View Full Version : Is it wrong to let boys wear girly things?

MumOf4Monsters
29-07-2008, 19:34
My ds is 21 months old and absolutely loves to wear mine and dd's shoes. He gets into my jewelery draw and puts on all of my necklaces and oh....he loves bangles!:yes: he puts on my silver shoes and walks around the house with jewelery on....It's so damn cute! LOL

We were at the chemist yesterday and i had two shiny bangles on....he whinged and whinged until i gave him both of them to wear, one just was'nt enough! :rolleyes:

He also gets into dd's hair clips and whinges for me to put them in his hair, which i do and then he pulls it out and asks me to put it back in.

He also loves playing with my makeup, he tries to put the lipstick on.

Does anyone elses ds love girly things?

My dh says that i should discourage him from playing around with girly things, but i don't think that it's an issue.

What does everyone else think?

punkbaby
29-07-2008, 19:38
My ds used to carry a handbag around....everywhere! and he had a doll lol and bangles never hurt him :) let him go. DS was into that and half way through kinder he decided he was a boy and they were girls things so it didnt last long :)

Chunkydunks
29-07-2008, 19:38
i had heaps of pink fleece left over from making my niece a vest so I joked at DS and said I'd make him a pink jumper. He was all for it. Really i don't think boys playing with girly things or wearing girly things is a big problem at all.

MountainGirl
29-07-2008, 19:39
My Ds is the same,.. he is a massive, footy player hulk of a 2yr old,..and he loves to wear beads, hairclips and lipstick! And he rocks it!!! I think it's cute!:yes:

Benji
29-07-2008, 19:39
I don't think it's an issue either. Why stop them from being creative?? They will grow out of it (in most cases).

My DS loves to get up in the morning, he comes in my room, yells "good morning" and puts my high heels on and stamps around in them. I think he's worked out that it gets me out of bed pretty quick :laughing:

He loves my hair ties, too.

They are pretty good mimics. When we do something, it's natural for them to want to copy. Pretty cute actually :)

lotti
29-07-2008, 19:42
Its just normal for us...whatever the girls are doing he is doing. He looks lovely with pink nail polish on his toes... :laughing:

NibbleCurlynBub
29-07-2008, 19:42
I don't think there is a problem with it either and after a small talk neither does my hubby who is very homophobic (beyond all reason).

All babies want to be like Mum and Dad at some point, why tell them off for idolising their whole world?

ForeverMine
29-07-2008, 19:43
Yup, my DS is the same.

Walks around in my shoes, and has one of my old bags and walks round with that as well.... loves brushing peoples hair as well..

...I figure it's fine for him to play with girls stuff, I know I wouldn't bat an eye if my daughter wanted to play with a truck...why should it be any different for my son.

Fuchsia!
29-07-2008, 19:44
no i don't think its wrong, as long as they didn't choose girl clothes over normal clothes when they have to go out! Then its a bit of a worry!

Great for the imagination i think!

punkbaby
29-07-2008, 19:51
no i don't think its wrong, as long as they didn't choose girl clothes over normal clothes when they have to go out! Then its a bit of a worry!

Great for the imagination i think!

:laughing: ds went through a stage where he wanted to wear fairy wings :laughing: everywhere!! thank god it only lasted a week, he thought he could fly, then i found a cape and he was happier with that

Sheer Bliss
29-07-2008, 19:54
My 15month old DS LOVES to put on DD's necklaces and her dora princess & fairy dress-ups. (with a bit of help, but he brings them to me) Today he started going for my shoes too. IMO if he had an older brother doing rough car crashes etc, he'd probably be trying that too. He's just looking at what is going on around him & copying it - it's just what kids do. I've got no problems with it. On that note, DD has a few trucks and trains (loved those $2 thomas the tank engine ones) and i don't bat an eyelid at her playing with them. Oooh, DS has also taken to putting dolls in the highchair & feeding them and walking around with them in his arms oohing & ahhing & kissing - it's soooo cute, I don't care if it's not a 'boy thing'.

MumOf4Monsters
29-07-2008, 19:56
Thanks for the replies!

I'm glad that i'm not the only one that thinks it's ok for him to love girly things.

NibbleCurlynBun - It's funny because my dh is not homophobic at all, but the thought of our kids being gay freaks him out! Obviously thats why he has issues with ds wearing jewelery and girls shoes. If he's going to be gay then he's going to be gay, but i don't think wearing girls things is going to affect him either way....Thats my opinion anyway.

BooandMe - you're spot on! Theres a double standard! If you saw an older girl push around a truck it would be fine but if an older boy was pushing around a doll in a pram.....well.....we all know what most people would think :rolleyes:

He really is a cutie and he seems to have so much fun. He never ever goes to dad and shows off how pretty he is, it's always with me, so i think he is just trying to be like me.

Whippet
29-07-2008, 20:55
Simple answer... No.

*Chels*
29-07-2008, 21:02
My DS is always trying to put on my makeup.Everytime I get ready,he comes into the bathroom and is forever getting into my stuff:rolleyes:
Always wants me to paint his nails too!
I dont have a problem with it,hes just trying to mimic what he sees me doing everyday.

sockstealingpoltergeist
29-07-2008, 21:08
My son loves a handbag as much as the next girl. LOL. He loves bangles as well, and he wears everyones shoes.:)

My mum got him a toy kitchen for his birthday and we coped some flack over that. (yes very silly).

Other then that he is the biggest boy around, it's all cars trains and dinosaurs. seriously some people, if he was going to be Gay or a cross dresser then I doupt i could do anything about it.

~Emmylou~
29-07-2008, 21:13
:laughing: Hope not.

