View Full Version : August chat for october 08 mums and bubs-we are on the home stretch!!!

Pages : 1 2 [3]

*Chels*
29-08-2008, 08:58 AM
omg I am sooo tired!Riley had a temp all last night.he woke up about 9.30pm,and we cuddled in bed but we were both wide awake,couldnt get back to sleep!We ended up reading books in bed,and DH took over when he got home at 12am.
Was up at 7am coz of neighbours moving,and being noisy!:sleeping::sleeping:
Good news tho-DH is on the way to pick up car and it only cost $700!!$200 over budget,but I am happy with that!thought it would be double!!!!

Just waiting for middie to arrive...

BazzasMum
29-08-2008, 09:44 AM
All these comments about s*x... doesn't make me want it tho!! :laughing: I think you're a lot less inhibited after giving birth. After all, every man and his dog has seen down there - becomes less of a problem (for me anyway) letting DH have his way!!! You certainly don't see your body the same way! And driving a mini down a tunnel - maybe that's more to do with the man KWIM???? ;) I think you're more likely to concentrate on pelvic floor etc that it does become a bit more of a concious effort to be "tight" (sorry, tired, can't really articulate what I want to say) even if it doesn't quite bounce back the way it used to be.

Sam - 40cm????? HOLY CR@P!!!! DS was only 34.5cm and I thought that was big (did enough damage anyway!)

Not much news. MIL has moved back home, and the weasel Dr Death has turned stalker... we just hope he doesn't go Postal now: FIL is off for the weekend visiting his girls. DH came home from work - too worried to concentrate. MIL should be home soon, so he'll give her a ring, see how she's doing.

I'm so ridiculously hot. Drinking heaps, then of course peeing 4 times a night. Headaches are coming back - might need to go get a massage.......

loulousmum
29-08-2008, 10:10 AM
Re: 40cm head - was lulled into false sense of security after great birth experience with LouLou - if I had known would have gotten there early enough for all drugs!!!!

Re: Hot Mumma comment - when I first got pregnant with the twins, one of my friends commented that I was a 'yummy mummy' - I said "Yes, that's what got me into this mess - I should have just let myself go...." - SO moral of story - be careful what you wish for - maybe I should have let those pelvic floor muscles go.....:laughing:

PinkLily
29-08-2008, 01:22 PM
Went to maternity ward after work last night and the midwife checked bubs vitals and did a measure. Bub is all healthy, of course, but still bit small. Have a referral to get a growth scan done, so have to make an appointment.
Felt a little bit silly for worrying and going there, but I feel better now having my mind put at ease.
:fingerscrossed: the scan just shows that bubs is just on the small side, and healthy.
Thanks for all the comments ladies :hugs:

Re. sex after childbirth -- things were definately NOT bigger down there - if anything, things were tighter :o:p

Chels - That's such great news that the car didn't cost as much you anticipated!

mum2ethan
29-08-2008, 03:14 PM

Sorry i havent replied with personals but by the time i read all the posts im too exhausted to remember them :o, i have been pretty tired lately, only 3 more shifts at work then i have finished!! :smiliedance:

Just a quick question, are Braxton Hicks regular?? Its probably me just being paranoid cos DP has gone to Alice Springs for 4 days for drag racing, he left 3am this morning and he still hasnt arrived there yet! But i have been getting "tightnings" every hour for the last 5 hrs... its not painful or anything, but i didnt think BH were regular like that?!?! :confused: im not really worried about them enough to call the hospital as they are a fair way apart, if they were to get closer and still be reg then i would be panicking!! I was just wondering if BH do that? I didnt have BH with Ethan at all.

Re: Hiccups, i have found that if i eat frozen yoghurt 5 minutes later bub gets hiccups!! lol

Re: sex after childbirth, i have found it heaps better than before... but it was a while before i did have sex due to the 3rd degree tear! DP thinks they might have slipped in an extra stitch just for him :rolleyes:

Pinklily - thats great news bub is all happy and healthy!!!

Chels - good news about the car... hope Riley feels better soon poor little guy!

