View Full Version : Old cantankerous sea-cow's thread
Is there really a difference between the older mums VS the younger posters.
I look at the young whippy snippy threads and I think: what are they talking about?
Is it about downloading boof boof to play on their MP3 later on as they rollerblade to the supermarket?
Do we talk about who has a size 8 knitting needle for that brown sweater we're working on.
Is it really vastly different?
lx
Is it really vastly different? Yes.... IMO.
melfunction
20-04-2006, 16:27
Absolutely!
stereotypically or in ways which surprises the hardened skeptic Razz?
One word KM..I'm entitled to 7 arent I?
misskittyfantastico
20-04-2006, 16:31
I'm never quite sure where I fit...because I don't see myself as a "young mum" so to speak and I'm not an "over 30" either, my close friends are all over thirty so I spose that's where I feel most comfortable.....:)
melfunction
20-04-2006, 16:33
Yes, it is vastly different :p
I had a laugh at myself...I did mean Doof Doof..and not Boof Boof...Hahahaha..hanging around TOO MANY boof boof's frankly.
Just rotting my brain!
Apologies!
Mummy-2-2
20-04-2006, 16:36
can i pretend to be over 30?... I feel more at home talking about knitting than doof doof:eek:
So am I an exception to the rule or am I too young and hip for all of you fogies?
Oops just realised this was in the 30+ section....better go before I get cantankerous sea-cow germs.:p
You sneaky girls that need an older mothers bosom are more than welcome. (To snuggle....just to clarify)
So am I an exception to the rule or am I too young and hip for all of you fogies?
Oops just realised this was in the 30+ section....better go before I get cantankerous sea-cow germs.:p
Havent you got lego to put together before doing your homeowrk HL>?
Sorry old girl....don't want to hype you up, I know your ticker isn't as good as she used to be.
boof boof to play on their MP3
Doof Doof. Actually.
And Rollerblading is SOOOOOOOOOOOO last decade :rolleyes:
stereotypically or in ways which surprises the hardened skeptic Razz?
Am I a hardened sceptic?? Maybe I am.... :confused: Cynical... yes... Grumpy Old Lady - definitely!
Doof Doof. Actually.
Read, read..read young lassie.
Guess that makes me cantankerous?
Read, read..read young lassie.
aah you o... ol.... I can't do it, I have more respect for the elderly... :p
Mummy-2-2
20-04-2006, 16:45
haha
well this sea-cow's calf is awake now, just as I found a flock of other seacows to talk to...
hmmmm.
Actually who does knit?
I never really got the hang of it. Did learn to crotchet though from a neighbour many years back....made a mean doillie.
Ana Gram
20-04-2006, 16:50
I don't seem to fit in either at 29 i am too old to be young and too young to be old. I still go out clubbing but i don't own a digital camera and rarely use email (proper cameras and snail mail for me!)
i know how to knit but never could get the hang of crochet ....
i do tapestry and cross stitch and embrodiery though ... does that count.
i8 sometimes feel that i have too many kids to be young .... and physically too young to be old .....
though my friends don't have kids so i guess to them i am ancient ... (no social life and all )
sopolicha
20-04-2006, 17:50
wot a gr8 thread :thumbsup:
ewes old chicks are jorjuz :yelclap:
hugz 2 all u hunnies :hugs: :kiss:
aha!!
Mrs Cantankerous sea-cow has blessed her with her presence!
sopolicha
20-04-2006, 17:53
Damn that computer that remembers your passwords..................................
Some days I feel like a cranky old prude. I guess old cantankerous sea-cow is quite similar, but today it is cranky old prude. :thumbsup:
splash splash mooooooooooooooooooooo
I never thought I was a prude Bron..but maybe I am after seeing a username that belonged on a pornsite?
OK: I'm a prude!
Embrace being a prude, budgeriflower. Once you admit it, it feels quite good. Like when I was 16 and realised that I really am a dag. I came to terms with it and felt fantastic afterwards.
I like to sing about it - there's a song that goes something like "dirty old town, dirty old town" (maybe by the Pogues??) so I sing "cranky old prude, cranky old prude". Works quite well.
Also, when I've had a really bad day, I'm often called Captain Cranky Pants. Works very well. I've pondered changing my username to that.
rynosmum
20-04-2006, 18:13
Lookee here, what are the mature folk doing this evening ?:yelclap:
I'm over 30, have just found out how to get my skin looking good, get out and about more than ever, am confident and happy in myself and can finally define a good wine ....
But c'mon girls, it's getting a little late isn't it. Nothing better than wearin' PJ's, curled up on the couch with a good book...I mean...laptop. Going out at night is SOoooo over-rated !
Hand me that Zimmer-frame, would you darl ?
one more year till I am 30 buy sheshhh ya major difference if you ask moi
when I was 16 and realised that I really am a dag. I came to terms with it and felt fantastic afterwards..
Dag is a little different to prude Bron.....leave me out of your dag club....
I like to sing about it - there's a song that goes something like "dirty old town, dirty old town" (maybe by the Pogues??) .
Yep, The Pogues it is.
*flopping her bovine body into the sea while waving at her friends*
I am old, crabby and not apologising for it. DD1 has mastered the art of saying "calm down, mummy, calm down" whenever I say anything and DD2 justs flutters her very long eyelashes and says "sowwy" to charm me out of my bad mood. As for young things - my favourite overheard conversation that defined me as old and cranky was in a swimming pool change room a couple of years ago - a couple of teenagers were complaining that their boobs were getting too big for their bras - one of them said "I had to buy a C cup - can you believe it?" I sat there in my E cup maternity bra thinking to myself "it's a different world out there".....mooooooo
Hmmm......Mooo.......*grazing on sea grass..........*
IN MY DAY it was all Wonderbra's...how come thy've gone all quiet now?
MammaMia
20-04-2006, 19:03
Speak up, dearies. I can't hear you.
**pulls crocheted blanket over her and adjusts her sagging flesh coloured Razzamatazz knee highs**
These young ones just don't know the meaning of the word respect.
Or suck-in undies.
Now, has anyone seen my glass of water? I want to put my falsies in it... and no, you young whipper snappers, I'm not talking about my eyelashes or my glass eye.
Hee heee hee **wheezes**
Dirty old town - sung by the Pogues but written by Ewan McColl - Kirsty McColl's dad (if anyone remembers poor Kirsty).
Is there that much of a difference when it comes down to it......I don't think so.
p.s. sorry for invading the 30+ thread with my even older sea cow thoughts
I can just about see the prune juice in you fridge............
slowly but surely the boilers are coming out of the rockers.
There's got to be more hasn't there?
20-04-2006, 19:09
I sat there in my E cup maternity bra thinking to myself "it's a different world out there
I would happily swap my pathetic B cups for an E cup anyday!;)
Is there room in the herd for a late comer?
And Sop LMAO TSM
I've been feeling quite cantankerous recently, maybe it's the moon? Just like to say that I'm happy to hang with the wise old sea cows.
Mooooo
melfunction
20-04-2006, 19:17
Can't see a moon yet X.........:confused:
And Sop LMAO TSM
Now I KNOW I am old ..... what the is that about.
cantankerous - "Ill-tempered and quarrelsome; disagreeable: disliked her cantankerous landlord. "
"Difficult to handle: “had to use liquid helium, which is supercold, costly and cantankerous”
Yeah that describes me ............ though i'm not quite TALL enough to be a sea cow .... seal PUP maybe .... LOL
Hi Eleanor
At heart I'm a lazy cantankerous sea cow. Here's a translation:
And Sopolicha, Laugh My *ss Off, Thanks so Much
While I will shorten many things, I draw the line at misspelling :shame:
heh?? I confused??? I wasn't having a go and don't think I was mis-spelling was I?? hmmm
I just found the word in the dictionary and copy and pasted (my brother needed meanings to a number of words for TAFE) :o
No no no:o
I was just explaining my acronym, but saying that I promise not to misspell or do any SMS speak (the wagging finger was directed at myself). I know that some of us old seacows hate that kind of thing.
