View Full Version : Brisbane May Dinner - The Thread!

25-04-2006, 13:15
HAH! after 3 threads I've made a decision! Proud of me? :p

Where: Same place as discussed. PM me for details if you've not sure. :)
I have been told there's no parking at the venue other than on street (possibly metered) or the pay-parking over the road. So maybe we could carpool some if we're coming from the area to help with that expense.. and the environment and all... of course.

When: WEDNESDAY the 17th of May
7-7.30pm start

I've had a few PMs asking if it's a kid & husband event. As with previous dinners most of the ladies take these nights as an opportunity to go out kid free. From other Brisbanites I spoke to about this, the general consensus is babies yes, older than babies, preferably not.
As for husbands/partners.. they may feel left out since most of the other ones are either a: at home letting you have a girls night out and looking after the bubs/kids or b: doing their own thing that night! :) It really is more of a girls' night. They certainly are welcome tho'!

So. Who's coming? Reply to this post and I'll add you to the list.

Yay! I'm not going to be a Nigel!
Becca-Rae
xkwzit
Oscar's Mum
libandneo
Tea Lady
Puk (the new Aunty! YAY!)
veve & Pumpkin Face... err.. Jack.
lukaelmo
TwoBoysOnly
Kat =^.^=
jazzysmum
Leeny
Dotori
mum2B&C
AmyW
Maghan
Rynosmum
OceBel
Zenifa
Mystery Guest ..... Who is it....... :p (I also have no idea if this person really is a Mystery Guest or not.. just let me have my fun!)

Maybe:
Nickster

25-04-2006, 14:11
:smiliedance: Me... I'm coming this time definately YAY!!!!!!!!! :yelclap:

xkwzit
25-04-2006, 14:46
Me too

And the thread is stuck:thumbsup:

25-04-2006, 20:46
Yep I'm coming, without a doubt!:yelclap:

libandneo
26-04-2006, 10:03
Hi Seekrit

Can you please also count me in, I will PM you for the location.
I will be coming sans bebe (how exciting!) Can't remember the last time I went out to dinner without him!

Thanks for organising this, you are a champ. :smiliedance:

Libby

DH: Jard 20/08/68
DS: Neo Xavier 26/05/05
D?: due 24/12/06

Tea Lady
26-04-2006, 12:22
I'll be there too :smiliedance:

26-04-2006, 16:36
All in a days work *superman pose*

*grin*

veve
26-04-2006, 19:01

ooooh ... no one called ME a champ for organising dinners :p I'm jealous!!!! - someone wants the gnome me thinks :laughing:

I'll be there seekrit... no Jack... no nick-o-less... just me :)

26-04-2006, 20:28
that's because I just am a champ. People are only just starting to notice.

lukaelmo
26-04-2006, 20:45
Ya ya, me be there too, ya :D .

Veve, you are a champion :D .

veve
26-04-2006, 21:12
Veve, you are a champion :D .

aww ... :laughing: ok - I'm happy now.... :laughing:

26-04-2006, 21:22
Ali! Now she'll have a swell head. Like she didn't already.

;) Just kidding, you know we love ya, Vevers. :hugs:

veve
26-04-2006, 21:31
ROFL .... well... I WOULD have a swelled head... cept Jack has a clever knack of keeping me well grounded.... I got piddled on tonight..... :laughing:

26-04-2006, 21:35
that, my dear, is why you need a Pee-Pee Tee-Pee (http://shop.nurturecenter.com/petebyurbade.html)

veve
26-04-2006, 21:39
I would only be tempted if they came in a 'frog print' - they MIGHT have a buyer then :laughing:

xkwzit
26-04-2006, 21:56
OK, I've heard of the tee pee before, but this is the first time I've seen it. Comeone, that's got to be absolutley no good, wouldn't it just shoot right? Someone once mentioned to me they use a tissue, sounds like a much more practical idea.

veve
26-04-2006, 21:58
oh my goodness X ... you just gave em the image of a tee pee flying across the room ... LOL ...

