
Morning!
I got up early to get Riley organised for kindy but hes still sleeping and has a temp so I am not gonna send him.Hes in bed with DH who is spooning him and they are both zonked out,so cute:goodvibes:

Sam-Glad I am not the only one in the same boat with bdays.I concieved both boys pretty much to the same date!There due dates are one day apart.I think I am fricken insane!Bdays are gonna be crazy in this house.DH and I are only one day apart,and imagine if the boys are too:oI am gonna go to Spotlight today to suss out party supplies.

Alby-Glad to see you popped in.Good to hear your boys are doing well!!

LYP-Congrats on the house!!!Now you better have us all over for the housewarming:laughing:I hate moving,I think doing a huge cleanout is a great idea!!(Perfect for nesting too LOL)

Electric Mumi
06-08-2008, 08:57 AM
Chels: I am worried that Kanes bday is a month after my due date!! So yes I totally understand where u are coming from! Does he have to have an actual party this yr?? I mean in hindsight he wont remember it...its the big school ones he will get the most out of. Give urself a break...buy the cake this yr and have a nice family day at home with his pressies and some yummy food!!

Electric Mumi
06-08-2008, 09:14 AM
Meant to mention..Today I am going with my best friend to have a 13 week Neucal Fold test and then she is to decide whether or not to terminate the pregnancy. She was diognosed with a very low thyroid function and was strictly told not to fall pregnant until it was fixed up as it can cause brain damage...little did she know, she was pregnant at the time! She also had several MRI's as their was a lump being investigated in her brain...luckily it was a cyst..but still not great for a 1st trimester bub either. She has been having fortnightly scans and the only thing showing up not so great is the size is a week behind. Their is no way she mucked up the dates as her and her hubby had only shagged once since the birth of their daughter!! (Much to hubbys dislike of course!)
So she has had a few things against her but fingers crossed it is meant to be. She has a daughter who will be 1 next month...this one was a big surprise. The horrid thing is their is not really a test for brain damage....so she could go thru with it and the baby be severely brain damaged or terminate and the bub would have been perfect. Im hoping that if their are issues that their is more to it and it will show up in the scan today to make her decision easier. Would be so awful to have to make the decision on her own...having a Dr reccomend one way or the other is so much easier isnt it.Anyhow...fingers crossed for her.

PinkLily
06-08-2008, 10:58 AM
EM - Sending lots of positive vibes for you friend... :hugs: Hope everything works out for the best for her xx

Chels - Maybe take it easy with the Riley's birthday this year?!
A lady I know is pregnant with her third child due in February - the same month that her other 2 children were born! (and they weren't twins!)

Alby - Lovely to hear from you and that all is going well. Waiting to check out your new bump photo!

Lou'smum - Have a lovely day shopping!

Nikki - I watched The One last night too. Would be so interesting if the police investigated whether he's buried in that spot...

LYP - Congrats on the new place!!

DS was soo cute last night. Bubs was moving heaps so I lifted my top up so DS could see. He was fascinated that "baby" was saying hello to him (that's what I told him), he was laughing hysterically! He started talking to bubs and was putting his hand on my belly and bubs would kick it :laughing::cloud9:

~*clairesmum*~
06-08-2008, 11:26 AM
hey everyone

well i had a scan to see if the placntia has moved up n it has:smiliedance:, so i can go natural,

also bub is a bit on the big side hes at 5pd already n i stll have 9wks togo, i got a blackmores pregnacy email n it said bubs at 32wks weigh about 1.7kg hes weighing at 2.2kg

DH is on hisway home from work to pick me up so i can go in to see wat i have to do while my boss is away, for thurs n fri, so im working 1.5hrs lol

anyway karl(nephew) is crying n about to sit down n watch the black knight

loulousmum
06-08-2008, 12:28 PM
Great news Claire's Mum!

Electric - hope things are okay for your friend. It's very hard. My friend has a thyroid issue and has had three miscarriages - obviously something wasn't right. The fact that this one is continuing must be a good sign?

PinkLily - I've had a wonderful shop!! While I was shopping a friend of my Mum's stopped me and said "Is that you Sam? I was just walking along thinking how lovely that pregnant lady looks!!" - so that was a nice way to start the day!