Many apologies, I didn't mean for it to sound like you were misspelling.
Is that clearer - sorry getting past my old sea cow bedtime.
I think I need bi-focals..I'm seeing double??
Nope....seems to have sorted itself out. Must be the sherry then.
Only for a second bud...:laughing:
Just had to make a correction :D
Off to have a bex and a lie down Goodnight you old cows.
Nighty night bud:thumbsup:
Peaceangels
20-04-2006, 20:27
Young bubhubber's VS Old bubhubber's:
Not vastly different, whatever group you fit into has more things in common with you, therefore you feel more comfortable there.
Now I'm off to listen to some doof doof music on my MP3 player while I'm texting my bestie...................................I mean I'm off to bed with my book and my cup of tea!!
nah .... y do that??? LOL
OK xkwzit .... oops nana .... LOL
sopolicha
21-04-2006, 05:52
Hi Eleanor
At heart I'm a lazy cantankerous sea cow. Here's a translation:
And Sopolicha, Laugh My *ss Off, Thanks so Much
Thanks for the translation - I was shaking my head and rolling my eyes yet again. I had the LMAO.
I don't like to get too cantankerous before 7.00am. Makes it too hard to put my support underwear on.
How many of those whipper snippers are sneaking a peak in here to hear all the intelligent conversation us sea cows natter about??
Too many 30 pluses viewing and not replying........
Now: what was I about to say next regarding intelligent conversation?
Hmm.Off to have my ginko biloba.....and a nanna nap.
:sleeping:
How many of those whipper snippers are sneaking a peak in here to hear all the intelligent conversation us sea cows natter about??
Not too many I'd imagine - far too many big words....
sopolicha
21-04-2006, 07:22
Not too many I'd imagine - far too many big words....
Not to mention an absence of emoticons and the exchange of numerical figures for actual words.
Ah yes, how perspicacious of you, actual words. I can't cope without them. I actually find it quicker to type actual words than trying to figure out text message type speak. I even use punctuation when sending a text message. Apostophes, commas and everything. I know it's daggy, but I can't help myself.
sopolicha
21-04-2006, 07:30
Thanks flower.
I had an inkling that I was a touch cantankerous but this thread has made me realise that I really am quite cantankerous. Must be time for my morning lie down.
Feeling very cantankerous this morning and always feeling old, and then I find this thread. Perfect.
This morning I had to come in early because my boss has this business group of basically what is young CEO's who meet once a month or whatever.
So I ordered in this beautiful breakfast and all these gourmet coffees etc and had the place looking all swish, to make him look good in front of his buddies. I don't usually do this sort of thing so I kind of went all out and made everyone clean their desks and everything (bossy tart).
So they come in, they're all young rich spunks...well not that young, 30-40 years old (which aint as old as it used to be to me).
Anyway, so they have their breakfast and coffees and go into their meeting and I get the rest of their muffins and danishes etc and decide to add a few bickies to it and cut some of the bigger ones in half and give it to them for morning tea (I just want it to be nice, yanno?).
So then my mobile rings and its this dude who I am doing the artwork for an ad for (not related to my job here, for something else) and he is giving me a free plug in his ad for my little puppy school in exchange for doing the artwork for his ad.
So I am right in the middle of trying to break off the gladwrap, understand what the guy on the phone is saying and hold the phone up to my ear with my shoulder.
AND THEN this ****** (can't think of a word so just put in asterisks - it hasn't been edited there was no word there), comes along when I am on the phone trying to get all this information and PICKS UP ONE OF THE MUFFINS to eat it.
This guy is NOT in my boss's business group, he's just a boofhead manager that works here. So I tap his hand and make a motion for him not to take it, and he continues to take it!
So I have to pause my phone call for a second to semi-scream at him in a school-marm voice.
Geez. Some people!! I was already cutting them in half so there would be enough.
Boy, I am SO mad. So now I feel like I am the vicious old cow, when really I was minding my own business and going above and beyond to make my boss look good and being considerate by preparing them a morning tea, after coming in to work early and everything, and this GUY thinks that he can just come along and take things!!
That is SO rude. Maybe its hormones but I am just so FURIOUS that he made me talk in that strict voice, like I was a cow or something, after I was doing more than I had to to make things nice for something that is none of his business.
Deep breaths.
That'll teach you not to bake enough muffins school marm Shed.
The same thing happened at DH's work the other day.
Some youngin brought in choccies for the office staff for a thankyou or something and one older colleague from another 'section' came in , hovered over them....took two and ate them.
She was horrified and said "NOT for you!!".
So he then grabbed another, popped that into his mouth and said "Oh?? Really?? OK..."
Me bake muffins? :laughing: I wish I could.
Nah, my cooking skills consist of "ordering in" and "reheating".!!
I am just waiting to see if he DARES try to touch their leftovers after lunch.
Or have a scared the sh*t out of him for the whole day?? Hope so!
bring in a special 'laxette' one for him.......
Hang on...thats illegal isnt it/?
whoopsie.....
When I saw the title of this thread I thought someone had taken up my idea to have something dedicated to all the horrible mils out there!!:laughing:
flower, is it really illegal?
Well lock me up coz I did it one day. Put laxettes into a guy's coffee because he was peezing me off.
It was the tablet ones though, so I had to painstakingly crush them.
I've heard it is...if the person takes the substance to the police to have it analysed..I think you might be in for the ruler.
Keep your confessions for the pulpit......:eek:
Wow shed. That really is taking cantankerous sea cowage to a whole new level - laxettes in coffee! I'm in awe.
All hail to the queen cantankerous sea cow - shed.
Makes my efforts of felling people with my sharp wit (yeah right) seem utterly pathetic.
Chickadee
21-04-2006, 09:24
I was just as cranky at 20 as I am now at 35. I've just lost most of my inhibition about letting it show! Loud neighbours parties at 1am - I'm the one knocking on the door. Bogans doing burnouts and dougnnuts in their cars at the corner - I confront them and threaten to call the cops (and it's worked, by the way!). 10 year olds skateboarding on the disabled ramps - I tell them off. It always surprises me that kids listen to me actually, I don't feel grown up!!
Ahhhh Martha...you and I should share tea and scones one day....a woman after my own heart.
I just call the cops and say "Tell me, Is it legal to ride a mini bike on the footpath without a helmet?"...
Hallelujah! Finally a thread I can relate to.
Shed, I would have smacked him across the head if I were you. And I too am in awe of the laxettes in the coffee. Praise be to you, oh Queen of the Cranky-pants.
Actually, I think I have redeemed myself, just quietly.
Not to the laxettes guy, he can rot - to the muffin-stealer attempter.
They just had their lovely morning tea and there was two halves of muffin left over, so I put one on a plate with a little serviette and took it over to muffin stealer and said "Now you can have one because this is left over".
So peace reigns once again.
Awww.
Nah, I like the smugness of being big enough to make the peace offering.
Because then I also enjoy the smugness of knowing I am a better person than...well anyone around here, basically.
Coz I'm such a nice person and all. :laughing:
No your not, your a delusional cranky old sea cow.
Thats why your here!:smiliedance:
Yeah, but only you guys know that.
Everyone else thinks I'm LOVELY.