Well better get back to it, have a great arvo

Mel xoxox

loulousmum
29-08-2008, 03:23 PM
PinkLily - glad to hear everything is alright! Sounds like you'd better invest in a couple of 00000s outfits!

Mum2Ethan - braxton hicks shouldn't be regular. Are they painful at all? My labour with Archie started with mild braxton type contractions hourly!!! They stopped and I went to bed and then woke up at 1am with raging painful contractions only 6 minutes apart!!! Don't mean to scare you but do you have a back up plan in case it's action stations tonight???

In other news - just got an email from BubHub and I won a Pinky McKay Baby Massage DVD!:smiliedance: Very cool. It's obviously worth entering these competitions if you've got the time!:goodvibes:

mum2ethan
29-08-2008, 03:28 PM
Mum2Ethan - braxton hicks shouldn't be regular. Are they painful at all? My labour with Archie started with mild braxton type contractions hourly!!! They stopped and I went to bed and then woke up at 1am with raging painful contractions only 6 minutes apart!!! Don't mean to scare you but do you have a back up plan in case it's action stations tonight???

In other news - just got an email from BubHub and I won a Pinky McKay Baby Massage DVD!:smiliedance: Very cool. It's obviously worth entering these competitions if you've got the time!:goodvibes:

Thanx Sam, i didnt think they were meant to be regular! but ive talked to my sister (before i started getting the tightnings) as i just have this feeling that something is gonna happen (too many preggo dreams of having bub early and only Ethan being there when i have bub, no DP) and she will be coming in with me to the hospital, and her hubby will look after Ethan, so if anything were to happen its all sorted. But they arent painful just uncomfortable, but thats how i remember Ethans labour starting, but it was only half an hour apart not an hour...

Congrats on the win!!! :smiliedance: i have only just started entering the comps!! but im not very lucky!! :laughing:

BazzasMum
29-08-2008, 04:02 PM
:eek: Mel - take it easy!! bub has to cook for another couple of weeks yet. BH should stop if you move around, or even take a bath. Good thing your sister is handy.

Sam - congrats on the DVD. I had a look at the comp page, but I never know what to write for those things, so just gave up. besides, if you already knew how to do baby massage and the benefits, why would you need the DVD???

PL - glad things are well with bub. I feel huge, so tried measuring my fundal height (different thread got me thinking!) I'm measuring bit over 34cm at just over 32 weeks!! hope it slows down....... Don't plan on birthing an elephant....

kamb1403
29-08-2008, 04:15 PM
I have finished work :smiliedance:

It is so good to realise that I don't have to go in on Monday. I will have Ryan home with me on Monday and Tuesdays from now on. I am so looking for to it. Hopefully Ryan will sleep in.:sleeping:

I have had c-sections so can't comment on sex after a natural birth. One thing I have found is sex is better now. I don't know if it is because of the pelvic floor exercises or not.

My hubby is going 4WD on the weekend with mates from work. They are leaving at approx 10am tomorrow and won't be home till Sunday sometime. So I have the 3 kids with me.

Sam - congrats on the win.

PinkLily - glad all went well with the check up.

Chels - hope you get a good night sleep tonight.

PinkLily
29-08-2008, 04:21 PM
PinkLily - glad to hear everything is alright! Sounds like you'd better invest in a couple of 00000s outfits!

:eek: My goodness yes, spose I had get a couple of smaller outfits! I have a couple of 0000s, which DS was in all of about 2 weeks :rolleyes:
Congrats on the win :yelclap:

Mel - Yes, definately take it easy! Hopefully it's just the very early beginnings of things getting ready and bub stays in for a few more weeks - or at least 'til your DH gets home!

Kamb - YAY for finishing work!!!

*Chels*
29-08-2008, 04:25 PM
Poor old Riley is having a snooze.Is it just my kid that is fine during day,but gets temps at night?
Brought some iron tabs and reasp leaf tabs today!
Saw middie today,and blood pressure was real high,but my pee stick was fine,and when she re-did my BP,it was fine!
Bubs is head down with his bum poking out right side.That explains my distorted tummy shape LOL.Apparantly my tum is measuring 2 weeks behind??!??please dont tell me I will be 2 weeks overdue:(
Have car back,YAY!!