Well - here's the list of what I bought - if other people's shopping exploits make you go :sleeping: then stop reading now!:
- two polo shirts and one button up shirt for DH for Father's Day
- one wool v-neck sweater for FIL for Father's Day
- Clinique bronzer and highlighter for me (and got free gift at Myer and used MyerOne vouchers so was free!!)
- two Darrel Lea chocolate bars (now eaten)
- Palmers Stretch Mark Cocoa Butter (smells good enough to eat)
- Monkey Coits Game, monkey hand puppet, little monkey bubble bath and monkey birthday card (for nephew's monkey themed gift)
- Groovy reversible hat (for Archie who has the biggest head in the world for his birthday)
- Non-slip bath mat with rubber ducks on it (for Archie's birthday - he loves having showers but it gives me a heart attack)
- Designer bean bag navy blue with cute tiger on it (for Archie's birthday)
- two 'voice changers' - cheapie gifts for nephews at Chirstmas - change your voice into Man or Robot or Kid...
- GORGEOUS Seafolly sundress for LouLou for Christmas (if I can hold out that long to see her wear it...)
- GORGEOUS bikini,matching sunsmart kaftan and matching sun hat for Lou for Christmas (again if I can hold out....)

NOTHING for twins room. Am now thinking I will have to go budget - I've just spent a lot of money....but it IS all for gifts coming up and none of it was frivolous (maybe with the exception of the voice changers....)

Have put curry in the slow cooker and am contemplating what to do with next couple of free hours....

teruteru
06-08-2008, 12:53 PM
I'm a bit of a late starter, but it's never too late, right?
We're expecting our #1 in mid-Oct and the wait is just killing us....Why does it seem that time has frozen on us?? Anyhow its given us time to source out items and enjoy the last 2 months of 'us' time :bee:

*Chels*
06-08-2008, 02:55 PM
I'm a bit of a late starter, but it's never too late, right?
We're expecting our #1 in mid-Oct and the wait is just killing us....Why does it seem that time has frozen on us?? Anyhow its given us time to source out items and enjoy the last 2 months of 'us' time :bee:

Welcome!BETTER LATE THAN NEVER!:yes:First pregnancies take waaayy longer than following ones,I swear!But yes,enjoy the peace and quiet while ya can!LOL

Mon-OMG bout your friend.What an ordeal!!If I was her,I would go thru with the pregnancy.Like Sam said,bubs is sticking-surely thats a good sign??

Well I got a few things for Rileys bday today.Feeling a bit less stressed!Making him a simple cake,and having a family BBQ so nothing major.

Ended up meeting up with my sis for lunch and spent 3 hours walking round the shops.Now I am pooped.
Does anyone else get a really sore pubic bone??

mum2ethan
06-08-2008, 03:19 PM
Hi all how are we??

Welcome Teruteru, and congrats!!

Clairesmum - Thats fantastic news!! So happy you are getting what you want!!! :smiliedance:

EM - Thinking of your friend :hugs::fingerscrossed: sounds like her little bub is a fighter!!

Chels - hope Riley is feeling better soon.

Loulousmum - the grandparents didnt give out too much info but by the sounds of it, it was a very successful Vaginal Birth :yelclap:

Well as for me... WARNING stop reading now as im about to let off steam!!!!

Ok so i had my midwife appointment today... all was well with bub, head down but not engagged, heartbeat good, fundal height spot on, my blood pressure was perfect... but my results were back for my GTT which came back 0.1 above the cut off line... which i had a feeling it would so that isnt my big thing... the thing is they left it 3 weeks, no phone call no nothing to let me know to watch what i eat... so i had to go and see the OB and the middy said he will do a measurement scan (YAY was so excited) BUT the OB was such a farking a$$hole, he saw in my notes i wanted an elective and he started going on about the risks of not having an elective and getting another 3rd degree tear (about possibly no control over bowel/bladder movement) which is one of the major reasons of going for an elective, then he said that he can refuse to do it if he thought i was doing it out of fear... WTF??? i was like well wouldnt you fear getting ripped from hole 1 to hole 2 and having no control over your own cr@p???? Then he is like well im all for the c-section (like i care what he thinks cos my last Dr is the head dr of maternity and he has fully agreed to it) Then... he gave me all the referrals etc to see Diabetes Australia (which is a different story p!ssed off at them too!!) and i said the midwife said you will do a measurement scan... he said i will only do one if you have a vaginal birth (damn it!!!) but he wasnt very informative about GD at all! all he said was that if i cant control it by diet then i will have the bub at 37 weeks... THATS ALL HE SAID!!!! So ive walked out of there not knowing anything about what im meant to be doing, and feeling like absolute cr@p. So anyway i make my way over to Diabetes Australia... she was a rude b!tch as well she's like well the group session is on Friday... im like ok... what group session... she said for women with GD, i said arent i suppose to have an individual consultant first so i know what im meant to be doing as an individual??? (which is what the midwife said to me, she was the only lovely one today!!) She said NO it has to be a group session :confused: I just felt like bursting into tears and telling her to jam her group session. Anyway thats my whinge, better start looking up info on GD since no-one else today has been helpful!!!!:banghead:

Have a great evening

Mel xoxox

kirra
06-08-2008, 04:01 PM
Hello ladies and gent.

