View Full Version : Steak and ?
meggs
06-07-2008, 07:53 AM
We are having nice steak tonight but I need some inspiration for what to have with it as sides and sauce...any ideas??
Over the whole mash potato thing too hehe...
trouble
06-07-2008, 07:59 AM
idaho potato, with bacon and sour cream,
And homemade coleslaw. yummy!!!
Im making myself hungry!!:yes:
trouble
06-07-2008, 08:04 AM
mushroom and creamy garlic sauce is easy to make too, you can even put prawns in the gaarlic sauce, yummy.
meggs
06-07-2008, 08:06 AM
oh yummo..pity Dh doesnt like coleslaw maybe ill make it for me hehe....thanks for the great idea...
trouble
06-07-2008, 08:09 AM
what about potato bake? I tell you, you have just decided on my dinner for me, Im going to have rib on the bone with idaho potato and stir fry vegies, as my hubby dont like coleslaw either,
meggs
06-07-2008, 08:11 AM
hehe so glad i could help!!!!! The garlic sauce sounds nice too...
wild at heart
06-07-2008, 11:22 AM
I often make a vege curry with left over veges to go with steak or sausages..
saute onion and garlic
add what ever chopped veges you have (eg potato pumpkin, sweet potato, beans, zucchini, broccoli, parsnip, carrot, cauliflower etc)- make sure you put the veges that take the longest to cook in first
cook until veges start to soften a bit
add curry powder to taste- need to fry it off a bit
Add tin coconut milk
bring to boil then simmer until cooked
throw in some soy and sweet chilli and basil leaves if desired
Its great to use up leftover veges and you can have it as spicy as you like..
Eleroo
06-07-2008, 11:24 AM
ooooh I love to have a mushroom rissoto with mine, absolutly scrummy :yes:
Mummy2Noah
06-07-2008, 11:27 AM
We get the ceasar salad packs from Woolies and have them with our steak BEAUTIFUL:thumbsup:
justmum
06-07-2008, 11:28 AM
Smashed potatoes - boil baby potatoes until done, drain and place on baking tray. Squash down with a fork so they smash and spread out. Drizzle with olive oil, lots of salt and pepper, fresh rosemary and scatter some garlic cloves (whole) on the pan.
Stick in a very hot oven to crisp up. So, so yummy!
wild at heart
06-07-2008, 11:28 AM
Gizzy.. you can't just say that without coughing up a recipe...:laughing: what's in your risotto ie how much stock to rice and how many mushrooms do you use??
MellyMumma
06-07-2008, 11:44 AM
I love steak dianne with boiled potatoes and sour cream.
Fry steak with a couple of diced garlick cloves.
Once cooked take steak out of pan and let rest. Add to pan a couple more diced garlic cloves and some gravy mix. Make to consistency of gravy that appeals to you. Add a splash of wistershire sauce.
Serve with gravy slathered all over the steak. Boiled potato with sour cream on top (I love it with the gravy as well as the sour cream). And other veggies that appeal to you. I usually have boiled/steamed pumpkin, broccoli, peas and corn.
Cauliflower cheese also goes well with steak. Plus other boiled/steamed veges.
Mmmm wonder what I'll have for dinner tonight.
bubs_and_us
06-07-2008, 11:52 AM
steak, chips + salad (with egg if you want) with a creamy garlic sauc.....
mmmmmm i think that's what i'm going to have tonight!!!!
meggs
06-07-2008, 06:01 PM
Gizzy.. you can't just say that without coughing up a recipe...:laughing: what's in your risotto ie how much stock to rice and how many mushrooms do you use??
:iagree:
and recipes for garlic cream sauce toooo please!!!!
Jesska08
06-07-2008, 06:06 PM
go buy some potato salad from woolies :D or pasta salad
Eleroo
06-07-2008, 06:27 PM
sorry, I was in the middle of doing things when I posted lol, i'm guessing you've already cooked tea, so this will probably be a bit late :o
I love mushrooms, so I put heaps in, but right at the end of cooking the rissoto, so then they are cooked but still firm
lately i've been cheating with the rissoto, good ole contental make a yummy one :D
but when making one from scratch, I use about 2.5 cups of stock to 1 cup of rice, and then just add water if its running out of moisture and still not cooked, if that makes sence, oh and I put a bit of garlic in it, really complements the steak and the mushies :D
meggs
06-07-2008, 06:35 PM
actually we didnt have it just had pizza hehe...so tomorrow night..im going to do the risotto i think....yummo!!! thanks heaps! More creative is what i like!!
Eleroo
06-07-2008, 08:13 PM
cool, let me know how ya risotto goes down, its alot nicer than having boring spuds :yes:
oooh and if ya wanting something else to go eith it, some lovely green veges go down a treat, brightens up the meal too,
meggs
06-07-2008, 08:23 PM
oh i will...cant wait im going to do a cream sauce to go with it too.. oh what stock do you use? how long does risotto take to cook too...
Eleroo
06-07-2008, 08:29 PM
rissoto doesn't take long to cook, maybe 20mins max, I always keep the temp low when cooking it, well after it starts to boil
ooh I forgot to add before, fry your aborio rice in butter first, before adding the stock and water, makes it more flavoursome, mmmmmm, my mouth is watering lol
I sometimes use chicken stock, or beef stock, if your not sure on the taste of either stocks, just put a little bit in for a little bit of taste, and put more water in it, if that makes sence
if you google risotto recipies there are a tone that come up, to see if there are any others that take ya fancy
TeenyT
07-07-2008, 10:50 AM
Risotto works well when you put it inside moulds and turn them out onto the plate next to the steaks, especially if you are out to impress. For a realy great effect, split a green spring onion and press it flat. Wrap around the risotto mould and fasten with a toothpick.
Pesto risotto (made with veg stock and pesto) is really nice and looks great with steak.
meggs
07-07-2008, 01:27 PM
ok im all set for the risotto and going to do smashed potatoes too and a cream sauce with the steak...ambitious i know!!!!
I dont have any moulds for the risotto unfortunately...
BoyCrazy
07-07-2008, 04:05 PM
whats idaho potatos? does anyone have recipe for this? please :)
meggs
08-07-2008, 09:48 AM
mmmm steak was a hit...we had it with a creamy mustard sauce and smashed potatoes and mushroom and onion risotto to wich i added some cream and wine yummo!!!!:yes:
Idaho potatoes I assume is jacket baked potatoes with sour cream and bacon on top??? but im not entirely sure...
SassyDiva
08-07-2008, 10:23 AM
Mushroom sauce is a must for a nice steak dinner and I'll normally do corn on the cob and steamed greens.
Or what about a surf and turf. Steak topped with prawns, calamari and/or bugs with a creamy hollandaise sauce.
Or a simple pan grilled steak then chuck some red onion, garlic and red wine in the pan once steak is out and reduce to make a yummy sauce
Or dice and do a slow cooked casserole
Eleroo
09-07-2008, 08:29 PM
glad the meal was a hit:smiliedance:, it sounds scrummy, I hope I get a invite to ya next steak meal lol
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.