View Full Version : August chat for october 08 mums and bubs-we are on the home stretch!!!

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Twiglet
15-08-2008, 03:54 PM
Twiglet - too bad about the promotion. Just thinking though - you may end up being better off to just take maternity leave early than to go part-time. Most EBs and awards indicate the maternity leave will be paid at the rate the person was working when the maternity leave started IYKWIM? So, even if you have worked there full-time for 5 years, if you drop back to part-time in the 4 weeks leading up to your leave they could pay you at part-time rather than full-time maternity leave. I'm sure you're across this but would hate to see you get hard done by!

:eek: I didn't know that. Thanks for that.

teruteru
15-08-2008, 06:42 PM
Finally have time to sit down n write...been busy with work n study, that's 1 test out of the way and all the other assessment to follow *sigh* I'll know the bub is nearly here when all the assessments are out of the way :laughing:

went to midwife today, bub's a tad small. she said not to worry cos both DP n i are small ppl, but she still booked us in a week earlier than normal ppl...asked about the birth plan n she said not worry til after my antenatal classes so guess i can put that off for a lil while longer. on the downside, i might have thrush?!

bub's been hurting me lately, i think it's him anywyz...my ribs hurt at this particular spot all the time and also the same spot on my back, wonder what he's doing in there!

went shopping yesterday n today, shouldnt have carried those bags of groceries but i just couldnt pull myself away from a supermarket :p im more of a supermarket shopper than the conventional shopper...BUT we finally got a carseat for bub, so he wont have to be in that uncomfortable looking baby basket thing (forgot what they r called all of a sudden).

anyhow hope everyone's well n enjoy ur weekend :hugs:

*Chels*
15-08-2008, 07:18 PM
Mon-You jinxed me!!
I was a mega biatch today.Emotions flying,wanting to cry,threw a tanty.Have no idea why:confused:just got to work and started yelling at everyone LOL
Mark said riley has been great all day and helped him with all the housework.So I bring him home a choccy donut as a treat and 5 mins later hes feral!Mark made burritos,and Riley just came and grabbed mine and everything fell out!Lil sh!t:rolleyes:And he keeps crying over nothing!
Also,posted another thread bout Riley grabbing at my boobs.I fricken hate it,I cant stand them being touched.I just wanna smack him when he does it!Any advice on how to stop him doing it????

I have sore pelvis and groin.GOD I cant wait to have this baby!!
Will sort out my feral son and be back to post my baby bump!

FirstTimeMummy
15-08-2008, 07:30 PM

Sorry to sound naive... but what on earth are gynee veins?? I dread to think... :eek:

There must be something in the air at the moment, I had a terrible day too.. I had to lock myself in the bathroom at work and have a good cry :crying:
Hugz to everyone.. sounds like we all need one at the moment!!.

I too am really tired the last week or two, and this morning sickness is back in force. I'm so over it!

Thank Goodness it's the weekend :smiliedance:

Think I might head to Big W tomorrow and try to pick up a Tommee Tipee Nappy Wrapper - has anyone used one before? I've heard some people say they are fabulous and some people say they are a waste of $... thoughts??

Hope you all have a lovely night

Caitlin

KrissyM
15-08-2008, 08:10 PM
Evening all
Didnt have the best sleep last night so woke up very grumpy. Every now and then bub must lie on a nerve or something which gives me pain down my right leg. Well thats what the drs say it probally is only happens at night or if I sit for a reallly really long time. Unfortunatley if it happens at night it will wake me a couple of times. But compared to the pain of some of you others I really cant complain. Anyway bad sleep usually = bad day at work. Get to work today was sitting in staff room drinking my cofeee when one of our office sso's said I need to speak to you later. I must of had a oh sh** look on my face but she said not to worry it was all good so i askd if she could tell me then cause i felt like c r a p. She tells me that they have organsied a baby shower for me for the 13 of sept :smiliedance: made my day. Unfortuantely I then found out one of my besties had been orrganising it and asked for help from school and now its been taken over so shes bit upset, she really wanted it to be a surprise. Then to make my morning better my class were beautiful almost up till lunch time (a huge effort for my little darlings) was very proud of them. Unfortunately 2 of them decied not to come back after lunch and play hide from the principal. So 2 little boys had their parents called in and got sent home early not a good weekend to get in trouble from mums and dads, our local show is on ooops. But given the rest of the day my class had it was enough not to spoil it.
Anyway getting close to bed time need to get a good sleep so hopefully I can finish painting my nursery this weekend.
Hope everyone gets lots of rest over the weekend sounds like lots of us are getting really tired.
Kristy
PS Twiglet, Sam is right re maternity leave my union president told me not to reduce my hours if it gets too much just take days off as sick pay or unpaid leave. As long as its not an official reduction in hours then it wont affect my pay. But double check what your employers ruling is. You may also be able to start your leave early but use sick days before officially starting your maternity leave, some EB's allow that. But things vary so much between professions and states find out your entilments first.

*Chels*
15-08-2008, 08:14 PM

Sorry to sound naive... but what on earth are gynee veins?? I dread to think... :eek:

You REALLY wanna know???
LOL,we are talking about varicose veins in our vaginas.Yup sounds gross,horrible,painful...and IT IS!
Be thankful you are blissfully unaware!;):laughing:

KrissyM
15-08-2008, 08:19 PM
Caitlin just read your post re tommy tippee nappy bins. One of my friends swears by hers. because the nappies get sealed in everytime the bin doesnt need to be emptied until its full rather than daily and there is no smell. Another friend who works in childcare wont get one cause she says its a waste of money when she can walk out to the bin. So personal choice really. Although I think it could end up being a bit costly with the cartridges but to not have to walk outside with a particularly smelly nappyin the middle of the night I think its worth it. I figure I'll stock up on cartridges when they on sale.

PrincessT
15-08-2008, 09:45 PM
Hi everyone - Too tired for personals tonight and in so much pain from my pelvis and back so just a quicky.

I love the nappy wrappers. They are mainly great for night I find and yep they waste a bit of money and plastic but when I am grumpy and tired out of my brains in the middle of the night poo changes - I kind of dont care! We had one for Allegra but I broke it so I got another in Big W yesterday.

Was wondering about Linear Nigra... I'm sure I had one by this gestation with Allegra... anyone have any ideas when they appear? I cant quite remember... I should just google it shouldnt I!!

BazzasMum
16-08-2008, 08:51 AM
I wouldn't bother with the nappy wrapper.... just use the little scented nappy sacks. WAAAAY cheaper, and do the same job! And portable so you can stuff a few in your nappy bag to take with you. Then get a bin with a lid on it, if you don't want to walk outside every nappy change.

Teena - I never got the linear nigra last time, no signs of one this time either. Maybe you won't get it!

Krissy - your colleagues sound lovely! Have fun at the shower...

Chels - not much help with the boobs. I had to keep telling Alex mine were really sore and not to touch. He got the message eventually, but took ages! I think because he was a booby-baby for so long he still thought they were his domain! A little smack on the hand won't hurt him, and maybe he'll get it a bit faster! Or do the old guilt trip, pretend to cry when he does it, say it really hurts mummy and he doesn't want to hurt mummy does he?? You occassionally get the whole smart-ass "yeah" comments, but that worked too!

Teru - can I ask you to use another colour???? I can't read your posts - my eyes are too old for that.... :D

Sam - love your pics!

Well this bub is going to be trouble I think. One of those kids who never gets caught doing the wrong thing but usually is.... woke up this morning and head is up, back lying across the bottom. Explains why I didn't have to get up to pee... but every time the middie has a feel it's back head down. Hopefully it won't get stuck this way! little bugger...

Another glorious day up here. Really want to work on my veggie garden but it's too hot, and it won't be in the shade till this arvo, when I won't feel like it. have to get the tomatoes in the ground... and now I have pumpkin seedlings too but I don't know where to put them.....Maybe I should just let them sprawl on the unused, waste-of-space front lawn.....

Electric Mumi
16-08-2008, 10:42 AM
Danni: Im so sorry I keep referring to your lil man as Sam. I didnt realise that you werent decided on names yet! I love Zane as a name too. Hope your ailments arent giving u too much hell this weekend!

Mon-You jinxed me!!
I was a mega biatch today.Emotions flying,wanting to cry,threw a tanty.Have no idea why:confused:just got to work and started yelling at everyone LOL

You REALLY wanna know???
LOL,we are talking about varicose veins in our vaginas.Yup sounds gross,horrible,painful...and IT IS!

God sorry luv! Its awful isnt it? I feel much better now my shoulder has some relief tho. Have been told that 3rd trimester hormones are the worst so I feel not so nutty knowing that too. As for the vagy veins...OMFG Are they actually INSIDE ur vag? That sounds horendous. Glad I havent had to contend with those...well as yet. Have been irratiable down there tho...its just not the same as it used to be. Even sex doesnt feel the same :( I so hope that my lil clacker will go back to her normal flowery self after this girl is born or I will be one peeved off mumma!!

As for Riley grabbing at ur norks...he needs to know that it is rude and it hurts you...he is old enough to respect your body parts. Stay firm and be consistant. Even send him to the naughty corner or whatever u do each time he does it. It will soon die in the butt.

FirstTimeMummy
16-08-2008, 04:08 PM
:eek::eek::eek::eek: !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Chels - I wish I hadn't have asked...

E.M - I am still laughing at your post.. what a crack up!! You summed up exactly what I was thinking so... ummmm... eloquently! :laughing:

Thanks all for the advice on the Nappy Wrapper - I think I will probably purchase one. They aren't too expensive and it will definately save me walking downstairs in the middle of the night to take a dirty nappy outside in the cold.

I am getting lots of kicks in my right side ribs today and also my left side hip ?!?! I have no idea which way bubs is as I'm feeling movement at both ends but cannot tell hands from feet :confused:

Hope you are all having a fabulous weekend!!

Oh BTW - I tried making a bottle of formula this afternoon, mainly for practice (better to learn now than try to work it out with a crying baby!)... and bleugh... it tastes NASTY!!!
Only plan to use formula if I have problems feeding... I wonder if breast milk tastes as gross??

Caitlin

84zsazsa
16-08-2008, 04:09 PM
Hey Moni - I dont mind you calling lil man Sam...I do most the time too. I think it will be his middle name but. Hubby doesnt share as much passion for it as me. Only cause our cat shares the name!! :laughing:

I dont know bout Chels gynee veins but mine arent on the inside just the outer area but they a huge and sore!! :( I must say mine just doesnt feel the same anymore either....Ive been hoping it goes back to norm after too!!

Hope all you ladies are having a great weekend!! :sunshine: Quite one for us...hubby is starting his 4 days on (2 nightshift, 2 dayshift) 4 days off new roster 2morro. Will be great to have him home more. Bub is kicking up a storm this arvo and Im cooking a corned meat....YUMMY!!

Ohhh PS....nearly forgot...NAEBIE - your belly is sooo round and sweet....lovely.

Danni

84zsazsa
16-08-2008, 04:11 PM
Oh BTW - I tried making a bottle of formula this afternoon, mainly for practice (better to learn now than try to work it out with a crying baby!)... and bleugh... it tastes NASTY!!!
Only plan to use formula if I have problems feeding... I wonder if breast milk tastes as gross??

Caitlin

Breast milk aint much better Caitlin. I tried a girlfriends when she had her last bub and I cant say it is nice :no:

Danni

loulousmum
16-08-2008, 04:13 PM
Still feeling a bit down on missing the wedding today, but have been getting lots of photos sent to my phone and am expecting some on email between ceremony and reception - so nice to know they are still thinking of me!

I've had a nice day at home and made a banana/choc/walnut cake - yum!

We have hired a babysitter for the evening and are heading out to a 'noice' restaurant for a romantic evening. Archie has had a vomiting thing - lucky the babysitter is one of the carers from the kids' childcare so is used to that kind of thing!

