View Full Version : Do you have a secret baby stash?
trixiebelle17
21-07-2008, 12:59
Hand me downs from previous babies not included...
I was at a friends house on the weekend and she was telling me she started buying baby things before she was pregnant (and she tried for 12+ to concieve)
I don't have anything (well i do have one magazine which i bought in the hopes it would have a ttc section.. but it didnt so im not going to read it until i get my BFP).
Do other people have stuff hidden away... the thought is very tempting...lol!
Chunkydunks
21-07-2008, 13:04
All my "practice" MCNs will be here for the new bub but I haven't bought anything new yet. I keep wanting to but I don't. i do have an impresive list of what I want though.
trixiebelle17
21-07-2008, 14:19
ahhh lots of biews but no responses chunkydunks!!! looks like lots of people that dont want to fess up :yes:
dillydAlly
21-07-2008, 14:22
I do ;) I have some cute little bonds outifts.
I also have a liverpool (soccer team) baby outfit as it was so cute so I just had to order it..
I also have lots of stuff I have bought for "my cousin" that I may not ever give to her..
Heheheh Kinda sad huh....
trixiebelle17
21-07-2008, 14:34
i dont think its sad AJ... i kinda look at it as smart cause then u dont have to fork out the money later...lol
i'm too scared in case i dont end up falling pregnant...lol
BJsMummy
21-07-2008, 14:46
I did, but now we have used them does that count?
It took us one month short of 4 years to conceive DS, we had bought clothes for baby and pregnancy books, we had a fair stash too :)
Seacretsquirrel
21-07-2008, 15:19
I didn't last time or this time We waited till 12 weeks before we bough anything!!
My MIL however bought heaps if she got something for my SIL she got one for me too was very scary had to tell her to stop as I didn't want to tempt fate. My mum keeps telling me not to even look at baby stuff yet for these two incase something happens!!! I have found the pram I want tho..;)
MummyMelly
21-07-2008, 15:30
I've started a "baby box" too. Only been TTC for a month or two. Just thought it would be nice to buy one or two things when I see them on sale to save us having to buy everything later. But I'm not going to buy too much cause I know we will get heaps of hand me downs from my SIL, plus, I dont want to jinx myself, incase things dont go to plan. I've been buying things like coveralls, and cute tops and pants in unisex colours/patterns that either boys or girls could wear.
dillydAlly
21-07-2008, 15:35
If we had somewhere to store it (there is no room anywhere for anything but my shoes handbags and clothes) I would have my Pram already too....
I always pick up a few cute genric things.... Working with so many mums and women there are always people to buy things for too.....
I haven't to DF about my stash of babies clothes though.... Heheheheheh
Glad to see I am not the only person out there that has started early...
I've always been told not to buy things as this causes "Bad Luck" or as mentioned before Jinxing.
I don't believe this to be true, even though I can be a little superstitious!
So yes... I do in fact have a secret stash... though it's not exactly a secret! LOL My DF, MIL & SIL all know what's in it. Over the past few years I have purchased items on eBay that I know will not be available when I will want them. They are mostly all Holden items that are new. However I do have a couple of great cond. pre-loved items. We are huge Holden fans, so for us it is quite fitting.
They are kept in clear storage containers with wheels so we can easily pack/unpack it when needed. There's also a couple of toys, manchester & keepsake items I bought when a Baby Store I worked at closed down. Got them dirt cheap & I know i'll never be able to buy them again.
In our TTC journey so far I have already cried over the consideration of selling them off in a Garage Sale with the thought we just may never get to use them ourselves. My DF actally refused to allow this to happen with the hopes that what we have lovingly collected may one day be put to use in our own home.
If not, we can always give them away to people we know.. when we are good & ready to :p
zoekisses
21-07-2008, 15:48
I became the caretaker of my step mothers Hope chest. She tried for many many years now she is too old and when i found out about my DD she gave her Hope to me I feel very special and previlaged to be the caretaker of these very special baby things.