It's age, Erin. Trust me... I haven't got kids yet and I'm definitely crankier. :devil6:
I'm like Martha - although I've never been backward about coming forward. I especially lurrrve telling off whipper snappers.... they always listen to me when I put my cranky voice on!
Chickadee
21-04-2006, 10:22
oh and rude shop keepers, they really get a piece of my mind!!
Apparently I have developed the ability to generate my own localised weather. Usually an icey cold front that quells shop keepers and useless saleswoman into fear and submission (while DH quietly sneaks out in embarrassment).
That: or there's the mechanical automotive equivalent: The Handbrake.
WHen I was a high school teacher (and pretty young myself), I developed a magical way of saying "excuse me?" to my students. They would stop whatever they were doing and start quivering. I think it was the sudden change from "young funky teacher" to "serious telling-off teacher".
Anyway, I still have the "excuse me?" and I drag it out on occasion - usually when young people are unbelievably rude. I find it particularly effective when trying to tell the teenagers down the road to control their dog. (Maybe the loves-all-humans-but-hates-all-animals staffy who I'm walking at the time helps there too.)
misskittyfantastico
21-04-2006, 11:07
According to my DH, I do belong in this thread.....He's horrified by my outbursts ie "footpaths are for FEET so get off that damn skateboard and WALK!" etc etc I don't know when it happened, but I am definately cantankerous:D
Good afternoon sea cows...Moo
Did you know that it was probably sea cows that started the "mermaid" stories? You know drunk sailors see a sea cow and think "what a gorgeous babe: why does she have a tail?". *sitting here combing my long flowing hair NOT*
They too...like us are actually very shy creatures.....
Hmmm, funny that, shy wasn't really the word that came to mind. :laughing:
Here comes the OCSC herself.
Chickadee
21-04-2006, 13:04
Shy wasn't what I was thinking either. More like lazy & constantly grazing or sleeping.
And very secretive too.....
BTW: why are breakfast cereals so damn expensive?
Does the govt get royalties..is that it?
oh don't get me started on the government...
Twenty thousand dollars a year for an allowance on a politicians car. That's not for the car, that's the allowance on the car.
That's one whole persons tax and more than what some people earn in a year.
For one pollie, for one car, for one year.
Just don't get me started on THAT.
sopolicha
21-04-2006, 13:50
They just had their lovely morning tea and there was two halves of muffin left over, so I put one on a plate with a little serviette and took it over to muffin stealer and said "Now you can have one because this is left over
I would have offered it to the person sitting next to him just out of spite.
Who me? Yep old bag for sure these days. Buying a double pram is doing my head in, I figure I might just buy an electric wheelchair and pop a bag over each handle for the kids to sit in. That's gotta make life easier for all of us.:D
Sea Cows: Be tolerant. I have invited a youngin over to shoot the breeze.
Sea-Cows....not sharks.
Young Bubhubbers Vs Older Bubhubbers....
Hmm..Well im pretty sure i fit into the young bubhubbers category :p
I don't think there are many differences...Older bubhubbers may have more life experience but then again for a first time 'older' bubhubbers is it really that different to a first time younger bubhubber? I dont think so. We are all just trying to raise our kiddies to the best of our ability. But i do believe we all have different obstacles to overcome, eg. At my age money may be an issue, partners, but then again these can also be issues for older bubhubbers..Ok im confusing myself :laughing:
At a young age people may gossip and say wow she's way too young, yet when we get to our 30's its like well when are ya having kids?!
Sorry if i got off topic at all hehe just blabbing on :)
Chickadee
21-04-2006, 15:41
Young'uns are always welcome. Someone to rescue us when we're left beached by the outgoing tide :)
I had a point, something I wanted to say. REally I did. Aggggggh. Old-age memory loss combined with baby-brain :banghead:
misskittyfantastico
21-04-2006, 15:44
Hello fellow cow and calves....I am officially lame and need to be shot.....hockey training.....much much ow
Chickadee
21-04-2006, 15:47
We are all just trying to raise our kiddies to the best of our ability.
Exactly!!
I think the only real difference is in the looks & treatment we get from others. Young mums are more likely to be judged harshly and looked down on. Older mums are more likely to be mistaken for the grandparents! :eek:
Hello fellow cow and calves....I am officially lame and need to be shot.....hockey training.....much much ow
:laughing: You really need to wait a few years til you can train your really litttle calf, the gorgeous Milly, how to give massages!
That is what kids are for isn't it, and doing dishes etc?:laughing:
Ginko Biloba Martha.
Jacinta popped in to make her comment as she started another thread about feeling left out.
Rather than whining about it she spread her self around and posted in three threads that I chose for her and contributed and particpated.
Love it.
Brave girl.
If someone told me to do that at age 18....I would have hid under a chair.
generation Y....gotta love 'em.:yelclap:
misskittyfantastico
21-04-2006, 16:01
LOL Kazza, ATM I'm just trying to avoid having my face/hair ripped off whenever her little paws are in reach!
misskittyfantastico
21-04-2006, 16:03
Yay Jacinta:yelclap: :yelclap:
I got the strangest post card from the MIL today. It was of a great pit mining site in WA. She says its about a mile wide and just as deep....
WHAT??
Next she'lll be sending a postcard of a battered baby seal from Canada.......
sopolicha
21-04-2006, 16:07
generation Y....gotta love 'em.:yelclap:
If I am Gen X surely someone 18 must be at least Gen Z.............
I think they're Y's Sop. Unless thats the next ones after us and the ones afetr them are:??
Does anyone know?
Chickadee
21-04-2006, 16:11
I got the strangest post card from the MIL today. It was of a great pit mining site in WA. She says its about a mile wide and just as deep....
WHAT??
Next she'lll be sending a postcard of a battered baby seal from Canada.......
Are those digs at me? I should know the name of the mine. It's on the tip of my tongue... aggggggh. And yes, there was a seal hunt this year, Greenpeace probably got some great photos.
sopolicha
21-04-2006, 16:11
I think the Y's are here now, raiding the boardrooms whilst living at home with their parents.
Generation Y is from 1980 to 1995 apparently so I suppose any 10 year olds on this forum would be the Generation Z.
21-04-2006, 16:13
Hmmm so I am generation Y! Their you go! I l actually learnt something today for a change!:p
sopolicha
21-04-2006, 16:14
Thanks Maria!!!!!
21-04-2006, 16:17
So what generation will our kiddies be? ZZ? or will it go back to A or perhaps start counting ie generation A1????:confused:
Martha....a dig!! Your hysterical!!
No..wasnt digging about you..the mine is Super Pit Kalgoorlie.
Chickadee
21-04-2006, 16:25
That pun was unintentional KB. I had to go look it up or it would have driven me crazy :rolleyes:
I think I'm generation W.... I was born in the year of Woodstock... :confused:
*off to have a lie down now*
MammaMia
21-04-2006, 18:08
The problem with being a sea cow is that by the time I've read through all of this thread, I've forgotten what I wanted to reply to....
Do you think the sight of sea cows sunning themselves would be offputting for the lurkers?
I love being a sea cow. Not for the cranky part (I'm still working on that by testing my abilities on my husband :D ) but for the genuine excuse for being forgetful, vague and what was the other word I was looking for?
And I've really mastered the art of shaking my head in disgust, and clutching my wallet/bag firmly under one arm whilst holding my keys out in a defensive position with the other hand when I'm going for a little galavant on my own.
***Come in, my dears. The water's beautiful. Does wonders for my aching joints.***
Clutch purse...might that be glomesh MammaMia?
MammaMia
21-04-2006, 18:21
Clutch purse...might that be glomesh MammaMia?
Oh, my little petal, I can see that you realised at once the minute I walked in the joint, you could see I was a woman of distinction a real big spender! Good looking,so refined say, wouldn't you like to know what's gonig on in my mind?