Danni - I suffered with pubic and groin pain through preg #1 thinking it must be 'normal' and then in hospital after the birth the physio told me it's not normal and I shouldn't have suffered in silence - as a result and the help of chiro/physio/acupuncture, I've made it to this stage with twins without the horrible pain I've experienced in the past!! It's all well and good for people to say 'that's just pregnancy...' but I want to slap em!!!:laughing:

PinkLily - Thanks for your thoughts - I'm just a sook who wanted to wear a pretty dress and dance all night!

FTM - glad Chels explained the veins to you! I've only got bad veins on one side - so I'm lopsided!!! I have it on good authority that they will return to normal as soon as the babies aren't pushing down on them anymore:fingerscrossed:

Princess T - I never got the line either - but I have quite fair skin. My aunt (a midwife) tells me that it is most common to get it in first pregnancy and that many people don't experience it second time around (a bit like changes to nipple colour etc.)

Have just realised I'm wearing all black as a base for tonight's outfit - so am going to get a bump photo taken now - I'm guessing that even though it's only been two weeks I am much bigger....

Have a lovely evening!

loulousmum
16-08-2008, 04:16 PM
ZsaZsa - I'm with Danni - doesn't taste great - but it is important to get to know what yours smells and tastes like so you can tell if expressed breast milk is 'off' or not. Not that I'm suggesting a glass of it or putting it on your cereal etc.!!!:laughing:

BazzasMum
16-08-2008, 04:29 PM
Caitlin - I reckon formula tastes a bit like cardboard, and my DH tells me booby milk is quite sweet. Can't say I've tried it, but DS loved it!!! and the veins - got some bad ones in my groin on the right, and a nasty one on my right knee - DH reckons I look like a granny! Gee thanks! have had VV for years, but it's only this preg they're causing me any discomfort. Hope they fade a bit!

Afternoon tea at Sam's!!!! :yes:

Danni - YAY to having your DH home more.... that'll be nice and handy! How long will the roster stay in place?

Well we had a mad garden clean-up this morning. Filled the garden bag with palm fronds, DH mowed the back (front is a dried up mess - no point creating dust) and then we relaxed in the afternoon. Maybe I do need iron tablets - feel much more with it since taking them... and it's only been a couple of days!

*Chels*
16-08-2008, 05:19 PM
Yeah,my viens are IN my giny,just on one side like you Sam.I got them about half way thru Rileys pregnancy,but they popped up super early this time,and they are horrible!Also have them down one leg.They get really bad when I have my period too:confused:So I am getting rid of them after I give birth coz enough is enough!!!

Never tried formula-but yes,breast milk is sweet

I have work 2moro and cant be bothered!Only 4 shifts to go!
Have a good night girls!:flowerz:

naebie
16-08-2008, 07:48 PM
Hi Everyone!
Just a quick post, DP wants me to ask what you think of the name 'Arnold'?
He seems to have his heart set on it, though I really don't know where he pulled it from, it isn't a family name, he just likes it.
Honest opinions please, If you don't like it, please speak up because it seems that he doesn't value my opinion!

Shera
16-08-2008, 08:07 PM
Hello everyone :wave:

I'm finding it harder & harder to sit in front of the computer now, actually just sitting anywhere for more than a few minutes is making my right side really sore, like permanent stitch that intensifies until I stand - driving is the worst, that combined with the emotional episodes, painfiul gynee veins and pelvis that is constantly clicking in & out of place!. I'm going to ask to see a physio at my next middy appointment because I still need to help DF with work, finish my uni assignments & drive the children to school & buy everything for the baby etc. I know I should be focusing on the positive things but it's really difficult when my body is not coping well emotionally & physically! At least I have the birth to look forward to which should go really well because I'm having a hypnobirth.

Welcome Teegz, you'll get lots of support on this lovely forum, it's a good place to be when your having your first.

Sam - Your pics look fabulous, it's so nice to see you looking so radiant with twins - maybe you have twice the radiance?!

Chels - I know what you mean about the veins! I started off with none for my 1st pregnancy, I had a few gynee ones with my 2nd (they went back to normal), but they are out of control with this pregnancy & all on the top of my thighs & bottom - really scary looking especially with my complexion at the moment -I can't be bothered wearing fake tan when it's so cold! I agree with what Mon & Kirsty said with their advice about getting Riley to stop grabbing your boobies. Dante also did this for a long time after I stopped feeding him - probably because I fed him till he was 2 1/2.

Monique - You need some of these :hugs: I hope your feeling better now & that your DP is being supportive when your feeling down, but there's nothing like a good cry every now & then, cause it helps to get out your fears & worries.

Danni - I sympathise with the pelvis pain, ask if you can see a physio. I'm going to see one soon, with my DS the physio told me to sleep with a pillow between my legs - but this seems to contribute to my pelvis coming out of alignment , so I sleep with it under both legs now - I still get the horrid clicking sound when it goes in & out of place but it's not quite as painful as it was before I did this.

FTM - Formula does taste disgusting that's why formula fed baby poo smells so revolting, I've not tried breastmilk but DS used to tell me it tasted like strawberries :confused: And bf baby poo definitely doesn't smell as foul! As for the nappy wrapper or scented nappy bags - it sounds like a good idea for night time especially if you are a long way from the outside bin. I'm going to try & use cloth nappies as much as possible this time, but I'm sure there'll be times when I'll have to use disposables as well.

Kirsty - It sounds like your bub has lots of fluid to play around in, especially if its somersaulting every day! I'm sure i will end u in the right position, you can always try spinning babies if it still insists on somersaulting towards the end - maybe you have a future gymnast in there?!

Princess T - I'm with you on looking & feeling good when in hospital. Psychologically it's a great idea too - it makes you feel so much better & less like a hospy patient when you can put on makeup, do your hair & wear nice comfortable clothing. I don't have a Linear Nigra either - although I had it with my last two pregnancies.

Mel - It's good to hear that your healthy & going well, I'm sure the GD won't cause a problem for you for the rest of the pregnancy & the good thing is that it should disappear after you've had bub.

Lunar - :hugs: Get well soon to you & the kiddies.

Naebie - Arnold isn't a name that I'm overly fond of & it will most probably get shortened to Arnie by friends etc, but it could be a name that will grow on you & if it has family significance then it will mean more to you. I have a cousin called Arthur which I really didn't like at first but now I like it & it really suits him. Names are so subjective & personal anyway - some of the names I like & have used a lot of people would hate IYKWIM! At the end of the day you & your hubby have to like it before anyone else.

Good Night Everyone & Have a lovely Sunday tomorrow:) Emily.

KrissyM
16-08-2008, 08:09 PM
Naibe thoughts on the name Arnold - personally wouldnt use it doesnt appeal to me but thats just me maybe use it as a middle name. Thats what weve done with one of the names DP really likes and I wasnt overly found of - though thats more to do with being a teacher and a student at school. The upside to Arnold is it wont be very common so its unlikely he'll have to go through school with others kids in his class with the same name - I had that always hated it. But you both have to be happy with what you call bubs at the end of the day you'll have to live with it just as much as bubs will.
Have actually had a productive day. Had a waxing appointment this morning got a load of washing done before I left, come home to find DP had tidied up the lounge and hang the washing out without being asked. Got all the washing done but some of it is still on the line drying, hopefully the predicted showers dont kick in till it dry tomorrow. DP also did the dishes and tidied up all the kitchen cupboards. Most unlike him so I told him he was having sympathy nesting. Hopefully I can get a good nights sleep and get lots of painting in the Nursery done tomorrow. So goodnight :sleeping:
Kristy

loulousmum
17-08-2008, 10:05 AM
All this talk about veins is making my eyes water!

Lou won't talk to me this morning because I won't put on dvds for her - watching the Olympics! I'll get over it.

DH and I had a wonderful night last night, great meal at a nice restaurant and a good catch up. We've decided that once things have settled with the twins we will hire the same babysitter once a month on a Saturday night to do the same. That way we can save up my mum and other friends for other occasions!

Naebie - on the name Arnold. I'm not a big fan, and when I think of it shortened to Arnie - I think of The Terminator (now Governater!) - having said that, kids born this year won't grow up knowing about Arnold Schwareneger (sp?) and names grow on kids! Isn't there a kids character on ABC called Arnold? Anyway - I'm not one to ask - we've now settled on Twins names - Harriet and Edith (to be shortened straight away to Hattie and Edie) and I know that there will be people who HATE them!!! Too bad -we're happy with our decision!

Shera - Thanks - it makes a big difference to me if I'm looking good even if I don't feel so great. Even at the moment when I'm home most of the time I am making an effort to dress nicely and put on some make-up. Everyone keeps telling me I look great - but maybe they thought I'd be looking terrible by now? I certainly thought I would be!

naebie
17-08-2008, 10:35 AM
Hi everyone, thanks for your input on the name. To be honest, I really don't like it, but DP would not take my input on it, hopefully he does now he has heard other people's opinions. That said, when I showed him your comments he actually said 'Good, that means that nobody else will have the same name.' He has told me that he hates the fact that there are so many people with the same name as him, and he'd prefered to have been called Arnold himself, rather than sharing his name with 5-10 other Matt's in his year at school.

And, he has told me that he doesn'tlike the name Marley for a girl (which I thought we had agreed on months ago!)

So now, we have to try and come up with a name we both like that is not overly used, but still works for our bubs!

happyhips
17-08-2008, 02:43 PM
Hi Ladies, thanks for all of the advise about my cat. I still hate him!!! And yes he is desexed!!! I still can't believe it. I can kinda laugh about it now (sort of) but will never, ever forgive him.

Bazzasmum - His name is currently Tombay (because he looks like a ninja) and is about 2 years old. Sort of a moderate fluffy, smokey grey with stripes. I think he was a dumped x-mas pressie as we saved him soon after.

To all the ladies with the gynee veins, I don't have them but I most certainly have the haemorrhoids. Talk about ouch!!!!

I think that I've got over my sooky period and am now feeling as balanced as possible for me at this very vulnerable time. Maybe we're all getting 3rd trimester hormone surges.

For all the mums with naughty kids, I think they know something huge is happening and that mummy can't chase them when they're naughty. My 2 yr old has taken to hiding under the bed where he knows that there is no chance I can get him. Good to know I'm not the only one.

:hugs: to everyone feeling down in the dumps!!

Take care,

Annette:flowerz:

trisha24
17-08-2008, 04:42 PM

Thought I'd drop a quick post. Dr has started me on maternity leave 2 weeks early (33wks now) because they've diagnosed "Oligohydramnios" which means there is a low amount of amniotic fluid in her sac. Have to see my hospital Monday or Tuesday and see how they want to progress (most of what I can find on the net is monitor it, maybe early delivery or ceaser, or possibly other ways to try an increase the fluid levels).

Packed my hospital bag today to be safe so when I call them tomorrow it's in the car (probably don't need it, but incase they want to keep me overnight or something!) The ultrasound did show bub's growth and all that is fine, right on track, so no other concerns so just keeping focused on the positives for now!

Trisha (Brisbane)

Littleyorkshirepudding
17-08-2008, 07:10 PM

Just a quick note to say I'm still here and have been stalking the thread but haven't had time to reply and now my lovely hubby is just dishing up dinner (Gammon yum yum) so I don't get to post a reply now either as it is just ready back soon

LYP x

PrincessT
18-08-2008, 07:44 AM
Ive been stalking too and havent had much time for posting as by the time I get on, I'm exhausted!!!

Today I am finally going to clean my clothes drawers! They have needed it for weeks but I have been putting it off because I cant fit into most, so out of sight out of mind... or off body, off mind to be more articulate!

Trisha - take care of yourself and bubs. Make sure you do rest and take the advise of the Doc's. I'm sure you are in good hands but keep us posted ok xx

I must admit that I didnt know what Gynee veins were either and had to look it up LOL. It sounds painful ladies!! I asked my DH if anything downthere looked odd and he looked at me like I was strange.. so I am guessing it all looks normal.

