View Full Version : kids on the cheap

Tea Lady
08-06-2005, 11:47
Hi there all,

I was just thinking this morning that I would like to see what ideas others have for saving $ with kiddliwinks - ie cheap meals (for the family, not just the baby), day to day money saving ideas, even good bargains in your local area or city. We are on one not-too-brilliant income (not too bad either - I'm not complaining) and I'm not planning to go back to work in the forseeable future. We operate on a very tight budget and any hints from others would come in very handy, and I'm sure I'm not the only one who feels this way.

Let me know what you think.

Lucy

PS I will start by saying cheap brand nappy soaker works just as well as napisan (for about 1/4) of the price and cosifits nappies (available from chemists in Bris at least) are better than Huggies and work out around 25c each if you buy the bulk med pack. You can also fill your nappy bucket while showering, but maybe that's going too far - my hubby thinks so!

mumofethan
08-06-2005, 13:41
i have found that babylove nappies are a great alternative to huggies...

in SA you can buy bulk nappies from a place called Nappy World, bonza bratz are often a stockist for them.

a cheap meal that works for my family, (which includes 2 adults, a 4 yr old and a 8.5mth old) is spagetti... we include things like frozen vegies in to the spagetti sauce to add texture and healthiness....

the other thing that is also pretty cheap is shepards pie.

Michelle

Rell
09-06-2005, 06:25
- we use snugglers nappies, the bulk pack from Big W and I have had no problems.
- Our favourite cheap meal is Pumpkin Soup
- A tip on Formula is if K Mart stock your formula buy a few when they have their 15% off storewide sale
- We use the no name (have tried coles, bi lo and woolies) thick baby wipes and find them to work great and are a lot cheaper then huggies.
- Cheap shops often sell nappy bags for about $2 for 100. they don't smell as strong as the nappy sacks but works the same.

Can't wait to read others tips

draught
09-06-2005, 07:10
I buy the girls' clothes a season ahead - so at the end of winter I buy clothes on sale in the next size up to cover us for the next winter - pumpkin patch on line is good for this - big savings on clothes that are good quality. I also have a clothes exchange with my sister who has a daughter inbetween my two - we mail boxes of clothes backwards and forwards across the country. Although a box may cost $20 to mail it normally contains the equivalent of about $250 worth of clothes if we were to buy them new - big savings and because we have bought decent quality like bonds, pumpkin ptach and target brands, the clothes are lasting into the third wear very well.

BJelly
09-06-2005, 07:35
What a great thread!

I wash my disposable nappy liners, and get at least another 5 uses out of them - they still keep baby dry.

I use white vinegar for softener to wash clothes (1/4 -1/2 cup a load).

For a cheap, quick healthy meal I make a stir fry from 1 head broccoli, 1 red capsicum, 4 medium mushrooms, 1 onion, garlic, ginger, 1 can mixed chinese veggies, 2 eggs, a handful of cashews, soy sauce, sesame oil, salt, pepper and cooked rice - make enough for two meals, so you don't have to cook the following night - yay for left overs!

I freeze my old bananas and put them in banana cake when I'm ready to bake - better than throwing them out - don't put icing on the cake - it's cheaper and healthier - if you need extra flavour, add a bit of butter to your slice.

I make my husband's lunch to take to work - it gives me the irrits that he won't do it himself, but I'd rather save $8 a day than argue about it.

Kassiasmum
09-06-2005, 07:38
There is a great website for saving money on EVERYTHING www.simplesavings.com.au, you do have to pay a yearly subscription to access part of their site but I found it invaluable the year I subscribed, the subscription price has since doubled though.

I only buy huggies nappies when they are on special for $30.00 per box, price per nappy is usually better than other brands this way

I make my own wipes, instead of paying what price (I don't even know how much commercial wipes are I have never bought them), I pay around $2.80 for 200 wipes(1 double pack of paper towel)

Local library for bowworing books, videos, dvd's, toys - all usually free

Cooking mag called Super food ideas - is a cheap monthly mag with heaps of different meal ideas and that I have found quite cheap to make

Ebay - I buy a lot of my daughters clothes on ebay, you just have to make sure of the brand and read decrisptions carefully, ask lots of questions and take postage into consideration and know the cost of the clothes brand new