Sorry -this old sea cow lapsed into a Shirley Bassey moment. Better than that Britney Girl, showing off her navel all the time and letting her pants ride down so low. Disgusting!
**dusts off her glomesh bag and matching purse and key wallet**
**rummages through cupboard for her frosty pink lippy**
misskittyfantastico
21-04-2006, 18:25
***Come in, my dears. The waters beautiful. Does wonders for my aching joints.***
Don't talk to me about aching joints...I'm still walking like the tin man on acount of my recent huffy puffy (no not the rude kind)
Some one hand me a meat mallet please......
MammaMia
21-04-2006, 18:31
Some one hand me a meat mallet please......
Ooh, are we going to have a cooking lesson?
Maybe a chicken schnitzel? Perfect Dinner Party fare for us seacows.
I was thinking more along the lines of self inflicted flaggellation......is that one g or 2??
MammaMia
21-04-2006, 18:33
One lump or 2?
It'd be one, unless you were wearing a G-string, in which case I want NO mental images.:shame:
MammaMia
21-04-2006, 18:35
It'd be one, unless you were wearing a G-string, in which case I want NO mental images.:shame:
There'll be none of that smut around here, Mrs X.:shame:
Just showered X...not a nicker in site.....freeballing this evening.
Girls gotta breathe.......
Goodness KB, that is radical of you. I'm shocked, and blushing a little bit too.
I had a moment...sorry..must have been some synapse blip or palpitation of some sort......I'll try not to include items of laundry in any future threads.....:devil6:
Excellent. Although mentioning items of laundry is fine, it is when you mention lack of items of laundry that I get all flustered.
Like the time my mother in law used the really really rude word that I don't use (she was quoting someone). I had to pretend I'd dropped my napkin to hide how flustered I was. :o
If a bunch of cranky old women like us get embarassed at the thought of a bit of undie free time what is the world coming to?????:D
Go for it I say my floral friend - bit of fresh air is good for the soul.....and the bot!
Thanks T...I deserve a bit of drying out after a soak in the tub........all bits free from the confines of textile restraints..in fact...I might just take off all my clothes!!!!!!:eek:
sopolicha
21-04-2006, 19:05
For Pete's sake........ After reading this I can feel my cantankerousness growing.
Blossom, where are your Cottontails? I don't care if Friday night is let it all hang out night in that country. Put them on.
Big girl undies sop are all packed for the big moooooove.
Only the tooth floss left;)
misskittyfantastico
21-04-2006, 19:12
eeewwww bum floss!!!:eek: double eeewwww bum floss on sea cows:eek: :eek:
who said anything about bottoms..you girls really need to get your minds out of the gutters.....:rolleyes:
MammaMia
21-04-2006, 19:15
What's all this talk of bum floss?
Modesty, girls!
Now, pull up your knickers and let's get on with the nattering.:D
Ewwww..... the bum floss/sea cow comment is just a bit much.
I'm off to the rugby (Go Western Force!!) where I shall drink wine.
See you all later.
misskittyfantastico
21-04-2006, 19:17
Sorry ladies....just showing my immaturity:D
Put your ear plugs in Bron..that kind of racket can affect one's hearing.
What?
sopolicha
21-04-2006, 19:18
Big girl undies sop are all packed for the big moooooove.
Only the tooth floss left;)
I am far too cantankerous for that caper anymore.
Nice pun.
Ewwww..... the bum floss/sea cow comment is just a bit much.
I'm off to the rugby (Go Western Force!!) where I shall drink wine.
See you all later.
Yeah yeah Bron - rub it in for those of us who can't drink ATM - I am old cranky and not allowed to drink - talk about evil waiting to explode:devil6:
MammaMia
21-04-2006, 19:20
Yeah yeah Bron - rub it in for those of us who can't drink ATM - I am old cranky and not allowed to drink - talk about evil waiting to explode:devil6:
Thanks for the warning, Dear Draught.
Will warn the young people and the husbands tomorrow afternoon, Look Out, Look Out, there's evil about!
Or as I keep saying to DD1 (to quote the Wiggles) "you can look but you better not touch"........those prickles on old sea cows can sting I tell you!
Well I don't know about going knickerless, but I do whip off the bra at the first opportunity. You know, w/o taking any of your other clothes off?
Are we happy to talk about unburdening our top halves , even if not our bottoms?
And draughty
Don't worry, I'll have a glass of red for you.:hugs:
misskittyfantastico
21-04-2006, 19:26
I would love to go braless but I have a squirty issue
Totally off the topic..when i was living in townsville I used to see the manatees close to the shore...sipping my cranberry juice...(not for any nasty rash...just because I like the taste of it.....). You dont get much view of them..they're darker than I realised..and only a slow careful nostril comes up to breathe.
Stealth.....gotta love them.
I would love to go braless but I fear they would get in the way when walking
Thanks X - a true friend!
MammaMia
21-04-2006, 19:27
Well I don't know about going knickerless, but I do whip off the bra at the first opportunity. You know, w/o taking any of your other clothes off?
Are we happy to talk about unburdening our top halves , even if not our bottoms?
I got trapped at DD's swimming lesson this morning. I took my clothes into the change room (leaving DD outside with my Mum) to get changed out of the Official Mother Swimwear (Rashie & Boardies). Mid getting changed I realise I've left my bra outside.
So, I had to unleash the beasts and trot outside sans bra under my shirt. To make it worse, DD was due for a feed and decided to start crying with the expected sympathetic reaction from the beasts.
I'd love to unburden my top half, but these bl**dy things keep leaking and even for a sea cow, leaving them untethered is not a good look!
PS X - checked out that school you recommended. Impressed. Now trying to make some decisions. Thanks!
Flower - I have a beautiful memory of sleeping on deck of a yacht off an island in PNG and hearing the gentle sounds of a dugong coming up for air from it's feast on the sea grass below us - they are gentle creatures aren't they?
And when were you in T'ville? I spent five years there in the early 80's living with some nuns.....as you do!
sopolicha
21-04-2006, 19:31
I would love to go braless but I fear they would get in the way when walking
Funny, I have the same problem.
Maybe not so funny afterall.
MammaMia
21-04-2006, 19:32
Funny, I have the same problem.
Maybe not so funny afterall.
Do you think we could get a bulk discount for a little remedial work? Lift & separate?
sopolicha
21-04-2006, 19:34
I don't know if I should laugh or cry.................
Either way you better cross your legs!
sopolicha
21-04-2006, 19:35
Either way you better cross your legs!
No, the beauty of caesarians!!
Damn! Although I was told about a medical report that found that although Cs women were better to start off with, after 5 years the rate of pelvic floor instability between VB and CS was the same - so don't get too complacent old sea cow!
MammaMia
21-04-2006, 19:39
At least when we have a good belly laugh now, there's so much more belly to laugh with!
Just like a chocolate blancmange!
sopolicha
21-04-2006, 19:40
Damn! Although I was told about a medical report that found that although Cs women were better to start off with, after 5 years the rate of pelvic floor instability between VB and CS was the same - so don't get too complacent old sea cow!
Only told hey, this sceptical old sea cow would have to see it first hand before she started doing pelvic exercises at every red light.
sopolicha
21-04-2006, 19:42
Blancmange........excellent for tender old gums. Especially for the tooth that is awaiting it's crown.
MammaMia
21-04-2006, 19:47
Do you think it is truly a sign of my sea cow status that I've barely wandered out of this thread tonight?:D
MonkeyMum05
21-04-2006, 19:49
Ahem... as a lowly 22 year old whippet, please dear cows, may I speak?:D
(Yes, I admit, I have been sneaking around, undercover, reading your thread :rolleyes: ) Geez, I used an emoticon!!!