Names - well, I've still got my mind set on Seraphina Rose Octavia but DH i think prefers Valentina Rose Octavia and whilst I dont mind either, my preference is Seraphina. I'm just not going to bring it up again until we are at the hospital and use my feminine charm and the fact I am about to have a child to get my own way LOL!!!!

OK - I'm getting back to the cleaning.. will be back on later.

loulousmum
18-08-2008, 08:17 AM
Naebie - when I was reading in bed last night a new character came into the book - named Arnaud. I looked it up but all I can find is 'ruler of eagles'!! But, sounds like Arnold and has a nice kind of Norman/French middle ages feel to it don't you think!!!!

Princess T - I get the feeling that you will get whatever name you want!!!! It took me a while to work out that gynee veins was a nice way of saying vaginal varicosities as well - and I've got them big time!!!!!

Well, our neighbour (who is in a public housing house and has been out of the country for the past 5 months - makes me so angry :banghead:) is back. She has a really massive and annoying security light on the side of her house and now that she's back, we're going to need black out blinds for Archie and the twins. So, I have a new job for the morning, a trip to AMart!

I'm also dropping in on my playgroup (although I don't have the kids!) to pick up some new tupperware - love it :smiliedance:

But other than that, not a lot to report. Didn't sleep well last night and this morning DH was kind enough to point out the bags under my eyes. My my I can feel a diamond ring coming on once these babies have arrived......

*Chels*
18-08-2008, 08:21 AM
Morning girls
I am officially over being pregnant!Worked yesterday,and by the end i was sore and uncomfy.Couldnt get comfy in bed last night either.I just feel HUGE!And bubs didnt stop moving ALL day-seriously!I think he is flipping round in there!

Trisha-I hope you get a good solution when you see the doctors.In the meantime,please take it easy!!

Annette-Sorry,I had to laugh about your DS hiding under the bed!:laughing:Little buggers arent they??

Naebie-I dont like the name Arnold.How come your DH is being so stubborn about it?Men!:rolleyes:

Emily-you poor thing,you sound like you are having a rough trot:hugs:I know what you mean about sitting up,I am finding it really uncomfy too.:hugs:

trisha24
18-08-2008, 10:11 AM

Update after seeing the hospital this morning. They are happy she isn't distressed at the moment so want to monitor it with 2 ultrasounds a weeks and antenatal clinic visits in between for the results. If things change then I guess they'll go from there.

From what I can find on the net, this condition is when the deepest point of fluid (from the neck, out past the chin) is less than 5cm. There is a condition for too much which is like more than 10cm. Her's is currently 1.8cm, so very low!!

I am keeping pretty positive though, obviously she is doing otherwise ok, and just have to take it as it comes. I think I am going to get bored very quickly being stuck at home though!

Keep you posted,
Trisha

PS: Chels, I sympathise with your not sleeping - I had insomnia last week and have trouble finding comfy sleeping spots too! :-)

babysweet
18-08-2008, 10:55 AM

Yay!!! We started setting up the baby's room this weekend!:smiliedance:

We brought home the cot, change table and some other little nick nacks that we had on layby!

My darling husband put together the cot and change table, it looks just beautiful!:kiss:

We started to put some of the baby things up, and put together the musical mobile and attached it to the cot, it looks sooo cute!:cloud9:

Sometimes i find my husband in the baby's room with the musical mobile on just looking at the room! I get really emotional when i see him doing that! awww:valentine: :kiss:

Still waiting for the rest of the manchester to come in so that i can finish doing the cot, but what we have done so far looks just beautiful! :flowerz:

kamb1403
18-08-2008, 12:08 PM
I have been sent home from work as I was sick this morning. Been to the doctors and I have one of the stomach bugs that are going around at the moment.

Apart from that, all is good. Bubs is moving quite alot and loves to kick Ryan when he is lying on me asleep.

Twiglet
18-08-2008, 01:22 PM

Hope you had a good weekend

Chels - Sounds like Riley is picking up on your mood. How your feeling better now?

Caitlin - Don't think I'll be getting a nappy wrapper. Ours is a small house so its not far to walk to the bin from the change table.

KrissyM - Thanks for that. Each time I have a medical appointment I book a day off "Planned leave" now. Not something I would normally do but considering the way things are its just too much stress getting there and back.

LouLousmum - MMMMM a feel a diamond might help heal the pain for me too. However not holding my breach. 20 days after I give birth is my 40th…… Was planning a big bash but will have to wait until next year now.

Trisha24 - I know you're bored but at least it sounds like good news

Kamb1403 - hope you feel better soon.

I've never tried formula or breast milk! Something to look forward to I suppose. LOL

My weekend - I just had yoga then the baby and parenting expo. What an eye opener. Thank goodness someone had warned us not to go at the same time as the kids shows. Sunday was just relaxing then spent the afternoon with my SIL and her family. It was nice. We have agreed that the MIL can baby-sit soon and the 4 of us are going to go out for dinner

Electric Mumi
18-08-2008, 01:57 PM
I had writted a post with loads of personaly when my little angel hit the power button on my hard drive...yep lost the lot. Cant be bothered right now reposting it all so just a quickie.

Thanks for the hugs SHERA!!

Oh the name debate continues with a few of us I see! Glad Im not the only one! Was hoping he would cave and let me use my original choice..Suraya...but he just doesnt like it at all. Was even gona do what Princess T said and wait till I had him all vulnrable after the birth and spring it on him again..but I cant do that if he genuinely doesnt like the name I spose. We have steered away from Maori names again. Seems like a never ending cycle! We have one name that I suggested in the first few months that he has decided he really likes now..musta forgotten he didnt like it! haha no surprises there really!

Naibe: My opinion on the name Arnold is...very much the same as urs! Where the hell did he come up with that for gods sake??? When I hear that name I automatically thing MAJOR DOOFUS! Sorry but names say alot about us. I totally agree with what he says about not wanting a common name, but their are some nice names that you dont hear much these days that arent way out either like Joel, Dominic, Scott, Jakob, Marcus could list loads more if u wanted me to! I love boys to have a strong masculine name and girls to be quite feminine. Thats my opinion tho of course. You both have to at least like the name..you are both the parents! My Dp and I have different views on names too...he is more conservative than I am with them. He would be happy to call her Mary or Lilly which are nice names but they are just too common for me. So I wen on every name site known to man and did up lists of names for him to check out and we deleted the ones he didnt like and went from there.Sadly we change our minds like we change our undies...but its a good compromise that way. If I can help throw ideas at you let me know...or giveu sites I found to be helpfil :)

Lordy lordy girls, can honestly say that Ive never heard of these gynee veins u speak of. I thought my clacker was treating me badly...but hell you gals seem to be really suffering much more than I am! Hugs to you all xoxoxoxo

PrincessT
18-08-2008, 03:09 PM
I'm actually sleeping well for the moment, I actually cant believe it!!! I do have to get up at least once to pee but other than that, its actually pretty good at my end (fingers are so crossed its not funny!).

So today I cleaned up my side of the wardrobe. I have so many clothes (yeah so there is a surprise) and because they havent been worn for a while I re-washed them all.. so 5 loads later they are all folded waiting to be returned or ironed. Its so much work but they all smell and look so fresh. I managed to get 2 piles together, one for charity and one for my cousin who is 15 and loves all the stuff I give her because its mainly designer label and they are not worn out, its just that I get sick of them or *cough cough* I dont fit into them and are unlikely to fit into anything that is a size 6 and made out of backless cream silk for a long long while!!

Ive got dinner on already too.... so happy today :)

loulousmum
18-08-2008, 04:02 PM
Ahhh, I'm feeling a picutre of domestic bliss also!

Dinner is almost ready for later - chicken, fetta and sweet potato salad! Yum.

I bought myself a recliner at Freedom - 7 week wait but that works out about right! With any luck it will be ready around the time I'm in hospital. Also bought some blinds, new cushions to freshen up the couch and an engagement gift for some friends.

Got my tupperware - love it all.

Kids are bathed and happy and are having a snack and watching Bindi the Jugnle Girl. After that we are making jelly! DH due home in about 1/2 an hour. Love it when he comes home to dinner made, kids bathed and happy and tidy house. Because I know how much I love to come to home to that when I'm working - and it might be a bit hard to manage for awhile when twins come!!

Princess T - great minds think alike - I've been thinking about getting drawers and wardrobe organised with clothes that are likely to fit etc. in the first few months.

Electric - I agree with you about names - love girly ones for girls and strong ones for boys. Am finding it harder and harder to keep my names a secret, but when I'm out shopping and shop assistants find out it's twins, they always ask what sex and if I have names - so I'm getting it out of my system by sharing with them!!!

Twiglet - A party is a great occasion to 'return to the normal world' - my 30th was when Louella was 6 months old and I was back to my old self - in fact, I actually think better than old self! It gave me something to work toward post-baby body wise and was a realistic amount of time! So maybe you can go for 40 and a half or 41? Or better still, wait until your 41st but pass it off as your 40th!!!!

As for diamonds - I got a gorgeous eternity ring when Louella was born and have had my eye on a few rings since I found out the extra additions! My jewellery style is gold and diamond Art Deco, so I trawl through the estate shops and when I find what I want I have to pounce as most of the time you'll only find one of what you are after once in a blue moon. Luckily it is fairly inexpensive as it was made in an era where there wasn't a whole lot of money going around and so the quality of the diamonds isn't great!!

That's enough raving from me! I'm off to a New and Expecting Mums' Morning Tea with the multiple births association tomorrow morning - I'm really looking forward to it. There will be 4 mums there with twins aged around 6-12 weeks - so I'm hoping to learn lots!

farmmummy
18-08-2008, 04:30 PM
Hi Ya all hope you are all doing well. I got home today at 1:15pm from my weekend away. Was lovley but very busy. Saturday we went to have a look at a house at Jacobs Ridge to rent very nice and is available in 2 weeks. Then we went and visited our friend (the ones whos father might have the a place for us to rent) Matt did some work with them with their cattle. Then we went to visit her dad and I tried some Krispy Kreme Donuts. No idea yet about the place couldn't see it from the road for the trees. We came to the conclusion last night that if we don't hear anything by Wednesday from our firends then we're going to try for this place at Ormeau. Matt went into the office today and told them what was happening and put the application in already so they are just waiting on a call from Matt on Wednesday/Thursday. Not really happy about being home about again but only till the weekend. Matt wanted me to stay down there another day but I thought I'd better get home to do some more work to the house especially if we're moving in a fortnight or so. He doesn't think that he'd be able to travel home on Friday so I'm back down there on the weekend any way mainly because I have another ob appointment on Wednesday at the Mater so I need to be there.
Sunday we got up early and went to the markets at Beenleigh, went back to uncles place had breaky then off to Coopers Plains to take him to a camping shop. Dropped uncle home and went to the Logan Hyperdome had lunch and then by the time we finished we got back had a shower and went to Matt's cousins for a BBQ. Was really good Matt and his cousins had a spa I had to sit it out unfortunatley. Eventually got back to uncles at 9:15pm. Slept well. Drove all the way home this morning after stopping off at Bunnings to pick up some paint brushes and plastic boxes for paper work to be stored in and the lovley big plastic stripped bags to pack clothes and linen. So on top of finishing off a few things this week (cleaning and oiling of verandah couple of little touch ups from paint) I am also starting on the packing but only some of it because I'm paying for the removalist to pack the rest.
Sorry its been about me and that I haven't done any personals it took me a nanna nap and a little while to catch up on all the post.

Nikki x

*Chels*
18-08-2008, 04:41 PM
Hi girls,I have felt like sh!t all day!Luckily Riley behaved,and I dozed on the couch while he watched ABC kids...for 2 hours!:oHave had terrible heartburn all day too!!

Am looking at slings..what do you think of this one?