So did ya miss me?? Hehehe. I still have most of July to read and the 9 pages already for august So give me some time to catch up and check back in.

Hope everyone is ok and not having too many preg issues.

Anywoo will start reading last months posts and when I am done I will update you on my life. :wave:

babysweet
06-08-2008, 04:38 PM
Hi ladies:wave:
I just went to buy food for tonights dinner and saw the New Idea the photos of Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt 3 week old twins - has anyone seen the photos yet of their 2 little twins?? They are sooo cute!!!:D
I'm getting all gigy inside i cant wait for my little bundle of joy!! Its sooo exciting!!:smiliedance:

BazzasMum
06-08-2008, 04:39 PM
So Kirra - we'll see you back on here tomorrow then.... :laughing:

Welcome Teruteru - do you know what you're having??

Mel - WTF???? What is wrong with some Drs?? That's insane!!! And why didn't they call you if they thought you had GD? Anyway you can chat to another Dr, find out what's going on? Sounds like a rude horrid man who should be doing a different job.

Sam - did you leave anything in the shops???? :laughing: had a right old spend-up, didn't you?? And how do you not have any stretch marks yet??? That is sooooo not fair!!!

Tyrah - glad you'll get your natural birth after all. Don't worry too much about bub measuring big yet. He might have just had a growth spurt, and will catch up to dates in the next couple of weeks.... of course, you could end up with a monster!!! LOL Nah, you'll be fine.

Well, I just went through all my baby clothes. I only have 2 00000 wondersuits!!! Most of my stuff is 000 - I borrowed a lot last time!!! :doh:!!! Oh well, looks like I'll have to go shopping........ :D On the plus side, I've got a fair bit of yellow stuff - some of which was never worn, so don't have to stress about bub inbetween sizes. Will just buy what I need, IF I need a different colour.

teruteru
06-08-2008, 05:51 PM
I'm so glad that we've nearly got everything we need for our bub. Went to Toys'r'us to get the steriliser so that's another thing off the list. Now just have to get the nappies (we've decided to use cloth), but that will have to wait another fortnight or so when the paycheck comes thru. I made a promise to myself that I wouldn't let my studies catch up on me and yet I'm already 3 weeks behind so I really have to put my head down, but I've only just discovered BubHub :laughing:

BTW, we're having a boy. My DP has been fixated on his name ever since we found out. Took some getting use to but it has settled well and truly into our lives :bee:

Anyhow I must pull myself away from the computer and get some well overdue studying done :gloomy:.

Electric Mumi
06-08-2008, 05:51 PM
Kirsty: Why do u need 00000 suits?? is ur bub expected to be really small??? 0000 is for newborns...Im hoping not to have a bub so small to fit into 00000 again! haha then again....pushing out would be easier! :laughing:

Well my friends scan went really well today..I actually went in and watched it all today with her. She was advised NOT to terminate by the professor but she will confirm that with her ob tomorrow! So hopefully all is well!!!!!

loulousmum
06-08-2008, 07:23 PM
Hi Everyone - have just been supervising some Ikea construction!! (and eating a half a bag of clinkers - other half eaten by me this afternoon and a row of Snack Chocolate - I blame Kirsty for talking about chocolate yesterday)

EM - great news for your friend - although she is at the beginning of a road I'm sure will be filled with both anxiety and joy!

Welcome Teru - Congrats on your bub and on finding BubHub, you'll love it and it is great when you are procrastinating...by the way - I use a combination of cloth and disposable nappies. A very good friend of mine has her own small company, she makes the cutest and most colourful cloth nappies, I think she sells them on Ebay but I'm not sure. The company is called Smarty Pants (or smartie pants). There are lots of similar ones around - worth checking out and heaps easier than traditional square ones...

Chels - Sorry to hear about your sore pubic bone. Mine was horrible with last two pregnancies but I've been taking evasive action through my physio and chiro this time around. My physio tells me mine has started to separate in preparation for the birth - so if yours has just started hurting maybe it's the same thing?

