View Full Version : So what do you buy your kids if they don't NEED any more toys?

25-07-2008, 10:25
Just reading through the toy sale thread.... was just wondering...

IF Christmas is a big deal in your family (if it isn't a big deal, then it's easy to say that you just stick with a few very small gifts!) - and your kids already have all they toys they need - then what do you do?

What does Santa leave them then?
I have been thinking what to get my kids for Christmas, but they have all the toys they need for quite a while.

I have thought of things like colouring in stuff, art stuff, and books... but other than that - if they have everything else, yet you WANT Christmas to be a big deal, the what do you do?

They are a big young yet to give things like movie vouchers etc...

elissas
25-07-2008, 10:34
This year we're giving DS his own little garden bed for Christmas. DH's parents are paying for timber etc to box it out, and for the soil, mulch etc. Aunties and uncles each buying him plants to go in it. Then there's the kiddie gardening tools, etc.

My parents have given both of our kiddies a series of kinesiology/naturopathy sessions to help with food/chemical intolerances and restore balance to their little bods. Pretty toxic world nowadays...

MountainGirl
25-07-2008, 10:37
I would like to get the kids a couple of chooks this year,.. but DH and the dogs are against it,...:cool:

naiwen
25-07-2008, 10:41
I will be getting Edward a doll this year from oxfam, for every one you buy one is given to an AIDS orphan that has no toys.

Packets of seeds and child size garding tools so they can learn about plants.

A worm farm.

Really things that are going to have an ongoing positive impact.

kiwi1984
25-07-2008, 10:44
Phineas- I too have been thinking the same thing. I came up with a few ideas so I will list them.

Books, Back seat buddies with their names printed on them, Blackboard and whiteboard easel, Doona covers, Clothes, Colouring books and colouring posters, Money Boxes, Maybe a nice plaque with their name on it thats handmade.

HTH

Bridg

elissas
25-07-2008, 10:46
I will be getting Edward a doll this year from oxfam, for every one you buy one is given to an AIDS orphan that has no toys.

Packets of seeds and child size garding tools so they can learn about plants.

A worm farm.

Really things that are going to have an ongoing positive impact.

Worm farm! What a great idea :D You've just helped me out deciding on a pressie for DS birthday (Boxing Day no less :devil6:)

Mamalicious
25-07-2008, 10:47
A goat from world vision for him to give, and a vege garden and tool set of his own. :D

And a trip somewhere that he likes, the zoo maybe. :yes:

NibbleCurlynBub
25-07-2008, 10:49
Well this year we are making our two a Thomas the tank engine table.
Buying track pieces as they go on special and will buy a second hand table and use all the pain in the shed to paint it.

Will be unique and I know they will LOVE it to pieces.

I also like the idea of (in a house I owned) painting a wall in blackboard paint. Like a chalk-board wall.
I LOVED that idea as a kid (though never got it) and really would like to do that for my kids when I own a house of my own.

We also love books in this house, or clothing, even wrapping paper with their favourite characters all cut out in a takeaway container would be great.

You could also make a 'dress-up box' by going to vinnies and buying some interesting pieces of clothing and putting it in a big box.
Cheap and FUN!

Mamalicious I LOVE the garden idea, I want to do that with my kids too once we own some property.

ThomasMum
25-07-2008, 10:50
IMHO, I think its pretty cruel not to buy any toys for our kids around Christmas time.
Like us, if you didnt want to go over the top get couple decent toys, and put the rest of the money into DS's account. Don't forget to give at least one or two gifts to Salvo for those who might need em. Weve been doing this every Xmas. :yes:

That's IMHO...

*Chels*
25-07-2008, 10:53
Some things we are getting DS(and from relo's too)

Doona cover
Clothes
Puzzles
Duplo
Books
Stickers
Bubble blowing stuff
Cutlery set
Plate/bowl/cup set
Art and craft stuff-coloured paper,foam stickers,pens etc
My bro is getting him a fish tank and some fishies

MountainGirl
25-07-2008, 10:54
I also like the idea of (in a house I owned) painting a wall in blackboard paint. Like a chalk-board wall.
I LOVED that idea as a kid (though never got it) and really would like to do that for my kids when I own a house of my own.