SLING (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=250284008914&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=015)

Babysweet-Your post was soooo cute!Your DH sounds like such a sweetheart!Sometimes I think its so hard for the daddies to bond during pregnancy,but it sounds like he is doing a sterling job!!!

Kamb-Hope you feel better soon!My neighbour and her boy have gastro atm,am hoping their germs dont float over the fence LOL

Mon-its so hard to choose a name!Lucky for me DH just agreed with me on a name,and I let him choose the middle name so everyone is happy!!
You stil have 8 weeks to decide.

Mark is off to work at 6,so I will be floating around before I have an early night.

PrincessT
18-08-2008, 04:51 PM
OK - I have to seriously get rid of some things. I cant fit everything back in the wardrobe... and thats without me buying some new casuals for summer eeekkkkk. I was thinking, if I put some of my more evening clothes (like ball gowns and stuff, things i know I'll need to use in advance) in a few suit bags i could sneak them into my mums. She has a 6 bedroom house all with built in's and she wont mind.

I do need new sandals too LOL

DH came home the other day with a new motorbike helmet for drag racing, I almost died when he told me it was $690!!!! He did point out that it protects his head whilst racing and whilst I appreciate that, who knew they would cost that much? He did also point out I have shoes that cost that much (b a s t a r d - they always remember the wrong things) and I had to admit defeat and tell him how handsome it looked LOL.

OK - well, I'm going to finish Allegra off with dinner and DH is going to bath her whilst I finish off my room.

Have a nice night everyone xx

kamb1403
18-08-2008, 05:02 PM
I have been asleep on the lounge for about 3 hours. The twins came home from school and kept there noise down so I could sleep.

I am feeling better at the moment, however will see how I go eating something.

Twiglet
18-08-2008, 05:15 PM
Ahhh, I'm feeling a picutre of domestic bliss also!

Twiglet - A party is a great occasion to 'return to the normal world' - my 30th was when Louella was 6 months old and I was back to my old self - in fact, I actually think better than old self! It gave me something to work toward post-baby body wise and was a realistic amount of time! So maybe you can go for 40 and a half or 41? Or better still, wait until your 41st but pass it off as your 40th!!!!

As for diamonds - I got a gorgeous eternity ring when Louella was born and have had my eye on a few rings since I found out the extra additions! My jewellery style is gold and diamond Art Deco, so I trawl through the estate shops and when I find what I want I have to pounce as most of the time you'll only find one of what you are after once in a blue moon. Luckily it is fairly inexpensive as it was made in an era where there wasn't a whole lot of money going around and so the quality of the diamonds isn't great!!

around 6-12 weeks - so I'm hoping to learn lots!
I feel so jealous. Bliss is not how I'd discribe our place at the moment.

I'm hoping to get an eternity ring to match my wedding ring. My engagement ring has a large diamond on it so I can't complain.

As for the party. MMM with summer right after the birth I'm really going to try and get my old bod back. Then I'll think about having a party. Plus we already have the christening, christmas, new years to deal with. Between you and me I think DH might be organising a suprise party on the sly so going to have to pull my finger out after the birth.

KrissyM
18-08-2008, 05:37 PM
Evening all
Bubs discovered a new position today. Not quite sure what its doing but it hits a nerve which makes it feel like there is a nerve pinching in my bum OUCH!!! and it wont listen to me when I tell it to move, checky bubs.
Other than that not much else. Went to Drs yesterday, all is well with bubs, was lying head down yesterday but its too early for it to settle like that. 9 weeks to go, down to single figures :smiliedance: I cant believe how close we are to seeing our little buddles making apparences, its getting sooooo close. DP's bestie is due to be a dad in 11 days hopefully he'll come up and visit so DP can practise holding a baby and changing nappies before ours in born.
Nabie sounds like your not having much luck with the name battle. DP and I kinda have an unspoken agreement that if one doesnt like the name then it doesnt get used. It took us a long time to agree on boys names but finally we have settled on Rhys Jordan or Patrick Neil. But then we may change our mind when its born, or it may be a girl, we havent talked about girls names in awhile, there a few we both liked.
Anyway better go ante natal class tonight, discussing breast feeding and dads are getting taught how to massage mums in labour, what a shame it will be if they have to practise tonight.
Kristy

Electric Mumi
18-08-2008, 06:34 PM
Hi girls,I have felt like sh!t all day!Luckily Riley behaved,and I dozed on the couch while he watched ABC kids...for 2 hours!:oHave had terrible heartburn all day too!!

Mon-its so hard to choose a name!Lucky for me DH just agreed with me on a name,and I let him choose the middle name so everyone is happy!!
You stil have 8 weeks to decide.

Oh poor darl..gee u have had a time of it. I felt like ****e today too..still snotty and Kane was up from 1am with an ear ache. Im doing the sling thing too. I am going to get a "moby wrap" as its got great even distribution of weight and is easy to wear and reposition if you wana breast feed or have baby sleep etc.
Im pretty happy with the name that we talked about on the weekend actually..hoping to gawd I dont change my mind again!!!

How do u put a link up like that sling one u did??

btw: I only have 7 weeks left! that means 3 weeks till full term..eeekk!!!

Lyneve
18-08-2008, 08:44 PM
Evening ladies

I'm into the last 10 weeks.. and starting to feel .. um.. full of baby? No stretch marks, but my poor belly button is doing some weird contortions! :laughing:

The sling looks good Chels, cosy for bub when he is small!

I splashed out and bought a pikkolo...

http://catbirdbaby.com/shop/item_23/Spa-pikkolo.htm

I hope it lasts a long time, and is comfortable enough to wear bushwalking. The Moby is the other one I considered EM.

Names are hard. I seem to change my mind with my mood. When I'm emotional/grumpy I like one, when I'm happy I like another. Bubs final name might be a reflection on how I feel after he is born :)

Have a midwife appointment on Wed. Looking forward to hearing bubs heartbeat again!

Sleep Well!

babysweet
18-08-2008, 08:46 PM
Babysweet-Your post was soooo cute!Your DH sounds like such a sweetheart!Sometimes I think its so hard for the daddies to bond during pregnancy,but it sounds like he is doing a sterling job!!!

Yeah he is pretty good, hehe, :D, he was just telling me that he cant wait for little bubba now, he is getting excited. He came home from work today and went in baby's room and started having all these ideas.... bless :kiss:

babysweet
18-08-2008, 08:54 PM

SLING (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=250284008914&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=015)

The sling looks great, looks very easy to carry bubs around, the cost is low which is fantastic, better than the baby shops... go for it! :yelclap:

Yeah i'm starting to get heartburn lately too... is it true that the more heart burn (if any) is that the baby has a full head of hair??? I've heard this from someone and wondered if it was true..... and, is it normal to start around now??? :confused:

PrincessT
19-08-2008, 07:20 AM
Morning ladies!! Hope everyone is feeling more the stuff today... we only have a few weeks to go YAY!!!

I really like all the slings around but every one I ever tried on felt so uncomfortable for me and Allegra hated them! She did get used to a baby Bjorn which was handy as we used it excessively when we took her overseas. I washed it already, so hopefully it gets another bashing from this bubba.

Krissy - it sounds like you have Sciatica if you are getting the pain down the bum. I have been getting it BADDDDD over the past few weeks and its common in pregnancy because the ligaments are apparently soft and are easy to upset.. mine comes and goes. Hope it doesnt linger for you if thats what it is.

Names - I woke up this morning wondering if the name valentina may suit this bubs more... eeekkkkkk, I think this baby may be named on the day and not in advance!

When I was at my in-laws on Sunday, I got told by DH grandmother and aunt that I was looking very round in the face!! Whats with that?? I have put on hardly any weight and they just have to find something negative to comment on.. why do people do that? Why can they just say I look glowing or something? Then there was the whole talk about how nice it would be for DH to have a son and that if we or my brother in law dont have boys then the family name ends with us... well, considering 2 ultrasounds said this was a girl and we already have a daughter and I am not having a third, they better hope my brother in law finds a woman willing to have babies until ones a boy!!! Gosh I was angry...

Heartburn - I think its a wives tale about the baby having hair if you have heartburn. DD had hair and I didnt have any at all.... but who knows, there is an old wives tale about everything isnt there!

OK - off to eat some breakky, pay some bills (there's a fun day for you) and head into Best & Less, they have 25% off Bonds Singlets, so I am going to get some for Allegra for next year.

Ciao ciao xx

loulousmum
19-08-2008, 08:27 AM
I'm with Princess T - never liked the slings and couldn't get either bub to settle in them!! But loved the Bjorn and have borrowed a second one for this time so DH and I can take one twin each!!

Heartburn and hair? I prove the old wives tale - had no heartburn with Lou and she was bald until she was two. Heaps with Archie and he was born with a big full head of dark hair. Go figure. Got it this time but truly think it is more about the twin thing than the hair thing!!

Am home alone this morning baking a slice to take to the multiple births morning tea this morning. Have just realised that I've had Raggs Dogs on in the background for 20 minutes. I've truly developed the ability to zone out!! Must come from years of drama teaching!

Electric - I'm with you on the countdown. I only have to last four more days to get to 32 weeks and if they come I can go to the Sunnybank (nothing against Mater, but Sunnybank is where I had the others and if I'm going to have to come and go everyday would be far more convenient!). Also - that means that if they come when Louella did - I'm only talking another 4 weeks!!! But knowing my luck, I'll be one of the 8% of twin pregnancies that goes full term!!!!!

Lyneve - I'm with you, still no stretch marks (have been religiously applying stretch mark stuff twice a day since 5 weeks - wonder if that's what's doing it for me?) but belly button is starting to do weird things and I'm sure it is about to pop out - never has before. Last night I ate too much salad at dinner and tummy was so tight it was painful! Will have to cut down on meal sizes from now on I think!

Off to ice my slice. Am dearly hoping to not hear too many nightmare stories from the new mums at the morning tea this morning. Surely if they are new mums of twins able to get out of the house to attend a morning tea, they must be coping okay.....will report back later!

*Chels*
19-08-2008, 08:31 AM
MORNING!
I am going to try to be more positive,I am SUCH a whinger atm!!Better suck it up,coz I have still have 53 days left!:D

Mon-to post a link,I copy the link from toolbar,come onto bubhub page,write the word ie SLING,then highlight it and click on that little world icon above all the smilies,and then paste the link in the box.Took me awhile to know what to do,but give it a try!

I think I will get that sling.Hopefully bubs likes it,coz I want something to BF in.Never had one for Riley and its so annoying having to sit down for an hour or so to feed!We are taking Riley to Seaworld for his bday so it will be perfect to put bubs in for the day so I can still have fun with Riley.

PT-Your inlaws sound RUDE!No need to say stuff like that!My MIL never asks how my baby is doing or anything,the only coment she ever makes is about how "potty"I am looking!WTF?
Just yell at them in your head:laughing:
And I really like the name Valentina!!

Babysweet-The heartburn/hair thing is just an old wives tale.Its got something to do with baby squashing up your stomach,or digestive track or something(cant remember the exact medical terms LOL)
Altho I had it sooooo bad with riley and he was born with a gorgeous head of dark hair!
Heres a pic of him when he was about 20 mins old,god it makes me sooo clucky!!

CLICK (http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j208/chels21_photos/1stcuddlewithdaddy.jpg)

Krissy-Sounds painful!Naughty bubs!!
How did your antenatal class go?
Your names are great,not fussed on Patrick tho-its my ex's name!LOL!But it is a cool name,Riley has a wee friend at kindy called Patrick,and I like Patty for short.

farmmummy
19-08-2008, 09:02 AM
Morning all not much to report here atm. I have to go into town soon to get more vacuum bags and paint stripper. I've booked Spot into the vets tomorrow to be de-sexed (heeheehee) Hoping that will stop the wandering and peeing every where. Matt put the application into the real estate yesterday afternoon they are holding on to it until they hear from Matt either tomorrow arvo or Thursday:fingerscrossed:. I'd much rather the place at Jacobs Ridge than Ipswich just have to wait and see I guess .

