View Full Version : Calling all Clothies!! I need to pick your brains.........please?
Ange&Seth
21-04-2006, 11:45
I've read a couple of threads about cloth fitted nappies and I am now intrigued and was hoping you might be able to share a couple of things for me.
We've used disposable from the start, but if it really is cheaper then I want to use clothies. I'm just a bit confused over a couple of things though.
I guess my main questions are : do you have to buy liners for the nappies or are they just absorbent themselves? Do you still have to put 'pilchers' on over the top of the fitted nappies? How many fitted nappies do you own and do you find that this is enough? How often do you do a washing load of nappies? How long do they take to dry?
Told you I needed to pick your brains!!! I have a lot of questions, but I think that's all for now. Don't want to scare you all away from replying LOL :laughing:
Thanks heaps for all of your opinions
Some nappies are absorbent enough, but some need boosters, depends upon the type you choose.
Fitted nappies need covers - these are made from PUL, fleece or Wool, which are much more breathable and last a zillion times longer than pilchers. You can get pocket nappies or All In Ones, that don't need covers.
I have a mix, of terry flats, fitteds, AIO's - probably have in use 24 nappies atm for my 2 1/2 yo. You'd probably need more for a younger baby, depends how often you change and wash.
We wash every 2nd day
Drying time depends upon the type, we are in Brisbane, hang our washing in the morning around 8 and off at 4, they are dry, except for the bamboo, which need a tad more. This includes AIO's and fitteds. Terry flats of course, dry in about an hour or so.
Hope this helps.
Do you have to buy liners for the nappies or are they just absorbent themselves?
Some people use liners, others don't. I like to use polar/microfleece liners in nappies because it makes cleaning off poo simple and is a very soft, non wet material to have against their skin. Occassionally I use flushable liners too... Liners are semi-important when you have to use creams for raw bums, as creams can make nappies repellant, but otherwise, you don't HAVE to use liners at all if you don't want to.
Do you still have to put 'pilchers' on over the top of the fitted nappies?
pilchers... As bluey said, PUL, polarfleece or wool are great covers, not el-cheepo plastic. Not all nappies need covers, All in Ones and Pocket nappies commonly have the cover sewn into the nappy... (there are a few exceptions with pockets).
How many fitted nappies do you own and do you find that this is enough? Most people recommend about 24 cloth nappies, 36 if you want to leave nappies for 3 days between washes. I have about 24 on rotation, ran short for a while there when my smaller sized nappies and terry squares got too small - bugger, had to buy more nappies! What is enough depends on how often you want to wash and the types of nappies you have - all in ones take ages to dry, terry squares and pockets take no time. I have a friend who uses pockets full time, she has 8 pocket nappies and only them, and I'm very impressed. But i love my fitteds! Each nappy has it's place!
How often do you do a washing load of nappies?
every 2 - 3 days
How long do they take to dry?
Never timed it, really! However, we put the nappies out in the morning and bring them in in the afternoon mostly, in winter they take a few hours longer infront of the fire (over a duct). Bamboo nappies take a little bit longer than most to dry, but they are super absorbent. Nappies with soaker pads/boosters sewn into the body of the nappy take longer than pockets, beehinds & squares. All in ones, I assume, take between the amount of time a sewn in booster nappy and a bamboo nappy... don't have one so can't say.
Good luck. Have a search through the archive and see if you can find any other answers to your questions, and the FAQs at www.ozclothnappies.org (http://www.ozclothnappies.org) is fantastic!
Bronte Pot-Pot
21-04-2006, 15:02
I like using the flushable liners as it soooo much easier to flush the poos. Even if you decide to go with disposable i still recommend the flushable liners.
I used a mixture of the two when I was home with bub (can't now I am back at work as daycare uses disposables)
I tried all different sorts I used muslin nappies, towelling nappies, a zappy and an eenie and i couldn't recommend one over the other they all had there good and bad points - sorry not much help there am I - but definately resommend the flushable liners :-)
Or get one of thos hose things fitted to your loo they are great too (Bunnings has them - probably can get them at baby stores too)
Bron
Or get one of thos hose things fitted to your loo they are great too (Bunnings has them - probably can get them at baby stores too)Bron
the little thing is called a 'little squirt' and it is used to ..well.. squirt?? the poo off the nappy into the toilet... I dont own one myself... but I have heard that they are good...
lots of good points have been covered by other people... but you really do need to explore the internet sites a little and gather information as you go... there are LOTS of good sites (mostly SAHMs who make the nappies) - but start with
www.ozclothnappies.org (which is the site Mor recommended) - it has lots of information!!