M2E - I am fuming on your behalf. The Dr sounds horrible and I would be making sure the Director of Maternity hears about your experience (maybe once you've calmed down a bit?). The GTT being only slightly over doesn't mean you DO have Diabetes does it? I thought it meant you had to have further testing to confirm? I'm still angry at the GP I went to at 16 weeks who tried to hear for heartbeats (even though I was there for a sinus complaint) and then only heard one but refused to refer me for a scan to see if the other twin was okay....I wish I'd made a complaint soon after.

Kirra - Welcome back!

Kirsty - there's not a lot left at the shops. But lucky you needing to go out and buy some clothes!! Lou was in 00000s when born at 36 weeks but I only ever got one or two suits, the 0000s did just fine even though they were a bit roomy. I've asked my mum to be on standby if the twins arrive early to go out and get me some premmie clothes.

Well, all chocolated out...time to tidy the house. I have a friend coming for lunch tomorrow and given how dodgy I've been feeling in the mornings I'd best get things together now!

Electric Mumi
06-08-2008, 08:53 PM
Thanks for the nice wishes for my friend. :hugs:

Wanted to know...what are u all putting into ur birth plan??? Everyone is different Im interested in who wants what. I feel quite unprepared. I have missed out on getting into birth classes :(

babysweet
06-08-2008, 09:05 PM
I was just thinking about the birth paln actually... do you have to have one?? Whats supposed to be in it? I'm a bit lost here... :confused:

Twiglet
06-08-2008, 09:07 PM

Hope all is well. Sorry I've been MIA work has been manic and been staying back late to get everything done. So too tired to logon when I get home. Thank goodness there is only 7 more weeks of it left.

The OB appointment last week was great. Baby is already head down and is approx 1.5kg in weight. :eek:. Glouc test came back AOK as did all the others. Had to have the anit-d shot as well.

Off too read all your posts. Can wait to hear what's been happening.

Joanna

Electric Mumi
06-08-2008, 09:41 PM
I was just thinking about the birth paln actually... do you have to have one?? Whats supposed to be in it? I'm a bit lost here... :confused:

I have found this site to help me write mine.
http://www.babycenter.com.au/pregnancy/labourandbirth/planningyourbabysbirth/writingbirthplan/ (http://www.babycenter.com.au/pregnancy/labourandbirth/planningyourbabysbirth/writingbirthplan/)
I have used this basic format, but I am also putting in hypnobirthing affirmations and tips for myself like massage etc coz I will take a copy in for myself too.

Not sure if thats the way to do it or not but it can be adjusted. Im keen to see what you gals have written or are going to write. Its a good way to communicate your wishes to the middys.

Twiglet
06-08-2008, 09:49 PM
Right a few personals from the first 57 posts now to read the rest. LOL

Loulousmum – Your DH sounds like mine. Every Wed / Fri is boys night and one a year he has a lads holiday. Mind you I have a girls one as well. Although after twiglet comes along he had to drop either wed or fri.
Kas & Craig - its your decision how you have your baby. Don’t get caught up in other peoples ideas. The main thing is that at the end of the day your bundle of joy is delivered safely into your arms
~*clairesmum*~ Congrats on your wedding. Sounds perfect
Mum2Ethan - Happy birthday to Ethan. Nice cake!
*Chels* - Hope your better now
LYP - Sorry to hear about your Uncle. AT least he is at peace now. I’m waiting for a similar call from the US

Electric Mumi
06-08-2008, 10:10 PM
Me again SORRY!! I just found this...brilliant!!

Birth Plan
by Janine DeBaise
© 1996 Midwifery Today, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Here is the plan for the birth of my child. I've taken words from the dreams of 200 women. I'm translating them for the hospital staff.

1. No blue hospital gown. No sterile drapes. When I give birth, I want to be naked. I want my body to choose the colour of its growing.

2. No enema. No antiseptic wash. No shaving of pubic hair. If I wanted to shave something, I'd shave my head. Like Jean-Luc Picard. I've always wanted to be captain of a star ship. When I give birth, I explore uncharted territory, I move and writhe into new worlds. I want to go where no man has gone before.

In 1872, an English doctor named John Braxton Hicks discovered pre-labor contractions. This was sort of like Columbus discovering America. Some people already knew it was there.

3. No drugs. No epidural.

I want to feel the baby moving, his hard head pushing through layers of me. My bones shifting, my uterus contracting. I want to feel birth. I want to know fire.

4. No episiotomy. No amniotomy. I don't want anything that rhymes with lobotomy. I prefer to stretch slowly, burning in a rim of panting breaths, around my baby's head.