Pinklily-glad you got the scan referral,will put your mind at ease!Little bubbas are sooo much cuter.Seems newborns only stay little for a couple of weeks!Not long enough!!!

Sam-congrats on your win!I saw her on 9am the other week talking bout baby massage.I tried to win the breast pump,but to no avail!!

Kirsty-I have been soo hot today too!Not even that hot 2day,but cant stop sweating!So gross!!

Kamb-YAY for finishing work!Now you can take it easy!Nana naps all round LOL

PrincessT
29-08-2008, 04:33 PM

First of all, Mum2ethan as Sam said Braxton Hicks shouldnt be so regular so yeah its a great idea to have a plan set for the next day or 2... bummer about DH being at the drags, mine is going on Sunday for a test and tune. I told him if anything starts happening, I am going to the hospital alone as I asked him not to enter!! I went 4 weeks early with DD and its now 4 weeks to go for me, so who knows!

Pinklily - good news that things are ok with bubs. Dont stress about bubba being small. When I had Allegra 4 weeks early she was 2.2kgs which is small for a baby of that gestation but there was nothing I could do about it.. its just the way my body created her!

Teruteru - Dragon is a Serbian name isnt it? Ive met a few men called Dragon and I am sure they were from the former Yugoslavia, Serbian in particular I think. I think its a great name too!

Sam - when the people mover goes in for its service, ask for a loan car. They do have them and they should be able to accommodate you. Even if you have to pay a small fee.

Kas - dont underestimate the power you have to be a mum. When I had Allegra I had no idea and thought I wouldnt be able to cope but you find so much inside of you once the baby is born. You will be a great mum and naturally, you have a supportive hubbie so all will be well - dont stress.

Well, I had my OB appointment yesterday and everything looks well at my end. Bubs looked very comfy and has been kicking like mad. I'm not sleeping that well at the moment as I have pain in my arm.. aparently I have a pinched nerve in my arm which is a bit of a pain but anyway... I'm off to the chiro on Monday as I couldnt be stuffed at going today.

I went to see the Coroners department today. I read through the official findings which I knew most of but did fund out some other stuff. The man even explained all the details of dad's death as written in the autopsy which was great as we can finally understand exactly what killed him, which was especially important to my mum as she thinks she could hear him after the accident. With his injury there was no way he would have survived, so now she knows for sure it wasnt him. I saw some photos too and even though he was a bit hesitant, I saw a facial one of my dad. He looked really peaceful and sadly, even though I look at his photo every day, I had forgotten what he looked like. I guess I get used to seeing him in a certain way, smiling in the print and here is was relaxed and pain free and sadly a bit battered. At least I know now that he looked peaceful when he went. The man was really helpful and have me heaps of other information that might help my brother and we talked generally about being strong - he did ask me, how is it that I cope and I dont know. I said to him that the acccident and dad's passing was the catalyst for being strong and thats all I know. He also agreed that he believes that time doesnt heal wounds as the number of people he deals with that find time actually makes some wounds worse. Anyway, sorry for my rambling everyone. I needed to get it all out!!

I'm off to the movies tonight - I need a night out.

XXX

sweetperfectchild
29-08-2008, 04:40 PM
Esme bump is measuring 34cm at 32 weeks, head down, nearly engaged, possibly posterior. Eek. Although my dates are rock solid, everything has been early, so I'm now convinced she's coming early. Perhaps its wishful thinking - my puffy feet are getting to be a nuisance and they go a weird purple colour when I sit too long. But my BP is down to 125/70.:smiliedance:
I don't have a full length mirror at home and when trying on some trousers in Target today I was quite shocked to see what I look like in all my glory. Mostly I feel blobby, but actually the bump is really very defined and my bottom isn't any wider, [wish same could be said for thighs].

Sam - competitions are a good plan. When I was a student I won a trip for two to Japan! I've gotten out of the habit, but somebody has to win.

Mel - hope the BH have settled down?

mum2ethan
29-08-2008, 08:16 PM
hi all,

just waiting for Ethan to go to sleep so i can have a nice relaxing bubble bath, still getting tightenings every hour, hasnt changed at all, so im hoping the bath will stop them so then i know its BH!!

PT - :hugs::hugs::hugs: im so glad he looked peaceful, puts your mind at ease that he didnt suffer. so glad you got everything explained and hopefully you found all the answers you were looking for.

teruteru
29-08-2008, 08:42 PM

:yelclap:on the dvd, i must agree that those comp r pretty cool. i received an email today too, i won the avent breast pump unexpectedly, was considering buying that one as well so kinda saved money :laughing: even though i got given a pigeon one, but no harm getting a freebie.

pinklily: just out of curiosity, how big is ur baby measuring? at my last checkup, bub was measuring 2cm smaller than the "standard"...checkup again next week to see whether he's growing...

PT: im not sure where the origin of dragon is from, i know "dragan" is a slovenic name which means "the dear one"...DP has a fascination with dragons, he has a tat of one on his shoulder blade :D

1assignment n 2tests down, another 3tests & 4assignments to go *sigh*

mum2ethan
29-08-2008, 09:15 PM
First of all, Mum2ethan as Sam said Braxton Hicks shouldnt be so regular so yeah its a great idea to have a plan set for the next day or 2... bummer about DH being at the drags, mine is going on Sunday for a test and tune. I told him if anything starts happening, I am going to the hospital alone as I asked him not to enter!! I went 4 weeks early with DD and its now 4 weeks to go for me, so who knows!

I know exactly what you mean!! I hate it with DP goes away for car stuff, something ALWAYS happens when he is gone, the last time he went (cant remember if it were to summernates or elite) i was here by myselfwith Ethan and we got hit by a cyclone!! i had to prepare the house, make sure everything was tied down, catch all my birds and put inside PLUS his parents were in Singapore so i had to do the same with their place and have all their animals here (was fun having all the dogs together :rolleyes:) my sister was in Qld so she couldnt help and my brother was in the army away on an exercise... so it was a lot of fun! this time i was hoping i could have an event free weekend...:fingerscrossed:

:yelclap:on the dvd, i must agree that those comp r pretty cool. i received an email today too, i won the avent breast pump unexpectedly, was considering buying that one as well so kinda saved money :laughing: even though i got given a pigeon one, but no harm getting a freebie.

Wow congrats!! thats fantastic!! :yelclap:

Well i had a shower (too tired to have a bath, would fall asleep and never get out of it!!!:laughing:) so im going to bed

Night night

Mel xoxox

*Chels*
30-08-2008, 09:20 AM
Mel,how are you feeling today??How was your bubble bath??

Teruteru-You biatch!I wanted to win the breastpump:laughing:Nah,congrats!Looks like the oct mamas scored well this month!!!:yelclap:

With middie measuring my tum,She says bubs is measuring behind-from the start it has been
18+5 weeks- measuring 18
24 weeks-23
27+6- 27
and now 34 weeks -32.
Please do not tell me bubs will be 2 weeks overdue:hair:
Anyone else had this???
She said not to stress,measurements can be all different,and even if I got up for a wee,could measure diff after that!
I just really want this baby on time,because its Rileys bday on the 17th,and his party the next day,and I want his brother to be here by then!

Have decided that as soon as October hits,I am out walking,and scrubbing the house top to bottom to try to bring this baby out!!!!

I am soooo hot again today!!!
Have a nice weekend girls!:flowerz:

BazzasMum
30-08-2008, 09:22 AM
How are you feeling this morning Mel? you never said whether your shower stopped the pains???

mum2ethan
30-08-2008, 10:21 AM
Morning all,

Well i slept really well last night, didnt even wake for a toilet trip :eek:, cant remember the last time i slept right thru the night. even ethan slept the night thru!!!!! :yelclap:

Well i woke and the tightenings were gone, but i have major back pain and ive just come back from shopping and the tightenings are back, but not regular so im just thinking they are BH... damn annoying!!! but gee i was getting so breathless out shopping i feel soooooooo unfit!!!