We use the no brand nappy soaker as well, I think is even better than napisan

Tracey

Nickster
09-06-2005, 14:59
The cheapest thing I do for my baby is to breastfeed her. You can't beat that!! No cost whatsoever!!!!LOL!!!
We also use Coles "savings" disposable nappies and wipes, and for dinner often cook a big meal that has enough leftover to freeze for another meal.
Picnics are a bit hit with us too. Luckily my husband has a company car, so we don't pay for petrol, and we can drive where and when we want, taking our own sandwiches/drinks and getting out into the fresh air.
We get ideas for new recipes online on various sites rather than buying anymore cookbooks.
I try to buy bub's clothes on days where there is 25% off everything (eg Target, Kmart etc) or 2nd hand through the newspaper. I am however often weak and see adorable things I simply have to have for her at full price (guilt, guilt, guilt!!) regardless!!
What a great thread, I hope to get heaps more ideas from everyone!

razzle
09-06-2005, 15:15
Whatever I make for dinner I make enough for three, that way DP has lunch for work the next day. And he takes a drink bottle filled with apple juice! That saves us at least $50-$60 a week. For his lunch I also make biscuits rather than buying them for his morning tea. And I buy boxes of chicken-in-a-biscuit and make my own little snack bags with snack size snaplock bags. I buy the ziplock bags at the $2 shop, and if he remembers to bring the bag home instead of chucking it away, I can reuse it. It works out so much cheaper than buying the ready made ones. Same thing with the biscuits and spread cheese, Le Snak? I give him dip and crackers, same thing, probably nicer!!

The $2 discount shops are great for things like serviettes and nappy bags (100 for $2). I look in our local one at least once a week for different things.

I also buy a lot of clothes at the opshops for Eloise, and on ebay.

If you want savings tips, a great website is www.tipking.com. It has heaps of useful information, there's a whole section on baby stuff!

mumof2girls
09-06-2005, 16:36
Wow there are so many things you can do to save money these days. I also buy my kids clothes on sale or pick them up for the next season (just in a larger size) also clothes share with others.

I buy our fruit & veg from a green grocer not a supermarket as they are much cheaper. I buy in bulk when I can and buy extr when things are on sale (washing powder etc)

I also buy things from cheap shops as this saves a lot of money, and you can get most things at them.

I also buy large packets of chips on sale to put in the lunch boxes and make our own cakes and cookies as this works out cheaper.

I also have a friend that buys in bulk at the children's expo as they pay $8-9 per can instead of $14 or so at the supermarket or chemist (you have to save for this though).

To many more to write at the moment but will post more later :)

cwsmum
10-06-2005, 09:54
This might sound a little silly, but when my son is playing outside I take his nappy off and put him in training pants, the cloth kind you use for toilet training. I started doing this when he was about 18mths old, not to try to toilet train him, just to save a bit of money on nappies each week.

xkwzit
10-06-2005, 13:47
For cheap kiddie entertainment the library is great. Our local libraries all have a story time and craft morning everyweek that is totally free. And now that the 3.5 yo can navigate around the ABC kids website by herself, Mummy can sit and look for new books for herself!

There are also great exhibitions for kids at the art gallery and museum that are usually free, if you get onto their email list, they send you regular updates.

...and I have been known to feed the 1yo her sister's leftover sandwich crusts for lunch (I call it waste minimisation :D )

moggs
11-06-2005, 18:55
Hiya,

I think these idea's are great....When it comes to nappies, i find ALDI is great for pullups but i don't know if this shop is in all states. It's also great to buy cheap snacks for the kids.

I also find that homebrand in safeway is no different to the more popular name brands. What I do is buy a box of shapes and then put them in little containers or cheap freezer bags (also homebrand) to take them along on trips.

cheers Moggs xx

Gribel
11-06-2005, 19:30

really great tips!!!
I try to buy my meat in bulk at the butchers, also you can pick up large farm eggs for 1/3 of the price you pay at Coles/woolies/ etc....
When going grocery shopping, I'll try to go in the evenings about 1 - 1 1/2 hrs before they close, you can pick up the meat & some veggies cheaper (they mark the prices down) for a quick sale...
Try to go some markets, they sell fresh veggies really cheap.

For clothes I sometime pay a visit to St Vinnies or the Salvos, sometimes you can pick up real bargains!! I bought my son a brandnew Jumpsuit (never worn) for $3.50 in the Salvos Shop!!!!

Hope this helps, I will definately take on some of the other tips!!