I can't help it, I am just a whippet!
[QUOTE=MarthaM] Loud neighbours parties at 1am - I'm the one knocking on the door. Bogans doing burnouts and dougnnuts in their cars at the corner - I confront them and threaten to call the cops (and it's worked, by the way!). 10 year olds skateboarding on the disabled ramps - I tell them off. [QUOTE]
Just wanted to let you know that I dothe above things aswell!
Bogans doing burn outs REALLY infuriate me... and if a party is keeping me or my boys up, they are certainly going to know about it! Actually, another one of my pet hates is imposters using disabled parks/ toilets, pram parks or mothers rooms... grrrrrr!!!!!
And, fancy that, I haven't spelt ANYTHING in 'text language'... nor do I own an mp3 player!
MammaMia
21-04-2006, 19:53
Ahem... as a lowly 22 year old whippet, please dear cows, may I speak?:D
Who was that lovely young lassie? Very pretty manners.
Goodness....protect your clutch purse/glomesh....the youngins are here again!.
( your welcome to pop in MM....were really quite harmless..just cranky...)
I leave the room for half an hour, and you boilers cant get off the floss....
Draught: I was in TVL hmmm.only a couple of years back....loved my days watching docos at the imax...about sea-cows of course.
MonkeyMum05
21-04-2006, 19:57
Who was that lovely young lassie? Very pretty manners.
Why yes ma'am, my mama taught me very well.
So, I just want to clarify... if you girls are 'contankerous sea cows' does that make my husband a 'contankerous sea bull'? I'm guessing it does...
lucky I have good manners!
Call it insider trading but I just rated our thread.......what else: Excellent!
*happydance* *raspberry* *claphands*
The Pink Panther
21-04-2006, 20:16
Hello ladies, finally a thread that I can feel at home in. Should have known I'd track MammaMia and Draught down in this thread. Well, not only am I a cantankerous old sea-cow but I've now officially been labelled as boring by the young.
To quote my husband, "How do you expect to be considered fun when you are trying to entertain the child using 1950s methods" (referring to my valiant but failed attempts to entertain my 5, going on 35, year old niece). Since when did puzzles, colour books and pretty well anything non-computurised become so lame. What hope does my poor DD have..................alas, at least she will know no different (clearly sleep overs with FUN families will be banned).
she should be taught knit one purl two...the art of basketweaving.......macrame.....and sewing....there....better than videogames I reckon!
MammaMia
21-04-2006, 20:21
What's the point of getting older if you can't rig the party games?
Anyways, this old sea cow is getting a little sleepy (BIG working week) and so I'll be just heading off now. Nightie night, My Little Petal.
**pops teeth out to put in the glass beside her bed**
**buttons her sensible flannelette nightie up to her neck**
**It's Friday night. There'll be none of that hankypanky in our twin singles tonight.**
No hanky panky...ever.............for that matter thankyou!
Hello ladies, finally a thread that I can feel at home in. Should have known I'd track MammaMia and Draught down in this thread. Well, not only am I a cantankerous old sea-cow but I've now officially been labelled as boring by the young.
To quote my husband, "How do you expect to be considered fun when you are trying to entertain the child using 1950s methods" (referring to my valiant but failed attempts to entertain my 5, going on 35, year old niece). Since when did puzzles, colour books and pretty well anything non-computurised become so lame. What hope does my poor DD have..................alas, at least she will know no different (clearly sleep overs with FUN families will be banned).
Oh dear PP - deemed boring by a 5 year old - welcome to the club! At least your DD will be allowed to visit my house then - no FUN to be had here!:D
MammaMia
21-04-2006, 20:26
Oh, My Lovely Little Friend! So glad you finally found us!
It's alright, Sea Cows, I can vouch for this one. Apart from her gorgeous figure and beautiful looks, she's one of us!
But I am truly exhausted and have to slip under the doona.
Flower, meet The Pink Panther. The Pink Panther, meet Flower. Never too late for good manners. I suspect you two will get along just fine.
Come back and play here some more later, Pink Panther.
(And we'll aim for a catch up with Draught next Thurs/Fri??)
Excuse me...should you be publically fratenising your social agenda and flaunt just who is exclusive and you has been eye-soaring omitted??
Do you see me posting "OH...Hey A, B, C and D.....lets all hang at Starbucks on Thur....'cos we're so hip and cool!!"
Just so jealous I cant join in..though I'd throw a young persons wobbly.
How did I do?:D
(Waiver: am being subjected to re-runs of Ally McBeal.....just where is that meat mallet?)
You did well Flower - very well!!
Now we just need to get you back into the country and then you can join in on the socialising!!
Love your work aijent!!
Oh dear - this old cow needs to roll off to bed.......night all.
Why teach 'em anything....hog tie them and toss them in the old wardrobe in the shed.
............acronyms..........................I HATE acronyms.....................................
The Pink Panther
21-04-2006, 20:44
*rises to her feet to give Flower a roaring round of applause* FANTASTIC young wobbly. Lucky I wasn't drinking my warm milk or I would have spurted it all over the computer.
Well, as with a number of my fellow "nannas" I'm off to bed and just when I was starting to really enjoy myself. On account of the fact that it is not a school night I allowed myself to stay up late but whoa............I just caught sight of the time and it is fast approaching 10pm - I really let my hair down tonight.
Thanks for the round PP.
Just been releived of Ally McGarbage so's might watch a flick now.....noice to meet ewe.
LMAO, LOL, LOL, LOL....where's that meat mallet????
Ooh - this is all too sad!!!
I guess it must be my old age (that slows me down) but I only just found all of you, to only lose you all to bed:rolleyes:
I was thinking that the biggest difference in the OCSC to the young whipper snippers is how everyone else looks old or young to me, but I never age! You know - the young 'uns who serve you at the shop are getting younger, but whenever I see another (who possibly might be as old as me:eek: ) I'm convinced that I don't look that old...Maybe that's why I married a younger man? Okay - thinking of changing my name to Peter Pan now...
On another topic - I'm all for the bottom half nudie (only really when pregnant as that's when the bum floss doesn't really work! Then again, nothing works for me when pregnant - no waist to hold my pants or skirts up - so much more comfy to be naked when pregnant, but then again need those bras to keep control of the more than ample bosom.
I'm still up Pegasus - both being in Perth, we shouldn't be surprised.
Sorry draught - wine was lovely, rugby was even better. A draw against the top team, gosh, I almost forgot myself for a moment there and jumped around squealing with excitement. Then I remembered the alluring bit of flesh that appears between t shirt and jeans when jumping in said manner, and kept to simply clapping and going woo hoo instead.
Okay Bron - you've made my night!!!:yelclap:
So thrilled the WF actually had a win (in a round about way)!!!:smiliedance: I've told my hubby and he's upset that he didn't have a flutter at the TAB now.
Maybe we're also the younger / older cows?
No seriously - are you also drinking for me? I'm glad you could restrain yourself to the whoo hoos and claps. Maybe I can sneak one glass of wine in tonight - it is afterall the weekend?
Glad I made your night, Pegasus. I'm splashing off to bed now. Moo and goodnight!
Aah - so now I can't claim the OCSC crown as I'm still up (in the latest state), and surely the owner of the crown has to have an early night in order to get their teeth out and to get their flannelettes on. (No I'm not crowning you yet Mamma mia).
Night Bron - maybe I should just go find a good book to read (after all it is Friday night - can't be anything else more exciting to do:confused: )
22-04-2006, 00:13
Ok so im not quite old enough but honestly if i see one more boy pass me with his pants around his ankle im going to have to pull them up whether he likes it or not !!!