I think I am the worst!! I bought a cot!! It was secondhand and came with a whole lot of sheets and blankets. The only other naughty thing I did was buy a one piece suit cause it was just too adorable!!
My OH wasn't very happy with me about the cot!! :rolleyes:
springbride
21-07-2008, 15:54
I have a secret stash of clothes. I've brought them on sale or on ebay:o. Sometimes when I'm home alone I get them out and look through them. I love them so much and cant wait for my baby to wear them. A friend gave me a brand new pram, so I'm slowly getting there. I also have a 3 in 1 cot on layby, so if we full pregnant in the next 12mths we'll have it. It doesnt hurt to get things as you go I figure:D.
i'd layby'd a pram before i found out i was pregnant... then a month later fell pregnant, so didnt feel too bed when i had to tell DH that i'd already got a pram :o I'd also bought baby clothes on sale when we started TTC & we were TTC for a year before we fell, so i had a nice little stash of neutral clothes that i got at bargain prices.
Baldie's Mum
21-07-2008, 16:02
***Ains walks into the thread with her head bowed down***
I have heaps of things........:o clothes and so many magazines its not funny.....I have been buying magazines for 2.5 years.........:crying: month after month year after year..:crying:
The clothes are for all seasons. I havent bought anything for ages through.....since starting IVF anyway! :rolleyes: I bought 1 jumpsuit in my first cycle and then i hyperstimulated in my 2nd cycle.....Hubby bought me a house in my 3rd cycle!!!!! :D So now the baby HAS to come!
I wont buy anything big, although i know what i want.....but as the years go by the fashion of prams and cots change....soooooooo.....i will wait. :(
XavysMummy
21-07-2008, 16:39
Hmmm... My name's Kaz and I'm a babyshopaholic...
I have a LOT of baby stuff... Books, Pram, highchair, Cot, Change table, matching wardrobe and toy box. Blankets, clothes (both new and hand-me-downs) car seat (***takes a breath***)...the list goes on...
In my defence, I have had 2 MCs, I bought all the nursery furniture when I was 6wks with my first bub and MC's at 8wks, and have gradually added more cute clothes and stuff since. It took us 15mths to get preg for the 2nd time and I bought a couple of small things and have just MC'd again at 9.5wks.
I'm addicted to cute bubby stuff, I make baby sleeping bags for prams and sell them on ebay so there's always some kind of baby stuff around.
The Pram used to be my SILs, its a Valco Runabout and she hardly used it as she found it too heavy and I have since used it whenever I have one of her kids to stay. The cot gets used whenever my niece or nephew come to stay aswell...so all is not wasted...
I really hope my own little bub gets to use all these lovely things soon...
Yeah, I don't believe it's a bad thing to start your purchases before being pregnant. Especially if you know you will follow as many avenues you need to on your journey to make it happen.
In our situation I am glad I purchased them when I had the monney to buy them, cos now I'm not working, we wouldn't be able to afford them. So we have a good headsstart even though there's still a lot our lil bubby will need.
Can I just give a piece of advice.... With buying big purchases E.g Cots, prams, high chairs etc.
Keep in mind most products have a maximum 12 months warranty on them. Some brand you will receive more. So therefore the day it leaves the store, your warranty starts.
Hopefully you won't need to follow up with warranty claims on anything you purchase & the suppliers/manufacturers hope the same. The stores can't help you either as they are merely the middle person in the sale. But sometimes these things do happen.
I have had my mind on 1 particular cot for many years that is now not available uness stores have old stock. I would have loved to have bought it, but for financial & warranty reasons we haven't.
So we are waiting till we need it, then we will layby it so it stays at the store right until the last possible moment to maximise our warranty time. I used to tell my customers this all the time, however most stores & salespersons won't tell you this.
Just a bit of advice, hope it helps!
SarahKate
21-07-2008, 17:27
Before I fell pregnant with DD I bought a few clothes and toys (and also had some things given to me by friends). This time I haven't though I have come SO close.