Belinda & Riley :p

kamckellar
11-06-2005, 19:38
I HAVE 4 KIDS AND I AM A SINGLE MUM PAYING OFF MY OWN HOME.I TOO BUY ALL THE KIDS CLOTHES AT THE END OF SEASON RED LIGHT SALES.BUT THE BEST WAY FOR SHOPPING WITH MY KIDS ON THE CHEAP IS GARAGE SALES AND MARKETS.I TAKE MY KIDS TO ADAMSTOWN MARKETS IN NEWCASTLE AND THEY GO NUTS THERE.WE GO CLOSE TO CLOSING TIME AS MOST STALLS THEN HAVE REDUCED EVERYTHING AND WE END UP WITH DOUBLE THE AMOUNT.MY MUM WENT LAST WEEK AND WAS LUCKY TO PICK UP BAGS OF CLOTHES IN VERY GOOD COND FOR MY TWIN GIRLS FOR NOTHING AS THE STORE HOLDER DIDNT WANT TO TAKE THEM HOME.I GOT 2 BABY BORNS WITH PRAMS LAST YEAR B4 XMAS FOR $80.00. ONE PRAM WAS STILL IN BOX.THE DOLLS CAME WITH EXTRA CLOTHES,A BABY CARRY HARNESS AND TODDLER SEATS FOR THE PRAMS.MY GIRLS DIDNT KNOW THEY WERE 2ND HAND.AND MY BOYS LOVE LOOKING FOR NINTENDO GAMES 2ND HAND.ITS LIKE A BIG TREASURE HUNT AND ITS SO MUCH FUN FOR ME TO SEE MY KIDS SO EXCITED OVER SOME 2ND HAND GOODS.AND I TAKE MY KIDS THRU THE DRIVE THRU OF MACCAS AND WE GET A 30c ICECREAM CONE THEN GO TO THE PARK FOR AN HOUR OR SO.IT COSTS ME $1.50.THATS NOT BAD.MY TWINS ARE WEARING THEIR BROTHERS HAND ME DOWN PJS,SINGLETS AND SLIPPERS AND I BOUGHT GOOD HAIR CLIPPERS AND CUT MY BOYS' HAIR MYSELF.

Rell
12-06-2005, 07:26
Its great to read all these tips.
I also do my kids a d husbands hair cuts and we too go to McDonalds to get a cone and play in the playground for a treat. Its much cheaper then going to an indoor playground.
I make my own playdough, finger paint and glue for paper mache, in fact most of our craft items are recycled.
I use Bebe wide neck bottles from Big W they look the same as Avent but cost a lot less.
I make yogurt with the Easy Yo system (from K Mast, Big W and suppermarkets). The initial set up costs $18 but fron the on it only costs $2.50 to make a litre. Whet you go through yogert like we do the savings add up quickly.

shellbell
01-07-2005, 13:23
love these great tips !!

when my second was born (a boy, middle of summer) i realised that i was going to need a WHOLE new wardrobe for him, as his sister was born in the middle of winter. when people asked what we needed for him when he was born, we said "CLOTHES!" as a result, we didn't have to fork out too much money initially, and even now, i've been known to put him in the occasional pink and purple jumpsuit or other pretty girly outfit. we use bella's sleeping bags at night for archer - they may be pink and frilly, but they keep him warm and he doesn't care :p .

if he grows up to be a cross-dresser, at least i'll know when it all started :D

WeThree
01-07-2005, 21:34
hi girls, Rell mentioned making her own playdough and i just wondered if anyone can give me a recipe for it?, i know its pretty simple and my mum used to make it for me all the time, cooper would love it and it would keep him quiet for hrs, also any other ideas for cheap or free craft projects for little ones? thanks :)

BlueGin
01-07-2005, 23:51
Hey, Cooper may enjoy making egg-carton crocodiles (paint them green and stick on pointy bits of card-board for a spine, and draw on eyes) Mum used to keep me busy for hours with these as I would then push them around terrorising my dolls! I ended up destroying them pretty quickly so I didn't get sick of them. Also papier mache (flour and water paste and newspaper) half around balloons for masks, right around for money boxes, we used to also decorate worn out clothes with fabric paint and glued on sequins for dress-ups. They all seem now like really 80s ideas! hehehe, my mum was a hippy! :D
One more, make bread dough he can shape then eat when cooked (it will be kind of grey from all the handling, but as he made it it will taste great to him!)

Kat
02-07-2005, 07:53
What a great thread!!!

I too buy the nappy bags from the $2 shop - I prefer these ones to the NappySacks - I think they smell awful!

Also I agree that homebrand nappy wash is better.

My tip is that I use chux (or similiar) as nappy wipes and re-wash them till they fall apart - I cut them into little squares and I have pink and green chux for baby's bot-bot and blue chux for the sink.

Also when first starting solids (doesn't work when bigger coz they eat larger serves) a kind soul showed me to freeze left-over baby food from containers / cooking up into icecube trays then shake them out into snaplock freezer bags (or other container) for easy to defrost meals. (don't forget to separate before using rather than after so to not spread germs!)