When I got changed this morning I took off my pj pants and there looks like there was blood on them around the crutch :detective: not much so it might have just come from the thrush (I have been using cream to help relieve it and it's slowly working just not completley gone). I am slightly panicked that it means something is going to go wrong. So I'm about to tidy myself and Sarah up go into town and get what I have to so I can get as much done today just incase.

Heartburn and hair: all three so far have had hair and I've had heartburn. Fourth time is a charm shocking heartburn this time.

Names: Matt and I are disagreeing on middle names. It's either Thomas Martin (Matt's choice Martin was his mums' dad) and Thomas Matthew (obviously my choice why shouldn't he be named after his dad). So we agreed that if bub has bright red hair like Matt when he was born then it's Martin but if bub comes out like Sarah and Jack then I win.

Chels - I won a sling earlier this year from the BubHub Newsletter from Jazsling (made in Qld) it looks very similar to yours I plan on using it while I can I have a carrier for when bub is bigger but for the first bit I'll use the sling.

Sam - have fun at your morning tea.

Teena - Some people should follow the old saying of if you haven't got anything nice to say don't say anything at all.

Well feeling very slack today even tho I was quite keen to get moving when I woke up. I'd better get in and do it just incase.

Hope you have a good day.

Nikki x

*Chels*
19-08-2008, 09:20 AM
Nikki-I wanted the Jazsling,but shes not selling on Ebay or Oztion anymore:confused:
No good about the blood!You should get checked out hun:hugs:

Twiglet
19-08-2008, 11:51 AM
Princess Teena - We want a baby bjorn. I have a bad back so I need the support.

OK which one of you has given me your cold…. LOL. Yup feel like death warmed up today. Thank goodness I have tomorrow off.

loulousmum
19-08-2008, 12:14 PM
Twiglet - I didn't give you the cold but am happy to say that after about 97 days my '100 day cough' has gone. We loved our BabyBjorn and they last for ages and ages. Ours has been borrowed by three people as well as being used for our two kids and still looks brand new!

Farmmum - I don't know if the answer to possible spotting is to do even more work...please get it checked out! Although, you are probably right about the thrush.

Teena - I forgot to mention your in-laws comments earlier. Maybe it is because my mother-in-law and sister-in-law are so tactless and at times offensive that nothing surprises me anymore!!!

Well, the morning tea was good - definitely worth going to just to hear about breastfeeding twins and getting them into early routines. Having said that - the only people there were the host (twins aged 4), the committee secretary (twins aged 4) and one new mum (twin boys aged 5 months - very cute). So it wasn't really a new and expecting mums morning tea in the true sense!! The new mum looked fantastic and also has a 2 1/2 year old - who isn't in any form of care! She said it is a bit of a struggle sometimes and she didn't breastfeed past 4 weeks.

The GOOD news is that all three of them had natural births between 36 and 38 weeks.

The BAD news is that they tell me even if I can have the babies at my choice of hospital after 32 weeks, if they are born before 36 weeks chances are they will be transported to the city hospitals anyway and I will be separated from them. So, I will have to ask my Dr on Thursday afternoon what the deal is...I'd rather be with the babies, so maybe I will have to draw a line at 36 weeks and say that before that it is the Mater and after that it is the Sunnybank.

Anyway, have just put a chicken curry in the slow coooker and had better have a rest now as I'm going to Qld Theatre Company tonight to see Travelling North.

Bye for now.:flowerz:

kamb1403
19-08-2008, 12:58 PM

I am home again today. The doctor gave me today off so I thought I better take it. My boss is so lovely and understanding - she didn't want me to go in today and was so happy when I rang and told her I was staying home.

Feeling alot better today. Haven't been :barf:which is wonderful. I went back to bed at 9.30am and slept till the phone woke me up at 12.30pm. So I won't need a nanna nap this afternoon.

Hope everyone is feeling well.

Kylie

farmmummy
19-08-2008, 01:26 PM
Chels - I thought the lady at Jazsling did money orders? You could always order online off her site I thought.

Sam - Not really planning on doing more work, infact I have hardly done any today except to drive into town to get paint stripper and more vacuum bags. I've pressure cleaned the verandah too. Other than that hardly done anything. I'm about to do some house work,and then I've got to feed Spot early (he's not alowed food after 6pm poor bugger). I haven't had any more spotting of any kind and I'm still itchy. Plus bub hadn't stopped moving at all either. I'll keep an eye on things then if I am still worried by the time I take the dog in (which is first thing) then I'll go straight to the drs.

BazzasMum
19-08-2008, 04:42 PM
Wow so many posts!

Nikki - can you blot down there with TP, see where the spotting's coming from? Or get a mirror, see if there's any irritation from the thrush? Should be easy to see if it's external...

Heartburn - had some, DS was bald till 18mths. Wives tale.... i like to pick and choose, depending which fit me!! LOL

Sam - 37 weeks sounds good for a natural labour..... glad you met some nice ladies.

Chels - MIL sent me a sling - it's massive! Bub sits at my knees, unless there's a trick to it. In the drawer, never used. Bought myself a babygear pouch from Big W. Managed to BF bub in the supermarket quite often.....always in the cat food aisle for some reason :confused:

Naebie - tell your DH to get his head out his bum. Arnold is a cruel name for a baby. Like Moni said, there's heaps of nice names that won't be common.

Teena - your in-laws are a bit blunt! Big deal if your face is a bit puffy - they have no right to be so rude. :hugs:

I started packing my bag yesterday. The nappies and wipes take up 1/4 of the room!! Sux the hospy don't provide anything. Oh and apparently incontinence pads are more effective for those first few days after birth. Bit embarrassing buying them tho!! :laughing:

MIL sent a package - got my Calmbirth CD in it. Now to find somewhere quiet I can listen to it..... and i picked up my HD top box off layby today (tax man cometh!! :D ) so set that up. Can't believe the picture quality on my crappy old tv - now I can watch Red Dwarf on ABC2!!!! how sad am I??? :yes:

Anyway, I'm stuffed. There was a fire close-by last night. Woke up choking on smoke around 12:30am. DH closed all the bathroom doors etc and turned on the fan, I closed the bedroom window after I looked outside. Was like a thick fog! By the time we got up, the wind had picked up and blew it all away. But everything was covered in black ash, including the dog beds. In fact, Kahlua was in such a deep sleep when I opened the door, I thought she'd died overnight! Got such a huge fright... couldn't see her breathing. And she's old too, so don't know how much longer it'll be before that happens for real...

Electric Mumi
19-08-2008, 05:39 PM
Danni: You are so thoughtful! Thanks so much for my birthday card and scratchies!! Was a lovely surprise. Not scratching them till my birthday tho..might be luckier on the day!! And yes if I win big, I will def shout u a ticket...but not a scratchy or lotto...we will do something fabulous after these bubbas are born!! Fingers crossed girlfriend!!!!!! :smiliedance:

The BAD news is that they tell me even if I can have the babies at my choice of hospital after 32 weeks, if they are born before 36 weeks chances are they will be transported to the city hospitals anyway and I will be separated from them. So, I will have to ask my Dr on Thursday afternoon what the deal is...I'd rather be with the babies, so maybe I will have to draw a line at 36 weeks and say that before that it is the Mater and after that it is the Sunnybank.

Arent you in Mansfield Sam?? Mater isnt that far from there. They shouldnt transport them to Mater unless they are under 1000grams or in need of super special attention\facilities. Im in Carindale...thought of u today at the shopping centre actually!

Did my tax online today and had to call the ato about something and they told me that I didnt claim my baby bonus last yr, so I have to amend it and get it paid this yr!! WoooT Thank you very much! Also opened an ING account to start putting some money away for a nice holiday next yr. DP wants to go to NZ to see his folks and have the littlies meet their grandies b4 they drop off the perch.
Mum sanded and painted a wardrobe I bought for baby today..her little project! Looks awsome now..green to match the curtains. Ive got some fabulous wall stickers from ebay that I will put on it also.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/GROOVY-BUTTERFLY-FLOWERS-BUGS-REMOVABLE-WALL-STICKERS_W0QQitemZ170249587040QQihZ007QQcategoryZ5 2348QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/BRIGHT-ALPHABET-DOOR-NAMES-REMOVABLE-WALL-STICKERS_W0QQitemZ170250739804QQihZ007QQcategoryZ5 2348QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=160210564510&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=006

84zsazsa
19-08-2008, 06:19 PM
Danni: You are so thoughtful! Thanks so much for my birthday card and scratchies!! Was a lovely surprise. Not scratching them till my birthday tho..might be luckier on the day!! And yes if I win big, I will def shout u a ticket...but not a scratchy or lotto...we will do something fabulous after these bubbas are born!! Fingers crossed girlfriend!!!!!! :smiliedance:

Moni - Really glad you liked em.....Can never enjoy getting a yr older but love others!!! Crazy....lol. Arghhhhh....something fab....I will keep my fingers crossed so hard they nearly fall off!! :laughing:

To the rest of you lovely ladies....I have been stalking the thread just too buggered these days to post. Thanks for the info on the back Sam...it drives me mad when the hospital brushs me off. I see them Monday and will be seriously telling not asking for help for it....Im damn near cripple at the moment!! I cant even walk by this time of the night. Got my Sugar results today from the 2nd unnessesary test and ........bubba is just BIG...and I can sure feel that in my pelvis!!! :laughing: My sugar is still fine.

Well hubby is on nightshift so Im hitting the hay early....Keep well ladies.....

Oh Nikki - BECAREFUL with the bleeding please!!

Belly rubs....

Danni

Electric Mumi
19-08-2008, 06:53 PM
Danni: the best thing out for my back has been my chiro. I was dead against them until I was forced by my mum after years of nagging to go and see hers. I was in a snow accident many yrs ago, Im talking like 14 yrs ago...and I was at the bottom of about 200 people. Thought I was gona die..couldnt breathe etc.. Anyhoo...I suffered for years with a fuct bak, neck and shoulders..lots of it was from my pelvis I found out too. I seriously suggest seeing one darl! I hear osteopaths are fabulous too.

Im seeing mine weekly again at the mo now Ive had these issues with my shoulder and back recently. Plus being pregnant we need adjusting more often.

*Chels*
19-08-2008, 07:54 PM
I have just had a huge cry:crying:
Mum emailed me,my stupid stepad has had a brain bleed(hes had 2 brain tumours before,and cancer!And he still wont die!!:rolleyes:)and Mum is on urgent waiting list to get surgery for a form of cancer on her nose.
So shes saying sheprobably wont come over in Oct anymore,not till next year:hair:
It just really sh!ts me she always finds an excuse not to come and see her fricken kids and grandkids!
I am just gonna get upset about it if I keep thinking bout it,just wanted to vent!

:crying::crying:

farmmummy
19-08-2008, 08:00 PM
Evening all thanks for the warnings and well wishes.
Kirsty - I've been going to the loo all day and each time I go there isn't anything on the paper. I have a terrible habit of scratching at things while I'm a sleep and making them bleed even something like a mozzie bite. It's a bit tender today so I'm guessing it was just me rubbing it while I was a sleep. Bubs hasn't stopped moving all day especially tonight, hasn't even looked like slowing down.
I'm in the foulest of moods this evening. I think because I'm so tired. I'm off to bed in a sec just as soon as I have a shower.
matt rang to tell me that our friends dad has come thru with this place. Even has a pool and is two stories. He's going to go and have a look tomorrow arvo. Bit undecided at the moment on which to take. Place in Ipswich might be cheaper but what we save in rent we will have extra cost in fuel and tolls as well as wear and tear on the car. So we're at a stale mate but I'm still hoping for the place at Jacobs Ridge. Matt is going to come home some time for a week so we can get the rest of things finished.
Get to take the dog in to be de-sexed he's got to be there at 8 in the morning. I've got to clean off the paint from the verandah which is not too bad but painful enough then wash it down (which is still the easy bit). Try and have that done before picking up the mutley from the vets at 3ish.
Okay girls will talk with you again tomorrow.