We have just painted the front of the kids wardrobe with blackboard paint,..and they each have a door to draw on,! Saves the walls, and other furniture!

DD was given an ant farm from my brother for her birthday last year,..... It's great fun!

Also,..plaster of paris moulds are great,.... do a mould of their hands/feet/arms etc and then paint/decorate it!

Goldfish are a cheap and 'safe' prezzie too!

trouble
25-07-2008, 10:58
My girls birthdays are coming up in august/september, and they have more than enough toys, and will always get more toys at their party.

so knowing Im going to have our 3rd baby soon, and they will have to share a room, their birthday present is a new room, we are going to do it up really nice for them.

but saying that, I have already brought teddies and a few toys things for their new room,

and seems they have just got into new things, my youngest the wiggles and the other one is disney princess. I have already got them things like that for christmas.

So I can really talk, :o I couldnt bring myself to not giving them great things for their birthdays and christmas, and at their age, great things seem to be mostly toys.

elissas
25-07-2008, 11:05
IMHO, I think its pretty cruel not to buy any toys for our kids around Christmas time.
Like us, if you didnt want to go over the top get couple decent toys, and put the rest of the money into DS's account. Don't forget to give at least one or two gifts to Salvo for those who might need em. Weve been doing this every Xmas. :yes:

That's IMHO...

I think it's more cruel to give kids a sense of materialism and entitlement to take with them through their lives.

When I look back on my childhood I don't remember toys much at all. I don't look back on them fondly thinking, what a great toy.

I look back on the experiences. I loved my doll house BECAUSE of the memories I have sharing it with my sister and playing pretend house with her.

Toys are kinda cool, but most get forgotten very quickly. The greatest gift you can give our child is wonderful shared experiences and valuable life lessons - the vehicle doesn't matter a hoot.

mumx3littlies
25-07-2008, 11:08
My girls birthdays are coming up in august/september, and they have more than enough toys, and will always get more toys at their party.

so knowing Im going to have our 3rd baby soon, and they will have to share a room, their birthday present is a new room, we are going to do it up really nice for them.

but saying that, I have already brought teddies and a few toys things for their new room,

and seems they have just got into new things, my youngest the wiggles and the other one is disney princess. I have already got them things like that for christmas.

So I can really talk, :o I couldnt bring myself to not giving them great things for their birthdays and christmas, and at their age, great things seem to be mostly toys.
:iagree:This is what we are doing as well. We are moving before Christmas and part of their present will be getting their bedrooms redone. New curtains, character stickups for the walls, and some other small special things for their rooms that they will get to choose. We will still give them some toys of course but it will be limited for sure:)

We are also planting fruit trees after we move and doing a vegetable garden for us all to enjoy. Growing and eating fresh produce in the backyard, yummo. This will also teach the children how to grow their own veges, fruit etc which we think is important.

25-07-2008, 11:08
I do art and craft supplies and books.

But I love the idea of a garden! Awesome.

naiwen
25-07-2008, 11:09
The toys I remember best are not really toys at all, books and a chemistry set. Things that help you learn.

I must say I did love my little pony's though!

There is a place for plastic, made in china toys but 1 or 2 is enough for my child at christmass.

gizmoduckus
25-07-2008, 11:11
Toys are kinda cool, but most get forgotten very quickly. The greatest gift you can give our child is wonderful shared experiences and valuable life lessons - the vehicle doesn't matter a hoot.

:iagree: I think that there are some great ideas here.

I am glad that so far I haven't had to worry about it too much. DS is still young so we only get him something small and put the rest of the money into a bank account for him.

elissas
25-07-2008, 11:18
Back to the OT.

Musical iinstruments are great. You can get wooden animal castinets, bells, triangles, tambourines... DS loves his and uses them at least every second day, sometimes daily.