I usually just flick the towel over him... free and also easy to wash :rolleyes:

(today I was holding him... waiting for the shower to warm up - so even a teepee couldn't have saved me :laughing:

26-04-2006, 22:00
I was picturing more of a cartoonesque geyser, with the teepee hovering over the top :D

Some people say I have an overactive imagination...

mixi_mama
28-04-2006, 08:42
not sure if i can make it this time guys - its quite a distance to "the place" from my place (i cant drive my car :gloomy: )

Puk
28-04-2006, 09:07
Is it time to go yet? I wanna go nnoooowwww! *stamps foot and pouts*

TrulyBlessed
02-05-2006, 16:12
Sorry I haven't been about lately guys. Had to have a baby :D

I'll be a maybe at this stage. Waiting to see what DH roster for work is. But if I come I'll be bringing Declan along with me if thats ok.

02-05-2006, 16:15
Is it time to go yet? I wanna go nnoooowwww! *stamps foot and pouts*
Me to puk... me too!!!:chef:

xkwzit
02-05-2006, 17:14
Congrats Amy

I love the name Declan. Little babies are always welcome, many hands to pass them round if you like.

03-05-2006, 22:05
I want to go now too.

I'm a hungry hungry hippo.

TwoBoysOnly
04-05-2006, 07:00
Hi I have just moved to Brisbane and am wondering if I can join the girls night out so I can meet a few new people :wave:

04-05-2006, 07:06
Of course you can come TwoBoysOnly as can any other Bub Hubber!;)

04-05-2006, 07:13
I've sent you a PM with the details of where it is :) I'll pop your name on the list :D :yes:

Shelly68
04-05-2006, 07:56
Because I'm having a 'blonde moment' (no offence intended), I can't remember what the cuisine is,

Is it P/C?? or was that last month?

veve
04-05-2006, 08:06
ROFL - dont worry shell .. I can remember where it is... I'm now fussy on the date and time!!!!! HA!! (note to self... get less blonde foils next time!!)

- Nikki can you PM us both???

04-05-2006, 08:08
I can't believe YOU of all people forgot my dear Veve.

PM sent.

veve
04-05-2006, 08:16
oh I forgot.. but I will be there!!!! LOL .. even if I'm double booked .. the other commitment will be cancelled!!!! :D

Kat =^.^=
05-05-2006, 23:13
Hello there ... I'm new to bub hub too but would love to come - only thing is I'm due on the 22nd so might pike at the last minute or have to do something else like have the baby ... :yelclap: can't wait to meet the little kicker!

Would I please be able to get venue and food details if possible and put my name on the list too?

06-05-2006, 07:13
Added and PMed!

I love your little kitty face *grin*

lros34
06-05-2006, 16:12
Hello All,

I am new to the bubhub forum and I am looking to meet other Brissie mums. I was wondering whether anyone can join you for the dinner on the 17th May?

If it is alright for me to come along please pm or em me the details. I probably will be bringing my son as he is 3mths old and dh will most likely be working that night.

jaimie
06-05-2006, 16:18
i would love to come too! can somebody pm me the details? Thanx:)

veve
06-05-2006, 16:26
seekrit...

will you be able to (or anyone else) supply nametages and nikko on the night??? I would love to .. umm 'borrow' some from work... but I dont have access to the stockpile at the moment :laughing:

jsut a reminder cause there seem to be so many lovely unknown mums coming :smiliedance:

06-05-2006, 19:18
I'm sure I can liberate some from somewhere.......... :p

08-05-2006, 07:48
I should probably book a table for this shin-dig eh?

Can all and sundry peruse the list and let me know if you're all on there? Especially those bringing wee bubs (if wee bubs needs a chair of any description let me know)

dotori
08-05-2006, 11:47
sounds cool. i'd love to join :yes:

dotori
08-05-2006, 14:12
Hiya that sounds cool. i'd love to join :smiliedance: just let me know the location.
and time. :yes: then i'll try my best to find out ya :o
coz i dont drive and not so sure about it yet...