Nikki x

farmmummy
19-08-2008, 08:07 PM
I have just had a huge cry
Mum emailed me,my stupid stepad has had a brain bleed(hes had 2 brain tumours before,and cancer!And he still wont die!!)and Mum is on urgent waiting list to get surgery for a form of cancer on her nose.
So shes saying sheprobably wont come over in Oct anymore,not till next year
It just really sh!ts me she always finds an excuse not to come and see her fricken kids and grandkids!
I am just gonna get upset about it if I keep thinking bout it,just wanted to vent!

Sorry Chels you posted while I was still typing. :hugs: to you hun I kinda know what your feeling on top of that I'm about ready to have a :crying: myself just feeling slightly frustrated tonight. I don't wanna play (I've had enough of doing the house) I just want to be down with my husband now. :hugs:Hope you feel better soon.

Nikki x

*Chels*
19-08-2008, 08:12 PM
Thanks Nikki:hugs:I think at this point in pregnancy,everything just starts taking its toll and the smallest things seem like huge dramas!
Hope you feel happier soon hun:hugs::goodvibes:

sweetperfectchild
19-08-2008, 08:35 PM
Singlepregnantlurker....[I am still hovering here, just insanely busy].

Just the last few days my little lady has somehow managed to start kicking me in what feels like a really *private* place IYKWIM? It's like she's found the uterine equivalent of a funny bone. Anyone else? I know she is living in a very private place, but this just seems unreasonable! I wish I had a window so I could see what she's doing in there. It feels like a cat trying to get comfy in my lap and occasionally sharpening her claws.

KrissyM
19-08-2008, 08:51 PM
Stupid computer just ate my post had to many little pic thingys and when I deleated one my whole post went but Im too happy to let that stop me so Im going to share all my good news again.
But 1st Chels lots of :hugs::hugs::hugs:try not to let it get to you too much.
After a crapy nights sleep ive had nothing but good news all day. Ok just got a phone call from one of my good friends she got engaged on Sunday, Im sooooo excited for her. Hopefully this helps DP get his butt into gear and ask me.
Earlier my mum called to say shes able to come up from Adelaide for my baby shower, didnt think she'd be able to afford to cause I dont have room for her so she has to stay at the caravan park, before DP moved in she'd have my bed and Id sleep on the lounge but shes got a bad back and needs a bed. Then I found out my bestie is coming down from Adelaide as well and she almost never comes to visit not sure where shes staying cause I didnt organsie for her to come. Plus one of my other really close friends is also coming down (but she only lives an hour away). If only my sister could pop over from Ireland for that weekend dont think that will happen somehow, though she will be down under at the end of november for mums wedding.
So thats my news, feel kinda bad for bragging but Im soooo excited I just wanted to share so sending lots of happy vibes to those feeling a bit down atm :wizard::babydust2::babydust2:
Nite all
Kristy

Electric Mumi
19-08-2008, 10:17 PM
I have just had a huge cry:crying:
Mum emailed me,my stupid stepad has had a brain bleed(hes had 2 brain tumours before,and cancer!And he still wont die!!:rolleyes:)and Mum is on urgent waiting list to get surgery for a form of cancer on her nose.
So shes saying sheprobably wont come over in Oct anymore,not till next year:hair:

:crying::crying:

Hugs to you my lil friend. I know its nice to have your mum here and its so disappointing for you, but try to look on the bright side at how wonderful your life here is and your hubby is so unconditionally awsome to you. These preggy hormones are a shocker! Try and keep your head up babe.xx

Singlepregnantlurker....[I am still hovering here, just insanely busy].

Just the last few days my little lady has somehow managed to start kicking me in what feels like a really *private* place IYKWIM? It's like she's found the uterine equivalent of a funny bone. Anyone else? I know she is living in a very private place, but this just seems unreasonable! I wish I had a window so I could see what she's doing in there. It feels like a cat trying to get comfy in my lap and occasionally sharpening her claws.

Oh god yeh! It feels like her little foots gona pop out sometimes!!! Its bizzare just how close it feels. I dont get it as often now shes much bigger, but used to happen every time Id sit upright..ie: on the pc!

happyhips
20-08-2008, 07:49 AM
Morning Girls!

Chels - Big hugs to you. I just can't imagine what it would be like not having my mum around whenever I need her. By the way that picture of Riley was gorgeous.

Well my week has been mixed so far. My DS came down with gastro on Sunday night. I ended up with vomit all over me - very nice. I think it is that rotovirus as he has had massive fevers and the runny bum has now kicked in. PLEASE DON'T LET ME GET IT!!! I have been washing my hands like an obsessed woman.

Had my ob visit on Monday and it all went well. Bp was slightly lower which is great and I joked that he could induce me at 38 wks and he started to write it down and I panicked!!! Told him we'll see how I'm travelling. So tempting though.

Anyway girls, take care and to those who are feeling down great big :hugs:.

Annette :flowerz:

loulousmum
20-08-2008, 07:54 AM
Good morning everyone! I'm in a great mood as I'm off for an acupuncture/massage appointment this morning and then nothing to do all day but rest!! DH is having tax done after work today though, so no doubt will not be feeling so relaxed and happy by about 7pm tonight!!

Krissy - Glad to hear all your good news!

Kirsty - I hadn't thought about incontinence pads but that makes sense. I know I preferred the big fat surfboard ones just to have some padding there!

Electric - Yeah - I hope that's the case about transporting babies! I know the Mater isn't that far from Mansfield, but you do have to pay for parking and get through different traffic. I'd just prefer to keep it all 'local' - my parents are at Salisbury, childcare is at Mansfield and DH works at Park Ridge at the moment.

Chels - Hope you are feeling a bit happier.

SinglePregChick - I've been getting those kicks too. I think it will only get worse as they get bigger!

Well, in other news: the play I saw last night was good, got a nice surprise yesterday - centrelink automatically paid our 30% rebate on childcare for 2007-08 so we got a nice big amount - just like forced savings I guess - it was our money in the first place!

Also, neither of my SILs is now coming to my baby shower. Both are trying for babies with no success at the moment and so probably just want to avoid a baby-focused occasion but I am a bit annoyed. It seems like I always do the right thing (like visitng on SIL in hospital on birth of her baby on the day I was having a miscarriage and going to other SILs baby's christening on the same weekend) but they don't feel a need to reciprocate. DH wonders why I'm worried - I'm not particularly close to either of them. I don't know why I'm worried either. Maybe hormones.

Oh well. Have a great morning, will check in later.

mum2ethan
20-08-2008, 08:30 AM

:hugs::hugs: to you Chels it sucks not having mum around!!

Well ive been so sick with this cold/flu thing ive actually lost weight but i have been eating the same as always!! Cant wait till im over this, its so bloody annoying and bringing back a lot of memories about Ethans birth (i went into labour when i had the flu which i think is half the reason why it all went wrong, high temp, blood pressure etc) i have an OB appointment, lets hope its not that w@nker dr again... when im there i will find out what i need to do to put a complaint in. Well GD has been under control still, was told with the flu it might knock it out of wack a bit but it hasnt (only yesterday morning when i had an OJ, but i really needed it IYKWIM)

Well im off to read the rest of the posts...

Mel xoxox

*Chels*
20-08-2008, 08:46 AM
Heya
Thanks for all your support girls:hugs:Still feeling teary today,my sis called me last night and I just broke down.Damn hormones!Guess the thing that just sh!ts me is that I miss my Mum so much,and I feel like my kids are missing out,and I feel horrible.Especially with the fact I hate my MIL,and she is a cr@p Grandma!
Oh well,DH is taking me out for lunch today so that should cheer me up!!!

SPC-Baby kicks are weird huh?I wish I had a window too,its so funny to think theres just a baby hanging out in there!!

Mel-Hope you feel better soon!Great news your GD is staying under control!

Sam-that sux about your SIL's!!I know how you feel tho,I would feel exactly the same!Fricken inlaws aye?:rolleyes:Yay about your rebate!I am hoping ours comes soon!

Annette!-OH no!stupid gastro is travelling round at the mo!Hope you dont catch it!!
I wish I could be having bubs at 38 weeks!

Krissy-Awesome that you get to see everyone!And that your friend got engaged!Good times!:goodvibes:

I know I was gonna try not to complain,but OMG,I HATE nighttime!Cant get comfy,get so stiff and sore!Woke up when DH got home from work at 2am and couldnt get back to sleep!Spose I better get used to sleepless nights!LOL

PrincessT
20-08-2008, 09:37 AM
Chels - that so sucks about your mum. I would gladly lend you mine babe, she already thinks she is mum to almost everyone under the age of 35!!

Sam - your SIL's are just plain selfish. They should also remember that those 2 babies you carry are their nieces. You paid them a great honor and service by going to visit them when you were going through such a horrid time with the miscarriage, they should give back some of that honor... but I guess some people dont have much intergrity do they?

I'm a bit sad this morning. I'm home by myself (which is lovely but so quiet!) and I thought I would ring the state coroners office as I have been putting it off. You see, some weeks ago I wrote to the coroner and asked if I could have access to private records that deal with the death of my dad. Because he dies in an accident the coroners office had to do a major investigation. There was also a court proceeding that followed (he died in the Kempsey Bus Crash in December 1989 if anyone remembers it) and as I was young I wasnt able to attend and get all the information I kind of needed for closure. So I wrote and have been granted permission to access the files on the proviso I do so with a member of the crisis coronial team. Now, they dont know I am pregnant and I have a feeling when I turn up they will try and talk me out of it (already my husband and friends have tried to do the same) but my mum is being supportive because she knows that I lived through the accident on the day and reading the files, whilst it may be shocking, can never be as bad as being there on that day. In a long winded way I'm just saying that I'm sad because I know he would have been a fabulous grandfather to my children, he was just so much like me and I hate it with a passion that he is missing out on how wonderful my daugher is, whilst there are other grandparents who suck.

On another note, my FIL, was so sweet and bought Allegra some clothes the other day. To drove himself to the shops and picked out some Ralph Lauren stuff! Jeans and a jumper (I almost died at the price) but they dont fit her, so i had to swap them. It was really nice because he is the kind of man who likes being at work (he is a panelbeater) and to imagine him in David Jones childrens depatment on a saturday really made me appreicate that he tries to show affection and sometimes doesnt know how to.

I'll be back later ladies xx

sweetperfectchild
20-08-2008, 10:18 AM
Sam- What is it with SILs, eh? I was so glad to leave my exSIL back in the UK. She once announced that every one of her friends who'd had a normal birth now had no sex life because they were in so much pain for years afterwards. The thought still haunts me!

Chels - Nightime is the one time I'm so glad to be single - I get the whole bed and six pillows to myself and end up in all sorts of odd positions trying to get comfy.

Teena - I'm sorry for your loss, I can imagine that having closure is important to you...however, I've know families be very upset by coroners' reports. The reports themselves make grim reading; it might be worth considering having somebody read and interpret with you, and miss out any phrases that are just too much detail.

Electric - my middie reckons she's head down with her hands above her head punching my cervix! Which is exactly what it feels like. I'm going to have to have a quiet word about 'arms down' before she decides to come out like superman - ouch!

*Chels*
20-08-2008, 10:25 AM
Teena - I'm sorry for your loss, I can imagine that having closure is important to you...however, I've know families be very upset by coroners' reports. The reports themselves make grim reading; it might be worth considering having somebody read and interpret with you, and miss out any phrases that are just too much detail.

!