Puppets are cool too, you can make your own hand an finger puppets or buy them very cheap. And make a little puppet theatre too.

miloand4
25-07-2008, 11:46
My son doesnt even play with his indoors toys so I havnt bought him any for years he loves being outside so I have invested my money in good sports and play equipment for him and it is used by all my kids But for christmas I am getting my middle two guitars and guitar lessons dont know if your kids are old enough for this yet but there are some great littlies instruments. I love the garden idea have been thinking of this for a while for ds2 and a worm farm what fun!! he loves getting dirty

ThomasMum
25-07-2008, 11:52
I think it's more cruel to give kids a sense of materialism and entitlement to take with them through their lives.

When I look back on my childhood I don't remember toys much at all. I don't look back on them fondly thinking, what a great toy.

I look back on the experiences. I loved my doll house BECAUSE of the memories I have sharing it with my sister and playing pretend house with her.

Thats why you dont need to do it over the top, my friend. One or two toys will do let the kids be the kid, put the rest of the money for his trustfund/account etc and give your child/ren love and affection money can not buy, trust me your child/ren will grow into wonderful people :yes:

Love is all you need
25-07-2008, 12:41
Back to the OT.

Musical iinstruments are great. You can get wooden animal castinets, bells, triangles, tambourines... DS loves his and uses them at least every second day, sometimes daily.

Puppets are cool too, you can make your own hand an finger puppets or buy them very cheap. And make a little puppet theatre too.
:iagree: I agree instruments are cool too.......and Target have packs where you can decorate your own xylophone and other wooden instruments.....

Playdoh is also a great idea for those old enough....

a bike is great
skipping rope
lego / duplo
wodden blocks
farms of any sorts
bug /butterfly catchers
dress ups
Art easels
Craft tables and craft packages

probably a heap more of things too when DD gets older but they are all things we can do together :D

Ana Gram
25-07-2008, 12:46
One toy, which she picks and within a certain price range (if it goes over the price she puts in for it with her pocket money), a few books and donations to charity.

Unfortunately I don't have control over what she gets at her fathers house, so very materialistic there :(

Veritas
25-07-2008, 13:05
I don't want Little Miss P growing up thinking she needs the latest gadget to make her happy so I have always been conscious of her having too many toys.... that and I don't want an endless pile of plastic junk floating around my house....

And the fact I would also like the things she does have to provide her with some kind of educational stimulation that requires her to use some imagination....

She is getting a few toys for her bday in two weeks.... but they have some educational value at least and one is a scooter so exercise there....

As for christmas, other than the sand and water table I just picked up she won't be getting any toys as such.... instead she'll be getting an easel and a whole heap of craft supplies.... along with books, books and more books..... I may also add some stuff to a dressing up collection I have started for her.....

~CupCakes~
25-07-2008, 13:17
i have bought our three wooden intruments to share for christmas, sooooo cute theres bongos little egg shakers, clapping sticks, these cool shakers made from native nuts/seeds! There are also getting a crafty box, paint pipecleaners old wrapping paper , glue glitter and things

dh and i decided that for christmas they are having group toys for all of them not individual, (they get that for their bdays anyways) that help their creativity and work either their little brains or bodies!
so i guess we're doing the brains and the grandparents ( both sides chipping in) are doing bodies - a swing and slide set!

FiveInTheBed
25-07-2008, 13:19
for xmas and birthdays... A day to remember- lots of great food to fill their bellies, loads of laughter,games and cuddles from all the friends and family we don't get to see very often, jokes and nonsense:D, lots of music so they can dance,dance and dance some more. Pure excitement from the moment they get up til the moment they drop their little heads on the pillow at night.

:):goodvibes::valentine::hugs::D:

Blueberry Crumble
25-07-2008, 13:27
Well this year we are making our two a Thomas the tank engine table.
Buying track pieces as they go on special and will buy a second hand table and use all the pain in the shed to paint it.

Will be unique and I know they will LOVE it to pieces.

That is such a GREAT IDEA!! :thumbsup:We were going to do this too!! But I was thinking of actually getting some wood from Bunnings and building the table but to buy a second hand one is even better! Ill scout the op shops!!

Make sure u post a pic when you have finished it! Would love to see it.

Also, if you want the wooden tracks, if you have a Toys R Us around they sell a cheaper version of the tracks that are compatible to Thomas trains- MUCH CHEAPER, more than half the price.