Tea Lady
09-05-2006, 17:57
Hi dotori, sorry I didn't get back to you yesterday - I was going to tell you to respond on this thread so I'm glad you found it :) Seekrit will be able to PM you with the details.

veve
13-05-2006, 09:31
just to let all you bubhubbers know that I will probably have to bring JAck with me to the dinner...(DH has made plans :banghead: without checking the date first)

considering that his bedtime is 7ish .. I cant imagine he will be an issue :) .... but if you DO want cuddles... you better get in early before he turns feral :laughing:

TrulyBlessed
13-05-2006, 10:15
Could someone please PM me the details.

Maghan
13-05-2006, 10:19
I think I will be in the area that night, can someone PM me the details too?

P.S. Veve, when has your cute little bubba ever been feral??

veve
13-05-2006, 10:35
P.S. Veve, when has your cute little bubba ever been feral??

oooh dont let him hear that question.. he might feel the need to demonstrate :rolleyes: (usually feral is only due to teeth and or flu... so the odds are good) :)

draught
13-05-2006, 15:10
Having just realised that dinner is Wednesday, not Thursday :banghead: (that is me realising that I am an idiot) I am able to attend as DH is home that night. I even have a lift arranged so will see you there and don't need a PM with the details as I will just do as I am told.

xkwzit
13-05-2006, 15:16
There's a good Draughty :yes: :yes:

rynosmum
13-05-2006, 17:14
Hmmm....strangely enough Draughty, I thought it was the same night as you so I may have to do some rearranging now....:gloomy:

But I will plan to be there too - please add me to the list !

draught
13-05-2006, 19:29
Sorry - I spoke too soon. I have just spoken to DH and found out that although he is coming home on Monday it won't be until really late so I will only get to see him Tuesday and Wednesday evenings after work and I am really missing him so would like to stay home and see him before he disappears again for another couple of weeks. So as much as I would love to see you all, family wins this time.

Oh well - there is always next month!

13-05-2006, 22:51
PMed, added, removed.

And I'm wearing funky PJs. :smiliedance:

14-05-2006, 15:18
And I'm wearing funky PJs. :smiliedance:
:smiliedance: You go girlfriend!!

veve
14-05-2006, 15:51
Hey seekrit ...

are we having a theme this time?? I mean - we wore green for st pats day last time.. what do you think??

14-05-2006, 16:36
VEVE! Don't spring this on me now.
I'm very inclined to see how many people would actually turn up in PJs! HAH!

No.. now, May.. may may.. what can we have for May?

Winter theme as it heads in?:gloomy: :gloomy:
:bday:
(eee my niece :rolleyes: has taken over the mouse and is clicking the smilies!)

I'm not very good at Themes... eee help me out girls! Some suggestions?

OceBel
15-05-2006, 07:58
id like to come, dont know much about it mayby you can fill me in, but wednesday is just perfect. where abouts is it? :o

15-05-2006, 15:30
Can someone PM me details? I'm a maybe at this point - and if I go I will be bringing Liam with me.

Tea Lady
16-05-2006, 13:36
Hey you NW suburb girls, we need to talk transport!! Do you want to catch the train Oscarsmum? I can give you a lift to the station. Are you coming Noo? :)

Tea Lady
16-05-2006, 13:48
Could we maybe have the time posted on here - I remember where it is, but not what time. :)

zenifa
16-05-2006, 14:12
I really want to come, but at this stage I'm a maybe (also hoping I can get DH to look after DD for me), so can someone please PM me the details? ta

16-05-2006, 14:13
Hey you NW suburb girls, we need to talk transport!! Do you want to catch the train Oscarsmum? I can give you a lift to the station. Are you coming Noo? :)

Catching the train sounds great! Which station do you want to meet at??????

I will be able to get a lift to the station no problem, what time train though. But I wouldn't mind a lift home?:fingerscrossed: I feel like a bit of a user!:p

Noo you coming?

Is Ffrenchie coming do you know?

drewid
16-05-2006, 15:21
Sorry guys, I'm out. Hubby has a work dinner....grrr not happy Jan!

16-05-2006, 15:22
Oh Nooo that isn't good at all!:no:

16-05-2006, 15:53
Noo, thats a total bummer!!! :(

I'm excited!! 1 more sleep!!

