View Full Version : Any advice on bed soaking?
filmgirlgail
22-04-2006, 08:22
My toddler is 2 and a quarter. For the last month or so she is completely soaking through her nappy on most nights. We've changed to Coles nappies which have helped a bit as they are thicker than the Snugglers we were using, and I make sure I change her when we put her to bed and we put a pair of towelling training pants over the nappy which usually helps but this morning she was completely soaked through to her pyjamas and bedding. She isn't drinking any more or less than she used to so I don't know why this is happening.
Any advice or ideas would be welcomed.
22-04-2006, 09:17
Sorry, i don't think i'll be that much help, but i'll try....:o
Will she go to the toilet at all before bed? Maybe she wees just after you change her nappy at night, so it defies that purpose KWIM?
I don't know why the nappies would all of a sudden be soaking right through....thats weird, considering you say she's not drinking any more or less than usual? Could oyu try plastic poants over her nappy? Or a double nappy?
There are new nappy liners (kind of like maternity pads) by Bebes, that i just started buying for my 8 month old DD's nappies at night time. They soak up a whole heap more fluid, and stopped the leaks. Don't know whether they'd hold as much for a toddler thoguh. Maybe worth trying. Or huggies or the Woolies Select nappies hold heaps i've found....maybe just for night time since they're more expensive?
See, told you i wouldn't be of much help....:o
jessgray
22-04-2006, 09:21
my DS is one and we use huggies. he sometimes leaks through coz he does his wee's in his sleep :laughing: so when he wakes up at night he has to be changed etc, then he gets cranky coz he has to have a new nappy and pj's:laughing:
one way to combat it is i just do more changes before bed and at night time :) another would be buy a few pairs of the plastic nappy covers from the supermarket
SassyMummy
23-04-2006, 00:32
I would definately try a different brand of nappies - because obviously the ones you're using just aren't doing their job!:shame:
I tried Snugglers once because you get more for your money...but I found that because they were so thin, and leaked so easily, I was actually going through more nappies than usual and therefore it cost me more in the long run (because I had to buy another pack of nappies EARLIER than I had expected).
I use the Woolies brand of nappies because they're very thick, and I get about 10 extra nappies for the same price as a bag of bulk huggies. (Mind you, I'm on toddler size...dunno what size you're in). They're $20 a box but I find them very reliable. They also go very high up on bubs back, so they can't leak out there. Other than that I like huggies.
A pair of plastic pants might be useful too...or maybe you could even try those dry nights nappies? Or maybe they're just for older kids...? I dunno...but I hope you find a solution soon!
My toddler is around the same age and we have the same problem.
I took him to the doctor as juvenile(sp?) diabetes runs in my family and that is one of the signs. My doctor said that it was more than likely not and that he could have some kind of bug and did a urine test. The test is yet to come back as it takes a week to get the results.
So it might be worth getting a test done to see if it's a bug that is causing it.
rynosmum
23-04-2006, 05:46
I tried Snugglers recently and found their absorbancy to be very poor. My DS is 22 months old and they won't last him through the night.
I've gone back to Huggies which are fine.:hugs:
filmgirlgail
23-04-2006, 22:38
Thanks for that. I never had any problems with Snugglers before - have used them for at least 6 months. Coles own seem to be doing better and this morning she was fine, just a soggy nappy but nothing else. I think I have a pair of the plastic pants (we've just moved house so everything is everywhere) but may just buy a couple of pairs. We're off to NZ in a few weeks so have bought 2 training bed covers to take with us as we'll be in motels/b&bs.
Thanks for all the responses.
My daughter is a couple of months older than yours, and we had the same thing happen, at the same age. The suggestion to get her to do a wee before you put on the night nappy is a good one, and also checking and changing her to a dry nappy before you go to bed, if you can do it without waking her. Good luck!
We didn't toilet train DS til he was 2.5yrs and even then he wsa still in night nappies for a few mths after that. We used the Woolies Homebrand nappies, the ones in the white pack with black & red writing.
This is gonna make me sound like a horrible mummy, but...a few times DH got up to DS and let me sleep in, I was preg at the time, and I got up at around 9am to find DS still in the nappy I had put him in at 7pm the night before :eek: (DH is a lazy bum and didn't think to take it off) Even tho his nappy had been on that long and was so wet it was sagging down near his knees somewhere we never once had a leak :smiliedance:
I use these nappies of DD now and they are great for her too. I think they are almost as soft as huggies, they have grip tabs, etc...I'm gonna make myself sound bad again here, but DD was left in the same nappy from 6pm til 10am and the nappy didn't leak :D ( I was sick and forgot to change her when she woke at 5am) She also had no signs of any rash.
DD reacts to most nappies and I recently had to send DH out for nappies so told him to get huggies co I knew he'd be able to find them easily, anyway, I put DD in one at about 7pm when she went to bed, and when she woke at 5am I had to change her clothes and sheets coz the nappy had leaked :eek: So now I'm finishing off the pack of Huggies thru the day when I go out and have got some of the homebrand ones for night time again.
SassyMummy
24-04-2006, 01:24
I think the woolies ones are now in boxes...different colours for different ages...
Or are you talking about another type?
I think the woolies ones are now in boxes...different colours for different ages...
Or are you talking about another type?
Yeah, I was talking bout a different type...the ones in boxes are the 'Selects' ones. I was talking about the really cheap Homebrand ones, bout $5 for around 20 nappies, depending on size of course. :)
Tam-I-Am
25-04-2006, 21:11
Have a look at the nappy and nappy issues board - there are lots of suggestions on good cloth nappies there - and they sound heaps more absorbant than disposables, and the girls who use them are really helpful too. I use disposables, but am thinking of changing to cloths because of these threads.
Good luck!
filmgirlgail
28-04-2006, 17:41
Thanks everyone. Of course, since I did my post we have had 6 nights of only wetting the nappy and nothing else!!!! Hopefully it will go on like this.