Im going to my sisters this arvo so ethan can have a swim with his cousins and i will be staying for dinner, Chels i know what you mean about feeling hot! its so stinking hot here today... i might jump in the kiddies pool with them!! :laughing:

Chels - after you finish scrubbing your house you can come around and do mine :D

Have a great day

Mel xoxox

loulousmum
30-08-2008, 11:31 AM
Mel - glad it's settled down!

Princess T - so glad you had a positive experience with the coroner's office. Still thinking of you.

Everyone else - sorry, no personals - I'm on my way out to my baby shower (Champagne High Tea) at my Mum's house!

Just popped in to put my 33 week bump photo in the bumps thread - but here it is -

http://www.new.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=30057106&l=448e4&id=1400291019

I was wearing all black under my tunic for the baby shower so thought I may as well do the photo!! I don't know why I've stuck with black - but it seems easier to compare when they are all taken in similar clothes!

Will check in later to tell you about the shower!

Have a great afternoon!

Sam x

mum2peanut
30-08-2008, 01:42 PM
Wow Sam, you look fantastic, even more so considering there are two bubs in there.
Had my obs appointment on Thurs, and locked in a date for my caesar. He's on leave just before I'm due and just after, so my caesar is only 3 days before I'm due. Little worried I'll go into labour, although I was late with DD and am carrying small and high again, so hopefully :fingerscrossed:. He said just don't have sex for the two weeks before hand. Di you think I was going to!!! I said to him, well if you say so. Then if said if we were really keen to we could just use a condom, cause it's the prostaglandin in the semen that brings on the labour. Yeah right. I think I can hold off.
Been really uncomfortable this week, 2 weeks of work to go, and I'm glad it's nearly over. Got my 34 wk US next Friday so we'll see how we're going for size roughly.
Went to get my eyebrows waxed today and nearly passed out from laying on my back. Started to get all hot and sweaty and nauseous. Not good! Have to get them to let me sit next time.
Hope you're all well and having a lovely weekend. I'm off to visit a friend and her new baby Lola in hopsital.
Take care.

farmmummy
30-08-2008, 07:14 PM
Evening all ladies hope are all doing well. Not much happening on this front just doing the last few jobs on the verandah. Matt's mate is staying with us and helping us get them done. Plus they are forecasting rain on Tuesday so trying to get the most of it done before then so if it's raining for the rest of the week I can finish the inside stuff.

Chels - The hospital are going by my earliest scan which is the 11th (same day as you) but I'm going by my LMP which is only 2 days out. So when I went to the ob on Wednesday I was only 33 weeks 3 days but I was messuring 35cm.

Mel - Take it easy dear.

Sam - Love your pics.

Okay I'm off will catch up again tomorrow by then the verandah will be finished until the builder arrives any way.

Any how off for dinner

Nikki x

Electric Mumi
31-08-2008, 11:18 AM
:yelclap:35 WEEKS TODAY KITTY KATS

Hey girlfriends, havent read thru much but just wanted to touch base b4 we hit the local aquatic centre.

Danni: You lurking somewhere darl?? Havent seen u on for days again. Hope you are feeling ok my girl xoxoxox

PT: Awsome to hear that you and your mum can get a bit more closure now. You are a brave girl honey. Thinking of you. My dad died in a car accident when I was 2 and a half. :hugs:

Sam: congrats on the win..I won a nappy bag on another site!! Its a fab feeling isnt it!

Chels: Im measuring 1.5cm on the larger side of average..you may just be lucky to have a smaller bub! Middy did say that its not 100%..wont really know till bubs born. They give u 2 cm each way as an average gage. I wouldnt even think about going over...

I gota run but will be home tomorrow..
Belly and back rubs to all! :hugs:

kamb1403
31-08-2008, 12:29 PM

Ryan woke at 6am today. Not happy as hubby was staying overnight in the Brindabellas with mates from work. It was so funny when he called to say they were heading back. It poored on them overnight so they were soaked. :laughing:

I don't have to go to work tomorrow! I am so happy. Just hope that Ryan decides to sleep in till 8am. Still have to get up and get the twins ready for school.