16-05-2006, 16:04
Updated the original post, bolded the time. (I realise I was a bit vauge about that before)

one more sleep

Tea Lady
16-05-2006, 22:22
Noo you tell your DH that you're coming to the next one and NO EXCUSES!! :shame:

Oscarsmum, could you pls msg me your number (I've lost it) and I'll give you a call when I know which train? It will be fine to give you a lift home. I think Katie is coming but I'm waiting to talk to her tomorrow to confirm.

See you all in one more sleep :D

17-05-2006, 07:20
:smiliedance: :smiliedance:
TONIGHT!
I'm excited!

lros34
17-05-2006, 12:51
Hello All,

Sorry Marty & I can't make it tonight to meet all you lovely mums. We both have come down with a cold and we don't want to pass it on to the mums and bubs that are going to the dinner. :crying:

I look forward to meeting you at the next organised Brissie get together.

Cheers!:wave:

17-05-2006, 12:55
Aww sorry to hear :(
There should be one next month :D We'll see you then!

17-05-2006, 13:13
TONIGHT!
I'm excited!
Me too!! :smiliedance:

tykeal & phoenixs' mummy
17-05-2006, 14:13
hello ladies,

seekrit............... where are u? i would like to come tonight, can someone give me the details please.......

mel:-)

17-05-2006, 14:18
hello ladies,

seekrit............... where are u? i would like to come tonight, can someone give me the details please.......

mel:-)
i did, but nikki if you are around can you aswell incase i got it wrong!! since you are my chauffeur tonight you would know!!! :laughing:

17-05-2006, 14:22
Are we doing name tags?

17-05-2006, 14:26
Are we doing name tags?
i think i'll need them!! ( even if they are daggy!! :laughing: )

17-05-2006, 14:27
Oh crud I chucked a sickie today and forgot to pilfer labels.... erm... I'll have to ask someone to bring some.. Oooh Puuuuuuuuuuuuuuk.......................

I booked 16 places at the table. There's 20ish names on the board.. should I call and add those extra or do you think we'll have at least 4 pikers? we can always ask for another table to be brought around I guess. :p

17-05-2006, 14:30
Did you pm tykeal & phoenixs' mummy, seekrit?
She wants in! Id ring & book for 20 incase they are busy! :D

17-05-2006, 14:32
Yeah I would call and get them to add a few seats!

17-05-2006, 14:33
Well Connor is awake. I'm off to attend to my children! See ysa all tonight!!

Nikki i hope i dont get lost!! lmao!! :laughing: :wave:

17-05-2006, 14:34
Done and dusted. :p

You won't get lost Becca-Rae :D Keep my number handy!

17-05-2006, 14:35
Done and dusted. :p

You won't get lost Becca-Rae :D Keep my number handy!
i'll be ok i'm sure... i'm excited!!! :wave:

Puk
17-05-2006, 14:39
Oh crud I chucked a sickie today and forgot to pilfer labels.... erm... I'll have to ask someone to bring some.. Oooh Puuuuuuuuuuuuuuk.......................

In the move i may have misplaced them! :eek: I'll have a search when i get home and i'll make every effort to bring them along!

I'm coming!!!! Don't forget me! I haven't been here in ages so i don't know if we were supposed to do a final count or not! I'm so looking forward to it! See you all there! :)

IAdoreYou
17-05-2006, 14:41
Have a great time everybody .. I'm a little late seeing this thread .. I'm definately coming next time.

17-05-2006, 14:45
Have a great time everybody .. I'm a little late seeing this thread .. I'm definately coming next time.

Not too late to come to this one!;)

Puk
17-05-2006, 14:45
Ok, if worse comes to worst i have found some little round labels that could work if i can't find the others or if no-one else brings some! :smiliedance:

tickle
17-05-2006, 15:48
Sorry everyone I have to pike. My Happy Baby is not so happy and won't be the greatest company. I'm sure you don't want to hear her crying all night.
Hope to get to the next one.:o

17-05-2006, 15:50
I'll be happy to hear her crying.... :(

tickle
17-05-2006, 15:54
You say that now Nikki.:p
I don't really want to take her out when she's not feeling the best. I think she has an upset tummy, poor little bugger.:(

17-05-2006, 16:06
Yeah, I understand!
Next time! :hugs: Have a good night at home

veve
17-05-2006, 16:09
My little guy has spots on his face :(
I think they are from the dog licking him (he and puppy love each other :D ) - but that could be where the spots have come from..