Kat

WeThree
02-07-2005, 17:44
thanks bluegin, those ideas sound fun, for my oldest son as well, which will be handy now the school holidays are here :)

2under2
02-07-2005, 19:57
Coopsntilly,
There is a recipe for playdough on the packet of cream of tartar - one of the main ingredients in playdough. You find it in the cooking isle of the supermarket. I think the other ingredients are flour, vege oil, salt and colour. Check the pack for amounts. My dd loves playdough - seems to enjoy eating it as well - dont know if I'd go that far myself! I have started making my own biscuits, cakes and baby food. It is scary how quick all that stuff adds up!! I am using cloth nappies (or none in yard) at home and disposables at night and out and about. I guess we all come up with our own ideas on how to save when we have to! :p Some great ideas on here, thanks girls!! :)

WeThree
04-07-2005, 08:11
thanks 2 under2 i will be popping out today to buy all the ingredients! i too make my own bickies, baby food, cakes etc, i cam get the kids involved, which they love, and its all so much yummier to! (and much better for them, no yucky preservatives etc) :)

RuthK
06-07-2005, 12:55
I'm an accountant and notice every penny. As it's only my husband working at the moment, I notice the tightness of money particulary.

It sounds very childlike, but I have a money box and every day I put all my $1 and $2 coins in it. Then when I really want something I buy it out of that. It's amazing how quickly you can save $100. I have bought furniture, a lovely dinner set and a gorgeous cardigan from it. It's nice to know that you've really earned that money, rather than having to deal with a credit card bill.

Other ways I control our money is giving my husband and I an allowance each month of approx. $300-$400 each. This is to cover clothes for all of us, entertainment, lunches for him at work and anything else we desire. As soon as that allowance runs out, we've no money left for ourselves at the end of the month. It's amazing how soon you learn to look for cheaper alternatives to clothing and shoes when you see how much they diminish your allowance.

Finally, I never shop for presents except at the sales. I usually have all my Christmas presents bought by the end of August. As we all know shopping in December with little ones is next to impossible, this saves me the hassle of enduring the Christmas rush. And by having everyone's birthday presents bought early there is never the embarrassment of having forgotten someone's birthday.

moggs
07-07-2005, 05:03
Hiya,

There are a few things i do on the cheap.. I find with crafts stuff, it's never a waste to buy the things as they last for ages and get many ideas of the www.enchantedlearning.com website.

When it comes to nappies (daughter is 2) When she is at home, i let her run around with no nappy on, this has saved soooooooo many nappies! Also helps with the *toilet training*!!

Start with x-mas pressies early. K-mart/ big W have a great toysale at the moment with a no-deposit layby. It so good to pay what you can so when x-mas comes the shopping is done and you don't have to worry about crowds!

Moggs xx

2under2
08-07-2005, 13:02
I have bought things throughout the year to save for christmas pressies and intend to do the same with the big sale on now. Target toy sale starts next week I think, it always has some great stuff! Never hurts to have the bday pressies on standby either! The trick is remembering what you have, where you have them and making sure the kids don't find them!! :D I keep a couple of rolls of brown paper around and for a craft session get my 21 month old to "help" decorate some for wrapping paper. Paint, pencils or crayons are fine. Cards are easy to make with some pre-cut pictures (old magazines, photos etc) and a bit of imagination! Then use string or left-over ribbons (from xmas) to tie them up! I always thought my mum was tight keeping old wrapping paper from birthdays and christmas presents, but find myself doing the same thing these days!! :p

shanz
09-07-2005, 13:14
what a great thread.we buy most stuff in bulk.but i must say the one thing i am happiest with is a box of washing powder.we bought this when k-mart had 15%off,it is a 15 kg box of FAB,we paid $34 and have been using it since april and it still doesn't look like its been used at all!!I think i will easily get a year of washing out of it!!It is great value considering before this i was paying around $10 a month previously.

Zoe & Troy
09-07-2005, 17:17
Hi. We have started shopping at aldi. This has really helped us cut our shopping bill. We use aldi nappies during the day, and huggies or baby love for night. We usually buy these in bulk when they go on sale.

For Jayden's dinner, we get vegies from the fruit and veg shop in bulk, and do a big cook up then freeze them.

As for our dinners, we buy lots of frozen vegies (aldi or coles brand cause frozen vegies are frozen vegies! we dont care what brand. We have a really good butcher and get our meat fairly cheap.

We don't spend alot on activities. WE go to our local park alot, or have picnics with friends and family. This makes you feel like you've gone out all day, but its cheap and lots of fun.