21-04-2006, 20:11
the little thing is called a 'little squirt' and it is used to ..well.. squirt?? the poo off the nappy into the toilet... I dont own one myself... but I have heard that they are good...
Ooh I have one of them! I would be soooo lost without it, best buy I ever made!;)
Ange&Seth
21-04-2006, 20:48
Thanks for the info guys! I'm definitely going to look into it and see if I might like to try them instead of disposables. :D
steph_alyssa
21-04-2006, 21:25
i noticed no one has mentioned one little problem so now i'm thinking it might just be me .... sometimes when my baby has a big poo explosion in a cloth nappy it can flow out the side no matter how tight i've done it up and doesn't matter how well i've covered the nappy with the pilcher! it only happens very rarely (and more to her grandma :laughing:) but i'm careful and i highly recommend putting on disposables when you go out as its easily just to chuck them than carting dirthy cloth nappies around until you get home.
I had this happen with disposables too though... so i didn't feel it necessary to mention it...
When Jack was a newborn we were out at dinner (when Jack was new we used disposables to go out) - and he did I poo while feeding and it went ALL OVER my skirt... :eek: lots of time spent in the toilet rinsing and drying my skirt :rolleyes:
I guess it can happen with either nappy (especially when they are that young..) - but I find that if I am using terry flats - as long as I roll the legs in ... there are rarely accidents..
Hey Ange, how's things?
You've had some great responses and help come through your thread already but I found out heaps about cloth nappies from searching through pages on Bubhub- just going through the topic heading of nappies and also doing searches. There's heaps on here, these women know what they're talking about!
If you go to the shops directory on Bubhub you'll also find heaps of links to nappy shops that have plenty of info too. This is great as you find out prices.
Specifically I found out heaps on line via these 2 sites I've ordered through,
www.babybeehinds.com.au (i think the shop part is closed for now, but site full of info still) and
www.darlingsdownunder.com.au (again a very helpful store with heaps of info)
Ange&Seth
21-04-2006, 22:04
You are a gem Kaz!!! Thanks chic :thumbsup:
No worries Ange.
I often just get on and read about and look at nappies!
You'll find heaps of great links other Bubhubers have posted as well by just reading through all the stuff they've posted.
I always wanted to use cloth nappies but I think I can honestly say if I'd never found Bubhub I'd never have found out half the stuff I have and I'd probably not succeeded. I also feel confident knowing if I do have a prob with the cloths there's heaps of answers on here.
Wish I'd had a little squirt and maybe wouldn't have lost so many nappies down the loo, used to hold one corner and flush those nasty poos away. Don't tell my hubby cause he doesn't know what caused the toilet to overflow one day but payed the bill :laughing:
No way am I going to tell him- I'm too scared!!:laughing:
Ange&Seth
21-04-2006, 22:39
has anyone tried to make their own fitted cloth nappies? I've found a pattern for them but just wondering if anyone else had had a go at it?
I have a toddler and my stash is about 14 nappies (enough for 2.5 days)
I wash every second day.
The nappies themselves dry in about an hour on a warm day - the inserts depend on what they are made of. Terry and microfibre are quicker than hemp.
I use PUL pocket nappies which I LOVE
They dry quick, I don't use liners (pocket nappies are made with fleece so the poo rolls off) or boosters ( all the boosting goes on the inside of the pocket).
My nappies all cost around $20 each
I use Sandras Stuffables, Peenuts, Fruit Salads and Baby Bloomers.
Tea Lady
22-04-2006, 09:08
has anyone tried to make their own fitted cloth nappies? I've found a pattern for them but just wondering if anyone else had had a go at it?
This is the only way I can afford fitteds :o They're pretty easy once you get the hang of it. If you want any ideas I'm happy to share :)
jessgray
22-04-2006, 10:12
i make them for my DS :) i have alos brought a few. he also wears huggies coz we dont have enough fitteds yet to do 100% cloth using :laughing:
i was wondering can you buy Sherpa in spotlight? or do you have to buy it online?
You can buy nice Sherpa in Spotlight along with microfleece.
The things you can't get from spotlight are - PUL, Hemp, Hemp fleece, & hemp terry and fold over elastic.
jessgray
22-04-2006, 12:20
thanks for that :)