I have wiped him down.. and he is asleep - but if the spots keep appearing .. I'll have to give dinner a miss..

BUT - if i can .. I will be there...(it would be the first dinner I have missed :( )

:fingerscrossed: spots go away!!!

17-05-2006, 16:10
:eek: :eek:
GO AWAY SPOTS!

veve
17-05-2006, 16:11
:eek: :eek:
GO AWAY SPOTS!

I know .. I know ... :fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed: !!!

lukaelmo
17-05-2006, 16:13
Luka gets spots around his mouth from time to time. I thought he was allergic to the yoghurt I was giving him, but the CHN said it was a teething rash... Is there such thing? Anyway, my point is, maybe Jack has teething rash spots, if indeed there is such a thing as teething rash.

Clear as crystal that was.

17-05-2006, 16:14
I know .. I know ... :fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed: !!!

Oh Veve please update us if you are coming cause I was bringing those nappies for you to give to your friend tonight!

veve
17-05-2006, 16:16
Oh Veve please update us if you are coming cause I was bringing those nappies for you to give to your friend tonight!

oh yeah... :)

well at the moment.. I am thinking.. that since they are only on his face ... (at the moment :rolleyes: ) they have to be a contact reaction??? yes???

all contagious spots start on the torso dont they???

veve
17-05-2006, 16:17
Luka gets spots around his mouth from time to time. I thought he was allergic to the yoghurt I was giving him, but the CHN said it was a teething rash... Is there such thing? Anyway, my point is, maybe Jack has teething rash spots, if indeed there is such a thing as teething rash.

Clear as crystal that was.

ooh - see I thought YOU might suggest measles... smallpox... rabies... cancer... tumour... :laughing: being that we are sooo paranoid :D

lukaelmo
17-05-2006, 16:18
Are they around his mouth?

lukaelmo
17-05-2006, 16:19
ooh - see I thought YOU might suggest measles... smallpox... rabies... cancer... tumour... :laughing: being that we are sooo paranoid :D

Well nothing but the best for our babies. Perhaps I could suggest Ross River Fever?

veve
17-05-2006, 16:19
not really... some on his forehead- a few near his eye (mostly under his first and second chin though :rolleyes: )

I"m thinking dog at the moment... - he was outside in his jolly jumper... they were playing...

:fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed:

veve
17-05-2006, 16:21
Well nothing but the best for our babies. Perhaps I could suggest Ross River Fever?

AHA!!! we have a diagnosis :laughing: and here I was thinking whopping cough :laughing: .... thanks babe :)

17-05-2006, 16:26
in my expert non-medical opinion i'd suggest they're contact reaction :D

veve
17-05-2006, 16:28
in my expert non-medical opinion i'd suggest they're contact reaction

ahhh (whew) well thats alright then :laughing:

- it is SO frustrating when they sleep!!! when they are awake you want them to sleep... but I want him to wake up so I can check his spots! :laughing: - I'm not poking him though... it is blissfully quiet :)

17-05-2006, 16:46
let's not look at my non-ironed-well pants (they wouldn't iron!!!) and the fact that I don't have suitable shoes.

I do have suitable undies, however.

veve
17-05-2006, 16:50
nikki has granny undies .... nikki has granny undies .... nikki has granny undies .... nikki has granny undies .... nikki has granny undies .... nikki has granny undies ....

:p :p :laughing:

Puk
17-05-2006, 16:51
I do have suitable undies, however.

I don't!!! :eek: :eek:

Veve, i hope the little man's spots clear up! It wouldn't be the same without you!

17-05-2006, 16:52
I said SUITABLE!
Not granny :p

my granny undies are packed in my hospie bag.... :o

Puk
17-05-2006, 16:52
nikki has granny undies .... nikki has granny undies .... nikki has granny undies .... nikki has granny undies .... nikki has granny undies .... nikki has granny undies ....