I love the idea also of teh worm farms, ant farms would be good too

zenifa
25-07-2008, 13:31
I think the idea of a garden is great :thumbsup: As a youngster I had this and a worm farm and loved it. FIL got an ant farm for Xmas one year and he loved it!!

Also books, DVDs, art and craft supplies, dress ups and musical instruments are great toys for toddlers right through to school age and beyond.
Sports equipment, scooters, bikes, roller blades, skipping rope anything that keeps them active is good too!!

My parents are paying for my girls' swimming lessons as a present for their birthdays (it costs about $500/year each), as its something fun they love to do and a present for them all year round!! (Yes my parents are practical and think the girls have enough toys already!)

NibbleCurlynBub
25-07-2008, 13:33
:yes: We bought the imaginarium track from there, the deluxe one. Saved about $15 cause it was on a good special.

I pick up the good specials I see. ;) Scouring eBay for anything that would do good on it too.

I have some pretty specific guidelines for the table though, it would need THICK sturdy legs and a THICK tabletop and would need to be heavy..

Might actually steal your idea of bunnings it if I can't find anything that suits.

:thumbsup: Will def take photos for you!

forbetoel
25-07-2008, 13:35
Every second year, Santa brings them new things for outside play. So every 2nd year they get inside toys. Works out about right that every second year things need replacing/updating.

emmwill
25-07-2008, 13:52
This year my parents are building DD and DS an aviary to share. It will have two rooms so they each can pick what goes in thier half. DD got a unicycle so something that will take a while to master and last a fair while.

mumx3littlies
27-07-2008, 11:44
You could also put vouchers in for a trip to the zoo, museum, aquarium, theme parks etc and make a day of it for each child:) Or let the kids each choose somewhere they would like to go.

MummaBear03
27-07-2008, 12:07
She gets outdoor equipment from Santa. So far she's got a slide, a swing set and a trampoline. She gets books and clothes and things she can enjoy outdoors such as bubbles that don't last long.

This year we're building up our board games but yesterday I bought one for us to play now, and for Christmas she's getting Trouble and Connect 4 and Twister.

Also every year she gets a new sunsuit for swimming. One for her birthday and one for Christmas usually gets her through the year.

She's into beauty stuff so she'll get a bath pack with bubble bath, coloured tablets for the bath (they're awesome!), a face washer, soap and shampoo from the Cruelty Free shop is going into her stocking. I don't tend to spend heaps on things unless she'll get a lot of use out of it, like books and outdoor equipment, and now board games.

In the past I've built up her train track and Duplo sets but now she has enough so she doesn't need any more. Other people buy her Take Along Thomas vehicles as they come out and my uncle has taken to giving her Hot Wheels which she loves so I'll leave that up to him.

Basically, if they don't need any more toys, books are always a hit!

LivinOnAPrayer
27-07-2008, 12:18
Its getting hard for us, cause DD is sooo spoilt. She just got so much on friday for her 2ng birthday.

I usually buy her some little people, and clothes, but now she has way too many of both! lol.

For xmas shes getting a cozy coupe car for outside and i want to hit DH up to make her a cubby (plastic rubbish is WAY too expensive for what it is!!!). For her birthday next yr i've got her a sesame st fish tank with light, pump ect so i'll give her that with some fishies!

Im keen on the garden idea but i cant do it where we are but i'll keep that in mind!! Also when shes older and better on her feet i'd love to get her a trampoline. one day...

our little treasures
27-07-2008, 12:32
OP There has been a lot of great ideas given already. I would have said most of them like books, art stuff etc..

Are you more after a bigger item that santa will bring?

Friends often joke that we have way too many toys as it takes up our entire house.. Actually the property manager commented one day:o I still buy toys though as they grow because their interests change.

I don't really get into brands as such. I wouldn't buy absolutely everything in Dora just because they like Dora. A few Dora toys would be great for their interest and then I get other toys that would keep them open to other activities.

Usually from Santa we get a big outside thing for all of them e.g is swing set, combo gym and trampoline. Then they get a special few things from santa for just them to play with. Santa gives toys and books things the elves can make..