DS is in bed right now in a pink and purple fluffy marshmallow suit that belonged to his sister.

And completing his ensemble, is a white singlet with DIVA emblazoned across the front in hot pink...because he has had a Mariah Carey day today, and I thought it was appropriate... :laughing:

Tegan15
29-07-2008, 21:22
I don't see whats wrong with it. There's only boy/girl toys and games because our society says there is....Children at a young age don't think like we do - they do things because they're fun!

jaxcoop: Whats wrong if they did choose to wear girls clothing over 'normal; clothing?

29-07-2008, 21:33
I don't have a son.

I don't think what your son is doing is wrong, hes just being a kid. My daughters play with trucks.

In all honesty it really doesn't phase me what children play with as long as it isn't dangerous and they are happy. :yes:

SalTheGal
29-07-2008, 22:01
I think its kinda cute!

My 21mnth old DS is obsessed with handbags- won't let me leave home without one for him too. :rolleyes:

And headbands (he wears it around the supermarket whenever I buy one till we get to the checkout), and my shoes, and bangles, and don't even get me started on my makeup!!!

We even got a photo of him the other day with my BRA on!! :eek: :D (can't wait for the 21st with that one!)

Hmmm, yep- all things girly, he loves em, and we couldn't care less.

He also BTW is obsessed with anything car/truck/train/plane related so I think there is a healthy balance there.

InSaneOne
29-07-2008, 22:23
its the same thing with girls playing with trucks and other "boy" toys. it doesn't matter if boys play with girl things. a lovely little man i know loves to paint his (and his mum's) toenails pink (and other colours too). they are at an age where they explore everything.

as long as they aren't doing it when they are 13:laughing: my eldest dsd took a great photo of her 13 year old brother on her phone of him wearing her strapless bra and a pair of boxer shorts around the house the other day. if i can find what she did with it i will post a link.

miloand4
29-07-2008, 22:27
I think you only need to worry if he is still doing it at 15 :laughing: otherwise just relax its perfectly normal and wearing womens clothing does not mean he will be gay he might just be a cross dresser :laughing::laughing: He will be what ever he wants to be parents cant controll sexuality

FiveInTheBed
29-07-2008, 22:51
I think its absolutely adorable!!! Nothing wrong with getting in touch with your feminine side early!!!

My DS loves walking around with dress up handbags and helping me in the kitchen, and fights me for every cleaning instrument I own!!!

My FIL called him a sissy when we were there for holidays... :eek: ...so I called him a closed minded jerk...in the nicest possible way!!!

Beany
30-07-2008, 00:26
Why is pink for girls? Why can't boys wear beads and bangles? It's just so arbitrary anyway, none of it has a good reason ...

My son nicks off with my pitiful supply of jewellery every so often. I will more than likely buy him a bright pink Dora bag soon because he's obsessed with that little girl and looks back with such sorrow every time I usher him out of Strandbags.

It's all just bright, pretty, shiny things to play with, nothing even remotely sinister. So no, it isn't wrong.

our little treasures
30-07-2008, 00:38
My boy loves dressing up in anything.. However he was wearing fairy dresses and his sisters clothes every single day.. He would also ask for long hair like his sis and wear her make up etc.. I have gorgeous pics..

Infact just the other month he said " I am not a boy, I have snipped of my doodle" :laughing: I had to explain how much it would hurt just incase..

I must say in the last few weeks he hasn't worn the girls dresses but pulled out his spider man, captain and batman outfits. He has also just started completely dressing himself shirt, jumper, underwear, pants, socks and shoes.. What I suspect is he could get skirts and dresses on easier than his boy costumes.

So don't worry about it.. My 4 brothers are more so rough and tumble but I use to put make up on them as well as my pretty clothes:laughing:

30-07-2008, 00:53
Boof has a doll that he adores.

He b/f her, bathes her, sends her to hospital when she is sick etc etc. She often gets taken wherever he goes whether it be on walks, to the shops or on sleepovers at Gran's.

He always raids my makeup & covers himself !

He loves walking around in my shoes whatever types.

He often asks for deoderant & perfume when i put it on to go out & i oblige ( a few choice noises & he thinks he gets sprayed LOL ! ).

He loves jewellery especially bangles.

He has even been known to wear my bra's LOL !

He loves playing 'house' gets dinner ready, makes cakes, cleans etc etc.

Is any of this wrong ..... :no:

Its all part of imaginative play ! I dont care what he does he is 3yrs old !

I only draw the line in buying him girls shoes with heels when out lol for obvious reasons ! Otherwise if he likes pink fabric & wants something made out of it i dont care !

Even if he was 20yrs old & doing this i really couldnt care ! If he isnt hurting anyone then its not my place to tell him its wrong !

My sister & i knew a guy who often dressed in drag when he got the urge for a nite out. He was the loveliest guy ever & no way would i ever have condemned him nor will i do the same with my son.

Anyways just because they do this now means squat ! All 5 of my male cousins did this & the closest that any of them have gotten to being 'feminine' now is one being a hairdresser !!! The rest are tradies bar one who is a minister !!!!!! :D

Let them have fun :flowerz:

Lastcenturymum
30-07-2008, 01:46
:laughing: ds went through a stage where he wanted to wear fairy wings :laughing: everywhere!! thank god it only lasted a week, he thought he could fly, then i found a cape and he was happier with that

Classic!!

They all do it at some stage, it's part of experimenting and growing up. Some girls what the 'daddy' look too. We have pics of our girls in dad's ugg boots and outdoor hats and our son in his grandmas heels, necklaces and bag..all with his aeroplane jammies!!:laughing: