View Full Version : songs with actions to go with them?

JumpingBean
22-07-2008, 13:52
I'm after some songs that have actions to go with them. Such as Heads, sholders, knees and toes. Twinkle twinkle little star, Row row row your boat, etc.
Does anyone have anymore or know of CD's that are action ones?

lochiebearsmum
22-07-2008, 14:13
hi!
a few are:
* open shut them
open shut them
give a little clap
open shut them
lay them in your lap
creep them creep them
right up to your chin
open wide your little mouth...
but do not let them in!
falling falling falling falling
almost to the ground
quickly pick them up again and
twirl them round and round
shake them shake them shake them shake them
shake them just like this
roll them roll them roll them roll them
blow a little kiss!!
* incy wincy spider
* upsy down town
once again you do this with your hands
in upsy down town (clap hands vertically not horizontally)
the sky is in the sea (point up then down)
the rabbits in the nest (make bunny ears then a nest with your hands)
where the birds should be (link thumbs and do flying action)
you walk upon your nose (point to nose)
instead of on your toes (point to toes)
down in upsy down town!! (clap hands horizontally again)
THEN WHISPER....
theres chocolate cake as white as snow
THEN RAISE VOICE....
the more you eat the bigger it grows!!
YOU THEN REPEAT FIRST VERSE
* one finger one thumb keep moving
*Johnny works with one hammer
(move one hand up and down like you are hammering)Johnny works with one hammer one hammer one hammer johnny works with one hammer (move two hands up and down like you are hammering) then he works with 2...
Johnny works with 2 hammers 2 hammers 2 hammers johnny works with 2 hammers(move two hands up and down like you are hammering and also one leg up and down) then he works with 3.... johnny works with 3 hammers 3 hammers 3 hammers johnny works with 3 hammers then he works with 4 (2 hands and 2 feet) johnny works with 4 hammers 4 hammers 4 hammers johnny works with 4 hammers then he works with 5!! (2 hands 2 feet and nod your head) jonny works with 5 hammers 5 hammers 5 hammers johnny works with 5 hammers then he goes to sleep!!!
hope these are of some use!!

JumpingBean
22-07-2008, 14:31
Oh Yeah, Thanks!:thumbsup:

Pinkarella
22-07-2008, 14:53
Everybody clap -Clap, clap, clap (while clapping your hands)
Everybody sings -lalalala!
Bow to your partner
then you turn around
Hands in the air, rock-a-by your bear
Bear is now asleep (whispering) shh-shh-shh

(from the wiggles):thumbsup:

binnyb
22-07-2008, 15:07
There's also
Where is thumbkin?
Here i am
Here i am
How are you today sir
Very well i thank you
run away, run away
(followed by pointer, tall man, ring man, baby and everyone, then its stay and play at the end instead of run away)
and
1,2,3,4,5, once i caught a fish alive
6,7,8,9,10 then i let him go again (Count on your fingers)
Why did you let him go? (shrug your shoulders with your hands slightly raised like you're asking why)
Because he bit my finger so (point and shake your finger)
Which finger did he bite (question action as above)
This little finger on my right (hold up little right finger)
and
The Dingle Dangle Scarecrow
When all the cows were sleeping............
and
Miss polly had a dolly who was sick, sick, sick
and
five cheeky monkeys jumping on the bed

mrsmov
22-07-2008, 15:42
you could put bub up on your knees & do humpty dumpty... then slide them down when humpty falls down.

hickory ****ory dock (using your arm)...

ummm, playschool is a good show to watch for some ideas!

mordygordy
22-07-2008, 15:44
Five little ducks
If your happy and you know it

melly75
22-07-2008, 15:52
If youre happy and you know it

Me
22-07-2008, 16:54
wiggles have a few of their own(ie wiggle groove).

abiishu
22-07-2008, 16:57
We have a great book and CD called 'Baby Action Rhymes' which we got from our local newsagency.

It has 9 action rhymes on the CD, all the words are in the book with some lovely illustrations, and the CD tells you all the actions too!

DD just loves it! :p

Missy75
22-07-2008, 16:59
I'm a little tea pot

emmwill
22-07-2008, 17:03
5 currant buns
Here is the bee hive
five fat sausages

~Mands~
22-07-2008, 17:15
My DS faves are Twinkle Twinkle, and Der Glumph (went the little green frog one day). He loved the frog one since he learnt it at the library story time :yes:

Chickadee
22-07-2008, 18:03
you could put bub up on your knees & do humpty dumpty... then slide them down when humpty falls down.

We do this with the Grand Old Duke of York (knee actions in capitals - the last like goes quite quick UP/DOWn and always gets a giggle)

The Grand Old Duke of York
He had 10 thousand men
He marched them UP to the top of the hill
and marched them DOWN again
when they were up they were UP
when they were down they were DOWN
and when they were only HALFWAY UP
they were neither UP nor DOWN

Do the hokey-pokey (for 2 years & up)
Wheels on the bus

Nex
22-07-2008, 18:16
Sit down, stand up, sit down and give a clap.
Stand up, sit down, stand up and give a clap.
Sit down, stand up, sit down and give a clap.
turn your self around and sit.

Sung three times each time faster and faster!

Nex
22-07-2008, 18:18
A sailor went to sea, sea, sea

Lastcenturymum
22-07-2008, 18:18
That's a good one Nex!

Hokey Pokey (you put your right foot in, you put your right foot out..you do the hokey pokey and your turn yourself about...)

Little Peter Rabbit had a fly upon his nose...
(let me know if you need words and actions)

Nex
22-07-2008, 18:20
Once an Austrian went yodeling.

subaruforestermum
22-07-2008, 18:22
Seven days of the week...

There are seven days
There are se-v-en days in the week
Sun-day, Mon-day
Tues-day, Wed-nesday
Thursa-day frid-day
Satur-day..

And repeat...using your hands to count them...

Today is..............Tuesday (or what ever day it is)

Its a bit of an older kid song, DS's kindy class sing it....

The sausages in a pan song...forget how it goes but its on playschool...DS loves playschool, and learns all heaps of new songs from it...

That der glump song is one of DS's favourites too, as a baby he would cack himself when I sung it, and it made him stop crying if I'd sing it in the car and he was upset....

Nex
22-07-2008, 18:26
I went looking.

Here's heaps!

http://www.kididdles.com/lyrics/busy.html

MummaBear03
22-07-2008, 18:46
Da-Glumph Went the Little Green Frog

Shake Your Sillies Out

Dingle Dangle Scarecrow

Alphabet song done with sing language letters

I can't think of any others that haven't been listed already but hope you have a good list now :)

missie_mack
22-07-2008, 18:47
DS's favourites include
The Grand of Duke of York
Michael Finnigan
I hear thunder
Incy Wincy
See Saw Marjorie Daw
Baa baa Black Sheep

I try and stick to the old fashioned ones :D

MummaBear03
22-07-2008, 18:49
Various versions of Row Your Boat

3 Cheeky Monkeys Swinging in a Tree

JumpingBean
22-07-2008, 19:45
Wow girls! There's just sooo many! Thanks a million. Will give em a go tomorrow. :yelclap:

~Mands~
05-08-2008, 16:29
At DS day care they were singing a song where they all jump, but I cant remember what it was... and he loved it!! Anyone have any ideas? :confused:

bubbleyblossom
27-08-2008, 09:57
I just want to say thankyou so much to everyone for all these great ideas!
Im doing an assignment witha resource collection of songs etc and these have come in so handy! Thankyou!!!

purtig
27-08-2008, 10:55
Row Your Boat is a fave here. I sit opposite DS, we stretch our legs out and hold hands and we pull each other back and forwards while singing. I learnt that at speech with DS1 and both my kids love it. They can see your lips making the words and get to move their whole body too.

We also love Der Glumph and Twinkle Twinkle. Oh, and Wheels on the Bus - how could I forget that. There are so many things you can make up for that one.

27-08-2008, 13:53
What about I can sing a rainbow, it is done in sign language.