Pierre Vellay, MD, wrote that pregnant women must be "trained in the proper way." His vision: Laboring women "like expert engineers with perfect machines and carefully presented information (who) control, direct and regulate their bodies."

5. No Pitocin drip. No synthetic hormone to stimulate labor. Let my baby choose his own birthday. My body does not recognize the ticking of the clock on the wall.

I don't want to control my body. I want to surrender. Let the darkness soak through me, drip down my legs. Let the pulse of that unborn voice throb through me.

I don't want a needle stuck in my hand. If my labor slows, I'll lie in the sun on a fur quilt and let my husband caress MY nipples. I prefer to get my hormones the primitive way.

6. No electric fetal monitor.

I don't need a machine to tell me how my baby is doing. He kicks, he twists, he somersaults inside of me.

Robert Bradley, MD, advocated the idea of the husband as the labor coach. He liked the idea of natural birth, but still he thought that somehow a man had to be in charge.

7. No bright lights. No noise. No softball cheers. Don't give me instructions. My body knows what to do. Birth is not a team sport. I don't want a coach. I want my husband's presence. His hands to grip. His arms a sling to lean the baby bulk against. His face a mirror in which I can watch my baby emerging.

8. No stupid jokes. No cheerful chatter. No television, please. I want to listen to the moans rising in my throat. I want to hear the child singing in my womb.

In the 1950s a French obstetrician named Ferdinand Lamaze began teaching something he called childbirth without pain. French Catholics were horrified, they believed Bible said it was supposed to be painful. In fact, the Bible states that birth is intended to be a joy and a blessing, an activity to be performed in an upright, rather than reclining, position.

9. No delivery table. I am not a plate of spaghetti. Let me give birth on the bed. A table works fine for conception, but it's way too hard and far too awkward for birth.

"Male science disregards female experiences because it can never share them." Grantly ****-Read said this in 1933. No one listened to him.

I know what I want for my baby.

No nursery. No pacifier. No bottles. No crib. No cheerful, white-coated, well-scrubbed, briskly walking, thermometer-wielding nurses, please.

Let the baby sleep against my skin, nurse from my breast, wrap his wrinkled blue limbs in the heat of my body.

10. Nothing intrauterine, nothing intravenous.

I prefer to give birth in simple words. Breathe. Push. Touch. Pain. Wet. Stretch. Bum. Birth. Yes.

For 50 years, doctors have used these terms. Braxton-Hicks contractions. Bradley birth. Lamaze breathing. But a woman knows. The mystery is too overwhelming. We can never name it.

When the baby's head crowns, I want to touch the wrinkled scalp. I want to cradle the head in my palms while he is still inside of me, his neck stuck in the warm swollen parts of me. My moans will be the guide I need to pull him out of myself.

Hot compresses. Yes.
Dim lights, a bathtub of warm water. Yes.
Hands massaging me. Yes.
My husband lying next to me, solid to lean against. Yes.
The smell and feel of a slippery newborn baby wriggling against my naked skin.
Yes.
Yes.
Yes.
:thumbsup::yelclap::thumbsup:

teruteru
06-08-2008, 10:53 PM
couldnt help myself, had to jump back onto the forum. think im getting slightly addicted...as soon as the computer is on...its all over LOL. i've managed to do a few pages of reading but the rest will have to wait for tomorrow. I'll get it done :fingerscrossed: midwife app isnt til next fri, will find out the result of the glucose test then...our maternity classes will start at the end of the month (cant wait!)

i havent really thought about the birth plan at all, i remember there's a page or something to fill in...im considering not using any painkillers for the birth, any suggestions?

loulousmum: we considered using a mix of cloth & disposables but for the time being we're going to try FT cloth. we're going to be using a mix of all-in-ones and flats. AIOs are for going out and flats are purely for home since theres so many bits n pieces! Took awhile for me to settle with which type of cloth to use (as theres so many) but im happy for the time being.

hope u all had a good night sleep, another sleep closer till the arrival :bee:

Electric Mumi
07-08-2008, 06:56 AM
Gas is good if u dont mind feeling a bit airy fairy! Relaxation, visualisations, breathing and positions help too.

happyhips
07-08-2008, 07:21 AM
Morning everyone,

Loulousmum - I'm with the Sunnybank Playgroup. We meet at the Sunnybank Anglican church hall every Tuesday. A really relaxed nice bunch of kids and ladies.

Electricmumi - That is awesome. I would sooo love to be able to have a completely natural birth like that, surrendering my body to do exactly what it was made for. It kinda made me a bit teary. By the way, glad yo