I confess....I had some stuff off ebay, bibs, beanies, booties, oh and heaps of magazines!!!
I loved reading the magazines because it gave me some hope and allowed me to dream...the clothes were also cut to get out when hubby wasn't home LOL!!
maorimama
21-07-2008, 19:20
I have to confess to having a drawer full of baby clothes and today brought a cot off ebay.:flowerz:
I also have a couple of other purchases lined up, so there you have it.
We are going to be doing ivf to ttc #5 so here's hoping our journey is a short one.:bee:
I have a few things but don't need too much as SIL keeps telling me i will inherit all her baby stuff as she isn't having any more kids (has 2 daughters). :yelclap: We have bought a couple of things like a really cute tiny t-shirt last month that says "as cute as a bug" which is a saying that Dh and i say to each other all the time so seemed fitting...plus it was on sale for $5 when i was buying a pressie for a girlfriend who just had a baby....i had to cheer myself up a bit. :o We also got some Hawthorn baby socks also on sale for $5.
hunnybunny
22-07-2008, 09:40
I dont. I just cant, I am too scared I wont ever have a bub.
ringneck
22-07-2008, 09:54
i have a baby memories book, pregnancy books, a couple of outfits, and my sis gave me her bassinet i know exactly which pram i want but wont layby it till i am pregnant.
mimibiggus
22-07-2008, 10:30
I have a very cute nappy bag that I bought when I was working in a shop that had a babies section...it was very cute and I couldn't pass it up!
I also have a little pair of booties that I bought my DH when we found out we were pregnant, but then I M/C, but we still hold onto them and have them in our room, we use it as our "hope item".
I have done a bit of research into prams etc, so I know exactly which one I want!!!!
Danielle1980
22-07-2008, 10:42
I had baby boxes for years before I had DD! We had been planning a family since even before we married in 2001 but once we started TTC "officially" it took 14 months. I had already bought quite a few baby clothes & heaps of huggies newborn nappies (ended up being great having them there & not needing to fork out the cash all within 9 months IYKWIM)
I dont think its crazy. I was baby mad & had sooo much but DH ended up saying how smart he thought I was getting things ready so we didnt have to buy absolutely everything in the 9 months. I sectretly loved having the baby items there to look at & touch to imagine I already had my baby....
GiggleBerry
22-07-2008, 10:44
I bought all kind of things before I fell pregnant with DD. I bought a pram that was on sale even before we were TTC. I must admit that when we were having problems(it took us 2.5 years with a FS)to get preggers I thought of sending the stuff to my MIL's but that never happened & I actually got comfort in buying more stuff to add to it.
I had everything from pilchers to baby products(bath soap, cream etc), clothes galour, blankets sposie nappies(newborn), baby bottles...unfortunately half the stuff I didn't use cuz it either didn't fit at the right time(seasonal stuff) or I decided not to use them(pilchers for cloth nappies...I went sposies instead:o)
I think when you are preggers you should stock up on things like washing powder, toilet paper, cleaning products like nappisan and nappies when they are on sale(it helps if you find out what you are having though) as these things you will always need and it's amazing how expensive they are when you are on one income....
Sorry for the dribble...
I dont but DH does !
He has a jump suit hidden in his sock draw, its so cute.
BabyPlease
22-07-2008, 15:21
I've started a "baby box" too. Only been TTC for a month or two. Just thought it would be nice to buy one or two things when I see them on sale to save us having to buy everything later. But I'm not going to buy too much cause I know we will get heaps of hand me downs from my SIL, plus, I dont want to jinx myself, incase things dont go to plan. I've been buying things like coveralls, and cute tops and pants in unisex colours/patterns that either boys or girls could wear.
:iagree:
I am exactly the same!
trixiebelle17
22-07-2008, 15:29
wow what a response!
its seems there are more people out there with a secret stash than without :)
i dont even have a clue what i could put in a secret stash!!! i know very little about what babies need... i'm hoping i need to find out all that stuff soon tho :D