Zoe 21 Full time working mummy + studing
Troy 26 Stay at home studing daddy
Jayden 1 Born 7th April 2004
M/C Bub Sent to heaven 2nd June 2005

Refresh
10-07-2005, 11:09
Hi, great thread. Everyone has shared some great ideas....my top ones are:

1) Breastfeed (if you can)so you dont have to buy formula or bottles
2) Cloth nappies save HEAPS
3) Use the library
4) Don't buy cleaning products - use bicarb to clean everything (cheap as chips!)
5) Put all Christmas pressies on layby in the mid year sales

Jack'smummy
21-07-2005, 15:53
I know of a mum who used blue kitchen wipes as baby wipes as opposed to commercial products and they were fine. Some tips (perhaps not strictly money savers) are to soak clothes in cold water to remove the milk smells and clean teats with salt.
Alex
Mum of Jack, aged 7 months today!

21-07-2005, 20:26
Excellent thread guys!! I too find that using cloth nappies works out heaps cheaper. I'm not THAT busy to not have time to put a load on to wash! I use them on my 2 yr old still, just when she's at home...i only use disposables when we go out and at night....i find babylove brand is as good as huggies, which i admit i DO buy when the boxes are on special for $30.

Another thing i've found is that no name wipes (nurseryland - coles) are often as good as the expensive brands and i just buy a refill pack and put them into a lunchbox type container.

I too buy the nappy bags from the cheap shops, they're only going to hold dirty nappies!!

Also, if your baby has no problems with what type of formula you use, then you can quite often go for the cheaper options, like Nurture....

The end of season sales is where i get most of my daughters clothes for the next year and also the op shops, you can quite often find heaps of great bargains, also garage sales and lately i've been finding good stuff on ebay!

Also if anyone asks me what to get Mackenzie for her b-day/x-mas etc, then i telll them clothes...she doesn't know any different yet, and she already has heaps of toys etc....keep the tips coming guys, i'll definitely be using some of them... :D

ceejay
22-07-2005, 09:57
Hi. There's some great suggestions on here - I'll have to start using some. For myself, we buy baby love seconds nappies for use during the day - two boxes of 100 each, delivered, for $55 - and only use huggies at night. And we hardly ever use wipes at all, just for going out and for emergencies. Mostly we use a basin of warm water and a thin facecloth (we bought a couple of packets especially when I was pregnant), then soak them in (cheap brand) napisan and toss em in the wash. Also, we don't use nappy bags, either - isn't that what old supermarket bags are for? Unless they're lining the rubbish tin, of course.

jembelina
28-07-2005, 13:19
we visit hubby's parents once a week or so for dinner - they love to have us and spend time with zack and we get a free feed and i don't have to cook!!

- nappies and wipes from Aldi's (mamia brand) are good quality and pretty cheap.

-grab a butter cake mix(about $1.50) in the shopping each week and make that up for hubby's morning tea - lasts the week. i usually jazz it up a bit by spreading jam or golden syrup over the base of the pan before pouring mix in - yummy

-if you can get to coles after 6pm-ish most bread, rolls, sweets, etc are out for 50c or $1, great to stock up and freeze.

-best & less is definately the way to go for bulk of bub's wardrobe - you have to hunt for the items that are good quality (alot is not) but i have never paid over $10 for an item, usually $5 and everything is washing and wearing really well. also really good fro hubby's work gear (polar fleece jumpers $10) as he is a labourer so clothes get ruined and he doesn't care how he looks as long as he is warm

-i think there is also a savers in Dandenong

-leek and potatoe soup is our fave cheap meal, it is yummy and filling and easy to make

i think that's all folks!!

jem & zack (09/02/05)

Tea Lady
13-08-2005, 13:28
I've found a great recipe so I thought I'd share:

Pea and cannellini bean soup

1 small leek
approx 1 tbsp butter
3 tins cannellini beans
300-400ish g froz peas
approx 500mL chicken stock.

Finely slice leek, gently cook in the butter. Add drained cans beans and peas, pour in chicken stock to cover veges (can add water too if needed). Boil for awhile - about 20 mins then puree (food processor works well). You can add cream or sour cream, but I though it was nice without. It's much yummier than it sounds!

This would serve about 4 or 5 adults as a main if you have it with bread.

FlowerPower
14-08-2005, 16:38
We have a vege patch and I find it saves heaps of money for meals, and it is also lots of fun for the kids.

Wendy

SixtiesChild
14-08-2005, 21:31
My hubby loves to eat lasagne, so I've been making them from scratch and freezing them. Beats buying them from safeway.
It's just so handy when I'm too tired to cook. Saves time & money.
I sometimes have about 3 family sized lasagnes in the freezer ready for emergencies.