:iagree:

:hugs:I know what you mean about your Dad missing out,its not fair!
Your FIL sounds like a real gem tho-how cute to go and buy Allegra some new clothes!!!:goodvibes:

PinkLily
20-08-2008, 11:06 AM
Morning All,

Haven't checked in for several days. Had some major stress and drama with DH on the weekend, so have been off work. Really wasn't sure if our relationship was going to survive, but things seem to be working themselves out...
I was incredibly emotional and couldn't stop myself crying for a few days whenever someone asked how I was :gloomy: So yesterday I took myself off to get "balanced" and a massage and feel alot better today.

Still managed to go to the parenting expo though. Was a good relief to get out of the house, although I was exhausted afterwards! And DS had a great time.

Sorry to hear those ladies who aren't feeling the best. :hugs: to you all xoxo

farmmummy
20-08-2008, 12:09 PM
Afternoon all, hope you are all getting along well. I've been busy today sanding the places where the paint is on the verandah. I just gave it a quick wash but there are a few places I have to go back over before I can wash it properly and oil it. Spot is off at the vets (hehehe) pain in the bum he is. I put my hospital bag (which now lives in my car) on the back seat (due to the fact that about this time last year I took our other dog to the vet and he crapped on my bag in the boot of my wagon so I had to wash my car and my bag and all my clothes). Any how I put the dog in the back seat and by the time I got to town to the vets the bugger was sitting on my bag on the back seat. I have to pick him up after 3pm today. Sarah cried she thought we were leaving him there.

Hmmm what else oh yeah Matt phoned we've decided to go for the place at Jacobs Ridge (ormeau) mainly because in the other place we'd be sharing with one of the guys who works for our friends Dad. Plus by the time you add fuel, toll and wear on the car we'd be about the same place. So Matt phoned him and declined and he wasn't too happy Matt got a lecture about saving money etc not as if he doesn't have someone to rent the place luckily. We move down on the 12th September (yay) and Matt is having next week off and possibly the week after off to help finish things off and help do some packing. now to organise quotes and removalist. Takes some pressure off me I must say. Bleeding was from me being too rough and scratching while I was asleep.

Chels - :hugs: Even tho I don't talk to my mum some days it's hard to deal with because the family I'm closest too is so far away (victoria not NZ) so know how you feel.

Teena - Your FIL sounds sooo sweet. I know what you mean about closure too. I'm still waiting on finding out if the idiots at the hospital picked up Jacks heart malformation. I sent the Coronial Councellor an email to find out if the hospital actually managed to get the images of my 20 week scan to the Pathologist. Lucky enough the scans are now sitting patiently with a specialist so we're now waiting on the report back. At least it will be a bit more closure. I think your the only one who knows if it's best for you. You'll probably find that the Coronial Crisis Team will be there to support you and help interpret the reports I know that's what my counsellor does.

Sam - Some people are so shallow. At least at the end of the day your the bigger person and your the one who is having two beautiful little girls.

SPC - Don't worry about what your ex-SIL said I've had 3 naturally and where bedroom antics are conserned it doesn't hurt :o

Well better get back to sanding the verandah at least it's a job I can do sitting on my rear. By the time I'm finished I'll have to pick up Spot from the vets and then after some house work that's it for the day for me.

loulousmum
20-08-2008, 01:03 PM
Hi again everyone! Had a good time at acupuncture although they did this special chinese massage on my inner thighs to release the pubic symphasis pain and OMG IT HURT! But it was worth it - am totally pain free at the moment - YAY:yelclap:

Thanks everyone for your supportive thoughts on my SILs. I thought I was being a bit precious about it but don't feel so bad if a few of you agree with me!

Chels - go the rebate - even better, got the letter in the mail and they paid it for Louella for the year but not Archie. I've rung ABC and they are on to forwarding the records now - so we're in for another even bigger payment in the next couple of weeks!!:smiliedance:

Princess T - I think that is so sad for you to have spent the morning trying to sort that out on your own, but incredibly brave. It must be sad to think about what kind of grandfather he would have been and he is watching you now from somewhere and is so proud. And how sweet is your FIL? That's just lovely!

Farmmum - Am relieved to hear that you've had no sinister bleeding. Bummer about your bag!! And I reckon you'll be glad you made the decision you did about your house. You don't want to be sharing when establishing yourself somewhere new and as a new bigger family!

Am going to try and get a bit more rest now before getting the kids. DH just rang and when I asked him if he would want dinner straight away when he gets home he sounded confused. I was thinking his tax appointment would take about 2 hours but he says it will only be 30 minutes or so and he should be home around 6!!! I'm so stupid - I've always just stuck all my tax stuff in an envelope and sent it to an old family friend who lodges it all for me! When I was a kid Mum and Dad would take us to his place for a BBQ when getting their tax done and it would always seem to take forever - but that was probably because they were drunk!!!!

Lyneve
20-08-2008, 01:48 PM
Afternoon

Just got back from a midwife appointment and I have the rest of the day off work. Yay!

Had a nice looking male medical student check me out.. hehe. Apparently bubs is lying transvere.. what I thought was a little bum is actually his head. So he is happily sitting upright in there, his own little carriage. I was feeling sorry for him being upside down for such a long time, but think I might be happier now if he does what he is supposed to and gets his head down!

Loulousmum: I think you parents had the right idea about tax.. give it to someone else and get drunk ..:laughing:

PrincessT: Very sad about your father, I hope you get the closure you are after. Were you involved in the accident too? Must have been a very tough time for your family. Your FIL sounds like a sweetie.

Farmmumy: Congrats on the house decision. Hope the move goes smoothly!

Pinklily: Hope things get resolved between you and DH. Relationships are difficult at the best of times, don't need that stress when you are pregnant :)

Have a nice afternoon everyone. I'm off to the shops to buy some new towels. Decided my old ones are looking a little worse for wear!

mum2ethan
20-08-2008, 02:02 PM
Hi all just a quick ME post :o

Had my OB appointment and got my very 1st dr :smiliedance: yay!! i love him :valentine: :laughing: anyway he booked my c-section, its really scary now actually KNOWING a date that bub will be born! kinda freaking out now...
BUT... he didnt mention anything about my GD (as in wanting to see the log book) so i asked him if he wanted to see it... he looked confused and said why you dont have GD... i said well apparently i was 0.1 over... and he said no the 2 hr result was fine, it was just the fasting result at the start that was 0.1 over so i shouldnt even be classed as having GD!!! :banghead: but he said if i was happy to keep it up, just to monitor and make sure, and i told him i havent had any high readings (besides the OJ) AHHHHHH why did the other dr tell me i had GD????????????

Anyway im so over the moon at the moment!!!

Hope you have all had a great day

Mel xoxox

*Chels*
20-08-2008, 03:00 PM
OMG Mel,what a fark around!!Good news you dont have GD tho!
Whens your c/s date?

Nikki-Yay you got a house!Take it easy with the moving tho girl!!

Electric Mumi
20-08-2008, 04:25 PM
Evening! Had my massage today...luffly!!

Thought you all would find this interesting...or concerning perhaps!

---------------OCTOBER BABY -------------------
Loves to chat. Loves those who love them. Loves
to takes things at the centre. Inner and physical
beauty.. Lies but doesn't pretend. Gets angry
often. Treats friends importantly.. Brave and
fearless. Always making friends. Easily hurt but
recovers easily. Daydreamer. Opinionated. Does
not care to control emotions. Unpredictable.
Extremely smart, but definitely the hottest AND
sexiest of them all.

And for those of us who may pop early....

------------SEPTEMBER BABY ---------------
Active and dynamic.. Decisive and hastey but tends
to regret. Attractive and affectionate to oneself.
Strong mentality. Loves attention. Diplomatic.
Consoling, friendly and solves people's problems..
Brave and fearless. Adventurous. Loving and
caring. Suave and generous. Usually you have
many friends.. Enjoys making love. Emotional.
Stubborn.. Hasty. Good memory. Moving, motivates oneself and others. Loves to travel and explore.
Sometimes sexy in a way that only their lover can
understand.

farmmummy
20-08-2008, 04:47 PM
Picked the dog up he's all good. The other moron decided to kill one of my chooks so I'm now down to one and no doubt the one who doesn't lay as well. I haven't really done much this arvo and I'm feeling rather flat I'll rephrase that one. We got home and Sarah didn't want to come inside so I picked her up and carried her in (her kicking and screaming and me having a braxton.) I got inside and Sarah started crying and yelling because she couldn't get her own way so I told her to go to her bedroom then she really started screaming and I started crying and I went to my room and sat on the bed then she came in and said sorry and went on her way and watched tv. Then on top of that she emptied a bottle of water on the carpet and this little round table we have she keeps on tipping it upside down. I went and had a shower instead of yelling then I when I got out I put her in the bath. I went and dressed and she got out and I told her to get back in while I cleaned her she screamed at me top note and made a huge mess and put me in another bout of tears. I've just about had enough of being by myself and having to deal with this c r a p that she keeps dishing out when I'm looking after her by myself I am so emotional all I want to do is have another cry and a sleep. Now she is screaming at me because she can't get her own way. Sorry I am being such a sad sack.

Chels - Matt will be home Saturday for 2 weeks and I looked at the calender and we have 23 days till we are all living together. Plus I've told matt I'm not doing any more till he's home.

Mel - WTF the other guy needs to go back to school I think. Glad you don't have GD.

Monique - Massage sounds abosolutly wonderful maybe after the move and I've set up the nursery.

Sorry about the mostly me post. Sarah isn't normally so bad I think it's mainly my hormones making it worse.

Nikki x

Electric Mumi
20-08-2008, 05:01 PM
OMG someone killed ur chook....what a mongrel. Thats awful. What a horrid day you have had. Try and rest tonight honey. A massage will do you so good!!

kamb1403
20-08-2008, 05:06 PM
OMG you ladies can chat.

I have been at work all day and felt great. I emailed my leave request to my boss today so it can be forwarded to payroll. I also emailed daycare to cut back Ryan's days while I am on leave and to say when bubs will start.

Hope everyone is feeling well.

Kylie

farmmummy
20-08-2008, 05:22 PM
OMG someone killed ur chook....what a mongrel. Thats awful. What a horrid day you have had. Try and rest tonight honey. A massage will do you so good!!

It was my other stupid dog (the one who wasn't at the vets today). So angry at him for it too. He keeps on pushing his luck he's been chasing my horses too latley. Will have to talk with Matt about him tonight. I am sooo looking forward till this is all over and I can get that massage, just seems to be ages away atm.

PrincessT
20-08-2008, 05:40 PM
Thanks for your support everyone. You know, time doesnt heal wounds - it just makes it easier to accept them. This is the case with my dad. I will never be able to get over him being killed by someone who wasnt fit to be driving a passanger coach in the first place but I can accept that it was just his time.

I will be viewing the reports with a team member from the coroners department and ive already read the morgue report so I know what to expect there. I know how he died and how they found his body. Sadly, they had to remove some of his body parts of his to save my mums life (they were sitting together and she was trapped) and I know all this but I just want to read some of the reports first hand. Its strange but reading them kind of makes me feel so much stronger and I need some strength at the moment because I am going through some tough emotional times both with this upcoming baby and because my brother is going to re-hab again for his depression and addiction problems.

When I see photos of the accident, I think, I surrived that. If I lived through that, I can live through anything.. The pschys all believe in the power of re-living the things that haunt you and I guess re-living them will give me the strenght I need right now. I firmly believe in fate, it was his time to go I just need to give myself permission to see it and let it be. It would have been easier if I could have gone to his funeral I think but I was in hospital for about 8 weeks with my own injuries, so I think thats played a huge part in me needing this closure.

Sorry everyone, I'm so depressing at the moment aren't I? I'm going to go and have dinner. I'll be back tommorrow.

Sleep well my friends

BazzasMum
20-08-2008, 07:16 PM
Oh Teena :hugs: That's and incredibly tough thing to have to deal with, pregnant or not. And I'm sure your dad wouldn't have thought twice about being disfigured if it was to save your mum's life. How many of us would lose a limb to save our loved ones? You're so very brave......