Seriously if boof EVER wants to dress that way he has another thing coming !
Oh & im also not a fan of "popped collars" sorry but we arent Elvis Presley so respect the king ! I have been known to go around telling people off for this so be warned peoples im cranky & on the prowl for these things !!!:p
:eek: Got you on the pant thing Ally - I had been thinking - why do these fellows actually want us to see their boxers, then I realised some of the boxers are actually sewn into the waistbands of the shorts.:eek:
I'm sure as a young thing (many years ago) I wouldn't have thought that look was hot!!! Just as I don't think it is as a fossil.
On the pants down thing - I was in the US a few years ago on a work research trip and spent some time in court houses watching criminal cases and was amused to see all these blokes shuffling along with their knees together as they were brought into court. Over there they keep people in chains or handcuffs in court and of course take away anything they could do harm with so belts are removed......and when they lead these guys into court by their chained hands that leaves nothing for them to hold their pants up with so they all walk in trying to keep their legs together in order to stop their pants falling down to their ankles! A lesson in why to dress properly if I ever saw one!
everyone else looks old or young to me, but I never age! You know - the young 'uns who serve you at the shop are getting younger, but whenever I see another (who possibly might be as old as me:eek: ) I'm convinced that I don't look that old
Alas....yes...why are the shop assistants mostly 12? I thought child labour was abolished in the developed world.....
Noice of some more cronies to be joining us.
Good to see the youngings sneaking in here too....much more titilating than that booooring chit chat thread going on.......yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawn.....
melfunction
22-04-2006, 06:49
Well, I'm pleased to see I'm not the only cantankerous old sea cow here..........
The Pink Panther
22-04-2006, 07:06
What will they come up with next................cannot believe they now sew a mock visible boxer line into young fellas pants. Next we'll see mock visibile g lines being sewn into the already shrinking jeans for girls (I say jeans for girls vs jeans for ladies because honestly some of those jeans need to be put on with a spray can and even then there doesn't seem to be enough left in the can to cover the area that quite frankly could do with the most covering).
When I see the guys with their pants half down I feel like giving them a good old fashioned "pants down dacking" (should make it clear that I've never actually dacked someone before although did have the misfortune of experiencing one myself about 3 years ago courtesy of my EXTREMELY immature husband...............let's just say that little brain snap hasn't happened again on his behalf!!!!).
On the pants down thing - I was in the US a few years ago on a work research trip and spent some time in court houses watching criminal cases and was amused to see all these blokes shuffling along with their knees together as they were brought into court. Over there they keep people in chains or handcuffs in court and of course take away anything they could do harm with so belts are removed......and when they lead these guys into court by their chained hands that leaves nothing for them to hold their pants up with so they all walk in trying to keep their legs together in order to stop their pants falling down to their ankles! A lesson in why to dress properly if I ever saw one!
It must be the bleeding heart coming out in me, but for some reason i found that story rather sad :o
serenitynow
22-04-2006, 10:21
Sign me up for the bad-tempered briney bovine brigade.....
Just flicked on "Rage" - tsked so much, I created a vacuum and swallowed my dentures.
Get some clothes on and get some talent.
Saw a cover of Sergio Mendes and Brazil 66 ...no amount of Bex can counter that.
Can't say "ho" - am programmed to say hussy or jamtart.
"Ipod" sounds like many tentacled alien body snatchers.
Recently, whilst rousing on schoolkids for leaving their bags all over the footpath, caught my reflection in a window..I looked like a deranged chicken (you know the pose:hands on hips, bent forward, pecking words out)...stifled a sob.
Still hoped one of the little upstarts would call me an old bag, so I could threaten to box their ears and call their school.....ahh I long for the days before assault charges....
And as for pants.....Nancy Gantz is my friend.
Off topic, but one scary thought for us youthfully challenged, is the prospect of our partners becoming Harry-High-Panters.
Hopefully this happens after the cataracts.
Thats my two bobs worth.
Casting my dimming eyes over the above, a question hovers on my pursed lips - does the use of the words "rouse", "upstart", "boxing ears" and "two bob" mean my poor lad hasn't got a yummy mummy, he's got a farty fogey???
Signed
Grabbing my glomesh and making a beeline for Bingo
MammaMia
22-04-2006, 10:23
(should make it clear that I've never actually dacked someone before although did have the misfortune of experiencing one myself about 3 years ago courtesy of my EXTREMELY immature husband...............let's just say that little brain snap hasn't happened again on his behalf!!!!).
Can't even think of a witty reply to that one ...
too busy p*ssing myself laughing at the look that must have been on your face, followed quickly by the one on husband's face when you recovered.
Off now to giggle away to myself while I do the housework.
**shaking her head in delight wanders off to clean her deserted (YIPPEE - husband & 2 kids out) house **giggle, giggle**glee**
PS Exotic Blossom - you are free to join in any socialising when you return to the Land of Sunburnt Plains!
Serenity: My milkshake brings all the boys to the yard............
Tsk...tsk indeedy doh dah day!
Deploreable, shameful...loose hussies.
Exotic MM : thanks for that. I am 'there' between 2 states in one week...next week...but cannot spread myself any thinner.
Maybe next time? *sad woeful smileyface?*
Well enough about "not me" back to me, heh.
After my day yesterday of being the hostess with the mostess for my boss, and sitting there feeling very self righteous for really going out of my way and doing more than what was necessary, after all I AM an extremely important high level Executive PA (sniff), NOT a coffee chick or a muffin waitress, so really, I was thinking I really am a wonderful WONDERFUL person and he is EXTREMELY lucky to have me...
then my boss calls me in to the meeting and everyone stood up and THANKED me for being so helpful during the day.
Of course I went bright red and stammered out that it really was nothing and that they were all extremely welcome and bolted out of the room, quite overcome.
So then I wondered if I was still allowed to feel so self righteous for going above and beyond the call of duty...? Or is that cancelled out because its been acknowledged by the recipients?
What are the rules on that? does anyone know?
Briefly back to the pants on young lads issue. Yesterday in the middle of the city at lunchtime I saw a girl, probably about 17-18ish doing exactly the same thing. She was wearing jeans that were so low and baggy and belted into the low position, so that you could see her men's silky boxer shorts hanging out everywhere. It was obviously intentional, but she looked so much like a boy of the same age I did a double take.
Is this some fashion or is said girl being "an individual"?
I need to go and head to the supermarket to be served by insolent 12 year olds. Wish me luck!
So then I wondered if I was still allowed to feel so self righteous for going above and beyond the call of duty...? Or is that cancelled out because its been acknowledged by the recipients?
What are the rules on that? does anyone know?
I'd say it gets cancelled Shed.
Acknowledgement spoils all the good whingies doesnt it?
Where has the young whippy snippy's thread gone. Died from boredom I reckon.
Far too interested in whats going on here I'd say.
Right, thats IT then. The next time someone thanks me for doing something nice they are going to get punched in the throat.
MammaMia
22-04-2006, 11:29
Ha! I'm 20, and I'm like an old fart haha :laughing:.
Sorry, Dearie. 20 is far too young to be that smelly. You're still fresh as a daisy. Don't be too quick to want to cross into the Bay of SeaCows. Sure, it looks exciting and glamourous, but there's a downside too.... sucking in your tummy all the time can be exhausting. And those hair removal products don't come cheap. But you keep your goals in mind and one day, you too will be wallowing in the warm comforting waters of self-pity, self-righteousness and splashing in the pool of indignation.
Speaking of Daisies, I agree with Flower - Shed, your high moral ground got flattened by the SteamRoller of Gratitude. Shheez, can't even get on our high horses without someone taking the enjoyment out of that these days.