:p :p :laughing:

LOL!!

I only quoted this because it needed to be continued! :p

17-05-2006, 16:53
and and and I'm going to go and pick Puk up from work and stuff then wait for Becca-Rae and THEN get going.

So see you all there :D

(and if anyone can bring sticky labels that would be great, I'd hate to have to do the whole writing backwards on our forehead thing...) :p

PUK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :shame: :shame:

You can walk now!!

Puk
17-05-2006, 16:56
PUK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :shame: :shame:

You can walk now!!

Hey, i have a car!

Nikki has Granny undies ... Nikki has granny undies ... Nikki has granny undies!!!

17-05-2006, 16:57
is that little shame dude doing the middle finger.
No really.. look :shame: :shame: :shame: :shame:

And.. and... I'M CHANGING THE VENUE everyone except puk and veve will get a PM.

(just kidding.. promise)

Puk
17-05-2006, 16:59
I'm sure Veve and i will be quite happy to sit there on our own, drinking wine and gasbagging all night! :D

veve
17-05-2006, 17:05
I'm sure Veve and i will be quite happy to sit there on our own, drinking wine and gasbagging all night! :D

damn straight :D

in fact... that could be an improvement :p

veve
17-05-2006, 17:07
guys I am off.... I have three people to get ready (DH .. DS and me :rolleyes: ) - lots of work to do ...

tea lady - I am bringing part of my stash to show off...(inc my bummi) so BE THERE WITH NAPPIES!!!! :)

see you all there... I'm off to check spots... and organise hubby...

if you DONT hear from me... I'll be there :smiliedance:

Puk
17-05-2006, 17:08
damn straight :D

in fact... that could be an improvement :p

Well it was such a rowdy bunch at the last one! :rolleyes:

See you there! I'm off to close up the store! :)

lukaelmo
17-05-2006, 17:14
I just realised that I don't know when or where... I was just going to go out to some random place and hope to find friends :o .

veve
17-05-2006, 18:10
I just realised that I don't know when or where... I was just going to go out to some random place and hope to find friends :o .

hmmm ... well now is the time to tell you - no one actually likes you ali..you have been identified as a problem poster... (all mods are watching you very very closely) .. which is why the destination is a HUGE shhhhh secret :p

- see you there :hugs:

17-05-2006, 23:46
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: Great Night :D
I had loooots of fun meeting everyone and babbling on about nappies, boobies, post counts and other such!

Puk had fun too. She told me to say something witty.. so.. "Something witty"

Enjoyed meeting everyone! and hooray for the Gnome finding a new Home (heeey I'm a poet!)

Special thanks to Xkwizit for opening her purse for the extra money left on the bill... :shame:

veve
18-05-2006, 06:31
OOOH xkwisit!!!! how much was left!!!??? I woulda chipped in??!!! :confused: oooheeer .... thats harsh!!! (hugs)

what a fantastic evening... thanks lovely ladies (I would have posted last night ... but I arrived home and simply collapsed into bed :laughing: ) another wonderful brissy bubhub dinner - with lots of secrets shared (but its ok ... what happens at dinner stays at dinner :D - so dont worry Ali... we wont let on how you won the gnome :laughing: )

18-05-2006, 12:34
what happens at dinner stays at dinner :D - so dont worry Ali... we wont let on how you won the gnome :laughing: )

LOL!!
Was a great night!!! Ali, cant wait to hear what you will be planning for our June girls night out!!!! :yelclap:

Mmm Pancakes!!! Now we can say what we ate!!! :D

xkwzit
18-05-2006, 13:01
Lots of ppl chipped in - my wallet is STILL heavy with change...

It was an excellent evening, Thanks All:thumbsup:

Refresh
20-05-2006, 10:26
It was great to catch up with you guys! Thanks for a great night!!:thumbsup: :kiss:

Kat =^.^=
21-05-2006, 23:10
MISSED IT - Hope everyone had a great night ... was at home but a bit crook ... still no baby!!!!! It's due on the 22 (tomorrow) so with any luck this kiddo is a prompt little bugger! Hope to catch everyone in June!