Hope everyone is well.
Kylie

matildajade
31-08-2008, 01:53 PM
Hey all, have been keeping up with posts but so busy just havent had time to write anything!!

kamb - lol about hubby and friends that'll teach em!! :laughing::laughing:

nikki - i am in awe of you!! You are just always on the go!

sam - pics look awsome:). Hope your baby shower went well!!

Ok there are so many more of you but thats all i can manage for now. Hope the rest of you are feeling well not long to go now.

Ok now i need some knowledge!! Had a scan last wk (on weekly u/s due to polyhydramnios) and they chacked the length of my cervix...they had everything ready cos they thought it would be really short and they were going to put a stitch in it....i thought that was only done in early preg not at 30wks!! Anybody heard of this?? luckyily it was fine thank god! Bubs is still measuring BIG just pretty much 5 pound at 30wks!

Doc said they wont let me go over 38wks as im only tiny and they are worried about bub getting to big, not looking like i'll make it too then anyways so not to stressed, just need to hold out another 3/4 wks cos we in Kalgoorlie and before then have to go to Perth which is about 600 odd kms away!!

naebie
31-08-2008, 02:40 PM
Hi Matildajade... I had a stitch put in at 14 weeks because I have a weak cervix, and was told that generally they do a preventative stitch early on in pregnancy but they can do an emergency cerclage/ stitch right up until 32 weeks or beyond!
For me, I got put on bedrest at 24 weeks because my cervix was down to 1.3 cm and funneled to the stitch... It's fantastic that your is still nice and long!

As for me, I went out for dinner last night for my birthday, and I didn't go into labour, so that is a big plus! :laughing: Overall, I had a good night, it felt great to be a normal person again!

BazzasMum
31-08-2008, 02:58 PM
Afternoon ladies! Hope we're all well.

Mel - hope you're still with us!

Sam - how was the shower? You of course look fantastic.

Moni - time's flying by now!! Far out!!!

Naebie - glad you had a nice dinner, and you're still here! Now just take it easy again...

matildajade - 5lb at 30weeks?? :eek: Ouch!!

Nikki - glad you've got some slave labour now... :laughing:

Kylie - Is Ryan better now? Charming of him to wake so early. Mine woke at 7, poked me and Mum what you doing? Ummmm sleeping???? Watched Jumper, then Cloverfield last night then stayed up to watch Silent Witness. Didn't finish till midnight.... :sleeping: Silly me won't be doing that again.

Teena - I'm so glad you can maybe get some closure now. At least your dad looked at peace. Would have been very confronting to see him in those photos though. :hugs:

Well this arvo is hot again. The boys were in the pool for hours. Plonked DS in front of Star Wars (again!!) and he passed out. Had a quickie with DH then got in the pool myself. What a shock! Haven't been in for ages!!! Anyway it's about 26 deg and felt heavenly. Then I got out..... and I realised how heavy I am. :hissy: Nearly died. gravity sux man!!!

kamb1403
31-08-2008, 03:50 PM
Afternoon ladies!

Kylie - Is Ryan better now? Charming of him to wake so early. Mine woke at 7, poked me and Mum what you doing? Ummmm sleeping???? Watched Jumper, then Cloverfield last night then stayed up to watch Silent Witness. Didn't finish till midnight.... :sleeping: Silly me won't be doing that again.

Well this arvo is hot again. The boys were in the pool for hours. Plonked DS in front of Star Wars (again!!) and he passed out. Had a quickie with DH then got in the pool myself. What a shock! Haven't been in for ages!!! Anyway it's about 26 deg and felt heavenly. Then I got out..... and I realised how heavy I am. :hissy: Nearly died. gravity sux man!!!

BazzasMum - Ryan is better. He hasn't got the wheezing cough anymore. His eyes have cleared up quite well too. He still has a bit of a runny nose but that's about it. The little sh.ite slept for nearly 3 hours after lunch. Could have killed him. :banghead:

26 degrees - no way. It has been raining here and is only 12 degrees. Was surprised on Friday morning on my way to work - it was a balmy 4 degrees at 7.30am.

How nice would it be to have a quickie. Hope you enjoyed it and it doesn't start any labour pains. :laughing::laughing:

naebie - happybirthday for yesterday. Glad you had a great night.

loulousmum
31-08-2008, 04:12 PM
Thanks for comments on my bump - getting massive, belly button sticking out and I think a stretch mark has appeared...