Nikki - wow! Get packing! Even if the removalists pack most of it, I'd still do my own valuables....when we migrated from Scotland, they did it all, and mysteriously a box filled with my mums original edition books went missing. Of course, they had nothing to do with it :rolleyes: but no way were they replaceable. Sorry about your girl too - and hope Sarah calms down a bit. Let you grieve... sounds sappy, but pets are like family sometimes too!

Mon - Interesting personalities! what about Nov bubs? Some of us are a bit close to the end of the month....what happens if we go over???

Tried listening to my Calmbirth CD earlier. Was going well till DS came in and starting jumping on the bed, then landed on my leg. NOT so calming for me!! have been soooo p!ssed off tonight and no real reason why. Listen to it everyday? Yeah right! Can't even get 20 mins to myself. *sigh*

Oh yeah, and my veins are killing! Got up for a pee last night. Felt a pulliing in my right knee... today, every time i stand I can feel the veins in my knee filling up - stinging and really hot to touch. Just disgusting! Anyone know of anything to relieve them????

farmmummy
20-08-2008, 07:32 PM
Teena - :hugs: Is all I can say for you:hugs:

Kirsty - Matt is worried that they won't pack some of our ornaments properly. you know thoes lovley dust collectors. Lady I use to work with has some one lined up to take on my last girl for me, I can't take one lousy chook into the suburbs.

Right o I'm off to bed myself as soon as I've given a quick vacume and done the dishes. Chat tomorrow.

Night

Nikki x

Electric Mumi
20-08-2008, 07:39 PM
Mon - Interesting personalities! what about Nov bubs? Some of us are a bit close to the end of the month....what happens if we go over???

Sorry Kirsty, Heres Nov babes!

---------------NOVEMBER BABY --------------------
Trustworthy and loyal. Very passionate and
dangerous. Wild at times. Knows how to have fun.
Sexy and mysterious. Everyone is drawn towards
your inner and outer beauty and independent
personality. Playful, but secretive. Very emotional
and temperamental sometimes. Meets new people
easily and very social in a group. Fearless and
independent. Can hold their own. Stands out in a
crowd. Essentially very smart. Usually, the
greatest men are born in this month. If you ever
begin a relationship with someone from this month,
hold on to them because their one of a kind.

loulousmum
21-08-2008, 07:41 AM
M2E - I think I know why your other Dr told you that you had GD - BECAUSE HE IS A TOOL! It's a great weight to have off your shoulders though.

Princess T - still thinking of you. You've put any of my current anxieties (ie. my SILs) into perspective and I think you are just the most resilient person.

Nikki - I have friends in Brisbane who have chooks. There are rules about how many you can have depending on size of block and I guess your landlord might have a view. Maybe call the local council?

Well, I've had the smoothest start to the morning and have just dropped kids off at childcare. It's taken 6 weeks of being on leave, but I think I'm finally 'in the zone' of not being a worker (well, a paid office worker!). The kids are loving the routine and what I call a 'gentler' way of starting and finishing the day. We used to have to rush out the door at
7am and then get home and cram play, bath, dinner and reading into the time between 5 and 7pm. Now they get up around 6.45am, go to childcare around 8.30am and I pick them up at about 3.30pm. I'm finding myself asking whether the benefits to me of working are outweighed by the benefits to the kids and family of me being at home. There has to be a happy medium and I'll spend the next 12 months or so trying to work out what it will be!

All a bit deep really. Am going to get serious today and pack hospital bag a bit better than currently (a bag with some breastpads, pads, baby clothes and pair of pjs in it!). I'll get started this morning and then go to the shops and get the extras I need to feel all ready. Am also very tempted to have a pedicure...

mum2ethan
21-08-2008, 08:31 AM
Morning All,

Teena - :hugs::hugs: You are a very strong woman, im wishing you find the closure you want.

Nikki -:hugs: I think maybe the kids are starting to sense something BIG is about to happen, Ethan has been a right little sh!t lately, i am in tears and so stressed about his behaviour... but then my mum told me that maybe he can sense that things are going to be changing and he is just reacting to it. So maybe that is why our little angels have turned into little terrors... I just got my dog de-sexed last week, he got his stitches out yesterday... he has been a right little s h i t as well!! Ive been told it could take a month before his hormones settle (doesnt help when theres a b!tch in heat!!!)

Sam - re: doc, yep couldnt have said that better!!!! I started packing my hospital bag when i had my sick days off work, have a list of things to buy from the shops to pack (cheap undies etc) and im all set... oh and i just have to pick a going home outfit for bub...
Go have a pedicure, you deserve it!!!

Well ive been getting soooooooooooooooooooooooo many braxtons lately!!!!

Anyway better get back to work, have a great day

Mel xoxox

*Chels*
21-08-2008, 08:54 AM
Good Morning!!
Nikki-Sorry Sarah is being such a rascal for you!I think we can all sympathise!I spose they do sense what is going on,and a new baby is a huge life change!Damn preggy hormones dont help either!:laughing:

Teena-:hugs:I did some googling after your posts and saw some pics of the crash.Alot for you to deal with right now,so please take it easy!Like Mel said,I hope you get the closure you need!:hugs:

Kirsty-My viens are killing too!Have no remedies except trying to keep off your feet(which aint easy with a toddler!!!)It fricken sux huh?

Well I was doing some reading last night and finally worked out why I have such a sore pubic bone!
Its all the ligaments stretching and your hips widening for birth(Like mine NEED to be any wider:rolleyes:)
Its alot worse 2nd time round,which explains why i feel so much worse than with Riley!!
So,I spose its a good thing really-my body preparing for birth!!

Had the craziest dream last night where i had my show on the 11th Oct(my due date)then bubs was born on the 12th!I couldnt remember any of the birth tho,except the midwife MADE me lie on a bed and push and I didnt get my waterbirth!Then bubs was soooo tiny,but I was going to my school formal,which then merged into my wedding:confused: and I was trying to feed bubs before going on on the **** LOL,but he wouldnt eat!
WEIRD!

Am about to go hit the shops to buy new undies,PJs and maternity bras!Fun!

farmmummy
21-08-2008, 09:30 AM
Hi girls thanks for the :hugs:. I kinda felt okay when going to bed last night but then when Matt rang this morning and told me that work wanted to send him to Casino I burst into tears on him. He told me to come down to him, I told him that I'm feeling stressed etc. Then he rang back to say he's not going there now and he'll be back tomorrow arvo and then he was kinda getting up me because I haven't found some one to help us set up a buget. So I said see you tomorrow and hung up. I've done some house work today I'm about to put the dishes away mop out and then hand some clothes on the airer before going to have a nap that I feel I need. Better rid myself of the chook first. I have found a home for the remaining chook, don't know what the Gold Coast is like for rules on chooks but until we get a place of our own we'er not even going to bother. I only really need 2-3 chooks tho to provide us with heaps of eggs.

Well I'm off now to do what I have to so I can have a nap I seriously feel like I could fall asleep while typing. Chat later.

Nikki x

PrincessT
21-08-2008, 11:17 AM

Well we had a sucessful first 'big girl' swimming class today. We have moved from the littlies class last week and I was unsure if Allegra would go ok this week and thankfully she was great! I must agree with some of you, they do know something is going on because they do try you at times!

Thanks again for all your support ladies. I'm not any stronger than many of you, we all have things in our lives that challenge us, this is just mine!! What doesnt kill you makes you stronger hey!

I'm going to try and do some things in the nursery today and do some bag packing as well. Ive got some things already organised but I need to get cracking. I'm planning on doing it when Allegra goes down for her nap. If she is awake, her helping is actually not helping at all!!! I often get her to "help" just so she can learn to do things with me but often have to redo it!! But she enjoys doing things with mummy.

Nikki - sorry you didnt get the answer you wanted from Matts work. Things have a way of working out, so keep your fingers crossed xx

Sam - take it easy love. I know what you mean about it taking ages to feel like a member of the non paid workforce! It takes a while and you think you are going to have all this time to do things and you dont really!!!

OK - going to get cracking, Angelina Ballerina is keeping my angel amused and I have time to do some stuff :)

Twiglet
21-08-2008, 12:17 PM
Well had my OB appointment yesterday. Things didn’t go as well as I wanted them too. They are concerned the effects the asthma and coughing may be having on the baby. After seeing him I had to go to the GP. Now I’m on steroids which are good for the baby but a lot better than not getting any oxygen at all because of its mother not breathing. Every 2 hours or so I have to monitor my breath on my peak flow meter. If it gets to low I have to go straight to hospital. So not the way I wanted to take time off work but have been signed off for 3 days. If it’s not under control by then the OB is thinking of signing me off sick until the birth.

On the plus side bud is looking well at the moment. At 31 weeks its already 4lb.7oz --- Mmmm a little on the large size but then it runs in the family J

Went to our parenting class last night. It was good apart from me coughing all the way through it.

Right am going to read the thread back for personals soon

mum2ethan
21-08-2008, 12:43 PM
Oh WOW there is a September announcment already!!!:eek::eek::eek:

Chels - sorry forgot to reply to you last time i posted... im keeping the date a secret :p i know im a meanie arent i :devil6:wow what a weird dream! dont you just love these pregnancy dreams!!!!

Twiglet - :hugs: hope you get the asthma under control, im coughing just from this cold/flu thing would hate to imagine what its like for you.

Twiglet
21-08-2008, 12:47 PM
oulousmum – I think its bad form of your SIL not to come to your baby shower.

Chels – what is it about MIL? I noticed mine is more involved in her daughters pregnancies than ours. OK it is number 6 for her but this is number 1 for us

PrincessT – I will not talk you our of readying the report however please make sure you are really ready to read that report. I did it for my brothers and it was not easy or nice. BIG HUGS. Like you a think my child will be missing out on so much by not knowing him. I even went through a patch of being VERY angry at him for not being here for me or them.

singlepregnantchick - Well I’ve heard the obosite. All my friends that have had a VB say that sex afterwards is 10 times better.

Sorry haven’t been able to read them all...... have to go as I’m coughing too much again L Back soon

loulousmum
21-08-2008, 01:45 PM
M2E - I had the pedicure at my regular place and they all made a lovely fuss of me which was nice. But now I'm going barefoot until my OB appointment this afternoon and my feet are freezing!

Chels - Vivid dreams at the moment for me too. Lately they involve synchronised swimming in resort shows. Weird.

Twiglet - I had no idea your asthma was so bad. Hope you get through the next few weeks without too much worry.

Princess T - I know you'll appreciate the fact that I've been shopping this morning and bought: hot pink maternity bra/undies set, lounge suit to wear as pjs in hospital and because of your influence, bought myself four really nice feeding friendly tops in size large to wear in the hospital so I don't feel like I'm still in my maternity gear!

Well, after all that shopping, my bag is ready to go. Toiletries are packed (I have a second set of everything because I travel a lot with work) and I've just made a selection of the makeup I will want and put it in a bag which I'll just keep on the bathroom bench from now on.

As for going home outfits - I have some cute things packed but with #1 and 2 mum bought them a lovely outfit when she came to visit. So, I might work on the assumption she'll do that again! I do need to pack a few nice blankets/wraps....better do that now while I'm thinking of it...

Now what am I going to do for the next 6 weeks?

farmmummy
21-08-2008, 01:45 PM
Twiglet - Asthma isn't the best to deal with worse while pregnant. Better be safe than sorry.

Teena - At least at this age we can get them to help out it'll change soon enough no doubt.

Chels - Not so much weird dreams as they are rather :o that they are very ranchy.

well feeling slightly better this arvo so far Sarah is behaving her self. I've managed to get most of my house work done. So as soon as I'm feeling up to it tomorrow I might do some touch up painting. Still havent had my nanna nap yet.
Matt has been sent to Casino, at first he didn't think he was going because they had no one to back fill for him. How quickly things change. By the time I got his msg there was no way I would be able to get there in time.
I've had my bag packed now for about 3 weeks all I have to do is vacu