It must be the bleeding heart coming out in me, but for some reason i found that story rather sad :o
It was a bit sad - but given that those who weren't dressed like "gangstas" and wore pants that were a normal size didn't have that problem all I could think of was that it was confirmation of the fact that these huge baggy falling down pants are a crime.
(Watching people being led around by chains on the other hand was horrific - especially when some of the crimes were non-violent and relatively minor. Those Americans call themsleves the most civilized nation and defender of freedom etc but are actually quite ******** in many many ways.)
And Pink Panther - love the dacking story - giggles all round in this house!
Briefly back to the pants on young lads issue. Yesterday in the middle of the city at lunchtime I saw a girl, probably about 17-18ish doing exactly the same thing. She was wearing jeans that were so low and baggy and belted into the low position, so that you could see her men's silky boxer shorts hanging out everywhere. It was obviously intentional, but she looked so much like a boy of the same age I did a double take.
Is this some fashion or is said girl being "an individual"?
Okay - I'll answer this one - me thinks it's the younguns way of saying - I have a boyfriend and I can wear his underwear Peuwww!
In my day - I'd just try to score a jacket or jumper.:rolleyes:
Oh and - never been dacked or dacked anyone, but does pushing a young ?man? into the duck pond at Government House certify me as cantankerous when I was younger? Seriously - these young men need to know that if we say something to them, then we mean it - after all - we are "she who must be obeyed!":thumbsup:
Yes, in my day it was the jacket that held the symbolism.
I wasnt talking about appearance :rolleyes:, I was talking about my ways...
Whoopsie: I can hear backpeddling....select reverse...pressing rewind..........
Ahh Serenity - good to hear from you - LOL at your near miss with the dentures. But I hear what you are saying and I slap the waves with my flipper and moo "Hear hear". I hate some of the music these days, I think it started in the 80's with house music and it hasn't changed much: I still hate it. I do like a bit of grunge though.
And how about Madonna, that old sea cow has reinvented herself a hundred times, and apart from that brief "vogue" era, I mostly like her stuff (not enough to buy CDs, but enough to breathe a sigh of relief that for 3 minutes and 48 seconds I won't have to listen to that gangsta cr*p). That's one old seacow who knows how to shake it.
Don't put me in the same age bracket as Madonna!!
She was grown up when I was hitting puberty. And I am ancient, so surely she's in some other category.
Surely?
please....she's like...OLD old.
Shed, shed ,shed - you are still young at heart aren't you? Madonna is actually not that much older than us - within 10 years at least.......so be careful who you go calling OLD old!!
melfunction
22-04-2006, 12:12
Yes X, I agree on the Madonna thing..
In fact, she could almost be the matriarch for the sea cows...very cantankerous, liable to change her mind at any given moment, don't suffer fools...ummm, think I just described myself :eek:
yeah, actually ten years aint what it used to be is it?
gawd.
Hey - does Kylie come into this? I can feel the jealousy creeping in...
But can I plug here that there is a point you go too far...(see Pam Anderson)
Chickadee
22-04-2006, 12:17
10 years is a long long time between 15 & 25 but seems shorter from 25 to 35, and simply flickers by between 35 & 45 I suspect. Time seems to have an adjustable speed, like playing a 45 at 78rpm and getting that lovely chipmunk effect. Maybe that explains why my voice seems to have morphed into a horrible shrill?
I went to the Kylie exhibition at the Powerhouse.
Those short shorts of hers are TINY. She must be one of "those" petite women. You know the ones.
The ones we don't like.
If I knew her in real life I probably wouldn't be able to be friends with her, on account of her petite ness making my average ness feel like huge ness.
but since I don't know her in real life I like to think of her as a bit of a role model, sort of showing the young ones that "us" 30 somethings can still be sexy.
Ay Kylie old mate? Yeah.
melfunction
22-04-2006, 12:20
Not too sure about kylie, Peg..she hasn't had any kids or been pregnant, so can she have any reasons to be cantankerous??
There is just NO way she could be cantankerous on all that $$$ with zero talent.
Nope...not a bit.
Hmmm kylie. She always seems upbeat. I suspect that a cancer diagnosis would make you fairly cantankerous, at least for a little while..... So yes, I think she has a reason to be cantankerous, but she always manages not to be! How does she do that?
I don't think she is quite as much of a sea cow idol as Madonna. What a legend of reinvention.
(on the drive back from the supermarket, I encountered two adolescent boys riding their push bikes without helmets, two abreast, on the right hand side of the road right towards me in my little car!! It was like they didn't even see me coming. Responsible sea cow here slowed down to a stop while they cycled around me, but I gave them both very nasty looks.)
She's a canny business woman. That's a talent right there.
And she has a FRENCH boyfriend. Nuff said.
She doesn't have much to be cantankerous about. Although she has had a pretty rocky year, poor thing. I think she has earned the right to partake in some cantankery should she choose.
Or maybe not.
Pregnancy and children just make you more so, not completely so. I was like this before and I have only had six months to blame on pregnancy.
Nice to have something though. :D
Bron,
Even the phrase "my little car" qualifies you as an old bag. :laughing:
I know this because I say this same thing myself, about my little car. :D see?
The young ones don't seem to say such things.
melfunction
22-04-2006, 12:32
Sure Kylie has had a terrible year health wise, but isn't she coming right now?
Shouldn't she be screaming with happiness that it wasn't as bad as it could have been?
And she still has pots of money for shaking her little tush.......
Yes, sad isn't it??? But it is a little car. It just seems like the best way to describe it. When we come to sell it, we can honestly say "one careful lady owner" :laughing:
Forget little car - I am looking at driving a people mover - if that doesn't qualify me as an old cow I don't know what does. Then there is the fact that I am very happy that I found a great garden nursery in Brisbane with a sale on - 50% off most plants - has made my week. Yes I am getting old.
And without being too disrespectful to the young ones who want to pop in and say that they are old too......no you are not. When you have wrinkles and remember the 80's in their original form, then you can call yourself an old cow. In the meantime you are a young cow with mature aspirations.
that I am very happy that I found a great garden nursery in Brisbane with a sale on - 50% off most plants - has made my week.
Gosh..I'm totally hyperventilating...where's my angina tablets.................................?
melfunction
22-04-2006, 12:38
One nitrolingual spray coming your way, my petal :D
Erin - always thought you were an old cow!
Only meant in that way E - you know I won't give offence publicly!;)
I reckon Erin can count as a sea cow, but she has to promise to make at least one cynical comment per day until she turns 30. Once she turns 30, she won't need conditions on her membership.
OK Coops, one comment per day, dripping with cynicism, somewhere on bubhub. Do you accept the challenge?
melfunction
22-04-2006, 12:57
Don't worry coops, I just scrape in so not really sure if I am classed as an old cow :confused: definitely cantankerous though ............
Hi KM
You're def part of the herd. What you lack in oldness, you more than make up for in cantankerousness.
And that's why we love yous :hugs:
melfunction
22-04-2006, 13:01
Wow, thanks X :D Feels good to be assepted.....I am undertaking counselling, so I may not be as cantankerous in a few months :p
so where are all the COSC this afternoon?
Mooooo??
I've just had a soft serve ice cream washed down with a giant pastry....now I just need a cuppa.
so where are all the COSC this afternoon?
Mooooo??
I've just had a soft serve ice cream washed down with a giant pastry....now I just need a cuppa.
I'm around petal. I've been baking cranberry and white chocolate biscuits and I'm about to make some tapenade. We're having a BBQ tomorrow afternoon, so I'm doing some catering in advance. Actually, there will be a goodly number of COSC's at my house tomorrow - none of them are bubhubbers, but they just might fit in here quite well. Maybe I'll use the BBQ as a recruitment opportunity.