Hi Everyone! Had a fabulous baby shower yesterday - everyone was so happy and there was a lot of laughter - particularly at my expense given that this was a surprise pregnancy!! It didn't matter at all that my SILs and MIL weren't there - although, MIL did send a lovely gift home with DH. If you are on Facebook there are some photos of the shower - but as you don't know any of my friends they might be a bit boring!!!

Highlights of gifts included: friend who makes pocket nappies gave me four, got two baby books and a family planner diary from Mum of friend who publishes them (milestone press - I think they have a website), two gorgeous baby blankets from a friend of a friend's web company (zandme - they have a website too), some absolutely gorgeous outfits including matching white and red sequined osh kosh dresses, artwork for the walls in the twins' room, gorgeous wraps, organic reusuable breastpads, body butter.....I know - and heaps more too - very spoilt!!

M2Peanut - You'd have to have a lot of sex for the prostoglandins to bring on labour!!!:laughing: Sex has bought on my labour both times, but babies must have been ready to come and cervix soft etc. It is more fun than the nipple stimulation theory which basically has you stimulating nipples for 20 hours a day to bring on labour.....!!:laughing:
Re: laying on back - I had a facial and massage the other day and asked them to put a little wedge cushion under my right side to tilt me off to the left - it takes the pressure off heaps and saves feeling sick etc.
Lola is a lovely name, congrats to your friend.

Farmmum - glad to hear verandah is coming together for you!

Electric - Nice work on 35 weeks (remember, I'm cheating and jumping up alongside you as 38 weeks is my term!!) Are you talking size of bub based on fundal height? My last measurement was 36 weeks (at 32 weeks) and I think that is normal for twins.

Kamb - Glad you survived the weekend alone.

MatildaJade - Thanks, I had a great baby shower! I don't know much about the stitch etc. but it does sound as though your baby is BIG! I can't imagine you going too far past 36 weeks which will probably be a relief to you!!!

Naebie - happy birthday, glad to hear that the sky didn't fall in when you left the house!!

Bazza's Mum - gravity does suck...my poor breasts will never be the same. Thanks for saying I look good, to be honest, I'm a bit afraid of how massive my butt is going to be once there is no bump to even me out!!! Lucky you hopping in the pool and having some weightlessness. It's days like today that I curse DH for talking me out of a large luxurious bathtub in our ensuite...the one we've got is fine for a normal sized 12 person but at the moment I wouldn't even bother!!

Well, we've had friends over for lunch and I did one of my specialities - chorizo and haloumi on the bbq followed by fish baked with cous cous and a gorgeous sweet potato, pine nut, fetta and spinach leaf salad. It was divine and we won't be needing dinner :smiliedance:

Now, decisions decisions - Australian Idol or Dancing with the Stars tonight??? That is the question. Might have to get a digital recorder to tape this stuff for late night breastfeeds...

farmmummy
31-08-2008, 06:29 PM
Verandah is finally done:) well until the builder gets here and even then it's not hard to do and have now started on the last bits and pieces on the inside. Given ourselves till Wednesday to be ready for the real estate to take pictures and I have to take some more pics for the other realestate. Ummm then it's just about finished. Matt is back to work next week and we get to move next week.
Matt is having some issues with Work they don't want to subsidize our rent so Matt needs to talk to the union again tomorrow.
I had one accident today I was walking down the back steps and I slipped off the second last step. I kind of hurt my pelvis a bit.

Sam - Sounds like you had a blast. You can come over and cook for me any time.

Teena - :hugs: Hope you were able to get the strength you were looking for.

Kirsty - I'd love to go for a swim but not quite warm enough or any where to swim out at the farm.

MatildayJade - Unfortunatley there is an ulterior motive and I'm not doing this by choice. Thank god it's nearly over.

Renee - Happy birthday dear. Glad you didn't go into labour.

Sorry if I've forgoton any one. Matt had a slight crack up this morning I've been rather flat :( most of the day so I'm about to eat dinner (Matt's mate cooked us a roast) have a shower and go to bed. Suppose to be raining tomorrow so I'm hoping to have the inside done asap.

Night all beautiful ladies.

Nikki x

babysweet
31-08-2008, 08:53 PM
Sam your belly looks so cute!! Two little bubs!
Not long to go now, how exciting!!:yelclap:

loulousmum
31-08-2008, 09:05 PM
Heaving my massive frame by Loulousmum
(to tune of Jet Plane song)

My (hospital) bags are packed...I'm ready to go...
I'd like to be induced at 36 weeks
But the Dr says no...
The babies must be running out of room....

So, rub my feet
And serve me tea
Tell me that you'll wait on me...
To 40 weeks these babies want to go...

I'm heaving
My massive frame..
Don't know if I'll be me again...
Oh, babies - if you only knew....

:yes: Just inspired by Australian Idol. Decided to catch up with Dancing on Sunrise in the morning....

happyhips
01-09-2008, 05:03 AM
Morning Girls,

I just can't keep up with personals!!! Just too much going on!! Good to see that everyone is doing fairly well and not suffering too much with pregnancy woes.

As for me, I did the hospital tour at the new Mater Mothers and the tour guide didn't show up so it was a bit of a waste of time. I did find out where to drop off etc.. which was the main thing I guess but I was after a good sticky beak!!! The delivery suites were awesome, the rooms (I'm going private this time) were a little on the small side but at least I'll be by myself. No double beds, every room has a hospital bed.

I'm starting to feel massive. I'm quite close to putting on 20 kgs, expected as I put on that much with DS but lost 12 kgs at birth and the rest came off within about 6 months.

Chels - Glad you have your car back!!! What a relief it didn't cost as much as you thought it might.

Teena - I'm happy that you and your mum can get some closure now. I can't even begin to imagine how all of this must feel for you but you are definitely in my thoughts.

Sam - Sounds like you had a ball at your baby shower. Lovely presents - you got spoilt which is even better.

Take care girls,

Annette:flowerz:

kamb1403
01-09-2008, 07:24 AM
Morning all,

Ryan slept till 8:05am :smiliedance:. I am so happy as I woke up at 8am.

Today Ryan is staying home with me as he is now down to 3 days at daycare. It is going to be interesting to see how I cope with an active toddler at home and keeping him entertained without the tv.

Sam - I know how you feel. My friend got married when I was 8 months pregnant with the twins and it was a catholic wedding. I had to stand up and sit down and stand up and sit down during the ceremony whenever the priest said. That was a nightmare. I was then hospitalised at 37 weeks 5 days due to high blood pressure. The next day I had an ultrasound and they guessed the size of the boys - they weren't too far off either. I was induced the following day at 38 weeks. Nothing happened, blood pressure wouldn't come down and it was decided that I needed an emergency c-section. Boys were born exactly 2 weeks before Christmas at 38 weeks. I ended up being the size of a house by the time they arrived and being summer, it was torture.

Have a great day ladies!
Kylie :wave:

loulousmum
01-09-2008, 07:56 AM
Annette - sorry you didn't get your tour but it sounds like it will be a lovely place to be for the birth! I go to the Sunnybank, they have a number of double bed rooms but I've always asked not to have one as the bed takes up too much space and I want room for visitors!! But all rooms have a fold out single bed for DHs to sleep on. I haven't weighed myself yet but I'm guessing I've put on more than 20kgs! People keep telling me it's 'all baby' but I'm quite sure that once the twins arrive I'll still have a way to go. I'm like you though, after 6 months all back to normal.

Kamb - I am soooo lucky with time of year. I've never had a summer pregnancy and everytime I'm having a whinge I remind myself that it could be worse!! I'm in a catch 22 situation though - have not booked anything social from today onwards because I know I need to rest BUT now it means I'm a bit bored and time will go very slowly!

I did some sewing last night and made Archie two very cute pairs of 'spring' trousers. Louella wants a new pair too and I have some blue fabric with little lady bugs on it, so will probably make her a pair today. I've also got a couple of handbags that have been cut out for months but need to be sewn together, so a day of sewing ahead for me I think!