Wow....all we need to do is introduce some sort of pyramid scheme....and we'll be RICH!!!!:smiliedance:
Well this young, not so cantankerous, beautiful, pleasantly patient doe eyed fawn is here, so what's happening on this fine afternoon?
Thankyou to the Master sea cow for the help......
Not much... I think the children have all gone off for cake and ice cream at Star City.....
Ahh, is that where they are. Meanwhile, those of us who live in cities other than sydney are just splashing around and enjoying the tranquility.
melfunction
22-04-2006, 16:43
View is very tranquil from Brissie....although my bi-focals seem to be a bit blurred again...time for another optometrist appt maybe?
the_queen
22-04-2006, 16:50
Can i join your club please!??? Feeling very cantankerous today. Feeling extremely MASSIVE and uncomfortable and my house is a pigsty and I don't have the energy to move my bovine butt off this chair to do the dishes. I can't seem to feel anything but cranky today. I even had a 5 hour nap today but still cranky. So I guess I'll be up until midnight tonight, yay screwed up my sleep patterns :mad: I put on my favourite comfy tracky's today and they are TOO SMALL my belly is hurting because they're too tight. Usually (ie before pregnancy) they fall down because they're too big. AARRGGHH cranky cranky cranky. I miss my Vallerie too :crying:
May I suggest Queenie...DH's trackies?
Even better than our own!
the_queen
22-04-2006, 16:57
Nah, just one more thing for me to be cantankerous about is my "rap guys girlfriend" sized butt. :crying: His just make me feel worse. I do have a magnificent pair of maternity 3/4 tracky's here somewhere but can't find them, which is really really annoying me.
And I want pineapple. I just ate the last of it at lunchtime but I want more. :mad:
Do they do pineapple home delivery?
Surely they do?
Get that 12 yr old from the Supermarket to deliver it after she does her homework, after hours.
the_queen
22-04-2006, 17:07
They should home deliver. They really should.
Those 12 year olds have nothing better to do, they should be putting them to work delivering pineapple to cranky old pregnant women like me.
Oh Queenie I know the feeling.......with the pants hurt the belly thing, very bad. I've got on my big fat maternity ones which are gold!
I am one lucky lady at the moment though, my DH has finished up work to be my slave for the next month.:smiliedance: Only 3 days to go!:smiliedance:
Bugger the dishes......just sit back, close your eyes and pretend the house is spotless.:thumbsup:
the_queen
22-04-2006, 17:13
oh my god you are very close to meeting your little girl aren't you!! :smiliedance:
I'm thinking of going to bed actually .... Had 5 hrs sleep earlier today but am still buggered now after doing nothing all day. I have defrosted some chops so DH won't go hungry LOL. Oh my GOD I just heard the icecream van bell, I must be going now, perhaps he sells pineapple ice cream. Or maybe he'll go to the shops and buy me some pineapple.
melfunction
22-04-2006, 17:52
There will be one less COSC soon...My SIL was induced 30 mins ago. I'm expecting a nephew (dreamt it is a boy with middle name Joseph. We'll see) very soon :smiliedance:
That's cool KM!! Great news. Keep us posted on your aunty status!
misskittyfantastico
22-04-2006, 18:00
How exciting KM. If Amelia had been of the blue variety she 'd have been Joseph.
So anyone up for a chat?
Hi Milliesmum
Where abouts in rural WA are you? It's a big place!!!?
MammaMia
22-04-2006, 18:06
well seeing as im hurtling towards 30 at what seems to be a terrifying speed (2 yrs to go!) and adding to the fact that 4 children (10 yrs now of motherhood! :eek: ) and an extra 30-40 kilos have made me look and feel like a sea cow, i have made myself an honourary old cow, hope you dont mind :D
Sorry, Lovey, I'm against you on that.
You fail the first pre-requisite...the magic 30.
No matter what else you have going for you in the Sea Cow department you can still say you are a woman in your 20s.
And the late 20s are soooo good!
Don't wish them away.
misskittyfantastico
22-04-2006, 18:07
Hey Bron,
I'm in Bruce Rock which is about 3 hrs east of Perth. A small little wheatbelt town. When I moved here 3 yrs ago I thought I'd wandered onto the abandonded set of A Country Practice!
Whereabouts in Perth are you?
Ahh Bruce Rock. I do know where it is, but I've never been there. It's a shame, we all seem to go "down south" (well, why wouldn't you, with the wineries, beaches and bushwalks...) or along the coast up north (dugong spotting!!), for some reason, a trip to the east of the state just doesn't seem to happen.
I'm a Vic Park girl. Much much closer to the city than Bruce Rock.
misskittyfantastico
22-04-2006, 18:09
BTW if I'm hijacking this thread, then just tell me to mooove on, but I've been such a cantankerous cow today that it seemed like a good spot to land
I'm only almost-27 but I'm cantankerous as heck and feeling like a cow. Can I join your shindig?
misskittyfantastico
22-04-2006, 18:11
Ahh Bruce Rock. I do know where it is, but I've never been there. It's a shame, we all seem to go "down south" (well, why wouldn't you, with the wineries, beaches and bushwalks...) or along the coast up north (dugong spotting!!), for some reason, a trip to the east of the state just doesn't seem to happen.
I'm a Vic Park girl. Much much closer to the city than Bruce Rock.
Wineries and beaches Vs dust and flies hmmmm:D
misskittyfantastico
22-04-2006, 18:16
Hey Noo (rhymes with moo!)
So why are you feeling cantankery and cow-like?
I don't know girls - I'm quite welcoming and are more than prepared to chat to anyone who is cranky enough, but Mamma Mia seems to be applying strict criteria (you know, born before 1976 or you're out of here kind of thing).
What do you reckon Mamma Mia, can we let them in???
Hi Milliesmum :)
I'm feel like a moo-cow cos my husband is a moo-ron. :laughing:
At least I can still laugh about it I suppose.
Other than that I'm quite happy I spose. Had a lovely day of motherly love and I'm so proud to be a mummy.
But I'm also realy cranky at the same time. My poor brain is so confused from jumping to happy to mad to happy to mad every 5 seconds.
misskittyfantastico
22-04-2006, 18:22
I'm hearing you Noo,
I too am issews with the DH. Actually It's me, I'm just having a bit of a grrr day.
aardvark
22-04-2006, 18:24
Question re COSC eligibility.....
Is it only for 30 something mums? 'Cos then I'm only eligible for 5 more weeks! I'm turning 40 soon.
MammaMia
22-04-2006, 18:25
I don't know girls - I'm quite welcoming and are more than prepared to chat to anyone who is cranky enough, but Mamma Mia seems to be applying strict criteria (you know, born before 1976 or you're out of here kind of thing).
What do you reckon Mamma Mia, can we let them in???
Sorry, dearie. I was just rinsing out my knee highs in the bathroom sink. Now, I'm rubbing some sorbelene into my cracked heels and clipping my hooked toe nails.
As for those youngsters, making all that racket, well, Dearie, rules are rules.
The thread is 30 something parents.
I didn't make the rules. Someone smarter than me made the rules and I just respect them because they are in authority. That's what's wrong with the world today: no respect for authority.:shame:
But this is exactly why the Sea Cows have been complaining...young people not showing respect for our seniority.
What happened to that old saying, youngsters should be seen & not heard?
Sit back, listen & learn, youngsters.:D
Share that advanced age around Aardvark....any excess moments of your life can be passed onto those of us less age-challenged to speed up our legitimate entry in the realm of cantankery.... :)